1. barbados-rally-clubIs is true the Barbados Rally Club receives a yearly subvention from the Barbados Tourism and Marketing Inc of $2 million?
  2. If so, how is this money is utilized?

45 responses to “Does the BTMI (Government) GIVE 2 Million Dollars to the Barbados Rally Club?”

1. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Wait ! And people looking for running water?

2. I doan believe!

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If true, in their usual style of stealing taxpayer’s money and giving it to whomever they feel to give it to will not end until this government is kicked out of parliament and the other party not voted into parliament, that is all these 2 governments have been doing for decades….stealing feom taxpayers and giving to whoever smiles in their faces, most often the minority population.

4. I thought the Sol rally and the Barbados Festival of Speed at Bushy Park were self supporting.

5. Hos about the $10m D avid Thompson gave to the Turf Club?

6. @Hal

Was it 10 or 19 million.

7. It is excellent Barbadians -on social media anyway- are beginning to ask questions, demand answers from our government. This DLP government more than its predecessors has managed by a kind of stealth that has mushroomed into a national embarrassment.

Someone should tell Ronald Jones he should not insult our intelligence with what was reported on the media yesterday. Coming from an education minister -my God. It is the job of members of the government to communicate EFFECTIVELY with the citizens they have sworn to blasted serve.

8. David,

It was $10m, unless they gave a further amount. I remember it was exactly the amount in dormant bank accounts. I suggested at the time, and still do, that all dormant accounts should be loaned to the government at the base rate, to be used to fund small and medium enterprises, rather than lend to the Turf club. Once it is claimed by the owners it will be paid with interest.

9. @Hal

Google is there to verify the figure.

Note dormant monies are transferred to the consolidated fund.

10. Wasn’t Barbados Golf Club Southern Golf not given $2 million loan never to be paid.

11. @ Hal & David

I don’t think Thompson GAVE the Barbados Turf Club $10M or $19M.

Perhaps what both of you may be referring to is when, in October 2012, then PM Thompson “WROTE-OFF” debt in the sum of $19.2M, which represented unpaid and outstanding taxes due to government.

“Barbadians were told that the write off was supposed to protect the jobs of the many persons employed in the local horse racing industry and allow the BTC to clear its balance sheet of debt which was preventing it from raising financing to be able to undertake much needed refurbishment at the Garrison.”

12. What would you call a liability write-off …if not a ‘gift’ Artax?

13. @Artax

Thanks for confirming it was 19 million. And yes it was a write-off.

14. Bush Tea, I yield to your superior intellect andcommand and understanding of the English language.

And here I was thinking that there was a DIFFERENCE between GIVING $19.2M, an act of actually passing money, and writing-off $19.2M, where no money was passed.

Thank you for the correction and highlighting my ignorance.

15. David,
    Thanks, David. But Google is not always accurate. The $10m figure had nothing to do with dormant accounts, apart from the coincidence of numbers.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Once we begin to get into write-offs and Grants (I think the annual figure is around $40M in Budget documents) we open a can of worms.
    The current MoF offered an amnesty on late fees and interest, for what he described as $1BILLION in unpaid and unremitted (in the case of VAT) taxes. The MoC spoke of several million owing to the BIDC, and that if tenants did not pay, how may they expect the landlord (GoB) to keep those buildings in good repair.
    I have said many times, you can levy all the taxes/fees in the world, if you cannot COLLECT them, they are of no value.
    Bajans are famous for not paying and then ‘begging off’.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Hal Austin
    On another thread (de ole brain fergets) you mentioned Rum in the same breath as Scotch and Champagne.
    You know that Scotch Whiskey and Champagne are governed by rules and regulations in their manufacture and the ability to use those Scotch Whiskey/Champagne on the product label.
    Rum, on the other hand is a ‘free-for-all’, being only an alcoholic distillate from sugar cane juice or its by-products. And rum is made the world over in many forms. Recently I read where an Indian Rum had overtaken Bacardi by cases shipped as the #1 brand in the world.
    The ageing methods, the process and the additives, especially with the growth of spiced and flavoured Rums makes the Rum market, which is already separated by White/Amber/Dark, a minefield.
    Isn’t it time likeminded nations in the Caribbean who follow similar processes get together and create a NAME and a set of rules for the manufacture, ageing and blending of rum (or whatever they call it)?
    This is the only way to separate yourself (and justify a premium) for your products. Given supply limitations, for any one island/nation to embark upon this is not feasible, but together it might work.
    I know that Bim faces a molasses shortage these days, and certain distillers have been importing. Yet, with all the Sagicor lands I understand available to the GoB for a song (rental), there is no reason for this.

18. @ Artax
    It was a simple polite question….
    but if you would prefer a ‘basa-basa’ on the issue, …be Bushie’s guest…. the whacker is ready and willing…

Only persons of AC’s ilk would fail to deduce that a decision by government to waive taxes due to the treasury by the Turf Club as anything but a damn GIFT.
    Do you know how many ‘gifts’ are effected WITHOUT any money being passed….?

Shiite man… was it a loan? …were the tax liabilities a figment of our imagination?

It was a damn gift… and if it wasn’t, then why does Bushie have to pay HIS damn liabilities to the treasury…? …and more importantly, how does the bushman get his (huge) tax bill waived without needing a ‘gift’?

Steupsss ,,, and don’t come with the ‘superior intellect’ shiite…. The fact that you feel inclined to continue to battle with AC ….answers THAT question for all to see….

19. Northern,

What’s the point. The first thing I said was that there had to be a legal definition of Barbadian/Bajan rum. That will include the quality of the molasses we use. If you want an argument, go ahead. I am not a distiller. What I do know is that it is our only genuine global brand.

20. Barbados cane. Barbados molasses. Barbados rum.

Premium Branded Rum.

Just do it.

21. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

All over the caribbean, tourism fund is allocated to all and sundry for sponsorship, even when there is no emperical evidence to support direct relation, national relevance or value for money. I abhor this kind of waste, especially, when the beneficiaries are those from the wealthy class.

22. @ Fortyacres…
    Perhaps it is better that they hand out the money to their friends like this …rather than in exchange for white elephants such as useless buildings, concrete tanks, or the shiite pedestrian crossing from CBC to Parkinson School…
    Both ways we get robbed, …but with the white elephants we are made to look like even bigger brass bowls…

23. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@ Bushtea. Not an unreasonable position to take, given the nature of the beast.

24. The usual “high-end” tourism scam.Give money to the Rally Club to secure overseas drivers and support units in the guise that it promotes tourism.Basically pay for some friends’ vacation to the island.Would only make sense if there were thousands of tourists rubbing shoulders with Bajans watching these events.Any rally video on youtube will tell you they are not.

25. @Hal Austin January 20, 2017 at 5:41 AM “Hos about the $10m D avid Thompson gave to the Turf Club?”

It wasn’t $10m.

It was a $40 million BDS tax write off. In other words $40 million that the Turf Club owed and did not have to pay. David Thompson forgave them their debts.

Then this year we were told that the Student Revolving Loan Fund did not have $5 million BDS to fund this year’s applicants for student’s loans (loans,not grants) the students are not asking for free money.

I know a bright young man, and I am sure that they are many others, who did not begin university this year because the family does not have enough money t o send him to the environmental science program in Jamaica to which he has been admitted.

Ten years down the road we will wring our hands in sorrow and wonder why we do not have the knowledge to tackle our environmental problems.

WE WILL PAY FOR OUR SINS.

26. @Artax January 20, 2017 at 9:46 AM “I don’t think Thompson GAVE the Barbados Turf Club $10M or $19M. Perhaps what both of you may be referring to is when, in October 2012, then PM Thompson “WROTE-OFF” debt”

Dear Artax:

I have some debt.

Will you write it off for me, pretty please.

I promise that I will not consider it to be a gift.

27. Are we quibbling about a $2 Million hand out to the Rally Clubs? This is but a fraction of what we the Barbadian consumers collectively contribute,unwittingly , towards motors sports ,and other exclusive pastimes in Barbados. When ever we walked into any of those establishments in the private sector which sponsors motor sports in Barbados, the prices of our purchases are jacked up to include a lil bit for certain motor sports boys. There is no way that sponsorship will come out of the profits made by the company, or any of the shareholder’s dividends. We the buying mugs are forced to contribute. Be it Massy, SOL, Automotive Art,Courtesy,Simpson Motors, Nassco Courts or Burger King.
    We talk of devaluation, but the inflation level thrust on us by these merchants of Bridgetown and Warrens, has long ago devalued the Bajan dollar.

28. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Good to see you Colonel.
    I hope you and your friend keep the heat on…
    The squeaky wheel gets the grease…

29. Welcome back CB.

30. @ Bush Tea

Hmmmmmmm

I’m a bit lost as where I mentioned in my contribution that a “gift” could not be considered as such, if money was not passed? But as I mentioned previously, I have to yield to your superior intellect and command and understanding of the English language.

As it relates to your AC quip… it seems as though my continually battling with AC just for the FUN OF DOING IT, has been interpreted by you as exhibiting my inferior intellect.

However, when you CONTINUE to BATTLE with and CONSTANTLY REFER to AC in MANY of your contributions, is it done to demonstrate your superiority or for a higher intellectual purpose that is beyond my capabilities?

“The fact that you feel inclined to continue to battle with me ….answers THAT question for all to see….”

31. Simple Simon January 21, 2017 at 2:15 PM #

“I have some debt. Will you write it off for me, pretty please. I promise that I will not consider it to be a gift.”

@ Simple Simon

I’m sorry, but I am not in a position to “write off” your debt. However, if you promise not to consider it to be a gift, I’m willing to offer your a bit of friendly advice.

Perhaps it would be better if you could compile your contributions into one, rather than with multiple one liner posts, similar to what Carl contributes to the Nation.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

how many Bajan rums in the LCBO? (I can tell you exactly the same as found in the SAQ, NB & NS)

Bajan rum producers have been IMPORTING molasses for at least the past 3 years.

33. Very Surprise that Artax instead of explaining the meaning of a “write off and its negative and legal consequences to debtor would rather proceed to waddled in the slimy child play of the Hon, Bush shit

34. Wow! The topic “DOES THE BTMI (GOVERNMENT) GIVE 2 MILLION DOLLARS TO THE BARBADOS RALLY CLUB?” and it has spawned Rum, Turf Club, Write-Off’s etc. What a short attention span we have.

35. @ Fear Play :Correct and no answer lol

36. Chuckle………Fellows too busy arguing over nom de plumes,trumpy with tpp and nafta,huffington post getting sued over Bim as well as brexit……no time for local affairs…..we gine put de werl tuh rites fuss an den deal wid Bim…….was evah so.

37. In the mean time…….

View the Central Bank of Barbados’ review of the island’s economic performance in 2016.
    Review of Barbados’ Economic Performace for 2016
    In his quarterly review of the economy, Central Bank of Barbados Governor, Dr. DeLisle Worrell, reports on Barbados’ economic performance for the year 2016.

https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/?ref=nf

38. @Fearplay

The way this works is that those who have information to support are encouraged to send us the information.

39. David
    What about the 3,000 lots of land at Bushy Park which was transferred to Maloney 4-5 weeks before the 2013 elections?

40. It just might be that these articles have become repetitive and have lost their effectiveness to attract

41. It might be a yardfowl and a jackass would hold such a view.

42. Very funny lol. Well well well as if ac did not expect this kind of response . However it is very obvious ac mash a corn or two Ouch! Deading wid laughter

43. Anyhow let me tell what trigger my attention .itcwas the response by Annakani talking sh.it abiut the ministers recoup if past wages.
    I almost puked after all the Union had shut down the country just because Annankani had lost a pick which he was not qualified and demanded reinstatement with fullwages during his dismisal
    Then on the occasion of the sanitation strike Annakani had the nerve to demand wages from govt on behalf of the striking workers right
    Now as far as recorded and even the blp can attest the ministers wage cut was part and parcel of an agreement wherby ministers agreed to temporarily cut their wages for a period of time (well for the exceptation of Mia who said Yuh cant Toich Dat.) but now again on a second try Mia hogs the spotlight with high drama and theatrics and bombus utterances to fool and sway

44. @Gear4

We need documents.

45. @Gear 4 wow this is a new one .Wonder how Commissong will react to today’s news?