Submitted by George C. Brathwaite (PhD)
 Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader has issued a summons to Barbadians to march!
Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader has issued a summons to Barbadians to MARCH!

Everything is fine and dandy in Barbados. The economy is growing at a rate that would ensure jobs are available to all and sundry; local businesses are blossoming and foreign investors are rushing to our shores in droves with new projects. The society is at peace with itself while violent crime and indiscipline are things of yesteryear. There is no corruption or even the slightest sign of malfeasance in Barbados’ public administration. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) machinery, under Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s pragmatic and proactive leadership, has been sublime and purposeful. The DLP is well set under Stuart to be elected for a third term.

Clearly, the preceding statements point to the delusional disorder that has become associated with DLP spokespersons. That paragraph reads as fiction and the fantasy held by the ‘Sleeping Giant’. However, to ordinary Barbadians not steeped in the illusion being cast by the DLP’s unbelievable boasts, the DLP remains a party stupefied. The DLP is oblivious to the burdens facing Barbadians. Today, the people are crying out for better having reached the end of their resolve. Political pundits must ask what is prompting the loud cries of dismay being heard in almost every nook and cranny across Barbados? Why is the DLP’s rhetoric so much at odds with the actual mood of Barbadians?

In October 2015, it was stated by the then Governor of the Central Bank that “foreign reserves remain adequate, and economic policy and the future development of the economy remain firmly in our own hands.” Fifteen months later, not only has Barbados witnessed the wretched axing of that Central Bank Governor, but any positives drawn in relation to economic turnaround, have been badly diminished with the trends pointing in dangerous directions. The unsustainable printing of money and the mountainous debts are suffocating the economy and strangling the society.

Indeed, Barbados’ foreign reserves have been drastically depleted, falling to around 10 weeks’ stock. The Governor warned last September that: “We need to compensate for the large fiscal deficit of recent years, and to restore foreign reserves to levels that provide a cushion against future shocks.” Last month, he cautioned that “the reserves are what protect us against the devaluation of our currency,” and that our macroeconomic managers “need to dampen spending” to ensure that there is protection for “the country’s reserves of foreign exchange.” Advice ignored by the DLP administration.

This sluggish and bungling DLP government is imperiled by its weakness of inadequacy and ineffectiveness. The Stuart-led Cabinet has collectively failed to forge significant economic growth or diminish the uncertainty which has kept investors at bay and the society on edge. The Cabinet is clumsy at public policy and especially woeful with the macroeconomy. Plainly, the DLP administration with a degree of incompetence, has been unable to lift the Barbados nation to higher levels of achievement.

The DLP’s big shots, failing on several aspects of governance, are supplanting national interest with their crusade to save themselves. For example, last week culminated with the economy and the plight of Barbadian people being upstaged by the humiliation of the Governor of the Central Bank. The Prime Minister’s carefree phases, became another hint that he dreams on while the DLP’s tenure has become a burden too heavy for an increasing majority of Barbadians.

Responding to this disgusting state of affairs, last week the Leader of the Opposition and political leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – Mia Mottley – urged Barbadians to join in a National March of Disgust and Rally on the significant day of March 11th, 2017. Mottley’s concerns come after another sequence of the DLP’s normalised indiscipline.

As a reminder, one of Barbados’ finest prime ministers – JMGM ‘Tom’ Adams died in office on March 11th, 1985. Incidentally, there is another event – Reclaim Our Streets: Feminine Solidarity March – also planned for the afternoon of the march and rally. It would be remiss not to highlight that Tom Adams was pivotal in advancing the cause of women in Barbados. Between 1976 and 1985 he worked tirelessly towards legally ending the discrimination against women. Notwithstanding, Miss Mottley in a forthright but embracing tone which reflects the comparable magnetism of Adams, expressed to Barbadians that ‘enough is enough’. The people are no longer willing to suffer indignity or scarcity, and this chagrin has led to the announcement of a march signalling that enough is enough.

It is routine to hear men, women, and our youth daily lament and complain about Barbados’ rapid decline over a nine-year period since 2008. Even those from within the inner sanctuary of Cabinet, namely Dr David Estwick and Donville Inniss have been critical of the DLP’s actions that expose a sinister indiscipline within the Cabinet. Dr Estwick indicated that Barbados was heading in the wrong direction under the current Finance Minister, to the extent that Barbados’ “debt matrices have deteriorated significantly since 2010.” The more garrulous Inniss has been critical of the deplorable sight of garbage, the overladen bureaucratic nature of government, the water woes, the potholes and general poor state of roads, not to mention admitting to the rude silence exhibited by the Prime Minister on numerous issues which are critical to the wellbeing of the Barbadian people.

After almost two complete terms in office that are characterised by an unending set of myriad crises and failures, the DLP has reached the point where it no longer has the moral authority to be critical of any group or political party. Barbadians are complaining that PM Stuart repeatedly displays lack of empathy to those bedevilled with problems stemming from the DLP’s macroeconomic mismanagement. Bothersome to Barbadians is Stuart’s hugs to tourists, and speeches in New York, but silent contempt when there is local consternation.

Mia Mottley strongly contends that the Barbados society “can no longer put up with Mr. Stuart’s absurd pretences” of ignorance when it comes to serious issues affecting the population. On too many serious matters when hands-on leadership was required, the ignorance that ought to be punishable with laughter has been shamefully claimed by the Prime Minister. Mottley convincingly reinforced the observation that: “The Prime Minister of Barbados has once again given incontrovertible proof that he is thoroughly unfit to continue political leadership of Barbados.” Very few persons looking on or standing on the sidewalks will disagree with Mottley.

Surely, reckless omission epitomises the current Prime Minister, but annoys multiple thousands of Barbadians. Allegations of countless DLP infractions have surfaced; these are sufficiently nefarious as to damage the country’s reputation. Yet, PM Stuart revels in hush-hush and perplexing idiosyncrasies. Stuart has made procrastination and silence his most outstanding attributes. While these are personal habits that most likely developed over many years, his social crassness and political obnoxiousness are being construed as forms of disrespect to the populace. Stuart’s insensitive condition has become contagious, and has badly penetrated the Cabinet he leads. Undeniably, the apparent arrogance of Cabinet is most visible when falsehoods become the chosen tool to defend nine paltry years. No wonder many ‘Dems’ have been heard singing Gypsy’s – Captain the ship is sinking.

Captain this ship is sinking
Captain these seas are rough, oh yes
We gas tank almost empty
No electricity, we oil pressure reading low
Shall we abandon ship
Or shall we stay on it and perish slow
We doh know, we doh know
Captain you tell we what to do!

By way of comic relief, the DLP’s propaganda machinery is to launch a campaign to be called ‘Facts’ (maybe, preceded by the word alternative). This campaign is ironic given the experiences and realities daily afflicting Barbadians. Against a stern reluctance to meaningfully account for the true state of the Barbados economy, the DLP operatives are determined and operating like cavalry. The targets to be slashed are the Leader of the Opposition and the BLP, despite the arrival of new political parties.

The DLP’s General Secretary last week, for example, preferred to slice away at Mottley and the BLP instead of encourage the DLP’s leadership to reconnect with the people or call the elections. The typically calm George sobbingly got sweaty and whimpered ‘disruption’ and ‘opportunism’ at Mottley. The DLP spokesman is blind to the bondage felt by Barbadians as they reel from the weight of DLP-imposed taxes. Barbadians are disgusted with bad policies, secret deals, and lack of accurate information coming from PM Stuart and the mangled DLP administration.

Moreover, Ince’s worthless talk about the Barbadian dollar having no value, and the misguided young man’s claim that the BLP is engaging in fear-mongering are signs of the DLP’s worry. Donville Johnson, a jolly old chap suggested the calibre of candidates that the DLP will throw to the public are winners; but such pronouncements are distractions. The utterances are cleverly calculated to shroud out the DLP’s paltry performances and many broken manifesto pledges.

On page 1 of the DLP’s 2013 Manifesto, the document apart from calling for a return to office, reads: ‘FIRST TERM FOR PLANTING, SECOND TERM REAPING’. The highlighted catchphrase can reasonably be interpreted that by now, Barbadians would have seen the DLP deliver on jobs. Barbadians sacrificed so that they could reap their just rewards. Few persons would argue for a third DLP term when there has been no harvest. Instead, Barbados has become gripped in a dreadful situation. The national interest has fallen far behind the need of the DLP to hide its many flaws. The DLP’s main defence against a badly underperforming economy is cupped in blame, firings, distortion, and increased confusion.

Therefore, and rightfully seizing the moment, the Leader of the Opposition has called for a national march and rally. Mottley contends that: “The Prime Minister is clearly indifferent to the gravity of the crises” confronting Barbados. She further pleaded that “the time has come … for Barbadians from all walks of life to be given an opportunity to register their disgust at the state of affairs in this country.” While a protest march is not a tool regularly used in Barbados, it can be very effective as evidenced during the early 1990s.

The show of disgust over the prevailing situations that hurt pride and industry in Barbados is ultimately an opportunity for the nation’s people to set the tone before the next general election is called. With the prolonged suffering under the DLP, and the disaffection that comes from living ‘pay check to pay check’ or being unemployed, Barbadians are further disgusted. The DLP is in disarray, and is desperately trying to remain relevant.

On March 11th, the country would register the many ‘grievances and concerns which demand that something must be done’ to remedy an unbearable situation. Barbadians have become more audibly and visibly offended by the indifference of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and the dismissiveness of his Cabinet. The nation is crying out for hope and real leadership. Yours truly will be marching to show disgust. All Barbadians, regardless of political persuasion, ought to get up, stand up, march!

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

78 responses to “Get Up, Stand up, MARCH!”

1. @Hal Austin February 28, 2017 at 12:46 PM “We still have a situation in Barbados in which credit unions, banks and credit unions are offering sub-prime loans to people to buy cars…Ban loans for cars.”

Since these are subprime loans does this mean that banks and credit unions are repossessing cars because people are defaulting on their loans?

Not so fast Hal. Maybe some people actually need these cars to get to WORK? It makes no sense to ban car loans until public transportation is working so well that people feel no need to borrow money to buy a car.

Fix public transportation first.

2. @Simple Simon

Shipping a container 40t across a whole ocean to Bim is just 5000 USD = 125 USD / 1t.

3. @ David and BU readers and bloggers
    After reading tonight’s pages 2 and 3 (Editorial and two stories) on Barbados Today, I had to do some thinking and reflection.

Am I missing something, or is it fair to conclude that with the DLP through Chris Sinckler crawling back to OSA, it is an admission that the BLP administrations between 1994 and 2008 were NOT to blame for the current economic crisis facing the country?
    I guess that maybe part of it, although the scenario fits perfectly with a quest for the DLP to somehow get a third term, is the nature of real politick.
    All possibilities, but I very much will battle to ensure that Barbadians are saved the embarassment and disappointment of another DLP term – Arthur or no Arthur in the pouch. It appears without full details at this time that Stuart and his Cabinet are better able to walk back on politics than on the fact of diverging from failed economic policies.It is truly more laughable than sinister.
    Yet if indeed Barbados is the priority, any other possible agenda will be pushed aside by the people of kiss and make up, all will be well.
    Now is the real chance to find out just how much as a people Barbadians are educated and learn from harsh lessons. Blessings all, and Barbados forever.

4. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Commodity prices have been on a decline, inflation in Barbados is low relative to the USA and the US$ has been strengthening against all the major currency. All of the above make import relatively neutral or cheap in Barbados. One of the main reason import items are so expense in Bim is because of the huge RENT charged by the few suppliers of these goods.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“There is a circulus vitiosus built in at point 3): Civil servants are also taxed when they demand imported goods. The taxes are transferred to them as salaries and the cycle starts again and again and again “…

Tron…civil servants ought to stop wanting imported goods, they are not necessities, as they will learn, they only need necessities to survive.

“One minute you want to ban the greenback as the de facto currency of the realm. Next minute you are recommending it as the official currency of Barbado(e)s.”

I have no idea what gets into Hal with his contradictory comments, it’s very disturbing that he would spend a whole day doing this, to what end, he cant get pass certain people with that, if you hold an opinion, at least be consistent, but this bait and switch from one hour to the next is destructive.

Something is definitely off.

Barbados will definitely have to make a choice Miller….and real soon.

6. Simple Simon,

Yes. The cars are being re-possessed when the borrowers default. No, very few need cars to get to work. Stand at any roundabout at rush hour and see the number of cars with only the drivers in them.
    With a proper public transport system the need for private vehicles will be reduced. Sub-prime car loans is a scam.

7. Simple Simon,

In professional economics it is called the Big Mac index. I don’t care if they have big macs in Barbados or not. I am simply stating what the comparison prices are called.

8. Jethro,

There are alternative policies, Jethro. I know you are a Nobel Laureate in economics. I am for a Caricom federation – and have said it on a number of occasions in this forum – in which a currency union will be part of the development. If that is not on the table, the Barbados government has to decide either to ban the Greenback as de facto ‘legal’ tender, or adopt it as the currency in Barbados.
    I know you are so keen to criticise that your cognitive weaknesses get in the way.
    Like you, I am not an expert on finance or economics. Plse forgive my ignorance.
    But, here is something I worked out for myself: if the government has no control over the amount of US dollars used for retail, it means it has lost control of (M2) money supply.
    With Janet Yellen effectively controlling monetary policy, it means we are wasting money on the central bank.
    If you go to Paradise Island in the Bahamas the effective currency is the US dollar, not the Bahamian dollar. Do what Ecuador has done.

9. George Brathwaite

If these events were the reverse, you would welcome them

Your mealy-mouthed disagreement based on an ‘educated’ population is doublespeak

What education, mis-education you mean?

Even that rock will not hide you

Then you slithered from that rock and raised the new possibility, for you, that Arthur’s BLP destroyed the economy.

Well, there’s always a first for a political snake to shed its skin and pretend to be on the other side.

George! Do you see why a guillotine is a necessary instrument to bring about social order?

10. @ Pacha
    George does not remember that what Stinkliar is doing now in welcoming Owen, is the same shiite that the BLP did in welcoming Mascoll.
    Six is half dozen – and they are all the VERY SAME shiite…… and will produce the same shiite results.

@ Hal
    What Caricom Federation what??!!
    Lotta shiite…
    Bushie again calls on you to concentrate on asking the questions …and leave the answers to others. You hear your albino colleagues tossing around a lotta shiite terms that they barely grasp, and come here looking to impress us, but you must remember that there is a whacker in this cauldron called BU….

You live in an EU that has failed and calling on us to start the same shiite?

11. Miller;
    Above there was a slight typo. It should have been “defect”..hope you picked it up;

“…marijuana and cocaine.” are illegal. The green back has not replaced the Barbados dollar, but they are accepted as legal tender at the peg value.

12. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Al. Just a reminder. There is no true nobel medal given in the field of Economics. It’s a fraud. Alfred Nobel did not list the dismal science in his will to be awarded a prize .

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins March 1, 2017 at 7:35 AM
    “…marijuana and cocaine.” are illegal. The green back has not replaced the Barbados dollar, but they are accepted as legal tender at the peg value.”

No, Alvin!

You can’t trade in US$ unless you are registered as an authorised dealer legally permitted to buy and sell foreign currencies.

If you bring US$ into Barbados or accept it as a form of payment to settle locally undertaken business transactions you are legally required to present it to an authorised dealer (not the drug dealer) in exchange for local currency.

If what you have posited were true then there should be no holdup to the establishment of a duty-free zone where residents can shop provided they pay in foreign currencies mainly US$.

Can you tell us what is blocking the opening up of such a lucrative zone to attract US$ and which was scheduled to be up and running since December 2016?

14. angela Skeete Avatar

What March the dlp has put a spoke in Mia Wheel having OSA as gran Marshall of economic affairs
    Cant beat that with a ten thousand marching band
    Mia needs to get back to the drawing board call her troops out for emergency resuscitation

15. @ angela…
    Have you really carefully considered the change from AC’s to AS’s?

Do you understand the fodder you are creating for Miller?
    Can you handle the inevitable teasing of Vincent….?

Luckily, you can anticipate that Bushie will go easy with you on the whacker…
    …you can ‘anticipate’ that….
    Whether it is true or not ….may be too complex for a donkey to work out…

16. Bush Tea,
    I take it that in your usual way you are not a big fan of a Caricom federation? By the way, I am also a big supporter of a United States of Europe. And, if it matters, for an African Federation.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete March 1, 2017 at 2:09 PM

Ac, now hiding behind that asinine sobriquet (‘a s’), we keep telling you it is not the actions or inactions of MAM, MIA or even the BLP under any other leader that will bring down your discredited and incompetent administration.

Not even under a real Mugabe-type OSA should he be invited back to be a five-star general, dictator and grand Emperor of the BLP should some inevitable fate of Nature attend earlier than the present incumbent would wish for (just think about 2010 and D T’s mortality) would represent sufficient bedlam of confusion to pull down the giant pillars of sleepy DLP Samson power.

What will be your administration’s downfall is a lack of confidence by your banker of last resort and the financial markets leprous view of your country’s ability to cut and contrive to be able payback both your long-term loans and now maxed out credit card.

There is only one way that leads to a place beginning with the letter “D”.

OSA is just tricking you guys to get his way in his blinkered goal of vindictiveness.
    Don’t fall for it. Should he not achieve his nasty goal you will see how fast his false patriotic fervour dissipates into total disinterest should there be a changing of the guard from ‘blue’ yellow to red in white.

Just look at his track record in remaining on the battlefield to fight when the chips are down and things are not going his political way. As long as things are not given to him on a platter he takes up his bat and ball and pull up stumps to call it a coward’s day.
    Just look what happened in the 2oo8 and 2013 battles for ample evidence of his cowardly ‘deserting’ habit.

Ask yourself this pertinent question:
    If MIA was such an awfully wicked witch with megalomaniac tendencies why did he run away from the political battle?

By reneging on his moral responsibility to his former party and the national interest he effectively allowed the DLP to do as they like in brining the same country he wants to save today to its shameful knees of beggar of first resort.

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

AS’s it is Bushman…lol

19. @ Hal
    Bush Tea,
    I take it that in your usual way you are not a big fan of a Caricom federation?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Ya got THAT right.
    Bushie is NOT a big fan of ANY shiite….
    Be it Caricom shiite, EU shiite, albino shiite or Bajan shiite.

Like doggie doo, such effluents attempt to contaminate the bushman’s lawn, but when the whacker kicks in, ….every thing gone flying boss

Bushie don’t wait for the shit to pile up to reach the fan
    …. Bushie hits it with the whacker EARLY….on the ground.

Caricom has been under serious attack by the whacker now from EARLY days….
    LOTTA Shiite…
    TOTAL nonsense and complete waste of resources for us – and completely irrelevant to our interests.

EU is different …because those are ‘albino focused’ people whose idea of ‘success’ is to kill /subjugate / enslave everyone else. If they could harness enough resources to create a World Empire then they can dream of another 1000 year Reich.
    This is not a practical plan of course, but what else can albino-centric cultures dream of…?

….but David must be tired of hearing the Bushman on this topic…..
    Owen too…. ha ha ha
    …and ESPECIALLY Enuff.

20. @Bushie

Can you tell OSA not to blame social media for sharing a story that was posted by some website? His job is to deny it when it appears.

21. @Alvin Cummins March 1, 2017 at 7:35 AM “It should have been “defect”

CORRECTION: de facto

22. Miller’
    You said: “…Can you tell us what is blocking the opening up of such a lucrative zone to attract US$ and which was scheduled to be up and running since December 2016?
    December?That was just two months ago. Patience man. By the way, why are you castigating OSA? I remember what took place when he decided to leave the Party, and the epithets cast by people like you. Why did he leave anyhow? Why is he sitting as an Independent? Why did you find it so difficult to reconcile? In chess the King is the most protected piece on the board. How come “King” Arthur could not be protected?Did the queen capture all? She is the only piece on the board, with complete freedom of movement.
    Still time to get off this devaluation kick. How much do you have “investing” and waiting to be traded; U.S. dollars I mean. How much were you hoping to profit by, with a devaluation. Hold on to it.

23. Simple Simon, correction noted and accepted.

24. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger March 1, 2017 at 4:21 AM “civil servants ought to stop wanting imported goods…”

Really?

Some of those coveted imported goods include, vaccines, infant formula, lumber, stoves, refrigerators, medicines, clothing, food, fuel.

But you know how greedy human beings are. They feel that they must eat 3 times a day, and they insist in not sleeping outdoors, and they haven’t learnt take the deaths of their babies with equanimity, and when their surgeons are operating those good for noting civil servants insist that the surgeon must use anesthesia…instead of getting 3 or 4 strong men to hold down the patient and just chopping off the bad bits with a Collins.

Lousy, greedy, good for nothing people.

25. @ David
    Can you tell OSA not to blame social media for sharing a story that was posted by some website? His job is to deny it when it appears.
    Are you serious?
    Ya mean he missed to opportunity to quote Mark Twain about how “reports of his death have been greatly exaggerated”….

How disappointing of Arthur… You know Miller would have never missed that chance… 🙂

Bushie had that opportunity a few years ago …directly to a then still grieving acquaintance …..
    Sweet!!!

26. @ Simple Simon
    “It should have been “defect” …CORRECTION: de facto
    Why don’t you leave Alvin alone ….especially when he is correct for once nuh…!!!

‘Defect’ is a good way to describe the US dollar and its widespread usage currently…
    It’s value is predicated on the USA Army’s ability and willingness to enforce that value. The USA ‘god’ and ‘brilliant genius’, Henry Kissinger negotiated the arrangement with Saudi Arabia where oil could ONLY be traded in US $. This means that who-ever wants oil, …NEEDS US $$$ badly….

ANY and EVERY one who has challenged this position so far, has ended up branded as ‘terrorists’ …and dead…with Saddam and Gaddafi being two of the most outstanding victims.

Unfortunate for this sweet arrangement that allows unlimited printing of dollars, (and protects the House of Saudi – no matter what…) the US military is no longer seen as able to do as it wishes… and China, Russia and a few other countries are actively putting things in place to end the “US $$$ sugar”….
    Keep you eyes on BRICS…

When that day comes, the US dollar (and those tied thereto, will be worth EXACTLY …shit..!

“Defect” is therefore a very good word….

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol…and with trump giving the military bogus orders and then blaming them when everything goes tits up and people die…..that is going to happen sooner rather than later.

The US dollar is not looking so attractive in the last 2 weeks, too much uncertainty…gotta walk back the suggestion of adopting the US in Barbados. .

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Really?”

Simppe,..you know full well what you listed falls under necessities and not cpveted luxury items, luxury items are unnecessary, not necessities.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply