Submitted by Inkwell
barbados-election-map-2013
2013 Final Electoral Map, the government won by a 2 seat margin

1. Consider this argument. The Central Bank (CB) Governor has refused to print any more money for the Minister of Finance (MOF). The MOF needs printing to continue to pay civil servants and keep Government running. If the Government can’t pay the civil servants this month, all hell will break loose. Therefore the CB Governor has to be fired so that somebody who will agree to print the money can be appointed. These delays being granted by the High Court are making the MOF nervous. Time is of the essence. But Jeez, if the printing continues, the economy will only get sicker.

2. Foreign reserves are at an all-time low and heading further south, and with the poor tourist season we are now having, not much hope for recovery. The Government can’t even put its hands on the US$100 million from Kyffin for BNTCL in a hurry as that has to go through FTC regulatory process. Let us see if the Government is going to try to railroad the FTC and also what stuff the Chairman is made of.

3. Government can’t borrow externally because of low credit rating and the existing high debt service requirements are continuing to hurt the foreign reserves.

3. Every economist who has said anything (Frank Alleyne has been predictably silent) has told the Government it must act NOW to avoid a disaster, latest being the CDB which has issued a dire warning: “CDB President Dr. Warren Smith is warning there is “no painless way” to rein in the fiscal deficit and ballooning debt.” “But I think it is also important to appreciate that we need action now. The Government of Barbados knows what to do.” “Let me just repeat that we are ready to help but there are certain things that need to be done before the assistance of the multi-lateral institutions like ourselves can become available in a fulsome way. I think that the debt situation is one that needs to be addressed urgently.”

4. The Government’s hand is being forced every way it turns. It must act.

5. BIG Problem. Elections are imminent and the harsh measures required will doom the DLP’s chances of re-election. What would you do? Think like Stuart (and hope not to get a brain freeze). You have to call elections NOW. If you wait any longer, you will be forced to inflict much pain, especially on the civil service and statutory corporations, send home another eight to ten thousand people; you will have to further cut financial support to the QEH and UWI, BWA and SSA; you will have to increase bus fares; you will have to dismantle the community councils and cancel the football tournament and condemn the DLP to the annals of Barbadian political notoriety. A few of the painful pills.

The only hope of survival is to go to the polls BEFORE you are forced to inflict the pain. Tempus is fugiting and the hour must come. Truly between a rock and a hard place.

119 responses to “Government Between a Rock and a Hard Place With General Elections Looming”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Haynes definitely dont look like that anymore….everything these touch end up in corruption and destruction of innocent people, they get degrees but cannot apply good to anything, it must always be destructive.

2. @Hal

Bjerkham came to Barbados as a 7 year old so what is your point again?

3. There are more of them….

Perhaps we need to create our own BU Senate Hearings to review ALL appointments to national boards like is done in the USA.
    These shiite ministers appoint their personal friends and lackies – the more talentless, the better – to follow their every instruction on these so-called boards.

Take the fellow that Lil Hitler put at the Gymnasium….
    Shiite man Dave … what POSSIBLE competence can he bring to anything apart from following instructions?
    Why the hell was Jerkham placed on the Central Bank board? – to bring what skills?
    What does Cecil McCarthy contribute?

Perhaps there are good answers to these questions, and since these are NATIONAL Boards, the public deserves answers to such questions.

Can we ask Caswell to chair this BU Senate Board review process?
    ….or is that, like BUP, too much for him to take on too?

4. @ Enuff
    It is the nature of whackers.
    Lick-up every shiite and leave the lawn level.
    The good grass will grow back stronger, … and the shiite weeds will die off….

5. @ David wrote “It looks like PM Stuart should watch the company he keeps?”

Who could resist the beautiful “arm candy” lol

6. @Bushie

Take the fellow that Lil Hitler put at the Gymnasium….
    Shiite man Dave … what POSSIBLE competence can he bring to anything apart from following instructions?
    Why the hell was Jerkham placed on the Central Bank board? – to bring what skills?
    What does Cecil McCarthy contribute?

Why are you not fully supportive? Wasn’t this guy the COO of one of your favourite entities, the Barbados Public Workers?

7. Man David, when you see Bushie toss out sprats …leave them alone nuh…!!
    Certain bloggers were no doubt lining up to bite ..and you gone and eat the bait…. 🙂

Note Bushie ALSO said “Perhaps there are good answers to these questions…..”

Don’t we deserve to know BOTH the idiots …AND the competent appointees – if any happen to exist…?
    It would indeed be interesting to hear what a man of his credit union experience contributes – and what roles he played during all this shiite about printing money (writing national bounced cheques).
    Maxine was a well know member too…. but she was always just a lotta talk …and no action.

8. Daavid,

re Bjerkham, so what. He is a Scandinavian. Tell Trump, the Brits and Australians that when they are deporting people who failed to become naturalised. If you have been in the country a day after your birth you are still legally and in the popular mind a foreigner.
    Bjerkham is not s Bajan surname.
    In the UK we have second, third and even fourth generation ‘Bajans’ and they are still called immigrants, Afro-Caribbeans – and most of the youths like to identify with the Caribbean or Africa or Asia.
    I think, like Britain, we are too quick to adopt New Barbadians. The children of Barbadians, who happen to be born outside Barbados, have to apply for naturalisation.
    Consider that alongside Indians, no matter how many generations outside India, are still eligible for an Indian passport. Even in Switzerland second and third generation Italians and Turks, born in Switzerland, are still considered foreigners.

9. 4.The Government’s hand is being forced every way it turns. It must act.

You many Bimmers keep under-estimating the Captain of the Ship MV BIM,at your peril.

This situation is tailor made for an excuse to run to the IMF,take a 12 month dose of bitter gall during which time many projects will come on stream,at the end money will start circulating again,employment high just in time for elections which he intends to win……..its a big gamble but he is a political gambler…..against the odds he came back from political death and has won a govt facing off a supposed great as well as quelling all disquite in the ranks.

10. @ All Bloggers

Can anyone provide the a DATE and Audit Report for Central Bank ?

11. @ All Bloggers

Can anyone provide a DATE and Audit Report(latest) for Central Bank ?

12. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Tron February 18, 2017 at 8:28 PM #@

The Truth never change, We , I have been Posting the same information for new people come and go and some run,
    People need to get the information, We post this information when it came out, People forget very fast, So we are here to remind them , They act like they never see or knew, More and more people have internet today,People need to be updated with a warning from the news.

So now you can say, What did you know?, When did you know?, What action did you take when you knew, DBLP?
    We dont need new talk we need things fixed and answers, We have the answers, we have the fix, and we can fix what is wrong in Barbados,
    Ask your question and get an answer.

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Vincent Haynes, re your 3:07 pm post.

Sounds good and totally displays the kind of counter intuitive, off-base, thinking that Freundel has often exhibited.

But;

You and He should consider the extent of the “bitter gall” and the real discomforts and downright deaths by a thousand lashes of an IMF programme on a Bajan populace that has been unaccustomed to the effects of such programmes and have no inbuilt tolerance for such.

In addition, the Government’s home grown unsuccessful stabilization programmes, having already taken their toll, will make it more unlikely that bajans will take kindly to and meekly forgive and forget who were the instigators of their precipitous fall from grace, despite any arguable incremental improvement in the economy emanating from an IMF programme. Too many people will lose their jobs, houses, cars, savings etc and unless the Government puts off the elections for a year or so Freundel’s minions will be white washed. Freundel will be unable to wash his hands clean of part ownership of the stigma and deleterious effects of calling in the IMF, especially when he might be living high on the hog in some northern country when everything breaks down here.

Any Government that unleashes the IMF on us can be assured that the people will largely react by ensuring a whitewash on that Government despite anything positive that might eventually come out of the IMF decision.

Freundel must understand this intuitively and his minions understand it even better. To try to implement the strategy you espouse above will cause the worms to turn, savagely.

14. are-we-there-yet February 19, 2017 at 4:03 PM #

We have been to the IMF twice before under both parties although for much milder reasons as compared to this one…..the scenario can still pay out as follows:-

He has no choice……The IMF is our only saviour other than China or the Emirates……as Richie said its all about perception…..as Grantley said bajans have short memories….taking those points into consideration he will gamble and place the blame squarely on the GoCB for forcing them due to injudicious actions to go into a programme.

15. @ Are We There Yet

It is going to be a whitewash of epic proportions (unless their strategy to stuff the ballot boxes AGAIN works AGAIN!

http://imgur.com/RGdxhx5

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes February 19, 2017 at 4:24 PM
    “….taking those points into consideration he will gamble and place the blame squarely on the GoCB for forcing them due
    to injudicious actions to go into a programme.”

If we were to accept your argument on face value then you would be playing right into Bushie’s hand by confirming Bajans are a genuine set of brass-bowls in need of a good polishing to be used only as urinals and nocturnal shit buckets.

How can Fumble and his gang of intellectual johnnies with chief puppeteer Stinkliar large and in charge and having cut strings with their former puppet ever try to distance themselves from their dirty-work henchman doctoring the numbers over the years?

Bajans are going to be shocked like the CLICO ponzi scheme policyholders to find out that by grabbing at the ‘high interest’ bone their savings bonds will soon be worth the paper used to type the letter to fire the Guv.

17. millertheanunnaki February 19, 2017 at 4:45 PM #

Bajans are a genuine set of brass-bowls ……………………………..
    …………………………………………………………………..

Yup…Bushie is correct ,evidence abounds ,hence a 3rd term.

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Vincent Haynes;

With Freundel, any off beat solution is possible and with the Bajan brassbowl populace an inane downright stupid reaction is not only possible but likely, as Freundal has tested and tried to his benefit and Barbados’ loss many times.

But the shoulders of the GoCB are not strong enough to take the blame in this case. The MoF and Freundal and the DLP must, to any reasonable onlooker, be the ones to shoulder most of the blame especially if they fail to call an election within the next few days.

If they do not call a snap election now and wait to do so in early 2018 when the effects of the IMF measures will be still being felt, nothing will save them from a 30:0 result .

The only sensible choice now, given the information that is now in the public domain, courtesy of the GoCB, is to call an election forthwith. The PM and his ministers have practically all feathered their nests, and not only with the 10% reinstitution. Some of them are already millionaires.

Waiting to call an election after calling in the IMF and supervising the institution of the IMF’s harsh measures is not in the DLP’s best selfish interests (…. we know that most of them are not really interested in the relative good of the country). Indeed, the argument that you have been putting up is a good one for the BLP to champion as a snap election now is definitely not in THEIR best personal interests.

19. There is a rumour floating around that the Governor called in the IMF to offer a way out of the crisis unknowing to Sinckler?

20. http://imgur.com/t7E82NO

This Stoopid Cartoon takes its credit from a blogster from the United Kingdom who has opined that things are extremely Bad in Barbados and that the ONLY recourse bajans may have is a RUN on the Stock market

Since we have no stock market the next best thing is Central Banks Government Bonds since it is believed they that are worthless.

See the recent news in a T&T newspaper

A suggestion arising is that we Bajans cash out these worthless government bonds and put our $$ in the safer Credit Unions.

At least these Credit Unions UNLIKE the other local Banks are wholly owned by Bajans UNLIKE EVERYTHING ELSE THAT HAS BEEN SOLD OUT TO FOREIGNERS

Go Soon and cash in your Government Bonds “before the bottom drops out the barrel”

21. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

This crook digging deep into Crime against the People,He better give Me/CUP a call fast,Our Last Meeting I told you when ever your are Ready! Are you ready now to fix Barbados with Clear Title land, The IMF/American Embassy Watching you, We have already spoken to them. They already Know what you are hiding! We also spoken to Hyatt Also,
    https://plus.google.com/+NakedDepartureTheTrilogySeries/posts/K4RZePdePRs

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…things are getting real heavy for the demons on the island, it has very far reaching consequences. ….as it all unravels. …karma is in full flight..lp…..as the Bushman said, she is on steroids..

Carl Moore is about to pop a blood vessel because he has been told some, but not all of it.

Lol

23. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

FearPlay February 18, 2017 at 3:23 PM #@@@

We feel the pain in your writings. If you told one lie and it was meant to fool the people we would say, We even gave you a vote, I think you have about 11 like right now.

When these crooks call the elections make sure if you dont vote CUP just dont vote DLP/BLP.
    The Gully has to clean out, We will work with anyone anytime any place that is willing to set things Right,
    They will know when they have to deal with the government workers who dont have money but have tools,, 1937 is in the air. The MOF do not want to sit and face Me again. He never told me that We were telling lies, MOF said that We already paid out and we do not pay TWICE, While he was head of the UDC with P.Todd. These crooks along with Mark Cummins did the dog/ cat and the Monkey. The lawyer for the UDC also Mayers is also a crook,

The UDC right now is just an office with no money, Where did the Vat all gone to, or to Who?
    Once again the Auditor General is the Only man we Trust at this point, He will be Key as a road map to know where the money went to,
    The Governor of the CB Will also have to at the Table for We know much money was past/ laundered out of Barbados to England, and hidden by Mrs. Williams formerly of the GCB.

Along with our Plantation Title Deeds are hidden and removed from Barbados History Books, Archives and Library, We in Barbados are well under Educated,,

We hold Plans from 1841 , we hold Original Deeds from 1885,
    Banks do not want cloud on titles, Must be cleared, This is the Problem CLICO fell into with fraud and PONZI.

If you check the CLICO report you will see that all other(COUNTRIES) parts of CLICO went under in 2009 the same year they went under, The same Year PM David call for an investigation on Our words about Plantation deed fraud, with Clico,UDC/NHC.
    NOW CLCICO went under in Barbados the same year and same month PM David died October 2010. The PM David gave CLICO or loan $10 Million, which had to be a joke. As i was telling people the Prices of 4 houses in Barbados can not fix or make you feel safe about a company of that size, But Broke people feel and think in their minds think that was a lot of money.

At this time recorded in the Government of Barbados is hiding the $90 Million rent they owe this Estate each month, from the IMF, All receipts have NUMBERS and I /we can assure you our numbers are missing or hidden from IMF/ IDB/Moodys/S&P, Post on CUP page on fb.

We dont need IMF or no one, That is just the outside WHITE FORCE NEED TO PUSH THESE NIGGERS IN THE DBLP GOVERNMENT,

The lawyers/ Ministers going back before 1980 set this she-it up,
    These are the first Names after Probate in June 1986
    Sir Richard L Cheltenham QC.PHD Crook, Sir C.O Williams/ David Simmons AG/exCJ/Owen? Mia. This is why Both Parties Must be removed, and all their members, I have Spoken to them, Some told me its True and We are closer to the Truth,
    But Who will you say is holding their Tounge? Why can’t they ACT? Because the Money is Gone, We are not Money hungry, The Nation needs this Slavery off its Back, We are not like them, This is a different mindset and blood line,
    The People is First, Know before you Vote,
    Why you think the projects from 2013 have not started as yet? Ask the Question And I will answer,

24. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Fundamentally, you can’t go broke with debt build up in your own currency. The Japanese government have been doing this for years. And quantitative easing by the develop countries cental banks-since the financial crisis – is basically the same thing. The only difference is, it is the banks and not the people, who are getting the printed money. The major problem I see is the reserve holding and the pegged exchange rate. Something must give. A pegged exchange rate is a false psychological sense of prestige. At this point in time the economy needs a shock treatment . An IMF programme along with a 50% devaluation is what the doctor order.

25. @fortyacresandamule

Printing money or quantitative easing is a big reason why our reserves have been falling because Barbados imports over 80% of what we cconsume.

Agree with you though Barbados some leadership to retrieve this situation.

26. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Does no-one remember that this all happened before the last time the DLP attempted to run this country?

The outcome was inevitable since the ignorant Bajan voters put them back in Gov’t House in 2013.

27. Trial and error was the operation mode since 2013. Time to accept that every single strategy, long or short term was an abysmal failure. Trial over, its now time for Barbados to correct the error….

28. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

hamilton hill February 20, 2017 at 7:32 AM #
    Trial and error was the operation mode since 2013. Time to accept that every single strategy, long or short term was an abysmal failure. Trial over, its now time for Barbados to correct the error….

Because shedding statutory corporations and other free-loaders was always inevitable.

If they had done it in 2013 while firing the civil servants holding up business facilitation, we would be well on our way to recovery.

Instead we are condemned to another 4 years of misery after the DLP are booted from office.

As I’ve typed several times before, we haven’t hit bottom yet. Soon.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ fortyacresandamule February 20, 2017 at 2:15 AM
    “A pegged exchange rate is a false psychological sense of prestige. At this point in time the economy needs a shock treatment. An IMF programme along with a 50% devaluation is what the doctor order.”

Indeed, that first dose of ‘economic’ reality would be a shock to the conspicuous consumption stomach of Bajans who have been living in cloud cuckoo land of a false economy for a very, very too long a time.

How can they expect to live that ostentatiously and not through earning their way in this bad competitively harsh world?

They have been living off other people’s foreign money (loans) for far too long while failing to upscale their one-cylinder economy to carry the burden of a forex-based luxurious lifestyle, remy (dead people) hair and all.

There is absolutely no economic justification the Bajan dollar could be so much out sync with the regional economic realities and where the disparity is so great between the local currency and those of its economic neighbours (all competing for the same forex earning business).

The time for this market correction to the real value of the Bajan dollar has arrived.
    It would be foolhardy to expect the IMF (the foreign lender of last resort) to go ‘soft’ again on Bim this time around (as it did in the early 1990’s).

The political class has learnt nothing from the ‘easy’ sentence Bajans were given there and then and have allowed their conspicuous consumption habit of living high on the imported credit hog to grow far too long like a bad hair day in need of a serious and permanent across-the-board cut instead of any 8%.

30. @ Miller
    There is absolutely no economic justification the Bajan dollar could be so much out sync with the regional economic realities and where the disparity is so great between the local currency and those of its economic neighbours (all competing for the same forex earning business).
    This is the most coherent, relevant and applicable assessment on this subject that has been made to date by ANYONE….ANYWHERE.
    Sometimes you are able to reach into yourself and find gems of wisdom that belie your inherent brass bowlery… 🙂

31. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

@ Miller
    This is the most coherent, relevant and applicable assessment on this subject that has been made to date by ANYONE….ANYWHERE.

Imagine the savings we would realise if we closed the central bank and adopted EC at 1:1 value. It would also hamstring gov’t from manipulating the currency in future and alow us to compete with other Caribbean islands in the only export market we share: tourism.

BUT: our largest trading partner for exports is UK (tourism); surely it makes more sense to drop our currency and adopt Sterling!!??

That idea would go down like a lead balloon among the history-revisionists.

Politics and business management are contradictory doctrines. We need much less of the former and much more of the latter.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 20, 2017 at 8:23 AM

For true, Bushie!

The miller’s son (not BBE) used to ‘ape’ you at school; brass-bowlery behaviour and all.

He has indeed ‘learnt’ his lesson(s) well after being polished by you in true-brass bowl fashion over the BU years.

Counsellor Harry Sealy Prof. Wharton- both looking down from the resting place of the sages- must be proud of their former charges and academic seedlings which have grown into intellectual giants in the BU forest of political rebels.

Your mate Vincent Haynes has received his ‘touch-up’ from the Bushman and is right back in spic (spit) and span order.

You need to do a similar job on your former protégé Walter B who has allowed himself to fallback into the cesspool of dlp depravity and through the curse of the reverse Midas touch has turned from your golden boy of shining intellectual stardom into a genuine political tainted brass-bowl of disappointment.

Caswell can hold the brass-bowl while you apply the polish.

33. 40 acres
    Disagree with you on the matter of a devaluation.Its totally unnecessary and bad advice.It achieves nothing other than widening the gap between the haves and the havenots with the chaos that can create in both the short and the long term.The first order is safeguarding the tourism sector and building upon it to make it more competitive to deliver more and this can include a reduction in rates, seeking a compromise with the unions and the limited introduction of casino operations.Greatly reduce and or consolidate statutory corporations.Reduce the number of ministers and parliamentary secretaries.Remove pensions from parliamentarians completely,in other words cut government expenses but maintaining the safety net for the vulnerable and empower the majority people in the process of privatization.Limit conspicuous spending by rationalizing import schedules and tariffs until such time as the economy improves with a return to growth.

34. The challenge for the country is that the retail and distributive sectors control a lot of the economy read employment. Successive governments have been reluctant for example to put the squeeze on importation of vehicles.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel February 20, 2017 at 9:51 AM

But Gabriel, get real!

All those options/recommendations have been proposed and discussed ad nauseam and to no avail.

It is too late to even consider them anymore. The poor have already suffered tremendously under the current administration and have nothing more to lose other than their chains of enslavement to an image of the former dear loving party being a friend of the poor man.

Devaluation represents the most ‘efficient’ method of achieving the necessary fiscal objectives without the long drawn out political palaver.

The only political objective that ought to be pursued in the very short-term is seeking a mandate to do what is absolutely required. There is no turning back!

36. millertheanunnaki February 20, 2017 at 9:19 AM #

Chuckle…..touchup…..from Bushie……no way.

The facts on our present situation will be made pelucidly clear come estimates time,so sit tight and wait for it.

I have posited before that we should join the EC as a full member,using their currency and bank.

37. @ Miller
    There is a viable alternative to devaluation, but it is not a practical one for brass bowl idiots. It would require a level of maturity that is not found in female rabbits of the brass bowl variety.

Think about it….
    What would you (or any common sense endowed person not contaminated with ‘economics training’ – whatever the hell THAT is…) do if due to changes in circumstances (poor family decisions for example) the net family income fell below the net family expenditures – and this went on for over TEN years…?

Cud shiite man!!!
    Would you not make some sacrifices?
    Would you not get everyone in the family together and agreed to CUT expenditures by the required percentage COLLECTIVELY ….. to restore balance…?

Even brass bowl MONKEYS would take that obvious step …and institute -for example a NATIONWIDE 20% cut in all salaries, wages, and pensions.
    They would then implement a policy where all future increases would be productivity driven – in other words, future increases would be MERIT BASED.

But what did brass bowl Bajans do instead….?

Arthur passed a LAW making any such cuts illegal….
    The DLP dismissed ANY consideration of such an approach …and increased taxes on the PRODUCTIVE citizens instead…
    The parliamentarians then INCREASED their own pay – while calling on public and private sector workers to ‘hold strain – and to pay increased taxes….

Boss…
    Bushie challenges you to even conceive of any bigger set of complete jackasses and female rabbits anywhere … or anytime in history….

Can it be any surprise that they built the monument to Satan on the Garrison last year…?

Mek Bushie LAUGH!!!

38. @ Vincent
    I have posited before that we should join the EC as a full member,using their currency and bank.
    What posit what??!!
    The only reliable ‘posit’ you have is your daily shit.
    You think that the EC want a set of brass bowls involved in their union? The time has long passed when they looked to Barbados for inspiration – killed by brass bowlery.

The damn people won’t even join the CCj.
    Have you noticed than even while dissing the CCJ they won’t put not one Bajan judge on the panel?
    Next thing you know the stupid-assed Bajans giving away all the EC money to white people like they did with the Bajan money…

Everybody can see the brass bowlery of Bajans except Bajans…

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…..I am wondering just how long the 2 bajan governments thought that crap would last. ..without serious consequences. ..how could so many ministers from 2 political parties be that stupid for so many decades.

40. Bushie

Chuckle….yuh froffin suh uhrly in de mawnin wha fuh….tek yuh meds doo

We the islands of the Caribbean need each other,it is as simple as that and we may as well start with the Eastern Caribbean lot.

41. Gabriel February 20, 2017 at 9:51 AM #

I would not get rid of pensions for parliamentarians, and how they qualify for them can be debated and renegotiated. However, the time is right for us to go on a campaign to align the age parliamentarians pension benefits can be paid with that of the average Barbadian.

42. @Bush Tea February 20, 2017 at 10:42 AM #

A massive cut in the govt salaries/wages bill is a must to get rid of the current accounts deficit which was ongoing since 2008. Don’t know which group of politicians will have the guts to break the news to Barbadians.

43. The pension plan needs to be grandfathered and replaced by a defined contribution plan.

What about how we grow the economy and increase productivity?

44. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Most of these comments prove that Bajans don’t understand our real issues or the current situation.

Worrell has been printing BDS$50m per month in order for gov’t to pay BDS$72m in civil servant salaries and wages each month.

He refused to continue doing it. He was told do it or be fired.

He called an emergency staff meeting and explained to the entire BCB staff that BDS was not in a financial crisis, our crisis was one of management and governance and the symptom both display as lack of business facilitation which has failed to get various projects started and chased away numerous investors. He did not mention the blatant bribery extortion that has had the same effect but it was implied. He demonstrated his position with the usual grafts, figures etc. He told everyone in the meeting to tell all their family and friends so they would know how to vote in the next election.

He was unofficially fired by Stinkliar. He knows that if he drags out his dismissal in the High Court past the end of the month, there will be no money to pay gov’t workers and parliament will have to do something radical. Hence the legal action he has taken to stay in position at BCB to choke the system.

I have typed here for years that this inept gov’t would fall when they could no longer pay civil servants. That time is upon us.

I have typed here for years that the only problem BDS has in an inept civil service that has been ineptly managed by an inept gov’t. Private enterprise will not invest one cent in a BDS run by these clowns. Just like last time.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

I hope there is enough rum in Bim for the day they are gone.

45. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@ David. That is why it is always a challenge to have a fixed exchange rate, a liberalise balance of payment account and an independent monetary policy. Something must give. In a perfect situation the increase bajan dollar in the economy could be mopped up central bank through OMO or increase the bench mark rate. This could temper the demand on imports. But then again there is also other negative consequences .

@Miller. You know what time it is my brother.

@Gabriel. Nice try, but you are only prolonging the inevitable. Our lifestyle is not a result our education, production and earnings…. but rather, living off other people (foreigners) savings.

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Frustrated is right, same information I am getting. No use Worrell just implying about the extortion and bribery….it should be made public by him, if he wants back his credibility….and by those negatively impacted…if they want it to end. It has been going on for decades.

Have yall any clue how many of us have stocked up on the popcirn, alcohol and various delicacies, just to see this unfold in grand style.

47. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Where are today was started by the BLP now , at what point did the DLP know? The DLP did not rat out the BLP and now its the DLP turn to loot the accounts,
    The DLP just got caught with no seat to sit,Both Parties must be removed.

https://zeno-devlab.s3.amazonaws.com/39047/media/290768.mp3

48. @ Gabriel

You are wrong.

49. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Barbados pegged exchange model is not sustainable going forward. Over the years the rate was propped up by FDI into high end real estate projects . That bubble has been burst. The Bahamas model (with its strict capital account policy ) would have given us a better fighting chance and even that has some major drawbacks. Bahamas is not even a member of the WTO. The irony of our dwindling reserve situation, is that, on PAPER we have Billions and Billions of FOREX flows coming into the offshore financial sector.Go figure.

50. According to the acting PM,Country Barbados boasts a comparative advantage par excellence.One hotel in the Bahamas is listed as employing 4500 ..one hotel.What is the problem in Barbados?Insular thinking?Small ain’t beautiful anymore?

Leave a Reply to Joycelyn MaynardCancel reply