Submitted by William Skinner

educate-produceEducation is one of the many tools a country uses for progress. Somehow we have convinced ourselves that it is the only tool and it must come in a defined format, which must never be changed. Education like any other national tool must undergo redefining and utilized strategically or it falls by the wayside like any other endeavour that is left to its own devices.

A recent photo of a top university administrator, bedecked in shoes and hand bag made from the black belly sheep skin, is perhaps the most exciting news coming from within the walls of UWI for some time. We recall about four decades ago, our craftsmen were taking the skin from cows and making belts. Almost everybody had a “cow skin belt”. If my memory serves well, I think we had some car seat covers locally made as well. They eventually disappeared because at that time they were seen more as oddities than foreign exchange earners. Nobody thought a tannery would have been a good investment. Nearly three decades ago, we were also told that the same black belly sheep produces a top class meat (mutton) that will be a world beater. Then we heard that somebody in Texas had literally hijacked the black belly sheep by some legal manoeuvre.

On this occasion, the folks at UWI enlisted the services of a tannery in Italy. The Black Belly Sheep Leather Project has local business mogul, Sir Charles Williams, as one the projects top supporters. In all fairness to Sir Charles, he has always promoted the economic benefits of the black belly sheep.

We hope that this project gets off the ground and employment is found and a means of production to produce and market more than the pair of shoes for display on the front page of our papers. We have produced hundreds of university graduates in all disciplines and yet to this very day our country is poorly marketed. We have little or no competitive agro based industries. And we have allowed all our nutritious fruits to fall to the ground as we are more attracted to packaged fruit , grapes and apples from “over way”. The fact that this project will embrace other Caribbean islands where the black belly sheep is found adds to its potential.

This project indicates that the Centre for Food Security and Entrepreneurship of the University of the West Indies is finding its way. It clearly demonstrates that any progressive place of learning should see its role beyond what is mainly found in text books and academic arm chairing.

59 responses to “Educate and Produce is the Way Forward”

1. Bushie

Skippah…..yuh too hard ears….why dont you try and understand the end result of the fall and striking of the sword of Damocles……comprehension was lost at the door of the BBE who used sell scythes and pitchforks but now only does weed wackers.

2. “Meanwhile, back at the ranch…”

Just to confirm why I know that we are not ready and will not be ready for the next 100 years at least.

UWI 2017 Evaluation Survey document to assess the Skills of the Tutors/professors of the courses

I am going to use one single question posed to students to make my point

“Was the Instructor usually punctual?”

Sometime in the mid 2000’s the UWI purchased? a most expensive and troublesome enterprise programme called “Banner”

Like Banner in the Incredible Hulk but which proved to be like the Incredible Money Guzzling Chvunt”

One would believe that inherent in any system wide metrics programme that survey information such as attendance AND PUNCTUALITY would be built into the simplest of programs.

For the layman let me explain with this example.

When the watchman at the Nation gets to work he punches in at the side door and that notification goes directly to the HR/Payroll section to say “Harold Hoyte” security guard is at work.

JE Security “the keeper of all the Homes of the Rich and Famous in Sandy Lane” has that simple system where guards who drive around them black trucks like dem mad have to effect “punch ins” at stations ON THE PEOPLE’s PROPERTY.

Imagine, in this day and age, the university still printing survey sheets to record punctuality at thousands of dollars in paper and ink AFTER SPENDING ALL THAT MONEY PUN BANNER (The Incredible CHVUNT) when IPAD logins in classroom obviate that archaic process.

Wunna unnerstand when we do a serious evaluation of where we are and where we need to be, without even making any mention of “where we are vis a vis the rest of the world is”, you start to appreciate the gravity of how utterly lost we are?

3. BU received a report that a Ms. Nielsen at HC has been woefully recalcitrant in attendance. The principal Ms.Wade so far has been unable or unwilling to deal with the matter. Parents to ensure their children get the work done have been forking out hard earned dollars for extra lessons. BU like Trump’s Flyn hereby serves notice on Ms.Wade on Nielson.

4. The land at Newton/Balls in Christ Church,where construction has started,is not for Housing,as I thought, but is for Mr Halloute’s number 16 Chefette outlet.
    Goodbye Yam, eddoes,sugarcane ,corn and potatoes fields, welcome Chefette / Kentucky and Burger King.

5. @Colonel Buggy

You noticed?

A fast food joint adjacent to Balls plantation?

A comfortable fit?

6. @ David,

This is interesting. Davis Plant Nursery

“FOR MORE THAN 20 years Patsy Davis has been getting her hands dirty.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93313/wednesday-woman-pure-joy-growing#sthash.QjBAYEWY.dpuf

7. @Hants

The problem is that we do not have scale neither is it part of a national strategy.

8. Of note……

Trinidad Express Newspapers
    21 hrs ·

This country is not different from any country in the world today. We are seeing a lot of violent crime related to the narcotics trade. Narco-terrorism in South America is related to attempts to extradite drug lords. A lot of young people are involved in the drug trade because it’s very lucrative, a…

See here : http://bit.ly/2l23TGZ
    ‘A brutalised society must be violent…’
    trinidadexpress.com
    http://bit.ly/2l23TGZ

9. What’s going on at St Michael? They have brought in some silly American psychologist to tell them that their children are mad. Was the union consulted about this, or were they too busy planning another pay rise?
    Get rid of this woman fastest. Don’t they read about what these psychologists – a dubious discipline – do to black people?
    Where did this nonsense about counselling come from? Psychology focuses on the individual, but we want to focus on the society.