This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Many come to BU to gauge the political pulse of the country. With a general election on the horizon it is accurate to say the political temperature is rising.

As part of our commitment to the BU family to deliver an informed perspective members of he BU family were embedded in the BLP March of Disgust. Given the reluctance of Barbadians to protest in numbers one would have to give the organizers a pass mark for the turnout if not for content.

Members of the BU household observed people of many profiles –the young, old, babies pushed in prams and held in arms, homosexuals, BLPites, DLPites, independents, Moslems (cloaked in burkas) the disabled, Caucasians, trade unionists and many others.  A word about the Caucasians. We have not seen so many White people along side Blacks since the height of the Cahill protest.

It s evident as we mingle that there is a high level of dissatisfaction at the state of the country  which transcends political affiliation. Barbadians have dented pride and are frustrated and how a country established for punching above its weight has dropped in the rankings if we used 19 downgrades or 22 if CariCRIS are numbered. If 1991 was bad what is unravelling in 2017 appears to be worse.

The question for the Bees –what is your next move!

153 responses to “Thousands March to Protest …”

1. William Skinner Avatar

“To repeat, when the White people feel compelled to demonstrate you know there is a problem. ”

This is perhaps the saddest thing I have ever read in this blog ! We are now saying that there are no problems until they are validated by our white citizens. How pathetic to read such in 2017.

2. @William

Do not allow your simplistic reading of the point to affect your understanding. Local White people and minority groups tend to avoid public displays to avoid drawing attention from the dominant Black population. Hope that clears it up for you.

3. @William

You see where this is going , forward or backward in our political culture

4. Nothing new in Davids utterances that is a display of one of the many psychological barriers that have made black people modern slaves to colonist and imperialistic platitudes but when these intellectual are being corrected they raise a stink of knowing it all and holier than thou attitude
    Why on earth would whites appearance in a march be a confirmation of Barbados problems
    Hate to say it but Carribbean people are there own worst enemy
    If there was any good leader in the Carribbean with a recognition of how the history of black people was formulated and continues to be manifested in wrong doings which has become a hindrance to themselves one with guts would stand up to the imperialistic demands of these financial institutions and remind them of the wrongs done which are part of epidermic poverty throughout the region and bodly state WE OWE YOU NOTHING
    However in doing so the Carribbean nations would have to unite as a powerful force under one Banner Presenting UNITY STRENGTH as the way forward to progress

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

As’ s…yall talk utter rubbish, while enabling a few minorities who see themselves as white to pillage as much as they can from NIS Pension fund, Central bank, treasury and anywhere they can find a weak, greedy, dumb government minister to help them steal from the majority….both governments are the hypocrites who have allowed this for over 30 years….while their yardfowls say nothing,

Other Caribbean islands would do well to stay away from the bribery/corruption that is Barbados until the heads have been removed from these snakes, so as not to become victims of minority business people and government ministers greed….while their poorest are robbed blind by both.

6. William Skinner Avatar

@ David,

I know what I read the word “compelled” is the operative word in the comment you wrote. I don’t need you to clear up anything. It is obvious to me that you wrote that as an endorsement of the march. Do not attempt puerile sophistry at this stage .
    It is obvious that from all reports the march was a success. Why on earth did you have to qualify that success by implying that whites and Indians felt “compelled and then follow it up with:”you know there is a problem” when they feel it necessary to protest. Admit that you went overboard in your obvious glee that the march was a success. I remain appalled that in 2017 , anybody can write such.

7. David – why waste time responding to William? Stupse. Everyone, including William, knew what you meant.

8. @William

Your comment does not warrant a response except to say it is ignorance being displayed at its best. You mean after explaining the comment in context meant you persist with some vacuous posit? Has the breath of work delivered by BU over the years not painted a picture of where we are positioned on race issues in Barbados? To repeat, when Whites are compelled to demonstrate read move from their below the radar comfort position it tells a story a al Cahill.

You may have the last word.

9. For those who are interested a few of the political party are on the talk show.

10. “David March 5, 2017 at 6:49 PM #

@Wily

The citizens, the citizens.”

Well David you maybe correct, it’s unfortunate though the rally was organized under the mandate of the BLP which clearly puts some bias on the turnout. It was good though to see a cross section of individuals represented and not a sea of red shirts.

This march would have had greater impact and meaning if held under a “citizens revolt banner”

11. @Wily

Unfortunately the duopoly remains. The other parties have not made known at this late stage any significant credible candidates to offer as an alternative.

12. Thanks David,

I will listen to the……….

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

hahahahaha

MIA AMOR MOTTLEY must be a beaten down woman today. After spending $100,000 to promote her sponsored walk she must be very disappointed with the crowd size. She is thinking that she didnt get value for her money.

Around 74,000 thousand people voted for the BLP in last general elections but the Police guesstimate of the crowd was only 9,000. This must be giving MIA AMOR MOTTLEY heartburn this day.

But we must consider something very important. When we subtract from that Police guesstimate she really didnt well at all. We have to discount the thousands of school age children I saw there, the paros who have no vote, the people who out for evening entertainment, those who were there for the wuk up music and the food. That is about 6,000, which leaves only 3,000 who could vote for the Barbados Labour Party.

Let also add that Prime Minister Stuart must be very please with the meager turn out of eligible voters. We also noted that the sponsored walk was not held during a week day. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY realised that the number would be even more embarrassing as people would not take the risk of having their pay docked hence the evening sponsored walk. She didnt want to take the risk of only 200 people showing up like the last time.

14. Are we listening to this JA George Pilgrim? This is where our politics has come? The same George Pilgrim predicted the demise of MIA at the last annual conference.

15. Fractured BLP March 12, 2017 at 7:34 AM #

No doubt that some of the citizens are fooled by the enthusiastic rubbish that some politicians are pushing.

Well Well states above that citizens are not that stupid and I thought so too, until I read some comments in the nation news when questions were raised to citizens about the downgrades.

The answers were remarkably ignorant with some supporting the government in that the agencies ‘have it in’ for Barbados. Sheer idiocy.

But what that means is, their ignorance is being exploited by politicians for their own end.

Fine. So, some still solidly support the government, let us take it as that.

But, my next question is, what happens when the bubble bursts?

When the reality hits and the shelves are bare?

When you cannot buy imported shaving cream?

Or at least, when imported shaving cream is $70 a can?

I shudder to think, the result when these people realise that what they took for sound talk was actually shaving cream and manure.

Come on, for once, cut the nonsense and be honest when you comment here, enough of the political garbage.

Enough is enough.

Bear in mind, people will clearly remember that SInckler and Stuart said that the rating agencies are talking rubbish.

The opposition need to imprint that on the minds of the voters now. Repeat it and make it resound.

It will be relevant in the near future.

16. @ David,

Just so you,Bushie,Piece and Jeff know………This Bajan in the diaspora is making

decisions with the expectation that there may be a DEVALUATION and a continuing

destabilization of the economy in the short to medium term.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The same George Pilgrim predicted the demise of MIA at the last annual conference.”

The same MIA AMOR MOTTLEY said in the recent past that she was giving the PM 7 days to remove Hon. Christopher Sinckler as Finance Minister otherwise she would remove both the PM and the Finance Minister. The last time I checked they are still there.

18. George Pilgrim is the Sean Spicer of Barbados.

Just need the PM to start twittering.

19. Carson C. Cadogan March 12, 2017 at 11:26 AM #

What bothers me most about your statement above is not that you are right nor wrong in your assessment, not that you, in your real or faked glee rant on again about MIA but that you are missing the point entirely.

I really hope that you are not representative of the true government and party views, because your views, at a time like this, reflect a shocking insensitivity as to the situation for a lot of people who are fighting to survive in this economic situation.

Moreover, your views, if ‘real’ and as you have written it, we must make an assumption that you are being genuine, indicate a complete lack of appreciation for the serious situation that the country is in.

If you, as a close-in party supporter have this view and this view reflects the PM’s view re the rating agencies, then what is now compounding the worry about the situation, is that you all have literally no idea what you are doing.

Because if you did, you would not be so gleeful this morning and MIA would be the last thing on your mind.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

21. @Hants

It is not to be unexpected that with 19 downgrades there will be flight of capital and uncertainty with the population.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…look what we got for DBLP.

23. @ David
    That a ruling political party can present someone like Pilgrim as a spokesman – a party with a history of such persons as Barrow, Bradford Taitt, and Richie Haynes…. speaks volumes of the quality of persons available to them now…
    Pilgrim barely cuts it as someone for the role of General secretary of a 4H club.

The boy is an unmannerly lout…

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well you are missing a very important point.

STEP 5
    Bar the Barbados Labour Party from elective politics in Barbados.

WITH THAT SINGLE STEP YOU WOULD BANISH VOTE BUYING VOTER FRAUD FOR GOOD IN BARBADOS.

25. Mr. Pilgrim made an accusation that the BLP had a call center in place to get people to come to the March. Mr. Marshall agreed that they had a call center with volunteers manning it. Lots of money was spent on advertisements on radio,tv, CDs mini vans, ZRs and megaphones on cars in villages.
    On that evidence more persons should be at the March

26. I agree The DLP need a sensible PRO

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I agree Carson Steps 5 & 6 …. bar both DBLP from elections in Barbados, they both buy votes and the electorate is now responsible for using their digital devices to expose both political parties from NOW.

https://imgur.com/CzhrEyZ

28. sensible PRO my brass. When a country is in this kind of crisis you need a Prime Minister to

address the country.

29. I agree The DLP need a sensible PRO
    …there also need a sensible PM, an honest Speaker of the House, a higher class ‘Lowe’, a fine-ants minister who understands decimals, and a yardfowl who can write a coherent sentence in a blog…

30. Bushie

Chuckle…..depends on which era…….but even now the secretary of one of those clubs would have a better grasp of whatever topic they were invited to speak on and be able to substantiate whatever they are saying.

My feeling is that he does not wish to be there,hence he tried to be obnoxious to Ellis and make wild statements so that he could be asked to shut up or leave…..not much different to govt operatives on here at the moment.

31. Tell George Pilgrim that people outside Barbados are concerned about DEVALUATION.

BARBADOS, for years the classic country of reference for fiscal prudence within the Caribbean Community (Caricom), is currently feverishly trying to avoid devaluation of its currency (currently trading at 50 cents to one US dollar).
    It is a tough battle to win against the backdrop of its latest fiscal rating downgrade, just last week—to the low end of the “B” scale —CCC+—by the international rating agency, Standard and Poor’s, amid diminishing expectations for recovery any time soon.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170307/editorial/tough-choices-for-barbados

32. @Hants

Would you feel comfortable with an assurance from George Pilgrim.

33. @ David,

I am over 65 but still sane and reasonably intelligent. lol

34. To listen to the frivolous manner George is engaging on the panel is pathetic.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ HantsMarch 12, 2017 at 12:12 PM

But Hants, the coming Devaluation would make your dreams come to reality.

Bajans would be forced to grow what they need to eat.

The price of imported food which is already high in the sky would be so prohibitively expensive Bajans would be forced not only to go back to the cane fields but to the yam and potato ground.

Walking and cycling would no longer be the preserve of the very poor and the road would again be an open gym for those fitness fanatics.

Here is a bet for you, Speculator Hants, to place on the Devaluation hobby horse:
    Would it be an initial 3: 1 on the greenback or should we go for the whole hairy hog in the kit and caboodle with a clean cut instead of a Mohican 5: 1?

36. @ millertheanunnaki,

1 USD =127.530JMD 1 USD =206.490GYD

Looks like I will have to be satisfied with my pension and stay indoors in winter lol

37. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Miller

I hope the Diaspora from the UK and CAN will take advantage of the coming devaluation to use their money which will be worth a lot to invest in the the island before hordes of other nationalities come and pick off good real estate cheap.

Around the early 1900s when sugar failed a number of our Panama ancestors did likewise and bought plantations here.

38. You all must know who Carson Cadogan is

39. All we know is that is that his comments represent DLP partisan and are categorized as such.

Right Carl?

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidMarch 12, 2017 at 1:05 PM#
    “To listen to the frivolous manner George is engaging on the panel is pathetic.”

GP the DLP monkey is just mimicking his ‘primate’ master Lord Fumble at pompous frivolity.

This Lord Fumble is taking on many of the characteristics of that other arrogant Zimbabwean jackass.

Look at the dismissively askance way Fumble treats the assessments contained in the scorecards compiled by the credit rating agencies and the IMF on his economic performance and the country’s abysmal financial ‘stewardship’ as if the international financial world revolves around his jingoistic Barbados whose monopoly currency would not be found loitering on any IMF doorstep.

The Mighty Chalkdust might soon have to amend his Seawater and Sand song lyrics to reflect the current sign of the times to show that not only Bajans can turn sand into muddy coucou and drink seawater instead of sweet drinks but also ‘buy’ oil from Bushie’s land of Trickidad with a Bajan printed $ 1 million banknote embossed with the face of Lord Fumble and an oil tanker instead of his nose.

41. However, seeking to clear the air Thursday, the Chief Town Planner told the SATURDAY SUN that an initial application for lights at the Garrison was processed, but planning permission was not issued “because it was felt that the lights proposed at the height at which they were proposed, would have had an impact on the outstanding universal value of the Garrison.”

Lights but not a 15-storey building?

42. @enuff

After listening to the BLP, DLP, UPP and the little we heard of CAP one must question if hope springs eternal.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent HaynesMarch 12, 2017 at 1:29 PM

It was that Panama bonanza that gave the black ‘enterprising’ class a leg up in the real estate (property) world.

Were Trents and Lascelles involved in that early ‘cutting-up’ in return for black-earned forex gold to be followed by Husbands, Oxnards et al?

It is doubtful if there would ever be a return to those halcyon days of real estate investment by the Diaspora.

Many with that entrepreneurial homesick drive have either returned with their pension nest egg already ensconced in the many castles dotting St. Philip and other exclusive spots or have already caught their last flight to their final journey home.

Any genetic remnants still existing in the cold have little intention of making boring Barbados their ‘convenience-challenging’ home but see it as an occasional sun-seeking idyllic getaway to stay in the family castle in the tropics.

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson..it’s been over 3 hours since you accused BLP candidates of vote buying, that’s à prosecuetable offense as you are well aware, in 2013 Fruendel and Adriel Nitwit, both also lawyers, officers of the court, said they saw vote buying, by now I thought you would tell me when yall will prosecute those politicians who engaged in the buy, as you said.

Do you now see why everyone, except yardfowls, want all of you gone from their parĺiament.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin CumminsMarch 12, 2017 at 9:08 AM
    “I am a loyal Bajan, and I can see where the country is heading, not because of anything the DLP has done, but because of what has it NOT done; Enforce measures to make Bajans understand what they HAVE to expect. White people marched against Sandy too, do you remember? When white people”rub shoulders” watch out.”

When you refer to ‘white people’ rubbing shoulders with local blacks are you also referring to money maloney and the ‘white-shadow’ backers pulling the strings of that troupe of black monkeys in the cabinet financially masturbating the taxpayers while engaging in the rape of the Treasury?

Alvin, if you were that loyal a Bajan you would get your octogenarian pseudo-patriotic donkey out of the cold and return to the local battle to fight for the survival of your country even under a flagellating failing flag of yellow and blue.

Why are you remaining in Maple leaf land living off the ‘white’ Canadian taxpayers when your cornucopia of skills experience and partisan political bravado are in much demand in Barbados now overrun by a menagerie ‘powful-foolish’ idiots and corrupt goons hiding behind a cabinet unfathomable stupidity?

If this rot of governance is not stopped through some serious surgical incision of the electoral kind to remove the core of corruption, lies and blatant incompetence then the patient Barbados will be heading for the IMF ICU for a long stay in an extended comatose state of economic stagnation with the attendant social bed sores.

Your longstanding training in Microbiology should tell you that bacteria left to fester in an open wound on the foot of diabetic Barbados is a recipe for amputation. The local fake antibiotics dispensed since 2009 by the deceitful lying pharmacist Stinkliar are not working
    Come on, old Doctor Cummins, you patient Barbados needs your help immediately.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FACTS:

A $25million Tourism Industry relief fund
    Establishment of a special program to encourage greater participation of the Diaspora in the promotion of Barbados Tourism
    Barbados first Tourism master plan
    Creation of the BTMI and BTPA
    The construction of the Ann Hill School
    The construction of the St. Ambrose Primary School
    The construction of the information Tech. wing at Harrison College
    The construction of the new Auditorium St. Lucy Secondary school
    The construction of a 14 class annex at the SJPP
    The completion of the Hall at the Alleyne School
    The Language center at the BCC
    Completion of the Olga Miller Nursery School
    Completion of electrical upgrades at the Garrison School
    Completion of electrical upgrades at the Eagle Hall Primary School
    Greater us of Technology and Social media in marketing Barbados
    Energy and tax saving measures geared at cost saving in the Tourism sector
    Reduction of duties on Tourism enterprises
    Concessionary funding for the upgrading of our Tourism plant to maintain its World class edge

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

How can yall not like what I said when it’s my friend Carson said it’s BLP responsible for vote buying and voter fraud in Barbados and am sure BLP will say it’s DLP responsible for vote buying and voter fraud in Barnados because they are all close friends the ministers and politicians of both political partied, they know each others dirty, filthy business. …..Mia and Donville are thisclose.

“Carson C. Cadogan March 12, 2017 at 11:53 AM #
    Well Well you are missing a very important point.

STEP 5
    Bar the Barbados Labour Party from elective politics in Barbados.

WITH THAT SINGLE STEP YOU WOULD BANISH VOTE BUYING VOTER FRAUD FOR GOOD IN BARBADOS”

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…..you do realize that none of you in the cabinet are doing the taxpayers any favors right, ya using their money, yall getting salaries with perks, ya suppose to be doing ya jobs, that is why ya paid a salary.

Now tell us about the Maloney/Bjerkham/coverley scam, the Bizzy Ionics scam, the Valery box oven et al Maloney scam robbing the tapayers….the tipping fee scam, the shite tax scam, the Bizzy “give me” garbage scams, the Cow/NIS pension fund scam……all at the detriment and major loss to the majority black population and I must add the minorities who are now negatively impacted.

49. @CCC

Fact:

19 credit rating downgrades + 3 (CariCRISS)

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

well well I dont know of any scams going on in Barbados. The scams stop when the wise people of Barbados booted the Barbados Labour Party from power as they like to call it back in 2008.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply