Submitted by Heather Cole

Don’t cry for him Barbados

The truth is he never loved you

During these wild years

He kept his promises to the DEMS

So you keep your distance!”

Perhaps a rewrite of the famous song about Eva Peron is in order with the above sentiments expressed by Barbadians. Clearly the bromance that never was, between the Minister of Finance of Barbados and the Governor of the Central Bank of plotting and overseeing the economic demise of Barbados is over.

Barbados Today reported that the fall out between the Governor and the Minister of Finance was with regards to the Governor’s inability to explain the country’s diminishing economic fortunes and rising administrative tensions within the Central Bank.

Again perhaps the economy has taken its final turn for the worse and is on its official death bed and the dreaded devaluation near. The blame game is underway with the Minister of Finance trying to squarely push the responsibility for failure of the economy on the Governor. The Governor clearly does not wish to be the fall guy. His strange action to avert blame from himself by appealing to the Court of Law against his dismissal is indeed cause for comment.

On one hand we had a governor who was a willing accomplice of this administration at every turn for the last 8 years producing alternate facts in speech, actions and data in support of the policies of the government. It is not that some of his economic policies were successful. He has a long list failures and unethical practices. He sold junk bonds to an unsuspecting public, scrubbed the Central Banks website of data and frequently produced data to paint the economy in a positive light. His action of holding $5 million in the Central Bank for Leroy Parris was illegal. He incessantly printed money, offloaded funds to Bjorn Bjerkham who should never have been appointed to any public board in Barbados. Let us also not forget his attempt to practice nepotism. Then it was the matter of the many economic downgrades that affected the country’s credit rating.

He supported and never admonished the Minister of Finance for his reckless economic onslaught against the people of Barbados. The Governor’s actions not only affected the economy but in extension endangered the livelihood of many Barbadians as it was also indirectly responsible for job loss. He did not perform as a Governor of a Central Bank but as a piggy bank for the Minister of Finance. His actions created capital flight and a scarcity in foreign exchange. Our currency has already been devalued in the eyes of our eastern Caribbean neighbours’ and Guyana.

In another place and another time his actions against the state would be tantamount to treason. This now reminds one of Cardinal Wolsey’s fall from grace when he failed to secure the kings wishes. So what did Mr. Sinckler so desperately want that the Governor could not provide that led to his firing? Was it more than what was stated above?

He has damaged his credibility as a practicing economist and brought shame to the title of Governor of a Central Bank. He sold out the livelihood of the people of Barbados and on reflection the People of Barbados should be taking him to court. His actions are at loggerheads with his profession he has not provided sound economic advice to support the economic growth of Barbados through monetary policy. That is the sole purpose of his job.

No one should be even a bit unhappy to see him removed as Governor of the Central Bank. He is now like a product on the shelf that is long past its expiry date. It will be a sad day if the Court rules in favour of the Governor of the Central Bank as it would be, even at this late stage legalizing the economic death of the island of Barbados by giving an unfit Governor the right to continue to destroy the economy.

353 responses to “No Tears for the Central Bank Governor”

1. David
    You are so correct in your brief ‘analytics’ of the goings on at the CB.If we are to impute rationality of what is so far in the public domain we ought to conclude that the one common denominator is the lack of interactive skills displayed by the Governor.
    At the outset the Governor is no employee.He has a term contract of employment and there should be conditions which determine his dismissal.Let it be clear that nobody has a right to any position anywhere in Barbados.
    Further,Worrell,in spite of his friend William Skinner’s views,has displayed an autocratic disposition in his management style and has succeeded in alienating very senior officials of the Bank viz:Cliviston,Bernard and Janis.Further he has refused to engage the Fourth Estate as well as accept the lawful authority of the Barbados Statsitical Service.
    In short Worrell might be an economist,even one of repute,but given his track record in interacting with people he is short on management skills.I think Christine LaGarde would support that observation entirely.

2. @ David,

Let us hope The Prime Minister intervenes. It is time for the “LEADER” to act decisively.

Let the world see that Barbados is not a plantain republic.

3. Look at https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/03/more-cuts/

When the Central Bankster spoke like many on BU, the Sinckler had no other choice than to fire him.

Very soon the time of endless talk on TV, in lecture halls, at cocktal parties and political rallies is over. Payday is coming for everybody earning money in BBD.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Not many would know that Worrell was once at MF…he also since then has had issues with La Grade….he obviously lacks interpersonal relationship skills because of the central bank issues, cannot relate to the media and acknowledge that they too have a job to do…….and should not be heading up any state institution as a contracted worker…..with those issues.

5. Whether Worrell goes or stays make for great political grease wheeling .
    However what is of most important and relevant are the offers which new and old establishment can offer as alternatives that are critical to uprooting rebuilding and restructuring the economy
    It is obvious even to a blind man on a trotting horse that old ideas have outlived there usefulness and should be put out the pasture
    The truth of engagement lies beneath a doctrine of having mauby pockets and having glorious expectations.
    Apart from all that is shown the audacity of expecting free lunch within a developing country whose population has expanded over the years is asking too much .

6. @ David

@William

“You do not understand the issue with Worrell.”

Kindly enlighten me, Sir.

7. Worrell is OBVIOUSLY a piss poor leader.
    However, he is in good company….

Piss poor leadership is also endemic in politics, business, the public service, the army, the police, in sport, in the damn church ….and everywhere else.

This is a simple case of an arrogant, piss-poor, leader (who bullied those under his authority) being bullied by another arrogant piss-poor leader, ….who will shortly also be fired by an arrogant REALLY piss-poor, ‘leader’.

Wanna obviously don’t realise how low we have sunk as a country…. or even the concept of bajan brass bowlery….. and karma..
    BUT WE ALL WILL FEEL IT SHORTLY.

8. @Pacha

Worrell has been running amok at the central bank for years. He has alienated most senior managers because of his autocratic style. It is something the MoF and Board have been aware for years. Because he is the Governor he is given respect by default. What is happening is a first for Barbados and about time!

9. @ AC

WTF!!!

You cant be serious!!

You said “…However what is of most important and relevant are the offers which new and old establishment can offer as alternatives that are critical to uprooting rebuilding and restructuring the economy…”

You really want some of that grease that you mentioned as political greasing and the axle of that wheel that you mentioned pushed up where the sun dont shine…

Your administration of the DLP is the party at the steering wheeel which should have been rebuilding and restructuring the economy during the 2 terms wunn effers had

Steupseeee..

http://imgur.com/YrETy3j

10. @William

See response to Pacha.

11. Now we are reading that Worrell is prepared to go all the way to the CCJ. Do you understand how this will influence the market in a negative way. Do you understand why those in leadership positions while this mess came to a head cannot be given a pass?

12. Yes i am serious Worell goes or Worell stays does not remove the underlying factors that are the main factors inhibiting the country economic pefromance
    Again i must reiterate there is no free lunch.
    Those who have ears to hear let them hear

13. “Yes i am serious Worell goes or Worell stays does not remove the underlying factors that are the main factors inhibiting the country economic pefromance”

You are correct. The real issues lie in spending versus revenue and overall policy and those are issues for the MoF and the PM to address. They are not related to the CB.

14. David

William Skinner has an affinity for Worrell

Pacha too. And his wife has been a proper bird.

But if he’s been doing Shiite, we say let the guillotine fly

Our country has to be more important than any one man/woman/set of people

And we don’t care who he/she/it/them is/are.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“It is obvious even to a blind man on a trotting horse that old ideas have outlived there usefulness and should be put out the pasture”

The retarded ACs cant see that the leaders are in the same boat as Worrell or they would have in the last years, updateď the 16th century constitution to a more modern version, fixed the problems in the judiciary and dismantle government corruption. ..they should all be fired.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 17, 2017 at 10:51 AM

The economic shit has hit the political fan causing bedlam in Bridgetown, bacchanal on the Church Greens and ruction in the CB Board room.

Now you can understand the rush to reinstate the salaries of the Cabinet members and colleagues. The devil will take the hindmost for other public servants

Lord Fumble’s Mickey Mouse administration is about to fall like a pack of cards with a full-house of jokers once propped up by the subservient sycophantic political puppet called Deliar Worthless who has been made the sacrificial lamb in adorable worship of Dolus.

Not even the abracadabra magical return of that missing $300 million in foreign reserves would be enough to sell your soul to save your sorry ass from moral purgatory.

“I will never Lie, Cheat or Steal” is the cursed 11th Commandment of Bajan shame given by DT (Deus Terribilis).

What have Bajans done to their own anthropomorphic god to deserve what is about to come tumbling down on them from Mount Misery? Lord Yahweh, please have Mercy on poor Bim!

17. Miller

I am at a loss,this govt has not refuted OSAs 90 day warning based on which the sheeple are starting to look around and some,the ones with the bell are getting panicky,yet this govt is not doing anything to allay their fears.

We have heard of two options an IMF loan arrangement which will not be triggered under 6 months or a loan from UAE or China……what are they waiting for as time is of the essence?

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…they are all indeed panicky, even the known crooks on the island have now found themselves trapped..

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93648/board-cuts-charter-service

Miller…look, the beginning of the end.

20. Well of Course everyone wants to talk about falling reserves but no one wants to talk about contributing and continuous factors that should be brought to bear and which includes society dependence on govt expenditure to fill in all gaps and leaks

21. Ac,
    Are we there yet?

22. ac gone berserk. dwl

23. Vincent,
    Journalism has got no special rights. Thee is a principle in journalism that the journalist would rather go to prison than reveal a source. That stands.

Lol…the ACs gotta go more than beserk, everything is on fire, I wont spit on them….let them burn…lol

25. Printing money translate to drain on forex IF you are not earning to support standard of living.

26. David,

Plse, plse avoid the talk about foreign reserves. You are simply wrong. I know it is like an addiction in Barbados, but I blame poor economic leadership, in particular from our academics.
    If you want advice on finance, seek out the CFA members in Barbados. Last time I checked there were about 28 – that was years ago. Forget the Cave Hill economists.

27. David Ames of Harlequin infamy has been charged by the Serious Fraud Office. I hope the attorney general puts a freeze on all his activities in Barbados.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

Injunction lifted….so who is the GoCB?

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93659/injunction-reportedly-lifted

The blight pf yardfowls….when their destructive value is no longer needed…the ACs are next.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/usJ23096VEV

Hal…the dimwitted AG Adriel would look at Ames as a white hero, not as a criminal who should be in a Barbados or St. Vincent prison…the leaders in Barbados do not have the mental capacity to deal with this level of white criminal….neither does the useless judiciary, DPP or police force they got on the island..

Harlequin chairman Ames charged with fraud
    By Christine Dawson 17 Feb, 2017 at 13:01

Harlequin chairman Ames charged with fraud
    The Serious Fraud Office (SFO) has charged Harlequin Group chairman David Ames with three counts of fraud.

He will appear in Westminster Magistrates’ Court on 22 March. Ames is charged on three counts of fraud by abuse of position.

The charges relate to activity between January 2010 and June 2015.

The SFO and Essex Police, announced it was investigating the Harlequin Group of companies on 5 March 2013.

According to the SFO, investors who invested in Harlequin through a Sipp and received financial advice from a firm which is no longer trading may be able to claim compensation from the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.

The SFO has a page on its website dedicated to Harlequin, which will provide further updates on the case.”

31. @Hal

Whichever way you twist it we must EARN forex to support consumption personal and business.

32. David,
    Yes, but it is the centrality of foreign reserves. FR is not an economic policy. Even China has shifted from exporting cheap products to consumption. We can do better that.
    We need to widen the debate over the future of the economy from devaluation and foreign reserves.

33. Well well,

This is what happens when you are obsessed with foreign reserves.

34. @Hal

Can’t disagree with you here.

35. David,

As soon as Ames was charged in London his assets in Barbados should have been frozen.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

37. Why would ac go berserck especially when ac house is in order owes no one nutting and most of all does not depend on govt for pint
    However the berserk ones are those who always see doom and gloom and shouting like chicken little
    prodigal and others from the doom and gloom bridgade to name a few

38. Cruise ship visitors must play a larger role in the retention of US dollars in Barbados.Entertainment must be the game changer to encourage more spend.We have the people and the venues.Put the logistics in place to put them and our visitors together at a price.

39. @ Hal Austin February at 2:25 PM “Journalism has got no special rights. Thee is a principle in journalism that the journalist would rather go to prison than reveal a source. That stands.”

Thus I am always completely confounded that you and your colleague journalist Moore would hold that secrecy of source sacrosanct and yet palaver here irritatingly about anonymity and pseudonyms.

What an absolute spittle into air nonsense !

40. dpdribbler

You are confused. If you do not understand the nuanced argument just butt out. Carl and I have always defended the rights of whistleblowers. Editors in the UK have gone to prison for defending contacts.

41. This is unfair and disrespectful to the minister. It is not his fault that he cannot do simple arithmetic. When he grows up he ought to be a finance minister.

42. wunna ammmmm may be interested to know dat ammmmmm wid all de “readership” dat de ole man getting fuh de grandson’s “Stoopid Cartoon” fliers dat de ole man campaign is now getting ammmmmmmmm “regulated”

Now what dis means is one simple ting which is dat de office of de Attorney General of Barbados one driel Nitwit under instructions by ammmmmmmm Fumbles stuart has and of course not to be left out Mugabe Mottley has taken insult from the

“No to the DLP and No the BLP” campaign dat de ole man running.

Now it really is not too important whether IMGUR does or does not let de ole man publish pun dem site, causing dere is thousands of other ones that will publish de grandson materialsjes so.

But what is important (dat is ef dese insignificant things are important) is that dem has gone all de way to de United States of America to complain for de ole man and me grandson and “DE STOOPID CARTOONS”

Nowhere is the thing that wunna gots to unnerstand about the sequencing of these events.

AC and she peoples ent really badger de ole man even doah he was saying some serious tings bout dem but suddenly as soon as there is talk bout a third party AND DE OLE MAN START TO SUPPORT THAT THRUST wunna Mugabe-ites complaining.

Ironically wunna did not want to work wid de ole man at any time when wunna warn way wunna peeples dem with the DON NOT ENGAGE INSTRUCTIONS.

Well here is a bit of information to Kerrie Symmonds, And Ralph Thorne and Eddie Hinkson, and George Payne and even you Shark teets Dale Marshal and all uh wunna.

All uh wunna Mugabe-ites telephones are being tapped!!

All uh wunna who has pledges to support the covenant with the Devil are now being monitored on wunna phones for all wunna communications

So wunna is being internally and externally monitored.

By the DLP devices and by Mugabe’s devices so wunna can be forewarned and make sure that

(a) when you go anywhere to discuss your secret conversations turn off wunna phones and tek out de battery and remove the chip from the phone BEFORE WUNNA START TALKING

(b) ammmmmmmmm ********** or

(c) ammmmmmmmm *****

Since wunna is not any fried of mine I will not tell wunna bout B and C

Your whatsapp communications are not secure …..

Have wunnaselves a good evening hear?? heheheheheh

43. There is confusion. Undoubtedly. But not in my head.

There can be absolutely no line drawn between the prattle both of you offer to unmask anonymity here on BU and the inviolate principle of an anonymous source.

You both proffer a ‘nuanced’ hypocrisy to validate your so-called ‘nuanced argument’ and shroud the debate with a poorly veiled palaver that anonymous bloggers are quick to vitriol and name calling, when in fact several named bloggers – yourself not least principal among the lot – have a very aggressive, nigh ad hominem, writing style.

It was most amusing when one such blogger unmasked himself to Moore. It was almost possible to see the utter disbelief on his face from the incredulity that seeped through those typed words: he knew the man and his family from secondary school. He just couldn’t believe the man was now so incredibly caustic to his fellows.

So saying that editors go to prison to protect sources is rather incredulous I think.

You want to incarcerate the minds of the many bloggers here for exercising the same principle which you applaud in any of your UK journalist: holding dear anonymity!

Sounds hypocritical to me, bro.

Let this not suggest that beyond that peccadillo I think you and Moore don’t write well and offer otherwise solid commentary… you both do. But then again maybe I am in fact just confused. LOLL.

44. De Ingrunt Word now DpD,

I agree with you 50% as per the solid commentary that Mr. Austin offers, not the other fellow though, he says nothing other than he wants to know who we are.

There are a few things that I will try in my ingrunce to explain.

Mr. Austin is of the old school that when they say my “nable string bury dey” he means it and is proud of it and, while he sojourns in the UK, the land where all black men go start raving crazy and where racism is institutionalized sometimes we all want to “come home”

A thing which can and will never happen but it is a yearning to go back where we can never go again.

Mr. Austin’s wish to have us all reveal ourselves DOES NOT COME FROM VINDICTIVENESS NOR THE DESIRE TO SUE US ALL past our grandmother’s graves but his is a genuine desire that we would rise to a level where all bajans could say what they wanted without being victimized.

He lived in Englant with its millions of people and expansive land mass where you can tell a feller KMA and lef and go somewhere 100 miles away and never see that man again.

When I tell Carl Moore bout his affliction where he gonna run to? Ghost Busters?

Carl is a litigious man who believes that citizens are to be hobbled, muzzled and blinkered while he, so called editor at the Nation and his ilk dictate what we say, when and to whom.

You DIW is not anyone in Carl’s world because you ent no Mottley or Symmonds and the reason he needs to unmask us all it so that the usual dynamic that obtains in Barbados will come into play.

This is why he hates Barbados Underground as he does and has it as his pilgrimage to unmask it.

You have to forgive Mr. Austin because HE DOES NOT LIVE HERE and cannot ever understand the nuances of a 11 x 14 rock in the sea where he has not ived for years and which Aussie Moore has never left but for a so called journalism conference in Trinidad or at best Miami FOR 2 WEEKS.

DE graas green but the rope tied short…Moore’s “shelf life” is like coconut water, 3 days in the fridge and den it gone flat.

When you start getting older and your hair starts dropping out, and your teeth dont have gums to hold to any more, or is tht moore, and your eyesight fails, and your doggie (still) does not get up and you are compulsorily retired, and you start to forget things, and you tell even more lies about things, yes de ole man is talking about the Trunk-ian Syndrome epitomized by SCROTUM, when that starts happening with you you will understand what drives men like Carl Moore.

To be relevant. to find one last fray to jump into.

Let me share with you something that will put this in context.

Most men and women relinquish control to their children at around 65, they become aware of their mortality and they pass the mantle of succession.

Look at Trunk and what you see is that he does not wish to release anything, he is holding onto the Presidency and the Trunk Empire (name) and the Hollywood Apprentice show as his immature mentality is prone to do.

Leave Mr. Austin alone.

you can only hope that what will happen is that, one day, he will see the true nature of Bulbados.

We can only hope that he will find out why we are, the Anonymice, and must hide in the Masks that we wear because we know what the Night of the Long Knives holds for us when the 34 rounds of the 2 Glock 17 magazines are empty.

All one can hope for is that in addition to the emissaries sent that they will also come.

45. You are not is*** heheheh ( I was to yave put the vernacular in quotation marks to represent Bajan speech creole or whatever we does call it

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Hal….these small governments allow white criminals and others to rampage through Barbados and the Caribbean with their fraudulent scams in the name pf fpreign exchange and then get made embarassed…., each and every time, yet they never learn.

47. Wahloss but Piece you backing a party with whistle blower legislation…hahaaaaa.

Leave a Reply to Prodigal SonCancel reply