David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
Submitted by David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

It is clear to me that the Freundel Stuart Administration is looking for a scapegoat for its 8 year long and continuing abysmal economic performance, and has decided that Dr. Delisle Worrell is to be that scapegoat.

Let us be very clear about this— in the real world of politics neither a Board of Management nor a Minister of Finance fires a Governor of a Central Bank! Rather, any decision of this magnitude would have to be taken by the Prime Minister and his Cabinet of Ministers.

Thus, we should perceive the decision to fire Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell as the decision of the Freundel Stuart Administration as a whole rather than as a decision of Minister Chris Sinckler.

This decision only makes sense if it is recognized for what it is— a desperate attempt to conveniently dump all of the blame for Government’s shameful economic failure on the shoulders of a “disgraced” Worrell in the run up to a General Election.

As all Barbadians are aware, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell have been hand-in-glove partners during the entirety of Dr. Worrell’s tenure as Governor of the Central Bank! So, if there is a reason– on objective grounds– to fire Worrell then that reason must extend to Minister Chris Sinckler as well!

You simply cannot separate the performance and record of Dr. Worrell from the performance and record of Chris Sinckler. So if Worrell must go, clearly Chris Sinckler must go as well. (But that is only if one is making an objective non-partisan analysis of the situation.)

The fact that no decision was taken by Mr Stuart to fire Chris Sinckler suggests that the decision to fire Worrell was a purely “political” decision aimed at providing a convenient scapegoat for the DLP’s failed economic policies.

Barbadians should not permit themselves to fall for this threadbare Machiavellian political trick!

The current DLP Administration has thoroughly disgraced and exhausted itself. It has demonstrated beyond the shadow of a doubt that it has no answer whatsoever to the myriad of problems facing our country. It is long past time for Barbados to be released from this dysfunctional Governmental Administration. What Barbados needs is not a new Central Bank Governor! Rather, we need a new Government!

116 responses to “Barbados Needs a New Government Not a New Central Bank Governor”

1. Last week when I wrote and demonstrated the declining credibility of the DLP government, some took issue with this objective reality. Now, according to the Sunday Sun, the embattled Governor of the Central Bank actually wrote to the MOF making a similar sentiment. Perhaps we will begin to accept the fact that to be objective does not mean sitting on a fence or hiding behind blind loyalty; instead it is calling things as these actually are observed.

2. @ Dompey
    Do us a favour and go back to bed for a few more hours….

@ WW&C
    Owen could really hush and let someone else make these OBVIOUS statements about the need to go to the IMF.
    He started the ball rolling with his wasteful spending on CSME …changing all our laws to disenfranchise Bajans, and focusing on importing rich foreigners rather than on developing COMPETENT Bajans.
    Thanks to him we no longer even make a sweet drink in Barbados.
    HE promoted shite people like the chicken feed man to oversee insurance and to facilitate CLICO
    HE created the Office of Public Sector Reform – which has been nothing but a waste of MILLIONS of tax dollars…. and the Shiite ‘Productivity Council’ with a bunch of lazy-ass people who do ‘talks’ once a year …and not a shiite else.

Owen is right (and is fairly bright), but he has no currency …and should sit quietly and reflect on the carnage that he has initiated in Barbados based on his ‘economic skill’ (whatever the hell THAT is)

3. Barbados does not need to go to the IMF what barbados needs is a new model of governance one that can be factored into the realities of living in a global economy and a model which does not necessarily meant having to be harsh but a model which present an alternative of governance by the people and for the people with government having less control and a role of steering the ship.

4. Sir objectivity does not call for having a chicken little mentality while crying the sky is falling which is the mantra by YOU and many here but having robust debate that are instrumental for betterment

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Steupseee

What the ef was that 8.18 a.m. post?

You pun drugs?

No one could be naturally stupid so, seriously!!

You read that pup after you wrote it?

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….a new model of governance. …means getting all you cadaver flies that lay eggs to create maggots gone, before yall killl the host country completely.

It’s a job for the electorate and the electorate only….the voters will get you gone…that is their job.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Wait ACs….ah saw on another thread where Fruendel is all cozied up with the Naked Depsrture blog mistress, alll hugged up and ting, air could not pass between them.. ..lol…..how come as yardfowl I have never seen you hugged up with Fruendel…lol

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright February 19, 2017 at 8:35 AM

Ac is not only on drugs. She has been hallucinating and tripping out since the Governor of the CB dropped a nuclear bomb of electoral intensity on her beleaguered lying administration.

She is even speaking in tongues and doublespeak for only the esoteric to interpret clearly.

Here is what was garbled in the gobbledygook transmitted by ac on February 19, 2017 at 8:18 AM during a tripping séance with the dead King David (with the epitaph of Lies, Cheating & Stealing- even from the dead) ac February 19, 2017 at 8:18 AM:

“Barbados does not need to go to the IMF what barbados needs is a new model of governance one that can be factored into the realities of living in a global economy and a model which does not necessarily meant having to be harsh but a model which present an alternative of governance by the people and for the people with government having less control and a role of steering the ship.”

What has come back as an answer from the underworld is that AC is simply saying she is now fully converted to the faith of Privatization and has decided to break away from her Lord Fumble’s tradition of arrogant stubbornness.

9. Sorry no i am not converted to Privatization. The people influence can be combined with a model which is productive to their interest and country interest
    In other words govt can implement policies which can weaned those who can afford and have the wherwithal of having open acess to entitlements like free education and health

10. Dompey,

Were you aged 19 in the 1980s?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Mugabe thinks he got time put down somewhere, he does not think he can pass away at any time.

12. I have almost come to the end of my vacance in a beautiful and a vastly underrated southern European country. Sadly, I have come to the conclusion that black run countries are doomed to fail. The one exception is Botswana. We tend to indulge ourselves in discussing issues concerning our island. However we should just admit that Barbados is a basket case and looks like it could be catching by up with Zimbabwe.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences February 19, 2017 at 12:46 PM

It is not the almost-in- the-grave dotish Mugabe you should be attacking but his cunning despotic ‘young’ wife who fancies herself as the heir to the throne and who currently but vicariously rules Zimbabwe through the dying old megalomaniac.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….ya know the trophy wife will add her destructive touch to show who is boss….as long as Mugabe opens his eyes every morning…lol

15. Mugabe is a “he”? heheheheheheh

Wunna gots to be careful using that personal pronoun around here.

And wunna say he, MUGABE got a young wife?

Heheheheheheheh wunna is casting aspersions at the goodly Mugabe….and “his” indulgences in the female gender.

Next ting wunna going be saying is that the reason one husband and said party ent speaking is because de wife of de husband was taken by him, or is that her, or was not able to hold (h)er

Whuloss this is too confusing for an old man and obvious anachronism.

Anyways do enjoy dis Stoopid Cartoon

http://imgur.com/a/QuomB