Submitted by Grenville Phillips, founder of Solutions Barbados

Dear Prime Minister:  Recently, there have been a chorus of calls from prominent Barbadians, insisting that you call an early general election.  Allow me to offer some unsolicited unbiased advice on this matter.

As our Prime Minister, you are responsible for projecting calm during turbulent times, and you are doing this remarkably well.  You are also responsible for holding your Ministers accountable for how they are managing the Ministries which you have entrusted to their care.  Your Ministers typically receive feedback from the public in the form of complaints.  Therefore, you can measure their performance by how effectively those complaints are addressed.

The recent repeated complaints about: pot holes, water shortages, long queues, delayed responses, late payments, etc, suggests that these Ministries are not properly managed.  The ISO 9001 Quality Management System is designed to permanently address complaints to the satisfaction of the public.  Allow me to suggest that you direct your Ministers to implement this quality management system with dispatch.  Please note that implementing this system will not cost the Government any additional money and requires no enabling legislation; therefore, your Ministers should have no excuses.

Mr Prime Minister, the Ministry of Finance is different from the other ministries.  The Ministry of Finance’ performance is objectively assessed by the International Monetary Fund and external rating agencies.  Unlike the other Ministries, the performance of the Ministry of Finance can send most of us into a level of poverty, where we would long for the days when all we had to complain about were potholes and long waits.
It is tragic to see the Ministry of Finance floundering despite their best efforts.  They have explained the economic context and have developed careful strategies to address Barbados’ economic problems.  Regrettably, their strategies contain fatal flaws which limit their effectiveness.

There are currently three published strategies for addressing Barbados’ economic problems.  The first is the Government’s ‘Medium-term Growth and Development Strategy, 2013-2020’, which is not working.  Therefore, the Social Partnership has been tasked with defining a new economic strategy.

The second is Minister Estwick’s strategy which the Cabinet has reportedly rejected.  This strategy has not been made available for public scrutiny; therefore, we can only speculate about its contents.  The third is Solutions Barbados’ strategy, which has been available for rigorous public scrutiny for the past 2 years on SolutionsBarbados.com.  It is based on proven solutions, and does not attract the austerity that former Prime Minister Arthur predicts will be in his plan.

Mr Prime Minister, we still have options, but Barbados’ success depends on how well you manage your Cabinet.  Developers of ideas tend to become so emotionally attached to their ideas that they find it challenging to let them go when their idea’s ‘past-due date’ has long expired.  This is how it seems with the Ministry of Finance in developing fiscal strategies with fatal flaws.

A useful analogy is to consider a person making a pitcher of Mauby and mistakenly adding salt instead of sugar.  After the person has used so much Mauby bark, and has included so many diverse spices, he is then unwilling to waste the final product.  So he serves it in hope, while explaining its medicinal properties as justification.  The public samples the salty product and voices its displeasure.  However, rather than wasting the product down the drain and starting a new batch using sugar, he insists on tweaking the salty product, believing that someday, in the not too distant future, he will get it to taste better.

Mr Prime Minister, we have sucked salt for too long enough.  It is time to tell the Ministry of Finance to let it go and consider another plan.  The Ministry will doubtless request another tweaking iteration, but you must refuse them.  If the Ministry of Finance adopts the Solutions Barbados strategy, then you will certainly save the economy from the foreseen ruin of continuing along the current path.

If the Ministry is unable to let go of their plan, then you need to shuffle cabinet responsibilities while you still have options, and place a Minister in the Ministry of Finance who is willing to properly examine alternative strategies, otherwise we are all sunk.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

87 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column–Mr. Prime Minister, We Still Have Options”

1. Whatever happen to the contracts that were awarded to foreign companies to drill for oil in our waters?

2. independent voice Avatar
    independent voice

Truth is a powerful tool that cannot be shaken or swept away . Truth has destroyed many govts and at it nucleus is a stealth called integrity

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Carson…., what happened to the 2 billion dollar surplus the government foubd upon being elected…and wjy was the government nit capable of turning it into a 4 or 6 billion dollar surplus.

No one is saying the IMF and rating agencies are saints, what intelligent people are saying is that the government will not be allowed to use these agenciesmas tools or weapons to lie to, misinform and deceive the electorate to be reelected…I think that is reasonable….yall lie to the people constantly and consistently. …it cannot continue.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…., what happened to the 2 billion dollar surplus the government found in the treasury upon being elected…and why was the government npt capable of turning it into a 4 or 6 billion dollar surplus.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And I remember vividly……..parts of St. Philip had severe lack of water issues just….last year.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

When Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford demitted office he left 17 000 public servants. when the BLP left it was 27 000. Despite the auditor general’s warning previously to lay off staff and a wage bill too high for a $200 million to sustain, plus having to pay back barrack debt,the prison debt every January $30 million.

7. Does anybody know how Del Maestro was able to be introduces to Brathwaite at Transtec to be able to possibly construct a plant on his property at Kendal?

In a related question is Michal Lashley still leasing a vehicle from Transtec?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A prison that was built for $700 million in a $200 million economy then wunna have the guts, the temerity and audacity to talk about deficit. It’s like somebody working for $5 but spending $8.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Barbados is an IMPORT DRIVEN economy.

Not an EXPORT DRIVEN economy. That is why every 15 to 20 years we are finding ourselves in this situation.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Only the TOURISM sector is firing on all cylinders bringing in more than it fair share of foreign exchange. Followed by Financial services and rum exports.

Other than that all other businesses are foreign exchange users. That is why we are where we are.

Just look at one Bajan industry. VEHICLES. Sheet metal in all forms from all over the World IMPORTED into Barbados. How much FOREIGN EXCHANGE does Courtesy Garage bring into the country? How much does it use? How much FOREIGN EXCHANGE DOES PLATINUM MOTORS BRING INTO THE COUNTRY? How much does it use How much FOREIGN EXCHANGE does all the vehicle IMPORTERS and Parts IMPORTERS bring into the country? How much Foreign do they use?

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…the more ya rant the more ya show up government incompetence, why is the government still incapable of switching the island from an import to export driven economy….they are the leaders, why dont they have any sustainable ideas for the economy. …..

……why as Estwick said in his letter to Fruendel that the government has been printing money from their very first term in office……..that is nearly 9 years of printing money……and probably thought the rating agencies did not know….playing slick.

It’s all out in the open, the fraud, the ministers fake posing like they knew what they were doing…yall gpt exposed….go and read the link for ya self.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We like too much bloody borrowing!!!!

To support grandiose living. Constantly Mortgaging our future.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Intelligent leaders would know they have to restrict Simpson Motors, Coutesy and Platinum Mitors etc from importing vehicles….Bermuda dud it at least 10 years because they have real leaders, only one car per family….allowed.

Those car companies are not the leaders in Barbados…If the leaders were doing theor jobs, the car companies could not leak foreign exchange out the country.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

Printing money in Barbados was going on from the Barbados Labour Party time. It is nothing new.

The printing of money will not have no deleterious on the Barbados economy as the economy is not operating at full capacity.

15. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Pachamama March 16, 2017 at 3:35 PM #

Grenville is wrong

There are few, if any, options left.

Within the current paradigm.

All the current thinking, including his own, will take us over the brink.

Three hundred years from now we’ll have another example how ‘civilizations’ commit mass suicide.@@@@

Pach. @@Grenville have been wrong from the start he just do not get it,,the man act like a fool, and he will end up on the same road as we are now,
    He can not answer any of My questions, Just gives long talk. he really act like a DBLP dead head, He has No solution for Barbados just more of the same, You can not manage Fraud or PONZI, You must have Rule Of Law and Apply it , No matter what names pop up and apply it and not zig zag around names as the do at the land registry or Archives to avoid the truth,
    “Clear Title” is how Banks make money, giving loans for homes and land,, Car loans, credit cars ect ,then you are able to get a few cents on your savings account ,
    The banks leave Barbados and some downsize, CLICO is fraud and Ponzi, Sargico leave Barbados for they have no more fraud land to play with,

Barclay’s now Frist Caribbean and CIBC also seem now to run out of land,
    Ask Phillips for a chart of the amounts of Loans we given out for housing over the years and see the DIP when fraud was talk about and some years some time you get 1 per six months or per year to a standstill?
    Offshore banking has near dried up now pulling back the mask of the face of fraud and ponzi,
    Think its a Joke>? We will watch the rush for projects in Barbados as election come to buy the votes with dreams of JOBS after 5 years.

We will also watch the DLP hang and the BLP kick the chair with a rope around Mia neck next,
    Never seen so many crook lawyers MP group on a 3 legged Chair with a rope around their necks
    Mia now seems to have to use the internet to Bypass the media news in Barbados,

The CUP have not spoken as yet,,, as we watch the fools keeping with lies, that they cant take back for the record.

Get a Clue Phillips, Hiding fraud and ponzi and ass kissing will not help you, We heard they had to on radio cutting you offf, At least you got on the radio as the news block on true goes on , Wake up man wake up, Once you get it, let us know, For the DBLP have to go ,, They will never replace one Sleeping Man for another,

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson.., ya full of crap…print one more dollar by now and the middle or end of the year and yall will go into default. ….then ya should be bodily removed from the people’s parliament.

17. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

18. Dear All:

Roads

The amount of roads is not the problem. The problem is that roads were neither designed not built for the amount of traffic. More importantly, the roads were designed to minimize maintenance. The solution is to design and construct very low maintenance roads and drainage structures.

ISO 9001

The ISO 9001 Quality Management System can be implemented across the Public Service almost immediately, and significant benefits can be realised within 3 months. It should not cost the Government any money to implement the ISO 9001 system.

Options for Solving the Economic Problems

We still have options, but are rapidly running out of time. The Prime Minister needs to take urgent action.

Best regards,
    Grenville

19. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar

Grenville @ the only Option Barbados PM have is telling the Truth, if he tells the truth he may be re-elected if that is his dream ,

Why do you not want to deal with truth? Did you take an oath also to be a liar as a Mason?
    No part of the government can deal with CUP , There is no room for liars at our table.. All willl be exposed,

20. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar

http://www.iwnsvg.com/2015/03/17/acquisition-of-former-top-cops-land-in-canouan-unconstitutional-unlawful-and-null-and-void/

For all you crooks in office , wake up SB Rule of law, none in Barbados crooks of the court,

21. Grenville Phillips

At times suggests that lowering business costs lead to greater invested.

This is neo-classical economic nonsense.

The most recent proof is after decades of this in the USA suggest the reverse.

Cheap money, for example, were largely (95%) was invested into financial assets, horded, loaned overseas, etc.

This Phillips is the reincarnation of the junk economics of Richie Haynes as he aims to protect the moneyed classes.

22. Sometimes it is better to rant about nonsense than to try to add some intellectual weight to one’s personal views and simply expose one’s mis-understanding of essays grabbed from the internet.
    Formal training in a discipline is far better quality than using Google to plagiarise ideas. Every Barbadian is now an economist, which is great. The same way they are all lawyers.

23. The Ugly Man from England

You must have Alzheimer’s.

How many times do you have to be told, assssshole, that we have never operated as such.

Everything we say here, whether right or wrong is our idea.

Anybody here, except you, can quiz us on any we say. In fact, we have had live commentaries with at least one BU contributor. Where for an hour at a time we defended our positions.

Now when, are you going to stop being the butt of a unique idiocy here on BU, as widely recognized?

Are you not the ugly man who up to a few years ago was pushing failed economic shiiiite here on BU every Friday?

Only last night Bushie had to tell you yuh talking nonsense

And after talking that shiite you still would not relent

Then finally tried to solicit ideas from this writer.

You are a proven idiot

Now, you may have the last word.

24. Take a look at this story and draw your own conclusions.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-39311336

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Some people will never learn…lol

26. Barbados used to import lots of beef from South America. A friend told me that when it boils up, it frothes a lot and smells bad. She wanted to know if the beef we get in Canada was like that. I told her to stop eating beef that it was either horse meat or bad beef.

27. Grenville,

Please drop this idiotic ISO9000 implementation talk. The fact that you continue to peddle this nonsense as a saviour of Barbados’s problems shows you are total out of touch with reality and definitely not able to manage this island.

Barbados’s problem are largely cultural and developed over years under a colonial system which still scars us today. Any solution must address this and ISO 9000 certainly does not. It is only a tool.

PLEASE STOP THE IDIOTIC ISO9000 talk and put forward other practical solutions we can discuss

28. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar

independent voice March 16, 2017 at 6:19 PM #

Truth is a powerful tool that cannot be shaken or swept away . Truth has destroyed many govts and at it nucleus is a stealth called integrity@@@@@

If you dont know how true that is, Wait till We get going, ,The NNEWS in Barbados dont come the CUP, To much truth for them and Most of BU,

Even when they talking about elections they skip over 2013 and go right to 2008,Just to Avoid the CUP, We know they drink from CUPs everyday and it must kill them to see it so close to their face and nose,

CUP of Blessing coming just Now, We will see if it will also be NEWS Block on BU,

So mantyy snakes in the media but we still going after the PM as top snake,

Did you hear or see how much in the Banks in Barbados and no loans can be had..

Just remember two words in All Banking, “Clear Title” Yes we got that, CLICO dead dead dead, Many need to be in jail, But they there shaking the PM hand talking 5 more years well them years passing and near done, Elections this time will make more History than 2013,

Free Press, Free Speech, Freedom of Information will keep many out of the DLP and BLP for a long time,Those two coverup PATRIES WILL DIE A SLOW DEATH NEVER TO RETURN , WE HOPE,

29. @ David,

We had a first in the UK parliament last week.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-39295244

30. @Exclaimer

No better place to demonstrate an all inclusive approach than in the parliament. What happened in the UK contrasts sharply this week with an MP in Barbados the parliament disparaging women who have not conceived children.

31. @ David,

It pains me to make direct comparisons between the two countries as Barbados is not a progressive country. I presume you are talking about the discredited Mara Thompson. Ironically, the same accusation was made by a UK female MP (Andrea Leadsom) against the soon to be crowned Theresa May during the most recent Conservative leadership contest after Cameron had decided to step down! The silly women stated that she would be able to run the country better for the simple reason that she was a mother of three in complete contrast to the childless Mrs May. I believed that she removed herself from the leadership contest as soon as she realised the folly of her statement.

I would welcome it if our beloved Mara were to take note.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The dummies for government ministers will allow any nasty crap from anywhere to be imported for the people’s consumption.

Grenville is cursed with the colonial slave mentality, that is all he can see, well scarred and damaged.

33. Stand up Bajans, stand up for what is right. Young political leader in the making. I am impressed.

34. the absolute solution
    http://swissindo.news/about-neo-un-swissindo/

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply