Click to read the 2017-2018 Barbados Estimates (PDF)

171 responses to “The Estimates Debate 2017-2018”

1. LOL@Gabriel
    Pease don’t mislead the blog.
    You KNOW that Bushie’s throws are straight and slow….
    Um is the whacker dat yuh gotta watch out for…

@ Miller
    Lord Fumble is just about reaching the point of understanding that there is no more money to be had by borrowing, taxing, begging or earning….
    Somewhat like a Parro who wants a joint, and feel his pockets – only to find them empty…
    Well you DONE know that he will be looking through the family house for some shiite to sell….

@ Hants
    Do you wanna buy the ABC Highway….? …or Browne’s Beach?
    Just pay the snivel service for a couple months and um is yours….

2. I watched the DLP’s “Facts” video posted to BU, in which Sinckler is seen explaining cash requirements facilitated by the Central Bank, i.e. “printing of money.”

Sinckler emphasized that “money from the Central Bank is a loan, which the government has to repay.” He further stated: “Now I gine tell you because it will soon be revealed when the Central Bank audits are laid in Parliament, the Central Bank this year will make a profit of $25M,” which drew a LOUD APPLAUSE from those in attendance.

Clearly, Sinckler was implying the Central Bank REALIZED a PROFIT of $25M because government REPAID loans from that institution. And the gullible yard-fowls, in their ignorance, applauded that shiite.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

25 million….dont they need at least 70 million a month to pay the civil service., how much were or are they taking from central bank per month to make up the shortfall and when they cant take any more money from that entity, which is now upon them, where will they get the money to pay salaries.

4. When does Sinckler do the good and proper thing and resign on his honour?

5. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea March 16, 2017 at 12:25 AM #

Chuckle……ah dat u……..skippah you really write the above about OSA……hahaha

Ah dun teh yuh yuh duz engage han pun cunputer befaw brain…

….you just wanted to cuss me when I said the same thing…..yuh real hard ears.

6. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The central bank ‘profit’ for the most part is strictly a journal entry exercise. In most cases the government simply roll-over their due payments to the central bank.

7. @fortyacresandamule

Was about to make a similar point. Historically the Central Bank’s income stream would have been currency trading, for the MoF to boast about income on lending to government confirms that he is a jackass.

8. According to the Nation, the Hyatt is about to start. Has anyone seen the permission and, as reported long list of conditions? I find it strange that 50 something conditions, some apparently linked to design, could have been addressed in less than a month.

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar

enuff

Has it really started or is the contractor clearing the site to push the PM for the signed contract?

10. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. You are 100% correct. Nowadays most of the central bank so-called profit comes from open market operation. The difference in interest rate what they get on government notes and T-bills and what they pay investors for mopping up liquidity. And most times they are making a ‘loss’

11. Enuff
    Andrews did start too.And what happened.A judge stop it dead in its tracks!

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

13. Bitches Brew is a studio double album by American jazz musician Miles Davis,

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/18/oh-no-mara/

14. David,
    You said “…examining our economic fundamentals to lean to export. ”
    Export what? At the moment our only export is sugar; whatever amount that is, our other major source of income is tourism. The only other alternative is cutting down on imports, and import substitution, for goods. What else is there? Unless the opposition will join with government to overturn (real the law; introduced by OSA, that would ALLOW THE GOVERNMENT TO CUT WAGES.

15. @Artax March 16, 2017 at 10:12 AM

This is a financial perpetuum mobile. Cannot work.

16. March 18, 2017 at 1:15 am
    ” truth is dat dey got a few mules among de BLP parliamentarians ah lie?”

Glad to see one of BU’s best is still blogging in another forum.

17. MARA THOMPSON AND CHILDLESS WOMEN.

“In an obvious reference to party leader Mia Mottley and Bradshaw, who is the Member of Parliament for St Michael South East, Thompson charged that the BLP was currently led “by someone who does not have children”, adding, that “she who sits beside her [meaning Bradshaw] was the same thing”.

“I have no children but I have chosen to come to public life to be able to be an example to other young people, to be able to speak out and to represent my country. That is the choice I made. And I take real disgust to persons who speak in that way because I’ve worked hard to be here.”

18. If pot holes save lives ,according to one of our deputy Prime Ministers,then the sale of the Barbados National Bank to Republic Bank of T&T may have saved Barbadian deposit account holders of BNB from a fate,almost as bad as the CLICO rip-off,given the propensity of this poor rakey administration to print money and dip into the resources of the National Insurance funds.

19. ” Bradshaw, who followed in her father Delisle Bradshaw’s footsteps to become the political representative for St Michael South East, was quick to fire back at Thompson’s salvo, arguing that because a woman was childless did not mean that she did not know how to be a parent.”

20. Why do we find it so difficult to compete with other international companies. I mean we invented rum! We have this inability to grasp the understanding of marketing. This is how it should be done.

https://www.plantationrum.com/our-history/