Dr. DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank

The local press carried a story this week titled Worrell advised to meet press that addressed the unbelievable occurrence of the Governor of the Central Bank DeLisle Worrell not having held a press conference since the first quarter of 2014. Instead, he has preferred an orchestrated TV event where individuals were cherrypicked to participate in a moderated Q&A session.

It does not require anyone to be overly endowed with intelligence to expect our key decision makers to be accessible to answer questions from the public during a protracted economic downturn. Surely they understand that it is important to allay concerns and infuse confidence in the citizens by articulating a message of hope – see The King’s Speech. The independent office of Governor of the Central Bank is where the font of hope should be gushing. Unfortunately what we have had to witness for the last six or seven years is a central bank whose reputation has been severely dented by several unusual decisions by Governor Worrell made worse by minister of  finance Chris Sinckler. There was the unusual appointment  of Bjerkham to the Board of the Central Bank. The dividend payout of 25 million from the Housing Credit Fund to an affiliated company of Bjerkham for construction of the GROTTO high rise apartments. And who can forget the decision by the Governor to challenge the state agency responsible for determining the unemployment statistic.

BU agrees with Dr. Clyde Mascoll when he tabled the view in his weekly column that:-

Perhaps, what is more important is the structure of the board that oversees the functioning of the bank itself. The time has truly come to reconsider the governor being the chairman of the board. Furthermore, the composition of the board ought to better recognise the specialised areas of the bank’s activities. No man is an island.

The Central Bank is too important an institution for the idiosyncrasies of an individual to take priority. As if to emphasize that his way is the right way, he disregarded the advice from former bankers Mariano Browne and Jwala Rambarran who are based in Trinidad to meet with the press. He issued another press release to the media with a foreboding message.  Eight years of economic verboseness and still more belt tightening asked of Barbadians. How long is too long …

While BU agree with those calling for the Governor to condescend to meet the local press corp, we are concerned that local ‘journalists’ selected in the past to attend Central Bank economic press briefings have been woefully short of the standard required to deliver on their mandate. Further, there is an important role to be played by financial journalists. Who will disagree that managing a small open economy is a challenging undertaking. It is important we have journalists comfortable in the financial arena to report on the issues to effectively inform citizens. Instead what we have is a dearth of talent in the area of financial reporting that politicians and others in civil society easily exploit.  Even if our media houses were to send senior journalists like a David Ellis, Stetson Babb, Roy Morris, Jewel Brathwaite, Kaymar Jordan et al -these are journalists with a general knowledge of financial reporting. The only competent financial journalist is Patrick Hoyos. Is our investment in education failing us as a nation?

Perhaps the solution is to invite journalists from Trinidad to attend the Central Bank economic review press briefings.

163 responses to “8 Years and a Mule”

1. David

Good question,it was also stated that she has not resigned from the Bees.

2. @ Hants January 6, 2017 at 3:58 PM #

@ Prodigal Son,

You Bajans are all responsible for the current problems in Barbados.

You continue to rely on Tourism to provide the forex which you waste on importing everything.

Your brass is grass until you ALL curb your avarice for imported non essential goods.
    …………………………………………………………..

I plead innocent, Hants……..not my fault, I am not responsible for the way these morons have destroyed Barbados.

I never voted for them, I saw through David Thompson and knew he was a fraud and if he was a fraud, a fraud would only attract frauds.

The BLP left a thriving foreign direct investment sector which was bringing millions and as expected they messed it up. There was also the offshore sector which they messed that up as well. Dont you remember Connie Smith complaining and nothing happened? That sector has now shrunk.

The DLP came to power in 2008 and their heads were swollen as a result of their victory……….they refused to listen to another opinion other than theirs, Inniss and Stinkliar said boldy on the floor of the House………..now is we time, any ideas wunnah got keep to wunnah selves, we give do things we way…………well, voila……look at the results.

How can wild boys walk off the street with no ministerial experience and feel that they had all the answers……….do you expect anything different from what we are at now?

I do agree with you though, that Barbados import too many items………do we need every brand of soap and toothpaste, every brand of pasta and pasta sauces, every brand of rice, salt, peas, every frozen food? Yes, I agree with you, we need to cut out a lot of stuff!

In all of this……where is the minister of agriculture who should be pushing local agriculture? Cooling out at Hoodies, I guess!

3. @Vincent

A movement has to fly on the back of a philosophy that mobilizes the majority of the people.

4. @Vincent Haynes January 6, 2017 at 4:55 PM #

Hear ye,Hear ye

Another political movement is about to be launched states Lynette Eastmond on the 1230 and 1630 VoB news of today.

How come no one has mentioned it or shown any interest ……..are we so shell shocked that we are no longer interested in politics
    …………………………………………………

Vincent

I guess the news just made everyone yawn…………..

Hardly any heavy weights………..OSA lackies who have lost and lost and lost……….

5. David
    It is ironic, but I thought you were going to be part of that movement away from the DLP/BLP but it seems that you have lost focus.
    Where are the new ideas of moving Barbados forward coming from the established parties.
    We need a radical shift but not from frustrated already run candidates.

6. Vincent

She is looking to pick a fight with Mia. She wants the BLP to expel her like they did to her client Maria and then it would fit into their narrative.

I wish them well…….she ran and lost three times and also lost a nomination in Christ Church East Central. David Gill ran and lost three times…….what movement what?

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Roger…their days are numbered, a few bajans in the diaspora are mobilizing to return just to vote these cockroaches and stinking rats like Fiendel out.

Why do bajans continue to boast about having the best education system when their leaders are ALL asholes, a bunch of nasty, semiliterate black people with no souls….no love for their black skins and no love and respect for their own black people….

…..from Hong Kong to Europe and North America Fiendel’s idiotic, distasteful, careless comments were shared and many are appalled that this dumb ashole is actually a leader of a country.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Harold Doldami January 6, 2017 at 7:52 AM
    “Alvin
    Do you care to tell tHE BU family about the net 200M loss of foreign exchange in December? Do you not care to share that the foreign exchange reserves are now less that 700M and falling? Do you not care to share the fact that the GOB, covertly thru the Central Bank camouflage, has approached the IMF for assistance? Do you not care to share that the same man, Minister Dumb Dumb (FAILURE) who ran the economic ship onto the reef (not like he was not warded) will now have to negotiate an IMF deal for Barbados because the man at the top is a COWARD?”

It seems you are privy to what’s taking place behind the scenes. We hope you are the real Harold of Codrington now ‘freed’ of your slavish past to reveal the Truth about the rather deep quagmire in which Barbados now finds itself.

Don’t expect Alvin to respond. He is the same mule- saddled with the brain of a jackass and carrying a yard-fowl as a weathercock on his head- who argues that forex is not necessary as long as Bajans have billions of dollars saved in the local banks and financial institutions to buy government bonds and to shop for imported goods.

Barbados is now at the point of no return from the IMF door as predicted many weeks ago.
    First out of the blocks to issue warnings of a pending IMF programme was that stable boy, the quack for a doc Justin R.

Now it is the Guv’s turn to wash his dirty hands of the botched local job called the Stinkliar’s fiscal operation & economic recovery.

Who will be next to issue the dreaded warning of the coming financial haircut?
    Would it come straight from a discredited dead horse’s mouth already tainted with lies and rotting with flies?

Or would Lord Fumble the King of Flies reshuffle his cabinet of scapegoats and appoint a ‘watery-mouth’ quieted pit-bull with a large monkey on his back to be his “Proconsul” primarily responsible for all matters financial under an IMF supervised programme of economic restructure?

Here goes the bell! Bang, “balang” bang!

9. @Curios

Some of contribute to our country outside of politics.

10. I agree with you Prodical Son – can’t win a seat in a majority party and expect to win one in a minority one. The arrogance of these persons – hungry for power. Be careful what you hope for – you might just get it. Who will be leading this party? Hmmm – I smell a rat.

A Question for BU. The Keithroy Halliday that will be the General Manager of BWA – is this the same Keithroy that was dismissed from FCIB under questionable circumstances – the same Keithroy that was closssse, bussssom pals with Phil Phillips? I need to know.

11. David
    Those citizens who contribute outside of politics must now get involved because these are serious times where persons like Donald Trump evolved.
    I am afraid we going right back to where it all started.

12. Should it matter that he is a homosexual? What does his resume say is what is important.

We had a look at his Linkedin profile:

Background

Summary

A visionary leader who inspires to achieve. Held several senior management postings in the banking, financial, retail and telecommunications sectors. Skill sets and competencies include sound operational management, proactive change management, keen financial and credit analysis, effective company turn-arounds, best practices implementer, tactical and strategic leadership.

Most recent achievements include:-

 Leading a financially ailing transnational company to profitability in 6 months.

 Successful restructuring and change management initiatives.

 Development of empowered human resource to continue delivery of new strategies.

 Introduction of a Process/Quality management system for monitoring and evaluation of improvement strategy.

 Leading telecommunication retail company to win Bmobile and Digicel awards in two countries over the last 5+ years.

• Director, Cellular Planet Limited (Trinidad)

• Director, Cellular Planet Ltd. (Barbados)

• Director, Cellular Planet Inc. (Guyana)

• Director, TK Masala (under franchise development)

• Director, Fisolv Services

• Director, Details Integrated Solutions Ltd

• Former Director (de facto) Crossfire Ventures Limited

Experience
    Director
    Cellular Planet Limited

April 2010 – January 2017 (6 years 10 months)

General Manager
    Cellular Planet Limited

December 2006 – December 2016 (10 years 1 month)Trinidad, Barbados & Guyana

Cellular Planet (Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados and Guyana)

Led a turn-around effort in a transnational financially challenged company to profitability in less than six months.

Executed a Restructuring Strategy for Cellular Planet including down-sizing, incentivising salaries through target setting and motivating towards higher level of performance.

Responsible for day-to-day management of operations including planning, directing, organising, staffing and controlling resources.

Created a high quality brand as evidenced in Trinidad by consistently winning Bmobile top yearly awards for Best Large Cell Phone Dealer for last five years and in Guyana winning the Digicel Most Consistent Contributor for the last four years.

Prudent fiscal management achieving increased sizeable returns year by year.

Introduced a Process Quality management system for operations.

Developed and implemented a 150-page Employee HR manual and recruited in a unionised environment.

Recruited, coached and mentored all Area and Regional Managers (direct reports) to instill improved performance of their teams.

Dynamically monitored and managed change to radically improve business model success.

Regional Manager
    Cellular Planet Limited

July 2004 – November 2006 (2 years 5 months)Barbados

Developed and expanded Network of stores in Barbados from 2 to 7 over a 2 year period including the takeover of 2 major flagship stores for Digicel.

Achieved the first dealership store to have two jointly represented competing network Carrier brands (Digicel & Bmobile) in one store location in the island.

Conducted training in Guyana and Trinidad companies, with minor input on Suriname operation

General Manager
    Cellmate Mobile Services

July 2003 – December 2003 (6 months)Barbados

Developed initial financial projections and assisted in driving company success in this first time large scale unique business.

Distributed wholesale airtime to both traditional and non-traditional vendors.

Expanded company offerings to include handsets sales.

Assisted in innovating the implementation of a new channel for Distribution & marketing of company’s products

Account Manager
    Caribbean Commercial Bank (Since RBTT, now RBC)

July 2002 – June 2003 (1 year)Barbados

 Reduced risk prone accounts as a Senior Lender responsible for senior portfolio management.

 Analyzed and presented credit worthy cases to Managing Director.

 Managed mixed and diverse portfolio of inherited high risk account of varying market segments, alongside high valuable clients

 Portfolio size of approximately 70 accounts and $70 million, in borrowings

Owner and CEO
    Fisolv Services/LCK Enterprises Inc.

June 1999 – June 2002 (3 years 1 month)Barbados

Provided consultancy services to over 30 small to medium size companies

Managed/owned Shell Gas Service Operation (franchised operation)

Managed/owned Restaurant/Bar Business

Managed/owned Taxi Service business

Various Advancing Managerial positions ending with that of Account Manager
    CIBC (now CIBC FCIB)

June 1988 – May 1999 (11 years)Barbados

Account Manager, Commercial Banking Center (2½ years)

Branch Manager, Speightstown (2 years)

Assistant Manager, Broad Street Branch (2 years)

Other Management type positions (3+ years)

CIBC Caribbean Limited (11 years total)

 Responsible for bringing in new customers and increasing loan portfolios, branch growth and boosting the bank’s profits

 Managing of credit matters and overseeing some credit granting approvals with active use of tools such as credit scoring, and credit rating analyses.

 Executed excellent portfolio management at Commercial Banking Center (Bds$200 million loan portfolio – over 70 high-valued clients)

 Increased Speightstown loan growth from $50K monthly to $400K monthly with minimum risk

 Successfully recovered/reduced risk-prone accounts, with special audit commendation from Central Bank of Barbados for portfolio management, whilst at Trafalgar & Marhill Street and Broad Street branches.

 Compiled CIBC Commercial Banking Center’s budget for several years.

 Prepared all manner of presentations for various Units and oversaw operational changes including physical improvements and ATM installation at the Speightstown branch.

 Assisted in the restructuring and implementation of revised CSRB branch staffing strategy.”

 Chaired committee for rewriting Bank’s “bankplan” (consumer) loan manual

 Attended Leadership training in CIBC,Toronto

 Chosen over 500 other applicants for Cayman Islands Account Manager position

 Championed and facilitated Consumer Principles and Practices Lending course the entire region’s most senior lenders (70 in number) after training in the Bahamas.

 Received several quarterly award recognitions for commitment and quality of work.

 Recognized publicly by local media as Barbados’ youngest Bank & Branch Manager; affectionately dubbed “The Boy Banker”.

 Received Area Manager’s (position since known as Bank Managing Director) written commendation for delivery of exceptional service quality.

Keithroy Halliday - Newspaper article

Keithroy Halliday – Newspaper article

13. Roger Headley do not get into Peter Wickham’s bad book by being homophobic

14. Sorry but his body of experience does not suggest he is the best candidate for the job.

15. I had to chuckle when I saw Atlee Brathwaite on the news tonight talking about this was not any exercise to chop heads.

I just dont follow what these dems are doing but I thought he had been fired with the chaos that went on in St Joseph……….he was in the Nation saying that he was ready to go………low and below he is still there getting rid of people himself. The dems are seeing the writing on the wall and they have began to put their lackies in place with long contracts in hand to frustrate the new government.

May the good Lord help poor poor Barbados!

16. Roger must be one of the bandit from BWA who just would not go home. You know they say it is an ominous signed when gereatrics in a company refuse to go home when they pass retirement age. If the new boy is a tie he should fit right in with the scamps and bandits up there on the hill.

17. David
    Agreed.

18. Atlee Brathwaite is an octogenarian.Here is what the Nation had to say last March.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/79503/editorial-thanks-goodbye-dr-brathwaite

19. Gabriel,

Who paid for the editorial piece? You know there are few down there who like a ‘piece’ even if you gotta ‘tek it’

20. I am not homophobic – it is this government that said the next election would be run on moral grounds

21. We all wait to see if the shakeup will extend to the Board and even the Cabinet.

22. They seem to be implying that being gay is the only form of immorality. When you are elected to represent and a young lady down on her luck come asking for help and you tell her if I scratch your back you will have to scratch mine is apparently not immoral

23. Roger does not work at BWA but he understands what is happening re the Desal Plants – you better keep yuh ears to the ground

24. What is happening with the desals?

25. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

8 years a mule and 12 years a slave,

26. David

Excellent point,all shake ups start with the minister down to chairman and board.Then they do an analysis as to who was responsible and deal with it.

27. Roger………dem aint built them desel plants yet? I thought den did done built

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If this Halliday dude is the new GM for BWA….where is his experience in water management, I perused his resume and did not see where his experience matches the post he is taking up.., it has nothing to do with water management…banking, managing a cell company…..square peg in a round hole….

…..someone should tell him that restructuring/laying off people….is not a skill set and should not be highlighted on his resume….this dude is fly by night and has no experience in water management…a new set of problems for taxpayers.

29. It would be interesting to know the cost at which he came!

30. David January 6, 2017 at 12:42 PM #

You don’t know anything about anyone who post on BU.

Who told u that lie

Would be surprised of who i know and what i know

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…we know that Fruendel the Fiend is stupid beyond belief.

32. On another note on how this country is going to hell in a hand basket……………A nursery school was opened this morning in Christ Church.

What a waste of ministerial time for all those ministers to leave running their ministries to come to the opening………….was this necessary? I saw “Ba Idiot”, Kellman sitting upfront……what the hell this had to do with him? Did he not have to be on Facebook or listening to Brasstacks as this is his main job, it would seem.

The minister of education….quite rightly was there as well as the PS…..and the PM……does he not have better things to do?

Give me a break…………………..

33. From the time Dr Worrell was appointed to be governor, I said he was the wrong choice and I have been proven right.

The man is pass his sell by date and his view of economics is based on what he learnt 50 years ago!

We are doomed!

34. Harold do yuh homework

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/07/third-party-lineup/

Is this Peter Harris’ political party, dies he own this political party, Barbados sorely needs new, serious, honest leaders, but not if the whole party and members are funded and owned by destructive, greedy, unethical business people like Harris.

Harris has been manipulating and bribing everyone as a stepping stone to monopolizing the health care system and owning the transportation system in Barbados as well as controlling the judiciary thriugh destruction, politicians and government ministers,…Grenville is the perfect patsy for Harris to use, is Grenville still sitting on the board of directors st CGI Insurance.

These are questions that need to be asked and issues thoroughly investigated about this new political party.

It would be refreshingngetting rid of both nasty Fruendel Stuart and Mia Mottley and their gangs of retarded, blighted and intellectually challenged retards, but not to be replaced with a shady character like Harris in the background acting as the real prime minister pulling the strings of puppet politicians and government ministers…to the detriment of bajans.

36. “The gov said that there is a depletion of foreign exchange he gives a clue and comprehensive reason”

With the foreign reserves at an all time high when the DLP assumed office I have to ask the question first posed by former PM Erskine Sandiford – how did we get in this position?

By the way, my condolences to Mr Sandiford on the passing of his sister Zelda Gibson who worked at CBC from inception till retirement.

37. charles skeete January 7, 2017 at 7:23 AM #

With the foreign reserves at an all time high when the DLP assumed office I have to ask the question first posed by former PM Erskine Sandiford – how did we get in this position?

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Answer

Accumulation of the massive debt left behind by the Blp

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….do you understand what R E S E R V E S …mean….foreign reserves means there was at least a billion or 2 dollars in the treasury when the nuisances, incompetent asses, Fruendel the Fiend and his corrupt ministers along with deceased David Thompson found it….

Intelligent, competent leaders would have built on those reserves, not decimated it….it was there, yall idiots found it there, but never had the skills to quadruple those reserves…yall spent it….yall do not know how to create anything, but ya know how to demean, degrade and destroy ya own people and country.., oh, and bury pitchforks…ya dumbasses.

39. Well Well & Consequences

Never you mind ac and don’t worry trying to explain foreign reserves and economic matters to them, they are simply too stupid and dependent to understand. Look at the Ministers the late David Thompson brought to run this country……………..a pack of incompetent and inexperienced buffoons. It is only in Barbados and in government that idiots like Kellman, Boyce (both of them), M Lashley, Lowe, Ince and Sinckler could get a job. Freundel knows he is an incompetent idiot but sleeps well at night knowing that he is not the biggest or only idiot amongst them, after all the other idiots in the parliamentary group selected him to be PM upon Thompson’s death.

Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. Remember those words, how do they sound now? With beads, mirrors and trinkets idiots will always be able to trick fools.

40. “The party also promised to privatize the transportation system, although students in uniform and seniors will be allowed to travel free; institute a flat tax of ten per cent of gross income, with one deduction; pay full tuition at the University of the West Indies for those with seven CXC general passes grades I or II) and three CAPE passes for the normal duration of a marketable Bachelor’s degree; remove taxes on healthy foods and impose a health tax on all unhealthy foods.”

I keep saying Solutions is not ready!!! These policies are not progressive, in fact the UWI proposal is laughable.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Harold…they cannot deny any of it, damn idiots.

Enuff…this smacks of Peter Harris manipulation and corruption….his fingrrprints are all over that new political party….all of them must be owing him something, just like the corrupt ones in parliamemt….they would say any foolish thing to get into that parliamemt. …the health care and transportation systems are the prizes for that corrupt piece of crap at CGI Insurance….

What difference would it make if the electorate found out who the 30 candidates are now.

42. enuff

Solutions is a another racket financed, orchestrated and backed by private sector to gain control of public expenditure.

43. Somehow the word EARN is not in this govts lexicon……..

reserves were meant to clear debts very interesting…..

44. VOTE THEM ALL OUT

45. One thing that David Thompson will be remembered for was his request that the public coffers should fund political parties at election time and the suggestion that any donations taken would be a criminal matter……very strange that his party in power has never sought to act on this matter.

46. The balloning debt for which all ar accountable is the price which any self serving society would have to pay.
    The shouldering and accountability of barbados debt would remain an immovable mile stone placed around the necks of a populace who believed that having much in time of plenty meant never having to reserve for time of famine

47. If you do not have any idea what you are talking about why don’t you shut your trap and learn something. Which debt are you referring any way, domestic or foreign?

Data (2) traces the growth of the national debt over the entire period. Data (2) traces the growth of the national debt over the entire period.[/caption]

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….do yall know how to read a chart….well that one clearly states that GNP debt rose tremendously since 2008….since 2008….since 2008…..since 2008…….it ROSE…it was not found there it ROSE…..since 2008….look for 2008 and compare it to previous years of GNP.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92014/hoyos-file-ftc-bl-hedging-fixed-cost

In this article the same FTC is being accused of helping Emera monopolize the renewable energy sector….very interesting.

50. The DLP doubled the debt in less than 9 years.

Never knew what they would doing from the beginning.

Leave a Reply to SnusmasCancel reply