Update from the new political party Solutions Barbados (Grenville Phillips II)

Grenville Phillips III
Grenville Phillips II

Dear Readers:

Our system of Government requires politicians to compete for our votes every general election, for the responsibility of managing Barbados’ economy.  However, rather than it being mainly a competition of management proposals, our politicians tended to compete by trying to out-promise their opponents.  In the past, we seemed not to realise that their promises would be paid by them burdening us with higher taxes and our children with greater national debt.

It has taken 50 years for Barbadians to finally interpret what our politicians have been promising.  When they promised to give us more than what their opponents promised, what they were actually telling us was that they promised to sink us deeper in debt than the debt level promised by their opponents.

Now that our national debt has grown too large for our generation to pay off, Barbadians have finally woken up to the reality that our children will be forced to pay for the promises that our politicians have made.  We have finally reached the point where both voter and politician know that we cannot afford any more unfunded promises.  Thankfully, the Barbadian voter can no longer be fooled by any politician trying to recklessly out-promise another.  Therefore, the next general election should finally be a competition of how best to manage Barbados’ economy, instead of how many “free” things a politician can recklessly promise.

This is an entirely new experience for Barbadians.  We have grown so accustomed to general election candidates being paraded early, while the policies are kept secret until after the general election has been called.  This gives the voters very little time to critically read and challenge the politicians’ intentions for us, and the cost of their promises to our children.  Given the crucial importance of the next general election to Barbados’ future, we published our proposed solutions to Barbados’ problems over 18 months ago for voters’ critical review.  Thank you to all who commented and helped us to improve the ideas.  Our published solutions generally do not require additional taxes or debt.  They typically require better management of Government services.

We now have 15 responsible employers (not merchants) experienced in good management practises to contest the next general election.  If the remaining 15 responsible employers do not respond to our public invitation to be candidates by the end of this month, then we will widen our candidate selection criteria to include any responsible persons with any type of management experience.

Hold on Barbados.  Help is still on the way.

37 responses to “They Were Actually Promising Us Debt”

1. Two things….
    1. ..”Our system of Government requires politicians to compete for our votes every general election, for the responsibility of managing Barbados’ economy”…..

…”Our published solutions generally do not require additional taxes or debt. They typically require better management of Government services”.

Though the management of the economy and its services is utmost vital, what should be of priority is the WELL BEING OF THE CITIZENS, How will SB address that?

2. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Truth will fix all things not long talking,
    Do your Plantation Work , Study the effects of land fraud in your plan,
    The corrections cost will be less dealing with the owners,
    You have been warned,
    War starts when negotiation ends,

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

First and foremost that 13 billion dollar deficit must be dealt with, Mia and Fruendel and their gangs can try to outlie each other to deceive the electorate with empty, false promises, but that deficit will just continue to steadily climb higher and higher until it reaches the 20 billion ceiling and keeps going.

4. I agree we need a new political party.

But you cannot improve the management of the country with 30 or 50 people sitting at desks in government ministries. You will be fighting the civil service and the unions, not to mention the businessmen who prefer the status quo.

You need a political movement to do the job. And that means grass roots consciousness-raising and mass rallies, so that you can use crowds of loyal supporters to intimidate your political adversaries.

Grenville should read about the Cultural Revolution in 1960s China.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92592/barbados-welcomes-party

It would be nice to see 2 or 3 new political parties who are able to tell us how and when they can disappear a 13 billion dollar deficit…

A few new parties will certainly dilute any more influence that the current 2 useless, antiquated DBLP parties hold over the population….creating a much healthier political environment for bajans and their future.

