Grenville Phillips II leads Solutions Barbados, one of the many third parties in Barbados

Today’s Barbados Advocate makes for interesting reading. It deals with the prospect of a Third Party taking root in Barbados and potentially influencing the next general election.

Barbados Underground

When the late Lloyd Best, the noted Trinbagonian intellectual, first used the parenthesized phrase in the caption in 1982, it was clear that he was referring to an alliance of Opposition groupings formed to unseat the then governing administration. As he intoned then; “when the bell rings, and when we are summoned once more into the lists of history for battle with the enemy for an alternative future for Trinidad, Tobago and the West Indies, we of the Party of parties will be in a position to offer the electorate one united, effective, solid and indeed impregnable Government”. He meant a party comprising separate parties.

We purport to use the phrase in a different sense today. Given the number of parties claiming to be willing to contest the upcoming general elections, the national poll could conceivably also be termed a party of parties. Whether emboldened by the closeness of the result in the 2013 version, or jaded by the alternation over the last six decades of the two major parties, many people have clamoured for a “third” party, an expression that speaks locally not to the mere ordinal, but to a viable alternative grouping.

It is not that there has been no prior effort in this direction. The National Democratic Party, a splinter group from the Democratic Labour Party and led by the late Dr Richard Haynes (as he then was) presented a platform in the 1990’s that resonated significantly with the electorate but managed to secure a single seat only in two campaigns. History will record that even prior to this there were efforts by other groups at the hustings, although none appeared to possess the sustainability or stomach for the long fight.

Such efforts would have included, in the last general election, a grouping that would fit precisely Mr Best’s usage of the term, but again success of any sort was negligible; with most candidates forfeiting their deposits to the state treasury.

For the forthcoming poll, there are no fewer than three parties vying for the approval of the electorate. Each is so far at varying stages of readiness but we are prepared to concede that these are relatively early days yet. Neither has there been any indication that these three are prepared to become a “party of parties” in the original sense of that term.

What is at least remarkable is that none of them appears to present an ideological alternative to the present duopoly, seemingly content to appeal to current popular disenchantment with the major parties.

Their chances must also be assessed in light of the modern electoral culture in Barbados, where trade in the franchise is an existing reality, even though, admittedly, both regrettable and criminal. Are these parties prepared to buck this trend and be beyond reproach or will they simply be sucked into the vortex of illegality?

Another relevant consideration is the absence hitherto of any hint of constituency organization by any of the newcomers. It is accepted that elections are won by the party with the greatest number of seats. At the same time, however, that number is achieved in thirty constituency contests and not in a single national plebiscite.

Most difficult to overcome however, will be the innate Barbadian resistance to change. A people that has instinctively voted for one or other of the major parties for at least two generations is not likely to alter that mindset on a mere whim.

We may conclude therefore that the new parties, third , fourth or otherwise, will have their work cut out for them if they are to make any impact at all on the various ballots.

There will thus be a party of parties in our sense of the term. Not everyone is likely to leave smiling however.

31 responses to “The “Party of Parties””

1. This is 2017.

The ” new parties ” must use modern technology to fast track a path to getting elected.

2. Untill such time as modern technology lands in Bim for the masses this is the true,tested and tried method winning elections here…..get out,walk about,listen to people and tell what can be done,etc,etc

https://www.facebook.com/mia.mottley/videos/10154634978098303/
    #BTElectionWatch #BarbadosElectionWatch
    Barbados Labour Party MP Santia Bradshaw is calling for better in the parish of St. Michael

Barbados Today will be keeping posted as we lead up to the next general election in #Barbados. Just follow and click on our HASHTAGS #BTElectionWatch and #BarbadosElectionWatch

3. @ Vincent Haynes, .”get out,walk about,listen to people”…… and hand them printed copies

and/or usb drives with your manifesto.

4. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Vote C U P, Only CUP will to say the Truth and Fix what’s need to be fixed by Law.

CUP is not part of or affiliated with any part or parts of the DBLP Government, Minister or lawyers

The laws on the Books, Enforcement is the Next Step.

CUP seek to remove the DBLP cancer from the Barbados, They are Pure Corruption.

5. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Vincent Haynes February 25, 2017 at 4:21 PM # @

The Problems in Barbados is from the TOP down. We know they were not talking about land and conveniences? Bradshaw Lawyer in the same office building, the same Floor as your
    Sir Richard L Cheltenham lawyer crook, We spoke to her before last elections gave her the root cause of the land issue fraud in Barbados, We can be more than sure than not, that we also hold the Plantation deed for where they stood talking,
    I wonder if she ever asked Mia about all I told her? Well both to be lawyers? Liars covering up,
    What needed to be spoken are their actions in office BLP for their is bigger trash in office than the street and the streets are a mess.

6. Violet C Beckles CUP February 25, 2017 at 5:35 PM #

Your comments over the years is the best evidence any one could want…..we in Bim are all socialised the same way,as you haven proven time and again,by approaching a number of different people and getting the same result,so putting any other Bimmer in will achieve the same zero change.

Bimmers will only change when forced to by external happenings and in the meantime in the words of EWB…..stay far from Coleridge street…..

7. People seeking alternative parties look for ideologies Direction and Purpose. Those are the three main ingredients that attracts and embrace and individual when searching for an alternative. All the other principals although important are secondary but not without importance

8. ac you party gine be one of the 3rd parties–not in government! lmao

9. look ac having party tonight all are invited but bring your own drinks another fiscal adjustment necessary in helping to cut my budget

10. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

Vincent Haynes February 25, 2017 at 5:47 PM #@

There is a lot most people dont know, for when doing polling they only put DLP or BLP and they may add another party backup, None says CUP
    If they dear, People who spoke to us last election including the media asked if this was one- time thing, We told them no we will be back and we never to stop, We know the people need to be educated on what went wrong. One sided false news and not reporting will make them feel better . VOB,CBC and ALL other play the game on the People, Street talk much different than TV CBC news and papers, The people know more than what is on this Blog, If the people want change they need to change their votes from the DBLP types,
    We walked the street, told the unprinted news of truth, We will do much better time, Watch and see, They need to be worried, for all their lies can not get them a deed under the BLP and over 8 years of the DLP ,
    All you have to do is ask any party running for a Clear title deed, if they cant show one for 60 Million for the people in the city for the IDC and show another for 160 Million for the IDB for FOUR SEASONS BUT WE CAN, How does that work? it can none of them are the owners, So the money is there for the People, but being blocked by the DBLP, A new unspoil Party that holds title can unlock Barbados clean future going forward,

11. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

.stay far from Coleridge street…..? I think that name is also on our deeds with the Plantation,

12. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

Violet C Beckles CUP January 16, 2017 at 8:30 PM #

Enuff April 16, 2016 at 6:06 AM #

Construction funded through borrowing under the BLP, and civil/structural engineers used:
    Kensington Oval – CEP Ltd
    Judicial Centre – CEP Ltd
    GAIA – CEP Ltd
    Grenville Phillips I I – Director, CEP Ltd 2004-2011

We smell a RAT?

13. Hi Violet:

I could provide a long list of projects that I have won by competing with Engineering companies from the US, Canada, Europe, South America, and the rest of the Caribbean. What is it about success that offends you so much? Would you be contented if US companies won those projects?

Regards,
    Grenville

14. @Violet C Beckles CUP February 25, 2017 at 5:04 PM “Vote C U P”

I can’t vote for you, not while you are claiming that my land that I bought with my own hard earned money is yours.

No vote for CUP.

15. @nextparty246 February 25, 2017 at 10:29 PM “Would you be contented if US companies won those projects?”

I would be contented if U.S. companies won the projects if the U.S. companies were able to deliver faster, better and cheaper.

I have nothing against faster, better and cheaper.

Most taxpayers have nothing against faster, better and cheaper.

16. Violet Beckles

Oh gosh, stop trying to misrepresent what I said. It was not to infer anyone was corrupt.

What is interesting though is the fact that a party of business persons have to keep their identity a secret to avoid losing government contracts. Now if they are so dependent on government contracts are they really astute, innovative and progressive business people as is being suggested?

17. @ Enuff

And therein lies the crux…

You said and i quote “…What is interesting though is the fact that a party of business persons have to keep their identity a secret to avoid losing government contracts…”

None of them can come out to the fore and make either an individual or collective statement because, irrespective of how good they effect their contracts, they will get the axe

AND FURTHERMORE Enuff, the following administration will also punish them for their open speech BECAUSE while the government of the day changes the wicked spiteful Permanent Secretaries and snivel servants remain to effect the bidding of the Dead King.

You will note how Grenville continues to monitor the Barbados Underground

As do they all as do they all…

18. @ Vincent

It is glaringly obvious now that you are campaigning for Mugabe heheheheheh for according to de BLP mantra, which All but Payne and Oblong Head Kerrie and Eddie and *** is saying, “A vote for Mu-ga-bee, is a Vote for you, and me” heheheheheheh

To whichin Vincent dat should be “a Vote Against Mu-ga-be, is voting against ALL UH WE”

De Grandson do dis lil video jes to show how de General Election Videos going focus pun de Ole Man Stoopid Videos and other things.

Here is “How Video Clips can Tell Lie” about politicians or conversely, display candidates in the light that they should be displayed in.

https://youtu.be/IcGgu94tOXg

Now please note dat the video is solely a social experiment and clearly displays that message (heheheheheheh) but, given all the talk the Cris Decimal Bonds talking bout “De morality of Barbados is at Stake” while he printing $50M fraudulently each month, one can only wonder what the BLP’s Reverend Joseph A’s position is about Leviticus 18:22 “Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.”

I guess that he could plead a variation of the 5th amendment and say “the verse which I prentend to uphold pun a sunday, does not say nor womankind with womankind” so I will remain silent where the Bible is silent

Whu you tink Vincent??

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The business people cannot form any political party, too many scams using both DBLP for 30 years to get where they are…lol…..they probably had to much to drink at that cocktail party and developed delusions of grandeur…re coming through the back door as a whole government.

All their dirty business through the years would be on the blogs before they can say….bribery/extortion…lol

20. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght – INRI February 26, 2017 at 1:08 AM “what the BLP’s Reverend Joseph A’s position is about Leviticus 18:22 “Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.”

Peices I think that you are being too hard on the man.

Men look at women’s botsies.

ALL men look at women’s botsies.

As long as they don’t TOUCH without permission, no harm is done.

We don’t want to outlaw lookie, lookie now do we?

Stupssseee!!!

21. You ain’t see Mel Williams (107) in Friday’s Nation say he looking for a wife.

What do you think that wives’s are for?

Dat is how de Lord mek wunna men.

End of story.

22. Piece

I would not go so far as to say that I am campaigning but yes I presently would support MAM as she has the experience and knowledge or knows where to get it from if she hasn’t.

23. PUDRYR needs to cut the reverend some slack, he might have been admiring the cut of her frock.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ simple simon

Let me explain the video and what I meant by saying “how videos lie”

I clearly said that this was a social experiment in what we the public are fed and what is the truth.

The amount of landscape of the video was purposely cropped to deny you the audience perspective of where the goodly reverend was actually looking, he was in fact taking a Whatsapp message on his phone from *** (ask Mugabe cause she monitoring all internal communication on Team Mugabe phones)

Mine was not an indictment of the man, or any man for looking at dem lovely assets of female pulchritude at any rate, it was to show all of you how you see “what you are being fed and not what is there.”

Secondly, my substantive point with this man of the cloth, or any such so called reverend is the fact of how does he reconcile his spiritual dispensation while under the rule of Mugabe ergo my statement and juxtaposition of Leviticus 18:22

I honestly would love to give them slack but they have forgotten their First Love for Mammon

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent

I going say the same thing to you and your fallacy comments bout Mugabe as I said to Alvin Cummings on another BU blog earlier

Here is a summary of that experience that Mugabe Has and the peopl who she will go to when she does not

1.Mugabe Mottley 30 years of School meals syrup, Veco/Dodds, Edutech and Wiretapping
    2.Dale Teets Miller 20someting years of similar waste foopisms most recently as Attorney General and gun toting mp wanting to kill the Bulldog estwick
    3.George Payne Hats whom his LoO is purported to have paid opposing members of the electorate to vote against him
    4.Ronald Toppin Mr Lime Monopoly at the expense of Bajan bulling and hedomadal rape
    5.Kerrie Oblong HeadSimmonds purported wife beater and tyre slasher

Need I go on to show the pool that Mugabe can rely on ?

6.Rev. Joseph Atherley (St. Michael West) De Spiritual Conscience of the Nation who can’t answer any questions about if he feels that one woman should bite out another woman’s clitoris
    7.Jeffrey Bostic (City of Bridgetown) the Cricket World Cup Scam(p)
    8.Lynette Eastmond (St. Philip West) BLP member as well as leader of another political party simultaneously

Vincent as man let me ask you a question for real for real (dat is de grans talking heheheheh, must stick to character)

You know the Bajan white man Deane formerly at JB’s ?

He seems like a good upstanding business-capable white man to you dat can run fuh a seat ?

Whu bout Bertram Hall? Popular Supermarket?

He seem like a good nigger and competent black man that could run tings fuh you?

I ent know no injuns or Lebanese or Chinese but you tink dat dere is some peeple thirty uh dem who is competent people dat ent got any you mudda chvunt baggage pun dem?

As man Vincent, you thing we cud dun way wid dese two succubii and bring some competent, committed Bajans? instead of all dat tainted meat???

Steupseee

26. Piece

Nope…..we made our bed many decades ago by creating this political class so we must lie in it.

However the time has come for the people not to add to it but make them accountable to us and though you pooh poohed my idea of civil disobedience by staying home day a week, it can work.

We made this machine so lets fix it and not by tossing more parts in it but by correcting the steering.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent

The steering rod is warped and cannot be straightened it must be abandoned

28. Piece

We have had a long dance today and must agree to disagree but I do agree with all issues raised our difference lies in solving it.

29. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

nextparty246 February 25, 2017 at 10:29 PM #

Hi Violet:

I could provide a long list of projects that I have won by competing with Engineering companies from the US, Canada, Europe, South America, and the rest of the Caribbean. What is it about success that offends you so much? Would you be contented if US companies won those projects?

Regards,
    Grenville

@@@ What the CUP is saying that where were you in 2008, 2009, 2010,20011 2012,2013,2014 or even 2015 ,So for 2016 you pop up? did you think all was fine and well in Bim as long your business was moving well. Nothing Against you and doing your business, the point is from where we stand without freedom of information/ freedom of the Press or which we push on our own, Shows us that most of the work you had done was on the Estate of Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles. It seem that none of you in Business look nor cared as long as you all are being paid, Now there is no more business now you want to run in your interest of business only, all is just business to you , Even after out near 2 hours of talking face to face you show no heart, or a GOD dam about nothing but money, So from that we know you are on the side of Money, We reached out thinking you were someone who want to make a change in things , but we see greed and discare of the People of Barbados, We see you as a Backup for the DBLP in case they get ran out of government,
    Have you even seen or heard of this Massive Land fraud?
    To be in Barbados and not read the news papers over the years, or even check your home or business Clear title .
    Are you part of this group, It sure sounds like you ,,

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93698/hoyos-file-getting-truck-ditch#sthash.rrqa66iG.dpuf

30. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

Simple Simon February 25, 2017 at 10:33 PM #

@Violet C Beckles CUP February 25, 2017 at 5:04 PM “Vote C U P”

I can’t vote for you, not while you are claiming that my land that I bought with my own hard earned money is yours.

No vote for CUP.@@@@

Very funny, Your land that you bought ! hard earn money! My Goodman this is why its called Fraud, This is why Barbados is in this mess,

We can use the same words. Beatrice Henry bought land and Plantation with her hard money when using pounds not dollars, We may have the plantation deeds,for near all of barbados, Some land was sold before the plantations were sold you maybe one of the few, You know you can do your own land search and know first hand . Things will change soon , So hiding will not help, The main crooks are the Church, DBLP government,

We are not here to put people out of homes because of fraud,, People like Mia and Minister will have to answer the people for their fraud with Sir COW and Sir Chelteham , If all they had done with the UDC like they were to do , Paying the right people and moving people from land rent to land ownership , Barbados then would have a bigger land tax roll, We may not have as many problems as we have today, along with NHC also,
    So this is why its important to get Barbados in right order,and have to people who have been on the land to get a true and clear title, They then can pass on to their Heirs, rebuild, fix up, extend,line of credit, Home equity loans for school, vacation what ever.

This is why Projects from 2013 can not be started, this is why barbados have down grades, this is why Nothing will start in Bim , This is why IDB, IMF, Moody’s,S&P ,,, This is why Barbados is on hold,
    So for all who want to live a lie , it will not get better, as the World turn their backs on Barbados..
    Look at the Banks, where and how do they make their money? loans for homes is the real money, not visa cards or car loans, Housing is the Key to rebuild Barbados, and all things that goes inside, We are sure COURTS will be happy,

To Vote or Not to Vote, but things must be put in place, All the White People know what was done by Now, The Blacks dont know and learning,
    When they meet The CUP we let them speak , By the time its over they KNOW and well Overstand , This is Why the DBLP have to GO, So say SB wins they will still have to Meet CUP at the table or the new government also will be stuck , Barbados need no more PAIN< We are here to end the Pain, Ministers are now fighting for their lives,

Forensic Audit must be done, We will post the FINDINGS, for all to see, So we all can see where to start over for Barbados and its people,

31. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

enuff February 25, 2017 at 10:37 PM #

Violet Beckles

Oh gosh, stop trying to misrepresent what I said. It was not to infer anyone was corrupt.

What is interesting though is the fact that a party of business persons have to keep their identity a secret to avoid losing government contracts. Now if they are so dependent on government contracts are they really astute, innovative and progressive business people as is being suggested?@@@@@

Enuff by now you should know how we move, If we have proof he was a crook we would post it, the truth is we never had to look his way until now,

We are saying where he worked or built was on land without land owners permission from our end, as said many time Police , AG, Water company, Land registry, Archive have what we have unseen by most of Barbados, Even with this proof in his face he dont care, He want money and work, Now if i was to walk in his yard and do as i like we are sure he would act up.Trespass is a crime, Now you know its a crime what will he do ? Next.

Phillps can not get another agreement contract because the government knows the word is out, So they cant get outside investors to be part of their fraud,
    Phillips need to understand that, If the PM right now can do as he like to get the votes for the next election he would just print all the money he want and do as he like, Even as a lawyer / AG/ now PM he knows its against all LAWs , not like EX AG, CJ David Simmons who build the new High Court at the cost of 150 Million and the land at 80 to 90 Million, who now have a rental bill of 156,000 per month recorded. ”
    So More Pain to come until CUP stops the Pain of a nation With Truth, No time limit on Fraud,

All things stop in Bim can be re- started in Bim , As far as Hyatt , they People May have to Vote on that, We need to hold some beaches in Bim for the People.