Submitted by David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley is right in calling for and mobilizing a march against the governmental Administration of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, but she has not gone far enough in identifying the primary goal of the march.

It is not enough to stage a march to express “disgust” at the Freundel Stuart Administration! The political, economic, psychological, and social situation in Barbados has gone far beyond a mere expression of disgust. Barbadians need– as a matter of the utmost urgency– to be relieved from the stultifying grasp of a rotten Governmental Administration that has lost all political legitimacy and that is taking the country down to a disaster of epic proportions.

The only remedy — the only demand– that makes sense at this late stage is a demand for the staging of new General Elections– now!

Our nation urgently needs to be released from the utterly dysfunctional and clue-less Freundel Stuart Administration, and a new national political leadership needs to be put in place. The central demand and slogan of the Opposition Leader’s march should therefore be:- “Elections Now!”.

Indeed, the march needs to be focused on launching a mass people’s demand for immediate new General Elections, and calling on all right thinking Barbadians to march and demonstrate in support of such a demand until it is achieved!

No sane or responsible Barbadian can any longer have any lingering doubt that our nation is in grave peril.

Like the notorious Roman Emperor “Nero”, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has shamelessly abdicated his leadership responsibilities and has chosen to “fiddle” with his Democratic Labour Party cohorts in New York City while his country burns!

In a mind-boggling interview carried out in New York with the Nation Newspaper last Monday, the Prime Minister of our country asserted that he has no idea as to whether his Government had lost confidence in Dr Delisle Worrell, the Governor of the Central Bank!

The Nero-like Prime Minister Stuart also claimed to be unaware that his Minister of Finance, Mr Chris Sinckler, had brought any “proceedings” against Dr. Worrell! Mr Stuart’s precise words were:- “I have not made myself privy to all that has been happening because I am not aware that proceedings were brought by the Minister of Finance against the Governor…. It is my understanding that proceedings were brought by the Governor”.

These are the words and reactions of a political leader who has lost contact with reality, and who has therefore lost any right to continue to hold on to the reins of government. It is time for Mr Stuart and his Administration to go !

167 responses to “Let’s March for New Elections –NOW!”

1. @VH
    Interesting ideas. But after 50 years of doing the same things and getting away with it, it is doubtful if we can teach this two-headed hydra some new tricks.

From above, you seem to be standing in no-man’s land and willing to drink from the poisoned chalice as long as the BDLP is giving it to you,

I can understand your reluctance to embrace a new party, but if we continue with this two-headed hydra then the next 5 years will be like the past 5 years. Do you remember the expression “How long is too long when it is good”. It is not good and 51 years is a year too long.

The longer we delay, the worse it will get and the more difficult it will be to remove this yoke.

2. TheGazer February 25, 2017 at 4:20 PM #

Why have you ignored my point on peacefull civil disobedience……one day a week no one leaves home…..do you think any govt will not get the message after about 12 days(3 months).

We are all out of the same womb metaphorically speaking,so electing a third/fourth party is like changing the chairs on the Titanic and adding more members to the political class…..nothing will change unless we show them that we are not taking the foolishness anymore…..its known as Peoples Power.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent

Your analogy of likening the introduction of a third party to being on the titanic and playing musical chairs is not as interesting as it is informative

What you have proposed is clearly indicative of your mindset and support for Mugabe in simple words.

For here it is you are saying that Bajans perform this one day where they do not do any work, and of course you are only speaking about public workers who risk disciplinary action and firing but what you have mplicitly said is “leh we not upset the apple cart cause the alternative that we have, of Mugabe Mottle, is okay” pun the same sinking ship

4. What is David Comissiong position about Muduro In Venezuela. The opposition marched against shortages that Barbados has not seen and he still supports the regime. The opposition called for new elections with massive rallies and he still supports the oppressive regime.
    As I reflect back on the government never accepting the petrocaribe deal that Mr Comissiong pushed for with Venezuela. I have seen a personal vendetta against the government from Mr.Comissiong . His call for elections in Barbados outside of the constitutional time frame is hypocritical

5. @curious February 25, 2017 at 9:50 PM “His call for elections in Barbados outside of the constitutional time frame is hypocritical.”

There is nothing unconstitutional about calling for early elections. Understandably the DLP does not like the calls for early elections and marches, but the constitution is not about what the DLP (or the BLP) likes.

6. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght – INRI February 25, 2017 at 2:30 PM “de ole man deals in Bushmasters, Glocks and 9mm’s.”

I am truly sorry to hear this.

I hope that you have declared these weapons to Customs.

I trust that you do not intend (like some other politicians) to crack our heads or to shoot us.

7. @ Simple Simon

So why cant de ole man have licensed weapons? Whu I ent nobody.

And let us jes supposed dat dem s not licensed, you see me robbing any body?

Further, if dem was unlicensed a feller who know what he was doing would clean de weapons while wearing dem gloves that you use at the hospital and, after killing de intruders, put de weapons in dem hand.

It is better to loose $3,000 in guns and to explain to de police dat you is a bad ninja man, and dat de discharge pun you hand come from overpowering de assailant(s) and killing he/dem in de process

Simple, whu you got to realise from your nursing job by now is dat we all going dead sometime but you doan want to dead stoopid like a simpleton does you?

8. Alvin Cummins February 24, 2017 at 9:44 AM #

That is quite true. This board is filled with a lot of malcontent-speak and attack of individuals, for the sake of attack, without understanding the economic issues nor with potential solutions.

However, the administration should have bitten the bullet early on and privatised many of the money suckers.

The university fee issue was but a mild symptom of the real issues facing the economy. Well before then the reality should have been obvious and a few of us did mention it on these boards.

That university matter was a highlight of the problems breaking the dam and here we are.

At this point, we can accept that most of those functional agencies run by government will be privatised, it is only a matter of time.

I do hope however, that the BWA, National Gas and the ports are put to the local stock market, rather than selling them off to whomever jumps in.

A whole restructuring is necessary to get Barbados viable again. It is not about selling the family jewels, it is about accepting that there is no need for government to be running all of these agencies, actually it is ridiculous. What, just so that whichever government happens to be in power, can put whomever, wherever with no thought as to success of the organisation and economy?

At least, under a supervised program (read IMF) the requisite restructuring will be demanded and implemented with oversight by an independent body.

Do not like that? Well, that is the reality, too late for anything else.

From the time of the last BLP administration, we started on the current path, I said so on these board, go back and check if you wish.

Then this administration continued on the borrow train and moreover, made decisions based on political expedience rather than good economic governance.

Finally, I fear that those ‘third party saviours’ will just add to the typical entrenched pomposity rather than any real solutions.

9. Piece

Why don’t you do a rebuttal to my posit as opposed to swiping like blind elder and yes at present I would support MAM, my posit being that in the present state of our country we need a govt that has been around before not some wet behind the ears new kid on the block.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Alvin Cummings

Let me see if I can deconstruct that “government that has been around fallacy”

Let me start by naming them

1.Mugabe Mottley 30 years of School meals syrup, Veco/Dodds, Edutech and Wiretapping
    2.Dale Teets Miller 20someting years of similar waste foopisms most recently as Attorney General and gun toting mp wanting to kill the Bulldog estwick
    3.George Payne Hats whom his LoO is purported to have paid opposing members of the electorate to vote against him
    4.Ronald Toppin Mr Lime Monopoly at the expense of Bajan bulling and hedomadal rape
    5.Kerrie Oblong HeadSimmonds purported wife beater and tyre slasher

Need I go on to show their competencies?

6.Rev. Joseph Atherley (St. Michael West) De Spiritual Conscience of the Nation
    7.Jeffrey Bostic (City of Bridgetown) the Cricket World Cup Scam(p)
    8.Lynette Eastmond (St. Philip West) BLP member as well as leader of another political party

No sir dese is not wet behind the ears these is shelf life has expired long ago people…

You like that blind swipe???

11. Piece

Chuckle….the above I believe was directed at me.

Why stop there you still have 277,000 more to go as well as a whole heap of dead ones, for each one has a story either factual or alt-facts.

The above is immaterial as at present the trough is dry to the extent of cracking, wire tapping is past tense know as everything on fb,BU,smartphone is being recorded internationaly and as far as the rest is concerned not applicable to running a country.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Alvin Cummings

Sorry, I muss have been drinking I could swear I saw your name

@ Vincent

I answered you on the other thread but I do believe that we have some good devoted white, black, Indian, Chinese Bajans an oxymoron to be sure that are capable Vincent

“Was you born bigly, Vincent?”

Only about 6 of Miamottley team has any “experience” in running government albeit they are thieves

Here is what I would ask you Vincent to do for me.

I going put up a topic – Community Empowerment

And I going put up Two Names

Jennifer Sealy and Rodney Grant

Jennifer and Grant is two selfless champions for Social Empowerment of the really socially disposed dat does do what we would want effers like Steve Blackett and Lil Caesar Stephen Lashley to do

You give me two. Names and leh we see effing we can mek 30 Bajans fuh we cuntry Vincent

13. Piece

We do not have time to train a bunch of neophytes, we need to look for some people with parliamentary knowledge who will listen to the technocrats for at least the first three years before they start looking at the next election and most of all have a savvy PEOPLE ready to put their feet to the fire.

14. Correct take a look at the mayhem in brexit because of people power and the chaos in Washington because the people hired a President with no experienced and he in turn hires a bunch of buffoons and Wall Street Tycoons to Drain the swamp
    Just take a look at the mess coming from both ponds.
    However Mottley experience cannot save her she was party to an administration which dug some of the economic holes that barbados all but fell into.. now why should she be rewarded especially in light of the fact she has offered nothing of substance in way of correction

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent

Neophytes? Neophytes?

According to yo chuckle and de ROTFLMAO!

Looka dis shadow minister list of “neophytes” albeit dated and tell me if you should not bite off your tongue with that word.

Mia Amor Mottley QC, MP — Finance and Economic Affairs, Public Service, and Office of the Prime Minister

George Payne, QC, MP — Public Works and Infrastructure

Gline Clarke, MP — Agriculture and Rural Development

Ronald Toppin, MP — Tourism and International Transport

Dale Marshall, QC, MP — Attorney General and Home Affairs

Santia Bradshaw, MP — Leader of the Opposition Business in the House of Assembly; Small Business, Innovation, Youth, Culture, and Sports.

Edmund Hinkson, MP — Education and Human Resource Development

Trevor Prescod, MP — Transport, Public Utilities, and Water Resources

Dr Maria Agard, MP — Health

Kerrie Symmonds, MP — Industry, Commerce, and International Business

Cynthia Forde, MP — Social Care, Family, and Community Development

Dwight Sutherland, MP — Labour & Social Security

Jeffrey Bostic, MP — Housing, Lands, and Urban Development

Senator Dr Jerome Walcott – Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate; and Foreign Affairs and Foreign Τ rade.

Senator Wilfred Abrahams — Energy and the Environment

This is precisely the reason that no candidate should be allowed in the HoA without first attending Government and Governance School.

Now you mean to tell that after 50 effing years there are no videos and Manuals that that waste Foop Public Services Commission in Conjunction with the Clerk of Parliament and the Permanent Secretaries, have produced? to show what people must do?

Dat should be an online course and requisite dat the UWI should be offering for every effing government of the 13 Caricom Member States.

But Vincent dis is why we are waste foopisms dat the first world countries laugh at when they visit us monkeys.

16. Piece

They have been attending training as to how not to do things since 2008 with the few sessions in parliament and I like the marches and community talks because that has made the people more aware…..the end result will be an aware public who expects better from them and a virulent opposition with a new leader whoever that maybe to stir up the crowd.

They have to hit the deck hard and running which I have no doubt that MAM is perfectly aware of.One thing no one can dispute is her leadership abilities as she has dealt with all the mutinys effectively.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Piece….I saw this on the ND forum, note the name and association of one of the surviving shooting victims.

“BARBADOS (Naked Departure) — GANG VIOLENCE — Naked, known gang members are being picked up and questioned for the shooting murder of Andrew Antonio King two Friday’s ago. Included in the pickup are Rossi from the Red Sea and several from the Pine. Also questioned was “Fire Chief” from St. James.

Police seem to be under pressure as one of the surviving victims is former Chief Justice, David Simmon’s nephew, Prince Thomas. Rich business owners alike have been making demands……………”