Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Some are of the mistaken view that BU is anti-investment because we have advocated against projects like Cahill Energy and of most recent, the Hyatt Hotel project. Let us be pellucid as the English language allows, we are NOT. Instead all we ask is for our government to be forthcoming with relevant and timely information to ensure the citizenry is kept informed as is our right under our system of government. Pages of Auditor General reports support the scepticism of citizens that successive government have surrendered to corrupt behaviour and lazy management practices. If there was doubt the the recent Cahill Energy fiasco with a preponderance of  evidence confirmed the Stuart government made many questionable decisions. How are citizens expected to be confident in this government to implement large projects? Of recent there is the Del Maestro transaction which provokes the obvious questions: what would have motivated the principals of Deltro to freight millions of dollars in equipment to Barbados –stored at the Barbados ort Authority -BEFORE approvals from the Town Planning Department and the relevant government ministries  are approved?

The Hyatt hotel project continues to generate a lot of chatter. At first many reacted to the fact that Mark Maloney, a principal in Vision Development Incorporated responsible for mobilizing the project, was again the face of a major project in Barbados. Of recent, the conversation has rightly shifted to the fact Bridgetown is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and therefore the Hyatt hotel should blend with the surrounding environment.

After waiting months on Prime Minister Stuart to approve the Hyatt project when the Town Planning Department kicked it upstairs, it was reported last week that the the green light was finally given.  Surprisingly,  the media report claimed that  an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) was vetoed for the project after the government was advised by lawyers it is not required. Who are these lawyers? Are they from the Solicitor’s Office?

Commonsense supports the expectation that an EIA is absolutely necessary to be conducted to support a project given its mooted footprint. The footprint is defined as a hotel with 237 rooms, to be built on 3 acres of beachfront land. We will have to wait for information to trickle to the people of the number of storeys approved. To be expected the government read Prime  Minister Stuart has not called what should be the obligatory press conference to update Barbadians . This is the scant regard these educated members of the political class hold Barbadians. This was confirmed recently in parliament by Minister Steve Blackett who questioned why a town hall was necessary.  BU will resist the temptation to go low, JA.

If commonsense was not enough to support an EIA as a condition for approval for the Hyatt hotel project, the BU family was directed to the Draft Physical Development Plan (DPDP) dated February 2017 posted to the Town Planning Department website. Not only does the DPDP call for an EIS to be used as a tool to assess proposed development and a condition for approval, also, Heritage Impact Assessments (HIA), Agricultural Impact Assessments (AIA), Traffic Impact Assessments (TIA) where deemed relevant. Here is a quote from the DPDP:

Where ESIAs, HIA, AIS or TIA (Impact Assessments) are required, they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner, prior to approval being given. Approvals of development subject to Impact Assessments may contain certain conditions of approval to ensure that adverse impacts of such development are mitigated.

We have the report of last week that an EIA is not required for the project. We have the report extracted from the DPDP that supports Impact Assessments to be completed as condition for approval by TPD. Will anybody inform the citizens of Barbados what the hell is going on?

83 responses to “Draft Physical Development Plan Calls for Impact Assessments –Hyatt Hotel to be Built WITHOUT Impact Assessment Studies”

1. @ millertheanunnaki February 13, 2017 at 11:04 AM #

“Those who live by the sword of lies and deceit will succumb to the slaying hand of retribution.
    Please do not turn this quack into a martyr who gave up his ‘professional’ life to save your country from the oncoming train marked “Devaluation” and about to leave in its wake a social and economic wreck called Barbados”.

…………………………………………

You are so right, miller…………karma is truly a bitch.

Who would think that the governor would be in this position, in court to keep his job. He better be careful, this government does not adhere to the law, they think they are the law and above the law. The governor may well arrive at the bank tomorrow and find that the dems selected COP was ordered to deny him access to his office.

I would never forget how bold he was during the dead king’s reign when they first came to office. The governor lead the way in the lie that the BLP spent 700 million on the prison. The Trini lady used this lie for months on every call in programme to bash OSA. So I have no sympathy for him.

You must be ethical…………you lie for the dems and allowed yourself to be used when you know better, take the poison chalice!

2. Has anyone seen the site plan for the hotel.

Is there a traffic plan ?

Anyone knows if any nearby buildings will be affected when they start driving piles?

3. An Evaluation of Environmental Impact Assessment in Barbados

4. angela cox, really? Call the CTP and ask him what is meant by “every planning application is assessed on its own merit”? Ten years ago was the hotel 15-storeys; were sea conditions the same…what about the designation of Bridgetown as a heritage site? Was there emerging policy about building within historic Bridgetown? Guh long to court with “precedent” as a defense and see how far it gets you and the PM. lmao #wesupposetobebrightyuh

5. @ enuff
    Come on man!!
    Put two and two together nuh….
    angela cox???
    …another AC … or the original one?

6. As a small island state, there are many competing demands in Barbados for land and other resources (UNCED, 2002). Marine pollution caused by waste disposal and ballast water releases from ships, and illegal and inadequate solid waste disposal contribute to degraded water quality in Barbados. The tourism sector has also tolled heavily upon Barbados’ natural environment, causing extensive damage to coral reef systems, coastal erosion and generally placing greater stress upon the island’s natural resource base (UNCED, 2002).
    Barbados’ natural beauty, its economic dependence on the tourism sector, and its significant environmental challenges are some of the key environmental issues that support the need for environmental legislation and an EIA process in Barbados.

7. @ Hants
    Anyone knows if any nearby buildings will be affected when they start driving piles?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    What piles what?!!?
    This is a scheme to get some money to fund elections … PERIOD!!
    Froon knows that no damn hotel will be built – which is why no EIA is needed.
    It NEEDS to be ’15 stories’ …so that the ‘consultancy fees and the commission payments’ can be of the order needed to produce significant funding…
    …this is going to be an expensive election boss…

Which international financier will bring hundreds of millions of good dollars to a place where devaluation is all but guaranteed?
    Steupsss… the only money being targeted here is what remains of the NIS funds that has so far survived Stinkliar’s paws….

8. The tourism sector in Barbados is the leading foreign exchange earner and the leading source of employment in the country. In 2000, a total of 544,696 tourist arrivals were recorded in Barbados (Waterman, 2003). In addition, 533,278 cruise ship passengers visited the island in 2000 via 485 cruise ship calls (Barbados Statistical Services, 2003; Waterman, 2003). Approximately half of tourists in Barbados are from the UK, 20% are from the US and 11% from Canada (Waterman, 2003). The Barbadian Ministry of Tourism, in its most recent Policy Framework for Sustainable Development of Tourism in Barbados (2001), observed that the tourism sector, though a main catalyst for economic development in Barbados, has in the past contributed to the degradation of the island’s natural environment. Tourism has significantly contributed to the pollution and erosion of the coastal and marine environment, destruction of coral reefs, and damage to flora and fauna

9. The Government of Barbados has
    Reproduced with permission of the copyright owner. Further reproduction prohibited without permission.
    46 recognized the need to conserve its natural environment and is promoting the adoption of “responsible tourism” in recognition of the need to promote balanced and sustainable tourism with a focus on the development of environmentally
    positive tourism activity.
    Political structure
    Barbados is a parliamentary democracy closely modeled on the British political system and employs an English common law legal system. As a constitutional monarchy, the Governor General acts on behalf of the monarchy and is responsible for officially appointing the Prime Minister (GOB, 2005). The Prime Minister and the Ministers of Cabinet are collectively responsible to Parliament, which is comprised of the Monarch, a Senate and a House of Assembly. The key political parties are the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party. Local government for each parish was formerly in place until 1969, at which time the functions of the local parish governments were transferred to the central government. While the above has provided only a cursory overview of the political system in Barbados, a more in-depth review of the administrative organization in place to address environmental issues in Barbados is warranted for the purposes of this study.

10. The Town and Country Development Planning Office (TCDPO)
    The TCDPO was established by law through the Town and Country Planning Act, Cap. 240 (TCPA) in the 1960s, and is responsible for ensuring compliance with land use and physical development policies through the development control process (CSD, 2002). The TCPA establishes the planning process in Barbados and defines those developments for which an approval is required from the TCDPO prior to initiating the development. The planning process is further described in section 4.3.
    The TCDPO is under the authority of the Minister of Economic Affairs, who is also the Prime Minister of Barbados. The TCDPO is comprised of four sections: General Administration; Development Control; Forward Planning; and Enforcement. The Development Control section carries out the main functions of
    Reproduced with permission of the copyright owner. Further reproduction prohibited without permission.
    52 the TCDPO by reviewing and issuing decisions regarding planning applications. Responsibility within the Development Control section is organized according to five geographic regions, with individual Town Planners and Planning Assistants responsible for applications pertaining to developments in each of the designated regions. The Forward Planning Section is largely responsible for policy-related aspects such as the coordination of amendments to the National Physical Development Plan (NPDP), discussed in section 4.3. The Enforcement section holds responsibility for the enforcement of planning applications and related
    conditions and issuing certificates of compliance. The Enforcement section is also responsible for responding to public complaints. According to governmental employees, the total staff of the TCDPO is estimated at approximately 73 individuals, including the Chief Town Planner, 3 Senior Town Planners, 5 Senior Planning Assistants, 8 Town Planners, 21 Planning Assistants, and support staff.
    The main functions of the TCDPO include: (i) responsibility for the development and implementation of national policy on land use and physical planning in Barbados; (ii) ensuring compliance with relevant land use and physical development policies (e.g. the TCPA and the NPDP); (iii) evaluating applications for new developments for compliance with relevant policies and standards; and (iv) overseeing the EIA process and inter-governmental EIA Review Panels for development applications that require submission of an EIA (UNCED, 2002).
    The TCDPO is the main governmental agency with responsibility for implementing the EIA process in Barbados. The EIA process is embedded within
    53 the TCDPO as per the TCPA and related EIA policy within the NPDP. Upon submission of applications for new developments in Barbados, The TCDPO will determine whether an applicant is required to submit an EIA report in support of an application. The TCDPO is also responsible for coordinating EIA Review
    Panels which are established to facilitate an integrated review of EIA reports by relevant government departments that may have involvement in or relevance to proposed developments. Further detail regarding the EIA process is provided in section 4.4.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Own AreaFebruary 13, 2017 at 7:48 PM

My man O A, stop focusing on the small objects of distraction and let your big brain zero in on the bigger picture of a helicopter for a scam.

Any lawyer of the D C variety can be easily bought off in the long run and in the grander scheme of things.

So ask yourself this question:
    Since Barbados is now blacklisted as a investment pariah and a no-go area to above-board FDI sources which business people of ‘clean’ means would risk their own or clients’ money in this leaning tower of rock-hard concrete ready to collapse like a genuine house of gambling cards?

Would you, my friend, make such an investment in a sovereign bonds junk yard in the current financial climate of despair and uncertainty?

Or are you of the mistaken view that foreign investors are suckers and easily conned because of lack of due diligence and ignorance of local knowledge, both economic and politically frightening?

Now that the hard-as-rock erection has been further stiffened by the boss man’s Viagra bottle (not Chinese brush) of rare alacrity in decision-making let the baloney people show you the money to erect this figment of a well-paid architect’s imagination and raise the economic hopes of the people.

There is a darn lot of costly consultancies and finder’s fees to be extracted from the imaginary mine under the tower full of taxpayers’ and BTII pies-in-the-sky needed to replenish the electoral war chest for the upcoming campaign similar to what took place at Valerie and the Grotto for their 2013 successful war efforts.

Just think Cahill, Pierhead marina, Sugar Point Cruise Ship Terminal and the state-of-the-art Andrews sugar factory designed to grind non-existent canes 365 days a year and to generate enough electricity to light up Barbados in millions of neon lights for a billion years. Then and only then would you be able to climb to the top of the ivory tower of concretized dreams and see the light of scam.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush TeaFebruary 13, 2017 at 9:00 PM

Bushie, I read your post after I submitted mine along the same lines. The perfect conjunction of perspicacity and perspicuity of two stars in intellectual motion.

If only we can get the rest of the BU family to use their own intellectual light to see through the scam on the horizon.

Let the baloney fella and friends show their ‘maloney’ money and we will have to eat our words while we sell our souls at the Garrison in worship of Satan with Fumble at his side fiddling with the broken trident now totally cursed.

13. Millertheanunnaki

You won’t have convince a lot of here on BU but the greater harm is the precedent this creates in the long term for Barbados. This should not be allowed to stand.

14. ….”The TCDPO is under the authority of the Minister of Economic Affairs, who is also the Prime Minister of Barbados”….???

15. This man Maloney has left a trail of unfinished projects or bad work done in a rush to make millions and move on.

Was not his claim to fame casting concrete slabs? It is amazing how he could get a jackass to convince a cabinet to give up acres of land belonging to the taxpayers of this country………….supposedly ro build 1000 houses, a project he has left abandoned with many of which have been left unfinished and unoccupied.

Then he moved on to the Grotto. In his rush to make money he did shoddy work and we have heard from the ignorant minister that the remedial work is being done by the taxpayers. Not a fellow has not lived in these houses yet the tiles are popping but Maloney got his money and gone.

Now unto the next project aided and abetted by the black asses we have as leaders.

I dont think many believe that this hotel will be built. Somebody is looking to rip off people again.

The government gave him the taxpayers’ land at Coverley and now are they giving him the taxpayers’ land at Bay Street?

When will these morons we have as leaders ever learn that Maloney is all about money and dont care about a fellow?

16. @ Bush Tea and Millertheanunnaki,

Can the two of you find 28 good people to contest and win the next election ?

17. I wonder if Delisle is going to bare his soul and tell all? Hopefully just in time for the next elections.

18. @ Hants
    Can the two of you find 28 good people to contest and win the next election ?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    From where?
    You been home recently…?
    Place full ‘o brass bowls. Bushie was trying with Caswell and Jeff, but those two like they smelled the rat …. or is it the brass…?

Why the hell don’t you come back and take over? A red man like you would be a shoo-in for PM.
    Yuh going wait ’til Trump take over Canada and deport yuh as a kriminal?
    Ha Ha Ha
    Stop fretting bout Bim Boss, …cause when Trump finish with wunna donkeys up there, Barbados will look like heaven to wunna….even with Stinkller and Froon still fl’ing up the
    place.

19. BARBADOS UNDERGROUND WANNA DOES CAN WRITE AH COLUMN AN LEAVE OUT THAT IMBICILE PHOTO? STUPESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93530/governor-strikes

Life is good..everything is playing out just as it should.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93536/owen-90-days

According to Arthur…all bets are off in 90 days.

21. Hants,

“Anyone knows if any nearby buildings will be affected when they start driving piles?”
    You should know better. They construct taller and larger buildings in Toronto all the time and they do not drive piles. The “well diggers” they use to drill the holes for concrete supports do not nee pile drivers. the hole is drilled and concrete is poured in. I have seen a hotel being instructed on a beach in Miami and it was done quite easily. We always have negative approaches to any progressive ideas. Just to be obstructive and obstinate.

22. Prodigal son,
    Wasn’t the former Hilton Hotel imploded and rebuilt? Why do you think the Hyatt cannot be done the same way? Just because you racists don’t like Maloney What is wrong with all of you? This is Barbados; a country of about 270,000 people, not a few. We will always have rich and poor, black and white, sensible people and fools. don’t you live in the real world?

23. Miller,
    The Pierced Marina Project WAS CONCEPTUALIZED by, and was supposed to be built etc, by BS&T, before it was sold to Massy. It was not a concept of the DLP. It was supposed to have been built long before the BLP left office, so don’t pin that on the DLP, like you do so many other things which you failed to to.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin CumminsFebruary 14, 2017 at 10:20 AM
    Wasn’t the former Hilton Hotel imploded and rebuilt? Why do you think the Hyatt cannot be done the same way? Just because you racists don’t like Maloney What is wrong with all of you?

What “racists” what! Maloney will be classified as a black man in any other part of the World other than in the purely black or white ‘two-tone-code-noir’ Barbados.

All that redneck baloney fella has to do is to show ‘Bajans’ the money he has accumulated or borrowed to raise his erection and you would see how in a twinkling of an eye how his chameleon skin can ‘transmogrify’ into one complete colour called ‘M(al)ONEY’.

Ask COW (whom you went to school with) if his ‘burnt-skin’ colour ever got into his way in “removing the earth to please”.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin CumminsFebruary 14, 2017 at 10:29 AM
    “The Pierced Marina Project WAS CONCEPTUALIZED by, and was supposed to be built etc, by BS&T, before it was sold to Massy. It was not a concept of the DLP. It was supposed to have been built long before the BLP left office, so don’t pin that on the DLP, like you do so many other things which you failed to to.”

So too (to) was the Four Seasons Deadweight which you have taken over and sunk millions of dollars of the workers’ NIS contributions into.

Even up to this day nothing is forthcoming to shed light on this elusive project (which has been finally ‘captured’ by a ‘known’ investors) despite a promise in August 2016 to deliver an update to Parliament.

PS: You conveniently forgot to state the same Pierhead Marina project was ‘Redesigned’ under your DLP administration at a cost of $40 million with only a sandbank to show for its conceptual success.

Maybe the Quisling Boyce can inform you of his bagatelle salted away in an IBC in St. Lucia as a result of the shifting financial sand.

26. miller

Waste no time with this jackass!

27. Hants February 13, 2017 at 8:28 PM #

……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Yes , one nearby building is expected to be affected by piles, piles of yankee dollar bills .

The Prime Minister in his capacity as minister in charge of the Town and Country Planning Department ,is to pay another visit to Bay Street.
    While many Barbadians are questioning the erection of a 15 storey building in Bay Street, one acquired Barbadian is gearing up to take advantage of the expected spin off of the Hyatt Hotel when it comes on stream.
    The owner of Liquidation Center,who at times is a law unto herself, has applied for planning permission to renovate and convert the existing old Plantations building. The PM was due to inspect the premises yesterday before he gives his approval.
    One wonders what type of business that Mrs Ram would venture into to grab some of the tourist dollars from next door. Perhaps a casino?
    I do hope that when the PM visits the property , he is not assaulted by some of the uninvited residents who have been squatting upstairs in that building for a year or two,……………a troop of oversize monkeys that are unable to make their way out.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fruendel said the chief town planner said there is no need for a study.

Dale Marshall

19 hrs ·

A few thoughts on the Prime Minister’s assertion that an EIA is not required in respect of the intended Hyatt Hotel to be built in Bay Street….

The Town and Country Planning Act (Cap.240) does not contain any mention of an Environmental Impact Study / Assessment.

However, section 16 provides that in considering a planning application, the Chief Town Planner must have regard to the provisions of the National Development Plan, and "any other material considerations..".

Section 17(1) provides that an application for planning permission, if requested by the Chief Town, may be accompanied by an assessment of the impact that the development is likely to have on the environment of Barbados.

I concede that this section refers to the overall environment of Barbados.

Section 17 (1A) goes on to stipulate that the Chief Town Planner SHALL request such an assessment where part or all of the development is proposed to occur in the coastal zone management area. For this purpose I am assuming that Carlisle Bay is such an area, since no definition is to be found in the Act. This requirement is not discretionary but mandatory.

Section 17 (1C) also requires that the Minister SHALL consult with the Director of Coastal Zone Management. Is it far fetched that this consultation would be to establish what impact the hotel

would have on the coastal zone? I think not and one must assume that, if so consulted, the issue would have been subjected to the most in depth examination.

While the nature of the assessment is not stipulated in the act, is it so far fetched that it should be in the nature of an environmental impact assessment? I think not.

One assumes that the views of individuals in the surrounding areas would be material considerations too. In the High Court case of Archer v. Chief Town Planner, decided in 2014, it is recited that the Chief Town Planner wrote to individuals owning lands adjoining a property in Valley View, St. George, which was intended to be converted from a residence to a day nursery. He did this because he considered that their views were material considerations which he should take into account before making a decision on the application for change of use.

Surely if such was the standard for such a minor development, that the same would obtain for a 15 floor hotel on Carlisle Bay.

In the case of the Hyatt, it would therefore seem reasonable for adjoining property owners and other interested parties to be consulted by the Chief Town Planner before the directing the application for the Minister’s decision.

It would also seem reasonable that a thorough assessment of the impact of the development should be requested of the developer, and given the fragile nature of Carlisle Bay, such an assessment should include environmental matters, also called an EIA.

It would seem reasonable that such an assessment should be subject to the greatest possible scrutiny by the Coastal Zone Management Unit.

If all of these things are reasonable, surely the Prime Minister could give us the comfort of knowing that they were done, even if he does not want to consider them collectively to be an EIA.

Instead, his only offering is that the Chief Town Planner did not consider an EIA to be necessary?

That sounds like a gigantic cop out to me!!!

But then again, when the rest of the world had long seen the CLICO report, his excuse was that it had not yet been sent to him.

And he didn’t know either that people charged with murder were being granted bail.

And I rather suspect that he doesn’t know that the Governor of the Central Bank has Chris Sinckler in Court either…..

30. @enuff et al fyi

Credit to VOB for bringing the deputy Chief Town Planner on Brasstacks today to discuss the physical development plan. Of interest -there are ads in the press of the TPD advertising sessions at various locations to explain the draft physical development plan.

31. @enuff

Do you agree with the deputy Town Planner that Stratigic EIA was done for the area of Broad Street and therefore one is not necessarily required for the Hyatt project?

Note the Facebook conversation BU had this morning on the subject.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosUnderground/posts/10154348901895866?notif_t=like&notif_id=1487510091329317

32. […] DRAFT PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN CALLS FOR IMPACT ASSESSMENTS –HYATT HOTEL TO BE BUILT WITHOUT IMPA… […]