6. @ Grenville,
    Managing a government, is not like managing a business. That is the first reality you have to understand. The poor; who will always be with us, have needs that a government has to address. The children; of all of us, are the responsibility of the government and its agencies. Our health system; that is supposed to accommodate ALL citizens, is the responsibility of the government. A government cannot declare bankruptcy and close up shop, if the “business” fails. Management of the employees, the Civil Servants, who run the agencies, does not depend on if customers come in to the shop.A government does not run singularly, it operates in a world and an environment, where it is responsible for more than the citizens within the store. The expectations of the “customers” extend beyond the “stock” on the store. Maybe you, and your fellow “supporters” need to serve a period of probation ship, within the confines of a few government departs to become acquainted with how, why, and in what manner they serve the interests of the wider community.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Maybe you, and your fellow “supporters” need to serve a period of probation ship, within the confines of a few government departs to become acquainted with how, why, and in what manner they serve the interests of the wider community.”

Alvin….very good advice for the new political parties, but did you give your political party this advice before they settled into parliament and now 9 years later realizing…because they failed at everything……that it’s not a businss, a law firm or a walk in the park.

8. YOU GET THE GOV’T
    YOU’VE CHOSEN

Some say the white man came from above oh oh!
    That is if you believe that supernatural stuff…UFO
    The locals treated him not like a beast
    Like the three wise men from the East
    Like how Columbus founded the West Indies
    Then try to convert the poor Indians! Please!
    When that failed they went buffalo butchering
    Leaving the Red Indians starving and cowering
    Coveting land from humble folks with their flags unfurled
    Settling up their own towns and villages all over the world
    But in their wake they left many in tears day after day
    All over the good land which was never theirs any way
    They maltreated many a people who cried long tears
    Someone got to be punished for we know God cares

You can sing, and run and jump with all your might
    For karma is bitter sweet when it comes back to bite

When some countries got their freedom
    Their governments thought they’re dumb
    They too tried to do like the Caucasians
    Who maltreated the local Amerindians
    They built cities and made kingdoms
    Living it up drinking coke and rums
    They lived the good life like the imperial master
    As they too put the little man on the back- burner
    As their own folks live in poverty
    Amidst their masters’ proclivity
    For years the people took it and did nothing
    The doers willfully neglecting them sneering
    The reapers of the ill gotten gains in their castles in a moat
    You take it staying quiet for you don’t want to rock the boat

Tears have been shed every day many going insane
    And someone has to pay, here comes karma again
    Living the likes of a hog as they shed tears of joy
    As they plot and scheme to carry out their ploy
    Wives, mothers and children became high brows
    Covered from head to toe as their belief allows
    But the poor farmers keep toiling and trod on
    Eking a miserable living to bring in the bacon

And months became years and fades
    And decades ran into more decades
    Until the people ran out of tears
    They swear and shed their fears

Their anger reached every man, child and wife
    For all they ask for is just to live a simple life
    Their anger reached a pitch they want to get even
    They were ready to face torture of even an AK47
    The cry for freedom and democracy was in the air
    And every man in South East Asia wanted a share

And so in Tunisia, one day in a little town called Tunis
    Using a format called Facebook the locals found bliss
    The folks sent messages to one another
    Innocently talking and in serious chatter
    When Muhammad Bouazizi, a farmer doused himself in kerosene
    Which was seen all over the world to show his wrath of that mean
    Ben Ali, dictator who lived like a hog for over 27 years
    As unemployment grew, people die shedding long tears
    All about their welfare and hardship in rage
    Actually, bottom line they wanted a change
    Citizens were called to silent arms and demanded democracy
    Ben Ali trembled in his boots but stuck to his despotic policy
    And when the smoke cleared the dictator was kicked out
    The people rejoiced as they sang tears of joy and shout
    As they pray and hope for a better tomorrow
    But the fires were burning all the way to Cairo

Hundreds and thousands were alerted who care
    And they all met at the famous Tahrir Square
    And the words that went out were “We have taken up
    Enough of this, we’ve to bring this nonsense to a stop”
    The news spread like wildfire all the way to Benghazi
    But was trampled by tanks, guns of an insane Hosnie
    And Mubaruk refused to budge as the people persevere
    Strengthened by the victory in Tunisia they didn’t care
    T‘was do or die they made up their minds shouted out their demands
    To oust Mubaruk after 30 years of stealing the wealth of their lands
    Eventually he packed up his bags and left after 30years of conniving
    As the Muslim Brotherhood stood silently on the sidelines watching
    The fires had already spread to Libya a kettle of a different brand
    Democracy was a word Muammar Gaddafi could never understand
    As he dined with prostitutes in Cannes in Europe like a leech
    At home he ruled with an iron hand banning even free speech

Bucket a guh a well everyday, one day
    Eh battam guh lef my Nannie used to say
    As Tripoli seethed and the people protested
    As men women and children were slaughtered
    Using jet fighters, tanks and mercenaries from Africa
    As his own soldiers refused to kill their own in Libya
    Hiding behind his high walls madly raving
    With his two evil sons aiding and abetting
    After 42 years of wallowing in the Libya’s troughs he can
    He said he’d kill any opposer to the last woman and man
    The world is shouting that this is a crime against humanity
    But all words fell on the mad ears of a man bent on insanity
    As the UN and the USA threatened and warned
    That no more innocent Libyans should be harmed
    Gaddafi answered by sending planes to shoot at oil rich
    Brega
    Threatening before he goes he’d burn the oil wells of
    Libya

I said we get the Gov’t. we’ve chosen
    Sometimes the voters are left frozen
    And they have to put up and abide
    Their time and flow with the tide
    Cause they’re evil forces at work out there
    And the innocent are cornered in dire fear
    Like what happened in the 1960’s in Guyana
    When the British stealthily agree with the USA
    To stifle the PPP and oust Dr.Cheddi of Guyana
    For they thought Guyana would be another Cuba
    History has proved after 28 years Cheddi was not
    But Burnham was and that was what Guyanese got
    In Africa and Europe dictators arose
    All eventually got the peoples’ blows
    Those who don’t have it want it
    But really can they handle it?

Democracy is what they want
    They shouted give us in any slant
    In the garage we want a good motor
    An oven, a stove and the refrigerator
    A detached home is so so
    A townhouse or a condo
    A job in the bank and money inside
    No matter what they promise to abide
    We see water it’s not a mirage
    We also want a car in the garage.
    Many times we have seen great incorporations
    And the architects ending up in incarcerations

Look back in History with the great Mahatma
    When he and Jinnah were fighting for one India
    Jinnah caused India to split is a fact
    He was the brains of the Luknow Pact
    Jinnah never wanted an Independent India
    He was too violent even rejected satyagrah
    Every time Gandhi preached cooperation
    It was met with the Lahore Resolution
    The same thing happened in Guyana’s PPP
    When the Muslims rejected the Jagan’s Party
    In that case the CIA’s puppet Mr Langley
    Gave Richard Ishmael $2.08M for perpetuating the 80 day strike
    Also to the Muslims and the Trade Union Council and their like
    The Muslims split the Indian vote and formed a PNC coalition
    Joined with Burnham who later kicked them out in
    jubilation

Greedy rulers from Stalin  to Mussolini
    From Ben Ali to Mubharak to Gaddafi
    And the others in poor Africa
    Even Burnham from Guyana
    All have one common denominator
    And that is the built in greedy factor
    Their coffers are bare yet they spend much on war
    Their people go hungry as the leaders dine on caviar
    Even the educated started our good then made a mess
    This shows greedy rulers can’t rule I have to confess
    How can these so-called leaders sleep deep at night
    When their people sleep with a bug infested plight
    When they practice the opposite what’s preached in Mecca
    Covering their women from head to toe sheltered by Sharia
    Laws as they defile and use other women like play things
    Paying top dollars for sexy women who party and sings

They pray 5 times per day pointing towards Mecca
    As they bank the people’s money to be used later
    At the Cayman Islands, Swiss or the country they all hate
    Or just invested it in stocks and bonds and in real estate
    Since the last time we spoke
    Some thought it was a joke
    Since then we saw the fall of the South East Asian Empire
    A dire land of totalitarians and some secular pundits for hire
    Tempered by monastic vows
    Treating their women like cows
    Governing wretched peoples yet who sneered and
    applauded
    Praying to their God when the Twin Towers fell and were
    bombed
    A people who always want the green US dollars
    But funneled the money for domestic owned wars
    And sat and took it decade after decades
    As that part of the world became Hades

Fast forward to Toronto in Ontario, to live
    With the Liberal Party vs the Conservative
    You would never believe politicians can be so sick
    One would surely think one is in a Banana Republic
    Wasting and covering it up is the order of the day
    And all the poor taxpayers don’t have a darn say
    Billions of dollars wasted to save their party some seats
    As erasing tapes and emails done secretly at their meets
    The fists would fly and guns would be drawn
    But all dumb Ontarians do is smile and yawn
    But really you have to blame it on the naive lesbians
    Pride has voted as a block maybe they got the billions
    When the people put party before sound economics
    It always come back to bite them where it ticks
    Only time would tell in the next few years
    But then it may be too late for long tears

9. There was confirmation today that we have 16 political parties on the slate.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

16 parties….wonderful, things are looking up.

11. ALVIN CUMMINS

We never said that managing a Government is the same as running a business. What we said was that running a business (local economy) was a good form of training for running a government department (national economy).

Best regards,
    Grenville

12. @ Chad99999
    This is not 1960 and it is not China.
    If you take a look you will find that even China has changed with the times…

@ Grenville
    Do you understand that Alvin is …. well …not “normal”?
    He does not subscribe to a policy of meritocracy. He thinks that a politician must be a bleeding heart ….who goes around taking from rich frustrated businessmen …and giving to the homeless and vagrants society.
    Great way to end up with everyone homeless and vagrant.

13. BARBADOS HAS MORE LAND available, fewer Barbadians with the capacity to buy it, and cautious foreign investors. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92616/land-standstill#sthash.QaXaQhMB.dpuf

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92617/potholes-jones

Another clown adding his useless 2 cents.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92623/policy-coming-minimum-wage

Which rock has Dumbville been living under, these workers have been underpaid for 50 years….not just NOW .

More the reason the two washed up, out of touch DBLP political parties must be replaced by the electorate, they have been useless for years, not ashamed to display their carelessness for the welfare of less than minimum wage workers, cannot empathize with the hardships of the people whose votes they need and have not represented those same people adequately for decades, or there would not only now be talk of underpaid workers by Dumbville.

Bajans have a serious job on their hands, to rid themselves of these two blighted parties who have no respect for the majority and cannot even publicly show respect for each other, despite colluding with each other for decades to stagnate the people who vote for them…the only thing they all apparently agree on, besides the corruption..

Strangers may treat the people better.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Isn’t Ronald Jackass Jones the same minister, who “drives carefully”, never hit a pothole, but hit a human on the streets with his car, while not paying due care and attention, while driving on an expired license because he did not pay his driver’s license for a few years……an offense he was charged for, has he forgotten the person he injured that quickly, I know he thinks everyone else has…..has Jones followed up on the person’s condition, the one he hit with his car, this happened barely a year pr 2 ago.

Is this the same idiot talking about what a careful driver he is……he should have used the word…become instead….

……as I said, rid the island of these blighted ministers and politicians. …they do and say these stupid things because they know bajans have very short memories.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/19/dlp-forerunners/

What is there to be baffled about…..if ya so baffled investigate the candidates fron all new political parties..it’s easy.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/19/belle-baffled-by-countrys-newest-political-party/

17. The most irrelevant person in Barbados Today is George Belle.
    A total and complete waste of time…. Typical Cave Hill lack and joker.

Who the hell cares what he thinks….?

18. On what basis would he anoint Sinckler? What informed his decision. It is this alpine behaviour which ran him in trouble with Chappo.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Then it would do Belle well to investigate each candidate and post his findings so that bajans would know who they are voting for, it would give him something useful to do….let Bajans know which insurance company this Neil Brown, I think, has a relationship with…..let bajans know of each candidate’s eny0tangled relationships and associations….it’s a public service.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92616/land-standstill#sthash.QaXaQhMB.dpuf

With the help of greedy government ministers, greedy minority land developers overpriced the land out of the reach of average majority bajans…….they did so deliberately anvd maliciously, thinking that the gravy train of foreign weallthy white investors would run forever, it did not, it will not, it cannot,…..

…….now the developers are complaining bitterly, just like government complaining about low productivity on the island because of the same reason, their nasty, malicious actions with minorities for the past 50 years……..cutting out the majority from being productive or being capable of purchasing prime properties to develop.

….,.bajans need to ignore this overpriced land in Barbados….buy land which is much more affordable in other Caribbean islands, start spreading your wings for your future generations, you will need to…let the developers in Barbados keep their overpriced land, they did not want majority bajans to have any of it anyway……let it bite them hard,

20. George Belle got yuh in a tizzy Bushie? lol David he said Sinckler “possesses the best political skill set”. Remember Thompson vs Mascoll?

21. LOL @ Enuff
    …not really, …just a little minor whacking on some CaveHill weeds… George was a bullshitter from young…and refuses to grow out of it…

But you had better concentrate on Grenville yuh… He is talking more and more sense …(at least compared to your lot…who ain’t saying a pang..)

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin……..look…hahaha, lol

“Hundreds, if not thousands, of times in the past, the prospects of Bajan plantations, businesses, partnerships, clubs, organisations etc. have been turned around by people who inherited, bought or were elected to manage them.

The problem with your flock of clowns is that they applied for the job without a single clue of how to do it and were ‘interviewed’ on podiums across this land by a bunch of voters who were voting for more ‘sweetness’ guaranteed by your lies.”

Lol lol, hahaha….

23. Bushie

Good for you and Grenville, aka David Thompson 2.0.

24. PRIME MINISTER Freundel Stuart believes the time has come to have “full and frank discussions” on the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME). – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92634/pm-frank-discussions-csme#sthash.dG3TUvAJ.dpuf

Dear Mistah PM the time has come to have “full and frank discussions” about the BARBADOS economy.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92653/-us-party

We were warned yesterday that Belle is a bullshit artist…lol

26. George Belle like Peter Wickham are both political propagandist of Mia. I for one will not be voting for either B or Die.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ponzi schemes have a way of coming down like houses of cards.

https://nakeddeparture.com/2017/01/20/cgi-towers-in-warrens-sold-policyholders-beware/

For some time now people I know said they have seen documents related to the sale of CGI Towers owned by Peter Harris, Bruce and Edmund Bayley to Scotia Bank.

The most important issue is, will the proceeds from the sale of CGI Towers be used to pay injured claimants with personal injury cases and policyholders now on permanent hold in the Supreme Court, to close these cases and free up the court system…..from the current clog

28. Solutions Barbados, congrats on two points.One, trying to encourage a culture of pre election debate instead of political meetings, skin teets and promises.Two, in looking to expand the base of your candidates.

29. @SuckaBubby

Agree with you that we have not had so much debate around the formation of other parties to now. NDP was a splinter therefore not included.

30. The difference between Grenville and others currently in politics…

Grenville is genuinely intelligent, professionally competent (- and not looking for favours), and brave enough to call a spade a spade.

His major ‘failing’ is that he does not know how to play the ‘mind games’ on brass bowls that have been used in the past to get them to become political lackies….

The sad REALITY, is that it is too late any damn how…..

31. David

I understand that we have sixteen(16) parties now looking to offer themselves for the next election……..any ideas who the other 11 are?

Change is coming all over the capitalist world and with over a year to go all things are possible from new kids on the block………all they have to do is to make themselves personable in the constituency they intend to run for by going to every cockfight/bram/wukkup/dance/community activity/funeral/rumshop/churcg etc,etc

32. @Vincent

Along with the two recent ones there are the old ones – PDC,PEP etc.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans are so fed, they may just give a new party a chance, if their guts hold…lol

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans are so fed up……