An Update from Solutions Barbados.
Grenville Phillips II

Celebrating 50 years of our political independence was an important national event that the Government should have been allowed to manage, without being distracted by constant criticism.  Given the foreseen economic challenges this year, it was also important that Barbadians be allowed to enjoy the Christmas and New Year celebrations.  With these events now behind us, we all need to consider the future of Barbados.

Barbados has never been in so much debt.  The BLP has been responsible for accumulating approximately $8B and the DLP approximately $5B of our $13B national debt.  The international rating agencies continue to warn potential investors about our challenges to repay our debt.  If we continue to manage Barbados’ economy as we have in the past 40 years, then we will not own a country to pass on to the next generation of Barbadians.

The solutions to Barbados’ economic problems should be well known by both of our established political parties.  However, for the past 50 years they have both played this game of criticising the party in power for mismanaging the national economy, and then proceeding to mismanage it far worse when they attained power, leaving the criticising to the other party until their roles are reversed.

Since they have taken us so far beyond any responsible debt limit, to the point where we have no choice but to be badly taken advantage of by investors, then the next general election is crucial to the future of Barbados.

Solutions Barbados has already published workable solutions to the principal problems hindering Barbados’ development at SolutionsBarbados.com.  Regrettably, the games continue to be played while the problems are getting worse.  Therefore, we have assembled 14 employers who have never contested a general election, but who are willing to stand as candidates in the next general election in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  We are looking for 16 more candidates.

If you agree with our published solutions, have been a responsible employer at any time in your career (the type and size of business does not matter), and are willing to be a candidate in the next general election, then please contact us at NextParty246@gmail.com.

148 responses to “Hold On Barbados – Help Is Still On The Way”

1. So when these candidates run and lost, do they plan to emigrate?

2. @ enuff,

This is Barbados.

When they lose, they will just promise the winning “minister” to employ some of his constituents and things will be back to normal.

3. Grenville wrote “The two established parties normally parade their candidates early while keeping their policies secret until after elections are called. ”

That gives every voter the opportunity to talk to their potential MP.

You want to “give Barbadians approximately one month to scrutinise them ( your candidates ).

Exactly how do you plan to do this?

4. “jeff Cumberbatch January 9, 2017 at 11:21 AM #

Grenville really has to get serious now. Elections are imminent and we have no clue who the candidates of this new grouping are. Will they eventually baffle us with their brilliance. Or, more likely, bemuse us with their bullshit? Not at all a good harbinger of more freedom of information”

Another bunch of educated jokers and moreso with dead horse Lynette Eastmond in the midst they are bound to lose before they start. I say jokers because if they are as bright as they are flattered to believe they are, then they should realise as Mr Erskine Sandiford for once rightfully said that they are only two political parties in Barbados and they should have studied the Barbadian political landscape and reconized that the voting pattern is distributed between these two major parties with the floating vote holding the key between winning and losing. They should be campaigning for the abolition of party politics and preaching an alternative system of governance.

5. Where is it stated that Lynette Eastmond is representing Solutions Barbados?

6. Canada

“Trudeau is planning to embark on a campaign-style tour, talking to average folks at coffee shops and church basements across the country.”

Barbados.

Maybe Grenville should do a cross Barbados tour to get to know “the people”.

7. I am watching the USA electoral system and the way goverance is delivered. The political appointees have to appear before the Senate to be grilled before they are confirmed in the position.

We have some fly by night persons …………..especially this current mob…………who can convince people to vote for them and once their party win, they can be made ministers and automatically from the day they are sworn in at Government House, they get “powful foolish” with power. They do not even have to know nada….zilch…about the ministry of which they are put in charge.

We need to change the system……..as a calypso went….”we gotta change up the system”!

8. Hants

The argument appears illogical and based on pure ego like I said previously. Summarised, it says I can afford to reveal my identity 4 weeks before the election because I will WIN and be the government forever and therefore immune to victimisation.

Prodigal–a system is as good as the people in it!

9. Lynette Eastmond is a waste of time politically.

If she could not win with an established party especially with the star power of OSA behind her……….. will anyone take her rhetoric seriously?

10. Agreed, Enuff.

I continue to say that if Solutions was serious, he should have been out there pushing his agenda at least since 2014.

It may be doomed on arrival for the election in 2018.

11. We all thought Trump could never win

12. We cannot purport to be political scientists. However, it seems insufficient at least, for some new grouping to be serious, be viable, unless a larger social movement accompanies ‘this manifestation’ that a seismic political shift could be possible, within a year or so.

We know that the duopoly has already withstood more substantial challenges. Challenges by people who were measured as being more likely to prevail.

In the absence of such a movement, there has to be some natural or contrived cataclysmic failure to jolt the Bajan people out of their twin-bedded slumber.

Even if the enormous debt burden smiles on this new party. And this is their best bet, it might just be a necessary but insufficient condition to fuel such a radical departure by the Bajan people, towards an untested, new, third party. A formation unlikely to have more wiggle room that the incumbents.

We are possibly dealing with the most conservative people, per population, on earth or mars.

We see no set of circumstances that will birth either in the short to medium term.

In short, this plan seems to be missing something. Something unknown to us.

13. BDF TOP GUNS

BARBADOS WILL SOON have a new Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff of the Barbados Defence Force (BDF).

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92295/chief-deputy-bdf#sthash.EFQRa5za.dpuf

14. Trudeau talking to average folks lol …hand picked politically correct party hacks for photo ops .. please come to my coffee shop because we don’t gather in basements

15. Get rid of BDF that would save many millions annually.
    Who are they defending a 2 x 4 island from itself.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sounds like russian roulette to me, apparently Fruendel is going to tell Grenville the date elections will be called, has he ever heard of a snap election, no one is going to vote for last minute candidates, like it’s some lucky dip,..steupsss.

It will all come out in the wash.

17. The last elections were not announced until a month or so before the election day. I was almost caught short. I arrived home on election day.

18. If you believe in what you are about then be willing to sacrifice.

Stand up and be counted!!

Trump knows what he wants to do, believes in it and is not afraid of the flak that arises.

True Trump is rich in money terms and doesn’t have to rely on a job especially now that he has won.

… and true, Trump has been planning for decades.

But if the job is your be all and end all you aren’t suitable as a candidate who will make a difference.

You are not able to get people to believe in you enough to work with you and help you through the sacrifice you need to make.

You can’t do it on your own.

Keep your job and watch while someone with courage stands up and is prepared to be counted.

That person or group of people will be able to inspire people to help them do what needs to be done simply because it is the right thing to do.

Trump blew away Clinton because he was able to inspire.

True, some people were inspired to hate him but enough were inspired to stand by him to make sure he won … regardless of the ridicule both he and they received.

It is time for a change and clinging to a job until you get a pick is no change!!

We get 30 crappy people like that every election … over and over again!!

We are tired of them!!!

They are like ffing albatrosses around our necks.

… if you have solutions, stand behind them and show us you actually believe in them.

You can bet they are not perfect!!

Don’t worry about people “stealing” them … if they are any good and get implemented so much the better for Barbados.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man jes got one ingrunt question which is par for de course wid my questions

What are the achievements of these 14 “masked men”?

Whu I gine gots tuh call dem masked men or banditos causing dis ent no different that a Zorro who’s identity we ent going know til de election bells ring.

This is why I say that Grenville IS SIMPLY NOT READY.

He is of the opinion that because he wrote some solutions, like how David Thompson wrote some solutions AND has pulled 14 names out of a hat, like how Thompson pull he Dream Team names out of a garbage bin, dat we gotta believe he.

Steupseee.

We are being encouraged again to choose 14 horses that only exist in Grenville ‘s head, to run the affairs of a cuntry that has been bankrupted by a similar set of dreamers?

A nex set of waste foops…

20. @ Piece
    Grenville is an engineer …and that approach actually works for engineering problems – especially structural.
    But people are unpredictable, unreliable, inconsistent and ‘brass bowlic’….
    Brass bowls do NOT conform to structural analysis.

His approach won’t work, but it is difficult to fault him for bringing his expertise to the table and actually making a stand.

What do you do when you are a highly trained and successful jeweller when you see your family suffering from diabetes related organ failures – and all the trained doctors are running and hiding…while a bunch of butchers are controlling the hospital…?

Grenville has pulled out his jeweller’s tools and stepped forward… It won’t fix the problem, but he at least will have tried …. unlike Caswell who refused to BUP… 🙂

21. William Skinner Avatar

Any group that seriously wants to remove the BLP/DLP cannot be inactive or be clandestine for eighteen months and then expect to be victorious. In a most profound way they have already been derelict in their duty to the country.
    @ Pachamama
    Is absolutely correct that unless something seismic occurs that rocks the DLPBLP the group is DOA.
    @Prodigal Son,
    “I have always said that if Richie Haynes with all of his star power could not get a third party going to even be a force to be reckoned with………..I find it hard to see anyone in the near future doing!

Just my opinion!”

Obviously, you are extremely wrong to say that the NDP did not get going. The party contested two elections and won one seat in the last election it contested. If you take the time to read the NDP’s Manifesto of 1991, you would realise it was perhaps the best and most realistic set of policies presented to the electorate since independence.
    The NDP did get going. It had a most vibrant youth arm; held constituency assemblies, that have since been poorly copied by Mia; had regular weekly meetings that were open to the public and fielded a full slate of candidates in both the elections it contested.
    The NDP did not die on its own accord and to this day the reason has not been fully explained or exposed.

22. Until some bright individual or individuals figured out the apparently unpredictable, inconsistent laws governing structures no one could get one to stand!!!

Somebody had to do the math and, more importantly, have the courage to take the plunge.

… and yes, there were many failures.

This is about courage of convictions not the application of engineering principles.

That part comes in a distant but vital second!!

But if the first step is lacking, no point looking for the second!!

The two need to go together.

…. and I do not rule out the infinitesimally small probability of actually seeing someone or some group arise from the mess of either of the established parties to actually do the right thing!!

Bernie figured out the same thing Trump figured out while Clinton, queen of dumb bless her soul, clung to the past.

Forty years of doing the same thing convinced her she was good for anther forty!!

Change is the key ….. but not just any change as Bernie found out.

Even though he had the courage of his convictions … it is the follow through that counts!!

We wait to see what Trump will do …. while here, back on the farm, we wait to see if there will even be a Trump!!

23. Every human is an engineer ….. but not every human is brave.

24. The law can handle the butchers, but it takes courage to apply the law!!

25. Keep it real,

We must get rid of that monstrosity called the Defence Force. A little island, 166 sq mls and 270000 people, wants its own army. It is fantasy.
    We can do that without losing jobs: keep a few officers and non-commissioned officers on permanently, transfer the bulk of people to the police, which is badly understaffed, and the rest to the Coastguard.
    Job done. Pay retired people their pensions.

26. It is good some of us can speak in such absolutes about the future. Didn’t Ritchie throw his lot in with the DLP when they absorbed a few of the NDP policies?

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump with his distasteful, slimy self and despite the hourly beating he gets from bloggers, the press and democrats had to unmask his swamp dwellers well in advance of the inauguration date, after becoming president elect. Due to term limits and a long protracted US election process, everyone always knows the date of the election.

But bim is fly by night with prime ministers having election date as state secret and dragging it out to the last minute most times and 2 political parties filled with parasites embedded in the landscape for decades with a useless political ideology.

Any political party now trying to make in roads with the PEOPLE in a serious effort to remove that blighted cabal in parliament and not just trying to secure the opportunity to continue the usual corruption, seeing as according to Grenville they already benefit from taxpayer funded contracts these candidates, through the same government ministers they now seek to unseat…, they will have to make sacrifices, or it is not going to happen, ya cannot make omelettes unless you break a few eggs.

Bajans have been sacrificing for decades, if these new politicians are serious, they too have to make sacrifices, just to convince the people….and they cannot do so as masked men, as bandits.

Ya never going to get a Mandela, Martin Luther King or Obama coming out of Barbados…, the black males are too weak to make sacrifices, their first thought is, how much money they will lose if they do the right thing, if they buck the current destructive to the people system……..that is when ya mentally weak, unstable and possess no brain power……

……I would not put myself, my children, grandchildren and my future generations in the hands of such weak men and happy I dont have to.

28. “Hants January 9, 2017 at 8:18 PM #

BDF TOP GUNS

BARBADOS WILL SOON have a new Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff of the Barbados Defence Force (BDF).

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92295/chief-deputy-bdf#sthash.EFQRa5za.dpuf

Unproductive posts and titles in a country with scare resources. They should be abolished. Let us get real there is nothing to defend in Barbados the defence force should be disbanded and the members absorbed as someone suggests in the police force and coast guard

29. “We must rid that monstrosity called the defence force”

Shouldn’t every nation no matter how small provide for its own defence? If you wish to make the argument that Barbados is too infinitesimal for such a force because of no imminent threat, then what do you think about Israel? Yes, I would agree with you that we could probably reduce the size of the force, but I do believe that we could properly employ the force in many different ways either than military operation. Disaster relief and things of that nature the force can be utilize for!

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…for you own good, read the history of Israel…., they reside on land stolen from Palistinians, as recently as 1967…they are defending stolen land, they are defending what is not theirs, just LIKE THE US. …., these are the countries need a defense forse…to defend what they steal from other people. ..Barbados cannot steal from any other country, not even the usual thieving minorities would attempt that, they do not have the brain power or the bravery and would be wiped out attempting…,, they only steal from each other.

…….what does Barbados have to defend, land is stolen everyday and have for decades from the old, dead, dying and defenseless by lawyers, by the judiciary, by former chief justice David Simmons and those who bribed him, by ministers, by insurance executives and politicians….do you see the useless defense force in Barbados defending these people.

31. A ‘Defence Force’ in Barbados should be a national resource that is available to execute a wide variety of complex tasks on an ongoing basis. Tasks that are needed for the sound running of a society. While this may involve dealing with military type threats of rare occasions, it should mostly be an engineering type organisation with responsibility for such areas as drainage, road management and repairs, structural maintenance of national assets, emergency response backup to the police, fire services and hospital, youth and sport development, and other critical (and currently neglected) areas.

The fact is that the BDF has been used by a long line of jokers whose aim has been to strut around, in stupid looking uniforms, pretending to be ‘soldiers’ – while contributing absolutely nothing to the society.

The Army Corps of Engineers in many large countries contribute more to those societies than does the military corps, but you can trust Bajans to seek to emulate the wasteful and idiotic aspect of the military here.

Hopefully the new leadership will have a different outlook from the outgoing joker, but with the highest level of mock leaders in this brass bowl place, Bushie would be surprised at any positive changes.

32. The NDP did not die of its own accord, and to this day the reason has not been explained or exposed………The open forum presents itself……Perhaps some day fragments of the controlling arm of Solutions Barbados will in hindsight question the wisdom of attempting to run a campaign with unknown candidates…….We too love secrecy…..or is it that we are afraid to offend others, even though we are firm in our beliefs?

33. Wow the boat is sinking and real fast!

David you should not associate yourself with this clown and his disciples. The flames of revolution will never revisit Barbados.

We remain a timid people. I have nothing more to add.

34. Coalition of suitable talent and unquestionable commitment to the wider public interest, blended with modern technology, on a direct digital democracy platform is what we need now to replace this antiquated system of geographical constituency and partisan pompous-setting

35. William Skinner Avatar

I have no doubt that the hold that the BLPDLP has on the country is slackening. Even with all the nonsense and ineptitude of the current administration, the BLP has so far not offered any concrete solutions to the problems. Many people now opine that if the NDP was still active, the political equation may have changed. This has been confirmed by the apathy and low turn outs that we now have. The mistake being made here is the belief that one can be political without being political. A fisherman who does not want the smell of his catch on his garments. On the other hand too many want to run with the hare and hunt with the hound.
    Please note that my comment that the BLP has offered no concrete solutions to our problems is not meant to infer that they dont deserve to be given a chance to govern. That’s just a caveat to keep the one-eyed party fanatics off my back !. Thanks.

36. There is some credence to the role of ‘the engineer’ as leader as apposed to that of the lawyer/politician.

A few countries have this tradition. They tend to build things, buildings, bridges, etc. It’s well located in the Kemetic traditions.

As course, there is a long history to the leader/engineer.

We are minded that we maybe only marginally better off with this change in orientation. That it does not go to the centre of the transformation needed.

It plays into the same ‘most man’ singularity or even maximum leader personality which has created too many problems.

So although this maybe slightly better, we are not at all convinced that it spawns the social chasm created to drive the nation out of its present morass.

We will argue that it cannot be a good idea to replace one orientation with another when what we really need is to remove, forever, the singular personality culture from the centre of governance and replace it with the power of a mass traction movement.

37. Barbados is badly in need of alternative politics, but is the answer that of a government by technocrats, or even a return to government by businesspeople?
    There is a real danger in this thinking. We need a new form of politics, built from the bottom up, representing most of all the people who are not in a position to articulate their social ad economic grievances.
    We need a party that talks about inequality, the re-distribution of the nation’s wealth and of equality of opportunities.
    We are in a very bad way when the very institutions created by the middle classes they do not trust: they send their children to school and university in Europe and North America; they rush off to New York, Miami and London for medical treatment; they invest their money in Europe and North America.
    Those of us who come from ordinary working families must not betray this class by pretending to be who we are not, when the reality is that we are one, two or at most three generations away from canecutters.

38. The solution, as Bushie has been trumpeting for years now, is in governance by the people through the people. This is best executed via a cooperative methodology.

The ONE thing that has worked for us over the past 40 years has been out Credit Unions… yet we continue to seek albino-centric solutions….

BU’s 10-point plan lays out a simple, doable solution, which no one has coherently been able to trash, yet we continue to look for some lone ranger and Tonto to ride in and save us….

Carry on smartly….
    Brass…..!!!

39. What we know is that the same approaches to governance will not create different outcomes. We have to change it up.

40. ten point plan January 10, 2017 at 9:59 AM #

Bush Tea January 10, 2017 at 9:53 AM #

The solution, as Bushie has been trumpeting for years now, is in governance by the people through the people. This is best executed via a cooperative methodology.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Contradiction with the above at Point 2.
    How can 50 organisation with a membership of around 10% of the population,speak for the people.

When one attempts to build an edifice,one must ensure that the foundation is solid,failing which the edice will collapse in short order.

….one cannot entertain discussion on an unsound structure.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Does anyone know that Tonto in spanish means stupid, so the lone ranger, prime minister is on the same level as Tonto…..lol

Talking about doing something re the disenfranchisement of the majority black population by a 5% minority and aided by ministers and polititians generation after generation, doing something about the crimes committed by the minorities, the criminal syndicates of drug dealing, money laundering, gunrunning, destruction of the supreme court, bribery of government officials, FOI unmuzzling the press, integrity legislation and unmasking these candidates who are hiding because they got government contracts, would get a better reception….so their employees do not now know who the candidates are and are supposed to vote them in at the last minute to do what. …keep their jobs. …..what a cockup……….

42. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Hal Austin January 10, 2017 at 3:29 AM #
    Keep it real,

We must get rid of that monstrosity called the Defence Force. A little island, 166 sq mls and 270000 people, wants its own army. It is fantasy.
    We can do that without losing jobs: keep a few officers and non-commissioned officers on permanently, transfer the bulk of people to the police, which is badly understaffed, and the rest to the Coastguard.
    Job done. Pay retired people their pensions.

Why not use the BDF as an institution for National Conscription?

Teach the fatherless unemployables to speak properly, dress properly, do as they’re told and maybe a few other skills they didn’t learn at home?

Simple conditions for conscription: anyone between the ages of 16 and 21 who is not enrolled in higher education or has ever made an NIS contribution.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

On a much brighter note..lol

It relates to the foolish things men do to kill themselves and of course destroy others.

Friday 06 January 2017

HOME»NEWS»SCIENCE»SCIENCE NEW

“Men really are more stupid than women, research shows
    It’s official! Men really are stupider than women, accounting for 90 per cent of people who have died in foolish ways, according to the Darwin Awards”.

44. @ Frustrated Businessman

Why not give these same young people land, as right?

Does dressing properly mean looking like White people or mindless Blacks?

Why can’t the young people be dressed up like radicals, the new persons they should be lead our country in this new age?

What is there about your failed ethos that could inspire anybody with more than 3 brain cells?

Why not encourage the young people by putting yourself and your ilk in prison for serial ‘White’ collar crimes, corrupting Black politicians, corrupting civil servants etc?

Why should Black people be some vanguard, in a defense force, to protect a wicked system not of their making?

45. Frustrated,

I am in full agreement about the need for discipline. But first, we can replace the DF with a volunteer Regiment. Then we need to reform our school leaving legislation with those schoolleavers at age 16, not remaining in fulltime education or training, doing 18mths to 2 years national service in the community.
    Those who complete the service would get benefits for jobs and further education.

46. Barbadians don’t want to do the heavy lifting plain and simple. As Owen Arthur once put it they want to go to heaven, but don’t want to die. William Skinner likened it to a fisherman not wanting the scent of his catch upon his clothes. We know exactly what the problem is but those capable are quite unwilling to fix it. We are told that the elected officials are paid handsomely so as to minimize the lure towards bribery, yet time and again we have borne witness to the abuse of the public purse and nothing happens. The blatant disregard for the Public Accounts Committee of which the Opposition leader speaks is of the same magnitude as that which evoked the ire of then Opposition leader the late David Thompson……..and thunderous was her silence then. You get my drift. On a recent visit I took the time to peruse the environs of my beloved village. I took pictures that exposed the level of squalor in which Granny and in some instances Grandpa in 2016 survive in. As soon as I talked about using BU to expose their plight, to a man every single one said ” doan call my name”. This is the average man who for the most part, was not exposed to the benefits of a secondary education. Lets look at the other side of the coin. If you listened to Monday’s edition of down to brass tacks you would have heard David Ellis in classic style pretending to be so concerned about the way the public is silenced. This is a senior media mogul mind you, who has not seen it fit to ask questions about how is it that a cash strapped country has turned a blind eye to the companies that continue to use VAT as a governmental tax concession. Companies deduct but do not pay into the relevant agency what is supposed to be NIS deductions. There is this claim to name and shame them, yet some of these same culprits appear on programs and not one damn question in relation to the aforementioned scam is allowed. We have reached the stage where the most listened to, the most relied upon media house in the country finds more comfort in fielding cricket balls than fielding questions from an electorate cut off from the legislators………till a year or so before elections……but dem aint no part of de problem….

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply