Dismissed former Central Bank Governor DeLisle Worrell

If I had my druthers, today’s column would have been an analysis of last Thursday’s decision of the local Court of Appeal discharging the injunction restraining the dismissal of the former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr DeLisle Worrell, by the Honourable Minister of Finance, and thus paving the way for the unhindered termination of his contract of employment, as eventually happened.

Incidentally, I should wish to offer my heartiest congratulations to the newly appointed Acting Governor, Mr Cleviston Haynes, a schoolmate from Infant’s School at “Goodland” to primary school and, eventually, to both the secondary and tertiary undergraduate levels, even though he was at my junior by at least one year. What adds to Clevie’s just deserts for this new posting, although I feel certain that it did not play any role, significant or at all, in his selection, is that he is also an avid reader of this column. But I digress unnecessarily.

Alas, the local Court of Appeal has chosen to reserve its written judgment until Friday of this week and so there is no fodder for my anticipated musing today. As a general comment however, its decision was not unexpected. Section 11 of the Central Bank of Barbados Act, Cap 323C, makes it clear that the Governor shall be appointed by the Minister by instrument in writing for a period not exceeding 5 years and shall be eligible for re-appointment; and that “he shall be appointed on such terms and conditions as may be set out in his instrument of appointment”. This raises at least two presumptions; first that he is dismissible by the office of the Minister that appointed him under the principle that he who appoints may also disappoint and, second, since there is no local concept of permanent employment, that he is dismissible in accordance with the terms of his contract of employment.

In consequence, unless both necessary and reasonable in the circumstances , there could have been no implication of a term giving rights on termination to the employee beyond those stated in the contract. In last week’s column, I raised the issue of which entity was the Governor’s employer, whether it was the Crown or the Central Bank but, from the lay reports of the hearing in the printed press, this determination appears to have played no part in the matter. In any event, even if the Governor claimed to be entitled, under the Employment Rights Act 2012, to protection against unfair dismissal since he was an employee of a statutory corporation, this right is exclusively enforceable in the Employment Rights Tribunal and not in the ordinary courts.

Should an appeal in this matter to the Caribbean Court of Justice ensue, we shall, of course, return to its further analysis but, for now, the matter seems firmly closed.

Having been disappointed in that regard from providing material for my few readers today, I needed to find another source of discussion. It duly came last night during an online debate with some of the other contributors to a discussion forum in which I frequently intermediate.

The difference of opinion came when I offered the view that any call at this time for the holding of general elections was unlikely to be of any consequence, given that there is already a constitutionally prescribed procedure for this civic entitlement. To mimic Paul Keens Douglas, “who tell me say dat”?

I was reminded that there is still freedom of expression locally; a point I readily conceded, and that the Constitution is inherently amenable to alteration; again indisputable, although given the current text and configuration of Parliament, that is perhaps truer in theory than in practical reality. There was also a prompt that we are far too wedded to the provisions of a Constitution that was drafted by men who are long dead anyway.

My view is based on the wholly acceptable thesis that equity does nothing in vain, a maxim that should have figured significantly in the recent discharge of the order enjoining the termination of the employment of the former Governor. Why permit the continuation of a contract that has been stripped of its very substance of mutual trust and confidence? To what end?

Similarly, unless there is a plan afoot to change the basic norm (grundnorm) of the Constitution, whether by successful revolution or otherwise, a demand for general elections before they are called through the now constitutionally stipulated procedure amounts to nothing more than a vain and premature partisan political initiative cloaked in the mantle of the constitutional guarantee of freedom of expression.

It reminds so much of the fable (suitably bowdlerized for a Sunday family newspaper) of the two bulls on a promontory looking down on a field of cows grazing. “I know, I know”, yells the younger bull animatedly, “let us run down there and copulate with one of them.” No, counsels the older animal sagely, let us walk down and copulate with all!” To those in the know, the late Captain Hutt would have appropriately added two “harumphs” here.

I am aware, however, that there is extant a groundswell of popular opinion for the reform of our governance architecture. This hews towards a more civic participatory governance and would include provisions for the recall of members of parliament; term limits for some officers of state; and the enactment of integrity legislation. Those political parties that hope to secure popular acclaim in the upcoming general elections would be well advised to bone up on these matters. In the coming months, I expect to muse on them at length also.

145 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Governance, the People and the Constitution”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man wonders how many people here “see” the detail in the things you write.

And the things is that they even while seeing do not understand yo.

You wrote and I quote “…the issue of which entity was the Governor’s employer, whether it was the Crown or the Central Bank but, from the lay reports of the hearing in the printed press, this determination appears to have played no part in the matter…”

I realized that not one of these 42 commentators saw that.

Many here say that I suck your nipples whenever you speak in obsequious obeisance but …

Since de ole man is an idiot let me go down this road not taken just for a likkle bit.

Am I to understand that this nuance can in fact have its merits if (a) the parties to the suit were erroneous in their prosecution of this matter and (b) those who previously represented the defendant in this matter were not indeed the correct parties to the suit?

I is but an ingrunt ole man, advanced in years and bereft of these nuanced matters of jurisprudence, indeed Walter PPK hath called me a Piece of Cock and others have called me worse.

But this is why men like you should be leaders “and judges over many…”

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch February 26, 2017 at 10:44 AM
    “@ Miller, Any amendment would be merely textual. According to section 63.
    The executive authority of Barbados is vested in Her Majesty. I imagine that the “Her” will be changed to “His” but this is not a substantive change.”

Yes indeed, Jeff! That is what was implied by use of the phrase “manly colours”.

But the more important question is whether such ‘straightforward’ amendments would require ‘collusive ‘collaboration of the Opposition given the government’s lack of numbers to effect any unilateral decision.

The weightier issue here is why waste parliamentary time and associated scarce financial resources to effect the consequential changes to the governance coachwork and State livery for example from ‘Queen’ to ‘King’ like QC to KC.

Why not bypass such ‘easy’ amendments involving Constitutional lightweight matters and go for broke and bet on the fully–fledged Republic hog?

That should put the electoral cat among the political party pigeons separating the ‘mouthy’ wheat from the garrulous sheath.

BTW, nothing legal or political is above your intellectual pay grade. The proof of that pudding would soon be tasted in your FTC eating of the ‘oily’ sale.

3. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Alvin. A job is not a fundamental human right, it is a privilege. An employer has no obligation to provide reason for termination of said at-will employment contract. The governor serves at pleasure of his boss. The only redress for him, is that, he his compensated for the remainder of his contract .

4. @ Jeff
    Did Iceland not stage a “people’s revolution” quite recently that changed their constitution, locked up the thieves, and crowd-sourced transparency and Integrity laws and rules?

Why do you keep harping on the impossibility of such proactive measures by Bajans?
    …or are you too sold on the brass bowlery concept that precludes us from such forward thinking actions?

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

I know of the case and even the conspiracy theories involved but that was not my focus. I was merely pointing out that there is a possibility of the removal of a government by the GG before the end of its constitutional term.

6. @ Jeff
    Are you telling us that the Barbados constitution did not contemplate that the queen may one day die …and be replaced by a male….?
    Does the male not impute the female and vice versa…?

What grade would you give to a student who drafted such a document…?

7. Agree. The UK army wanted to remove Harold Wilson.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Jeff……but knowing what can be done to amend any constitution is alive and welĺ, I doubt any of the idiòts in cabinet ever took the time to read it, let alone have the ability to interpret it…they got as much knowledge of the contents of the Constitution as trump.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Jeff Cumberbatch

Again “he who many say sucks on your teat, returns”

I am laughing for two reasons, one I will share but the other I will not….

Again de ole man wonders how many saw this your closing comment.

“…This hews towards a more civic participatory governance and would include provisions for the recall of members of parliament; term limits for some officers of state; and the enactment of integrity legislation.

Those political parties that hope to secure popular acclaim in the upcoming general elections would be well advised to bone up on these matters…”

Hahahahahaha

“…would be well advised to bone up on these matters…”

De ole man is jes a Stoopid Cartoons man bereft of the necessary understanding resident in, and required for assimilation of these words of wisdom.

Unlike de other brainiacs here I ent able to talk bout American precedence and presidents cause I was rarely present in class when dem tings was being presented.

But de ole man gleans albeit biased-ly dat is a word? Dat dere is some merit to certain tings dat de grandson putting pun tshirts dennnnn?

You did not answer de ole man other questions, directly, but you have answered all my questions.

May GOD continue to walk with you Mr Jeff Cumberbatch as he walked with the David of Old who came to Goliath in the name of the Living GOD, Lord of Hosts.

10. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Barbados is a resilient economy . Even though I would welcome a correction with a devaluation, I am reminded that the call of an imminent currency collapse is over ten years in the making. Until, a vibrant black market is active, I see no reason to join that bandwagon.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Bushman. ….dont be one little bit surprised ìf there are dummies for àdults iñ Barbados, in paŕłiament, believing with all their hearts that liz the witch who they hold with such reverence and in such hiģh esteem is immortal and cannot die, that not evèn that they would want to change. …..the true minds of the enslaved.

12. Bushy: re:”…we all should be beginning to understand the intricacies of life on earth.”
    As far as I am concerned there are no intricacies in this “life on earth”. We are conceived, (by and accident based on the accidental fertilization by a strong sperm; although some weak ones do fertilize, of a floating egg,) we develop in the womb and are born into this world at the appointed physiological time, we develop in the manner prescribed by the genetic language we have imprinted, we grow, in a manner proscribed by the society we inherit, and die, in the fullness of time-long or short- in a manner and/or time over which we have no control. And that is the end of the story Bram!!. DWD, done wid dat. No sense even putting RIP, cause wherever you, or what’s left, will have no disturbance. Can’t even say until eternity, cause there is no end to eternity. So to even talk about judgement day, it is an impossibility at the end of eternity, cause that would mean that eternity is finite.
    !

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins February 26, 2017 at 9:53 AM:
    “The politician fulfills the “demands ” of the people as elucidated by their representatives. I have already posited that when a politician requires the Ministry of Finance;for example, to provide funding for the “filling of potholes; which come at a cost, it is because the loud complaints and demands of “the people” have to be satisfied. When persons “demand” foreign exchange to satisfy the “demands” of shoppers at the Mercedes dealership, or the conspicuous consumption of shoppers at Price Smart, or Shop Smart, or even Cost u Less, the Minister off Finance, is required to satisfy these demands.”

What an epiphany of a load of piffle served with a large portion of gobbledygook!
    Is that your Bajan understanding of the following scenario:

Ac the cretin and the prince of fools Alvin the Clown to Lord King Fumble in his Court at the Ilaro:

‘The black Bajan rabble whose heads you plan to crack and backsides to riddle with bullet are hungry for imported bread and growing restless’.

King Lord Fumble to his yard-fowls of followers:
    ‘Well, let them eat locally fried fish cake(s) made from tadpoles living underground at the Grotto’.

Is that why you fired the governor because of his contrite confession like Saul on the transformational road to Damascus? The governor saw the light in the Bajan economic tunnel and decided not continue but to jump off the track and commit professional hari-kari rather than be impaled by a cabinet of backstabbers and be treated later on as the scapegoat for their political sins.

You know when your dangerous lying party can throw the likes of Worrell under the bus but still make cozy love with the leper Greenverbs you know an electoral plague is just around the corner and that $5 million of dirty dosh stored in the CB fault will be commandeered to fight a life or death campaign to save the criminal ass of that leprous crook.

Here is what we have to say to you Alvin and your meretriciously incompetent and corrupt lot.

Why not take your cursed printed Bajan cut-plate monopoly dollars and buy the same Mercedes and pay for the imported garishly conspicuous consumption trinkets including the Sankey brand of Mickey Mouse appliances and see if any overseas seller would not adopt a David Thompie sales pitch: ‘Your order enquiry is ever so welcome but wait for our credit rating check’.

14. Wrong Forty…,
    There are many remedies for wrongful dismissal. the days when a boss could walk into your presence and say;” you’re fired” and you were “obligated, to pack your bags and exit, without fighting back, using the available legal tools are gone. Acquaint yourself with the remedies available. Remember when the Quarrels lady was relieved of her duties for wearing her hair braided? There are many cases like that.

15. @fortyacresandamule

What about the under-invoicing by the auto, hotels and other importers? Cant just look at currency black market as pontificated by the former Governor in his last public economic forum on CBC TV8.

16. Bushie

Take note of Jeffs post below…..it eliminates the the 50 of your 10 point plan.,,,,,I saw your attempt at rebuttal which spoke of guiding them and that hit me as very Trumpesque.

When the people start to really hurt under whichever govt they will let their feelings be known.

My posit which was pooh poohed by Piece on another post was simply for Bimmers to stay home on one day a week on a day that will change at random and do that for around 3 months and I am sure they will get the message.
    ……………………………………………………………..

Jeff Cumberbatch February 26, 2017 at 9:01 AM #
    “Governance MUST be powered by the collective consciousness of the PEOPLE ….and it must be outside of the operational scope of the caretakers of the state who see themselves as the power-that-be.”

17. @ Alvin February 26, 2017 at 1:46 PM
    Every single time you write, you successfully endorse Bushie’s analysis of your intelligence.
    Man stop bigging up the Bushman nuh!!!
    Shiite!!
    You are indeed a fool.
    …and Bushie says that without any malice aforethought…

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Had to be away for a while and am now ready to contend again.

@ Pacha, you blogged:

*In other words, should we not live the justice, on a day to day basis, that we seek in the courts.

If there is further agreement, we will then know well that this system was not designed for that purpose.*

Yes there is further agreement and perhaps your conclusion may be right. Indeed, I believe Bush Tea might have something to say about that and the true purpose of man on earth.

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Hal,

*”Jeff,

Executive authority is vested in RH, but on advice from the govt. She cannot act on her prerogative. The Queen has very little power, beyond the ceremonial. So calls for the governor general to intervene in the central bank debacle is wishful thinking.”*

In the words of some great judge, “I concur and have nothing useful to add…”

20. @ Vincent February 26, 2017 at 2:53 PM
    Boss, Jeff was quoting the Bushman in that reference….. so wheel….

You were told already, if you don’t even know who Mugabe is……
    how the hell are you pushing your snout in every trough…?

Man look…
    despite bushie’s age he fears no man
    attacked, BT will defend – with a big ass whacker… 🙂
    Bush Tea knows the village you are from…
    LoL
    whalass…!!!

21. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“Meanwhile Bajans are thinking cockroach in got no right at fowlcock party…A Harrisonian should not take a position in which his future is in the hands of a Garsun boy.He axin for trouble.

Not really, Gabriel. The motto was “In Deo Fides” and any breach of common sense was treated as a breach of the School Rules !

22. Bushie

Comprehension thou fool(was that Stants or Lopey)…it does not matter who is quoting who the statement is a valid one and negates your elitist cadre of individuals to govern Bim.

23. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Jeff……but knowing what can be done to amend any constitution is alive and welĺ, I doubt any of the idiòts in cabinet ever took the time to read it, let alone have the ability to interpret it…they got as much knowledge of the contents of the Constitution as trump.

@WW&COB, I am not a lecturer in Constitutional Law myself , but I can think of at least three members of the present Cabinet and the Speaker that would have been exposed to the best learning available in Commonwealth Caribbean Constitutional Law

24. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

May GOD continue to walk with you Mr Jeff Cumberbatch as he walked with the David of Old who came to Goliath in the name of the Living GOD, Lord of Hosts.

Why, thank you, Piece. I am humbled by your graciousness!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch February 26, 2017 at 10:10 AM
    “Elegantly put, Sir. My sincere commendation on your use of the language.”

Jeff, thanks for that encouragingly kind remark you have made to polish in fine style the ‘self-effacing’ literary ego of the miller’s son.

But any kudos must be figuratively deflected to the potter in that Hephaestus-branded
    forge in that classroom of pure and applied Literature.

That ‘potter’ of rare and precious metals was no less a goldsmith than the late great Professor extraordinaire Harold Wharton who took a rough diamond hiding in a ‘brass’ utensil (not the Bush Tea variety) and instill such a measure of confidence in the frighteningly shy little boy as to see him change into a giant lover of Shakespearian intoxication served in a golden chalice of literary appreciation.

Thanks to the heavens above, the golden protégé of Master Wharton was not fully exposed to the debasing influence spread by the burning Bushman who spent his school days engaged in nefariously devilish pranks in another classroom of comic relief.

With his Billy Bunter character the Bushman was never able to spread his distracting folly to the ‘studious’ Miller despite his exposure to the virally comedic influence of the then Master Lopey, the ace eccentric, who saw the other poor boy from the Bushy area as his scholastic bête noir.

Now you know the real Bush Tea. His long-kept secret identity hiding as Billy Bunter the Tea Cat has now been let out of the bag of the ‘Anonymice’ by Miller the magician.

‘Despite (his) young age, (he) feared no other (bush) boy.

Attack the Bushie boy and he will run away like wild fire from water.

He knew the village He was from.

It was a bushy village full of Bajan brass-bowls.

He was (and still is) a wutless fella.

He never knew the answers and even today in his BBE classroom he still does NOT know the answer(s) to man’s existence.… Now SIT DOWN, Bushie!!’

All hail the Chief of the Bushes full of Bajan Brass-bowls!! LOL, BT.

26. @ Vincent
    …it is who is quoting ‘whom’…. (whom is the object….)
    …and it does matter….
    …and a list of VOLUNTEERS who serve their community at no cost cannot seriously be classed as ‘elitist’…

….and how the hell is it possible to pack so many errors into a single sentence without being Alvin ….?

…ROTFLMAO

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

If the Governor-General is of the view that the Government is imperilling the state, he can intervene to remove the Government. I think there is precedent in Australia.

@ Caswell, you know that there would be a “fargin” war were this ever to happen! What if the PM refuses to leave? I smell a constitutional crisis!

28. @Miller

Billy Bunter?

Jesus!

29. Well done Mller….
    Touché…

However bushie’s whole being is conceived upon an adoption that, deserved or not, puts the bushman in a position to eavesdrop on some out-of-this-world information…..

You may indeed have been Mr Wharton’s pet bowl, but Bushie step up pun yuh now…!!!

murduh!!

30. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Miller,

*But the more important question is whether such ‘straightforward’ amendments would require ‘collusive ‘collaboration of the Opposition given the government’s lack of numbers to effect any unilateral decision.

The weightier issue here is why waste parliamentary time and associated scarce financial resources to effect the consequential changes to the governance coachwork and State livery for example from ‘Queen’ to ‘King’ like QC to KC.

Why not bypass such ‘easy’ amendments involving Constitutional lightweight matters and go for broke and bet on the fully–fledged Republic hog?

That should put the electoral cat among the political party pigeons separating the ‘mouthy’ wheat from the garrulous sheath.

BTW, nothing legal or political is above your intellectual pay grade. The proof of that pudding would soon be tasted in your FTC eating of the ‘oily’ sale.*

You know that I am a Republican at heart. But I fear that it would be viewed as an irrelevant and easily dismissible gadfly distraction in any imminent local election campaign. Of course, I reserve comment here on FTC matters. Excellent blog, as usual!

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Integrity CANNOT be legislated.

32. Bush Tea February 26, 2017 at 3:17 PM #

Yes it was Stanton…..a fool thou art……what list of volunteers what….an unelected rabble with no mandate from the people, that translates into a totalitarian form of govt.

33. @ Jeff
    Caswell, you know that there would be a “fargin” war were this ever to happen! What if the PM refuses to leave? I smell a constitutional crisis!
    Wrong Jeff. Check again…
    The final arbiter of any ‘war’ in Barbados reports to the GG in the final analysis.
    Caswell ids right…
    This would be a non issue.

34. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Miller,Your reference to Mr Wharton marks you out as one extremely well schooled in the English language. I should not be surprised. Without the slightest intention to pry, he left Wesley Hall Primary in my pre 11+ years for Cawmere. Is it there you met him?

And Bushie is of identical tutelage? Nuff respect!

35. Steupsss @ Vincent
    Last try with your donkey…

What would you call a group of persons who have each been elected as a rep by a collection of all organised groups such as the churches, credit unions, unions, BCCI, manufacturers, Sports bodies, community groups, ZR association, Rastas etc to create a ‘vox populi’?

If you use the word ‘elitist’ Bushie done wit dat!!!

36. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Wrong Jeff. Check again…
    “The final arbiter of any ‘war’ in Barbados reports to the GG in the final analysis.
    Caswell ids right…
    This would be a non issue.”

@ Bush Tea,You have read far too prosaically. Are you sure that you were exposed to Mr Wharton?

Of course I am aware that military warfare is a matter for the Crown. The war I spoke of, however, was metaphorical. Do you see a Barbadian PM meekly accepting the word of a GG that he or she should demit office after just securing a popular mandate?

37. @ Jeff
    Do you see a Barbadian PM meekly accepting the word of a GG that he or she should demit office after just securing a popular mandate?
    No…
    But it is not too difficult to see six soldiers throwing his ass into the road by the esplanade

🙂

38. But Miller,
    Since the present government has no intention of devaluing, it means that either your lot will have to do the devaluing, if you feel it is the cable option, from before the election of the Sanford Government, and every time since then that the DLP has been elected to govern,; is this what you are planning to do? (If so tell the people from now that, as soon as you get in you are going to devalue)or you are going to use the same monopoly money in the interim. First of all the PM has the ability; and constitutional right, to call an election whenever he chooses, and AFTER, the election, whenever the incoming party organizes itself, there will be a passage of time before measures are passed in the House, so what happens in the interim?
    Is that your B$5 million of dirty dosh stored in the CB fault will be commandeered to fight a life or death campaign to save the criminal ass of that leprous crook.ely from the list of departments? How many lawsuits are you prepared to defend? Do you plan to curb “the hunger”? Are you planning to express any disgust for the “imported garishly conspicuous consumption trinkets,” that are part of the “hunger”? Or are you going to indulge the masses in the types of Port Ferdinand type establishments? Are you going to undertake a massive encouragement of the Harlequin, or Pemberton types to real estate endeavours, and engage in the final sell off of ALL? Isn’t this what happened to encourage Jacob-like years of Plenty; the encouragement of land purchase at exorbitant prices, the enactment of the Special Development Areas Act, to encourage them through exemptions and tax concessions, like exemptions for both Developers and Investors? thus an Investor could also be a Developer and Investor and get two sets of exemptions from things like taxes and concessions; like building Prisons, highway infrastructure by the same; or similar,shill companies like the one that “built the Bridge to nowhere,”. Echoes of Cahill? Except that there was no public awareness then, as there is now, and Cahill came much later..
    Anyhow, since you and your cohorts are so anxious and intent on accepting the reins of power, and since you are all so farsighted you obviously see something of value ahead. Would it be fair to say that the present government also see the future in the distance and also are as anxious to share in the spoils of whatever lies ahead? Thus their intention to hold on to the reins of power would be more understandable. Thus their decision that there will be no devaluation, and delays in holding an election, which YOU predict they will lose, is perfectly logical.
    We have the Acting Governor, now ensconced. And you say :” $5 million of dirty dosh stored in the CB fault will be commandeered to fight a life or death campaign to save the criminal ass of that leprous crook.” Are you already challenging his integrity already?
    Are you echoing the call of Trump to “Lock ..up”?
    What is it with you?
    Argentina was not afraid of Credit Rating checks, when they decided to pay no attention to the usurious rates that its creditors were demanding, and decided not to pay them. Argentina grew, stronger, after that period.
    One of my solutions would be to forbid the importation of those same Mercedes Benzes, and garishly consumption trinkets. in other words, don’t import the cake for them to consume.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You asked:

“Does the male not impute the female and vice versa…?”

The male imputed the female but the opposite is not necessarily true. If that were so men would be entitled to 12 weeks maternity benefit when they give birth.

40. Bushie

Chuckle….that tantrum was to be expected,hard ears yuh ain gine change……

The majority of the people do not belong to those groups and as far as the Church….very trumpean.

Miller

It would seem that you were a couple years behind me as I recall when Mr Wharton arrived and he did teach me as well………………If he taught Bushie we can see that he was not succesfull as his comprehension skills are sadly lacking.

41. Vincent,
    Bushy just “own way.”

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

You wrote:

“@ Caswell, you know that there would be a “fargin” war were this ever to happen! What if the PM refuses to leave? I smell a constitutional crisis!”

We have an unnecessary defence force of which the GG is commander in chief. The GG could order the BDF to ensure that his order is carried out. He recently ordered the BDF deployed to St.Kitts, without any local public announcement, so he could order them deployed to Bay Street one Thursday. I for one would attempt to re-enlist.

43. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

We have an unnecessary defence force of which the GG is commander in chief. The GG could order the BDF to ensure that his order is carried out. He recently ordered the BDF deployed to St.Kitts, without any local public announcement, so he could order them deployed to Bay Street one Thursday. I for one would attempt to re-enlist.

@ Caswell, I am not at all contesting the constitutional reality of local warfare as I told Bush Tea earlier . What i am saying is that it is not as simple as you fellows appear to insist. How would Bajans respond? Nobody voted for the GG.

Bushy sees the PM’s donkey being “thrown into the road by the Esplanade”. In a word, we do not share ophthalmologists.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Argentina was not afraid of Credit Rating checks, when they decided to pay no attention to the usurious rates that its creditors were demanding, and decided not to pay them. Argentina grew, stronger, after that period.”

oufff….are you suggesting we should stiff the NIS? or the bondholders? or not pay all those locals owed monies by the GoB? or a selective bankruptcy? (only screw the foreigners)

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

@Caswell

Has the GG responded you your mail yet?

Not even an acknowledgement to the letter that I hand-delivered to Government House but he found time to disrupt a whole set of primary schools with his nonsense.

46. Jeff said

”Yes there is further agreement and perhaps your conclusion may be right. Indeed, I believe Bush Tea might have something to say about that and the true purpose of man on earth.”’
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

While you have a number of other ideas with which you are contending, we would like to think that the point was more earthly then the spring toward which you guided us.

Do you as humanoid not have the ability to establish a more just system right here and now?

And should your response be in the negative, should not try or die trying?

We were not seeking esoteric guidance, for that never appeared to be your foremost area of competence.

We wanted to make the point that your constitutional constructions, as they are, will never offer such – justice as a basic principle to all, only the appearance of such.

Please recall the stream of ideas to which we had established a fairly robust agreement chain.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

Barbadians don’t respond except from the comfort of their homes on Brasstacks.

By the way, we might not share the same ophthalmologist either. I had to go in search of a new one because I was forced to write mine because he was treating staff badly. LOL!

48. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Pacha,

I believe that we are doing the best we can with our innate mortal failings. It is said that the Devil himself knows not the mind of man and yet daily in the courts of law we attempt to divine man’s intention in a particular circumstance. Is there indeed true justice without the esoteric laws such as karma? I believe that we are merely scratching the surface with our feckless reasoning.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply