Submitted by William Skinner
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Those who would seek to write off former Prime Minister Owen Arthur are making a potentially grievous political mistake. Apparently, it is now customary in our society, to declare anyone above the age of 60 as a has been. This means that all those teachers, police, nurses and others including those in the private sector, are supposed to go home at 55 or 60 and grow lettuce or roses. I respectfully beg to differ. The truth is that, as far as I know, Arthur has no impediment that will affect his ability to be a very productive citizen for many years to come.

This author, 9/1/14

I do not sing in the choir of former Prime Minister, Owen Arthur and I remain convinced that the current Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, is in the middle of the ocean, in a moses with a hole. However, I support Arthur, who is displaying an act of statesmanship, by accepting the chairmanship of the Economic Advisory Council. This is a genuine example of the politics of inclusion because Arthur has not been asked to surrender his independent status and he has not joined the ruling Democratic Labour Party.

Arthur is as guilty for the current adversarial component of our politics as any other politician because in his prime as Prime Minister with a popularity that was about to surpass Errol Barrow’s, he squandered the opportunity by becoming very abrasive toward journalists and other citizens, and eventually suffered two successive electoral defeats thereby guaranteeing a plunge in his popularity. However, he remains popular especially among those who believe that he was a good manager of the economy. In my opinion, he should have done more with the expenditure he had at his disposal but others maintain that his management of the economy was stellar. Apart from his contribution as chair of the Advisory Council, if he could at the very least keep both BLP and DLP diehards a bit quiet, he would have contributed to a decrease in the polarization that now blunts every effort of progressive and enlightened public discourse about the state of our country.

He reminds me of a batsman, who “gives away his hand” and then sits in the pavilion and tells all the other batsmen how they should bat. I believe that that for a considerable period, of his time in office, he was afflicted by managerial cataracts but since leaving Llaro Court, his vision seems to have improved. We now expect this improved or corrected vision to benefit the administration and hopefully redound to a clearer vision for Sinckler and the country. Therefore no nationalistic citizen should oppose what is essentially a meeting of minds. We can only hope that Sinckler is not so blind that nobody can make him see. The last man who attempted to correct Sinckler’s vision, the previous Governor of The Central Bank, Dr. Delisle Worrell , got fired !

There are many astute political commentators, who are seeing Arthur’s acceptance of the offer as a blow to the current leader of the Opposition, Mia Motley. It is Mottley’s fault that Arthur’s shadow still hangs over her political ambition to be Prime Minister. She allowed Arthur to undermine her on two occasions and took a considerable amount of political body blows. Quite frankly, I am very impressed that she did not leave her party as Dr. Clyde Mascoll did when he believed that some powers had conspired to remove him from leadership of the DLP and return it to the late David Thompson. I believe that Mottley has gone through the hottest fire and is now of the finest political steel. If Arthur is still a thorn in her political side, I would have to conclude that my belief that she is the finest steel would have been wrong or premature.

In terms of the DLP , it is at best a psychological victory but I don’t think that this development will automatically rescue it from what many believe is certain defeat at the polls, at the next general election. The obvious winner here is Owen Arthur, because even as his parliamentary career comes to an end and having lost his last two elections, his relevance to our country remains intact. It proves that if he had been more aware of the pinnacle on which he once stood and had not allowed the trappings of power to blind him to what he could have achieved, the Democratic Labour Party would have still been in Opposition.

100 responses to “Arthur Returns to the Big Stage”

1. Hal and there is none. The island infrastructure during his fourteen year reign remained untouched leaving present govt to fix hence the bulgeoning effect of water woes and sewer problems .The sad part are those who would see Arthur as a saving grace even though present evidence attached to a debted economy most of which he owns.
    Really dont see how he can make a significant difference unless his new apperance is a staging ground for more of his political aspirations by making way of backdoor entry

2. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Piece

Chuckle……not ah yen…..yuh tink ah shud axe fuh some???

(ah neusin brackets too,so diz beetwin deh 2 awee…..wah OSA payin u…..causen ah cud axe fuh lil moa as she gine be de nexx PM…..wuh yuh sai)

Ah hopes yuh ged diz as muh jalopy PC ain got nuh brackets likah de one dem did gih yuh.

3. Angela,

What I find worrying is that people expect a re-born Arthur to be the Messiah. Normally intelligent Barbadians seem to suspend their common sense.
    Arthur is a diversion, he is taking us away from focusing on what is important, the rescuing of the island’s economy and its physical development.
    Or, maybe, he is the best we have to offer.

4. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

An interesting end to the brasstacks programme today as MP Cynthia Forde called into refute all the allegations made by OSA against her for his reason for leaving and ended it by stating that he seems to be targeting women in order to demean them…….

Hmmmm…..sounds very much like Bush Tea…..now I understand why he cant answer my questions,not only is he singing in the choir but he is the choirmaster……

Interesting to note that OSA sat his A levels at Cawmere.

5. Angela
    In 14 years of Owen’s reign he did not touch the national infrastructure? What tomfoolery is this? For your information, he built the prison that you often cuss. He built Crab Hill police station; Oistins fishing complex got redo; Pelican Village; schools; horse hill complex; desal plant; airport expansion; court; Kensington oval; coast guard; pavilions all over urban Barbados; tenantry roads; play parks; beach facilities; boardwalk; independence square; speightstown jetty; lower green terminal; jubilee gardens; the eagle hall market, expansion at BBC and more. The ABC highway and Greenland?
    Your problem is that you don’t understand what infrastructure means.

6. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

I hope people are listening to what Mr Arthur is saying about the economy to which it was not the first time he said it vis a vis the 90 day deadline speech. Barbados is entering the event horizon of an economic BLACK HOLE that this DLP gov’t has created…The first sign that the proverbial SHIT was hitting the fan was Dr Worrell after 8 years not towing the line insofar as allowing the economic MADNESS of the MoF!!!. Then we have that donkey George Pilgrim and Chris Sinckler public revelation that this gov’t has been PRINTING money apparently since 2009!!!!.and to FLIPPANTLY say that it will continue!!!!. Now this Govt has done some serious IGNORANCE in its 9 years .. but to admit this and say it it will CONTINUE and not even come up with a half believable plan to stop this is a CLEAR sign TO ME that they no longer have control of the economy and does not how to get it back …to use a analogy it liken to a crew admitting to the passengers that there is a large hole in the hull dont know how to fix it…on top of that does not have control of the ship and is all but leaving the steering of the ship to Mother Nature.!!! I mean even in their don’t carish admission it is liken to a criminal that admitted to multiple murders and don’t care because nobody can lock DEM UP!!!!… This printing of MONEY for the length of time they have admitted to done it should have those educated even in the BASICS of economics LIVID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Now to Chris Sinckler’s press conference…..i like to read body language along with listening to actual words being said… Chris Sinckler’s one is that of of a MOF staring DEFEAT in the face….If one knows how chess is played…. it can be said that CHECKMATE is totally UNAVOIDABLE….it only a matter of TIME and the number of moves it will happen….Chris Sinckler is fighting a delaying action with the sale of the BNTCL and the foreign exchange “controls” implemented…I mean Chris can only do what the best he can do… he is trying to gee up the populace trying not to surrender by declaring that Barbados will NOT got to the IMF and the devaluation of the dollar will not happen….however the educated KNOWS that the TOTAL OPPOSITE will come true… I have for a few years now shifted my focus from the MOF to the person that poses as the PM of Barbados. I am one that does not subscribe to the crap talk about locking up politicians..but you see this Freundel Stuart….Freundel must be LOCKED up for 1 YEAR in HMP Dodds for GROSS dereliction of duty as PM and complicit in the imminent economic blowout of Barbados…I AM VERY SERIOUS!!!….a PM that can , after 13 consecutive downgrades, can still have confidence in a MOF, could leave Barbados at the time there is conflict between the GoCB and MOF NEEDS to be relieved of duty.I also did not subscribe to the talk of early elections etc BUT in light of what has happened in the past week….the last RESPECTABLE thing that this govt can do right NOW is to call elections.so that the electorate can relieve both this so-called PM and MOF of their duties.
    As an aside, i cannot go leaving Owen’s digs at the BLP unanswered….the people of this country must remember that Owen undermined Mia in re-assuming leadership of the BLP in 2010….Mia did not leave the party,…added to this Owen lead the BLP into the 2013 elections and you know what LOST that election to Freundel of all people, of all the PMs
    in Barbados’ history….I know Mia may not want to admit but i know that she had to be partially smiling inside. Mia only did what any aspirant political leader would do and that is to re-assume leadership of the BLP. The problem with Mr Arthur is that he only wants to be part of the BLP ONLY if he leads it…But the public has rejected him via the 2013 elections…. and via not having the majority support of the Opposition MPs afterwards. Mr Arthur has to respected has haven been PM and MOF of Barbados for 14 yrs and overseeing the economic recovery and revival of Barbados after the economic disaster left by the DLP in 1994. Mr Arthur needs to stop being bitter because it is tarnishing his stellar reputation

7. I repeat.Hal Austin and Angela despise Owen Arthur for whatever reason.The proof of the pudding is in the eating.Among the many achievements and economic growth of Bdos post ’94,if Arthur had his way this country would have progressed to the best civil service with the most modern tools and techniques available to it.He was simply beaten by the army of occupation and his efforts at Public Sector Reform never got going.
    What can be said is that inter alia,there was that confidence in his government to have seen the GDP of Barbados grow by leaps and bounds.The records are there for you two to check and read.Barbados would be better served if there was not the poor rakey politics of the DLP.
    Vincent,you do not know anything about Arthur if you can write that he did his ‘A’s at C’mere.
    The man was at Crumpton.

8. angela Skeete Avatar

Enuff how come you avoid mentioning those things which i pointed which have become worse and which could have been done during OSA reign. Getting priorities straight should have been on the top of list especially when the inconviences would affect the majority of the populace.
    Even though all of your mentionables can be regarded as of significant importance the ones that i mention have carried much more negative impact to the population as a whole during his reign and after including present day.

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Gabriel March 2, 2017 at 1:41 PM #

I dont……simply repeating what I was told which I had doubted……so thanks for the clarification and confirmation.

10. Agree with Hal,

Owen is NO economic visionary…..poor rackey economist….one of many in a long line of poor rackey UWI economists who have done absolutely nothing, created zero jobs, employ zero people, brought zero companies to Barbados and delivery nothing. Only talk, wear suits (not even fancy ones) and try to tell others what needs to be done to fix the “economy”, as if the “economy” is the magical thing only they can understand. The “economy” is the collection of businesses contributing to society. No businesses = no society. What business building experience does Owen have? NONE. That is the real reason why Barbados has and always will be in a mess. Lawyers, Economists and Doctors no NOTHING of building business therefore societies so they NEVER will have the answers. For all of Trump’s issues atleast he knows BUSINESS and that is partly why he got votes.

Owen with all his long shite talk will produce NOTHING….his 14 year record of NOTHINGENESS shows that. When finance was cheap and accessible he still did not truly develop Barbados and make us better off while he was fully in charge. I only have 2 words for him YOU’RE FIRED!”

We still too stupid as Bajans to call out these blowhard empty suits in both parties who are capable of producing NOTHING!

11. Gabriel,

You have said what prevented Arthur from doing wonders, and how GDP grew. Plse give examples of Arthur’s achievements in 14 years of government. Not waffle, and might have beens.
    As to Barbados having the best civil service in the world? I worked in the British civil service for nearly three years and have friends and relatives who work in the Barbados civil service and regularly deal the public sector departments. I know the difference..

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Enuff March 2, 2017 at 1:17 PM #

Thanks for that as I have been asking around for it,could you also break those down in terms….which was his achievements for term 1 etc,etc.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

As’ s/ACs…why dont yall fire Owen.

Bushman…….Owen needs to stay away from the bribe masters as you call them, if he wants to leave with his dignity.

Ah heard his run in with the insurance one last election 2013….did not turn out well, he is being paid by taxpayers, not the goats in government, just do his job and leave the goats twisting in the wind.

14. @Gabriel

A rising tide will cause all boats to rise. It was a time of plenty.

Is it not interesting that with Owen Arthur shifting gears in the build up to the next general election the leader of the opposition is unable to comment because of her tenuous position? Surely the text book says she should be dealing with OSA head on after he walked away from the party he led for 14 years? Especially when his faction did not follow.

15. You were all over the blog complimenting Arthur when he left the BLP.

You were smirking like a JA when he was seated on the government side.

You brayed in glee when he chastised the opposition and voted with the government side.

#JA

16. @ David, ” It was a time of plenty.”

Yes indeed. 2000 to 2007 Bajans were living large. I used to visit 3 to 4 times a year and all my homies were working and enjoying life.

17. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

I sometimes wonder about these political matters and our obvious allegiances.

I honestly do.

Some days I am heartened that you have truly embraced the George Linnaeus Banks chant of “For the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can do”

But other days like today, when i come across things like this I get disheartened and I falter.

I mean.

I even under stand the following

I understand all of the *** and the ***, they are useful tools aren’t they?

I now seeing that Mia is using them in her Campaign

She is so dishonest though she even claiming that she is responsible for causing the government to have stopped the CAHILL Mess and the 0.0007 Taxes!!

I will post the posters that she has now taken to using to prove that she is a LIAR AND A TEIF AND, EVEN IN THESE SMALL INSIGNIFICANT THINGS, she is prepared to show her liedness

I also understand that your household comprises several people, MANY of whom are Mugabites.

I understand the anti DLP focus rather slant of the Blog

whu after all I am part of the anti Fumbles campaign

But what i cannot and WILL NOT accept is the truncations of the IMGUR images to hide the counts on all pictures that are contra Mugabe Mottley

And now the IMGUR count insertion that tries to make what is a 244 person count look like 4

These documents that the grandson uses are “templates” a point that ONE OF YOU, went to pains to share with the BU community some moons ago, to show how you were aggressively monitoring de ole man,

I got that loud and clear

But what you must understand is that “any variation to the size of said templates, becomes an anomaly to the ole man, it might be a centimeter out but I does see um, dat is one uh de tings dem train de ole man to do, my man, alternative facts euphemism falsify tings dem.

Um is a visual anomaly, And de ole man doan like “anomalies”

Let this thing regarding the government of barbados “play out” in the normal way where all bajans got a chance to say what dem like bout Owen and Fumbles and Mugabe without this type of “intervention”.

De Mugabe crew would do well to just use the software thusly grafted and go long bout she business and you would do well to ***

De nex we can expect is a javascript tool that screenshots our computers remotely.

Remember George Linnaeus Banks, stay neutral

Look Fumbles going loose dis election.

And Mottley is NOT GOING TO WIN because she is toooo cravateous

One of three things can happen though

De DLP get back in WITHOUT FUMBLES AT THEIR HELM

Or

A BLP with a non Mottley format is tabled and that wins.

OR

But this thing about stopping de counter pun de Ole Man images IS TOO PIDDLING for Barbados Underground to permit *** to do.

18. “And Mottley is NOT GOING TO WIN because she is toooo cravateous”

Who isn’t PUDRY?

19. Even in these small things Mugabe Mottley is prepared to lie?

What the eff did she have and her BLP lazy as* representatives do when the CAHILL issue surfaces.

What did she and her people do to force the recant by the DLP government of the 0.0007 taxes?

She sat on her fat backside while Kammie Holder and the BU community activated all over the cyberspace airwaves for change.

and now here she is speaking bout “Stepping UP for Change”

A BIGLY Parasite of the highest order is this MUGABE MIA MOTTLEY.

We are voting the DLP out but if she can do this thing and seek (tangentially) to take credit for the stoppage of these DLP purgatory plans, especially considering that she did squat, she is to be VOTED OUT TOO!!

If i wrong tell me I wrong but you mean dat you even teifing Kammie and BU ting too?

http://imgur.com/a/fp1Uo

20. @ Pieceudderock,

You need medication.

21. @PUDRYR

Mia has to be given credit for giving wings to the Cahill advocacy. She referred to several documents posted to BU as well as to many of her own. She held poltical meetings that featured Cahill. She called the talk shows etc. In fact she did her part.

Give people their due.

22. angela Skeete Avatar

In all of Mia years in ministerial duty sad to think that the highlight of her service was that of being an advocate against Cahill
    However those who religiously and diligently sing her praises never make mention of the Arch Cot tragedy where innocent people lives were lost. As if that moment in time should be regulated to the blurring of the mind

23. Assistant Director or Evaluation Specialist ?

24. Piece

Wuh appen ah dee axe yuhfuh sum addwise.

25. David
    Let’s wait and see if Cabinet approve the Sinckler proposal to make Arthur the Chief of the Economic Advisory Council.Abed has since made a request to include his group and the unions.Reasonable proposal.
    We have heard lots from Arthur and got an inkling from Cynthia Forde today on Brasstacks.I suppose Mia will speak in her own time however it’s not looking good for the Great Party at the moment.They say a day in politics is a long time and if Stuart is true to form we will go down to May 5th 2018 or thereabouts so lots can happen in the interim.

26. @Gabriel

With the caveat -until the forex runs out.

27. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Why should MAM open her mouth on OSA,we are in perilous times at the moment and her focus must be on trying to save the country from the destruction that OSA has predicted.

I agree with Peters comment on no need to to say anything as OSA entry or not is a political distraction to the bigger picture.

28. @ Gabriel
    Vincent,you do not know anything about Arthur…
    Not surprising…. given that Vincent don’t know anything period…!!
    ….constantly repeating gossip …and then reversing hard when exposed…. 🙂

@ Hal
    Who did you hear intelligently refer to Owen as a ‘brilliant economist’?
    All ‘Economists’ are farcical jokers flouting a mock discipline….

Owen is a fellow who is endowed with COMMON Sense …and intestinal fortitude above the national norm.
    He has a good grasp of reality, and he has made contributions to national life …. unlike most others on here.

NOBODY, anywhere …has cussed Owen over the years more than has Bushie – but it was NEVER because he was a jackass like Froon, Stinkliar or 99% of other Bajans – It was PURELY and TRULY because he actually had the POTENTIAL to be really great for Barbados… and slipped.
    Even now, his words and prognoses are much more lucid, pointed and rational than any other ‘expert’ bout the damn place.

Arthur stood up impromptu at LES Conference centre sometime around 2004, and in a masterly speech, outlined exactly what was needed to put Barbados on a path to sustainability….. Then got distracted with CSME and a lotta other shiite instead….

Bushie is NOT saying that he was great, a genius, brilliant ….or any such shiite. BIUT he was heads and shoulders above 99% of other Bajan brass bowls, and he certainly contributed infinitely more than Hal or Vincent.. and practically everyone else here…

29. In the prevailing environment Arthur will command a greater audience because of his trackrecord as a former prime minister and economist who managed the country at a time of ‘prosperity ‘.

Mia does not have the political capital to absorb body blows from OSA for an indefinite period.

30. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

You are wrong on that one as the punches are powder puff ones.

31. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle……BT yuh BB son of a BBE

All I seek is info,unfortunately Gabriel had to snatch the sprat I left for you and enuff presented some though he has balked at dividing it up in OSAs respective terms.

From my review of the 3 terms of OSA the first one was his stellar moment all went down hill afterwards and I would like to know why and how can one expect anything different if he was ever to lead again.

32. After listening to OSA this morning, a man whom I followed and admired, I am convinced that his agenda is more than being a stool pigeon for the Stinkliar.

He sees that the fall of the DLP is inevitable and his hatred of Mia is so great that he has to find a way to re-ignite the feud he has with her.

I hope to God that Mia keeps ignoring him…………I think this is what is eating him out…………the day she opens her mouth, he will go in for the kill. Cynthia put him on notice today….he alone does not have ammunition.

33. Premier Kathleen Wynne to cut hydro rates by 25 per cent.

34. @Vincent

Really?

The Cave Hill press conference given by Arthur still haunts MAM.

35. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Yes and that was meant as the knock out punch……she is still standing…..all the the present ones are powder puff material…..Prodigals point of Cynthia serving notice should be noted as she was around when Tom brought him in.

36. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

All I want is NINE instances, ONE FOR EACH YEAR, where Mia Mugabe Mottley INITIATED, CAMPAIGNED & SUCCESSFULLY OVERCAME any public incident or infelicity against the people of Barbados.

Anyone here, name nine, go to the various list of any campaigner here on this Blog, anyone and lift one of their topics and then cross-reference that with what Mia has done for the people of Barbados lately.

“peradventure, there are not 9, then provide the ole man with 5, using an average of 1 issue championed for every two years…peradventure there be not 5 then 3…

Note that the ole man has not gone to the 14 previous years but will accord such years of service “STASIS YEARS STATUS” read years when Mugabe did not do squat.

My point is quite simple really.

One is not interested in the many “bandwagons” that Mottley jumped on as she sought to leverage her position in the eyes of the public.

Mine is the simple unassailable submission that with regard to here “leading” any cause for such rights, SHE & THE EXISTING CADRE of Mugabe-ites are ALL MISSING IN ACTION…

And not one fellow can say me nay pun dat…

37. Did it occur to any of you that Owen Arthur may be intelligent enough to know the value of

the contribution he is making to save Barbados from instability and a devalued dollar ?

I personally do not give a puck what he did or didn’t do in the past.

All I care about right now is that he has stepped up when asked and I hope he succeeds.

38. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght – INRI March 2, 2017 at 4:35 PM #

Chuckle……not willing to accept the blogmasters facts,you have now decided to erect a strawman for you to knock down.

I am still waiting for your figure in order to base mine on…..afterall we all have to live ….right.

39. Hants,
    So you are now a mind reader? On a serious note, I have said in the past that Jeff Cumberbatch does an enormous public service by contributing to debate in this forum.
    At a time when academic so-called political scientists and economists should be leading public discussions they remain as silent as a mouse.
    Here we have a former prime minister becoming the chief economic adviser to a opposition party saying that the sacked governor of the central bank should have resigned rather than print money to pay public servants.
    Yet, the very minister who sacked the governor for insubordination is his boss; here we have a former prime minister that is on record as saying that the governor should have resigned rather than print money to pay publlc servants.
    Yet, here he is now as chief economic adviser to the same rogue minister. So, is the minister going to change his tune, or will Arthur defer to the minister, or will he resign before he has properly started?
    Where are out academics to guide the publlc conversation? The truth is that they lack intellectual confidence. They believe if they put their heads above the parapet they will have them snapped off.
    They are a bunch of intellectual frauds.

40. @ Hants

Yes it is time for medication again and of a type that we seem to need and have needed for the last 50 years.

Bajans have been imbibing large doses of NyQuil every five years around election time

And where we are today is as a result of that intake.

I’d like you to take a look at this political campaign ad for Kennedy back in time

https://youtu.be/JLXTB_S193w

Imagine that this was what is attributed to making him win, imagine that!

Lawson wants Mugabe to Win.

So Does Vincent

and so do many of you here

I DO NOT WANT BARBADOS TO LOOSE

And that is absolutely different to why i am providing this very rough medication for you and for me and for all of us.

Because I do not want Barbados to Loose then it follows that I DO NOT WANT FUMBLES & HIS INCOMPETENTS TO WIN nor do I want MUGABE and her PARASITES TO WIN!!!

So which part of that you think I need “medication” for??? heheheheheheheh

If the IMF prescribes us medication my man, if Lagarde gets a chance to administer the medicine that our ailment requires you tink it going matter whu we heah doing pun Barbados Underground??

You tink we going have the leisure time to come here and spend the whole day writing this ingrunce?

We want men with integrity.

We want competent leaders who can run the country

We want men who will implement Integrity Legislation that will allow us to pock up people who try to subvert School Meals Syrup COntracts

We want Freedom of Information s that a group of teives cand sith down with Sir Kidding and carve up $80 million a year of profits for 15 effing years and one Sandra Layne, a Jamaican at the Fear Trading Commission can say “ef you” to all uh we Bajans, you are not entitled to see the will of wunna forefathers.

We want men who will immediately enact the power of recall for the benefit of all Bajans who have a representative dat dem does only see dress up in red wid Tem Shyt* pun dem shirt in 4 X shirts once a freaking year.

Yes you right I do need medication for dat dont i? cuase as long as a fellow express dat he feel dat a piece uh de rock is his, he need medication in trufe.

41. @ Pieceuhderock,

So I waste my time putting medicine in the Diaspora corner ?

Well I gine tek it muh self and hope de heart don’t get palpitations. lol

42. Hants
    You have made a very valid point.Arthur instills confidence among businessmen and among investors both local and foreign.They all know that they are dealing with a shrewd tactician whose knowledge of Public Finance and Monetary and Fiscal Policies are right up their street.I was there when he lectured in Caribbean Tourism on the Hill and many might be surprised at his depth of knowledge and expertise in that area.Further he is in touch and in tune with the man in the street like Barrow and Tom were.MNy think the 300 million that was taken back out in 2013 was all to do with the lack of confidence in the result

43. Hal
    You are out of control.Compare apples with apples for god’s sake.You are fit to be tied.

44. How does one measure good tactician? Where did Arthur get his expertise in public finance? Has he got a CIPFA qualification or the necessary experience?
    Bring evidence of his expertise in economics and public finance, not waffle.

45. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Gabriel

Could you shed some light on the disconnect with the brilliance seen in OSA first term his lacklustre performance on the 2nd and 3rd terms.

46. Hal I am with you…..our standards are so low and globally out of touch that we call anyone that can use 3 syllable words an expert. Too funny. How can one be a “shrewd tactician” when they have not been tested to any global benchmark or standard? Only in Barbados. Usain Bolt is an expert…globally tested. Sir Garry is an expert…globally tested. Rihanna is an expert…globally tested.

What the hell has Owen done to any global standard that he is a “shrewd tactician”? Look we bajans have to stop putting average joes and janes on this pedestal that has no global standing. That is why Barbados is not going anywhere. We cannot compete nor do we have the leaders who are internationally competitive in their areas.

Posers

Mek me laught

47. @ Hants

Tanks for the “medicine”, you notice that she has acquired “presence”

Like Bruce and Michael J and a few others of the greats her chi is exuded through the screen

@ Vincent

I was looking for the question that you posed earlier but i cant find it yet, hen i do i will respond but in the meantime do enjoy…

A well placed source in the Barbados Labour Party corridors has shared this information

“The proposed appointment of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur as Economic Advisor euphemism for replacement Minister of Finance, has made Mugabe Mottley Leader of the Opposition (a position Mr Arthur once held) & the current Minister of Finance Decimals Bond Stinkliar very very vex

BIGLY.

As further reports come in the public will be updated

http://imgur.com/a/6zJlx

48. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

Looking like you getting dotage or bi-polar….you wanted to know how much I was being payed, I told you zilch and asked you how much you were getting paid from OSA so I could ask for more as I am supporting the future PM…..you could also tell me about the other perks like state of the art computer,willing frauleins,travel,etc,etc…..we have to help each other out you know as we are in the same business…..right Bro..

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

50. OSA’s appointment was REJECTED with only Chris Sinckler and Steve Blackett supporting it. Estwick, Inniss, Sealy, Lashley(s) and Stuart being the most vocal opponents. Even JepternInce is alleged to have gotten is a score few shots against OSA.

Leave a Reply to angela SkeeteCancel reply