Jeff Cumberbatch - Columnist, Barbados Advocate
Jeff Cumberbatch

We are undeniably living in interesting times. On Friday, we witnessed the inauguration of the forty-fifth president of the United States, Mr Donald Trump, who was able to overcome some missteps that would ordinarily prove fatal to others in most election campaigns and to win the requisite number of votes in the Electoral College, although not those of the majority of citizens. It is doubly ironic that this system was established by the Founding Fathers, principally to ensure a numerical balance between the Northern and Southern States by including certain individuals, identified by race, as less than entire persons, a factoid that would later come to resonate with the Trump campaign’s motif of exclusion.

According to Akhil Reed Amar, a noted Constitutional Law Scholar at Yale University: “At the Philadelphia convention, the visionary Pennsylvanian James Wilson proposed direct national election of the president. But the savvy Virginian James Madison responded that such a system would prove unacceptable to the South: “The right of suffrage was much more diffusive [i.e., extensive] in the Northern than the Southern States; and the latter could have no influence in the election on the score of Negroes.” In other words, in a direct election system, the North would outnumber the South, whose many slaves (more than half a million in all) of course could not vote. But the Electoral College—a prototype of which Madison proposed in this same speech—instead let each southern state count its slaves, albeit with a two-fifths discount, in computing its share of the overall count”.

Also on Tuesday of this week, the much-anticipated decision of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom Wales on Brexit is scheduled for delivery. There, their Lordships have to decide whether the decision of England to leave the European Union should be purely an executive decision by the Government of the day in accordance with established principles of treaty making and unmaking that accord that power exclusively to the Executive or whether, in agreement with the opinion of the lower court, the decision is primarily one to be made by Parliament, especially since any withdrawal might impact negatively on the applicability of European laws that have become part of the British legal system.

Of course, it is open to their Lordships to hold, without doing violence to accepted constitutional theory, that the decision to withdraw from a treaty still remains within the exclusive remit of the Executive and that the relevant laws are not thereby necessarily affected but remain alive subject to later Parliamentary adoption or repeal. The inescapable reality is that the people whom the members of Parliament notionally represent have already signaled their intention to leave Europe. How significant a role this will play in a decision that promises to be an intriguing mixture of realpolitik and constitutional theory remains to be seen.

Interest is not solely confined to the extra-jurisdictional. Here, at home, a story that is gaining significant printed press inches and talk show minutes is the decision of the governing administration to dispose of its interest in the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited [BNTCL] to the Sol Group. This has evoked cries of unfair competition or, rather, its likelihood from a competing bidder and retail competitor, Rubis Inc. The regulation of fair competition in the jurisdiction falls to the Fair Trading Commission, an institution that this writer currently has the honour to chair and is therefore precluded, in the interest of equity, from further public comment at this time.

Of equal interest locally, is the re-emergence, within recent days, of no fewer than two political groupings that have declared an interest in contesting the 2018 general elections. What has struck me as most eldritch about this development so far, is that the debate surrounding one group has been concentrated on the identities of its presumptive candidates, while, contrastingly, the other “third party” has chosen not to reveal its potential candidates at all, doubtless a risky strategy in a jurisdiction where general elections are pejoratively referred to as beauty contests in both the literal and metaphorical senses of that term.

It is to be noted too that no matter how many parties contest an election in Barbados any new grouping is referred to as a “third party”; a tacit and grudging acceptance of the predominance two party system that has witnessed the interchange of governance for at least the last sixty years between the Barbados Labour Party [BLP] and the Democratic Labour Party [DLP]. The time may be auspicious for a third party, given the cocktail of the success of the unorthodox Trump campaign, the surprising results of relatively recent referenda in a number of jurisdictions and the closeness of the electoral result in 2013 that might have indicate either a popular indecisiveness between the two principal parties or a populist disenchantment with both. Film at eleven!

Condolences to the family and close friends of Adrian “Boo” Husbands who entered secondary school a few years after me. “Boo”, as he was familiarly known, once expressed to me some years ago, an interest in studying law, though he also confessed at the time that he did not expect to live to a ripe old age. We were most recently in contact last year when he invited me to a reunion of some old boys that was being organized. I could not make it as I was scheduled to be abroad. I did not know then that that would have been the last time I would have enjoyed his dry wit and elfin sense of humour.

Rest in peace, “Boo”. You have marked well.

60 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Interesting Times”

1. @ Dribbler
    The PEOPLE voted to tell their representatives WHAT they wanted them to do. That is plain and simple.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Exactly ….So stop grumbling do!!

This was an obvious ruling by the court.
    While the people voted to tell their representatives what to do, it is the damn representatives who have to DO IT…… or not….

Where in a sane world is there room for operational decisions to be taken by universal referendum?
    Steupsss ….. the people voted for a policy.
    It is the PARLIAMENT that must operationalise the policy….as they see best.

Much ado about nothing.
    Parliament may even vote to stay…. and suffer any consequences at the poll, …just as a manager may opt to ‘fire the wuk’ rather than compromise a personal principle (not in Barbados though)

2. Today’s findings by the Supreme Court that the Executive of Theresa May has no authority to trigger Article 50 was expected.

That ruling points Government to Parliament and the legislative route.

But that tactic presents difficulties which equate to the position ante.

For whereas the House of Commons is likely to support such legislation, the elites in the House of Lords are also likely to side with their allies in Europe and defeat such legislation when proposed.

One has to understand the nature of the globalists. That the European project took many years to construct and that its elites are not going to let commoners think that a mere vote could derail that project.

All this British legalistic bullshiite was expected.

We had suggested, immediately after the vote, that the will of the people would have been bureaucratically rejected.

And here we are.

Given these circumstances, is it not fit and proper for the people to now consider more practical means of dealing with what is tantamount to a tyrannical government in Britain.

3. Pacha

You are wrong. The bill authorizing Brexit will pass quickly in the Commons. Only the Lib Dems will try to stop it and they are a spent force, without the numbers to be effective. It may be delayed with amendment votes in the House of Lords but it is inconceivable that the Lords would try to frustrate the will of the Commons for very long.

The Big Repeal Bill scheduled for 2019 is another matter. Will likely be vetoed by the European Parliament or blocked by some EU member states, but that does not matter. Once Article 50 is triggered this year, EU laws and directives cease to have effect in the UK in 2019. Period. By then, the UK will have negotiated bilateral trade agreements with the US, Australia, Japan and India.

No sweat.

4. Interesting times is right……

Yet, she complained that Government’s priority was to give itself an increase back. Mottley also pointed to the latest Central Bank report issued today in which the Governor Dr Delisle Worrell warned of the need for Government to reduce wages and transfers.

“Now how can we have that signal coming at 2pm [from the Governor] and at 4 p.m. the Government is looking to give itself an increase back?” Mottley asked.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Opposition walks out of Parliament | Barbados Today
    Opposition walks out of Parliament
    The Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) this afternoon staged a walk out of Parliament after Government tabled a resolution to restore the ten per cent pay that its senior members lost back in 2014 at the height of austerity. In tabling…
    barbadostoday.bb|By Barbados Today
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/24/opposition-walks-out-of-parliament-2/

5. Chad,
    Plse explain your position. Why will the parliament process be easy for the govt, with a tiny majority?
    The EU will not have any powers to bock the so-called big Repeal Act. And THE UK cannot negotiate any bilateral agreements until AFTER Article 50 negotiations are complete.
    Chad, you seem to get all your information from CNN and the internet. Of all the people in this forum your contributions are consistently fraudulent.
    I am not surprise you want a bogus name.
    We have just had the two most intellectual lawyers in Britain involved in this case, and both came down on the same side – Lords Pannick and Sumption. David Pannick for Gina Miller and Supreme Court judge Sumption.
    Chad, stop trying to steal ideas to make an impression.
    I repeat again|: Br|tain is a parliamentary democracy, unlike Barbados or the US. It is parliament with the power in this country.
    The Royal Prerogative and Executive powers are secondary, there are powers delegated by parliament.
    What is almost worth bearing in mind is that once Article 50 negotiations go through, legal powers return to the UK from the European Court of Justice, which means the EU will not be able to tell Britain squat. That is the legal position.
    The politics are different: the EU, a market of 500m, with a higher per capita income than the US, is the biggest market in the world. That is why I am for a United States of Europe, even though black people would likely come off worst.
    I think the small island Brits have won the battle, but not the war. With a protectionist US under Trump and China seeking a return to its historic position, and after divided by 53 different customs borders, future generations of Brits will reconsider.
    It took the old lot 40 years to implement Powellism, it will not take future generations that long.
    Those who thought the Supreme Court judgement would be different are not as familiar with British Constitution as they think.
    But, Chad, I like your confidence, even if you are wrong.

6. de Pedantic

In the UK, referenda are just advisory. They impose conditions on parliament.

7. cannot

8. @Austin, how could anyone realistically expect the Supreme Court decision to be different…how?

The only decision that would have been of ‘significance’ would have dismissed the supposed advisory referendum. And that was never part of the case.

I say supposed because as much as it may be the technical element of the law how could the House of Lords or courts negate the will of the people without ‘revolution’.

What can parliament now do differently to the advisory referendum? What can Scotland and Wales and Ireland do differently. Nada.

Not being simplistic but at day’s end it is simple. The UK has to exit the EU.

The operational details are within the purview of May and her parliamentary colleagues of course but there is no practical way to stop the exit without seismic shocks to the entire UK…

Do you forsee that???

That is as simple as it can be in writing but absolutely complex in reality.

9. Hal Austin

is not much of a political observer, and not much of a constitutional lawyer either.

The UK legislation that is now required (as a result of the Supreme Court ruling today) to authorize the trigger to Article 50 of the Treaty of Lisbon will easily pass the House of Commons because it will be supported by the Conservative Government AND by the leadership of the Labour Party. Both Theresa May and Jeremy Corbyn are on board. Corbyn’s position is that Parliament must not obstruct Brexit because the People have spoken. Once the Commons passes the trigger legislation over the objections of rebel Conservatives, Labour MPs and Lib Dems, the House of Lords can do nothing but delay ratification for a short time.

Regarding your statement that the prerogative powers of the Executive are “delegated by Parliament”, that is not entirely correct.

All powers of the state used to be vested in the Crown. Then the power to legislate was seized by the Parliament and the power to uphold and interpret the.laws (statutory and common law) were taken by the Judiciary. All of the remaining powers of the Crown are now vested in the Executive.

The powers of the Executive therefore include original (and now residual) administrative powers of the Crown, not just the administrative authority delegated by Parliament to implement legislation. The Royal Prerogative includes the power to conduct foreign relations and defence policy, for example. These are not only powers “delegated” by Parliament.

Where did you go to law school?

As for my comment about the Big Repeal Bill, what I meant to write is that the contents of the Big Repeal Bill, which will reflect the details of the final Brexit proposals negotiated internationally by Theresa May will probably run into trouble in the UK Parliament because the terms of any proposed international deal will probably never be approved by EU members.

To repeat, I did not mean to say that the UK Repeal Bill would have to be approved by the EU. Only that a final Brexit deal describing the terms of UK disengagement from its EU membership would require EU approval, and is unlikely to get it.

10. Chad
    You are an intellectual fraud and I no longer want to debate and I no longer want to debate with you