Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

In the wake of the unusual event of the former Governor of the Central Bank DeLisle Worrell resorting to the Courts of Barbados to prevent Minister of Finance (MoF) Chris Sinckler from sacking him, the BU household eagerly looked forward to the MoF’s press conference. High on the agenda for Sinckler should have been to quell understandable concerns at home and abroad given the imbroglio between Worrell and Sinckler. Instead we were treated with a regurgitation of economic spiel heavily laced with political rhetoric.

It has become obvious to the BU household that minister of finance Chris Sinckler lacks the ability to infuse confidence in the market with his monotonous interventions. How many times have we had to listen to the finance minister raise expectations of Barbadians concerning projects in the pipeline only to be disappointed? As a Barbadian we continue to kindle the hope that Sinckler will deliver at this eleventh hour.

BU would have wanted to hear Sinckler explain why forex reserves have been trending down in recent years. Especially against the background of a rebound in tourism performance by arrivals. It is obvious there is a systemic issue to explain about the quality of sector spend and foreign direct investment contribution. And the bigger issue of the robustness of the fundamentals which support the local economy. To quote BU commenter Bernard Codrington,  “Unless the success of an industrial sector translates to the success of the nation it is dysfunctional/ counterproductive”. After listening to Sinckler there is no brimming confidence felt by Barbadians that receipts from projects promised is a sustainable approach even IF they should eventually materialize.

The MoF cursorily addressed the problem of the nagging fiscal deficit. The junior pool of reporters present let slip the opportunity to press the MoF on the plan to rationalise state enterprises. The MoF promised Barbadians many moons ago that statutory corporations will be rationalized. Wasn’t a committee headed by Dr. Justin Robinson established to chart a roadmap to execute the Sinckler Plan. A year from the next general elections and the government continues to dither on its implementation. Clearly the project to rationalize statutory corporations is integral to reducing the fiscal deficit. At this late stage in its second term It is difficult to see how this DLP government will aggressively pursue rationalization if it plans to win the general election.

Minister Sinckler is no Janet Yellen. Stating in his most deliberate voice that there will be no devaluation of the Barbados dollar will not make onlookers believers. Barbadians and foreign investors alike will evaluate how effective government policy has been to support conclusions. They will study documents created by the Caribbean Development Bank, International Monetary Fund and take note of the mouthings of government’s own minister of agriculture David Estwick. All have been uncomplimentary about government’s economic performance to date.

Another opportunity missed by the junior reporting pool was to quiz the MoF about Barbados’ waste management strategy post-Cahill. The island’s inability to efficiently treat its sewage and garbage has the potential to undermine the favourable forecast of the MoF.  Surely it was not the time to quiz the MoF about late tax returns?

Why was the MOF flanked by the MoC at the press conference?

155 responses to “Sinckler’s Spiel”

1. Steupssss…
    That exposition from Dr Moore is about as clear as mud – well stirred.
    Probably explains Stinkliar’s understanding of the issue – given his decimal limitations…

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Lol…..there are just too many economists, Moore does make the concept of printing money clear, it’s the sleight of hand during that execution that is muddy.

3. Any of these world beating economist from Barbados ever formed and ran a private company hiring and keeping employed dozens or hundreds of people? Any of them ever had to make a payroll to make sure people and their families could live?

4. WHAT PRINTING MONEY REALLY MEANS
    By the Whacker

An ordinary businessman runs his business by generating income from his business, from loans, from equity deposits from shareholders, and from his over draft facility at the bank.

Every month he has expenses including materials, labour, loan repayments, dividends etc.

If his total income is less than his expenses, he has to borrow MORE money in order to meet these liabilities.

When the jackass has done this month after month for 10 years or so, PEOPLE STOP LENDING him more money (because they realise that he is a female rabbit)

He is then faced with making hard decisions to run his business profitably – or he can write BOUNCE cheques.

Printing money is the option of writing bounce cheques, and is the ONLY option available to this government – since they DO NOT possess the skills, balls, vision or ability to run any shiite profitably…
    Such a businessman would be quickly arrested, his business taken away from him – and his ass sent to Dodds.

But since the Police work for the government – and are paid with the very same bounced cheques (accessories AFTER the fact?) the government gets away with the CLEAR crime of embezzlement …and the shiitehounds called ‘economists’ (whatever the hell THOSE are…) comes up with jargon to justify the damn crime.

There endeth the simple explanation…..

5. Scotiabank said net income in the first quarter to Jan.31 was $2-billion compared with $1.8-billion the year before. Earnings per share rose to $1.58 from $1.44 the year before. Analysts had on average forecast earnings of $1.57, according to Thomson Reuters I/B/E/S data.

Scotiabank is the latest among Canada’s big banks to boost its dividend amid higher first-quarter results.

The quarterly payout rises 2 cents to 76 cents, following dividend increases last week from Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce and Royal Bank of Canada.

MR. MOF…..TIME TO BEG THE MASSIVELY PROFITABLE CANADIAN BANKS TO HELP TINY LIKKLE BARBADOS.

6. As soon as Sinckler et al have converted all their local Micky-Mouse-dollars into USD, as soon as they have sold they last assets in Barbados, devaluation is coming.

7. Well well,

Dr Moore, who I have the highest respect for, does not make the printing of money clear. Had I been a new comer to this I would be lost for words. Fortunately, since 2008 I have been reading and writing about this. I am not familiar with what Winston has said.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://bit.ly/2m2mhQp

There is a saying when the US sneezes, the whole world catches a cold , over one million pension plans are about to sink into insolvency…

“Almost one million American pension plans on verge of insolvency
    BY GINGER ADAMS OTIS
    NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Tuesday, February 28, 2017, 4:00 AM

Nearly one million working and retired Americans are currently covered by pension plans that are in in imminent danger of insolvency, according to an organization trying to help people keep their retirement earnings.”

………. so what is the true state of the NIS pension fund, not the lies Byer-Suckoo told the people…and how many mllions of that fund went to Apes Hill and what are the returns to the pension fund…these are the questions real journalists would ask Sinckler….cause the real estate markets everywhere are in a free fall…read, it’s a seller’s market.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal…I dont just take one little economist or journalist word on n island…..I always do my own research….Wikipedia gives the best definition.

http://bit.ly/2lPgiOc

“Money creation (also known as credit creation) is the process by which the money supply of a country or a monetary region (such as the Eurozone) is increased. A central bank may introduce new money into the economy (termed “expansionary monetary policy”, or by detractors “printing money”) by purchasing financial assets or lending money to financial institutions. However, in most countries today, most of the money supply is in the form of bank deposits, which is created by private banks in a fractional reserve banking system. Bank lending increases the amount of broad money beyond the amount of base money originally created by the central bank. Reserve requirements, capital adequacy ratios, and other policies of the central bank influence this process.

Central banks monitor the amount of money in the economy by measuring monetary aggregates such as M2. The effect of monetary policy on the money supply is indicated by comparing these measurements on various dates. For example, in the United States, money supply measured as M2 grew from $6.407 trillion in January 2005, to $8.319 trillion in January 2009.[1]”

10. @ Hal
    I keep saying that public discourse has been
    hijacked by party hacks on both sides;
    bogus intellectuals and sophisticated
    sycophants. We have some jokers engaging
    in matters they demonstrate that they know we
    very little about. We have academics who cannot explain anything without attempting to
    elevate their political masters. To them,
    Objectivity is a curse taking up a whole page
    just to say: Vote for BLPor DLP.
    There is an intellectual crisis in our country.
    Discourse has been taken over by the jokers
    Good luck trying to get anything of substance
    out of them.

11. Bushie
    I see the point as you do.The point makes no sense to Sinckler.Never did and doesn’t.Poor fellow is confused by the likes of Marshall,Moore and Mud.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Monetary policy regulates a country’s money supply, the amount of broad currency in circulation. Almost all modern nations have central banks such as the United States Federal Reserve System, the European Central Bank (ECB), and the People’s Bank of China for conducting monetary policy. Charged with the smooth functioning of the money supply and financial markets, these institutions are generally independent of the government executive.”

And this is why central banks controlled by governments will NEVER work…..they were created to be independent entities not s a gathering of yardfowls….controlled by government ministers….that practice breds failures…..and Worrell is really surprised that both him and Sinckler failed. ..lol.

13. The facts are what they are.the options are worse. Options which would call for barbadians to get their fat asses out of the wagon and help pulling the wagon. For seven years the govt have embarked on policies to do most of the heavy lifting .If barbadians are not happy as being supposedly laid out by the blp opposition then barbadians should ready themselves for the reality and brutality of choices.
    Yes printing money can lead to negative reprecussion only if not done in a responsible manner and not having policies in place that would prevent irreparable damages to the country economy
    In the mean time the hawkers of doom snd gloom is now wanting to have their cake and eat it too.
    Good luck on that score

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol….Bushman….that is the short version.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The UK got smart and brought in their central bank governor from Canada.

“The Governor of the Bank of England is also Chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee, with a major role in guiding national economic and monetary policy, and is therefore one of the most important public officials in the United Kingdom. The 120th and current Governor is the Canadian Mark Carney, appointed in 2013”

16. Bushie

Not a bad analogy on the printing of money albeit very similar Kellmans explanation…..hmmmmmm

17. William,

It is the cutting and pasting that is being masqueraded as original thought. I blame the educational system. First, a difference of opinion is seen as a challenge to a fight; second, they often do not understand what a critical understanding is. There is also a third, a fascination with titles PhDs, etc. Barbadians like qualifications, not knowledge.
    Some time ago Bizzy Wiliams wanted to now what are my qualifications for expressing my views in my Notes….he had very little concern with the ideas expressed. It is a national thing.
    By the way, CLR James did not go to university, Professor Richard Titmus did not have a degree, nor did Prof Isaiah Berlin ever write a book.
    All three became outstanding in their fields of study: James as our top historian; Titmus as the leading UK social policy professor; and Berlin as a Philosopher.
    Original ideas advance out knowledge.

18. “FOCUS ON EFFICIENCY

Tue, 02/28/2017 – 12:00am Barbados1
    The new man at the helm of the Central Bank wants to see a renewed focus on efficiency in the public sector.

Read the article in The Advocate. Haynes is painting a picture of stability and hope.

Smooth…..

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Another insight for use of the incoming third party

In addition to the pledge of making the Power of Recall law, integrity legislation law and freedom of information the backbone of your platform de ole man has a suggestion to make

You must agree by similar binding contractual terms of your pledges to prosecute all of the ministers who have been complicit in, party to or directors of schemes that have teifs do money from de peeple of Barbados

20. ” He noted then that to get the economy fully back on track and reach the targets Government has set, among other things they will be looking at a targeted programme of debt refinancing. The Minister remained mum on the details, but did disclose that Government had “firm offers” from regional and extra-regional “reputable financial institutions” to examine Barbados’ domestic debt profile. “

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal….only if those original ideas makes sense, no one is dumb enough to take anyone with ulterior motives word without doing their own research…..AND SHARING IT…not in this information age, not on any blogs and definitely not from those who post crap too many times.

Ya may as well ask fir GOOGLE to be removed.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright February 28, 2017 at 9:56 AM #

Ah got some land tuh sell yuh in de middle of long pond….gimme ah call ah dus got de papers ready bring cash.

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And I especially google, research and share info from those I am suspicious of, as any intelligent blogger would do….and I dont even mind if others do the same to me.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal……it might be time for you and Carl Moore to join forces and create ya own blog,…neither of you would have to worry about me being there…lol

25. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

There will be no prosecution of ministers unless there is an armed rebellion and dictatorship.

The “Third Party” will just be a better version of the DLP/BLP .

26. @Hants
    Debt refinancing…..paying less interest….is but a blip in the overall deficit. And not without costs in the short term.

27. “A recent study has revealed that Barbados reported the lowest whistle lowing tendency, it also revealed that Barbados scored the lowest in the categories of accountability/ transparency.

The study was conducted by Dr. Philmore Alleyne, UWI lecturer to explore perceptions of Corporate Governance and Whistle Blowing practices in the Caribbean, given the issues surrounding Clico and other corporate failures in the Caribbean. The sample was drawn from across the Caribbean, and chosen from a cross-section of persons.”

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent

You and your sympathizer (note no plural is used lolol) would be very surprised to know the groundswell that this strategy is gathering.

But de ole man gine leave you in your blissful state until it is too late for you to comprehend what “…this insight, for use of the incoming third party…” means

And, in case you did not get it before, let me repeat it for you.

“In addition to said party’s contractual pledges of (1) making the Power of Recall law, of (2) making integrity legislation law and of (3) making freedom of information coupled with (4) whistleblower information, the backbone of your platform, de ole man has a suggestion to make

You must agree, by similar binding contractual terms of your pledges, to (5) prosecute all of the ministers who have been complicit in, party to or directors of, schemes that have teifted de money from de peeple of Barbados via various schemes.

You shall pledge to (6) investigate and unravel all of the Central Bank transfers and, as part of the prosecution of these crooks, demand that all correspondent international banks return said monies under threat of money laundering with various counterpart governments

Watch how de new parties graph these policies immediately into their manifestos.

Grenville II you writing?

29. oh skikes!!!!! Elections this year????

Government again turns to Arthur to head economic advisory council.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/28/going-with-owen-2/

30. Britain did not get lucky by having a Canadian bank governor. We got the short straw. As I wrote at the time, the job should have gone to Adair Turner, the brighter and more perceptive person. But the chancellor could not tell him what to do. Yo get what you pay for.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 28, 2017 at 8:36 AM

Bushie you are simply the best. A born teacher to make Socrates smile with envy.
    But Grasshopper, who was your Master in maths at school? Was it Jack Adams or Mr. B. Browne?

Even a blind and dumb jackass sitting next to that moron Stinkliar in a class of simpletons futilely trying to take in a lesson titled “decimals for dummies” cannot fail to grasp the gravamen of your lifelong learning lesson and its pending implications for the entire economic landscape and its interrelated financial system in the country full of ‘learned’ brass-bowls.

JHC, man even a newborn baby would get a 100 % pass mark in that simple and clearly explained lesson in basic financial survival after which the suckling babe would be immediately able to correctly place the decimal point between the zeroes (0) which would appear on the MoF’s test paper and the seven(7) months your country has before it finds itself in the IMF hospital with a devalued currency not worth the paper used to wipe its sick backside.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal…who said anything about luck…the word I used was smart…and who cares about the internal UK politics, they did as the system was designed, they got a governor outside of local political leanings and independent of those shenanigans.

33. Chuckle….if OSA takes the appointment he should be aware that none of his suggestions will be accepted and when elections are called they would say even the great one could not solve our problem.

What advise what…..all the brainiacs have been telling the govt what to do for years to no avail.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The ACs pimps would be the first one on here talking about Arthur gave the government bad advice.

Ah wonder what they are saying now the government gone back to the Arthur vomit…again..lol

35. Piece

Come wid de cash an buy this prime building land en de middle uh de pond nuh….

36. millertheanunnaki February 28, 2017 at 10:22 AM #

Chuckle….so you are praising Kellman as well.

37. Just felt a breeze going from the starboard ear to the port ear, felt like a political fart, smelly and no substantive fecal matter.

38. @ WW&COB
    LOL….
    AC is so ashamed of Stinkliar …that she sent angela skeete to throw in a little word on her behalf…
    …don’t know if it is a friend, sister, cousin or alter ego …
    but they both did not go to school for very long….
    Ha ha ha ha
    Shiirt!!!

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants February 28, 2017 at 10:19 AM
    “Government again turns to Arthur to head economic advisory council.”

Hants, such an acceptance by OSA would be considered the perfect example of Poetic Justice.

Now you understand why Worrell was fired before the announcement to enlist OSA in the battle to prevent MAM from winning the upcoming electoral war. After the things OSA said about Worrell there is no way he could have worked with the discredited professional as head of the country’s major financial institution.

Would OSA be demanding, before he accepts this crucially critical advisory assignment, a public apology from those who were once in the forefront of the choir of verbal abuse, offensive insults which denuded him in the HoA and the electorally deadly assassination of his professional character portraying him as an outlaw and paro who sold the country’s family silver for a ‘roach’ of crack cocaine.?

Or would OSA sell his moral soul to the political devil just to seek revenge on MAM.

But with revenge comes also retribution.

If he thinks he can be the head of this advisory council of wise men (and hopefully women) and still collude in an act of silent acquiescence to the demands of the MoF to print mucho Mickey-mouse money then he too would find himself in the same political ghost ship as Worrell sailing on a sea of oblivion in a sinking ship called SOS Bim and heading for Davy Jones’s locker.

Would OSA change his mind at this last moment on recommending a visit to the IMF doctor for a prescription of harsh measures under a regime of heavy manners like his former Jamaican employer?

40. “The Emperor has lost his clothes!” It must have been an embarrassing moment really. A moment of shame actually. His nakedness exposed in full view of all. Nowhere to go for cover. True, there were those present who relished the sight of the emperor parading around his nakedness. Some have even been secretly longing for this moment, when out of their own hurt and anger they longed for the humiliation of the once proud ruler. For most though, I suspect, there is the feeling of discomfort; embarrassment; shared shame, or even anguish at witnessing the exposure of one once vested with absolute power and authority. Witnessing a fall from grace as in full frontal nakedness.

41. Steupsss @ George
    Witnessing a fall from grace as in full frontal nakedness.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, speak for your big-belly, floppy- poodle, self yuh hear….!!!??
    That man’s nakedness was exposed for many, many years now….
    Bajans are just blind brass bowls.

You can count Bushie out of that simile… and also Caswell when he was younger…

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

If OSA was really a man of Machiavellian revenge he would execute the ultimate coup de grâce and checkmate the entire political chess game.

If the DLP see OSA as their Moses why not put the same former prophet of doom and gloom in the driver’s seat to use his archaic expertise mouth on the economy where his failing health would barely allow him to return to the Promised Land on Bay Street.

He is a Right Honourable’ member of Parliament and can easily command the support of a majority in parliament including that of Ave Maria and those anti-MAM backstabbing members on the Opposition benches.

OSA should demand as his pound of Moses flesh by insisting Lord Fumble steps down with the cast-iron promise he would become the next GG should a coalition DLP/UPP government be returned in 2018.

Here is his final opportunity to become not only a revitalized primate inter pares but also a real real makeover Dictator called Lord King Emperor OSA once denuded in the House by the now humiliated Lord Fumble but now has found his dictatorial robes again.

To whom much is given, much is expected. OSA you have given more than your obligated share to your country.

It’s time to leave the stage and let the political and economic chips fall where they may.

Exit, stage left OSA, you ought to off into the Sunset of political retirement.

43. @ millertheanunnaki who wrote ” Or would OSA sell his moral soul ”

I don’t give a puck about OSA soul If he can help Barbados.

For purely personal selfish reasons I hope there is no devaluation and at least the appearance of improvement in the Barbados.

44. Is it reasonable for John Public to ask what caused the public falling out between the former Governor, MoF and the Board of the Central Bank?

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

That is the problem that got all of the ministers as well as Worrell looking incompetent…they are marinated in secrets, keeping information from the people and believe that in this information age, secrets can still be used as a tool to deceive the electorate so they can be reelected..ha!!

Bushman..lol

46. improvement in the Barbados economy.

47. @ David “what caused the public falling out”

Isn’t it obvious? Sinker. print more money…..Worel…..No….. Sinker…….you’re fired.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants February 28, 2017 at 11:32 AM

LOL!!

Your ass(ets) will soon be ‘devalued’ grass.

Just take into account what was said about “No Layoffs, No Privatization”.
    It’s just a matter of inevitable time.

The decision rule is: If Stinkliar says “No”, then expect “Yes” to ‘D’ (shortly and in a few weeks time very soon).

How can a man who has been painted as the architect and builder for 14 long years of the economic house of cards be the civil engineer to stop the same ruined house from collapsing?

Isn’t that the same as putting Jesse James in charge of Wells Fargo?

OSA is that same leopard who was branded an outlaw and assassin of the Bajan economy whose silverware assets were sold by the same traitor to tricky foreigners for a mess of forex pottage.

Ask Bush Tea to provide a charge sheet on OSA for his destructive acts on the economy crying out for restructuring.

49. @ millertheanunnaki,

There is always de almshouse. lol

Sorry. just remember I live in Canada an collecting pension so if my Bajan assets turn to

devalued toilet paper I will have to cut an contrive. That Tesla is now “beyond my imagination”.

50. OSA reputation as one if being a economic magican us a mthy.As mythical as Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny.OSA built barbados on borrowed loans with high interest which he now proposes to settle by selling what is left of the family jewels

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply