Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

“The best lack all conviction, while the worst

Are full of passionate intensity…” –The Second Coming –William Butler Yeats

Frequently, on the Facebook social medium, one will come across an invitation to title a random situation with the name of some film, song or other creative work. Were I invited to do the same with a book title for a global assessment of the year 2016, I would submit that of “Things Fall Apart” by Chinua Achebe. This work was part of my exposure to English Literature at secondary school, although I do not now recall the year. I choose this not because of the motif of the plot, although this itself (the conflict between tradition and a new culture) is not inapposite; but because of the seeming correlation and the direction in which the world seemed to be heading for the past twelve months.

More over, the title is likely, given its source, to find favour with those who believe that we are rapidly approaching the end time. The phrase comes from the poem by Yeats, “The Second Coming”, itself an event that has been prophesied to mark that occasion. According to Yeats,

“…Surely some revelation is at hand;

Surely the Second Coming is at hand.

The Second Coming!”

Mankind is, however, if nothing else, an animal of hope. And no matter how inauspicious things may seem, we have managed to transpose the hope wrought by the traditional story of Christmas into an integral aspect of the change of the Gregorian calendar from December 31 of one year into January 1 of the one following.

Hence, despite our apparently intractable adverse economic circumstances, the deplorable state of the roads; our significant loss of standing as state debtors; the damaging and unfortunate categorization of our nation as a tax haven; the uncertain outcomes of Brexit and the election of Donald Trump as President of the US and its implications for a settled world in future, we somehow expect, albeit illegitimately, since we have no reasonable basis for doing so, that 2017 will give rise to a brave new world of peace and prosperity.

…Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world

The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere

The ceremony of innocence is drowned…

Today, as we greet the first few hours of the week, month and year, it is worthwhile to contemplate what the months ahead portend for us personally, nationally and globally.

I had stated earlier that the human being is an animal of hope. He or she is, arguably no less, a political animal, and I use that epithet in its populist sense. For Barbadians, 2017 marks the final full year, constitutionally, of the current governing administration since next year, 2018, will be the fifth anniversary of the last general election in 2013.

And as is constitutionally provided by section 61(3) -“Parliament, unless sooner dissolved, shall continue for five years from the date of its first sitting after any dissolution and shall then stand dissolved”. Of course, under our system of governance, these considerations, as stated, do not preclude the Prime Minister from exercising his awesome power to advise the Governor General to dissolve Parliament at any time prior, thus clearing the way for a general election.

This colloquial “ringing of the bell”, whenever it occurs, is likely to result in a cavalcade of partisan campaigning inclusive of the usual promises and representations by all concerned to ensure electoral triumph. Much as it was in the US in the months leading up to October where, in spite of his alarming manifesto of xenophobia, intolerance and vain boasts of imprisoning his Democrat opponent that resonated with a plurality of states, Mr. Trump now finds it appropriate, thankfully, to recant from those very stances that served so significantly to ensure his success. We should hope for a more sincere electoral courtship in our circumstance whenever that fateful day arrives.

At the global level, we would wish too for a more equitable treatment of those nations with less geopolitical clout by those that are more substantially resourced in that area. The frequent changing of the goalposts as to the definition of a tax haven and a crude reluctance by some to recognize that one salient characteristic of these entities is their affinity for secrecy; a factor far more evident in and synonymous with well known larger jurisdictions- have led to an unwarranted labeling of Barbados as a tax haven with all of the disreputable connotations attached thereto. The struggle to correct this error that might only do further damage to our fragile economy should be national and not merely partisan.

The personal aspect should be particular to each of my readers and I should not be so presumptuous as to suggest how you should lead your lives during the coming year. Nevertheless, as we begin 2017, permit me to wish you good health , prosperity and freedom from distress during the months ahead. In any case or those of us of a certain age, the phenomenon of the apparent shortening of periods of time, whether owed to our slowing metabolisms, heartbeats and breathing rates or to the logarithmic scaling of time -that we perceive a period of time as the proportion of time we have already lived through, it should, hopefully, soon be time to wish you a blessed New Year again!

144 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Things Fall Apart…”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The name Jesse Lee Peterson says it all, a backwoods redneck trying to become relevant.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The worse traitors against their people are the black religious zealots who like to rape little boys and girls and have a church filled with concubines, because he is black, does not mean he is not a redneck and who should not be taken seriously, he is blowing with the wind.

3. Yup!
    House niggas were always the very worse kind of traitors…
    …the ones who want to grow up to be ‘just like massa’…

Point to note Chad99999….

4. Well Well,
    You are an ass!! Pure and simple (with the emphasis on simple);
    The information would obviously have been known to a few. The book haS ONLY RECENTLY BEEN WRITTEN, AND THE MOVIE HAS ONLY JUST BEEN RELEASED (LAST DECEMBER) and to be distributed world wide on Jan 6th. It (the story) has only just become available to everyone, so don’t come trying to get on like this has been known to everyone. Blacks, in general are calling for more and more information on the achievements of Blacks, in this modern era. We know of the achievements of blacks, but how much is disseminated all over?
    And then you write:”…yet when we on BU tell you and ya fellow yardfowls what black bajans are capable of creating and inventing, you try to fight us down to keep your people in the 1950s state of lack of knowledge and stagnant wills, led by a bunch of semiliterate, self-serving, useless politicians and government ministers…..”
    Who is this “we on BU” you talking about? Since over a year ago I spoke about our own Cardinal Warde, and drew attention to his numerous inventions and patents in the field of information Technology, and Liquid Crystal electronics. I spoke about our( Bajans) achievements in all fields, and defended us against your barbs so don’t come telling me no foolishness. I know exactly what I am talking about. But I don’t have to defend myself. You should encourage BU readers who are not as enlightened as you, to see the movie for themselves, and comment on it.
    You should know that, by now, I am not affected by your attempts at denigration; like referring to our leaders as “semiliterate,…”. For 2017, try to build up, not break down. But I guess you will never change unless something happens to you, for you to have an epiphany.

5. Zoe,
    Trump needs sabotaging, for he is going to wreck America.
    Racists like you need to crawl into holes, never to come back out, and wait for the “rapture”, leaving all of us in peace. Bet you support the Tea Party. Your rCISK SHOWS IN YOUR ANIMOSITY TO PRESIDENT OBAMA, a man who brought class and style to a House that housed everything crass and crude, and which will house a president more crass and crude, and ignorant to the world outside of his toilet, than any other president before him.
    But America deserves what it gets, for the first Black President has taught them that they are really ignorant. You fit in nicely.

6. Trump in his New Years message by Tweet to tge american people call those who did not support him enemies
    In the meanwhile Trump refers to Putin as a Friend a man who is a sworn enemy of american people and its democracy
    Obama tactics are absolutely correct against Trump grand illusions and selfserving desire of impracticable wishful propaganda and silly ideas which Trump harbours as a surgical cleansing to reset americas foreign policy in favour of one of americas enemies and friendship towards a known KGB chief Putin
    Trump by all means necessary should be trampled before setting foot in the White House
    Hooray for a President who can see the forest for the trees President Obama

7. Zoe:
    Slight correction: “Your rCISK SHOWS” should read; “Your racism shows…”

8. Zoe

Fret not as all your desires will soon come to pass and you will experience the long awaited rapture

World predicted to end in 2017 thanks to a total solar eclipse hitting …
    https://www.thesun.co.uk/…/world-predicted-to-end-in-2017-thanks-to-a-total-solar-ecli…
    Sep 5, 2016 – A GROUP of hardcore Christians has claimed a solar eclipse due to hit the UK and America next year, will bring about an apocalypse.

9. Note to the ac consortium. In 2017 you should consider the following:
    1) Dropping some of the team members
    2) Bringing on new players
    3) Change the batting to suit the bowlers.
    4) Rotate the bowlers. Artax need a faster bowler
    5) Assign bowlers to suit the wicket. The political spin bowler is on a pitch best suited to fast bowlers.

Think cricket…

Also, aiso your political leadership to stop doing comedy sketches: posting about potholes as a life saving measure, bathing to show water is not polluted, and posting video on facebook.

Hope you are able to use this advice.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Gazer
    Methinks the captaincy is the weakest link.

11. Many of the supporters of Trump falls into this category Racist ..homophobic. Or Xenophobic.
    You would find the red necks in the deep South to guilty of all three
    The religous right to be outwardly blantant with a repulsive angst against homosexuals
    Then there are a large percentage both black and white who are secretly xenophobic and expressed their loyalty to Trump on that basis.
    Meanwhile the country have to endure the toture and incessant tweets of an elected tweety bird as President

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Pachamama -“Is yours an attempt to give a rest bite to this regime?”

charles skeet -“Is yours an attempt to give a rest bite to this regime”

What on earth is a rest bite? Did you two mean “respite” or did Ms Malaprop advise these comments? And why should you bother if I did provide respite to this regime? Is there not freedom of expression?

Apologies to the blog for my absence yesterday!

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/02/outrage-over-kellmans-new-years-day-facebook-post/

Bajans need to make a npte to themselves…get rid of all these stupid, insensitve government ministers for 2018…it would be a gift to themselves.

Kellman would have to be one of the ACs.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….I will post it again to reinforce how semiliterate the current government ministers are….and you follow them so it says a lot about you…I did not make this up…lol

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/02/outrage-over-kellmans-new-years-day-facebook-post/

15. It is a new year……2017……. are you ever going to change, ac’s?

16. Gazer have you ever seen a match when the best batman are bowled out for zero and the last three who are the weakest in the batting line up top the score board and wins the game
    Gazer three elements were at play . Guts . determination and perseverance
    Ask me how i know been there and done that

17. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

You are such a colonial boy that even when the English themselves are prepared to evolve their own language, you are reticent.

Our mental intent was to compare the unending problems your DLP has wrought to a crucible where this government is being bitten by the people. In that vision a rest from a biting would then be a rest bit (bite) instead of the short period of rest you have read into our words.

PS rest bite (bit) means – the rest position of the mandible.

Unlike you, we never adhere to the general meanings of english so well ingrained in your brain.

The grand charge of Malapropism may therefore better pertain to yourself, Cumberbatch, than to us.

Freedom of speech shiite. Anybody who still believes that there is some freedom of speech must be out of his mind. Not when every key stroke is monitored. Every communication is recorded. These have been happening for up to 50 years.

That idea is however well located in the fantasy of laws presumed to still have some meaning.

That you will still be so trenchantly supportive of this wicked DLP government must cast a shadow over all your writings. There has never been any serious critique by you of this administration. Even for its worst failings.

This relegates you to the status of sophisticated political hack.

Lastly, we use your english language however we feel like. And we do not need any permission from you or your ilk. In fact, our intention is to break all your rules for the use of english.

And it was a real Cumberbatch who taught us that – The Great John Cumberbatch.

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Pachamama -humbler men might have attributed it to predictive text. But not you…you state thst you want to break the rules of English. I notice that there was nobreach in your last post!

19. Zoe January 2, 2017 at 8:12 AM #

PRESIDENT’S REVENGE
    OBAMA’S ANTI-TRUMP QUEST TO CRUSH AMERICA
    Exclusive: Jesse Lee Peterson warns of outgoing president ‘behaving like a maniac’
    Published: 15 hours ago

BTW, Rev. Jesse Lee Peterson is a Black American!

@ Zoe

What exactly is your point by posting that article?

Are you suggesting the article has merit because it was written by a “Black American” named Rev. Jesse Lee Peterson?

Did not “Black Americans” VOTE AGAINST Obama in 2008 and 2012?

Did you READ other ARTICLES written by “Black American Reverends” who gave a DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE on the issue and are in AGREEMENT with Obama’s actions?

