Submitted by William Skinner
The United Progressive Party (UPP), the latest third political party to launch in Barbados

The way forward for any serious third party is via a new and effectively managed and promoted brand of national activism. Trying to improve upon the rapidly declining and worn out political model of the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party is a certain exercise in failure. You do not buy junk, on its way to the political junkyard, unless you are a junk yard dealer. Third parties that ignore this fact are destined to last no longer than an expert flying fish vendor, skilled in the art of deboning, takes to debone a dozen flying fish.

There is only one third party that can effectively take up the mantle and at least attempt to cause some damage to the established parties and that entity is the Peoples Empowerment Party, currently led by Attorney At Law David Comissiong. The PEP has some durability and its leader, has been effective in utilizing his legal skills to oppose some of the more unpopular decisions, of the DLP administration. The question that must be asked of the leadership of the PEP is whether it prefers to fight its own battles or simply side with the Barbados Labour Party. We note that the PEP is calling for a fresh election but is reluctant to agitate for the downfall of both the BLP and DLP.

It should be glaringly obvious that if the PEP was interested in competitively contesting general elections, it would have candidates and activists on the ground in all the constituencies. This failure should baffle any person, who has been monitoring the PEP progress. Why has it confined itself to mere commentary and joining the BLP in marches and other protests? Why is its leadership reluctant to face the electorate?

The other third parties will find any deep penetration of the hold the BLP and DLP have on the electorate very difficult at this time. They seem unable to answer simple questions about their composition and any new policies. They need to indicate how they intend to overcome t the Herculean task ahead. However, the mere fact that they are prepared to challenge the establishment should be of interest to those who are convinced that there is no hope under the BLP or DLP.

Pure political common sense would suggest that the PEP, Solutions Barbados and the PUP and others, form a coalition, with one direct message to the country: “The BLP and DLP must go in order for the country to go forward”. And accompany this message with clear policies to the way forward. Such a coalition should be formed in no less than three months, to make its presence felt. While this is no recipe for electoral success, it could have some effect in marginal constituencies and may even gain a few seats if it can harness the youth vote and those undecided voters, who are now distrustful of the current government and opposition.

I would therefore urge all third parties to consider a united fight against the DLP and BLP rather than assist them in warming over the same cold soup they have been feeding the people for the last fifty years. This is no time to hunt with the hare and run with the hound.

There appears to be a big protest vote against the collective BLP and DLP rising in the country. Third parties and progressive community groups should get together, take aim and mobilize that protest vote in the interest of the country. 2/24/17

96 responses to “Third Parties Must Unite and Mobilize!”

1. Well well,

No. They are politicians. That is what I mean by malice. Policy, yes, rubbishing rivals, no.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“Call David Simmons and ask him why he never did anything about the bribing of public servants by businessmen when he was attorney general. Why he didn’t blow the whistle?”

How can he…while a politician/chief justice…he also sat on the board of directors at CGI Insurance….Hal…dont you remember me telling you that…it is a matter of public record.

That is what real journalists would investigate…and not the identity of bloggers, I keep asking you Hal…have you ever investigated the identities of bloggers in the UK….have you ever called for their identities to be revealed, if ya did, ah guess that is why you are now retired, one reason anyway.

3. Chuckle……Freedom of speech under threat now in Bim……wuhloss…..Trump times comin.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Who cares who they rubbish and why would you care if anyone is rubbished Hal……as a journalist, have you never rubbished anyone…, ya said you exposed gang members…wuh ya tink dah is….

…..the press corp worldwide rubbish people everyday, it’s the nature of the beast when you want to be in the eyes of the public…they have a choice…stay anonymous.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Or is it SEWN UP TIGHT….lol

Bushman…had not for the blogs…, Parris would be attorney general and his sidekick Harris, if not so brutally exposed would be lead advisor to Mia, pulling all their strings in the cabinet….upon their election…both these criminals had the island sown up tight.

6. Shut up !Vincent you have now become a propagandist of fake news .What freedom of speech threats in Bim” are you talking about

7. WW&COB
    Give Hal a little slack..
    He is due the right to talk a little shiite from time to time …after all Vincent does it ALL the time….. 🙂

Can you imagine Hal wants to shut down the whacker because it hurts the weeds…?
    He wants the lawn cut for with a pair of scissors – one careful weed at a time…

…but NOT 4 Shiite…!!
    It will be de whacker in EVERYONE’s donkeys… full power.

The good lawn grass will grow back even stronger and with better roots – while the shiite weeds that tend to raise up tall and proud – will die off.
    That is Gardening 101.

8. Listen to the daily crao.. Had not for the bligs Parris would have become attorney General” another piece of a huge slice of baloney .
    Please bring the evidence or Shut up.
    Not only barbadians read the blog and it is irresponsible for a jack a.ss to be braying incessantly in monotone

9. Wuhloss……lookah muh crosses doh de Pot tellin muh tuh shut up and de kettle tellin muh a duz leh go shavin cream……ah did always tink dah wunna was 2 peas in the same pod….um now cunfurm.

10. Bush Tea,

I have been the target of a Serious Fraud Office search for a whistleblower.

11. WW&C
    Parris seeme to be an enigma.There are those who swear that he is one of the smartest businessmen in this country,more astute than the better qualified in skin colour (in a plantation polity)and better than those exposed to formal training.On the other hand there are those who,besides referring him as the leper of choice,call him the swindler-in-chief,a freeloader,who has fiddled the finances of Clico to afford him a way of life that feeds off other people’s hard work,ingenuity and hard earned pension benefits of corporations which had nothing to do with Clico at any level other than the political decision that saw the change that moved a pension plan within the embrace of that now notorious organization.There are many reasons for law abiding citizens to be bitter at the nastiness that politicians say and do in the interest of their friends rather than the interest of the citizenry which affords them the power they wield.We need a change in how governemnents influence crookery.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Gabriel….exactly….you also need real journalists and newspapers with moral codes, ethics and integrity in Barbados….as it now stands, they are all shameless politicals pimps.

ACs…..Parris controlled David Thompson….that 3 million dollar check from Clico was made out to Thompson and Associates, policyholders money…secreted away, stolen money.

Dumbville Inniss and Fraudulent Fruendel jumped out and cussed the victimized CLICO policyholders telling them they deserved to be robbed by Parris because they were too greedy….

Fruendel even threatend these 60- 90 year old vulnerable people that he had something to expose them for exposing Parris…….”his esteemed friend and not a leper”.

I stand by my comment….tell me otherwise again yardfowls.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bushman….Hal is acting like a man on a mission.

I asked him his thoughts on Peter Harris and CGI Insurance, he is yet to answer.

I asked him if he ever advocated to have bloggers in UK give up their identities…..he is yet to answer.

Many of BU and other bloggers, yardfowls excluded, have worked tirelessly to do the jobs that the journalists and newspapers in Barbados, the 4th Estate should be doing, but are not because they are busy being political pimps for both governments and criminal minded business people.

We cannot allow Hal or Carl Moore to minimize these successful contributions by bloggers to satisfy their curiosity or to make mischief, when they themselves as self-proclaimed journalists are yet to use the blogs, their own contacts or the newspapers to successfully expose any governments and business people’s bribery, corruption, or thefts by and victimization of policyholders and injured people by insurance executives on the island.

When they bring something substantial to the BU table, something to benefit the black majority, only then can they make demands.

14. @pieceuhderockyeahright February 27, 2017 at 5:20 AM “Oh dear, thar be Grenville spouting that term here on Barbados Underground for the first time cannot afford candidates to break these promises, hence the formal agreement…”

Was listening to “Mad John” on CBC this morning…he made an interesting point about promises, including written formal promises…he noted that people go before God, their parents, family, friends, and the reverend/priest/pastor, as well as the Registrar of Marriages and make a solemn formal promise to love and care for their spouse until death do them part, and yet in Barbados [and most of the world] those promises are frequently broken.

So I have agree with “Mad John” if people break written promises made to their beloved, in the presence of God, the State and their parents, then people will break any other promise, written or not.

Because that is how people are.

I too am a promise breaker.

Lolll!!!

15. “Parris controlled David Thompson”another piece of uncontrolled and unsubstantiated piece of baloney allowed to be ditributed as fact on BU
    Now bring the facts

16. @ WW&COB
    Do you need any more evidence of DLP stupidity than that they made him chairman of the now bankrupt CBC…

CBC….. of all places …for a grammatical laughing stock of Ossie Moore notoriety …. !!!

Can you have ANY doubt that he would have succeeded the GG when he resigns this year…?

17. Every damned day …we should give thanks to Barbados Free Press and to Barbados Underground.

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Now we know Hal’s thoughts on Leroy Parris…….”that he is just incompetent” …in Hal’s mind only, and not the very competent thief that the judge already decided that he is…red flags.

Gabriel….that’ s why Parris was thought of as a genius, until he was brought down…..because no one likes to think of anything in practical terms on the island…no one will say that both him and Harris had the help of lawyers, politicians, government ministers…David Thompson ….Harris had or still has David Simmons former chief justice, DPP Leacock etc…neither of them got where they were on genius intelligence, none of them are that bright, they just have access to corrupt officials….that’s all they needed….for decades……and people keep forgetting the brains behind CLICO Caribbean and the Americas is still Lawrence Duprey through CL Financial ….a trini.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

ACs…..we still copies off the check….ya cant hide that..

20. AC
    Is there any truth that Thompson left a will valued at 39 million in real and personal property and that a former registrar was carrying the will in her pocket bag so that no one can eyeball the document.I would think if the former is true the treasury should be saving the expense of the widow’s pension benefit and if the latter is true the document should now be avaialable for public scrutiny.What say you ac?

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bushman….dont mind the ACs, they must have been the first to congratulate Parris when Fruendel made him CBC GM…I am sure Parris grew tired of the ACs elongating their tongues to kiss his ass, now they are trying to disown that Parris controlled both Thompson and Fruendel and Dumbville Inniss too…..

….ACs kissing ass just like they did to poor Washington based C. Fred…..was it not the same Worrell brought C. Fred to Barbados…..the ACs were shameless…..real snakes for yardfowls….lol

22. Some people might say that it might be more helpful if Alleyne reported his concerns directly to his cousin Fruendel.

Barbados is a real, real small place.

23. @Hal Austin February 27, 2017 at 8:46 AM “But the continuing smear on Mr Paris is uncalled for. Incompetence is not dishonesty.”

And why do you believe that it was incompetence and not dishonesty?

Do you know of any people who stopped working for CLICO because they were horrified by what they were asked to do? And who thought that to be unemployed and hungry was better than working for CLICO?

I do.

24. @William Skinner February 27, 2017 at 8:51 AM “Unless you are prepared to hit the road and go in the trenches., it would not work in our political culture. Sorry.”

True.

Grenville and other political aspirants have to get out there and kiss babies…even the snotty, pissy ones, and LISTEN to what their parents have to say.

They need to go out there and and fire one with the boys in the rum shop, and LISTEN …and no asking for a silver knife and fork to eat the pudding and souse with.

They need to sit on the back steps of old ladies and drink cups of tea with them, and LISTEN.

They have to go to the church hall and talk with the goodly church ladies, and LISTEN

Etc. etc. etc.

25. @ac February 27, 2017 at 10:43 AM “Listen to the daily crao.. Had not for the bligs Parris would have become attorney General”

Maybe not Attorney General, but maybe an Ambassador, for the Commonwealth of Dominica?

Did he show up at the American Embassy with a diplomatic passport from the Commonwealth of Dominica, seeking to get a diplomatic visa too, and did the Americans laugh him out of their place, becasue truly he is neither Dominican nor diplomat?

Lolll!!!

26. Pea brain! every dam day we should give thanks to God

27. @Bush Tea February 27, 2017 at 11:41 AM “Do you need any more evidence of DLP stupidity than that they made him chairman of the now bankrupt CBC of all places for a grammatical laughing stock of Ossie Moore notoriety!”

Yeah boy, the people on the ZR’s were holding their belly with laugh.

But if ya say 1, ya gotta say 2. I may be wrong but did not the BLP make Joey the Chairman of the Child Care Board?

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol….more comic relief…lol

http://bit.ly/2mmCEbD

They dont get more stupid than Warren Beatty, that’s why they say some actors should do nothing but act.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93861/social-scene-evening-cocktails-music

I can tell you though, blacks who are accused of selling out their own for a pat on the head, have no shame.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bush breaks with Trump, calls media ‘indispensable to democracy’

I have beaten up on George Bush so many times and for so many years I am surprised he could still talk…but even he knows that there is no true democracy without a functioning press…..a media, unlijk what the local so called journalists in Barbados believe.

Bush, of all people..lol..I cant remember him muzzling the press, only lying to the people.

Hal, ya may want to take some notes.

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/27/bush-breaks-with-trump-calls-media-indispensable-to-democracy/

And real politicians know or learn during their journeys….POWER is a muscle….the more you use it, the mpre you want to exercise it, the dumbest of the politicians never learn that…all they want to do is exercise that power stupidly.

32. I must take HW Bus seriously. Afterall, he is the academically highest qualified per US president.

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal…Bush is one of the dumbest presidents the US ever had, but at least he can read, how well is still debatable…it’s his father’s money and connections got him into and through Yale…just like Jared Kushner got to Harvard on 2.5 million full ride on daddy’s bank book.

Are you sure you are a journalist…ya cant be a very good one if ya dont already know all of this…

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I suspect Bush is still very pissed at trump why he is telling the truth, must be very hard for him, lying naturally comes much easier….

…..but barbadostoday left out more than half the story…they only want bajans to hear certain things….here is the full story Hal….you will notice Bush did not vote for trump.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-politics/george-bush-donald-trump-media-attack-enemy-people-nbc-today-a7602321.html

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hear Hal…since ya gungho on Bush…ah helping you and Carl Moore out…do not miss the very last sentence of the paragraph, it quotes Bush and states specifically. …..

“And now there’s all kinds of information being bombarded out, and people can say things anonymously. It’s just a different world.”

A could repeat it for you and Carl Moore over and over if ya wish…anonymous blogging is handsoff…not for you or Carl or anyone else to restrict. ..wuh if the decripit Rockefeller could do nothing…I have no clue why you and Carl Moore think ya can.

“Mr Bush was also asked whether President Trump’s promises to unify the US had been borne out in his words and actions.

He said: “First of all there’s only been one month in office. He’s got four years. Secondly, I think you have to take the man for his word that he wants to unify the country and we’ll see whether he’s able to do so.

“It’s hard to unify the country, though, with the news media being so split up. When I was President, you know, you [TV news channels] mattered a lot more, because there was like, three of you.

“And now there’s all kinds of information being bombarded out, and people can say things anonymously. It’s just a different world.”

36. All:

When we seriously analyse the posts, even from those who are ardent supporters of the BLP and DLP, it becomes crystal clear that our country, is in need of a very serious leadership and a socio-economic revolution of profound proportions. I hope that in some village; some heights and or terraces, there is a boy or girl, who will lead us from the depth of this morass into a great nation admired by all. Let us keep the conversation going in our quest to find that future leader. Barbados deserves better and we all know it !!

37. William,h

The Opposition should be leading the public discussion. Instead it is calling for a march. Maybe they need exercise. We know they oppose devaluation, a message delivered to us by the great economist Dr Jerome Walcott.
    We know that Arthur, as party leader, would have got rid of Dr Worrell. What is the official BLP view on his sacking? What is their alternative economic programme?

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol…looks like the ACs ran away…

……it’s these blighted and cursed politicians in the last 30 years got the island in it’s current rut, the hand to mouth, wanna get rich at all cost lot, who use and lie to the electorate to get there.

39. @ Hal
    The problem is that everybody now jockeying
    for positions. They looking for s five year
    ” food ” as our Trini friends would say.
    They believe Mia gine win so they will
    march and let their faces and feet be seen
    Now if the Dems get very lucky and look
    like if dry cud pull um off, they will den go
    wif dem again. Time to look elsewhere.
    First step: shut down the die hard from BOTH
    BOTH parties.

40. May i suggest that you take a look at this fascinating programme produced by Aljazeera.

http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2017/02/business-colonisation-170219113145085.html

41. I don’t recall seeing the name of Mr Jerome Walcott,Surgeon Specialist,among the candidates confirmed in any constituency thus far.What seems to be gaining currency here is that the Opposition is making the government antsy to the extent that the General Secretary George Pilgrim is complaining of the disruption those marches are having on the society and the Minister has taken the option of dodging another No Confidence Motion by responding to the Opposition demand that he address the nation on the state of the economy.As to whether his press conference met the challenge is moot.A journalist asked the minister the reason Dr Worrell was dismissed.The minister didn’t think it expedient to provide that information.

42. Earlier, I saw a story in BarbadosToday where a politician was asking for third parties to unite. The story was littered with the names of former BLP members. I cannot recall seeing the names of ex-DLP members.

I believe that in a contest which pits the duopoly against an ex party hack, a member of the duopoly wins. It is likely that the hack will siphon off a few votes from his/her old party. Since there appears to be a large number of ex BLP ‘officials’ floating around, I can only conclude that they have already made up their mind that their party (the BLP) does not have a chance

Which begs the following 2 questions:
    Are these 3rd parties genuine?
    Do they exist to split the vote and maintain the duopoly?

43. Off Topic. Yesterday’s Hero – Today Trump’s Zero
    http://thevincentian.com/vc-hero-held-at-us-immigration-p12783-149.htm

44. Some appear to think that the rejection of the duopoly and selection of a third party is the answer to our problems. Others appear to think that we can ask a few questions and the answers to those questions will get us out of these dire straits.

These are the abracadabra solutions or just wishful thinking. It is not that simple. Whatever solution we come up with is at best just surface dressing for our deep wound.

We must be prepared to bear the pain and stay the course whilst our wound take time to heal. This was not a wound inflicted by the action of a coward who sneaked up on us, stabs us and then ran away. We underwent a series of botched surgical operations where the physician inflicted increasing harm as he sought to remedy his past malpractices. Monetary agencies commented upon the status of the patient and it is only now we accept that the patient should be moved from the general ward and placed in an acute care ward.

It took effort (unintentional) to get us to this state of affairs, and it will take serious effort to regain the strength to punch in our true weight class.

WWEWBD? I think he would start praying and tighten his belt for the lean time ahead.

45. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

TheGazer March 19, 2017 at 10:20 AM #We must be prepared to bear the pain and stay the course whilst our wound take time to heal@@@@

You really need to do yur homework if your home Birth is Barbados, I was gone for 40 years and learn a lot and still learning as New Plantations i never heard of pop up off records the Government to have in safe keeping till the end of Time.
    The English keep all recrods for they ruled and did not give a shit what no one thought ,Now do your work before blogging it dont look nice to see you putting yourself out there,
    All so called Historians in Barbados i met never came back a second time. for they fail to show me something i knew better than they did,

The land is the Problem the next Problem is telling the Truth, Next missing records from the High Court , Land Registry, Archives and Land Tax, Coverup by Sir title Holders, Next the Minister in government which things got worse as more lawyers sat as Ministers/Lawyers.More Lawyer more Problem, If lawyer need new lawyer before they with Bribes , The old group of lawyer and Judges need to be removed, A Special Master is needed for Barbados and call for inquest,The DPP need to be removed,Sent his ass back to Guyana and a DPP from another island or England Nation , A white man that love locking up Niggers in High Places,