The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow

My friends spit on the government.

I do not think is just the government.

Suppose all the gods too old,

Suppose they dead and they burning them…The Saddhu of Couva -Derek Walcott

The current public discourse on governance and the economy is nothing if not a cacophonous babel of contesting opinions. To the few casual observers, it must remind so much of a meme I saw on Facebook recently where a bemused gentleman stands looking from one side of a crowd to the other in puzzlement. The caption states “When everyone is arguing over whether the answer was 63 or 75 but your answer was Henry the 8th…” or, to localize it “When everyone is arguing over whether or not the Prime Minister should be forced to advise the Governor General to call elections but your suggestion was that the dollar should not be devalued”.

In recent days we have heard it all. “Go to the IMF while there is still time”, some thinkers urge. “No we shall not”, rejoins the government, while offering no clear alternative as to what should be the optimal recourse in that event. One member of Cabinet suggests the use of a sinking fund facility from the United Arab Emirates; an option seemingly not accepted by his other Cabinet colleagues. At the same time, the parliamentary Opposition, as a shark scenting the blood of a wounded administration in the choppy waters of state, incites the population to show its disgust with the existing state of political and economic affairs, although likewise offering no public disclosure of its strategy for our national salvation and no fewer than four “third” parties raise their several heads above the parapet of electoral engagement.

So far, these last are equally silent as to their individual rescue programmes for the economy. It seems as if their collective strategy is founded upon a popular ennui with the two traditional parties that they expect will somehow translate into popular affection for their candidates, whose main attributes so far appear to be that they are not contesting the elections on behalf of either the Barbados Labour Party or the Democratic Labour Party. Indeed, one of these groupings has even seen it fit to claim a number of candidates without revealing their identities, raising a question not only as to their political courage, but also as to their absurdly supreme level either of confidence or of foolhardiness to imagine that a people who traditionally vote for an individual more on the basis of personality and party than on that of policy in the thirty constituency battles will readily embrace any thitherto unknown candidate with less than a year’s notice. To each his own, I suppose, and I can certainly claim no initiation in these matters.

There is also a veritable Babel locally as to the moral legitimacy of public taxation in these times. There is a popular demand for continued civic entitlements that can only be met by added increments in the dwindling public purse. Yet every official suggestion that taxes should be paid and each attempt to enforce this is met with populist resistance while complaints as to the standards of public service at institutions such as the schools, healthcare facilities and other state departments continue unabated.

It is about time that I explain the title of this essay. It is generally accepted by most, though not all, Barbadians that the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, as he is now titled, was a successful leader of Barbados. The question posed is thus akin to the one that those of the Christian faith sometimes ask themselves, perhaps ungrammatically, to inform a course of action –“What would Jesus do?”

While I categorically deny any charge of intentional blasphemy, it is similarly suggested that those members of the governing administration, who claim his legacy, should ask themselves, to be more grammatically correct, what would Barrow have done if he were faced with this identical economic situation?

I do not expect this to be a popular suggestion or even that those who have the authority to ask and answer the question and to implement the response will do so. Indeed, the honest answer may be uncomfortable at some levels. There may, of course, also be an argument that Mr. Barrow was never faced with such stringent economic circumstances in his time and thus would have been lost as to contemporary solutions. Others may rightly claim that to them have fallen the reins of governance and any solution must be based on their collective intellect and political savoir-faire. I cannot fault this latter claim…it is just that there appears to be a crying need for the creative political solution at this time.

Today’s epigraph is in tribute to the late St Lucian Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott who shuffled off this mortal coil on Friday. It was a joy to read Walcott’s poetry that betrayed the mind of a classicist at heart and also of a keen observer of the human condition.

My favourite Walcott lines, suitably bowdlerized for a family newspaper.

In idle August, while the sea soft,

and leaves of brown islands stick to the rim  

of this Caribbean, I blow out the light  

by the dreamless face of Maria Concepcion  

to ship as a seaman on the schooner Flight.  

Out in the yard turning gray in the dawn,  

I stood like a stone and nothing else move  

but the cold sea rippling like galvanize  

and the nail holes of stars in the sky roof,  

till a wind start to interfere with the trees.  

I pass me dry neighbor sweeping she yard  

as I went downhill, and I nearly said:

“Sweep soft, you witch, ’cause she don’t sleep hard,”  

but the bitch look through me like I was dead.  

A route taxi pull up, park-lights still on.  

The driver size up my bags with a grin:  

“This time, Shabine, like you really gone!”

I ain’t answer the ass, I simply pile in  

the back seat and watch the sky burn  

above Laventille pink as the gown

in which the woman I left was sleeping,

and I look in the rearview and see a man  

exactly like me, and the man was weeping

for the houses, the streets, that whole f…ing island. The Schooner Flight.

Farewell, Sir!

149 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – What Would Barrow Do? [WWBD]?”

1. @Pacha

If you have accepted that the debt trap is unavoidable because of external forces then what enemy is there left to fight?

2. Cans only! Works for recycling but not for small island politics,

Giving the size of the island it is not a surprise that A knows B and they are friend s and business partners and at times even lovers. Separation of parties may be more of a strategy bent on deception than be a fact.

Some have advocated for regional institutions, but those may not provide any solution.

Alas, ….. … is toast (grass)

3. David

There are still areas of the world where people believe in real money, the absence of debt bondage, etc.

If we insist on a western orientation it’s ‘unavoidable’……………… yes!

Look, if a country like Cuba can hardly resist western cultural invasion, far less Barbados.

Have we given in and lack the strength to reconsider past decisions?

4. @Artax, surely not all politicians are inspiring…not even those with significant historical acclaim.

And as surely so not are all well-considered, civic-minded historical non-political figures inspiring either.

Let’s me gander here briefly.

I always found and find great inspiration in the Malcolm Little story. Now as you know this is a man who served time in jail based on his early life as a hustler and drug dealer. Not a moral bastion clearly. But of course context for Malcolm X’s life is vitally relevant. His total evolution over his life is incredibly inspiring.

All that to say that petty politicians or petty people do not inspire us but rather great men and women who have human flaws do.

We take our role models of inspiration where we will!

Many speak here often of Wynter Crawford and many others.

I place the caustic, vengeful Hon EWB in that category. I place the adulterous Dr M. L. King in that category.

And btw, your words are respected by all here on BU…except the political hacks that is!

5. @ Pacha
    While we agree, wholeheartedly, that debt is the causal, singular, reason for much of our difficulties
    Debt is not the reason for our difficulties, it is merely the mechanism there to..
    The reason for our difficulties is GREED….. AKA brass bowlery.
    The silly idea that ‘owning material things’ is the be-all and end-all of living, and is the definition of ‘success’.

Debt is a perfectly legitimate mechanism for social development. Credit Unions are built on that principle ….where those with temporary excesses, lend to those with temporary shortages with the intent of achieving an OVERALL advancement in the society.
    Properly managed, debt can be a perfect TOOL for accelerating national development.

Greed is about wanting more than you are able, or prepared to EARN…..and debt can be a TRAP for such brass bowls with easy access, to buy themselves into slavery.

Bushie is therefore not cursing debt ‘per se’, but brass bowlery …combined with easy access to loan sharks…..

6. Bush Tea @9.35a
    The common denominator in the continued deficit spending spree seem to be the Quisling.
    William @11.58a
    Barrow’s aeroplane was dubbed Air Barrowbados by the Nation newspaper.

7. @Pacha

Cuba is not a good comparison. Do you appreciate the pressure exerted on a relatively small island by the super powers in the form of trade embargoes?

Here are two simple questions -why are some able to find happiness although living an average lifestyle? Why are some rich people unhappy?

8. @ Gabriel
    The common denominator in the continued deficit spending spree seem to be the Quisling.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Seems clear.
    When a fellow can get himself embedded so intimately into the purse-strings of two opposing political catastrophes, and slide so smoothly from one to the other, while executing the most audacious financial scams in the background…..we have to admire his skills.
    No wonder he was head boy.

9. Bushie

That sounds like somebody in need of the wacker, the guillotine, not admiration!

10. Jeff

Is is public information when the FTC will hand down the decision on BNTCL SOL?

11. Even under such pressures Cuba has avoided the extremes of debt up to now, unlike Bim

On the other hand, it has elevated indigenous development.

12. @ David
    Why are some rich people unhappy?
    Bushie aside 🙂 …. which ‘rich people’ do you know that are ‘happy’?

Boss, rich people like the aura of ‘success’ as perceived by others
    ….and the envy of the unsuspecting poor, ….but happy shiite….

Most of them live in dread of being poor, being robbed, …. and are thus obsessed with becoming richer than Bill Gates…. or they die trying…

13. @ Pacha
    Admiration is a funny thing.

If you understood the great spiritual battle of life, you could not but admire ‘The Evil One’ in the manner that he has gone about seeking to destroy man’s great destiny.

The Quisling has used his unquestionable intellect to exploit Bajan brass bowlery to his great benefit, by defying the political divide that is touted to split this country into two….

Also, Bushie has great admiration for your ability to grasp so many of life’s realities without having the benefit of ‘adoption’…. even though you miss the critical meat of the matter.

Admiration is not exclusive to righteousness.

14. Barrow, Barrow, Barrow, always Barrow. Wasnt´t it the same Barrow who created the socialist model of the omnipotent welfare state with excessive taxes and little economic freedom? Barrow laid the foundations for the current disaster. Instead of creating a smart, tiny government with simple laws and simple solutions, he adopted the British systems with all its flaws – a government employing the masses instead of serving free citizens.

15. You have defined happiness by riches and love of? You cant swing both ways Bushie.

16. independent voice Avatar
    independent voice

EWB one of the greatest minds in Barbados politics ,what would he do . he would use an example which jesus demonstrated in the temple attacking the money changers and separating the goat from the sheep. EWB a man of great wisdom vision and knowledge would never have fallen hook line and sink to the greed of imperialism .He would have wisely smelled a stinking rat and avoid the bait by any means necessary
    Greed is the root cause of all that is happening to Barbados presently

17. Bushie

You always talking as though you frighten for the ‘quisling’

Why not subject him to the wacker, the guillotine?

18. I am a noble….what are the stipulations for being a noble?
    Arawak Carib lineage

Religious lineage:
    Hindu -> Indies Antilles -> Arawak + Arawak Carib + Carib -> Bearded Fig Tree

castles = hidden as planation houses (lineage written on buildings)
    ancient/established = clock rocks around Barbados
    built by Europeans(?) = hidden as planation houses in differing styles

https://onenote.com/webapp/pages?token=ChPUYv8CYVx5pXDZzsr0vYGY93khMFfBTkVX-fm8fmGwHN40OzSXrT0Lkaat9DI-1C_kieXR9qYsmHiYXbOaO2HV1s1Y6Z3S0&id=636252890210300622

19. @ David
    You have defined happiness by riches and love of?
    Where? Bushie don’t follow…

@ Pacha
    You are too perceptive for your own good…
    Perhaps it is not for Bushie to whack that particular weed.
    That may be a job for the archangel Gabriel….

@ independent voice
    Barrow was an outstanding leader, given the situation back in 1960. Unlike the present DLP lot, he was actually intelligent enough know that independence means not being beholden to loan sharks….. But he was no font of wisdom.
    Barrow made many mistakes too, and unfortunately, rather than use the education we got to correct those mistakes, we immortalised Barrow …and built on his errors.

20. Vincent Haynes Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66947/imf-barbados-list
    IMF puts Barbados at bottom of list
    THE INTERNATIONAL MONETARY FUND (IMF) has crunched its latest numbers and concluded that this year Barbados will have the worst economic performance among 12 Caribbean…
    http://www.nationnews.com

21. Vincent Haynes Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94657/-consult-imf-debt

‘Time to consult IMF’ on debt
    TWO former Central Bank governors have supported the call for the Government to turn now to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for financial help rather than…
    nationnews.com

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar

We know where we are at and what has to be done.

……rehashing the errors of the last 50 years is a waste of time,energy and space.

……Our only hope in going forward is that we have learnt from the past which is doubtfull as we still want our bling and big rides even if that means selling out our country men and women.

23. Vincent Haynes Avatar

http://on.ft.com/2nSptMa
    Financial Times
    11 mins ·

‘Recoveries don’t just die of old age’ Gavyn Davies examines 3 ways the current financial cycle could end
    Three ways the economic and financial cycle could end
    The global economic recovery that started amid the gloom of the financial crash in March 2009 is about to celebrate its 8th birthday. In the advanced economies (AEs), the GDP growth rate during this recovery has averaged only 1.8 per cent, well…
    ft.com

24. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Pacha. The embargo against Cuba is the main reason they are not caught up in the debt trap, nothwithstanding the billions in bilateral loan written off by Russia and other countries. Cut off from multilateral and capital market finances, they learn to live within their means.

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ David at 1:31pm.

The FTC first has to make its findings known to the parties to the transaction. Inevitably, the public will learn of these.

26. @ Jeff Cumberbatch,

What would Cumberbatch do ? [ WWCD ]

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Hants, act in accordance with the law!

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

2 terms government lies, the group should add term limits to their discussions.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94751/focus-integrity-legislation-governance

“IN AN EFFORT to promote an agenda of good governance, a number of people in our society have come together under the banner of The Nation Action Group to look at a range of issues facing the country. A number of articles will be carried in the SUNDAY SUN highlighting these concerns. Today we start with why there is need for integrity legislation. BARBADIANS have witnessed first-hand what it means for a political party to campaign in poetry and govern in prose. The poetry is contained in the manifesto of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in 2008 when it promised: “The Democratic Labour Party will immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring a declaration of assets by public officials, a code of conduct for ministers…”

29. @ Jeff Cumberbatch,

point taken. lol

You and Caswell appear to be the only ones on this blog with the conviction to ” act in accordance with the law”

30. Thanks Jeff, we the people will stand vigil until.

31. Jeff

What bullshiite!

What law!

Is it the law which enslaved African peoples in this world?

Are these the laws which are again, through debt slavery, doing that again.

Disobedience to mammon is obedience to the Great Ancestor

If Bussa were to follow your stinking laws we would still be slaves.

Your laws are not for the protection of the ‘common’ people

They are about the protection of the elite.

And you obviously like to think of yourself as such

Yes, we are not merely interested is disobeying your laws

We have the mind to destroy them and all that flows from them.

32. William Skinner Avatar

We speak of radical change but we want to maintain all the pillars of the system. In any revolutionary change , the law as we know it must be changed because in many instances the law is the vehicle used to prevent real change. For years we made sport of people who were identifying herbs, plants and fruit etc to battle some ailments; now we are hearing about the values of: breadfruit, soursop , pomgranite, okra etc. How we approach law medicine economics will determine our future. For example why cant we have fruit production at such a level that it will be incorporated into the school meals program. At least one day a week the students can be given fruits and salads.
    Why cant we have a system where certain some crimes are handled before community based courts managed by citizens etc
    Why are we slavishly following economic models that only lead us to the IMF

33. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ William Skinner @7:11 PM

Economic models are analytical contrivances which help economists to understand an economy. They are decision neutral. And they definitely do not lead a country to the IMF. Going to the IMF is a political decision. There is nothing inevitable about political decisions.

34. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

We are into an Era of Uncertainty where the traditional consumers of our exports are experiencing low growth and therefore low demand for our goods and services.
    We are in a new area of uncertainty where the traditional origins of our offshore business are under pressures to re-domesticate.
    These factors have impacted our earnings of foreign exchange , our GNP and employment. These have in turn impacted the tax base and ipso facto GOB revenues.
    The GOB has to tax more, borrow more or cut public expenditure. These are political decisions. If we undertake an IMF programme we may have to do all three. Do we need to go to the IMF to make these decisions?

Alternatively if by some stroke of luck the international economy settles down and the high spending tourist returns and the offshore business evolve to a more lucrative mode. Then all will be well. There will be no need to raise EWB from his watery grave.

35. This is the Aquarian Age not the Piscean Age

The passing age was the time for obedience to law, religion, elites etc

No such thing will occur under Aquarius.

And if the igrunt elites in Barbados haven’t recognized this they could continue to pretend that they could control people through their useless laws being useful idiots in the service of others elsewhere.

Even the intelligent people of old knew this but not the Bajan elites of today.

Following some shiite laws on paper in the absence of the astronomy which controls everything around us speaks to the shallowness of the ‘unfinished products’ we have in charge.

36. Instead of demanding obeisance

We should be teaching our children to disobey, ignore, all those in authority!

37. @ Bernard Codrington ” if by some stroke of luck the international economy settles down ”

We all know that is not going to happen. Trump. Brexit, CRA crack down……..

38. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Hants@8:15 PM

The weight of history is against you. Every period of political and economic downturn has been followed by upturns. This one may,in your imagination, be taking too long. But the capitalist system is quietly re-engineering and redefining it self.

39. @ Bernard Codrington can Barbados wait for the next ” up turn ” orr should government act now.

40. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Hants at 8:35 PM

Government always have to act. We the electorate elected them to act and to act wisely. Wisely meaning in the public’s interest. People make upturns happen . People prepare themselves to take advantage of upturns when they arrive. What we as a people need to do is not to panic and not to be overanxious. We have traveled this road before.

41. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

We need to keep our eyes on the ball. But then again we have forgotten how to play cricket. . Haven’t we?

42. Pachamama March 19, 2017 at 8:13 PM #

We should be teaching our children to disobey, ignore, all those in authority!
    Skippa,we are more than half way there.

43. I read some very disturbing news in today’s (Sunday, March 19, 2017) edition of the Sunday Sun, under the headline: “Rock Hall bursting with squatters.”

According to the report, “land is being SOLD and LEASED and HOUSES RENTED at the ever expanding squatter’s village at Rock Hall in St. Philip.”

“The MAJORITY of RESIDENTS in the newest subsection are said to be NON-NATIONALS, some of who have BROUGHT IN THEIR FRIENDS AND FAMILIES FROM Jamaica, St. Vincent and Guyana. A Barbadian woman who lives there with her boyfriend said there were ONLY TWO Barbadians living on that section of the land.”

These squatters, many of whom may be ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS, are demanding the area should be supplied with electricity and water.

What is MORE disturbing is the fact the representative for the area, Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs Adriel Brathwaite, “said he was AWARE of the RAPID EXPANSION and that he had heard stories of people leasing spots.”

Could you imagine that Brathwaite, who is RESPONSIBLE for LAW and ORDER in Barbados, also said “But it is getting more difficult to find a permanent solution if people keep on encouraging others to come.” “But this situation about persons spreading the word has to be curtailed.”

Adriel Brathwaite needs to tell Barbadians why are non-nationals allowed to come to Barbados to squat on land and what is he going to do about this situation?

44. Pacha,

The great change has already started. All their titles, badges, medals are useless against the financial judgement day.

It is like Anderson´s “The Emperor’s New Clothes”. They parade their titles like QC and MP around as if it were a monstrance, not knowing that the population sees through them, seeing villagers who did never and could never benefit from tertiary education. A man from a burrow can wear a suit, but he remains a country pumpkin.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Then we are suprised that the government ministers CANNOT function.

46. @ Bernard
    We need to keep our eyes on the ball. But then again we have forgotten how to play cricket. . Haven’t we?
    Now we all know who has been advising Froon and Stinkliar.
    If you, or they, think that this ‘downturn will be followed by the inevitable upturn’ then wunna have a SERIOUS shock coming.
    Some downturns in history have been followed by chaotic devastation. What may look like ‘upturns’ to us looking back a few hundred years would have been total devastation to those who lived the experience.

Someone seems to have advised Stinkliar that if they can hang on long enough, ‘things will turn around’ and all our debts will be wiped away with economic growth….

Ha ha ha ha…
    Mek Bushie LAUGH!!!

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Someone seems to have advised Stinkliar that if they can hang on long enough, ‘things will turn around’ and all our debts will be wiped away with economic growth”…..right idea…but our debts will only be erased via bankruptcy.

48. There is a difference between astrology and astronomy. Astrology is voodoo, astronomy is science. Google it and see.

49. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

**Jeff

What bullshiite!

What law!

Is it the law which enslaved African peoples in this world?

Are these the laws which are again, through debt slavery, doing that again.

Disobedience to mammon is obedience to the Great Ancestor

If Bussa were to follow your stinking laws we would still be slaves.

Your laws are not for the protection of the ‘common’ people

They are about the protection of the elite.

And you obviously like to think of yourself as such…”*

@ Pachamama, There is no need to get your knickers in s twist. My reference to law was related to the law governing fair competition in Barbados that the FTC is bound to apply in the BNTCL matter. I take it that your disobedience to law does not extend to anyone infringing your right to private property or preventing you from exercising your freedom of expression as you do here frequently?

And if I like to think of myself as “elite”, what is so wrong about that?

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Consequences Observing BloggerCancel reply