Submitted by nineofnine

governance“The construct and purpose of any legitimate government is to facilitate the needs of society, promote opportunities and generally provide and protect a well structured society with benefits for all. The National Debt is defined as “mortgages on the wealth and income of the people of a country.” (Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1959)

Our wealth, …. our income…..then WHY is it that a GROUP of persons referred to as “GOVERNMENT” proceed to INCUR DEBT against a nation without the consultation of the people of that nation?

GOOD GOVERNANCE: CONSTRUCT Communities (11) and a Central Government (1)

COMMUNITIES
Constituents of Communities/Parishes respectively establishes executive bodies and select their representatives for Central Government by way of fair elections using the RANK CHOICE VOTING SYSTEM and paper ballot only. Collectively, they, the Constituents define the needs of their Communities/Parishes as well as collectively create an oversight body of Central Government.

COMMUNITIES also…

ESTABLISHES the terms and conditions of employment FOR their COMMUNITIES’ REPRESENTION.

• Determine their collective representatives have impeccable records of service to others and free of any criminal records.
  • Retains the power of recall of their representative to Central Government.
  • Can demand any audit/report at anytime for community consideration or and have the same made public.
  • Call for an investigation into any matter that is deem a community or public concern.
  • By collective agreement of communities, pursue any legal actions for any corruption discovered within Central Government.
  • Conduct FREE and FAIR ELECTIONS using the Rank choice voting system and paper ballot only.

CENTRAL GOVERNMENT

Central Governments’ core members are those elected representatives of the communities/parishes, which in turn also elects a Head of State. They are further supported by the advice and direction of professional technical Associations across the board for what ever determination is required. Central Government facilitates the petitions of the communities, provides the infrastructure to facilitate the electoral process at the community level and is responsible for the management structure for governance inclusive of Audits and Reports to the Communities. Decisions on International affairs are first put to the collective communities, and findings advanced by their representatives and debated for further debate by Central government and related Association bodies in an established timeline.

CENTRAL GOVERMENT also…

• ESTABLISHES the terms and conditions of employment FOR membership of the CENTRAL GOVERNMENT.
  • CREATE/REFORM systems of transparency for/of accounting, accountability and auditing.
  • TRANSIT/limit/share control other than vital responsibilities with the private sector. NO complete privatization or monopolies.
  • STREAMLINE SYSTEMS for ease of business, engaging less bureaucracy.
  • Compulsory audit and their reports are made public.
  • PROMOTE and FACILITATE collective community base organizations to manage their needs and requirements for sustainability of the basics, et al.
  • REFORM the political structure to manage the collective community base organizations.
  • MANDATE elections by RANK CHOICE VOTING and by paper ballot only.(no electronic base counting).
  • DISALLOW CORPORATE FINANCING of election candidates, only limited Public financing allowed.
  • ALL VITAL AREAS of government receives EQUAL funding and attention including audits and reports.
  • For and by the CONSTITUTION, all ACTS and LAWS be reviewed, repealing the OUTDATED, biases, omissions and loopholes and amending to concur with current societal experiences.
  • REVIEW and UPDATE the mandate of the POLICE FORCE.
  • Make the MILITARY more of servitude to the community and State.
  • UPHOLD ALL CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS of all citizens.
  • By REFERENDUM/consensus/opinion consult the citizenry and by press conferences give reports of all meetings of an International nature. NO COMMITMENT to TREATIES et al without first obtaining approval from citizenry.
  • NO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS is deem secret, sensitive GOVERNMENT BUSINESS is release by application and record of such. REPEAL THE SECRECY ACT.
  • TAXATION must reflect fairness. Eliminate personal income tax, eliminate subsidies, tax haven facilities and breaks. Eliminate/limit concessions to offshore business apply rules and monitor. RETAIN vat on consumables (local foods excluded). Eliminate YEARLY LAND TAX, a one off tax added to any purchase of land. Your purchase IS YOUR PROPERTY.
  • ESTABLISH OUR VERY OWN CENTRAL BANK (not foreign own or controlled). PHASE OUT FOREIGN BANKS and facilitate CREDIT UNIONS, regulate all banking FOR DEVLOPMENT OF THE STATE and in our interest of the family unit.
  • ESTABLISH A COURT OF CONTRACT and DEEDS for disputes, contracts written in verb adverb and not in the correct parse syntax grammar contains much fiction and deceit, hence curbing this fraud and perjury, eliminating the interest fraud and extortion.
  • All foreign consultancies declared as advice only and decisions made only by open debate. – All AIR SPACE is declared non experimental. Permission required.
  • STIMULATE the ECONOMY via the CIRCULATION OF MONEY… stagnant money is non-beneficial.
  • Create a FOOD BANK, Restrict CHEMICAL BASE and Modified foods. Promote healthy lifestyles.
  • RETURN FREE EDUCATION, promote and facilitate innovation and business acumen and development.
  • Utilize idle Crown and Corporate lands for lower income housing and food production.
  • Pensioners and minimum wage of General workers $500. per week.
  • Cease the forfeiture of personal information as in fingerprinting and mug-shots for the benefit of employers and international data bases.
  • HAVE THE POWER TO APPOINT (Ombudsman, Ambassadors etc.)
  • Establish a new economic policy compatible to and projected for sustainable development, by gauging and enhancing current economic performance.
  • Institute measures to curb capital flight.
  • Any decisions made by the Chamber of Commerce or the Employers Federation that relates to regulations or standardization of employees must first be ratified by Central Government and Central Government must have a sitting representation on their administrative bodies.
  • Determine ALL LEGAL MATTERS OF THE JUDICARY by level and related time space TO ADJUDGE.
  • Halt needless borrowing. Any borrowing will be for Community Development purposes only.
  • RESTRAIN from imposing taxation on deposits of customers of Credit Unions and allowing the said Credit Unions room to develop their products and expansion.

The above is miniscule in concept and vision and is purpose to crate a liveable environment with benefits for all. Any of these may be incorporated into any political aspirations, need not use as intent to personal enrichment as karmic responsibility is applied.

109 responses to “For the VISIONARY Claim of Good GOVERNANCE…an alternative solution”

1. @Hal

You have made the point, the Economist can be delivered to the iPad these days.

2. Thanks David, that is the point “the Economist can be delivered to the iPad these days”.

@Austin and of course your point is unshakable: content. But how that content gets to the ubiquitous i-device is the question that drives Bezos’ major investment in the Post or the growth of the Economist.

As I alluded to earlier for a man of your background there is little that I could offer to you as brand new on this topic and in turn I was surprised by your previous stance.

I divert from your recent argument when you suggest as it relates to newsprint that ” unless you can see the future you do not know the outcome, neither do we. It is all speculative”.

Not much speculation required to know that the Economist or Bezos’ Washington Post are growing their digital subscriptions world wide even as their newsprint titles will ebb and flow.

As you suggest superior content drives the profit margin,,,but only if you have a digital platform that you can marry to any newsprint edition. You have to make your money principally through subscriptions and ads. That has always been the bottom line.

But of course pay-walls on digital is yet problematic.

Seems to me that Bloomberg News has the most exciting model of print, digital, TV and radio (satellite and local). I have never examined their media profit position but I would be shocked if they did not make profits- separate and distinct from their financial services devices.

And despite what people think of course these type of issues are also vitally important in the region. In fact the Nation Group have been at the vanguard of media consolidation with other regional players. And developing their digital models.

Incidentally, give the guy a break…geez. I read egregious errors by journalists at reputable papers daily. One aims for accuracy but sometimes things slip.

After-all a White House counselor has affirmed that ‘alternative facts’ is an acceptable and trust-worthy English communication phrase!

3. Peoples,
    This argument is being presented from completely different perspectives.

People like Hal and Carl Moore are stuck in the 1970’s when building a ‘name’ for yourself so as to become ‘somebody’ was paramount…… and when ‘reading books’ was the hallmark of personal development. You cannot change their (faulty) convictions about anonymity and print media…

However, for current and future generations, that have grown up with the internet and ecommerce as everyday realities, the whole dead-tree business is a lotta shiite.
    Documentaries, from multiple perspectives, readily available online, supersedes any presentations that can be done by print.

Print media remains relevant only to the extent that persons of the ancient ilk of Hal and Carl have not yet departed us….
    Hal’s defining ‘success’ as the ability for a media house to make profits from print vs e-media is laughable…. technology is a great leveller….. with no regard for tradition.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The two of them, embarked as they are upon their crusade of unmasking the masked crusaders, show up their agenda quite clearly to those of us who, understanding the reality of existence in Barbados at the hands of the modern day equivalent of the Spanish Inquisition will not release our names to be gutted, drawn and quartered.

De ingrunt Word, in his encouragement of encouraging the former gonorrhea sufferer to seek redress from the court, interestingly enough, spoke to the faults of the party who pointed to the exposing, yet has noticeably absolved the sufferer of any blame.

Yet De Ingrunt Word aka Dribbler conveniently forgets how much suffering said exposure incurred one B**** who was a stalwart here long before DIW and who contended with all things unrighteousness before his exposure.

But it is amazing that with the withdrawal of the goodly doctor that the bane of Barbados Underground can now see Dribbler subliminally campaigning for the very man who wants to close the single medium that is destroying the Nation the Advocate and all their online newspaper outlets.

De ole man has yet to see one successive series of blogs where Carl Moore contributes anything to the substantive topic but that goes unnoticed in the fray of “sue Dr Georgie”whom I recall was the verbal bane of de ingrunt Word.

Unlike de rest, de ole man got a good memory and does recall your “indiscretions”.

When called for, his erstwhile sickness is drawn to the fore as a reliable method to pause that campaign on identity.

The fact is that any campaign that can be seen to bring vibrant readership is actively pursued by the destroy BU employees whose modus operandum is so clear yet the bespectacled De Ingrunt One can’t or willot see.

Finally he seeks to bait the Honourable Blogmaster with that accusation about letting someone sigh his name. So ignorant is he of the BU authentication process in particular that he does not realise that irrespective of the name appended to a blogpost the party submitting would have used an email which is internally validated on BU.

Test de ole man den.

Instead of wunna special nam put in “Carl Moore Imposter” and see if it does not display instead of your name.

This article’s focus on the pillars of good governance has attracted these assassins because it speaks to active considerations for the parties. Existing and those in the offing and therefore have attracted the Slayers of the Anonymice to detract from the real issue

Let de man infected doggie and his St Andrew shenanigans alone

5. Some of those critical of BU’s comments policy post to the Huff, BBC and CNN where the use of monikers abound.

6. This article’s focus on the pillars of good governance has attracted these assassins because it speaks to active considerations for the parties. Existing and those in the offing and therefore have attracted the Slayers of the Anonymice to detract from the real issue

GOOD IS A TERROR TO THOSE WHO DO EVIL.

7. nineofnine January 23, 2017 at 7:25 AM #

Skippah…….I am still waiting for you to tell me how in Bim you are going to introduce these pillars of good governance…..how will you pursuade the political class to accept them

Be realistic,no lotta long talk and dont quote from any books.

8. It would be so interesting if cowards like Bush Tea and Piece … would take off their masks and let’s discuss the subjects at issue.

This is the latest piece of frothy flummery from one of the ghosts:

“The two of them, (Hal Austin and Carl Moore), embarked as they are upon their crusade of unmasking the masked crusaders, show up their agenda quite clearly to those of us who, understanding the reality of existence in Barbados at the hands of the modern day equivalent of the Spanish Inquisition will not release our names to be gutted, drawn and quartered.”

Unexpurgated nonsense, man.

You’re scared stiff to sign your names to what you write.

What Spanish Inquisition! Stop hiding.

You should spend a few minutes trying to comprehend what The Advocate meant by “ … the factor of pseudonymity makes it difficult for the reader to discern whether the views expressed there are those of a majority of the bloggers or merely a plurality.”

In other words one anonymouse can pose as Bush Tea, Pacha, Piece …, Pedantic, Artax et al.

Even as Carl Moore.

9. This is an OPPORTUNITY for those whom Carl Moore refers to as “ghosts” and “annoymice,” in the best interest of BU, refrained themselves from responding to him and continue commenting on the topic.

In other words, he also becomes a “ghost and anonymice” when he is IGNORED and will have to relinquish his role as BU’s resident POLTERGEIST.

10. Let de ole man see if he can speak to the soliloquy that the Advocate, and by extension, your formal burial ground, the Nation, has presented by use of an example that while disgusting, will bring home my point.

Let us give a hypothetical scenario for your active consideration

A man who purports to be the moral conscience of a given community has a sexually transmitted disease incurred from fooping about.

A blogger who uses a pseudonym expresses rather exposed that STD incident to other bloggers, some of whom rely on their own pseudonimity and may have had or currently have, similar, or worse STDs.

Whether there is a sentiment among the plural audience as to whether that act of exposure of the medical issues of the “washed clean of moral turpitude contra pseudonimity campaigner” was in the opinion of the majority of the bloggers an act befitting the righteous campaigner is, for the plurality, of unknown quantum, cause only Deity would know that.

but that the plurality noticed that when the singularity well known by his pseudonym did mention the incident, the cadre of non pseudonym bearers and the rest of the pseudonimity noted well that the campaigner ceased and desisted forthwith

Did the ole man comprehend the word plurality correctly for you?

And just to ask you the question, how many of the advocates readers understand that word? They are more at the Nation’s coo and flying fish comprehension level aren’t they?

11. Sorry Artaxerxes

Sometimes one needs to take such beasts by their horns and tussle wid the awhile heheheheh while being careful not to ketch anything…

@ Chad of the many 9 who’s no longer being 45 now aspires to live till 99…

I am amazed for 3 reasons – that you a supporter of the pathological liar and grabber of cats, you who have become the representative of male chauvinist pigs on BU and you whom I know to be none other than ****** heheheheh as you dun know me to be ********, could have in one sitting crafted part of the core manifesto for the Barbados Integrity Movement

Or the CUP

I will try to add to your proposal which have incorporated and expanded on Bush Tea’s 10 point plan by suggesting the following.

Any political party that is seeking to win this general election read displace the BLP has to do one thing and that is TO BE SEEN.

SMALL PRINTED BROCHURE with a few points

1.The Power of Recall (coupled with the prosecution of DLP miscreants read ministers)
    2.Reinstating Free Tertiary Education
    3.Removal of Land Taxes on homes and the Reduction of taxes on commercial properties commensurate with their levels of employment
    4.Instituting a minimum wages regime.

“We can only win if you vote…” Is the targeted message that will resonate with the majority of poor, usually apathetic voters who right now are the ones suffering under the DBLP successive gauntlets of oppression.

“Without a doubt, the DLP is Out, but do Bajans win, if the same BLP get in???”

12. Piece

You have given an answer to a question that has bedevilled Chad5ofnine for two days and other bloggers for a long time…..how to get changes made……..by electing a new group of individuals who have made new promisses to the electorate.

My question to you is how will you ensure that these new ones will be any better than the previous ones at keeping promisses?

13. @ Vincent

“Vote for me and I will set you free” Ball of Confusion- The Temptations

A third party winning this general is not an impossible task or dream.

It will need need or women whose fooping around habits are reasonable read (a) they have not bitten out no one’s clitoris (b) dey are are not “bulling or being bult by noyone ” (c) they have reputations of being honest and fair citizens (d) dem ent wanted by the bailiffs nor Miss Ram s debt collectors (e) they are seen as competent people in business and their professions and have a track record of employing people AND NOT SLEEPING WID DEM EMPLOYEES.

Yes saints.

But while these requirements can be partially met what none of us can do Vincent is know what is in the hearts of men or women.

Buy 50 plus years of doing this same shyte got to stop and this is their best chance cause if Mugabe get in, Carl Moore and Hal Austin ent got to worry bout we real real names cause she and she peeple going close down Barbadosunderground

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI January 23, 2017 at 1:24 PM #

Thanks for your honest reply……….we are back to square one….eenie,meenie,minei,moe catcha a ………

15. @pieces January 23, 2017 at 5:53 AM … I am NOT a BU assassin or “subliminally campaigning for the very man who wants to close the single medium that is destroying the Nation the Advocate and all their online newspaper outlets.”

My disagreements with the Dr. GP were laid bare here. I dishonored his behavior in the same way I reacted to that of Trump. They exhibited daily the same personal traits as narcissistic bullies who thought it necessary to disabuse in the nastiest way possible all those who disagreed with them.

My disagreement with Moore’s focus on unmasking bloggers is also clear. I consider his thrust hypocritical and intellectually dishonest.

A brief story in response to your remarks…. Years ago a fellow (let’s call him Rob) said to another that he Rob had given the other fellow’s (Tim) mother cheese poisoning. As you can appreciate that was a moment of raucous laughter and nuff cussing from Tim. Back then we mainly ate New Zealand Cheddar but that proposed southern visit was not related to those climes.

Back to present. Dr GP’s remarks generated embarrassed blogging ‘laughter’ too but this was no boyish baloney. This was a doctor making a direct reference to a medical matter.

Whether it came from his general local knowledge rather than his professional knowledge was unclear but in that specific context as a doctor of record in Bim and not some regular fellow providing laughter inducing Bajan cussing it was crass, inappropriate …and against basic ethical standards.

So this has NOTHING to do with supporting Moore’s stupid attempts to rein in anonymity or curtailing BU’s impact. And certainly not because of my previous discretions with the doc.

Big men or “short ma crutch” men like yourself can call a spectacle a spectacle and move on.

I reserve the right to condemn (or commend) both him and Moore in turn and in context …let’s not conflate a condemnation for one as a commendation for the other!

16. @ Vincent Haynes January 23, 2017 at 8:56 AM #

Et al…

…”Skippah…….I am still waiting for you to tell me how in Bim you are going to introduce these pillars of good governance…..how will you pursuade the political class to accept them
    Be realistic,no lotta long talk and dont quote from any books.”…..

Firstly,………… refer to me as nineofnine
    Secondly,…… bombastic demands is a futile attempt to acquire answers.
    Thirdly,………. Is it my responsibility to introduce or persuade the political class to accept them (pillars of good governance)?

To answer you question..

INTRODUCTION

These edicts (preferred name) must become common knowledge of the electorate, MUST BE SENT TO, TAKEN TO and by use of their smart phones (survey/consensus) vote a simple yes or no. already been introduced to BIM via BU and other blog sites. Those persons in this society who plays a substantial part in our political landscape which includes Politicians, Civil servants, the MSM, social media, corporate society, watchers, religious and other ethnic groups, laymen, even international monitors and trolls, . It is widely debated among staff, and watering holes and most likely on the streets too especially by those who think enough is enough and seeking alternatives (if presented)…furthering its cause and exposure.

If a favorable response to these edits show that the value of content is worth pursuit then a more aggressive campaign/promotion of the same can commence.

If this is also the case, then to pursue this campaign would ultimately mean it has to be “a means to an end”, which would be to form a NEW POLITICAL PARTY TO INSTITUTE THEM.

Delivery is never an issue……. on the other hand

To “Officially deliver” these “edicts” to the political class, firstly, one must think that either the DLP or the BLP will again govern this society. If one believes that this will be the case, then they MUST be submitted/proposed OFICIALLY (by document, and copied across a network of securities) to the executive body of BOTH PARTIES at the opportune time FOR THEIR PERUSAL, for the value of its content, to both party and citizenry.

The risk involve here is any of these parties can amalgamate these edicts into their next
    manifesto, the more transparent might be omitted for maintenance of control AND THAT WILL DEFEAT THE WHOLE EXERCISE.

PERSUASION of the political class….

Persuasion comes… when the voice of the electorate cries out, demanding their Constitutional rights to exist, to be heard and be acknowledge, by the exposure of injustices of burdensome rule, by relentlessly bombarding all media at home and internationally for want of fairness, when law demands transparency and justice. Persuasion comes when reasoning finds truth out of fear, when ideology dictate change, when morals are instituted and when by protest the people say “enough is enough”, (lets hope that it need not get that far).

PERSUASION COMES BY CONVICTION. by force, or by “squeezing the balls” and that’s inhumane.

For me, my way is to shed light in every facet and allow nature take its course, simple.

17. Who would’ve thought it was so easy to get under the skins of people who exploit the protection of anonymity?

Like snipers they hide, yet they’re so insecure.

They can’t let go of the luxury of anonymity because it allows them to lie, insult, and defame named people.

They come up with all types of excuses to justify this fear; one even fearing that a local version of the Spanish Inquisition would descend on him, if he ever came out and signed his name on some of the gobbledygook he writes daily.

What is it that makes us so frightened? Fear itself?

I’ve been signing my name to what I write since The Barbados Advocate printed my hand-written letter to the editor (a little longer than the ones I write these days) in June 1958 while a schoolboy in fifth form and I have not come up against any inquisition—Spanish or Barbadian—since then.

I haven’t yet met the person who can frighten me from expressing myself in the written or spoken word.

In 1958 most of the ghosts on this medium of broadcasting were among the tiny eggs slithering their way down their mother’s Fallopian tubes. Most were eliminated while the lucky ones became the faceless Bush Teas, Pieces …, Artaxes and Dribblers and others who pollute this space with their daily drivel.

And this is what they use it for most of the time. What examples do they set for the youth of this country?

I began this so-called crusade on the blogs a few years ago when one—now defunct— displayed three faces of Members of Parliament, with human excrement Photo-shopped onto their mouths.

This is what the technology allows the depraved to do … and, so far, to get away with it!

I was appalled and disgusted and decided—even if no one wanted to support me—to campaign against this wicked and senseless abuse of this recently invented facility which allows anybody to broadcast.

All I ask is that people have the courage to sign their real names under the views they express.

Nothing more, nothing less.

18. @Carl

Can you give us an update on your Society for a quieter Barbados? How effective is the movement?

Thanks

19. The society for a quieter Barbados…
    …a failed attempt to upstage Ossie.

20. nineofnine January 23, 2017 at 10:53 PM #

Chuckle…..thanks for your response…….like Piece you have no answer to our dilemma,despite the lotta long talk.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carl MooreJanuary 24, 2017 at 9:10 AM
    “I haven’t yet met the person who can frighten me from expressing myself in the written or spoken word.”

“I began this so-called crusade on the blogs a few years ago when one—now defunct— displayed three faces of Members of Parliament, with human excrement Photo-shopped onto their mouths.”

Hello (K)arl the dictator of the party of the moral majority, so you like to express your views on any topic under the Sun since you fear no man (or woman)?

So how come we never read or heard your views on the CLICO scam that robbed many hardworking morally upright Bajans of their hard earned money?

What is your take on the man who ‘misappropriated’ the heritance of an old wheel-chair bound pensioner and was ‘forced’ subsequently to return the money but still has the moral audacity to sit in the high chair in the august chamber of the Land of the Moral Majority?

How come you never commented on the conditions which could have led to a Bajan Palmetto version of the gunfight at the OK Corral between two honourable men?

Are you not opposed to such spectacles or are you morally comfortable with the return of the ‘good old days’ when swords and ‘speaking’ maces were par for the debating course to make sure no man crosses the floor?

How come you are not in the forefront calling for effective Integrity and FOI legislation with the journalistic vim and passion equal to the equanimity you display in calling for a “Quieter Barbados” and the religious zeal you proselytize in your eternal quest to ‘out’ the anonymous bloggers on BU as to put the Salem witch hunters to shame?

Signed: Jethro Miller, the descendant of Rev. Parris and Tituba.

22. Jethro,

A difference of opinion does not mean the start of the third world war. Courtesy is important. I know it is not a Barbadian tradition, but try it.
    We have Jeff Cumberbatch, a leading academic lawyer who freely debates important legal issues, and Carl Moore, our leading journalist, who is not afraid to engage with the public.
    We should welcome them, not try to intimidate and abuse them.

23. David, you and your anonymice are among the noise-makers who continue to challenge The Society for a Quieter Barbados. You generate so much noise and so little substance.

The SQB has little to show by way of success since 2002, but we never deluded ourselves that we could change things in a decade or even more, but we keep pressing on, in the hope that somewhere in the not-too-distant future coming generations will apply more intelligence and commonsense to this issue.

The problem with noise is not only that it is unwanted; it induces hearing loss, stress, high blood pressure, sleep loss, distraction and lost productivity, and a general reduction in the quality of life and the opportunities for tranquility and reflection.

Successive governments of Barbados have played around with all environmental nuisances and paid only lip service to the problem. They talk and talk. Excessive noise says: I don’t care about you!

Tolerance is a rapidly–disappearing Barbadian virtue. Because I can sleep like a baby while a noisy kite flies over my head all night, ipso facto, you, too, should have the same capability. It’s my “enjoyment” that matters and to hell with you and anyone else so affected. You, the tormented, must be tolerant; not I, the tormenter.

This is Barbados in the twenty-first century.

I notice you’ve changed the subject. That’s okay.

A ghost calling himself millertheanunnaki—or some such foolishness—wants to know why I’m not in “the forefront” in calling for a menu of things he wants changed.

Why doesn’t he take off that silly mask and join me?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal AustinJanuary 24, 2017 at 11:19 AM

You, Hal, should be the last to speak about courtesy or abuse.

You have the predilection to ‘attack’ bloggers who dare to point out your arrogant journalistic weaknesses.

All we want from Carl are his views on serious matters as alluded to. We are not concerned about identities or personalities; just opinions.

As supposedly eminent journalists, why aren’t you and Carl making a clarion call for FOI and a comprehensive Data Protection Act as prevails in the UK?

Then bloggers would be able to disclose their identities using Truth as the sword instead of fighting a guerilla war for information behind the cloak of anonymity?

How does the identity of any one in blogger sphere help the debate? We are not in a court of law or a Police station carrying out some identification parade.

This is not a Stalinist space. Discuss ideas and views expressed not focus on identities.

Clearly there must be more than one dog named Hal in Barbados or elsewhere.

Have you found out yet where those ‘roll of honour’ plaques of St. Giles’s greatest disappeared to? You might just come across a digital identikit of BU’s anonymous bloggers. One Hal Austin is missing in action.

25. Boss..
    Why don’t you GO AWAY … if you find this medium to be so distasteful….?
    Shiiteman!!
    Is it that you like the abuse…?
    …or are you ‘turned on’ by the mystique and the ‘masks’…?

Just LOG OFF permanently – and lets make it a quieter society….. 🙂

@ Hal
    Why don’t you stop laughing behind Carl’s back…?
    “…our leading journalist -who is not afraid to engage with the public”
    ha ha ha ha …. Ohhhh Shirttt!!!
    We know that our journalists are piss poor, but cud dear man…. CARL leading?
    How far is he ahead of the one you abused last week…?

…and what is to fear in ‘engaging the public’ about noise and anonymity?
    Wuh…even Auntie Olga had a higher risk of ‘kickback’ than this no-name-pest….

26. Leave out the animus fellows,we are all Bimmers with strong opinions and a burning desire to see our country redeem itself,so why dont we use our energies in a more constructive fashion to address the ills of our society.

All feel free tuh cuss muh.

27. Why Carl thank you for the update. Like others have echoed, IF, we make a din in this forum read add nothing of value you should not let the forum door hit you on the way out.

BTW your boy Roy Morris gone through the eddoes (at the Nation).

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carl MooreJanuary 24, 2017 at 11:38 AM
    “A ghost calling himself millertheanunnaki—or some such foolishness—wants to know why I’m not in “the forefront” in calling for a menu of things he wants changed.
    Why doesn’t he take off that silly mask and join me?”

But Carl, why are you asking a ‘fool’ to join such an ‘accomplished’ go-getter as you? Your track record is there to see and marvel at. Success in all spheres of your life since 1958.

Carl, you are a born leader so why not live up to your reputation and we will follow you in your journalistic march for FOI.

Now don’t let down the family tradition. Your Uncle Ossie would not be too pleased to look down and see a coward hiding behind a fool called the anunnaki.

You boast always to be a man of letters and widely read at that.
    So why not spend a little of your time researching the Sumerian culture and you might just come across a ‘lively’ ghost called miller the fool.
    Let the literary works of Sitchin and Sagan be your guide on your myopic journey to the stars.

29. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hal Austin;

Did you reread what wrote at 11:19 am?

What leading journalist what?

Did you read MillertheAnnunaki’s post above?

Did you understand the points he made?

Carl Moore was a leading Journalist when he was at the Nation Newspaper but he has demonstrated none of the attributes of a leading Journalist on the pages of BU since I have been an avid reader, and sometimes commentator, on various topics on this new Medium.

Carl Moore has only tilted at the windmills of blogger anonymity on BU in a quixotic campaign that fails to recognize the truth of the rationale that most bloggers have for blogging anonymously ie. the oft demonstrated penchant by most of those in power to maliciously strike back in cowardly fashion at anyone who opposes them who does not have the protective cloak of a journalist or trade unionist or membership in the political class or great wealth or national popularity to counter such attacks.

As MillertheAnnunaki hints, Carl Moore has never, as far as I can recall, commented on any of the gross injustices that were begging for commentary from his well credentialled journalistic pen. You know why? It is typical bajan brassbowlery, as defined by BushTea, as well as a recognition that his cover as a former eminent journalist would not protect him or his family if he mashed some powerful corns in joining that fray.

I suspect that David could reveal that there are a number of other eminent past and present journalists who have published articles on BU but used anonymous monikers to do so when the topic they were broaching carried any hint of backlash from power brokers.

I commend the people who comment on BU under their real names but I think that if you analyse the subjects and contents of their contributions, the likelihood of backlash and danger to most of them or their families is minimal because of their knowledge of libel laws (eg Caswell), their position in the Country which would make a backlash deriving from a BU post almost immediately seen and traceable, or the dearth of importance of the topic on which they commented.

Most sensible people in Barbados must recognize that most of the anonymous bloggers post on topics that relate to aspects of the conduct of politicians or interactions between people of power and politicians in a small Barbados society where almost everybody knows everybody else. Politicians are in the main thin skinned and vindictive. Bloggers in Barbados cannot be measured with the same yardstick as ones in say Canada or England or the USA where a real name of someone who is not a celebrity is actually an anonymous name.

The Carl Moore campaign says more about Carl Moore himself than about the negatives of anonymous blogging.

30. Jethro,

I pick my own fights.

31. @Carl Moore January 24, 2017 at 9:10 AM …One can only respect your strong defense but your argument is dishonest. During your time people were harangued, lambasted and ruined when their names were associated with critical newspaper articles. The fact that you choose to suggest otherwise is a clear indication of your intellectual dishonesty.

“We have packages delivered to my house with white substances,” she said. She being presidential counselor Kellyann Conway talking about reactions to her recent nonsensical brouhaha with the media. People do react.

Freedom House 2012 report: “Our Freedom of the Press index, … the report has for the past 8 years shown annual declines in the level of media freedom, a phenomenon that has affected practically every region in the world…

“Worsening violence against the press is forcing journalists into self-censorship or exile, while continuing impunity for such crimes encourages new attacks.”

Apart from professional journalists the lot of ‘amateur’ critics has also changed dramatically. Factoid: A mother harassed and shamed her daughter’s online rival so viciously over written words that the girl eventually killed herself.

Yet you make your ‘alternative news’ claims. Dishonesty, because you know all this stuff.

And your example is false news. Any cartoon display of “…faces of Members of Parliament, with human excrement Photo-shopped onto their mouths” is well-established free speech activity.

You found it tasteless and crude and it was certainly your free-right to advocate as you did against it.

What abuse did that cartoon do that a public figure should not accept under the slander and libel laws of the land. Dishonesty!

Respond to @Miller. Did you speak against the drug trade in Barbados by aggressively naming those caught in the noose; did you speak aggressively against the political crooks. Do you now?

Ahhh, you prosecute the dangerous issue of noise pollution. How satisfyingly comparable.

And btw based on the background of some bloggers here at least one (David’s namesake) knows first-hand in Bdos that type ‘worsening violence’ chronicled by Freedom House.

Your hypocrisy is painful to evidence!

Those here who are “depraved” can be dismissed and by-passed so I would never sign my name for a man like yourself who displays such dishonesty of purpose; you are dangerous.

Don’t read my posts…diminish your noise pollution.

32. @ Vincent Haynes January 24, 2017 at 10:01 AM

….”Chuckle…..thanks for your response…….like Piece you have no answer to our dilemma, despite the lotta long talk”…..

That’s your opinion, even conclusion, conviction or belief….try stepping out the box.

IT ‘S NOT A DILEMMA, IT’S AN OPPORTUNITY.. a matter of perspective.

Those injustices are being taken care of.
    From a book….” you thoughts are not my thoughts and your ways are not my ways”
    Deliverance has come.

There are many who require the whole picture to grasp an understanding
    A lot of talk abound here, sadly not of the issues /content of this submission, It seems that pseudonyms / identity is more important than content / solution.

Pressing on…

Discouragement is an act to afflict the mental faculties and potential, distracting, on the other hand , encouragement empowers and builds onfidence, like water and sunlight to the seed.

Pseudonyms or signatures matters not.

try this for size…
    “Black Man” a pseudonym, “John Doe” a signature…. the African who RECEIVE the idea to design and construct a water toilet was not acknowledge, neither the pseudonym nor his name was relevant ,yet the invention you sit on it up to this day.

All this long talk could very well be the catalyst for change, the very answers that you seek.
    striving always, passing the batons.

a matter of perspective.

33. Vincent "Aratxerxes" Drucci Avatar
    Vincent “Aratxerxes” Drucci

Why do the “ghosts and anonymice” persist in responding to Carl Moore?

Although Carl Moore mentioned that David and his anonymice “generate so much noise and so little substance,” with the help of these “ghosts and anonymice,” BU has been able to accomplish feats the Advocate and Nation News have been unable to achieve over the years.

Could it be the journalists refuse to investigate, report and sign their names to what they write on certain issues because of fear of reprisal from groups such as politicians, drug pushers and wealthy individuals in this society?

Take the CAHILL scam for example. The “ghosts and anonymice” were able to conduct the necessary research and present to BU, information that perhaps influenced government’s decision to scrap the WTE.

Yet Carl Moore ADMITS “he and the SQB have little to show by way of success since 2002.”

Fellow BU contributors, take the above facts into consideration and ask yourselves: who has “generated so much noise and so little substance,” the “anonymice” or Carl Moore.

34. @ Vincent
    Your above is clear, correct and taken in the spirit given….

But who in their right mind… would miss a chance to put some lashes in Ossie Moore’s cousin’s donkey ….every time he brays?
    Can you imagine how it must irk the JA to see anonymous bloggers on BU successfully doing what he has dreamed of being able to do for decades…. with nothing to show on his part…

What probably REALLY pisses him off, is the fact that bloggers like DD, Prodigal, Piece, and Bushie do this without wanting or expecting any shiite in return – not even acknowledgement on the damn street….
    …while others, like he and Hal, have strived to push their names whenever opportunities presented …and have nothing to show for this…
    No wonder they can’t keep away… They are almost as addicted and obsessed with BU’s impact …as is our nemesis Jack (the donkey) Bormann…

Sorry boss, but every time he raises the noise level ’bout here…..whacker in his ‘Ossie-ass’.

35. By the way, Carl Moore requested that we should “sign” our names to our contributions; hence, I used the name Vincent Drucci to prove a point.

Contributors such as Walter Blackman, Kammie Holder, Jeff Cumberbatch, Hal Austin, Adrian Loveridge or Caswell Franklyn, for example, are individuals known to society because of their involvement in politics, environmental issues, journalism, tourism industry and trade unionism.

If a contributor “signs” a “legitimate” name to his/her contributions and is not known to society, does not that individual also becomes a “ghost and anonymice as well; or unless he is familiar with every individual who resides in Barbados, how does Moore know if the contributor’s “legitimate name” is not a pseudonym?

Moore wrote: “Who would’ve thought it was so easy to get under the skin of people who exploit the protection of anonymity?”

Who would have thought it was so EASY for “GHOSTS and ANONYMICE” TO GET UNDER THE SKIN of Carl Moore?

This back and forth with Carl Moore deviates from the topic. Let Moore continue to fret, while we the “ghosts and anonymice” continue to focus on the topic.

36. At the mention of Walter Backman – Walter what is your view on the Opposition ‘s claim the NIS fund is in trouble?

37. nineofnine January 24, 2017 at 8:44 PM #

Chuckle……lotta long talk……..nuff extracts…….no substance to solving issues…..still in the box.

Yup…..my opininion and conclusion.

38. David,

Wuhloss………gimme duh rules,causen ah is a nobody,dem say ah gotta become an anonymice or leff de blog….dah is true???

39. You could really “leff de blog” fuh trute, causen you duz write nuff shiite.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ 9 of 9 formerly 45

I may have hinted at it before but you have come out blazing on a topic in 2017 the fluency of which has me wondering when or what was your epiphany in 2016?

Having said that, and continuing to (uncharacteristically) agree with the Chadster on this topic and your take on (1) what are the elements required for change and (2) the practical mechanisms that you append to “make it so”, de ole man, mindful of Vincent s observations, and my own jaded perspectives on” being able to realistically achieve any changes in Barbados”, I would ask how do you plan to make it so?

You actually spoke and subtly presented a mechanism to get the message out there when you said citizen engagement via smartphone.

I ent too enthused by your posit that either of these BDLP scvunts going be party to anything that you suggest here but hope springs eternal….

De old man had asked a few fellow BU-ians some time back, the overseas fellers, to invest in a cell phone account, one with a non traceable IMEI, to be used in a campaign for SMS orientations, but dat ent went no where.

My point Chad is, as Vincent said, all that you say is true and doable but the gap between your (and others’) brilliant solutions espoused here seem to be “A Bridge Too Far…”

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidJanuary 25, 2017 at 7:22 AM#
    “At the mention of Walter Backman – Walter what is your view on the Opposition ‘s claim the NIS fund is in trouble?”

WB would have no choice but to agree.

He, in his erudite and professional wisdom, alerted the BU household of the pending noose the NIS was putting around its neck as the compromised Board headed by Dr. JR allowed itself to be hoisted by the MoF’s petard of fiscal strangulation.

Neither would he ‘pronounce’ further on the recent CLICO debacle ‘development’ which is nothing but a ruse to pull additional black-belly sheep wool over the eyes of naïve policyholders while Greenverbs continue to owe the Treasury millions in back taxes from his numerous ‘above-board’ business dealings.

We must be wary of those so-called lettered men whose ‘revealed’ identity is a mere marketing tool for self-aggrandizement as Bush Tea rightly pointed out in the cases of Carl the attacker of soft targets Moore and Hal the hypocrite Austin.

These are the same modern-day Judases who would be prepared to sell their souls to the political devil in true Faustian style rather than stay on the long-suffering side of Truth, Justice and Fair-play.

We shall see how Jeff wiggles his way out of the clutches of the political devil despite he has as his backers the strong friends of the Law of economic justice and the BU household of ‘fair play and trade’ promoters.

42. Ah boy…..ah gottza fan who dus luv tuh read muh excreta,ah ain gine hear,ah did juss wanna fine effen tuh jine wunnah an becum a mice?

43. At least yuh cud tek a joke.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

What you said here recently Vincent is no different to what Brother Bush Tea or Due Diligence or Are We There Yet or The Sage Annunaki or several others have said.

I am addicted to support anything that will advance Barbados and our citizens.

But the question remains “you, like others before you 9 to 9, have a sound hypothesis, or what the recently departed Boo called a lot of long talk, so ……how do we execute it?”

45. @pieceuhderockyeahright wrote” I am addicted to support anything that will advance Barbados and our citizens.”

Barbados cannot advance without ” pain &suffering “.

Most of the you from the lower middle class to the upper class will not give up your any of your earnings and acquisitions to “spread the wealth”.

At least you can now blame Thump as the world economy is thrown into turmoil.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright January 25, 2017 at 9:58 AM #

I have made the point over and over again that we know what has to be done in all areas but what we suffer from in some areas is implementation deficit disorder and in the major area as you have agreed with is…….so ……how do we execute it?”

We have always been on the same page as far as….. anything that will advance Barbados and our citizens.

How can the MPs in all good consciece agree with a reversal of the 10% salary decrease with eloquent justification from the PM showing the time line but no such justification for a decrease in the temporary VAT increase or the temporary waste tax.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

If you only knew what I have given up and still give up in pursuit of that advancement, irrespective of the pain and suffering…

After a while Hants we, like the myth of domestic abuse, come to feel that it is normal to suffer and “if he doan beat me, he ent love me”

48. Doan have to read an spell fuh most uh wunna.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/12/salary-move/

49. @ pieceuhderockyeahright wrote “If you only knew what I have given up and still give up in pursuit of that advancement”

I do believe you but you know that the majority of Bajans are not interested in what is good for the country but what they can own and possess.

50. @ pieceuhderockyeahright January 25, 2017 at 8:20 AM #

……”@ 9 of 9 formerly 45″………

FOR THE RECORD: For the claim of misleading statements, I (nineofnine) retains this one identity and is not associated with Chad99999 or have I in identity was formally 45.

LET IT BE NOTED, so be it.

Leave a Reply to nineofnineCancel reply