Former Prime Minister, Owen Arthur

In a surprise decision by former prime minister Owen Arthur to accept the position as Chief Economic Advisor if offered by government, many are asking if the move is designed to undermine the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) with a general election looming. Clearly the government continues to struggle with the management of the economy and BU suspects the Arthur/Government collaboration is a Machiavellian attempt to achieve a win win position.

139 responses to “Owen Arthur Agrees to Serve as Chief Economic Advisor”

1. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Prodigal Son;

You said “So what will Arthur do if the minister continues to instruct the new CBB governor to print money monthly?”

Hasn’t he already given broad hints in public that he would agree with the limited printing of money as a last resort and alternative to going to the IMF?

2. We have to stop this childish nonsense about what happened in the past

All of these axes to grind about who did whom what

Our country is in peril and we must approach this with a sense of maturity.

3. It is not a matter of limited printing of money if one factors that the printing has been continuous for years now.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants March 1, 2017 at 10:44 AM

You should care with ‘frightening’ concern if the person bringing the lifeboat has been consistently and derogatorily accused by the current captain and his mates of the ship of State for starting the fire in the first place.

Unless there is a public exoneration and contrite admission that those charges of squandermania and mismanagement (acts giving rise to the fire) then every thing would be seen as a classic case of the Greeks bearing political gifts of salvation to poison the water poured into the Mottley jug.

OSA’s prescription for economic revival does not include agriculture in whichever incarnation (sugarcane grass or the other kind) in his medical kit bag of economic instruments). So don’t look for your favourite fix of medication to be on the operating table.

OSA is no god. He is a spent force with little impact than as a shell of economic words applicable to a Bajan economy of a long gone era. Just look how your goliath for an economist was treated and defeated by the gigantic fumbling fool of a management pygmy in Bajan Christendom.

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Pachamama;

Your posts on this matter suggests that, despite your former bluster, you are a true patriot when all the chips are down. Nice!

6. We are a politically polarised country. How will those expected to lead the charge be perceived by the public as coming to the table with clean hands? This is the current state of the landscape in Barbados.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son March 1, 2017 at 10:49 AM
    “So what will Arthur do if the minister continues to instruct the new CBB governor to print money monthly?

What makes OSA think that the minister will take his counsel when he refused to do what Frank Alleyne advised?”

OSA is so consumed with the fire of vengeance and vindictiveness against MAM his soul is now so contaminated it is now possessed by the harbinger of evil.

This lowest act of having supper with the Devil is clear evidence that OSA is not in it because of some SOS call to ‘save’ Barbados from economic meltdown but a final act of desperation to drive the final nail in MAM’s political coffin ready for delivery to the electorate.

Why not first demand a public apology from the same people who have been instrumental in his fall from an economic management titan to a publicly denuded slimy little man full of hate for a woman the reasons for which are yet to be told.

OSA would certainly gain greater respect for his decision if he were to first demand such an apology and not settled for the dismissal of the Guv of the CB for finally singing the same tune from the same hymn sheet as OSA himself has been singing for the 3 to 4 years that ‘the printing of monopoly money can only lead to the road of economic hell’.

“The paradox of vengefulness is that it makes men dependent upon those who have harmed them, believing that their release from pain will come only when their tormentors suffer.”

“When you begin a journey of revenge, start by digging two graves: one for your enemy, and one for yourself.”

8. @ David
    Imagine the talk if Arthur had flatly refused his advice when asked by the MoF when the country is in such dire straights….

BTW David
    …you saw that aljazeera report…????

9. @Bushie

Yes, can you confirm it?

Lol

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

If anyone needs proof that politics is nothing but tricks, nastiness, shite talk, and betrayals, here is the evidence of it. Arthur cannot stomach the DLP but his hate for Mottley will allow his conscience to tolerate the DLP sycophants. He knows he cannot spill the beans on Mottley because she would release all of his rotten cabbages. So what he does, he decides to align himself with the same DLP he says he would never help, and resort to certain tactics to ensure that any thing he says paints a picture of Mottley that is unfair and a despot hungry for power and position (not that he wrong). And the truth is, she deserves all that she is getting. A very bright woman but an idiot blinded by her number one objective.

11. Sorry Boss…That kind of information is not priority in BBE…land

12. We are a politically polarised country. How will those expected to lead the charge be perceived by the public as coming to the table with clean hands? This is the current state of the landscape in Barbados.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David March 1, 2017 at 11:55 AM

So let us foolishly assume that the presence of OSA as Chief in the council of hot-air blowers of gaseous rekindles some ray of confidence in the Bajan economy.

Let us also assume that late boost of confidence facilitates the unlikely event of the return of a DLP administration; thanks to the magically intervention of the god of economic miracles the Green giant of revenge OSA.

Do you really feel the DLP would have any further uses for him after the intentional destruction of MAM”s political career?

Do you really feel he would even be given the title “Prime Minister Emeritus”?

Maybe a ‘Sir Arthur’ of the Crooked Table after Barbados is turned into a full-fledged banana republic with its own fully buried trident and its own local version of knighthood and honours for liars, deceivers crooks.

To show his true magical colours, let Sir OSA’s first task in his new job be the printing of greenbacks to pay the LIAT staff with the airline now fully in the cash-flow red.

14. @Miller

We have reached a point where we have to ask the question what can we do for our country. A country anchored at rock bottom for the last few years.

BTW UPP’s Lynette Eastmond has endorsed the move by Arthur.

15. I was asked this about 10.30 this morning by a colleague in NY if Arthur has passed on.

16. Every one on BU is entitled to an opinion on the move by OSA.Even the dull among us will recognize that he has his admirers.An outstanding contributor to the politics of Barbados and the Region.

17. Are-we-there-yet

We have been known to cuss our country

We have been known to cuss people we love

It is because we love them, we cuss them.

The most dangerous people are those who remain silent, show no genuine passion.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David March 1, 2017 at 12:40 PM

There is also the principle that when an alcoholic who was once a well-respected bank manager finds himself on skid row, a prerequisite for his being placed on the road of recovery is to admit (confesses) he is an alcoholic and in need of help and he must stop thinking he is still king of the hill living in la la land.

The DLP administration has not yet done that.

Just examine the braggadocio stance of pure arrogance and lying bullshit about the good health of the economy still taken by the MoF who still refuses to accept in his continuing game of chasing after scapegoats that his administration’s bad acts of commission and omission and the pretense silence of his absent boss have contributed in the main to the deleterious state of the country’s economy in which confidence is shot out of the water both locally and internationally.

19. ”The bigly problem we have is that the debate in Barbados about where we are is being muddied by the polarization along partisan political lines. We observe it on BU daily -we are on the burning deck being burnt alive and many still have not acknowledged the perilous state we find ourselves.”

Not been a truer statement.

Indeed, part of this ‘redemptive’ process must be to forgive self and others.

People should own up to past sins and beg forgiveness

Promise not to repeat past failings, popularize systems to empower all.

Peace and reconciliation you say!

20. I am not sure if OSA has all of this support with the electorate in Barbados. The dems 2008 Haggat Hall meeting did real damage to OSA’s reputation.

I did some calling for the BLP during the 2013 election and many persons told me that they would not be voting as they could not bring themselves to vote for the dems again and that they would have liked to vote for the BLP but not with OSA at the helm…..this could be true as we had a very low turn out at the polls in 2013.

We shall see…….as a caller to Brasstacks said this morning…….he may be building a wicket for Mia to bat on………

21. What a merry go round! All of our hopes are been pinned on an elderly man with failing health.

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Miller and Caswell totally agree and congrats on putting this issue in its true perspective.

Note OSA stated that he would accept if asked,the cabinet meets tomorrow, so one would assume that we will hear something tomorrow.

Could some one tell me exactly point by point what this country achieved under Arthur except the feel factor, in the areas of infrastructure,monetarily,bussiness development,etc,etc

23. When you want to make someone seem honest when they have been dealing from the bottom of the deck…do what they do in vegas….add visor

24. angela Skeete Avatar

Patriotism is all well and good when all differences are put aside.However on this issues the idealogies and egos would be put to test
    As it is of now there are differences which have already overheated and have been exposed
    The question now remaining is how would govt go about conceding if they take the route which OSA has proposed for the economy
    Or will govt take the bull by the horns and do what is in the best interest of the country having a political and patriotic will to do so.

25. @ Vincent
    You could really hush!!
    Arthur has contributed more to Barbados that you…or or anyone that you know…
    He has his weaknesses – which Bushie reserves the right to point ou and whack… BUT he has more sense than you AND all the DLP jokers put together.
    What he has to offer is a level of RATIONALITY to the options now facing this country of idiots…. besides, he understands fractions…

What have you contributed to agriculture – where you spent your life after getting an education much like Arthur’s?
    Are there not semi-literate Guyanese and Trinidadians running Sugar into the ground…?
    What have you to say about that…?

26. Bush Tea,

Plse remind me, what has Arthur contributed to the development of Barbados?

27. Bushtea plz don’t answer Hal.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes March 1, 2017 at 1:19 PM

We note no one is focusing on the hurt feelings of the Ministerial gadfly responsible for agricultural and watery matters.

This is the third of fourth time he has been overlooked for promotion and embarrassingly dismissed as not suited for the primary role for the de facto or even de jure advisor to inform his administration’s economic policy framework.

The poor fella must be doggedly considering his future in a party for whom he acted as the cannon fodder in the battles waged in the 2013 campaign against the then enemy under the command of the BLP General OSA.

The same general who will soon be given not only a purple heart of DLP design for bravery despite the thousands of bullets aimed at his moral mettle before, during and after that 2013 campaign but also a Légion d’Honneur of knighthood in his chivalric collusion in undermining his former female lieutenant.

But the most prized medal on offer would the ‘Thompsonian’ Cross of Deceit embedded in a $70,000. 00 CLICO ‘glassy’ cheque signed by a leper and endorsed with the instruction to pay to the order of the dead man who will no longer be able to lie, cheat or steal’.

That pit-bull is really a glutton punishment turning him into the ‘bullied’ laughing stock of the cabinet made up of those characters found in “Animal Farm”.

Not even Balaam’s ass would have endured such degrading treatment from his silent but brutal master.

It’s time the used, abused and now disowned pit-bull speaks up and look towards the Heavens for intervention and guidance to seek another ‘feline’ mistress and political yard painted red to guard.

If General OSA can be a true-blue turncoat and cross the political Rubicon of shame why can’t the yellow-belly pit-bull dog turn into a red raging Napoleon for a Sergeant Major and swim the distance in the other direction?

29. Owen it is quite obvious what you are attempting, unfortunately the DLP has wounded too many persons that wouldn’t heal by election time.

Owen is really determined to prevent the BLP from being elected but there is really no choice but to remove this highly incompetent party and an unqualified Prime Minister from office.

The desire of the wounded persons will be greater than any spin and distortions that you could possibly attempt.

The DLP is happy with this decision not because of economical concerns but because of a deep desire to retain this sweet intoxicatingly poorly used authority over the masses.

But alas you are quite comfortable with being used once you have the opportunity to be an obstacle.

Owen you are the opposite of Fruendell, he exposes himself by keeping silent and you my dear bitter gentleman exposes yourself by speaking.

30. How do we anticipate the man of many hats and his acolytes will respond? The man of many hats is now chair and is known not to be an admirer of MAM.

31. Are we seeing a re-alignment of Barbadian politics?

32. > @Hal > > What do you mean? > > There is a homogeneous feel to politics in Barbados. >

33. @David
    Is he an admirer of Owen? lol

34. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle…..when one cannot answer a question rule 1. lash out at the person. rule 2.seek to ridicule the person………cuddear poor bt.

Skippah simply answer the question as formatted and leave out the froth.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David March 1, 2017 at 3:23 PM

A good politically intriguing observation.

Hats – the short man Bushie remembers from school-days as a long distance running jackass in a race marked for mules) has no loyal love for MAM and would do anything to see his protégé and puppet ascend to the throne even though he would have a fight on his hand from Braddie on behalf of his ‘daughter’ Princess Santy B who is still politically untainted.

The problem here, David, is that the defeat of the BLP in the upcoming elections would not only spell the end of MAM’s career but also those of the likes of the same Hats and Marshall.

Both of those political second-raters would be discarded to the dustbin of political oblivion.

At least Dale stands a second chance of being another A G under a 2018 or earlier BLP administration.

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Miller

Excellent point….you never know he may remain and try to rebuild the bridge from the embers.

Bimmers should realise that these 9 years have been a usefull lesson about our political landscape.

I hope MAM march comes off and Bimmers get accustomed to marching and civil disobedience as that is the only way to deal with our political class.

37. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Barbados financial system should have excessive liquidity to finance both a reasonable government deficit (4% gdp) and private credit, without the government resort to printing excesss money. The issue with the ballon deficit is a problem of poor buget forecasting. We are over-estimating revenue and under-estimating expenditure. We need to build capacity in this area of buget preparation.

38. @fortyacresandamule

Surely you are not serious?

The issue is not about excess liquidity but whether financial institutions have the appetite to lend to government.

39. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@ Pacha. Cussing people to show endearment or care is called abuse in today’s PC world.

40. David,
    The tectonic plates are shifting. Is this a are-alignment?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ fortyacresandamule March 1, 2017 at 4:21 PM

Good point!

The problem in Bim is that it tries ‘formally’ to operate a rather sophisticated regime of taxes in a small 2×3 politically incestuous society where John Brown the government-employed crook is the ‘known’ brother of the slimy tax dodger living next door in the same corrupt village.

Just look and see what is being analogously played out with the $3.3 million of Greenverbs gratuity and the BRA under the ultimate power of Stinkliar and Fumbles whose electoral campaigns the same leper helped to finance out of the same laundered and untouchable $3.3 million.

Just look at the amount of VAT due to the Treasury!

Do your really feel that taxes collected directly from ordinary consumers at the point of conducting the business transactions had any right ending up financing the cash flow requirements not only of the business but also the owners and their families’ private ostentatious lifestyle?

Get rid of the complicated and accountant-dependant Income and Corporation taxes regimes.

Why not replace them with a simple levy of 10 % on gross incomes (revenues) with NIS and pensions contributions the only valid exemptions.

But then again the accounting profession would go out of business just like the horse and buggy as a form of transport.

42. @ Enuff
    Bushtea plz don’t answer Hal.
    Boss… is that gag order still in effect …
    or can Bushie deal with his donkey now…? 🙂

43. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. I am serious.The pension funds and insurance industry have limited investment options. We have a small unsophisticated capital market. Pension funds and insurance companies have long-term liabilities to fund.

@Miller. Right on point. We should do like Bahamas. They charge a simple levy on gross turnover for companies. None of that profit and loss scam.

44. Typical barbados the unit
    Owen Arthur and Fruendal Stuart….or…. OAFS for short

45. Sorry
    the parties unite

46. Bushie

Chuckle….as usual Hiding unable to answer a simple question.

Miller

You have hit the nail on the head with the hatred of BT the misogynist.

47. @Pachamama March 1, 2017 at 6:02 AM “We voted ‘yes’”

We????????????

How many of you?

Because I am counting the votes.

48. @ Vincent
    Stop making a fool of yourself nuh!!!
    Shiite man – when have you EVER heard Bushie unable to answer ANY … A N Y … question?
    Steupssss…

49. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger March 1, 2017 at 6:54 AM “Stay òut of the US.”

We hear you, we hear you.

We sticking to this rock like barnacles.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply