It is obvious the governance system of Barbados serves to frustrate citizens clamouring for change as a result of eight years of declining economic performance. We should add that the social landscape has been changing as well be it crime, road rage and other unbajanlike behaviours. The recent public falling out between former Governor of the Central Bank DeLisle Worrell and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler clearly highlights the dire state of affairs.  What message does it sent to the domestic and international arenas? With a general election on the horizon it is difficult to fathom where the government will find  the political and financial capital to efficiently implement required and immediate policy changes to lead the economic recovery.

For many the economic and social fortune of the country eight years after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was handed the government  has not improved.  The government and the international financial and credit agencies appear to be at odds. Do we have the confidence that home based strategy is working out?

The recent downgrade by S&P Global to CCC+/C on Limited Financing Alternatives and Low International Reserves suggest the government will struggle to access funds on the international capital markets for the foreseeable future. And when in the few cases the opportunity exist to borrow, lenders will attach severe conditions as is the case with the Credit Suisse loan. The flipside to the challenge of being tagged with a poor credit rating is that Barbados becomes unattractive to foreign investors. This is important because the planks upon which the Barbados economy is supported requires inflows from  tourism AND foreign direct investment. Post 2008 Barbados has had to resort to selling profitable state assets- BLP a strategic asset  -to supplement to revenues. One does not have to be read in economics to appreciate that selling profitable state assets is an unsustainable approach to tackling the structural economic problems of Barbados. It also will eventually scare the identity of a nation by leaking assets to others what a people by dint of hard work have been able to acquire.

The protracted economic problems Barbadians have had to suffer has caused our mojo to disappear. No longer is Barbados regarded in the region as the model economy and country. Has the government achieved their mantra of building a society not an economy?

Whether at a personal or state level confidence is required to generate ideas, create projects from the ideas and to efficiently implement read timely. Clearly Barbados continues to suffer from what is commonly described as implementation deficit. Our inability to rollout project after project has affected economic recovery. Without being prolix there is enough evidence to legitimately question the performance of the government. It is important however to register that the structural economic problems of the country existed before 2008 when the DLP took office. It explains why they were booted from office. Successive governments have procrastinated to address the fault lines in the economy. Instead we have lived the easy live on the back of easy access to credit.

The question sensible Barbadians have been asking is how do we forcefully communicate to the political class the need for better representation to address the acute problems facing Barbados. Having to wait for five years to mark an X is not an efficient way to participate in a governance system. It seems ironic that ordinary citizens should have to ask the private sector; the chamber of commerce and other private sector agencies, to join the people to say to the government enough is enough. It is an admission that those with money control the decision making above those with economic authority. We are at that point where the business class must step up if the so called democratic system is to facilitate the change we require.

Anyone who listened to the Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler deliver a presentation at the DLP’s mid term conference were not inspired –at all. The lack of inspiration has nothing to do with the fact the recording was done with a hand held mobile phone.

Can we survive until the next general election? Will important stakeholders be able to save this once proud nation from sinking to a DDD credit rating? Will the Cabinet of Barbados agree to position country over politics? Will the social partnership for once grow  teeth? Will ordinary Barbadians see the wisdom to become immerse in the many activities that are designed to drive our system of government?

The late BU contributor Looking Glass wrote to BU many years ago to ask local UWI, Cave Hill and local academics to come together and in one voice communicate to the country what was required to negotiate a path from the economic. He wanted them to project an independent voice to reflect the high level of investment in education by Barbados. BU acted on his request by emailing a well known Cave Hill academic . We leave it to the BU community to evaluate if his request was acted out in the years since his death .

84 responses to “1991 Replay”

1. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@ David. Having a high adult literacy rate is always a plus for any country. But that is basic. A productive, creative, innovative, and highly skilled workforce are educational vale-added that drive any economy. Over-producing social science and humanities graduates is a luxury.

2. Forty,

It depends on what you mean by a high literacy and numeracy rate. Just being able to read or count to ten is not literacy or numeracy.
    Take Britain, where the government now offers free courses in functional maths and English to O level standard and an entire academic range for 16-19 yr olds, including ICT courses.
    It is a realisation that if you are to function in a highly numerate and literate world, you must bring your future workers up to speed.
    We can do that in Barbados.

3. @fortyacresandamule

Agree, Sir Hilary was helbent on enrolling numbers at any cost because of the payment metric. Should we blame him though? Who is responsible for shaping the ethos to influence subject selection?

4. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Hal. No disagreement with that boss. Right on point.

@David. The educational curriculum must align itself with labour demand in the private sector. And not only locally but globally . Barbad needs new industries or services together with expanding the vale-added of the current ones. In other words, we need to expand the economic base. The offshore legal, medical , accounting, HR processs is one example. We are also MIA in the global supply chain.

5. @Alvin

The new “premium” cars you mention wait ages for Barbadian customers. Most are sold to diplomats, expats and so on. There is no drain of foreign currency reserves.

And even, even if a Barbadian has won the lottery: Do not worry about the price, it does not take much foreign currency. My favourite example: BMW 535d

official price in BB: 420,000 BBD
    net import price (including shipping, excluding all taxes, duties etc): max. 60,000 EUR = 130,000 BBD
    profit of retailer: ???

I assume the government gets at least 250,000 BBD taxes, duties etc pp out of this deal.

6. Is it not worth comment that this Stuart government rubbished the role of the social partnership if we are to go by infrequent meetings. All of a sudden we have seen two sub committees established to submit proposals on a way for forward in the next weeks. We like it so.

7. The Reports of the Sub-committees of the Social Partnership will treated with the same seriousness as Dr. Estwick’s several and repeated Proposals.

8. The idiot we have for a PM said to his yardfowls on Saturday that the downgrades do not matter as they do not have to borrow on the world market.

He further said………(Lord this man pisses me off every time he opens his mouth)………..S&P can only downgrade our credit rating but they cannot downgrade our country. Fumble, that is a mute point…………..everybody knows that.

What ever happen to the $30 million this government borrowed fron FCIB to invest in a Development Bank in Brazil so that it could borrow more money?

9. Today we learned yet another third party will be launched this week. The Coalition Action Party (CAP) believe it is called.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Heyy!!! Which of the DLP and BLP yardfowls and wobbly ducks give my poster the thumbs down. Tell me who you are..NOW!

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94301/arthur

lol…that marriage did not last long at all, selfish people can never get along.

Arthur thinks he may not be needed
    RANDY BENNETT, randybennett@nationnews.com
    Added 07 March 2017

OWEN ARTHUR may end up not being Government’s chief financial economic advisor after all.

Days after confirming that he had been approached by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to be the new chairman of Government’s Council of Economic Advisors, Arthur has seemingly pulled the plug on any such move.

His decision stems from a move by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last Friday, during a meeting of the Full Social Partnership at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to name a number of persons to two working groups set up to tackle the issues of the country’s declining foreign reserves and a skyrocketing fiscal deficit.

12. Good morning my Dearest Suzanne

Let me share a few things with you.

Two actually.

You are not going to be liked.

If you were not making an impact on those swine then they would not leave the Bajan Blog of Barbados Underground and go to the United States of America, AMONG 150 million viewers a month AND GIVE YOU A THUMBS DOWN.

Now if you mean here on BU heheheheh dat doan count In fact i advise that you disable the stat counter and poll daddy

Those thumb downs mean that what you are doing is wukking.

Secondly.

You are averaging 425 direct views !!!

425 views for a topic on politics in Barbados is damn good

That is 1/5 of the size of the average vote that 80% of those people casting votes for a candidate in our constituencies.

Dem is not going to like that my dearest.

Not in the least.

Keep on hitting it dear, keep on hitting it

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hello My Sweetie

The truth is, it does not matter to me one bit. Both the DLP and BLP know that all the cunt they have done over the years have finally reached the boil with the electorate. They think all their secrets are well hidden. They think all their lies have fooled the many. They think their get rich schemes are well protected. HAH! I am not going to attack one and leave out the other. Both have shown their time running the government how wicked and sleazy they can be. Mia Mottley must be called to account to deliver governance, not her style or type of governance. This wicked woman must be forced into changing all the systems that have made it easy for politicians to get free easy money. So my sweet piece does not matter who view or do not view, I am going to push the poster campaign for better governance, because after Shite of Freundel Stuart, you reallly think we want another 4 or 8 years shite leadership coming from the Mottley Crew?

14. Tron:
    You said:”…There is no drain of foreign currency reserves.” What a crock!
    Every item bought from outside of Barbados impacts on our
    foreign Reserves. The companies that export have to be paid in U.S. Dollars. Since we do not produce U.S. dollars, this has to be through our exporters getting U.S. dollars for our products; sugar for instance, or services, paid for in U.S. dollars, or money brought in by Tourists. How many tourists visiting does it take to provide the amount of FOREIGN EXCHANGE, to pay the manufacturer of a NISSAN X-Trail, or the same BMW 60,000.00 Euro? The taxes and duties collected by government is local and would not impact the foreign exchange required to purchase the vehicle. It is the foreign exchange that has to be found to pay the overseas seller. That is why the drugs trade is another user of forex. It is sold for U.S. dollars (so I am told), , even though the five bag is in B’dos dollars. The dealers have to pay the importers in U.S. Is this where our Forex is going? Is sufficient monitoring of couriers undertaken? Quite a conundrum, running a government, as a certain Trump is now discovering.

15. Alvin, Alvin, you are a typical DLP supporter.

First Group: Diplomats do not pay the local importer, but the car manufacturer, since their contract is between them and the manufacturer. The local importer is an agent between diplomat and manufacturer.

Second group: Lots of expats in Barbados have foreign income. Or do you think they rely on Bim´s broken system? They pay to the local importer, but transfer that money from their foreign accounts to the importer or just use their foreign credit cards. Since the local importer has some profit, more foreign currency comes into Bim than flows out.

Third group: Native Barbadians without foreign income. OK, they drain the reserves. However, the government gets big local money from every deal. Without the excessive taxes and duties, civil servants would sleep under bridges.

16. @Alvin

Do not allow the main point to elude you. It is a matter of which import items impact forex more.

> >

17. LOL
    Wunna still arguing with Alvin….?

It is only matter of time before Bushie is forced to make an assessment of those who persist in arguments with the likes of Alvin….

…and it is NOT likely to include such attributes as ‘patience’, ‘long-sufferance’ or ‘tolerance’..
    Ha ha ha
    Shirt!!!

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Alvin…really, stop grasping at straws, between the corrupt, bribetaking government ministers and the little minorty business people…..read their bribers….drained the island of foreign exchange, ya should ask Michael Lashley……ya fraud.

19. Alvin,

All overseas companies that we do business with do not have to be paid in US dollars. Companies ae paid in the currency agreed to in the contracts. There are global commodities that price in dollars, such as oil, but there is no reason why we cannot pay Caricom partners in Barbadian dollars. That is what forward contracts are for.
    We can also pay in yuans, euros, pounds or even in gipsy nuggets, if that is what our trading partners want. Caricom is our main trading partner, so why do we pay them in US dollars?
    We are obsessed with foreign reserves because the people who should know better, our academics and business leaders, feed it to us like a sleeping pill. It is group think, an inability to think critically.
    One of our leading academics, from an article in the Nation, does not even know why we have foreign reserves. He thinks it is for something that mysterious people agreed to in the long distant past.
    The problem with our economy is much simpler: if we spend more than we earn, then we are in trouble; jut spend what we earn, we are in a better place; spend less than we earn, and we build up a rainy day pot.
    This is true about households as it is about a small businesses or a government. Stop living above our means; ban the car distributors, banks and credit unions from offering sub-prime loans to buy cars. Prosecute banks who lend people money to go to the Trinidad carnival. Good regulation is what is badly needed.
    By the way, on another matter, all investments carry risks. You may de-risk, but you cannot be risk-free.
    By the way, why doesn’t the government package its NIS obligations and sell them on? De-risking pensions is the bees knees.

20. evah ting fuh sale.

“The purchaser, United Caribbean Rum Limited (UCRL), is a Barbados holding company and a wholly owned subsidiary of Compagnie de Bonbonnet SAS (Bonbonnet), a privately held French holding company which owns a number of subsidiaries including Maison Ferrand.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94311/gel-sell-shares-rum-distillery#sthash.lPqAE4WN.dpuf

21. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Note GEL(Goddards) will keep Cockspur and J&R(my choice).

22. @Hal

Exporters to Barbados will have to contract in the currency the monetary authority in their countries prefer.

23. @Tron March 7, 2017 at 7:33 AM Tron March 7, 2017 at 7:33 AM “Without the excessive taxes and duties, civil servants would sleep under bridges.”

And do we want the people who immunize our children, clean our water, teach our children, watch over us when we sleep at night, look after us when we are sick, and who look after those who have worked for 40-50-60 years for low wages…do we really, really want those people to sleep under bridges?

And if we force them to sleep under bridges how long do you think it will be before those civil servants vote with their feet/with the wings of any airliner flying out of Barbados?

And if the civil servants are not there to keep the bad hombres in check how do we continue to live the sweet, safe life?

We want to fool ourselves that the civil servants are an unproductive drain on the economy, and that we would be better off without them? But will we?

All credit to donald trump

24. It is like those people who see child bearing as an wasteful drain on the economy, forgetting that without reproduction there is no production…who will buy your stuff is there is no reproduction…who will [wo]man the fields, the factories, the hotels, etc?

25. @Simple Simon

Use some commonsense here. The ask is for an efficient pubic service, not to do away with it.

26. LOL @ David
    Why is it, you think, that Bajans ALWAYS take the position that, “if it ain’t working, let us get rid of it”? no one ever seem to take the position of FIXING/ UPDATING/ REPAIRING / ADJUSTING/ MAINTAINING….
    It is always a matter of mash up and then look to build back….

Whether it is Almond, the BNB, NCF, NCC, Transport Board, Snivil Service, the Globe, Empire, or the NIS Building on Fairchild Street…..

Everyone seems afraid to default to meritocratic decision making that holds persons ACCOUNTABLE for the results that they produce.

Bushie just returned from being ‘served’ buy a couple of government workers … three of the public service of which Simple is waxing sanctimoniously…..
    LOTTA SHIITE YUH!!!
    Umm mek Bushie LAUGH …with ‘vexness’..

27. @Bush Tea

It is so obvious we need to up our standards maintain those standards. You know what they say about doind the same thing and expect a different result.

28. Dear David: I was responding to this statement which you did not shoot down:

@Tron March 7, 2017 at 7:33 AM Tron March 7, 2017 at 7:33 AM “Without the excessive taxes and duties, civil servants would sleep under bridges.”

@David March 7, 2017 at 1:14 PM “Use some commonsense here. The ask is for an efficient pubic service, not to do away with it.”

I am all for an efficient public service AND an efficient private sector.

The question is: Do we have either???

29. @Simple Simon

We need a golden middle-path between the present status (large overhead of state agencies, ministries etc pp, public buildings too big for the need of a small island) and a model without public care and outsourcing everything.

Surely, we need police officers, teacher, but not 51 parlamentarians, 18 ministries with many state secretaries and many consultants. Barbados copies big states instead of looking at other microstates. The purpose of an administration is to serve people, not to remedy unemployment in the private sector caused by overpopulation and lack of productivity.

I am well aware that some IMF-recommendations are bull…, eg privatization of sanitation, water, healthcare and other goods were there is no competition in a free market possible.

And last not least, since Barbados has only one major product to offer (namely tourism), public investments should focus to attract more tourists. Sadly enough, I do not see any success in making Barbados more attractive for tourists during the last fifteen years. We get all-inclusive-hotels, which is totally the wrong tirection. Also, the prices are simply by far too high. Barbados became the most expensive tourist destination in the western hemisphere without added value.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

31. An intersting parallel discussion in TnT.

You got to read this! Stuff you never heard about bank fees, the Central Bank, possible collusion, bank oligarchy, what must be done, and with DATA!

Finally, the Central Bank must promote bank competition within an appropriate framework of prudential regulation. Local banks have become comfortable, perhaps too comfortable with the sight of long lines of customers winding around their banking halls. Yet these customers are the ones who are literally paying the price for banks’ easy come attitude.

Competition works well in banking when rival banks vigorously seek and woo one another’s customers with innovative products, lower fees and better service. This is more likely to be the case in Trinidad and Tobago if the Central Bank allows at least two more medium-sized (about $40 billion each in assets) non-Canadian banks to enter our financial market.

Until more competitive banking conditions take root, the Central Bank should issue prudential guidelines on bank fees and service charges. These prudential guidelines would give the Central Bank authority to evaluate whether existing or new fees are reasonable and fair in relation to the customer, and to approve, modify or reject such fees.

The Central Bank of Ireland, which is a mega-regulator similar to our Central Bank, provides the appropriate model we can look at for some inspiration on how to bring some fairness and balance to bank fees in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Irish regulatory framework for bank fees seeks to promote competition and improve consumer protection while enabling banks to price their service costs efficiently. It shows how competition and prudential regulation can coexist comfortably, ensuring a stable banking system that adequately serves small customers, businesses and the economy.

That was an extract, see the full article here:

Bank Fees…The Good, The Bad and the Very Ugly

Do you know how much you paid your bank last year for the convenience of using its services? Some of us may have…

http://www.jwalarambarran.com/bank-feesthe-good-the-bad-and-the-very-ugly/

While you are it, read Michael Harris’ column on the same topic

In defence of the big bad banks

Mar. 5, 2017, 9:35 PM AST 0 Comments

As one of those persons in the forefront of the campaign against the wide-ranging and exorbitant range of fees imposed on their customers by our commercial banks I have tried to pay attention to any articles or statements made in public which attempt to justify or at least explain the rationale for

32. Tron March 7, 2017 at 5:05 PM “We need a golden middle-path between the present status (large overhead of state agencies, ministries etc pp, public buildings too big for the need of a small island) and a model without public care and outsourcing everything.”

Ahhh!!! A much more nuanced, more reasonable statement.

Except for the over population bit. As you know Barbados’ population growth rate is actually significantly below replacement level, even while the population base is large.

33. @Simple Simon

If only the politicians would be reasonable too …. 😉