Submitted by Heather Cole

During and after the 2016 general elections in the USA, there were allegations of the undermining of the electoral process, conspiracy theories, scandals, computer hacks by Russia and fake news. The linkages in all of these stories are that they have exposed a threat to democracy in the USA. It is now self-evident that even the most solid democracy was not prepared for such an onslaught which easily circumvented the law to allow for changes in norms, traditions, customs and rules to create the Trump Administration.

The circumstances under which the 45th President of the USA was elected left many persons in shock. Just as they were coming to terms with that shock, a spate of executive orders from the new president and the confirmation of candidates who are not only in direct contradiction with their new leadership roles but also lack experience, have added to the shock factor.

The shock factor has been both good and bad. Many people have become more politically aware. The volume of attendance at Anti Trump demonstrations makes a strong claim that the majority of the people are putting up a resistance to Fascism in government. Groups have popped up all over the country, in every state and town to oppose the direction that they believe the government is headed. The networks are flooded with news both for and against the new Administration. Countless petitions have appeared online which also oppose the government and lest one forgets those angry town hall meetings. The people have been asserting their democratic right to protest. However, the level of stress has risen, undocumented immigrants now live in a state of fear of deportation, there is a Muslim ban of immigrants from selected countries, relations with some foreign countries are at an all-time low, there is a lack of trust of the Trump Administration and division in the country is along party lines. Making America great again is not off to a good start. The best hope for impeachment seem to be after the 2018 midterm elections.

Likewise in Barbados, the present administration also came to power in the midst of shady circumstances. There were no stories of meetings with Russian spies but there was the buying of votes which in essence makes it a fact that the electoral results were fraudulent. This constitutes an undermining of the democratic process and was the enabler for the administration to do as it pleased as it was a forgone conclusion that if the people did nothing about the election results, the party could get pass them with anything. In other words they did not have to be accountable to the people. There was no response by the people to this shock factor.

Fast forward to the present with the island in a state of economic turmoil having received its 18th economic downgrade from Standard and Poor’s, since the coming to power of this Democratic Labour Party Administration.

In a direct contradiction to what has happened in the US, the people of Barbados have remained passive. Resistance by the people has not come to light in Barbados. Enshrined in the Constitution is the right to protest but despite massive loss of jobs, homes, businesses and investments and the over burden of taxation, the widening deficit, increasing debt and constant downgrades there has been no such action on the people’s part. There is no Betsy Devos yet Barbadians have been denied access to public education at the UWI. There is no Scott Pruitt yet the government was hell bent on building a plasma gasification plant to destroy the environment and Barbadians. We however have Chris Sinckler, the Minister of Finance and Delisle Worrell the Governor of the Central Bank who created the perfect conditions to breed downgrades causing the economy to self-destruct. There must be a reaction to this 18th downgrade; it is a shock factor.

I have witnessed the effects of the devaluation of the dollar on the Guyanese economy and it was not pretty. Every street in Georgetown was filled with beggars from the most vulnerable to able bodied men. Not enough food is grown in Barbados to provide for the population. What will happen if we run out of foreign reserves to buy food or pay for oil and gas? Will the entire island be a reflection of what is currently happening in Caracas, Venezuela? One wonders how long our junk bond status will affect our capacity to borrow. Will it be 10, 20 or 30 years? This nightmare is our reality.

It is the opposition Barbados Labour Party that is leading the fight against policies and results of the Freundel Stuart dictatorship. Some are of an opinion that a protest march will achieve nothing. One can also be of the opinion that the strength in numbers can play a significant role in demanding that the Prime Minister whose only act now seems to be in delivering disingenuous speeches; would not only fire the Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Central Bank but that he will also resign and call an election.

Recently, the renowned journalist Dan Rather stated that “everyone who normalizes Mr. Trump now or has in the past, will have to answer to future generations for acquiescence, silence or sophistry- if, indeed, not outright cowardice.” The same can be said of the majority Barbadians who have normalized the present Democratic Labour Party Administration.

In the final analysis, it is about time the people put up a resistance. It was in reference to some of us that Dan Rather also said “we love our country too much to let it falter without a fight.” I can therefore only urge every Barbadian and resident of Barbados that despite your political affiliation for the common good of the island to join the march on Saturday March 11, 2017 against the present administration; that they step down from power and provide the electorate with an opportunity to provide a new mandate for the creation of a better Barbados that they failed to deliver. We need to make Barbados great again and along with a new mandate from the people must be an amended Constitution that provides the people with the power of recall.

155 responses to “Putting Up a Resistance”

1. Yes, Barbados is the laughing stock of the region.

See the below:

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

dpD

Our posts crossed.

Christopher Steele is alive and well in London. He surfaced in a video yesterday.

The Wikileaks dump yesterday is a good example of the thrust of your 11:39 post

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The first political party that has the strong character to make it part of their manifesto to first get rid of the current DPP, install one who actually does his or her job, takes no bribes, is not corrupt and does not play golf among other things with corrupt insurance executives. …….pledge to investigate the current lot of ministers and business people for bribery and corruption, actually do it and once they follow the money trail using outside investigators and find criminal activity…lock them all up, arrest them publicly for the world to see……will be elected..that is what the electorate needs to see happen or they will never tŕust another politician or minister again……and who can blame them…

Mia has worked with the corrupt minority business against thè majority people for too long, I dònt see her locķìnģ up or ìnvestiģåting her friend Inniss et al or the minorities whom she represents, as their attorney, Mia is tainted and damaged goods.

The plan Grenville has to address bribery and corruption is a sissy plan….it sounds apologetic, maybe because he too was in bed through business arrangements with both governments. …

….you need new faces who do not owe DBLP parties anything and can launch immediate investigations into criminal activities……the politicians from both parties should have life bans from participating in government ever again….given their disgusting decades old track records.

4. David

We don’t know why this point has to be made over and over again.

Do you think, that anything in Barbados, at its centre, can be properly explained without an analysis of the forces surrounding?

If you continue to so think, we will not waste any more time.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

It’s just a matter of time before Christopher Steele talks to investigators, but it has to be on his terms, remember, he was offered money to continue his investigation but he was so disgusted by what he saw last year…he did it for free.

Trump and the swamp scum in the white house are the typical nasty, racist whites…if nothing is going their way, blame everything on black people…..Obama is the closest they can reach…they are just not intelligent enough to pull it off…it already went sideways…….lol..just time now.

6. @Pacha

What is the point you are making? If you are referring to BU’s invention this morning about the unfocus by some on US and UK news without demonstrating the inability to relate it to the regional landscape then we plead guilty.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SkeeteMarch 8, 2017 at 10:48 AM
    “Instead of marching Mia should be having a rallying cry calling on all businesss who still owe govt taxpayers money to pay up in this time of dire financial need instead asking barbadians to look like midday jack a sss trotting in the hot sun”

Ac, hiding behind an angelic mask of doubly deceitful Satanic masquerade this is one time we would support you in your call to “pay up in this time of dire financial need” instead of marching like jackass clones in the ‘red’ hot sun.

But there is one tax evader she ought to be signaling out by way of a special poster demanding payment of a large amount of taxes way overdue.

Do you remember the Greenverbs-talking man who gave OSA your buddy that $75,000.00 (or was it $750,000.00 à al Stinkliar decimalized system of arithmetic?) under-the-table cheque?
    The same politically and legally untouchable leper man who used some of the same $3.3 million to buy insulation from fraud and tax investigation by financing the DLP 2013 campaign of lies, deceits and false promises to comfort fools like you and Alvin C.

The only people who could bring down this government before Froon’s Constitutionally-appointed date with destiny are the business people who should refuse to pay over taxes to the Treasury the same way those individuals who overpaid since 2012 are still awaiting their legally entitled refunds.

What are they waiting for? For that mad cow Ave Maria to kick the bucket to force government to call a ‘waste-of-time’ (and very scarce money) bye-election?

8. David

There can be no requirement that every comment made must include direct connections to Barbados or the region.

Everything is connected to everything else in our universe.

Is the world not globalized?

Is the internet not border-less?

If a handful of Brassbowls lack the ability to make these critical connections, it cannot befall you to, like an old school teacher, to tell people that they should be focused on Barbados.

Barbados is not the centre of anything in the world.

In fact, to properly under Barbados you must understand everything else first. Not the reverse.

It cannot be BU’s job to satisfy an old man in England who wants to be supplied with local gossip.

Nor another one in the USA who longs for the friendship with this ugly man from England.

9. Agree with the thrust of your comment (not the reference to Hal though, not sure what wrong he has done you). The bottomline is that some overdo. BU cannot be accused of not giving vent to global issues.

10. This thing about ‘resistance’ is brassbowlery!

In Barbados resistance, in the final analysis, is about MAM and the BLP getting into government. Nothing more!

It has no utility beyond that.

In the USA, where some women are withholding their labour today. Women who signaled ‘resistance’ to Trump and Trumpism, there are no less misguided.

Like Barbados, ‘resistance’ in the USA had limited utility in the past, and today, it has never develop beyond those imposed limitations.

When all the marching and ‘resistance’ ends, backwards, entrenched norms return.

What we know is that a range of forces use ‘resistance’, which mainly means marching up and down, for their own ends.

When MAM in Barbados becomes the Grand Old Duke of York she is not copying Whitehall but Washington. And copying is 99.999999% of what is Barbados.

11. David,
    What does the forum think bout the big oil find in Guyana? Does that mean the opening of jobs for Bajans?

12. @ Hal Austin,

” the big oil find in Guyana ” will mean jobs for Guyanese in the diaspora some of whom are salivating at the possibilities.

I am sure some of the Guyanese living in Barbados will be heading back home.

13. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

“Former President Bharrat Jagdeo and former Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon were this afternoon arrested in connection with the Pradoville 2 probe.

Earlier, Lisaveta Ramotar had been detained by the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) in connection with the ongoing probe into the Pradoville 2 housing scheme.

Ramotar, the daughter of former President Donald Ramotar, has been taken to the SOCU office.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Will this ever happen in Bim…….I doubt it……irregardless of how many 3rd parties are formed here in Bim,all will come out of the same 2×4 saucepan,all are Pelaus linked to one another irrespective of skintone,all were/are socialised the same way irrespective of chattle house,heights&terraces or apes hill and they are at one with each other as they are the Political Class…..one for all and all for one……

As the developed world start to turn inwards Bim is all they have left must be the argument used with civil disobedience to convince them of country first,elections second and forget about all the meaningless EIAs.

14. angela Skeete Avatar

Shit head yuh talking about 3 million yet unproven stolen money .I talking about billions of dollars lost stolen unaccounted taxpayers money under OSA and Mia watch.
    Why not have the gall to confront those businees in strong protest as showing a real fight on behalf of taxpayers and country’s interest instead of a march of self interest

15. The same idiot who thinks that a Guyanese-born DPP should never be

Now asks about Bajan jobs around Guyanese oil

The Guyanese workers who were recently run out of Barbados, on a DLP political platform

Insularity becomes the same as nationally begging, with tin cup in hand and without a conscious, awareness, nor common sense.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Is anyone on the island conscious enough to celebrate International Women’s Day today.

I just saw to female pilots commandeering an A380 in the United Arab Emirates captain and co-pilot…largest luxury airliner.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I just saw two female pilots ….

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Barbados is not the centre of anything in the world.

In fact, to properly under Barbados you must understand everything else first. Not the reverse.”

Ya can exhaust a conversation on Barbados in one hour, it is tiny, but some with the backward intellect would want to talk about which high school they attended…all damn day, which contributes nothing to intelligent international discourse. …

…..in the UK…Caribbean islands are seen as unviable, now that there is no longer profit in enslaving the people, therefore what happens internationally affects every aspect of life in the Caribbean, unless and until they can grow intelligent leaders who do not need to copy everything because they are incapable of thinking independently and freely.

There are countries in Africa where intelligent fearless leaders are apply new workable systems to get away from the western trap, but ya can only hope the ones in the Caribbean one day realize that the tired old system handed to them by the british, is in its death throes.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.zenolive.com/nakeddepartureradioshow/episode/58c007c103010047524a5723

Grenville is on Naked Departure radio, he is trying.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal AustinMarch 8, 2017 at 1:12 PM
    “What does the forum think bout the big oil find in Guyana? Does that mean the opening of jobs for Bajans?”

Shouldn’t home drums be beating first?

What about the thousands of jobs promised in the potentially massive offshore oil drilling programme which was promised since 2012 after a shining hello of back gold was signed?
    These politicians just can’t help lying to the foolish people.

You just can’t have a tourism industry based on the eco-related offers of sea, sand and sun while having an environmentally degrading oil drilling programme as its main attraction.

These are not the halcyon days of Brooker Pharmaceuticals or when BG was a British-administered colony where ‘educated’ Bajans were sent to teach and to fill low-management positions in the civil and security services.

Unless the cost of recovery and refining those heavy hydrocarbons normally found in offshore waters are significantly below the discounted future levels of world oil prices that ‘estimated’ find of crude would remain where it naturally belongs and continues to be a bone of territorial contention between an East Indian control corrupt society and a Spanish speaking pauper who would soon be coming in from the American cold as soon as its Freundel-like government is overthrown.

21. @Pacha

To say Guyanese were run out of Barbados is to sensationalize the issue. We had unskilled Guyanese gravitating to Barbados like flies on crap. We had 20 Guyanese living in pigpen accommodation. We had Guyanese setting up in water zone areas etc.

@Hal

The oil business is a specialized field isn’t it? BU is more adjusted to the arrest of high profile players in the former government.

22. @ David,

There is a lot of ” trickle ” down business (npi) generated.

As the Oil business expands there will be a lot of Guyanese including some in Canada who will take advantage of the opportunities.

23. npi = no pun intended

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville is worth a listen to, he is having a very intense conversation about what is in his manifesto…and about what he did not even think was vital and necessary to protect women and children, that should be in his manifesto..

The good news is, he is listening.

25. Speaking about Guyana’s tourism potential, President Granger said that Guyana can benefit from the expertise of Barbados, which is known for its world-class tourism product.

“I want to see entrepreneurs from Barbados combining their product with our product and we are going to be participants of this Caribbean project of developing our countries for our people and our children…the door is open and we are here to show our Caribbean brothers that with our land space, once we have investments and the expertise, we can become as prosperous as any other part of the world,”

26. Steupsss
    Having ‘lots of oil reserves’ is nothing but a death trap.
    All the world’s most dreaded parasites will descend on the place and make it a living hell…

Does Guyana have more oil than Nigeria? … than Venezuela? …than Iraq?

Group think!!!

27. Won’t be long before Venezuela restarts their claim of one third of Guyana. They are already claiming it is their oil that leaking into Guyana. Did they not claim that T$T’s oil was from a shelf in the economic zone?
    Estimates are that the oil in BG rivals the reserves in Saudi Arabia.

28. @ Hal this article is not about an obsession with Trump. If anything it shows that some American were willing to fight for democracy as they know it to be and it is also advocating that Bajans should protest what is happening on the island.
    Time and time again we keep going in a circle. It is time to break this cycle. We have a disingenuous PM. To begin a catalyst of change there must be the removal of that entire Administration.

29. Heather,
    None of this is a surprise. I agree, if the purpose is to learn from other experiences. If the Trump obsession is to avoid a serious discussion about the plight of Barbados then it is an obstruction.
    Trump is a KKK sympathiser, they have now captured the Republican party. Trump’s mother was Scottish and his father German. Just imagine the conversations in the family home. This is what shaped his world view.
    Barbados must learn to draw on all its talents, regardless of party. At present the alternatives are just as bad. Grenvlle with his Solutions Barbados, and an equal obsession with ISO is a waster of space and the official Opposition is as quiet as a mouse.
    What voters have to do is vote for individuals, rather than on party lines.

30. David

We are well aware of that narrative, ’bout Guyanese

We never supported it, however that was not our point

Our point was that it is disingenuous to be on both sides of the anti-Guyanese narrative, like one has done.

31. You missed the point bigly.

Who is questioning the importance of news emanating from the US and UK and it’s influence on geopolitics? What is being questioned is our inability to distil news read information through only unifocal lens.

32. This is the problem with Barbados. I visited the first free black village and read the information board; yet no mention was made of its deceitful origins. We are a people bathed in ignorance. Why have our historical “scholars” minimised the role and the significance of our Negro ancestors in the development of Barbados? How are we suppose to excel and take pride in ourselves if we are clueless about our history?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94073/aja-brings-apology

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville actually believes that the crooks, bribers, bribetakers will go to him and confess their bribetaking and corruption to him, because of this book of life la la land he lives in..lol…..

…..I could already see Bizzy, Maloney, Cow, Peter Harris, Bjorn Bjerkham, Leroy Parris, Michael Carrington, Dennis Lowe etc already lining up to confess to Grenville, get their names in his book of life and promise to never do it again…….

….he is totally mentally brainwashed and willing to keep his own people under the UK trap complete with the useless bullshit pimp titles and pretentious status that came out of the UK…..itbis a form of mental slavery.

He claims the present ministers are trying their best to manage the country, the ministers cannot be trying their best to manage the country when their best is not good enough.

…..time for Grenville to get with the program as he is definitely not grass roots enough, what he is projecting is that if he cannot see issues like rape of children, women…..the bribery, corruption re ministers/politicians, theft of clients money re Michael Carrington….then it has not happened because he is not in that environment, he cannot be aloof or the electorate should not respond to him, the island is a pit of vipers, rapists, pedophiles, thieves, scam artists who steal directly from the treasury and pension fund with the help of ministers and have the nerve to call themselves respectable…etc…many in parliament are chronic liars and deceitful and have the never to call themselves honorable, many in the minority business community are thieves…….stealing from taxpayers and policyholders for decades.

However, his best suggestion is lowering taxes to stimulate spending, raising the age of consent to 18 as suggested by his host, lock up pedophiles and rapists as suggested by his host….make the statute of limitations on rape retroactive by decades…..and as suggested by the other person on the show, term limits, he says a 2 term limit for governments. ……I say one.

Grenville still cant wrap it around his head that the court system is useless….he needs to think about hiring a competent Attorney General who actually knows the law, will actually legislate within months to upgrade the judiciary, get rid of the backlogs of cases, time wasting and stop the insurance companies completely from misusing and abusing the Supreme courts so as not to pay out claims, that is what he should be talking about, the judiciary cannot take another Adriel dimwit jackass Brathwaite….the court is finally grinding to a halt, things are so bad that I am warning friends and family who travel to the island to stay away from the lawyers and the courts on the island ….my conscience would never allow me to refer anyone i know to any attorney in Barbados they will be better off hiring an attorney from another island who is registered to practice law in Barbados….as long as they can afford it.

I am glad he said when he reveals his candidates that if anything is known about them to let him know, that’s a start…cause anything I know about any of Grenville’s candidates I will post to the blogs.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I love me some Samuel L…lol..Unfortunately the stupidy of some bkack men is legendary….despite all that ed..u..k..shun.

“Samuel L. Jackson calls on HUD Secretary Ben Carson to resign
    BY DAN GUNDERMAN
    NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Wednesday, March 8, 2017, 12:43 PM

He’s not cool.

Samuel L. Jackson harshly criticized recently confirmed Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Secretary Ben Carson over his comment about slaves being likened to “immigrants.”

When questioned about it, Jackson, 68, said that an apology won’t help and that Carson should resign.

“An apology is not going to help,” Jackson told TMZ. “He could quit his job and stop talking, period. How about that?”

In hisfirst speech at the HUD departmentthis week, Carson noted, “There were other immigrants who came here on the bottom of slave ships, worked even longer, even harder for less.”

Jackson took to Twitterto address the distasteful and misleading statement.

“OK!! Ben Carson….I can’t! Immigrants? In the bottom of SLAVE SHIPS??!! MUTHAF—A PLEASE!!! #d–kheadedtom.”

When asked if he thinks the administration should address it, Jackson added, “They probably think the same thing he (Carson) thinks.”

Former Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. sees supervised release end early
    The TMZreporter offers, “He’s out of touch.”

“Is that what you call it?” Jackson questions.

“Would you let him operate on you?” the reporter then asks.

“No, nobody related to me, either,” Jackson concluded.”

35. @Hal

By your suggestion one should vote individuals who run on a party ticket -however the paramountcy of the party will rubbish such an approach.

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

NationNews – Tracing the Bajan-Guyanese connection – Archive
    bararchive.bits.baseview.com/archive_detail.php?…
    Sep 21, 2008 – As Barbados moves more and more toward a multi-ethnic population, … in a 1977 paper entitled Barbadian Immigration Into British Guiana …

In this first issue, feature writer Michelle Springer looks at the earliest journeys from Barbados to Guyana following Emancipation in 1838.

Bajans had come “to full up de country and force all-o-wee fo work whole week and starve…Dem Bagion is one cobba cobba nation.” Ned Hector The Colonist Newspaper (1864) as cited in Brian L. Moore (1973)

Much of oral history places Bajans very clearly in Guyana at some period or other. Some Bajans talk about hordes going down to Guyana during the 30s and 40s as teachers, policemen and other civil servants during the colonial period.

Others mention Bajan men who went over to work on the sugar plantations, but were not sure when.

And still others, with stout conviction, talked about the Bajans who stowed away on ships to Demerara in the late 19th century and never came back.

And of course, every Bajan knows somebody who had a relative connected to Guyana through one of these “stories” and is therefore an “expert” on the two country’s immigration policies.

37. @ Mr Hal Austin.

What is happening to you?

I mean, twice in one week?

here is another gem from you

“…What voters have to do is vote for individuals, rather than on party lines…”

Whuloss my man whuloss….

You dun know that when we menses start talking sense it is because a new woman enter into our life and she give us a refresh. Doan leh de madam now though

I en know but you kicking

you appended Hal’s comment with “…however the paramountcy of the party will rubbish such an approach…”

Again you are looking at this wrong…

What is this fallacy called the “paramountcy of party?”

THat is a fable propagated by Peter Wickham and others who, fearing the pending tsunami that is going to wash out Mugabe, have been promoting this idea of “ef you ent attached to a party whu you going do?”

And here is the answer to that.

THere are 30 seats that are going to be battled for.

It has nothing to do with party, particularly so when, at the centre of the alternative duopoly we have Mia Mottley and her history that is incapable of being washed out. Like permanent Ink!!

30 seats for which a wise person who understand his 8K constituents and knows the technology, WILL BE SUCCESSFUL IF THE ***

Why you think everybody doing de fliers thing all of a sudden?

And videos, and animations, and skits, and posters, because they now starting to understand the power of these tools.

Looka, doan let me get started pun this topic or the next thing i going tell you all the things that WILL BE EMPLOYED in this battle, even to include things like remote screen logging software, deployed for people who are stupid enough to ***

38. The voting for individual candidates will only work if the Barbados electorate see candidates from political parties other than B and D as credible. Are you able to say we are there yet?

39. I think so David.

If Rihanna Fenty were to run for a seat what do you think would happen?

Irrespective of all this Duopoly which people believe CANT BE MOVED, what would happen?

If you answer me that question and it is in the negative I will dun wid my ANTI MUGABE POSTERS and join the Despot right now.

Again, de ole man posits that this IS THE TME FOR THE INDEPENDENTS who are hoest, competent and have vision and who ***

Rihanna will not let her image be tarnished by Mugabe so that is a non starter but if the message was packaged by a *** then that is all that is needed to get a REAL CONTENDER IN THIS RACE

WUNNA PLAYING GAMES cause wunna doan know no better but for thise who know how this is done, this is child’s play…

Mottley would fail immediately understand?

Again I do not even speak about the DLP because they are not in the race…

40. @PUDRYR

In theory the duopoly can be broken. For it to happen we wait to see the candidates. Then we will now for sure.

41. @Pieces, you are talking a lot of theory that has little grounding in practical political Westminster style governance. This is not a vote for a President who runs on his/her own strength of character or lack of same while being associated to a party.

Voting for an individual solely without some context of his/her party winning makes little practical sense, not so!

What’s the benefit of sitting in Opposition.

And if Rihanna ran there is no guarantee that she would win. She certainly would be popular and likely would generate the type of excitement and voter interest that could propel her to a victory but exactly what would we be electing her for?

Would she bring more tourist as a Min of Tourism?

Would she be a driving force as Min of Trade & Commerce to bring all sorts of movies or other big-money backed ventures to our shores?

Of course not, at least no more than she already does in the roles she has been used by government.

So how exactly would it suit Bajans to elect her to sit in the HoA and waste time when she can be an ambassador who gets fancy awards from Harvard U and all that other nice publicity.

No sir…there is absolutely no guarantee that she would win and frankly there is absolutely no reason that we should want her to be elected!

Now if she wants to do like Taylor Swift or Paul Newman and donate some funds for a music scholarship to Cawmere or better yet to any deserving Bajan school boy or girl of excellence or even five of them per year then I would elect her fah dat!!

Anyhow, I actually popped on here to say that the soccer fix is on… No way Barca’s come-back from a 5-0 deficit against PSG to win their Champions League match is real!

To boot they scored the three winning goals in the last 5+ minutes of the game.

A fix, I say. LOLL.

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Heather
    The only “protest” necessary is a protest
    vote against both the BLP and DLP. I
    agree with Hal. You can’t change anything
    by leaving everything as it is.

43. @ Piece

The presence of the famous personality mentioned @8:24, even if entered on the side of a 3rd party, will make no structural difference

Indeed, the system is more likely to change a 3rd party, and that personality, than the reverse.

You maybe be squeamish but this thing has to be uprooted, burnt – metaphorically speaking.

We are talking about radical change in social norms, morays, power relationships, etc.

The equivalent in organizational transformational management is firing every body, and starting from scratch somewhere else, without anything from the present firm. Burning down the house we call it, no pun intended!

That is what is recommended when all else fails.

44. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Vincent Haynes March 8, 2017 at 4:43 PM #
    There is a guy ,still alive and living in Chimborazzo,St Joseph who went to BG during the war years. His parents , poor as they were, had to scrape together his boat fare to BG, only to do the same a few weeks later, when the unions in BG ,blacklisted “immigrants ” from working there.

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Police and Red neck Americans carry out the most dastardly acts on Black people in the United States, and these same victims and/or their family members are very quick to to later point out, “We forgive you/them”. Here or late many Barbadians, including some call-in moderators are also quick in establishing a similar line of thought when the question of a protest against the government arises.

46. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght – INRI March 7, 2017 at 10:47 PM “Tell me the name of one man who was the former boyfriend of Anemia Trunk ?”

She was a virgin until mr trunk blessed her with a wedding ring? And a stiff…because as we know a marriage ain’t a marriage until the act takes place.

47. Let de ole man explain to wunna what is theory and what is practice.

1.The proposed name of Rihanna Fenty was in response to the Honourable Blogmaster’s query about breaking the duopoly

2.My posit did not and still does not have anything to do with the practically of such an action but since wunna have rushed in “where angels fear to tread” let me explain to you all what the concept is so that the 3 rd parties can gleam a likkle bit of strategy instead of butting about aimlessly.

3.Either of de 2, rather 3, of wunna know how many young people constitute the voters list? No. I guess not. THe Voter apathy among the young ones will be eradicated by Rihanna Fenty.

4.So now that wunna has gotten a rude awakening about the rationale for choosing her i.e. her natural following and its impact on the vote let me now speak to to so called practicuum that my northern buddy presents in his remark bout her substantive post.

5.I does doan jes talk causing i likes to talk. As a matter of fact i jes talk too much and what i going tell you De Ingrunt word is dat dere is a power behind the throne greater than the king itself.

I shall however give you a little teaser while you are watching your football match http://mentalfloss.com/article/26281/4-dead-politicians-who-still-got-elected and that will be missed by 99% of the readers

6.Now that we have gotten that part aside and wunna is all converts to the strategy of what enlisting Rihanna Fenty would do let me speak to what Pachamama is saying.

She is only one seat.

There are 29 others which by de ole man reckoning cannot be occupied by her shapely ammmmmm I suggest wunna ask Walter PPK for that word.

the 29 others will be the disruptors who will bring the much needed change.

Man wunna fellers talking to Angela Sealy too much doah.

Wunna getting too slow in wunna thoughts.

Pachamama will you be running in this General Election? or will you be doing the armchair warrior thing?

48. @Hal Austin March 8, 2017 at 6:36 AM ” Every time the wealthy and well connected get ill they fly off to Miami, New York, Canada or Europe – or go in to their private clinics.
    No doubt QEH is not improving.”

Sometimes the wealthy and well connected are just idiots.

Please understand that some people have more money than sense.

I’ve had a wealthy and well connected mommie/grannie tell me that she has to fly her daughter to the U.S. to be delivered of her babies, something midwives at the QEH do successfully a dozen times every single day. And that she must hurry and take her grandchild to the U.S. to be immunized, something that polyclinic nurses do successfully every single day.

David Thompson flew to the U.S. too and a lotta good that did him. Pancreatic cancer, the five year survival rate for stage four is still 1% and neither U.S. doctors or preying pastors can change that. He is still dead, dead, dead. And so is Steve Jobs, and I think that Jobs had a few more coppers than Thompson.

Sometimes the wealthy and well connected are just idiots.

And when the private clinics can’t handle the patients they straightaway refer the patients to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, did it to my sibling, the American one, the only one who has died prematurely as American health care is mostly about making money for the insurance company boys, not about looking after people. A joke and an international disgrace and it is about to get worse.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply