This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Many come to BU to gauge the political pulse of the country. With a general election on the horizon it is accurate to say the political temperature is rising.

As part of our commitment to the BU family to deliver an informed perspective members of he BU family were embedded in the BLP March of Disgust. Given the reluctance of Barbadians to protest in numbers one would have to give the organizers a pass mark for the turnout if not for content.

Members of the BU household observed people of many profiles –the young, old, babies pushed in prams and held in arms, homosexuals, BLPites, DLPites, independents, Moslems (cloaked in burkas) the disabled, Caucasians, trade unionists and many others.  A word about the Caucasians. We have not seen so many White people along side Blacks since the height of the Cahill protest.

It s evident as we mingle that there is a high level of dissatisfaction at the state of the country  which transcends political affiliation. Barbadians have dented pride and are frustrated and how a country established for punching above its weight has dropped in the rankings if we used 19 downgrades or 22 if CariCRIS are numbered. If 1991 was bad what is unravelling in 2017 appears to be worse.

The question for the Bees –what is your next move!

153 responses to “Thousands March to Protest …”

1. Whites come out of the woodwork to protest

2. Great turnout and an inclusive rally. I was particularly impressed with the 13 year old Indian boy……..my spouse said that he reminds him of a young DT.

The dems must be quaking in their boots.

3. The bees next move is another march. However 9,000 not enough to win an election

4. @AS

The electorate will deal with you arrogant morons! Keep on being so cocky as if you idiots have the right to rule Barbados for ever!

5. you guys like crunching numbers go figure and find out how much ofthis society it would take to win the election, the few handful or so mostly showed up out of curiosity sorry bro needs at least three quarters of the population to pull the big one .
    Mia once again show barbadians how daft and inept she can be in a time when people are simply asking for solutions she prances up and down in the city trying to hog the spotlight and to garner much needed attention
    Next on the BLP agenda . Rubbing Shoulders

6. Delusional jackass.

Why dont you admit that post Barrow, every time that the people have put the country in your hands you have screwed up big time.

At least Sandi did take some remedial mesures, painful though they were but you current morons do not have a clue what you are doing.

Your bunch of wildboys and gals are out of their depth…………that is the painful truth for Barbadians…………..jackasses……….doing the same thing for the last 9 years with the same results…..

And Barbadians are to suffer so that incompetent morons can stoke their egos.

Get loss, aS.

7. Still need OSA’s help?

8. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

@ Pridigal Son the common thread among the DEMs is a total disconnect from reality..so ignore DEM idiots…..It is 1991 all over again. Why is it that the DEMs do not take responsibility for the economic black hole they created????. They were in “power” since 2008 and had 19 cumulative downgrades from 3 different agencies within that time, now begging for Owen to “help” them and the DEMS still saying they have the economy under control still trying to blame the BLP!!!!! COME ON DEMS, that record stuck on repeat!!!!! Bajans are TIRED of hearing the “blame the BLP” line. The sad commentary is that the DEMS are caught between a rock and a hard place deliberately STALLING until the next elections. They are leaving the BLP to take corrective action for a mess DEM created. Don’t worry Barbados…the BLP will come to your rescue!!!….we have done it at least once before and the BLP will clean up the REAL MESS that the DEMS have created (AGAIN!!!!)

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It would appear that the Dems know how to get the economy in trouble and worse yet, they seem to have no clue what to do after running the country into the ground. In 1991 Sandiford messed up by over spending to win an election. He then had the gall to claim that his measures saved the dollar from devaluation. It was like stabbing a person, then calling the ambulance and claiming that calling the ambulance saved the person’s life.

Now, for the last nine years, the Dems again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians and are stubbornly holding on to power, even though their incompetence is glaring for all, including Dems, to see.

This party needs to be disbanded before they could ever get their hands on power again. They always seem to attract a talentless lot.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Look at what is coming for yall Carson and As’ s/ACs, the next march will not be about any political party, it will be the people’s march of distrust of Fruendel…just 2 more downgrades to go…soon come,.

Lawson…..they got time to label it a “distrust Fruendel rally” just 2 more downgrades and the island will be at DEFAULT…the whole island will then turn out to shout Fruendel and his idiot gang out of the people’s parliament….the people still got a little time…that is when ya will see a huuge and bigly crowd..

Dont mind Carson with all the useless quotations, they are just as helpful to them now as are their useless economic policies…..after all the lying and quoting of dead people is over, the 19 downgrades will still be staring them in the face and the ministers will still have no solutions to fix the problems.

11. charles skeete Avatar

“Prodigal Son March 11, 2017 at 10:57 PM #

@AS

The electorate will deal with you arrogant morons! Keep on being so cocky as if you idiots have the right to rule Barbados for ever!”

Take it easy Prodigal

12. Why some of you allow two or three quintessential yardfowls to yank you chains we will never know. A yardfowl or cellar duck will always hold a partisan position come what may. These people cannot be relied on to change anything because they are fixated on the party position. They are blindly and fatally hignorant. They are good for the blog to show why we have an entrenched duopoly. These yardfowls and cellar ducks can be found on both sides mind you.

To repeat, when the White people feel compelled to demonstrate you know there is a problem. Another observation, there was about the same number of people lining the streets. We will have to wait to see how the Opposition create momentum from the march. Maybe a another no confidence motion in the government this time. Let us see how Arthur votes although we suspect he will say we should give the two committees time to make recommendations and for the government to implement…LoL.

13. @David

“The question for the Bees –what is your next move!”

Indeed!!

Unfed momentum becomes inertia.

Observing

14. “Observing

It is interesting that in the US for example we have legislators being grilled by ordinary citizens at town halls used to meet with citizens to glean feedback from both sides. Because of the fierceness of the engagement by citizens legislators, some of them, have been turning on previous positions held. In the UK with have question time etc.

In Barbados we have politicians who feel that be avoiding and telling untruths to the people it is the smart thing to do and we have allowed them to do so.

No longer!

15. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

The DLP for sure have to All GO, But there is no sign as Yet that the BLP will set the records right in the Mess they started to begin with, If they get back in , Will they admit what they have done to Barbados, Or Will they just go back in to the hands of COW, Bizzy Et Ali,

They may fool some of the People or most of the people , But that cant fool the people outside of Barbados, S&P , Moody’s,WB, IDB ,IMF are not a fool for the games they play on the People of Barbados, making a real change dont mean just printing more money inside Barbados,
    All Parties will live and die on their Manifesto . They better come correct,
    Massive Land fraud, Ponzi system of government needs to end, Rule of Law better show up,For if the BLP was to Win they will not last 2 years for all can be fixed in the fist 3 months or less in office, May the DLP RIP and BLP on life support,

16. @David 4:23

I agree with you that our system has repeatedly allowed those in power to act with power to the detriment of our democracy and democratic rights.

The Opposition still needs to use this momentum to show how they will do better. Not promises such as Integrity Legislation, FOI, good governance and cheap land within 100 days.

We must also remember the elephant in the room. How much weight he/she gains/loses will determine a lot.

You say no longer! But only time will tell.

Observing

17. David,

Unfortunately all the opposition can do is to keep pushing meetings, preparing for the next general election.

That and a no confidence motion vs the Government. Prior to the no confidence motion, they should make it clear publicly that they are doing so and make it publicly clear, that they seek any support from current government members and that those who do not support it, support the government, to ‘out’ those who pretend to be on the fence and who seek public support in future.

That said, my fear is that, unless the election is very soon, which the opposition now believes and makes sense, to avoid further trouble before the election and a chance to win again, it will not be the opposition that brings things to a head.

On the current track, I suspect and fear. that what will bring things to a head is literally bare supermarket shelves, I am not joking.

Then, what brings things to a head will be much worse.

That is what happens when economic policies are idiotic.

Honestly, and I am no political yardfowl or member of any party, the best thing now is for the PM to call an election, as soon as possible, not for the sake of trying to get back into Parliament with a majority, as being the reason that the opposition suspect, but to give someone else a chance to do things right.

But, we will have to see if the money-backers will allow them to make that correct call.

And as I stated before the last election, we need international observers. No election should be swayed by iphones and ipads nor hundred dollar bills.

The opposition needs to call for international observers from now.

18. Interesting article in today’s Sunday Sun advising that UWU, Cave Hill will have to cut low enrolment courses. This comes with the news that the Barbados government owes them $200 million.

19. So the Bees marched….
    And the Bees remain Fractured….
    Payne got Hinkson in Court…
    Agard got Mia & Jerome in Court…..
    Lynette got the UPP…..ready to UP..in Mia……
    Wendell formed he own party…..

Nah…
    The Bees to DAMN…..FRACTURED

DEMS…..now….DEMS…..AGAIN

DAVID…..wheel and come again

Rational thinking Bajans SMARTER than you think

Wait till the bell ring…..

20. Already not governing but Mia wasted one hundred thousand dollars on a march an objective which could have easily been done on parliament floor with viable forth coming solutions
    The problem which the blp will be that of having to confront a reality that it takes more than a march to solve the nations economic problem an unscripted reality which flies in the face of political grandstanding
    Meanwhile govt keep searching for better solutions while Mia burns the midnight oil making placards and cheap shot pronunciations and criticisms
    ??? In the nine years of country economic turmoil what if any thing of substance has Mia contributed that can heal mend or explain to the people what she has to offer the country that is helpful to the long term economic sustainability of the country
    Furthermore evidence has shown the under the governance of the BLP long term debt over a period of fourteen years has been the catalyst which has help to erode much of the gains attributed to barbados development and the economic global meltdown have given cause for financial institutions to be knocking on govt doors who have accumulated much debt with demands and presenting austerity measures as a way forward
    Facts which Mia and her supporters might want to run away from with pretentious gestures but facts however which Mia cannot avoid and which the BLP would have to answer to before or if ever holding the reigns of govt
    ????Mam are you aware that the BLP govt had accumulated massive debt in their reign of governance which has been handed to the taxpayers as a debt to be paid .How do you go about repaying this debt if your party wins the election.
    In all probabilities Mia would never answer the question and hold fast to a position of vocal criticism hoping that the people would not recognize the flaws and weakness of her one theme solution
    Hopefully one of her loyal supporters would whisper in Mia ear Criticisms without Solutions is not the answer an unacceptable strategy
    BTW yesterday march was a very good preview to our upcoming 2017 crop over festival music was good food was spot on and the speakers well left much to be desired seems as if i heard and did that all before

21. Good the ministry of social care found the funds to rescue the Leggings March. No doubt all effort to detract from the BLP’S disgust March motivated them.

Good politics.

22. BU’s favourite poster:

‘Worthing fedup of shit’

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The wait is for the DEFAULT…bells got npthing to do with this, no one in their right minds will reelect a government who has given the country 19 steady downgrades to date…..and a pending default. …2 or 3 years after being reelected or even before.

The electorate aint that stupid to dig their own graves of starvation…..

….videos on Venezuela, an oil rich country, are still available so anyone can view their suffering because of an incompetent government.

24. Hamilton A Hill Avatar
    Hamilton A Hill

@ Prodigal son…if you heard the tone and checked the timing of Friday’s press conference you would not bother to respond to Angela. It reminded me of a weather bulletin from the Met office……high winds coming so don’t do this…don’t do that. In the face of the latest downgrades the Government held a press conference to discuss the actions of the opposition. You ever hear such madness? Rather than grow a set of balls they sent George Pilgrim to try scare tactics with this nonsense about Dominica. At least Dominica realize growth. Then again theirs is an economy………. DEMS just wrecking a society. They need to tell the Nation about the impending violence they predicted. Did you crack any heads or shoot anyone?

25. I all possibilty Mia must be feeling a sense of worthiness after yesterday march but why not after spending one hundred thousand dollars to paid speakers and musicians in a march of disgust which most likely she had to meet their demands
    Yet the demands of many citizens which would have cost her nothing in requesting she gives viable alternatives solutions go unanswered
    The govt of the day would be foolish not to double down and prance with aggressive style deciphering the ridiculous version and an illusion of a blp strategy fixated on criticism to fix the economy

26. “……no one in their right minds will reelect a government who has given the country 19 steady downgrades to date…..and a pending default. …2 or 3 years after being reelected or even before.” (WWC)

“…..Honestly, and I am no political yardfowl or member of any party, the best thing now is for the PM to call an election, as soon as possible, not for the sake of trying to get back into Parliament with a majority, as being the reason that the opposition suspect, but to give someone else a chance to do things right.” (Crusoe)

Be very careful for what you wish for. Have neither of you considered the real possibility that the Barbados electorate are more than capable of reelecting Stuart.

We need to recognise that the current DLP party is probably under the influence of the Mafia fraternity. Should this be proven then they should be forced to step down. This government is sufficiently malicious to wreak further damage to our economy.

It is time for our patriotic army to step up.

27. Shiite…
    What the hell!!!
    If this yardfowl cannot even write a coherent sentence on a damn blog,…. no wonder these DLP jackasses are taking us to junk-bond status…

There MUST be at least one person in the DLP intelligent enough to ask this Angela Skeete Shiite (ASS) to keep off the blog ….or to at least get any 11+ student to vet her posts…

Steupsss… sounds almost as stupid as George Pilgrim then….

28. Well Well,
    “The wait is for the DEFAULT…”. …”2 or 3 years after being reelected or even before.”

Are you really a loyal [son] daughter? Why are you anticipating [hoping] for such an event? For what purpose, just to say we have the possibility of electing another party to power? The American people longed for Donald Trump and got him. Fifty days after he was inaugurated, his Cabinet is not complete, people are being fired left right and centre, even attorneys generals, and they are now realizing the mistakes they had been making in not understanding the details of the Affordable Care Act. The corruption and other infelicities are coming to the fore, and everything is in a mess. In the case of Barbados, the impatience is gaining the ascendency and the prophesies of gloom and doom, are being pushed more and more to the fore, although the indicators for the other direction are in place and there for all to see.
    A loyal and optimistic Bajan talking. I will say it for you; no need to let you expend your energy doing it. I am an idiot and a yarifowl, so you would expect this from me.

29. Forgot to finish off. At least, yard fowls are loyal.

30. Hamilton A Hill Avatar
    Hamilton A Hill

@ Alvin…..lil confession good for the soul….lost ones included.

31. @Alvin

Why are you never able to get it through your 80 year old skull that we are all Barbadians on this blog who want too see Barbados proper? It is not about wishing for downgrades. It is that the performance of the economy drives the rating agencies to downgrade Barbados/securities. Wishing for it nt to happen will not change it. Have you read the reports by the Chief Economist and CEO of the Caribbean Development Bank? Have you read what the T&T based CariCRISS have put out? Do you know what tough love is? Because you support a party it does not mean you have to hold your nose and say you do not smell anything.

32. WHY ARE THE PROTESTERS DANCING LIKE THEY AT CROP OVER ?

33. Alvin,

Are you a trained economist or just an informed reader of policy?

34. @Hants

Some serious calypso was being played, Gryner, Gypsy, RPB -you know West West Indians.

35. @David March at 4:23 AM re “It is interesting that in the US …legislators being grilled by ordinary citizens at town halls …some of them, have been turning on previous positions held. … In Barbados we have politicians who feel that be avoiding and telling untruths to the people … we have allowed them to do so.”

A transparent review of US and Bajan politics will reflect a greater similarity and sameness of politicians apathy to voter needs than may be apparent based from the above statement.

They both fundamentally tell voters whatever they feel they want to hear and mamiguy them UNTIL the very moment the game is lost .

As with Stuart’s assertions that he did not know of the Cahill contract negotiations UNTIL the very moment that docs with his signature dated well before his denials were displayed.

As with Speaker Pelosi making claims about the effect and impact of Hil Clinton’s perfidy UNTIL she had to back-track.

And so with myriad Republican examples.

When all is said and done, however, there are salient differences between Repubs and Dems on core social and monetary issues. Those will set them apart. There is NOTHING apparently separating the ethos of the Dees and Bees locally.

It has been said here before: if Mia Mottley says that a victory for the BLP will see the introduction of a Bill on integrity legislation WITHIN the FIRST 100 days of her government and passage asap that kinks are resolved and AFFIRMS to Bajans that if her party does not keep that promise that she will RESIGN and go to the GG to get a dissolution of parliament (failing which of course her political life is done) then all this avoidance of telling untruths would set them apart from the DLP.

A pipe dream obviously.

So as @Pieces would say, ‘lek we go wuk up and march do’…. UNTIL we elect whichever bunch of liars to fool us for another five years.

At least in the US they also get a two year window to display their foolhardy selves.

36. @ David,

I don’t dance when I vex. I mussee spen tuhmuch time in Canada. lol

37. David;
    “… Because you support a party it does not mean you have to hold your nose and say you do not smell anything.”
    When I was a child, my mother, like so many other poor people at the time, knew that “colon cleansing”; (a rose by any other name…,) a purging,was important for good health. As a result she made sure that we were given castor oil on a regular basis. The Castor oil tasted terrible, and it smelled even worse, so we had to “hold our noses” and swallow it, to obtain the optimum result.
    What is there to smell? Ours is a small economy, with limited exports bringing in limited foreign exchange,; dependent on a tourism market that fluctuates, and has to be managed, a beuraucracy requiring expenditure of a large amount of funds; 4.5 Billion estimated expenditure this coming year; in wages, payment for goods and services, transfers to statutory and other corporations, a citizenry that demands the provision of timely and efficient services, a citizenry that sees no limits to the fulfillment of their wants (not their needs); and to hell with the required cost in foreign exchange. A citizenry that wants;now, however it is obtained, and is not prepared to accept the “castor oil” however bad it tastes, or how much good it does.
    Tough love is “your mother holding you down, however much you scream, and making sure the castor oil gets down your throat. Tough love would have been ensuring that the terms for the BIDC workers contracts were adhered to; however much the unions screamed, and the opposition pranced, marched or kicked up. Tough love would have been paying off Barack early in 2008, whatever was due at that time. Tough love would have been changing the terms and conditions of the constitutional act the prevented the wages and conditions for Civil Servants from being changed, when it was proposed by the BLP, as a salve for the 8% cut restoration. The country needed a parent like those of olden days who forced the castor oil down the throats, instead of the “modern” parent who seeks to reason with a hard ears child, instead of dropping two slaps in the child ass.
    I am a loyal Bajan, and I can see where the country is heading, not because of anything the DLP has done, but because of what has it NOT done; Enforce measures to make Bajans understand what they HAVE to expect. White people marched against Sandy too, do you remember? When white people”rub shoulders” watch out.

38. What I have learned as an observer in barbadian politics is, the people are never the winners, there is no depth a politician will sink to, and a greater understanding of why people like to shoot skeet.

39. Let us say that the DLP has brought Barbados to the current state of ruin with the threat of devaluation and defaults looming……….

What is the BLP going to do to save Barbados ?

It is my belief that politicians are ego driven opportunists. Therefore the BLP has chosen to

wait for the opportunity to regain POWER and don’t really give a puck about the people

they claim to be “saving” from Dems.

THEY ARE ALMOST ALL POWER HUNGRY OPPORTUNISTS.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin is as usual being an idiot.

No one is waiting for a default Alvin…just as no one was waiting for 19 DOWNGRADES….but they happened anyway, ah cant be bothered to tell ya why those downgrades happened, ya too stupid.

…just as stupid as Carson who just got cussed on barbsdostoday comments section, if Mia spent 100,000 dollars to show the world that the electorate is fed up with government incompetence…Carson needs to tell us if it was taxpayer’s money, if it was not, that money spent is none of his business…

….what is our business is the taxpayer’s money government wasted on independence celebrations…millions of dollars….while poop flows in the streets and into the sea and which would have only cost thousands to fix the sewage plant to prevent that…..that’s what everyone is concerned about….government incompetence.

No one has to wait, the government is already incompetent and everything is going as schedule because pf that incompetence, the only people waiting are yall to see how stupid the electorate can be next year in reelecting an incompetent government…so keep waiting.

41. @Alvin

100% for prolixing to perfection. 0 for content because you stated the obvious.

42. @Dee Word

When we compare as in this case it is about degrees of separation. Is any system of government perfect? Are you saying that US electorate is less activist than Barbadians? What are you saying.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin….the medicine Barbados now faces, is a direct result of well established government incompetence, they had 9 years to implement medicine to fix the economy…nine years and did not, they spent all their time lying to and gloating because they tricked the people with lies.

No politician can be trusted, people in the US are facing that fact of life right now, they all lie horribly, some may lose their healthcare coverage because they believed politician’s lies and due to their own stupidity during elections….but that should teach them a lesson.

The people on the island witnessed the US elections and should be cognizant enough to realize that they were lied to by this government in 2008, 2013 and they are being lied to again for 2018….and do something about it.

44. Spending a hundred thousands dollars! would be interesting to know who where the contributors of this largess. Hope Mia did not have to dig into the BLP war chest appropriated for individual campaign funding to pull of these big saturday evening fete
    Or worse yet did not have to rely on the “poor” people of barbados for funding support
    In any case Mia and her loyal bees a measly 9000 got that bug bear off their chest but the work of finding solutions on her part remains an outstanding deficit much worthy of several downgrades

45. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

angela Skeete March 12, 2017 at 9:29 AM #

Spending a hundred thousands dollars! would be interesting to know who @@@

Angela @ nothing but early vote buying, as in the Bush Hall area where Mia spend a lot of money buying Votes in the last election as in America with Black Lives Matter protestors being paid,The bankman money was side to be George Soros.
    A march against the DLP does not mean its a vote for the DLP ,,,
    Dont think many years of land laundering as AG that all the land and money went to COW, Mia herself is holding plenty under different names and companies, She is a well known crook, she can do with a nice Audit herself, Small change she would spend on the march , 14 years or more of teeefing and collecting rents,
    Britton’s Hill cave is one such rents from the dead family who her cus , David Come-sing-a-song never placed on the law suit,

46. @David, good grief, I really need to manage my ‘trigger finger’ better when scrolling close to that ‘like’ icon.

Anyhow, what I was saying is simple. Politicians all over are blatant liars and cheats. The degrees between a big US and small Bajan economy are obvious so that’s not the point.

The real degree of separation within any domicile is the range of perfidy of the politician. A DT raises to the top of any list. ANYWHERE. Frankly so too a Mottley.

Just as Trump’s lies and obfuscation or sweet talk in ‘local political buffoonery’ also is at the top of the heap anywhere.

So to be pellucid, my point is: Transport certain politicians anywhere and their behaviour would be appropriately scandalous to suit their domicile.

There is nothing unique and certainly not different in Barbados with politicians “avoiding and telling untruths to the people”. Politics is the same whereever we go.

And that is one of the reasons I feel so dismayed when bloggers get all ‘religious’ with the blogs about discourse on US or international politics; they seemingly do not recognize that sooner or later locals will mimic and incorporate any news tricks they see.

Why then shouldn’t it be discussed in depth.

You remember as well as I do (I thought putridly self-serving) the ‘Family First’ (was that the name ?) campaign. I laughed so much and shook my head as it was straight from a US political playbook: more glitz and fancy gloss surrounding some ‘good’ substance in an effort to re-brand a pol.

Hope you get the point now, bro: What’s politically different and new in this consultant across the seas world.

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://bit.ly/2lQpUdr

The inventor of the world wide web is now concerned thst the same politicians who wanted to get rid of the internet to keep the electorate backward and ignorant are the same politicians now using the Internet along with their stupid yardfowls to spread fake news and misinformation to fool the electorate with lies to win a government….and he plans to mobilize the servers and browsers to do something about the misuse of the internet by the snakes for politicians.

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

That reminds us of when the DLP government did everythinng in their power and spent years trying to crash BU website…

…….and Mia, Owen, DPP et al joined with the crooks Cow who went public that he wanted the internet out of Barbados like him and Bizzy have some kinda say about the worldwide web……….

Bizzy, Maloney, Harris etc desperately wanted to get the internet out of Barbados to continue stealing from poor black people, without their knowledge and both DBLP were eager to help them, now they are all jumping online to tell their lies…..

……..they all should now be severely punished….by the electorate.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply