Read full article: Ultra-High Yield Club Gets a New Member as Barbados Bonds Slump

We have had experts and commentators from Barbados and afar opined that the battery of credit rating downgrades levied on Barbados by the international credit agencies will add to our economic woes. Fighting to defend our peg to the US dollar becomes harder because running hard deficits as a net importer translates to pressure on the foreign reserves.

Barbadians everywhere EXCEPT yardfowls and Prime Minister Stuart believe there is no reason to be concerned. If one surveys the graph above  it is obvious Barbados bondholders are very concerned. Surely the conversation will now move to flight of capital.

Will somebody tell the prime minister to shut the hell up?

269 responses to “Downgrades …16,17,18,19 -Moody’s Credit Rating Condemns Barbados Bonds to the Ultra-High Yield Club”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Alvin…let me highlight again…cause I know yardfowls are slow.

Remember, government response re damage control = LIES.

• The insurance business of the Barbados subsidiary was
    found to be in statutory deficit……………………

• Another Barbados subsidisary
    –a finance company experienced a run on deposits.
    • The Barbados Response ( g damage control)
    – Government of Barbados, Central Bank and the insurance regulator gave assurances of the institutions’ soundness…………

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lawson…I dont know where you are getting this “for you” thing, the rise or fall of the Barbados dollar does not impact me negatively in anyway, if it falls better for me re spending power….but I wont want that cause it means suffering for hundreds of thousands of defenseless bajans…

….,…they cannot devalue Lawson…get that through your head, no matter how strong the dollar gets.

It’s the damn nooney I worry about, it refuses to rise beyond 73-75 cents…funds already had to be shifted so as not to get caught unprepared,.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lawson….so tell me, what is Mia’s “good plan”.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela SkeeteMarch 10, 2017 at 1:53 PM
    “Despite all the jubilation and attacks on barbados economy barbados is not a failed country a country which has endured and survived nine years of global negative impact.”

Lying ac, hiding behind the deceitful mask of another liar that “angela Skeete”, the BU version of Ms “Undecided ” of call in-prgrammes, why don’t you just call it a day and confess like the disgraced trained liar Deliar Worrell, that your incompetent administration is paying for the wrongs committed in 2013 against the very electorate who has now turned its back to that destructive lying party?

If the reasons for the present state of the Bajan economy attendant with its numerous consecutive downgrades is solely as a result of “nine years of global negative impact” how come the other countries similarly impacted are not all classified as economic pariahs living like junkies in the sovereign bonds junkyard a no-go area to both international lenders and investors?

5. One thing for sure.Next Parliament,hopefully minus the lying party,should amend the Act requiring a 2/3 majority approval to touch NIS funds to buy bonds or for any other purpose proposed by the government.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

It’s very plain that not even the insurance regulators in Barbados can be believed when they jump out with their mouths filled with lies to the public, lying to the people is a way of life from the government ministers on down..

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Wait…no yardfowls to defend any of this…I must be losing me touch..lol

8. Well Well
    Are you thinking aloud that given the dire constraints,the thanatoid debt throes this DLP government is in,that the proposed Clico and Baico bailouts and Newco start up won’t pass muster when the IMF comes knocking because it’s not a matter if it comes,rather when it comes.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ KonkiemanMarch 10, 2017 at 2:58 PM
    “More relevant, repatriate the $1 trillion off shore from US companies with a lower tax structure with the requirement to invest in the US.
    That will create an economic boom, and no one else globally is set up to challenge it.
    If, and that is a risky if, this can be pulled off, we will see an expansion of the US economy bigger than the Reagan years. Depends a lot on Congress to cooperate.”

The geo-political history of the USA would paint a story of economic expansion (turning it into a world powerhouse) only through the waging of international wars starting from its strategically arranged involvement in WW1 and booming in the Second with the Korean standoff and the imaginary cold war with the USSR being the bogey man for the continuing spread of international capitalist domination American style even up to this day.

Would the repatriation of American investment in China be the smokescreen leading to an outbreak of war between Japan and China with America backing Japan as an scapegoat opportunity to wage war (again) in the Eastern theatre?

Remember America was founded on war and war is America’s No.1 business; not the spread of democracy from the home of the free and brave.

The foreign policy maxim of: “Speak softly, and carry a big stick.” is as ‘economically’ applicable today as it was in the colonization of Cuba and the other ‘foreign’ neighbors in America’s backyard in time of the Teddy Bear.

10. WW we let the dollar fall we had to ramp up the manufacturing in ontario to pay for the refugees your boney assed lover has been letting in. Not many of you yanks venture up to canada since you got your ass whipped in 1812. But this is a great year to come 150 yr anniversary a lot of stuff going on . and if you time it right between apple and tobacco picking season you may get a few days to see the good side of Niagara falls

11. Alvin,

Are you sure you are s trained economist? Where did the 1.6 per cent growth come from? Forget the projections, that is just speculation. Barbados underperforms the regional and global economies and we continue to expect growth to come from tourism.
    In the UK, we have now been warned not to expect any real pay increases for the next 15 years. The UK is our biggest tourist market. What are the alternatives?

12. Here is an interview featuring our Prime Minister and an English journalist discussing the financial problems in Barbados and the Caribbean region.

http://bcove.me/56u50knq

13. 19 month package of CRAP

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sorry to intrude on the discussion about the clearly fallen Barbados economy with a comment on what might seem like a totally disconnected matter, but a few posters on this thread did bring up the feeling that the US under Trump is poised for record breaking economic performance.

I say not. not in the long-run.

The US, under Trump, is actually poised for unprecedented chaos orchestrated by Trump and his well chosen and strategically placed minions whose allegiances are primarily related to mega money and not to country. The ultimate puppet master in this scheme is Putin.

Trump might stand a chance for leading an energized US to unheard of successes if his hands were clean but the evidence is mounting that he collaborated with Putin to take the election. It is just a matter of time before all the relevant facts are revealed for all to see and Trump’s removal may not even require impeachment. But even this will not be out of line with Putin’s master plan even though Trump will himself be collateral damage. Maximum chaos and damage to America in all aspects of its governance is the objective and unless the GOP and the Democrats realise this and join forces immediately to fight Trump and his band of sleeper agents Putin will win bigly.

Watch Rachel Maddow nightly (on weekdays) on MSNBC and follow the skein of seemingly disparate occurrences that she weaves which uneeringly explains a lot of what has happened during the Trump campaign and now the Trump administration. Check out the NY times and the Washington Post for hard copy and hard nosed investigative articles on the same topics.

America is at the beginning stages of a precipitous fall in a manner reminiscent of the Soviet Union with repercussions that will make it even more difficult for Barbados to rise again in less than two decades, or perhaps ever, if our electorate throws out all of the current “political musical chairs” holders and replace them with a band of neophytes, who will almost certainly wreck the place, even if with arguably good intentions.

15. @are-we-there-yet

Hope you know that the US-Dems, Obama and Hillary are against offshore financial islands and Trump and May are pro for obvious reasons. With Trump at our side, offshore financing should reach the next game level. Unfortunately, Barbados has a very conservative approach towards offshore products, decades behind Bahamas, Bermuda and Cayman. No genius person here to draft an Offshore Financial Act 2.0.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Gabriel….it will be interesting to see if they can make those promised clico/baico payouts or are only saying that to be reelected, they are chronic liars and do not take responsibility for their wicked acions, therefore it would be the easiest thing in world for Fruendel and his gang to say that IMF prevented them from making the payments to clico policyholders………after they have been reelected, ya see, they gotta time it just right…..let’s hope we are wrong.

Lawson…ah glad ya mentioned the good side of Niagara Falls, that means it’s been refurbished in the last couple years, my daughter spent xmas there in 2014 and it was looking tattered.

You know as well as I do the Canadian economy is showing growth, but for ome mysterious reason the dollar keeps falling and is expected to fall to 65 cents later this year because of false growth and low confidence in the economy, scary scenario for bank accounts..,…

.,..your crooked friend Harper left that mess when he went buying up not needed fighter jets, wasting billions of dollars …..who was he planning to fight…lol

17. DANTE´S INFERNO

Very interesting reading at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greek_government-debt_crisis_countermeasures.

Dante had NINE circles of hell. Greece had THIRTEEN austerity packages so far. The last package implemented: increase VAT to 24%, higher taxes in all fuels, new taxes, such as coffee and electronic cigarettes, increase in excise taxes on tobacco, levy tax in TV subscriptions, landlines and internet broadband connections. More packages will follow. Effect: zero growth, Zimambwe meets Europe. It is like shooting a dead cat.

You might find some of the EARLY austerity packages very familiar. Greece follows the IMF playbook, so does Barbados after the fatal Credit Suisse loan. We are only a bit behind Dante´s schedule. So if you face some demons in a deep valley at the East Coast or in some other dark corner of this Royal Island, do not worry: Big Sink just opened the portal to Dante´s inferno.

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://bit.ly/2neEh8j

Muhammad Ali’s son….a born US citizen was detained at a US airport again.

Stay out of the US…things will not end well there.

Trump knew Flynn was possible foreign agent before inauguration
    BY CAMERON JOSEPH
    NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Updated: Friday, March 10, 2017, 3:08 PM

WASHINGTON — Lt. Gen. Michael Flynn’s lawyers told President Trump’s transition team that Flynn might need to register with the Justice Department as a foreign agent before he was ever appointed national security adviser, a White House official and a person with direct knowledge of the discussions told the Associated Press.

19. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Tron; re. your 7:32 pm post.

Thanks!

I didn’t know that Trump and May were for Offshore Islands. I thought, at least for Trump, that he was totally inward looking, focused on everything that in his view would make a standalone America great again and that any interest he might have in Offshore Islands would have been in him personally being able to hide his money in them, not assist them in any way.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/education/education-news/toby-young-government-grammar-schools-could-do-away-with-11-plus-altogether-a7623786.html

Ah wonder what the fools at ministry of education will do when UK scraps the 11 plus, which is useless, they are now being lobbied to get rid of the test…seeing as it is no longer seen as conducive to the upward mobility of students with lower marks and encourages an apartheid system…I always thought it to be crap….there are better ways to sccess children.

“Mr Young’s comments came as it emerged the Government is looking at a major shakeup of the 11-plus that would see grammar schools forced to accept lower pass marks for poorer pupils.

Details of the proposal are set to be announced in April, according to The Times.”

21. @are-we-there-yet

May wants to turn Britain into the biggest tax haven. She will do everything necessary to block any new OECD initiative against offshore jurisdictions. She cannot protect Britain and the small islands in the Channel and hammer the Caribbean jurisdictions at the same time.

Trump has no official agenda on tax haven. His official plan on tax reform intends to pull back American money from Asia and Europe. In the meantime, US will go on using Double Irish With a Dutch Sandwich (and some assistance in the Caribbean). As you pointed out, his private interests are very much in line with our local interests – despite his comments on minorities.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“MOODY’S ANALYST BREAKS SILENCE: Says Ratings Agency Rotten To Core With Conflicts”

A former senior analyst at Moody’s has gone public with his story of how one of the country’s most important rating agencies is corrupted to the core.

The analyst, William J. Harrington, worked for Moody’s for 11 years, from 1999 until his resignation last year.

From 2006 to 2010, Harrington was a Senior Vice President in the derivative products group, which was responsible for producing many of the disastrous ratings Moody’s issued during the housing bubble.

Harrington has made his story public in the form of a 78-page “comment” to the SEC’s proposed rules about rating agency reform, which he submitted to the agency on August 8th. The comment is a scathing indictment of Moody’s processes, conflicts of interests, and management, and it will likely make Harrington a star witness at any future litigation or hearings on this topic.

The primary conflict of interest at Moody’s is well known: The company is paid by the same “issuers” (banks and companies) whose securities it is supposed to objectively rate. This conflict pervades every aspect of Moody’s operations, Harrington says. It incentivizes everyone at the company, including analysts, to give Moody’s clients the ratings they want, lest the clients fire Moody’s and take their business to other ratings agencies.

Moody’s analysts whose conclusions prevent Moody’s clients from getting what they want, Harrington says, are viewed as “impeding deals” and, thus, harming Moody’s business. These analysts are often transferred, disciplined, “harassed,” or fired.

In short, Harrington describes a culture of conflict that is so pervasive that it often renders Moody’s ratings useless at best and harmful at worst.”

WHEN WILL BLACK PEOPLE IN BARBADOS LEARN.

Corrupt agencies passing judgement on Barbados. Being lap up by some misguided Bajans.

23. So we have Bloomberg comparing Greece debt problems to Barbados ?????? Where were these global economist before the economic death angel cast a dark shadow across the worlds economies
    From my vantage point i see a barbados which does not have the same advantageous geograpically or economical as Greece or all the other countries compared but a barbados who had to rely on a shoe string budget to feed two hundred and seventy five thousand people and no riots in the street
    For what it is worth barbados has done well far and beyond Greece Venezuela oil rich and more wealthy countries and have reach a sembelance of stability under strenuous duress
    It seems the order of business for these Rating agencies is one of sending threatening signals across the globe making small island nations to cower and tremble in fear.
    Barbadians better beware that also in those signals there a message if delivered and reach our shores would destry the social and economic foundations of a country making recovery almost unattainable for years to come

24. @ David March 10, 2017 at 2:17 PM #

“Isn’t it amazing that even if we were to throw out Moody’s and S&P (and the BLP) from the equation it still leaves the CDB, CariCriss, the Barbados Private Sector Agency and a host of other bodies who have issued government with repeated warning. YET the yardfowls remain blissfully hignorant.”
    …………………………………………………………………..

You are so right, yardfowls remain blissfully hignorant.

Did you hear the idiot on Brasstacks today telling David Ellis that just like when a person who is at UWI and one teacher gives a paper a poor grade and two others give another poor grade………….it would only be recorded as one failure. He then went on to say “brilliantly” ….something only a dlp yardfowl could come up with………that therefore three downgrades should only be counted as one downgrade.

The only other person could reason like this is an ac!

25. OMG…………..elections have to be near………..CCC is back! That’s bad.

26. “The company is paid by the same “issuers” (banks and companies) whose securities it is supposed to objectively rate.”

Well, well, so Barbados issued treasury bonds and still gets a bad rating? Did they not pay their fees for the rating? Or some roaches in the bed at Sandy Lane where Moody´s agent relaxed?

In my opinion, the system is stransparent: You get what you pay for. That is capitalism.

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger March 10, 2017 at 8:21 PM #
    And why do you think that this is going to have any bearing on the Ministry of Education in Barbados?
    At the stroke of midnight , one night in 1992, 25 years ago, all Polytechnics in the United Kingdom were transformed to universities. Today , we are still struggling along with the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic.

28. I am surprised that intelligent people in Barbados would listen to The Madcow as she is known and take her seriously as a real news reporter………..this woman is a joke and a hard core liberal who is so biased and one sided.

Go President Donald Trump!

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. CadoganMarch 10, 2017 at 9:12 PM
    “WHEN WILL BLACK PEOPLE IN BARBADOS LEARN.
    Corrupt agencies passing judgement on Barbados. Being lap up by some misguided Bajans.”

Welcome back C C C, the comical clucking confused clown for a disenchanted yard-fowl, to the BU place where truth reigns supreme.

Deep down inside you ought to be ‘vexedly’ disappointed with your boss’s recent behaviour and in your party’s piss-poor overall performance in the administration of your country’s economic affairs.

We are surprised you have not accused the international rating agencies of taking bribes from the BLP Opposition to make your administration look, to say the least, ‘incompetently’ bad.

Black people in Barbados will learn that they have been taken for ride since 2008 when the ‘blackened’ teachers in that deceitful lying party (DLP) stop allowing themselves to be robotically controlled, manipulated, used and abused to do whatsoever by the likes of that baloney man the money maloney and his associated cartel of ‘whitish’ crooks and conmen.
    BTW, were you instrumental in ensuring Owen “Seetru” never becomes the saviour of your dear loving people’s party?

After all he is still your ‘parro’ man of 2012 who not only sold out black Bajans by selling off the black family silver for a BNTCL-like mess of forex pottage but also got the DLP into deep shit of debt resulting in the many downgrades arrogantly dismissed by that rather ugly professionally arrogant idiot calling himself your boss man.

30. http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/greece

in laymans terms no comparison

31. @ Carson C Cadogan
    A former senior analyst at Moody’s has gone public with his story of how one of the country’s most important rating agencies is corrupted to the core.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    This is news…?

Steupsss
    …and here Bushie was thinking that CCC was going public with his ‘insider story’ on how the DLP has been corrupted from the beginning with Thompson’s CLICO shenanigans …. and gotten progressively worse ….or is it LoweR? ….or was it to the highest Speakership of the Parliament? …

Tek care GP don’t come back and deal with you again….

32. @ Prodigal
    Did you hear the idiot on Brasstacks today telling David Ellis…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Man Prodigal, Bushie was shame as shiite….
    If this is the current level of Bajan common sense, then it may be best that we go extinct fuh truth…

What was even more pathetic was when Tall Boy was trying to tell Ellis that instead of just standing around waiting for Froon and his Goons to kill us slowly with idiocy, we should all march to Government house, block Bay street or some shiite so…. not just stand around and look foolish…

…YOU HEARD ELLIS RESPONSE….?
    Bare jobby den!!!
    nah! we can’t do that…. we have to be careful … it may cause trouble ….. that won’t be right …. perhaps we need to influence the politicians… I may wet myself….

Shiite man…. he sounded like a little damn girl… (and not even the modern ones… cause dem school-women don’t play)
    It made Bushie see clearly why EVERYBODY feels free to have they way with Bajans …and without vaseline.

Steupsss… Any normal people would have shut down this whole shiite place LONG ago… from the time it was clear that the CLICO money ‘get thief’… But Bajans are the descendants of slave who were specifically bred to be submissive patsies, and happy-go-lucky pooch lickers..

…and a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

33. LOL, Bushie…………..I too was so surprised at Tall Boy. I thought he had more commonsense.

Even if it were so easy as to approach the GG, this one is so political that he would not never give the protestors “a look at”.

If the guy is any indication of what our education system has produced………..we are doomed!

34. All de talk wunna talking, you see me?

A senior policeman tell me dat dem ent too pleased wid de march and he peoples get instructions to be on standby in riot gear jes in case we jonesing going brek some heads and kill some people…

Wunna stan home hear??

35. Piece,

There is nothing wrong with going on the march. If there are any problems, they would not be caused by the peaceful protestors. I can bet you that the DLP would send the same “nothingnarians” that they paid to vote for them to cause disruptions.

Also remember the force is awash with dems.

The dems and the police agenda is to scare bajans so that they could brag and say……..you see, the people are satisfied with the dems.

Did you not hear the desperation in George Pilgrim’s voice today……they sacred as hell!

36. *scared….

37. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Prodigal Son @ 9:53 pm

It might, contrariwise, be a good thing.

38. Carson C. Cadogan March 10, 2017 at 9:12 PM
    “MOODY’S ANALYST BREAKS SILENCE: Says Ratings Agency Rotten To Core With Conflicts”

Nice try CCC. That story is from 2011. Clutching at straws……

39. charles skeete Avatar

“Vincent Haynes March 10, 2017 at 1:57 PM #

Gabriel

You have that right…….OSA had he and Agard remained in the party with pressure being systematically applied according to Dr Belle in todays Nation this govt would have fallen by now,more than likely with the support of the two vocal members of the govt…….no leader is bigger than a vote of no confidence ask Sandy……..OSA will be seen by his acts of omission and commission to be as responsible as the Dems for the economic collapse of Bim.”

DEFINITELYAND WHAT A PITY AFTER HE DID SO MUCH TO BUILD IT BACK UP AFTER 1991.

40. You continue to demonstrate your high level if hignorance. The Bloomberg graph shows how Barbados bond holders are reacting in the market. In other words it has nothing to do with Bloomberg.

And the other ccc. What about Moody’s? What about Caricriss? What about the CDB? Etc etc.

Despite what your partisan disposition forces you to believe the international investors listen to the rating agencies.

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

.” As you pointed out, his private interests are very much in line with our local interests – despite his comments on minorities.”

Tron…get it in ya head, despite that comment, the illiterate racist trump will never want his private business practices benefiting majority black Caribbean or minority US black people…,

…….and if the minorities in Barbados who call themselves whites, indians, syrians whom he sees as refugees and terrorists, etc thinks he cares about them or knows they exist…..he will also call yall small island ni….ers…and he sure as hell will not want his business practices used to help any muslim indians on the island to progress…..he definitely will not make offshore anything easier for the Caribbean’s benefit…, a Caribbean with a majority black population….a Barbados with a majority black population. ..and intelligent black people would want nothing from an illiterate racist like trump, not if they have any moral code….their existence is not predicated on racists, nor crooks like trump,.

Tron, you are living in lal-la land right along with Grenville and George Payne and ya starting to sound like the missing Chadster.

Did you hear of the illiterate trump having any business interests in Africa, where some African countries are seeing very successful business growth over 10-20 years now, they are doing it themselves without using any models or help from the west, trump is not interested in enriching himself there, too many blacks would benefit…….

…….trump would destroy the Caribbean, he was raised by a hateful, racist animal father and he is a hateful, illiterate racist animal…there is no sugar coating that.

See for yaself the countries that benefits trump in his business….slave labor countries.

“The controversial business tycoon owns at least 144 individual companies with dealings in at least 25 countries in Asia, Europe, Africa, South America and North America, according to the CNN.”

Trump’s business interests range from management deals with golf courses in the UAE; branding agreements with real estate projects in India, as well as companies involved with beverage sales in Israel.”

Start weakening because of stupidity and ya will immediately be destroyed.

Yep…the bajan mentality is shameful, no standing up for anything, no wonder the same 6 or 7 minority crooks, for decades, keep stealing from the treasury, NIS pension fund, central bank, the National Housing etc while big hard back men and women just stand around and smile, and useless, corrupt government ministers like Carson C. Cadogan, help them steal everything, in exchange for their bribes..

Colonel…that is why am wondering what they will do….keep the useless 11 plus and keep the emerging young people dumbed down and backward for another 2 generations….or move on….I guess not.

Dont mind the ACs and CCC…they desperately want to remain in a position like Fruendel et al to continue selling out the majority population to the greedy minorities and giving away the best concesssions for decades to any white crook passing through the island with a smile and mouth filled with lies.., that is the only way the ministers and yardfowls can remain relevant and believe they have status…they are some backward, wicked, sorry negroes.

Remember, government response re damage control = LIES.

That post frightened CCC….it has been verified and cannot be changed no matter how many more new lies they come up with to try to cover up those old lies.

I am surprised more of the ministers have not jumped on BU in desperation, now that everything they have touched in the last 9 years has turned to shit running into the streets and into the sea and they still want to continue touching with their shitty, destructive, smelly hands.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I just saw a map of countries that trump has business interests…naturally South Africa….slave labor and Egypt…more slave labor….nothing to benefit black people.., and no surprise, St. Vincent and the Grenadines in the Caribbean, whose black population has been kept backward and helpless by the same lowlife leader Gonzalez for decades.

Also

St. Maarten….French West Indies.., co-owned by Holland and France

Bermuda…..british overseas territory.

43. quote from Barbados Today ”An unabashed Pilgrim also claimed to have received reports of Opposition attempts to bully and bribe people to attend the protest.”

Is he serious? After what happened in the last election he actually has the nerve to go there?

Joker.

It would seem that the DLP is taking the Trump line that if you voice disagreement you are a traitor, rather than a patriot wanting better for your country.

Let me ask, is this a dictatorship or a communist state?

Tell me NOW!

Especially after, according to news reports, that xxxx Kellman voiced a desire to compulsorily acquire houses owned by citizens for government to dish out to other people.

Communist action much?

44. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght – INRI March 10, 2017 at 10:38 PM #

& Prodigal Son March 10, 2017 at 10:51 PM #

The day a citizen cannot walk on a peaceful mark of protest is the day that you can kiss this country goodbye.

What? Is this an authoritarian state now?

If there is forced opposition to this march, then things will really begin to catapult. You think you have seen rating agencies displeasure?

Any such authoritarian action will jettison Barbados into the no-fly list of some countries and completely ruin any chance of recovery.

They better not be so stupid.

We were brought up with freedom of association and discussion.

I can tell you, I am not a member of any political party, but if that March gets forced opposition, I shall take myself on Monday, straight to BLP headquarters on Monday.

Yes, I am only one, insignificant citizen, but, one plus one makes two.

Remember that.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/10/try-it-my-way/

Yes consolidation of the island’s debt is an important option and a necessity outside of debt forgiveness, but does this fool know what getting involved with these dudes from the middle east could entail. Their economic approach is successfully rigid and they frown on corruption….

…… so taking their 5 billion dollars and then not reading the fine print nor fully understanding the terms of the contract or not contracting to benefit the island’s people or not being able to pay back that 5 billion because of incompetence, corruption with local minorities, bribery and theft could spell disaster for the people….as usual.

“Recent years’ broad-based and dynamic growth in the United Arab Emirates has been underpinned by continuous efforts to strengthen the business climate, boost investment, and foster the emergence of a more vibrant and diverse private sector. The generally liberal trade regime has helped to sustain momentum for growth. The UAE aims to be a regional financial hub, and its banking sector is resilient.

Overall fiscal soundness is well maintained, although the non-oil deficit has widened as the government’s overall surplus has fallen. Coordinating the various emirates’ fiscal policies and improving the transparency of public finances remain critical tasks. Keeping the legal framework effective and independent will be vital to continuing to attract dynamic foreign investment.

BACKGROUND
    The United Arab Emirates is a federation of seven monarchies: Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Qaiwain. The Federal Supreme Council (the seven rulers of the individual emirates) selects the president and vice president for five-year terms with no term limits. Abu Dhabi ruler Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed al-Nahyan has been president since November 2004. In 2011, the government responded to protests calling for greater political participation by expanding the number of people allowed to vote in the September 2011 Federal National Council elections.”

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Pilgrim is just being stupid, looking for attention…and working overtime to protect the free taxpayer’s money he has been freeloading off and getting for 9 years for being a government pimp.

47. CCC love it alternative facts
    March is going to flop,what possible sense does it make to have it on a day off, now if it was on during the week and they could get off work the conga line would have been huge Hal no raises for 15 yrs come to canada
    I agree with WW if trump doesnt want to invest in your country your in really bad shape.

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://bit.ly/2nfTyG9

The 3rd branch of government, is doing it’s job.

Keep ya eyes on the US if you want to keep control and keep in their place the local fools and wannabes now thirsty, desperate for power and fighting to keep their incompetent hands on the treasury.

lol…hahaha..lol

Trump appointee who called Muslims ‘maggots’ dropped from DOE
    BY CHRIS SOMMERFELDT
    NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Updated: Saturday, March 11, 2017, 2:42 AM

Sid Bowdidge (shown with President Trump in one of his Facebook photos) is no longer employed at the Department of Energy after some of his old tweets surfaced.

A massage therapist with no apparent experience of energy policy was terminated from the Department of Energy after it was revealed that he had a habit of making racially charged social media posts about Muslims and former President Barack Obama.

After working as a paid operative for the Trump campaign in New Hampshire, Sid Bowdidge was hired as an “assistant” to Energy Secretary Rick Perry shortly after Inauguration Day, two employees at the nuclear weapons agency told BuzzFeed News on Friday.

But 60-year-old Bowdidge was booted from the department after tweets from two years ago revealed that he once accused Obama of being related to terrorists.

“Obama won’t use the term radical Islam because they’re his relatives!!!!” Bowdidge, of Bedford, N.H., wrote in a tweet from Dec. 15, 2015.

In another tweet linking to a news story about the San Bernardino terror attack, Bowdidge called Muslims “Scum suckling maggots of the world” and proposed to “exterminate them all.”

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol…Lawson…you liar, you know any majority black country allowing an illiterate racist like trump to invest in their country….has no self respect.

50. Hal’
    I am not an economist; trained or untrained. I am a Microbiologist, but I am one who has lived a long time, and been hardened by passing through the economic fire many times over the decades. The growth of GDP of 1.6 percent for last year is real, and certified by the IMF. If you read the article 1V consultation report for last year (August 2016), the information is there. The below is part of the report; the summary

“Barbados : 2016 Article IV Consultation-Press Release; Staff Report; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados
    Author/Editor:International Monetary Fund. Western Hemisphere Dept. Publication Date: August 26, 2016 Electronic Access:Free Full text (PDF file size is 1737 KB).Use the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this PDF file Summary:
    This 2016 Article IV Consultation highlights that the economy of Barbados appears to have turned a corner with a pickup in activity. Real GDP grew by 0.8 percent in 2015, underpinned by an increase in private investment and a surge in tourism arrivals, which increased by 14 percent, among the highest in the Caribbean. This boosted employment by 2 percent, while the unemployment rate fell to 11.3 percent. Inflation eased owing to lower import prices, with end-period prices falling by 2.5 percent. Net inflows in the capital and financial account fell, driven by large official amortization payments and lower foreign direct investment. As a result, net international reserves dropped to US$469 million…”
    This amount is a cover for about 3 months. The entire report is too long to reproduce, but I am sure you can get access to it.
    Fortunately I am not as pessimistic as so many others who talk and even act without thinking and analyzing the evidence before them.

The Article 1V reports by the IMF team takes place every year, and the teams visit many countries each year and prepare reports. the visit by the IMF team is not a sign that the country is in any sort of trouble. But you know this

Leave a Reply to PachamamaCancel reply