Present
Baba Elombe (Elton D Mottley)
In a National Conversation
At the Barbados Workers Union Auditorium
Hindsbury Road, Bridgetown
On Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 7:30 pm
About the future of your children
Your survival as you age, and
How to build Barbados over the next 50 Years.

DON’T MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY

63 responses to “Elombe Mottley Presents –How to Build Barbados Over the Next 50 Years”

1. @ Vincent

“…bearing in mind our diaspora in the UK, USA & CAN are used to it and they would presumably support it…”

There is alot to be said about the efficacy of Crowdfunding “WHERE THE RECIPIENT AND THE DONOR ARE IN ONE ZONE’

Crowd-funding has its rules, both written and unspoken.

For example a written one may be that this Crowdfunding mechanism words in international areas but as an unspoken rule they might be unspoken rules of (non) engagement which might say “the target jurisdiction”.

“the target ethnic group” (niggers/gypsies/and chinese) is disposed to scamming people, African World bank scams, all gypsies are thieves or do not order anything form china because you will get fake cabbage and rice)

Much like barbados has the international reputation of Bob Barker of the The Price is Right Game Show, remember DownLowe and Cahill and Me Clare Who de F is you? and Del Masturbators of the archaic photovoltaic tings dem, the world of crowdfunding has its rules.

Now whereas I can get a credit profile on anyone and secure additional defining information about a offering in the UK, Canada or the USA, given that i cant gt simple information from corporate affairs then you dun know that we dealing with an additional layer of inefficient bureaucracy

Doan tek my word for it, go to capipo .gov.bb and test whu de ole man saying fuh youself.

And pease do not talk bout facilitation by AirHead Always Airbourne Maxine McClean and she Foreign Affairs dipshits dat is another Waste Foop entity to use to get the validations of local counterparts.

Vincent, we are known to be big talkers who can do nothing while talking pretty bout it and for that I give you the governments of the BLP and the DLP

2. Piece

Chuckle…..you have a point on credibility as far as this govt is concerned.

…..with crowfunding its usefull if you could show some paper work like tax free NGO status,a percentage $ support from govt in hand not a promise and if it is a project requiring land a clear 99 year lease title at pepper corn rate,with no land tax from govt.

…..which is why I will take your point and suggest to whoever going forward to await a change of govt preferably the BLP as they know the ropes already and would hit the road running.

….Hahaha…..guh long an cuss muh……

3. Former Close Associate Avatar
    Former Close Associate

@ BLP & DLP Corruption Expose

I believe your post as I know Steven Williams of Sunisle and did business with him when he was located in Belleville.

This guy cannot be trusted and is a scamster.

I lost a lot of money on a Project he was working on in a Joint Venture where I was scammed and still have not been reimbursed for his deception.

I now understand from his affliction with the Barbados Police and other officials when the BLP was in power why my complaints went no where.

This guy is a lowlife and a nasty piece of work and very unprofessional.

I am surprised no one has taking him out as yet.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tron February 22, 2017 at 4:19 PM
    “The current mess is less about the ethnical background, but a fight between the establishment and the ordinary citizens. Black and white aristocrats, on their many dinner parties in the Hilton and at Sandy Lane, they are alike.”

What aristocrats what! Who are they in Bim? You certainly don’t mean that bunch of classless ostentatiously garish breed of parasites whose only talent is sucking the milk from taxpayers’ sore breasts?

These people to whom you refer wouldn’t be to even get a pass to enter through the door to the ‘servants’ quarters’ at St. James Palace.

You clearly don’t mean the ragtag band of black political frauds pretending to be intellectuals whose academic credentials are worth as much as the common muck that can be found in the sewage pipelines and blocking the out-flowing diffusers.

The title “Sir” in Bim does not automatically confer status of aristocratic breeding on an individual in whichever endeavour in the pursuit of excellence.

You have to earn it for it to be respected internationally. There is only ‘One’ genuine aristocrat in Bim. That is the Right Excellent Sir G. St. A Sobers.

The rest are nothing back pure political ass-lickers with only a tainted moral soul and an overbearing ego of social arrogance to show as any achievement of merit.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

I dont know how anyone in Barbados besides Sobers can be thought of as aristocratic or elitist, just because they colluded with government ministers to rob taxpayers for 30 years, all it does is make them parasites and thieves, these are classesless, soul-less pigs who should be routing around in the mud and filth they created on the island…..for decades.

6. @millertheanunnaki

Hopefully, this nightmare is over for all of us very soon. Better an economic shutdown now with a fresh start than another 10 years of alternative facts on Cahill, UAE and Chinese loans and so many new hotels. Or to put it this way: Better a terrible end than unending terror.

7. @Pieces February 22, 2017 at 10:00 AM….You speak well on this subject. Unfortunately I fall into your critique space as well.

Like @Austin, some years ago I also called stridently for a programme to record the memories of some older stalwarts who had done really yeomen service for Bajans generally but targeted towards a certain bunch of young men and then women.

I too was concerned of the passing parade and the loss of a valuable history. Alas, I did not push forward and arrange for others or myself directly to do the series of necessary interviews and ensure the oral history was created. The opportunity is fast fading. One of those stalwarts went to his final home some weeks ago. Another is now restricted to his earthly abode. And another has prolonged mental lapses.

So to read your riposte to Austin’s ‘lethargy’ is a painful reminder of my own….and too that of many others. A sad reminder that we need to act in our individual ways to effect a solution even as we offer up all the fancy ideas!

Surely Elombe’s ‘TED’ talk was taped and surely the upcoming one will be.

Surely Austin can seed some funds from his network of extensive associates to propel his own incubating program of students to complete an impressive electronic oral history series of documentaries or even ‘TED’ like public presentations.

Surely I must salvage some pride and move the ‘lovely’ thoughts to meaningful reality before that older cohort all ‘disappear’ mentality and physically.

Surely the smart folks here can tape their own griots of grand-parents, former old-school teachers, old neighbors etc.

And just as surely the Blogmaster would host such efforts for all to view, cross fertilize and enjoy!

8. Every Sunday Sun newspaper contains a supplement with the glad tidings brigade holding a glass of mauby and grinning from ear to ear.It all looks so contrived and stupid.

9. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Building homes for the Bajans, Its their turn to get something done for them , Thay have paid VAT for over 20 years and UDC give them nothing, Why , crooks lawyers Ministers teeeefing the money,

NHC has failed for nothing but crooks lawyers /Ministers in this mess , teeefing the money

BAR= crooks lawyers and no rules or laws on how lawyers behave, BAR feees and helping lawyer Teeeffff the people money

Judges were also crook lawyers, now on the Bench backing up each others fraud, teeeffing ,

CJs like David Simmons, DPP and AG teeefing time and money paid for doing nothing,but blocking and delaying the law,

Ministers/ lawyer Ministers teeefing and covering up the teeefing in Barbados.

So we Have a real problem with Lawyers/ Ministers Teeeefing and telling lies as soon as their lips move,
    We have to stop the lawyer class from teeefing and running for office, more lawyers more teeefing more lies,

We dont need not one hore Hotel so COW and company can walk off with more NIS/VAT money, and all things for them are DUTY FREE<.

More White people end up with good paying jobs than the locals, Not even born in Barbados,

10. Here is one ot the things that we as bajans cannot do if we want to build a “Better barbados over the Next 50 Years”

We will change from Barbados to the Republic of Mugabyville

http://imgur.com/a/LcNfe

11. The popular singer Rihanna has been named the 2017 Harvard University Humanitarian of the Year, and will come to campus to accept the Peter J. Gomes Humanitarian Award at a ceremony Feb. 28.

Read More: http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2017/02/rihanna-named-humanitarian-of-year/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=hu-twitter-general

12. I find most of the above horrific. Look at where we have reached. A son of the soil believes he has a possible answer as to how we can move forward after the near decimation of our country by a set of fools, and through The Barbados Workers Union (and I assume they represent all Bajans) wants to share. He not saying you have to do what he says. He merely wants to share his possible answers.

We so ready to share the beliefs of every Tom, Dick & Harry that come here spewing real nonsense, most of it under the guise of being sent from God Himself. We not only ready to share but to pay through we nose for that share. But up comes one of us, and we have to denigrate, insult and generally talk shite, if you really want to know, instead of being constructive and supportive.

Nothing seems to change on our beautiful island that if it could cry would shed so many tears it would wash the whole lot of us away. Crabs in a barrel that only stand still and listen and adore when ignorance and corruption of any kind arrives on our shores. Shame on the whole lot of you that can do nothing but sit at home and throw negativity like its a cricket ball and all ya de best bowlers in da world! Simple reasons why Barbados will continue on its downhill lava-flowing ways. Boy! When you are part of this island, you get mashed if you do and mashed if you don’t.

While it might make no sense to remind the many who like to put down people before even giving them a new chance for we seem to believe that there is only one chance in life and if you make a mistake, you done dead – in fact it seems in Barbados you do not even have to make a mistake, just be different and you dead with some people not even leaving their homes to find out about life but know it all, bad-talking others till dem dead; I still leaving these quotes here for all of you and even for Elombe who I am sure does not need reminding.

“Don’t worry about the negative people may say about you. Learn from it and move on.”
    ― Amanda Penland

“Although the project failed—the client did not change its product strategy…but learned from it and figured out what had to be done differently.” Amy C Edmondson

13. …and as for the news re our RiRi. If she had listened to all the negativity Barbados threw out at her every move, purely from jealousy it would seem to me, she would have buried her head in a pile of mud preferably not on the place of her birth in case some might dig she up and hang her out to dry. Bless you Rihanna for standing tall against every adversity and moving forward every step of the way! Congratulations girl. Continue. Continue. Continue.