Keithroy Halliday, GM of the BWA
Kammie Holder

23 March at 14:44 · Four Roads, Barbados ·

Dear Jeremy Stephen I note with interest the suggestion pronounced by you on Water in Barbados. However, if the 37% non revenue leakage of water is fixed and the 8WA Solar Farm is built there will be no need for a water rate increase. Corey A Lane Eric Ron Smith Maria Bradshaw David King James Paul Dale Marshall Patrick Tannis Its seems that more and more recently mainstream media seems unable or unwilling to move beyond note taking. The BWA needs to undergo a Forensic Audit on the heels of the recent rate increase. Quote me on that. Is GOB running scared of the Barbados Light & Power rumoured threat of a rate increase if they cut BWA high dependency on Light & Power?

Read the full exchange of this Facebook post

Many Facebook friends who value our opinion will tag David of BU on a daily basis. The above is one of many FB tags this one sent by Future Centre Advocate Kammie Holder. The exchanges are sometimes very informative and helps David of the BU household to be better informed as BU blogmaster..

This exchange provoked BU to ask the question, who is Keithroy Halliday, the recently installed general manager of the Barbados Water Authority. The reason why BU is curious is that we assumed the BWA would have recruited someone with a weighty track record in the business of water resource management. At minimum someone who has experience managing a large organization. To date the BU household has been unable to discover any information to support why Keithroy Halliday was recruited to the important job of General Manager of the BWA.

Minister David Estwick we need to hear you on this one.

69 responses to “Why Was Keithroy Halliday Recruited to be General Manager of the BWA?”

1. Bwa does not need more enginerrs at the top level .what the BWA need was a persons skilled in managerial affairs to sort out the finnacial mess left behind by the blp and the govt wisely chose the new manager at the Helm Keith roy Halliday whose buisness background is appropriately suited to face the financial challenges of the BWA

2. Of message.

I see that corn beef originating from Brazil has bee given the all clear by the Barbados authorities. That is genuinely reassuring.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95063/beef-okay

3. angela Skeete March 28, 2017 at 1:15 PM #

Well, well, well…….. the ACs harrow me with a tremendous amount of fear and wonder.

It has taken the DLP NINE (9) years at the helm of government for them to realize there was a need to hire “a person skilled in managerial affairs to sort out the financial mess left behind by the blp…….”

Perhaps you should have included “the financial mess left behind” from the construction of the BWA’s new head quarters, as highlighted by the Auditor General’s special audit.

4. There is no evidence to support the conclusion by anyone, yardfowls included that Halliday has a rich experience in the ‘managerial field’. How does managing a few retail outlets that sell phones recommend him to manage one of the most important utities in Barbados? Did the FTC approve the appointment of Halliday? Compare the heads of all the utilities and what do you conclude?

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing BloggerI Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing BloggerI

The BWA needs an engineer with managerial skills and experience. ….that kind of reasoning is too high for the As’ s…..her limit is working up Apes Hìll and being ordered around by Cow to take care of his pet pig.

Having banking experience, managing a branch, branch manager is a whole other ballgame, with some type of cell phone sales experience. ….does not qualify.

6. @ WW&C
    …but then again, compared to Froon, Stinkliar and the other Ali Baba jokers, Halloway may be a giant of a manager in comparison…..

…Shiite yuh!! ….perhaps he even knows decimals….

BTW @ David
    What is all this mess with KOMI now? …and who is the chap that Lil Hitler appointed to run down there, the Gym and the council? (Jeff should note that Bushie said run DOWN there ….. and NOT run-down there…) 🙂

…sounds like a bird of similar feathers….

7. exclaimer March 28, 2017 at 1:20 PM
    But will the Ministry Of Agriculture continue to carry out tests on each shipment of corn beef imported into the island?

8. angela Skeete March 28, 2017 at 1:15 PM #
    And what a pity that Mr Halliday was not hired before BWA’s finances was exhausted into the construction of a palace on Pine Hill, leaving very little money, if any , to maintain its core business in the areas of reservoirs ,sewerage system, and distribution pipelines.

9. Colonel
    I suspect the MoH or the MoA have moved to cancel their original notice to halt,remove,desist owing to a nod and a stare,nay a dare,from a vested interest whose purse might have been affected by the command to halt.
    Me?not me and that stuff bosie.neither horse nor cow will change my mind.

10. I recall Canon Hatch on Brasstax back in the 80’s lamenting the loss of BWA product at approximately 60 or 70% leakage and that the metering of water might have the effect of the encouraging better and more efficient usage.During that time the BWA management was building a nest egg to fund the replacement of the underground distribution network which evidently had the approval of the governments of the day.
    With Errol Barrow following Tom Adams in death,all hell broke loose in the DLP and visions of good governance with accountability went through the eddoes.Owen Arthur was evidently so busy repairing and rebuilding the economy that he omitted to re-finance the nest egg the previous PM took from BWA,so that in 2017,the country is no better off in meeting the increasing demand for water with the leaking network still a major factor left to be sorted out.

11. Gabriel. So far many of the Caricom member countries have placed a ban on the import of corned beef from Brazil . Would it not have been better, if this situation was handled as a Caricom matter, instead of the fragmented way it is now being acted upon.
    Has the ban been lifted in Jamaica, Grenada, Dominica or the Bahamas?
    Divided we stand, Divided we fall.

12. @ Colonel Buggy March 28, 2017 at 5:11 PM,

What a sad indictment into how the affairs of business are conducted in Little England. The major economies have imposed sanctions against the importation of Brazilian beef. Yet, miraculously, we have concluded that it is fine to continue importing Brazilian corn beef. All it took was one disgruntled businessman to voice his displeasure in order to have the ban overturned.

We have a government that is playing Russian roulette with her population. It makes you wonder if the medication available on the island is safe.

Our country is on the verge of complete collapse.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

All bajans gotta do is dont buy the corned beef, they can , lift the ban, but the people already know government cant be trusted abd do the bidding of greedy business people to the detriment of the people’s health….no one can make the people spend their money on compromised corned beef.

14. Now we can all see the relevance and the importance of food security.

It looks like Jamaica means business.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/27/jamaica-experts-to-inspect-brazils-meat-processing/

15. @Exclaimer

What is the status of the illegal importation of chicken wings by Bhana a good constituent of Donville Inniss?

16. I bumped into Leroy Parris today. No, not in expensive Massa Market, but in Cost-U-More. Obviously, even the PM´s best friend has to save money now.

17. Didn’t we finger Parris as a shareholder in Cost U Less?

Who Are the Local Partners in Cost-U-Less?

by David on April 27, 2013 in Blogging Edit

We do not charge membership fees and believe we can offer low prices to Barbados shoppers, just as we have in our most recent store opening in the Cayman Islands, which was also a partnership with local business people NorthWest Company trading as Cost-U-Less July 2008 It has been almost five years from the time […]

363 CommentsContinue Reading →

18. Correct David

19. For sure Corned Beef will not be on the menu at Illaro Court when the PM entertains his frequent visitors. It will not be on the menu at lunch when Parliament is in session. And certainly it will not be on the menu of the cry baby importer who is worried about the tens of thousand of dollars in profit that he stands to loose, if the ban had not been lifted.

On another note ,did you hear Dennis Kellman on Brass Tacks today, trying to explain why the Louis Lynch Secondary building is still out of use. It is not abandoned he said, it has been given a clean bill of health, but because of the rumors, no body is willing to occupy it.
    Perhaps if the Government had work as swiftly as it did, in quelling the rumors,and lifting the ban on Brazil Corn Beef, the Louis Lynch building would have been long occupied by other Government employees.