Perhaps you and the reverend share similar views and you posted his article to BU in an attempt to prove you are justified in your thoughts on the basis that, because Peterson is “Reverend” and a “Black American,” he approached the issue with some measure of objectivity.

You should really stop this “copy and paste” nonsense and EXPRESS your PERSONAL VIEWS on issues.

You and Rev. Jesse Lee Peterson are stupid to believe that GOD had a hand in electing a crooked, unethical bigot like Donald Trump.

20. As a public service to any BU particpants and readers who might understandably be dealing with deep seated feelings of frustration and stress after documenting or reading on BU about the shortcomings of the current government and the apparent lack of will or ability of this administration to take appropriate corrective action, may I present the following:

Science Discovers A Song that Reduces Anxiety by 65 Percent – Listen

Music therapy is already an accepted alternative therapy for stress and pain management. It has also been shown to help improve immune support system function. Historically, indigenous cultures have used sound to enhance physical and mental well-being, as well as enrich spiritual experiences.

Now, neuroimaging has proven that playing music can substantially reduce anxiety. Scientists in the UK have identified what can be called the most relaxing song on earth song. By playing the song “Weightless” by Manchester trio Marconi Union, these researchers reduced anxiety by 65 percent in individuals who participated in their clinical study. Have a listen: (click link below to go to embedded Youtube audio of the song)

Researchers at Mindlab International, led by clinical psychologist Dr. David Lewis-Hodgson, were commissioned to find out which song is the most effective at helping someone to relax. They played songs by Enya, Mozart and Coldplay, among many others, to 40 participating women.

The researchers discovered that the song “Weightless” resulted in a striking 65 percent reduction in participants’ overall anxiety, and a 35 percent reduction in their usual physiological resting rates.

http://www.wakingtimes.com/2016/12/30/science-discovers-this-one-song-reduces-anxiety-by-65-percent-listen/

21. @ Greenie
    Shiite fella …. something must be wrong with Bushie yuh…. that sounds like bare …..
    First thing is that those 40 women must have been white….
    Second, they must have been women….

Flawed study.
    You have to bring something from Bob Marley …. or Iroy skipper…. to relax a bushman.

22. @BT

Well if the music doan’ work, you could always try yoga and meditation. 🙂

23. When people assail The Donald as a “bigot”, I cringe at their apparent stupidity.

There are plenty of research papers in social psychology, which taken together, strongly indicate that at least two-thirds of white Americans are deeply prejudiced in every bone of their bodies. At least two-thirds.

A reading of the biographies of prominent Americans, including Bill and Hillary Clinton, should make it clear to anyone who is reasonably smart and decently educated that they are all racists. Some nicer about it than others. But ALL are racists.

I currently work for a large (white) corporation. I honestly do not know a single white colleague who is not a racist. Ditto the Asians.

So to all who say The Donald is a bigot, I say, “What else is new? Would Hilary have been different? “

http://ow.ly/Dpun307Didr

This is the new reality for all racust bigots and their dimwitted followers.

Bigoted racists with deep hatred embedded into their very souls hardly ever change, an assassins bullet help George Wallace see the light, he was a hardcore bigot/racist from the 60s.

Intelligent people do not accept, tolerate, enable appease or condone bigots, you put them in their place and openly shame them….all the time.

Enabling bigots make the worse, some on here believe that the targets and victims of bigots are the ones need to change and that will somehow stop the bigotry, I have been telling Vincent on here it seems for years, that is crap.

We now have the technology to keep bigots and their nasty mentally diseased ideology in the spotlight indefinitely, from generation to generation.

http://ow.ly/tEYy307Ditg

Even tge Trump dummies are afraid of the pubkicity associated with racism and bigotry, now they can no longer use it as a weapon to stay relevant, since doors are slamming in their faces.

And Chadster..dont care how many racist bigots infest the “white” corporations in the US, there are resources available to deal with them inhouse, no one has to accept racism and bigotry of any kind practiced against them and their population unless they are too mentally weak to know any better as in the case with the weak leaders in Barbados. .

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Thanks to the bigot racist Trump, 2017 will the year all bigot racists and their dummy followers will be unmasked going forward.

http://ow.ly/7otB307DjoE

26. “There has never been any serious critique by you of this administration. Even for its worst failings”

I support this view Pacha and I am sure Ms Malaprop would have aswell because she comes across as a who expressed her mind freely person and not one to couch her language as if she was singing for her supper.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

NOT EVEN TRUMP’S TRANSITION TEAM WANTS TO DEAL WITH CARL PALADINO’S RACIST COMMENTS ABOUT THE OBAMAS
    The team called his remarks “absolutely reprehensible.”

By Drew Angerer/Getty Images

We’ve all got to draw the line somewhere. Donald Trump’s White House transition team has blasted former Trump co-chairman Carl Paladino’s disgusting comments about Barack and Michelle Obama after he said that his wish for them in 2017 was for the President to die and for the First Lady to go live with a gorilla. Paladino, currently a Buffalo, NY developer and member of the school board, previously worked for Trump during his New York State election campaign. He ran for governor of New York in 2010.

“Carl’s comments are absolutely reprehensible, and they serve no place in our public discourse,” the transition team said in a statement, per The Washington Post. The Buffalo-based alternative weekly newspaper Artvoice asked 42 locals, including Paladino, what their wishes were for next year. Paladino responded that he wanted Obama to die of mad cow disease and for Michelle to “return to being a male and let loose in the outback of Zimbabwe” to live “in a cave with Maxie, the gorilla.”

New York governor Andrew Cuomo released a statement on Friday calling Paladino’s remarks “racist, ugly, and reprehensible.”

28. @ Chad99999
    Boss…
    The difference between Trump-the-bigot and Clinton-the-bigot, is that Clinton is constrained to some extent by political correctness.

You must have a ‘Clinton-like’ supervisor…who hates your black ass, and really wish that you would “go back to the bush from whence you came” …. but who smiles sweetly whenever you are around – so that you can NEVER say that you were discriminated against….. even if you are the last to be promoted, first to be picked on and are always ‘dumped on’…

Perhaps you see no difference with the ‘Trump-like’ boss who openly expresses his disdain for people like you, and promises to ‘build a wall’ between you and success.

Skippa, you need to consider the likely influence of the latter type boss on the behaviours of the politically correct supervisors…. and understand that your ass is NOW in deep doo doo…

Sometimes you seem to miss the trees for the forest…..

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol, hahaha. ..Chadster is damaged goods, the racists would shit all over him because he is going along to get along, as vile as racists are, they respect black people who have backbone and balls.

Most of them are afraid of the Obamas cause they know when pushed too far both Michelle and hubby would black out on them.

30. Pache;
    You just love to be indisciplined. You advocate any action that goes against established, and, because it suits your psyche, just deliberately refuse to adhere to established rules, even in your use of language. What is wrong with staying on the correct side of the rules?

31. David,
    When Hilary referred to some Trump supporters as “deplorable” she was pilloried (rhymes nicely). Yet Trump can flippantly refer to those who are not supportive of him as “his enemies”, without a word of condemnation. Is this hypocritical or not?

32. @ Alvin Cummings

Disobedience to Shatan …………

Is obedience to ‘Pachamama’

33. Bajans are SO stupid; ethnically cleanse Barbados and then what? We pay it later in health bills…

https://schoolrenaissance.files.wordpress.com/2017/01/brettcallahan1.png
    https://schoolrenaissance.files.wordpress.com/2017/01/brettcallahan.png

I sent out an email recently:

It was brought to my attention that Windsor misunderstood our lineage and ancestry; claiming Barbados is African, mixed race and European, sorry, it’s Amerindian. To put it frankly, I did martial arts, and they are certain I am Amerindian, although I never mentioned it. I am Sogegih Ichiguanyan, from a meeting family…speaking Bajan as a first language…an Amerindian language, with several dialects. I am pure-blooded, and it’s obvious in my appearance. If we are un-welcomed in England or the United States, that should be made clear upon entry, as I mentioned in a petition. I shy away from vaunting, as I am a Pawmp.puhset.tuh by nature, you see our lineage when I walk.

Stand corrected; Freemason secrets are secret, everyone knows the Caribbean is the sea, Kick’em kicks, and is Caribbean not Catholic or some other Europeans bloodline:

England is dead: https://wordpress.com/post/schoolrenaissance.wordpress.com/1817

I have explained grammar and terms for clarification, presented a genealogy and explained the lineage in a way anyone could understand as Bajan Dance, Bajan Proverbs and Healings, Bajan medicine, Bajan Songbook (including Bajan version of the “Psalms”), Christian Bible (Proverbs), Scientology (Thetan, our flag), Sumer and Babylon (Gilgamesh/Marduk/Neburu), Shinto (Nibiru), Baghavad Gita, Eastern Zodiac (meeting family), Quranic verses etc.

Our Language (some grammar): https://schoolrenaissance.wordpress.com/2016/11/08/280/
    Our Numbers: http://schoolrenaissance.wordpress.com/evolutioncreation-courageous-curriculum
    Our Proverbs: https://schoolrenaissance.wordpress.com/2016/11/28/bayjan-sayings/

Everybody knows the Caribbean is cosmic; so excuse you, sorry, the Lesser Antilles still reflect the cosmos in every form. I am the full-form hourglass Sogegih Ichiguanyan…Africa can’t produce my hair, and you are aware of that, all the snuff and pehperz, each hair color and all hair strands separated and gathered in ranks (an army). I am from the West Indian Caribbean Lesser Antilles island of Barbados, where everybody is an Amerindian, either a noble Sogegih Ichiguangyan or an Arawak; no contention no dispute. Simply, the white Barbadians are mostly Amerindian, and each darker skinned Barbadian “gaw’in white” somewhere on both sides of their family, although we are descendants of Amerindians of every complexion.

Stupidity…stupidness…ridiculousness…

34. chad99999 January 2, 2017 at 11:58 PM #

When I read your contributions, I cringe at your apparent stupidity as well.

It harrows me with fear and wonder that a man, who professes to be intelligent, consistently writes shiite.

35. Well Well,
    Who chose Paladino?

36. Well Well & Consequences January 3, 2017 at 5:10 AM #

“Paladino responded that he wanted Obama to die of mad cow disease and for Michelle to “return to being a male and let loose in the outback of Zimbabwe” to live “in a cave with Maxie, the gorilla”…….”

@ WW&C

Paladino said he meant to send the comments to his friends, but inadvertently send them to a Buffalo weekly paper called the Artvoice, which published them.

Having said that, I guess he was not offering an apology for being a racist; perhaps he apologised for publicizing the fact he is a racist.

Paladino is known to post racists comments and videos showing bestiality.

37. The hignorance of some Barbadians knoweth no bounds.

The suggestions to be Governor General…

38. Bush Tea

is wrong as usual. The racist who is constrained by political correctness is no better for blacks, on average, than the one who is not.

Compare Canada and the United States. Most people who have lived and worked in both countries will tell you Canadians are much nicer, on average, than Americans. In large Canadian corporations, you may have more peace of mind. You see more smiles. People are more polite, etc.

However, Canadian racism is as exclusionary as American racism. In the cities of western Canada, you will typically see blacks with two and three master’s degrees reporting to white bosses who have one bachelor’s degree and no skills besides the ability to speak conversational English and make a PowerPoint presentation.

Even in Toronto, a visit to ten or twelve corporate headquarters will usually show a clear pattern of stratification by race. Level One: white men. Level Two: white women. Level Three: East Asians. Level Four: South Asians. Level Five: Blacks and Aboriginals. Sometimes, these layers correspond to real differences in abilities. Sometimes they do not: The bright black guy will usually find it impossible to be promoted, no matter how obvious his superiority as an individual.

Personally, I prefer to deal with racists who don’t bother to be relentlessly friendly and deceitful. However, the point of this post is to say we should all make fewer references to racism. It’s rather like saying “The sun came up today.” True, but so what.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Art, that’s why it ended up at a newspaper that published it, Paladino is a very hateful and unapologetic racist….they will fprce him off the school board upstate and he will become a pariah.

Chadster is being an idiot as usual, racism must be exposed and highlighted each time it rears it’s ugly head and practiced……silence is acceptance….

Why would anyone in their right minds suffer racism in silence, racists do not
    like being exposed. Sometimes I wonder about Chadster’s agenda on BU.

….. just look at the destruction of the society in Barbados where racism has been a staple for 50 years post slavery, until it has become accepted and institutionalized..

I loved when racists asked me to spell words they were incapable of spelling while in the corporate environment, I would get a loud speaker and let the whole floor know that the racists were semiliterate and could not spell to save their lives.

40. David,
    Plse remember the Governor General gets a 100 per cent pension and usually comes at the end of a successful career.
    The GG should not be a salaried position. In a small island economy we have to save as much ass possible,including parliamentary salaries and pensions.

41. The discussion about the replacement for the outgoing GG should be cloaked in the ‘should Barbados go Republic’. Can you imagine the caller recommended Mara Thompson for the job?

42. What? Was the caller sober? And, of course, her daughter will take over the seat.

43. What is wrong with David?

Mara has two university degrees (albeit in physical education) and was properly brought up. Comparable at least to Nita Barrow, who never even went to a university.

44. It is why it motivates some to question the type of democracy we practice.

45. Whenever Michael Lashley speaks to matters concerning TB, his comments often contain untruths.

Lashley and the Transport Board waited until 4 working days before the school term begins to think about repairing at least 25 buses in an attempt to increase the number of units available per day and provide an adequate complement of school buses for the next school term.

Politician never cease to amaze me; they would state a policy they want to implement, but not without making snide remarks about the past. In this case, Lashley referred to a bus, BM100, which he said was off the road since the 2000.

Lashley and Transport Board officials know that this is an UNTRUTH. BM100 is a 1990 Mercedes-Benz Caio Vitoria omnibus with manual transmission. it was REFURBISHED on TWO occasions, only to be parked in the yard of TB’s Weymouth Headquarters.

As recent as 2009, BM100 was used to service routes in the north. I was told the bus required a specific part for the gear-box because its reverse gear had malfunctioned. As a result, TB parked the bus in the yard before taking it to the “bus grave-yard” at Mangrove Depot.

Additionally, I would like to offer some advice to TB and Lashley, whenever government decides to purchase new buses. If, for example, TB purchases 30 units, do not license and insure all 30 at the same time. Because the next year all those units must be taken off the road at the same time to be repaired in preparation for inspection, before they could be licensed and insured.

46. The problem Chad99999 in case you were lodged under a rock since 2008, Mara still has some unexplained business given her role as Office Manager at Thompson & Thompson. Plus, her contribution to date as an MP has not been stellar.

47. I haven’t been under a rock. An office manager does not usually make the big decisions in a law firm. Even if she is married to the boss.

Collective guilt is not kosher.

48. Didn’t Lashley threaten to put a plan B in place a few weeks ago when the PSVS planned a work stop of sorts (partly successful) ? How did he plan to rollout a contingency?

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ chad99999,

“……..comparable to Nita Barrow, who never went to university.”

What institutions did she attend?

St Michael’s Girls School, Barbados

Barbados General Hospital
    – Basic nursing education

Port-of-Spain General Hospital, Trinidad
    – Midwifery preparation

School of Nursing, University of Toronto, Canada
    – Public Health Diploma & Nursing Education Diploma

Royal College of Nursing, University of Edinburgh, UK
    – Sister Tutor’s Diploma

Teacher’s College, Columbia University, USA
    – Bachelor of Nursing Science

50. “Mara Thompson for the job”. A furriner representin a furriner. Wuh wrong wid dat ?A perfectly colonialistic solution. lol

Leave a Reply to ExclaimerCancel reply