Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

Wonderful to relate, or “mirabile dictu”, as my two Latin masters of long ago, Messrs. Wellington and [CQ] Williams, would have preferred, I do not find it necessary today to resume my analysis of the Trump presidency; a phenomenon that seems anyway to be imploding towards self-destruction. Moreover, there is sufficient drama being played out in our own front-house to provide adequate fodder for the hebdomadal columnist.

The coup de théâtre of the week has been the denouement of Barbados’s seemingly intractable economic woes being played out in the courts, where the Governor of the Central Bank, Dr DeLisle Worrell, is resisting the attempt of the Minister of Finance to dismiss him from office. To the time of writing, Dr Worrell has managed to secure two injunctions to retain the office; one, by an interlocutory ex parte application last weekend when Worrell J would have enjoined the Minister not to act further on his alleged mandate to Dr Worrell to “resign or be dismissed”, and the other at yesterday’s vacation of that order so as to permit recourse to the local Court of Appeal.

Not having had access to the texts of any of the decisions in the matter so far, I propose to reserve detailed comment until after the judgment of the Court of Appeal, but for those who are querying the appropriateness of injunctive relief in a matter of this nature, the law’s attitude appears to be evolving. Time was when the law set its face firmly against the grant of specific relief to restrain an alleged wrongful dismissal at common law. The several bases of this stance were first, that damages for the dismissal would ordinarily constitute an adequate remedy in the circumstances; second, that the court would be unable to supervise the performance of the contract if it were allowed to continue; third, the substantial potential for oppression, of the employee especially, if he or she is required to maintain a contract involving the supply of personal services and fourth, the need for the parties to maintain the metwand of any contract of service; mutual trust and confidence. Otherwise the order would have no purpose and, according to a celebrated maxim, “Equity (the Law) does nothing in vain”.

However, in recent times, perhaps owed largely to the advent of the concept of unfair dismissal that has at its base the notion of re-employment (reinstatement or re-engagement) as a remedy, the courts have become much bolder or less reluctant in granting specific remedies against employers, most commonly though where the employee is entitled to the benefit of a contractual procedure such as a hearing, where there is no lack of confidence in the employee by the employer, or even, more controversially, where no good reason for the termination has been established by the employer.

I am of course, not privy as to precisely which, if any, of these considerations influenced the judicial decision to enjoin the Governor’s dismissal nor am I aware whether the determination of who indeed was Mr Worrell’s employer entered into the entire debate. This resolution is critical to ascertaining whether or not he is entitled to protection against an unfair dismissal, since the Employment Rights Act, by virtue of section 51, does not bind the Crown or apply to its employees but does to statutory corporations such as the Central Bank.

What is even more serendipitous is that last year I penned a piece in another space in this newspaper that took as its point of departure the dismissal of Dr Worrell’s counterpart in Trinidad & Tobago by the then incoming Rowley administration. Although court action was threatened in that case as well, I am not aware that it did in fact eventuate. In that effort, I also attempted a comparative analysis of the security of tenure of the local Governor and other officials similarly situated. I wrote then:

“It is notorious and understandable, at least in this region, for Opposition parties to be sometimes harshly critical of the various announcements and prognoses of those Central Bank Governors who have been appointed by the other side. Equally, it is understandable that a governing administration, as the economic policymaker for the State, should command the sympathy and goodwill, if not loyalty, of the head of the nation’s Central Bank. The question that begs asking, however, is whether a Central Bank Governor is truly independent or is it that he or she is merely a creature of the Cabinet and Minister of Finance both in the legal and natural senses of that concept? The answer would appear to lie partly in the security of tenure accorded to that official.

Certainly, few regional Governors would be as sycophantic in their roles as Mr. Gideon Gono, the Governor of the Central Bank of Zimbabwe from 2003 until 2013, who eschewed any claim to independence and saw it rather as a cardinal principle that his policies at the Bank were always consistent with those of President Mugabe. He attributed this to his self-perception as a mere disciple, for whom a key quality was loyalty to his leader.

Similarly, few would lay claim to the awesome autonomy of the Chairman of the US Federal Reserve Board, an entity whose monetary policy decisions do not have to be approved by the President or anyone else in the executive or legislative branches; which does not receive funding from the public purse; and whose members’ tenures span multiple presidential and congressional terms.

Unlike the Trinidad & Tobago legislation, the Barbados Central Bank Act does not provide specifically for the manner of termination of the appointment of the Governor, leaving such matters to be as set out in his or her instrument of appointment, although there is, of course, local precedent in the dismissal of Governor Winston Cox some years ago.

It bears remarking that this was written at a time when the employment relation between the Governor and the Minister was as amicable as could be, an observation ironically made by the Trinidad Guardian in a column published last week Thursday under the caption, “Is Barbados insolvent?” and written by Anthony Wilson.

Alluding to the fact that the current contretemps has caught many people in T& T and throughout the region by surprise, the author reasons:

“That’s because anyone who has seen the two men interact at the several investor forums that Barbados has held in Port of Spain, and elsewhere, over the past few years would have come away with the impression they had a close working relationship based on mutual respect, complete policy alignment and the need for them to work together to further their country’s national interest…”

I suppose, as the lady is alleged to have winkingly told the verger in an entirely different context, “Even the best of friends must part”.

157 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Enjoining a Dismissal”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 19, 2017 at 2:36 PM

At this stage of the endgame the fired fallen Guv’s sole objective burning in his belly is to bring down that destructive lying party administration on top of him.

And he will be justified in doing it.

There should be no Nuremburg trials for these agents of sabotage who have deliberately brought Barbados to its shameful knees. Le them join the Monetary führer in the imploding bunker.

2. @Miller

If we accept the opinion of the learned academic in our midst it is obvious the Guv is playing for time. Does the government and MoF have time on their side?

3. This is a problem that should not even have been aired, made public

If the PM was any use he would have seen to it.

We cannot afford for the court system to further poison the political environment, by the length of time it would take to resolve this matter, appeals and so forth.

Barbados does not have that time to waste, with all due respect.

This crisis must come to an end immediately, today is not too soon.

4. Bush Tea,

I am disappointed. @ David, it is important locally, but not globally and as such it is very important to the Barbadian people. But Sinckler is in a job he should not have had, and Worrell has overstayed his welcome.
    Forget the foreign reserves nonsense. If I had the power |(Bush Tea plse help me) I would ban the phrase from the Bajan narrative.
    There is either a policy or personality difference between the minister and the governor. Until that is made public we are mucking about.
    A load of pensioners talking nonsense on an online forum, waiting in fear for the grim reaper, will not change this reality.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 19, 2017 at 2:55 PM

Every body (even Fumble) knew the enigmatic doctor was a managerial misfit lacking in the requisite dose of emotional intelligence.

But he was a compliant instrument in their political puppet game of power play and manipulation of the Bajan psyche though a continuous spin of feel-good numbers about the economy and its monetary health.

Wasn’t there a time when the same garden gnome looking character used to blame any fall in the foreign reserves on the annual repayment of the BOLT debt for the Dodds prison?

At least the prison is still there; and he is no longer in his ivory tower. Doesn’t that make for a good case of poetic justice?

6. @ Bush Tea My Brother in Arms against all vile diseases wherever they appear

I do agree with you totally about Hal Austin and his desire to secure renown here

He speaks of Rule Britannia with such pride and prejudice and then seeks to belittle Little England and me fears it is because his “Notes of a Native Son” fluttered and died.

Indeed all black bajans coming in from England, after iving there for soooooo many years are stark raving mad (and I did not say Buddy neider)

Look how he says, with such authority “The only serious outcome of this is a run on the stock exchange…” and then adds we have none.

Yet in that remarks that seeks to denigrate the very parishes where he would seek to become a bogolord he and many others here forget that the Useless Bonds that we Bajans have invested in can be liquidated EVEN IF ONE LOOSES ONES INTEREST, the principal is guaranteed.

I wonder IF DE GRANDSON WAS TO DO A STOOPID POSTER SAYING

“Bajans INVESTMENTS IN PERIL – GOVERNMENT BONDS ARE NO GOOD!!” what would happen?

Hmmmmmmmm wunna see how incredibly stoopid these MoF people are???

Jes suppose de Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados was as wiked as AC and company are saying that he is, WUNNA UNDERSTAND WHU A FULL PAGE AD IN THE NATION ADVOCATE AND BARBADOS TODAY, CRAFTED BY THE LAWYERS OF THE GOVERNOR OF THE CENTRAL BANK OF BARBADOS, WOULD DO??

AND YOU KNOW DAT GREGORY NICHOLLS IS A MUGABE BLP-ITE??

Man effing de ole man was a political strategist DAT IS WHU I WOULD DO!!!

Archie BREK DEM UP!!

BAJANS CARRY HOME YOUR MONEY OR CARRY IT TO THE CITY OF BRIDGETOWN CREDIT UNION!!!

IS THAT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU HAL AUSTIN???

I wonder if de grandson home still or effing he gone to de beach wid dat jet ski??

[[[@ Hants

He say dat all he does do is go pun de beach and offer pretty girls a jet ski ride and ammmmmmm….dis only for you doah, dat is why i using de square brackets…]]]

7. Miller

Now he will up against the financial heavy rollers with their own-designed set of loan-shark terms and conditions and travelling with their own croupier and selected ‘medici’.
    …………………………………………………………………

He has stated forcefully…..that he has no intention of going to the IMF at this point in time….operative words are at this point in time.

All that will be said to the sheeple is that the time has come due to the unfortunate actions of the GoCB which have put us in grave peril to go to the agency and save Bim.

He is of the machiavellian political class.

8. @ All Bloggers

Can anyone provide a DATE and AUDIT REPORT for Central Bank?

9. David

You see the kind of idiocy you have to deal with

You offered an out, he doubled down

Jeff offered ‘tragedy’ as another out, he doubled down again

And he did so with responses that would suggest dementia, at least

While his partner in crimes against our nation keeps quiet

No apology to neither BU nor country

This cannot be a serious thinker.

10. Piece

I know sometimes it is better to tell a silly joke than to tell the truth. First, never in my many years have I ever spoken of Rule Britannia, not even in jest. If that is your idea of a joke, so be it.
    Second, my Notes From a Native Son was sent to my friends and associates. You were not one. I did it freely for over ten years – more than one million words – and it ended when I retired. It did not ‘flutter and die’ apart from in your demented mind.
    If you want me to say that Barbados punches above its weight, it does, in your tiny mind. When you have a prime minister, minister of finance and a governor of the central bank who between them could not even sell peanuts to school kids.

11. Now that we have vented can we swing back to the issue at hand? This is a critical juncture in our history after all.

12. @ Mr. Austin.

Whuloss me sees that thou dost have a likkle mettle after all WHEN GOADED heheheheheh

As to your comment about friend AND DE OLE MAN NOT BEING ONE OF THEM do say it aint so causing in the words of Doc Holiday “why Hal Austin, if it thought that we were not friends, I just dont think that i could bear it….” heheheheheheheheh

Well you dun know that you ent getting no job under a DLP administration when they rise to the fore in 25 years heheheheheheheheheeh

But you have not retreacted your grossly incorrect statement about “a run” of Government Securities” and what that would do to the Government of Barbados though

Or, having pretended to have balls with your statement about the GoCB, the PM/GOB and the MoF are you now afraid that your statement did indeed and in fact seed the ole man’s demented brain with this your suggestion of such serious seismic magnitude that you have CREATED THE EARTHQUAKE THAT IS NEEDED TO OVERTURN THIS GOVERNMENT!!

Do hurry up and respond do…as opposed to Fumbling like Fumbles the Sleeping Giant

DIS RUN BY HAL AUSTIN (That is what de grans son am going to call it) will certainly help move the General Elections along.

What do you think?

AND IT IS MANNERS TO ANSWER QUESTIONS when you are speaking to your “elders” heheheheheheheeheh

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes February 19, 2017 at 3:19 PM

Vincie, you just played a full house of argumentative tricks on the miller. This is not shove a penny or push a cent at Cawmere in the classroom.

We playing 7 card stud and I holding a high straight with a ‘spaded’ Queen in the hole and the fumbling Joker down the river.

We are playing at the Royal Hyatt casino and we are playing for the Bay Street hot pot of $30 million, 5 $million more than was under the table at the Grotto.

I bet you that your man call elections before June?

14. @ Pachamama
    Thanks for the compliment regarding my
    knowledge of politics etc. Perhaps that is
    why I agree with Hal that it is drama.
    The outcome will be that Dr. Worrell a man
    I greatly admire will eventually have to
    leave the Central Bank. Unless the PM
    fires Sinkler, he would continue to be our
    failing MOF.
    The drama will continue right up to the
    coming general election. There will be no
    seismic shift in the country’s affairs. You
    are also extremely knowledgeable of politics
    and I am very certain that on more than
    one occasion you have dismissed not only
    Barbados but a considerable portion of the
    world to be nothing but rabble.
    I am certain that if this great magnitude of
    rabble , has not yet caused the world to
    decline into nothingness, that a mere spat
    between MOF and GOCB , means our
    dear country , would now become any
    pooer or better managed than it has been
    for the past four decades.
    As Jeff says tragedy is a part of drama. I will
    scarcely attempt to question either you or
    Jeff as to how you interpret events but if
    I choose drama and you choose tragedy, the
    result could only be a draw.
    However I am delighted to learn that you
    are being so concerned perhaps the
    predicted rabble is no longer likely.

15. oops my grandson just read my post and advised me I should have written rubble
    instead of rabble ……thanks buddy

16. Miller

Chuckle…….we shall see in the not too long future what metal of man he is

He has estimates to present by 31March2017…….he has up to then to declare his hand…..having never been a gambler like you or him,hence not knowing the terms for his play,all I would say is that there are two roads ahead,one spells a slight possibility of victory going now to the IMF ,the other a sure defeat by presenting unworkable estimates that proclaim all is well.

17. William Skinner

We have no idea what ‘rabble or ‘rubble’ you speak about, Its context etc

This smacks of a certain kind of dishonesty.

Were you not the same William Skinner who agreed with us when we recently made similar comments as here today about the man (Akinnan) as a leader of a trade union who wanted to go on strike and threaten the country thus?

But this type of behaviour is consistent with others

Where is the evidence that we have made the comment you suggested. We certainly know not about what you speak.

We say a lot of things about a lot of subjects, bring the proof or shut up!

We have proof right here of you talking shiite today.

18. A court case between the once bossom buddies MoF and Guvnor of the CB is a BIG issue…period (to borrow from Mr.Spicer). Hal keep quiet.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes February 19, 2017 at 4:36 PM

You like you don’t know the true make-up of the character you are describing.
    Who do you think is holding up the ‘decision’ to enter into an IMF bailout and structural programme?

The lazy man operates in a comatose state of blissful ignorance projecting a complete personification of happy ole black Joe and the adapted Son(g) of the ‘East’ whistling-in-the-wind Uncle Remus of Walt Disney fame as far as crisis events in Bim go.

And he is right! Everything is beyond both his imagination and his ability to effect chance (or is that change?).

Just sing along to “Que sera, sera”, Uncle Fumble! You will soon be eating ‘Humble’ pie out of the hands of the big bad wolf called the IMF!

20. And a la grandson – PLEASE ENJOY

http://imgur.com/t7E82NO

This Stoopid Cartoon takes its credit from a blogster from the United Kingdom who has opinioned that things are extremely Bad in Barbados and that the ONLY recourse bajans have is a RUN on the Central Bank Bonds since it is they that are worthless.

THe suggestion is that we put our $$ in the safer Credit Unions which, UNLIKE the other local Banks are wholly owned by Bajans UNLIKE EVERYTHING ELSE THAT HAS BEEN SOLD OUT TO FOREIGNERS

Go Soon and cash in your Government Bonds “before the bottom drops out the barrel”

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….I have advised bajans in the last couple months to put there money in the credit unions, it will put the majority in a position of financial strength. …to hell with the government and everyone else…let dem brek fuh duhself…lol

22. @ Hant your 12:09 pm post. I was also wondering if everyone with a case before the Courts should get an emergency application on a Sunday night before that particular judge.

23. Unless the contending parties,the eminent–according to the gospel of the impuissant Stuart–Christopher Sinckler and the imperious–according to the testimony of the board– DeLisle Worrell voluntarily withdraw their pleadings to allow the Prime Minister to throw oil on troubled waters,this spectacle will be played out in accordance with the terms of the Contract and the Governor will have to go.Like the situation with the QEH 4 and Commissioner of Police Dottin,the taxpayers will pick up the tab.This is what happens when poor rakey people manage a country’s affairs and are not accountable in law for their actions or lack thereof.

24. @ Jeff, I am anxiously awaiting your discovery regarding the second injuction on this matter. It does not lend any assistance to resolving the grave economic suitation that Barbados is in. Should the Courts not be putting Barbados first?

25. This issue has me confused.
    I must call on someone to simplify it for me under a few different scenarios
    (1) The MoF wins; what does win mean?
    (2) The GOcB wins
    (3) Which is better, a quick resolution or a prolonged battle
    (4) Which is the least harmful for Barbados

26. WW&C
    We have been regaled with stories of ‘infelicities’ in credit unions.Whom will you trust?The banks or the credit unions.The max insurance on bank deposits I am told is a paltry 25 thousand.What is the figure on credit unions.Property might be the best hedge but even that can be risky when you have nincompoops like jester having a look in in this country’s financial health.Barbados is just bloody poorly served by fools and JA’s.Confidence in things Bajan has been sadly lacking the past 9 years and counting.

27. @ Heather
    Should the Courts not be putting Barbados first?
    Ha ha ha ha
    Mek Bushie LAUGH!!!

Mistress!!
    The courts don’t care two farts about justice, rightness or ‘putting Barbados first – or even second.
    Their only concern is the letter of the law, and conforming to precedents set by previous courts.

Which is why any leader worth more that what Paddy shot at, would have quietly called those parties together and rammed a ‘solution; down everyone’s throats…..

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…it has all become a double edged sword, incompetent leaders always brings countries to their knees…. nothing is regulated on the island……never has been so therefore everything is risky.

29. The credit unions have been waiting on the ministry of finance for months now to process the legislative change to allow deposit insurance for credit unions.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/19/constituents-give-blackett-failing-grade/

Now this should be a precedent for ALL constituents. ..your jobs are to grade government minister’s performances, they are your employees….when they fail at their jobs, you expose them.,..all of them for the world to see…..this is the paradigm shift that many bloggers, ministers, opposition and business people missed, they were too self-absorbed….and they will pay dearly.

Constituents give Blackett failing grade
    Added by Desmond Brown on February 19, 2017.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) caretaker for St Michael central, Arthur Holder, has accused Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development, Steve Blackett of being an absentee representative.

Addressing journalists outside the derelict home of a family of four in Waterhall Land, Eagle Hall, St Michael, Holder described the state of the constituency as “woeful”.

Holder, who toured the constituency on Saturday, said many of the constituents revealed that they had not seen the parliamentary representative for several years.

“We have had an absentee representative for the past nine years. It is amazing that when you knock at people’s houses, they say we haven’t seen the person who is supposed to represent us in parliament for the past nine years,” Holder said.

“They truly want someone to represent their interests.”

Citing issues of unemployment and social services as primary concerns, Holder noted that residents in Quarry Road were complaining of poor street lighting.”

31. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

David February 19, 2017 at 8:46 PM #

The credit unions have been waiting on the ministry of finance for months now to process the legislative change to allow deposit insurance for credit unions.@@@

Now what make you think the Credit Unions are any better than the FIRST CARIBBEAN, OR EVEN A DIFFERENT MIND-SET

WE WILL LEAVE THEM TO LAST AND THEIR LAWYERS

32. @ Gabriel
    We have been regaled with stories of ‘infelicities’ in credit unions
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Your point being what…?
    Wherever there are people – especially brass bowls, we can be sure that stories of infelicities will abound. In fact, in transparent and well functioning Credit Unions, you are likely to hear more such ‘stories’ because there are SYSTEMS of checks and balances which raise questions about ALL shady-looking situations.

In which Credit Union did we experience major problems like we have seen in CLICO, Sagicor, most banks etc? …and do you know how many cases of losses have been quietly hushed-up in the banks? Coops do not HUSH HUSH…!

The idiots who tried to do shiite in the Credit Unions have almost all been chased into politics…. by Supervisory Committees and vigilant members such as Caswell.

Bushie will go with the Credit Union because it provides the opportunity for the Bushman to personally follow up on operations involving his damn dollars…

The more ‘stories’ the better….. this simply means that the hawks are watching – unlike at CLICO and Co. where we only heard how great they were…. before the nasty truth came out.

33. @ Bushie what was the precedent that was set? Why take the public on this circus when it can be easily resolved. Is the precedent not in favour of the Governor?

34. @PUDRYR – INRI

A foreign financial consultant with good DLP-connections told me so three years ago.

Surely, the establishment already did that years ago and later converted their assets to USD. We will see no wining minister, state secretary, pastor, QC or judge on D-Day.

35. Was the finders fee for Cahill and Claire Cowan paid or repaid.

36. @ Brother Bush Tea

You will note as I have that “She who does not normally engage on any other blog than her own” has jumped into the fray.

No not Mugabe her employee…

You will also note that “she” has incredulously sought to engage with the same gentleman whom she had the audacity to try to dis a few month ago

De OLE MAN IS A MAN OF REMEMBRANCE

And you will also note that the Rewritten Constitution that “she” promised almost a year ago, ent come yet, consistent with the inutility of the Covenant of Hope that her boss is traipsing around the country while rubbing poki*s, sorry shoulders with the average Bajan.

Steupseeee

I do hope dat Jeff sleeping now, and dat when he wake up tomorrow, dat he mis dese two questions or confine them to File 13 under “PERMANENTLY UNANSWERED”

37. In the blue corner weighing 165 ft is the MoF?
    In the red corner at 160 lbs is the GoCB?
    Gentlemen you have seen the weigh-in. The betting windows are about to close. Place your bets now?

MoF vs GoCB?

38. Anything that gives power to the average po’ black man in Barbados, anything that gives him money (credit unions), or power, or self-determination (education) is undermined by the corned beef and biscuits crew or the oligarchs.

Dis Campaign that was started by one Hal Austin’s comments bout ammmm Bajans ent got no stock market to run to WILL NOT BE LIKED BY NONE UH DEM, Neither de DLP nor the BLP causing neider of dem going be able to get dem hands pun people money and it mean dat de black po man gots a fighting chance.

THis is about consolidating power and releasing none to the common man.

Deliar Worrell needs firing for his traitorous practices and his $ellout of the people of Barbados but at the end of the day so does Fumbles and his Clowns for bringing us here and Mugabe and her Mules for keeping quiet while all of this was happening (while waiting in the offing to collect the Prime Minister’s Seat)

But this steadfast Revolution picking up momentum.

And de effers all pun notice to crush every instance where they would be in control

Like the third Party initiative and this Remove Wunna Money and put it in the Credit unions thrust.

All dere needs to be now is dat Jeff Cumberbatch “enjoin” with the Third Party Thrust and Whaplax!!

Dem Both Fear a Man like Jeff who ent cay bout none of them and COMMANDS RESPECT, IS A MAN WITH INTEGRITY, WILL GET A ELECTORATE BASE IN A HURRY and dat de ole man will support effing he doan run wid de DLP or BLP nor Grenville elitist ting.

39. We can get esoteric, but the man in the street want it broken down in a simple manner.
    Who WILL win? Why they WILL win? Implications for Barbados?
    Prognosticating after the battle is over is easy (Hindsight is 20/20)

40. @ The Gazer

The persons who WILL LOSE ARE THE BAJANS, AND THAT LOSS WILL CARRY OVER FROM THE LAST 9 years for 10 more.

THe Implications for Barbados are that things are going to get really bad in a hurry AND THE ONLY WAY TO STAVE THIS OFF IS BY WAY OF AN ENFORCE ELECTION.

Say what we will about Deliar Worrell, he is forcing this matter to a head where the $50M bill cannot be paid.

I, like many others hope that he can hold up the process for 6 weeks OR 2 PAYCHECKS.

What it means is that bajans who were vacillitating between the BLP DLP SHYTE will understand that they CANNOT PICK CHVUNTS or the same vomit of 2006 AGAIN.

THey have to up their game.

And we the people have to demand more than a Dale Teets Marshall, or another of their “once a year candidates” coming bout and talking bout how “we house deplorable” never to be seen again.

41. @ Hal
    Bushie is sorry to disappoint you… nothing personal, but the bushman just calls it as he see it … and whacks it to suit… You DO come across as a professional journalist, but this does not mean that you have all (or even many) of the answers… what you have are good questions…

You may well have a point about the reserves. Bushie always just views that as part of the ‘economics’ jargon that is designed to make the uninitiated think that ‘economists’ (whatever the hell those are…) are smart, bright people.

Reserves are somewhat like an individual having a bank account where we strive to keep a minimum balance of six months salary.
    In order to maintain that bank balance, we ask family, friends and neighbours to deposit their funds on that account – while they keep ownership; we also borrow money (at high interest rates) from another bank and deposit on the ‘Reserves’ account; and we beg agencies for loans and grants to execute needed social projects – JUST so that we can deposit those funds into our pool of ‘reserves’….(while the projects languish…)

Meanwhile our liabilities exceed our assets by over a year’s salary …and each month we are extending that excess…as we spend more than we earn….

Like ‘printing money’ – which is the equivalent of writing bad cheques, this ‘reserve’ account is just jargon, but it seeks to suggest to creditors that we have some liquidity- from which current liabilities could be settled.

In reality, it is but an illusion…..which will shortly be shattered to our great dismay.

Heather

Precedents may have been set in any commonwealth court. the lawyers will now spend the next ten years scouring the records to find such a case that suits their desired end…
    The whole ‘Law concept’ is ill-conceived brass bowlery….

@ PieceUDRYR
    You done know that Jeff the gentleman will answer….
    Shiite man… not even Bushie seems able to rattle the man.

Pray tell how we can have people of his, Caswell’s and David(BU)’s ilk in our midst …and have to suffer the jackasses that we do daily…?

…the answer is that we have been CURSED….and even had an actual ALTER built on the Garrison…
    The Road safety woman recently gave us the solution …and was laughed at in Barbados Today’s comments…..but if we don’t get our donkeys into some SERIOUS sack cloth and ashes …and SOON, it will be hell to pay bout here…

Personally, Bushie would engage COW to bring two D9s to the Garrison and dig um to shiite up…..
    …but wunna must ‘e know….

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    I know this isn’t the right thread…but JC…FTC
    “BNTCL has been operating at a sub-optimal rate of return as the Government operated with a different mandate from a private investor.”

What does this mean? The structural chart provided no mention of a ‘private investor’

43. @NO

On the face of it the statement is suggesting that the BNTCL has not been operating with a pure profit motive.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93771/project-hold-ups

Why is NIS pension funds, read taxpayer’s money, funding private projects…that is what local and international banks are for, nit pension funds, besides NIS should investing in safe securties and portfolios on the international markets. …they do exist, they always have….

“The $19 million facility, designed by architect Larry Warren, was funded by the National Insurance Department and Republic Bank. It commands an imposing view across a landscape dotted with luxury villas costing between US$1.3 million and and US$6.5 million.”

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93773/bim-bigger

And of course after ALL the ministers are just as responsible for instigating this mess, Worrell v. Sinckler….Dumbville is pretending he is not just as responsible, because of the blowback.

Dumbville still dont get it, it’s about government ministers from Fruendel on down not doing their jobs fir 9 years, they are paid public servants not jet setting billionaires, its about their neglect of and incompetence in everything they touch and their disdain for the population whose votes they need….why they will be kicked out come election.

Bim ‘bigger’
    HEATHER-LYNN EVANSON, heatherlynevanson@nationnews.com
    Added 20 February 2017

NO ONE IS BIGGER than Barbados – neither Governor of the Central Bank Dr DeLisle Worrell, nor his now legal adversary Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler.
    Related articles

“It cannot be about the title of my job. It cannot be about the car I drive. It cannot be about the ostentatious lifestyle. It cannot be about any of those things,” declared outspoken Cabinet minister and St James South MP Donville Inniss last night.

And he stressed the bitter dispute which was now engaging the attention of the Court of Appeal would work itself out, as the Government concentrated on “ensuring the economy stays afloat”.

46. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@The Gazer at 8:25pm last night -If the MOF “wins”, or rather The Governor loses since he has instituted the action, then he must “resign or be dismissed”. If he “wins”, then he remains Governor although the situation would become untenable nice he no longer commands the necessary trust and confidence of the MOF.

@ Heather at 8:23pm, this is a private matter being played out in the public domain. The court is concerned with the issues before it, not irrelevant considerations such as “putting Barbados first”. That is a matter for the Executive not the parties to a wrongful dismissal action.

47. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

*since for “nice…”

48. @ Jeff
    Bushie notes that you tactfully avoided any reference to any likelihood of the court seeking to pursue JUSTICE and reasonableness …by suggesting its concern would only be ‘with the issues before it’.

What EXACTLY is a court seeking to achieve in a case such as this? No doubt this is a recurring question among new students of Law.
    We know for example that, taken before two different judges, the outcome could be diametrically opposite – both with legalistic sounding justification.
    Indeed, the case can be taken before a panel of the highest court …and we can have the judges split 50-50 in their determination of what the ‘correct’ decision ought to be….

SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG WITH SUCH AN ARBITRARY SYSTEM.

If you took an ‘issue’ to a panel of engineers (especially Big Boss Engineers) you could be sure that the solutions would tend to converge in a particular direction – following Gauss-Seidel’s principle – and increasingly so, as the level of expertise increases.

Surely there is A SINGULARLY wise and sound decision that must exist, and SURELY the objective is to arrive as closely as possible at that position… and surely, this is NOT the system that we have currently in Law….

How do we fix that weakness….?

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 20, 2017 at 4:37 AM
    “On the face of it the statement is suggesting that the BNTCL has not been operating with a pure profit motive.”

And that is why the base price (nothing to do with ‘expected’ fluctuations in imported acquisition cost) of ground fuels stored at the terminal must be increased via adjustments to the throughput charges.

Given the existing ROI (capital charge recovered by the present owner and more than likely bond holders) it would take SOL in excess of 20 years to recover its investment and earn an acceptable profit acceptable to both shareholders and debt holders.

Which astute investor would undertake such a large investment relative to the contracting Bajan economy at a time when alternative energy options are growing geometrically and fossil fuels having a bad climate change press in the sunset of its waning usage unless the time horizon for its profitable recovery is at the most 10 years?

Leave a Reply to PachamamaCancel reply