As a new year rapidly approaches the following Barbados Advocate editorial should force citizens to reflect. – Barbados Underground

trumpWhen, in November 1992, in a speech marking the fortieth anniversary of her accession to the throne, Her Majesty, Elizabeth II, the Queen of England (and Head of State of Barbados, though not in this capacity) described that year as an “annus horribilis” [horrible year], she was referring to a number of painful events that had taken place that year, especially among her immediate family. Inter alia, one of her sons, Andrew, had, in March, announced his imminent separation from his wife, the Duchess of York; her daughter had been divorced from her husband the following month; and, a mere four days prior, her official residence at Windsor Castle had been extensively damaged by fire. As if these incidents were not sufficiently depressing, Mauritius in East Africa had abolished the monarchy in March and assumed republican status.

The phrase has been frequently and variously used since. Kofi Annan, Secretary General of the United Nations (1987-2006), so described his final year in office and, for the following year, the Spanish newspapers saw cause to apply an identical description to the preceding twelvemonth for events besetting the Royal Family there.

Given the nature of many events that have taken place locally, regionally and further afield, readers should forgive us if we affix a similar epithet to this year as it subsists for its last forty-eight hours or so.

We have witnessed this year the deprivation of some citizens from the supply of an adequate supply of running water for substantial periods. Added to this scarcity, as the year neared its end, there was the alarming dysfunction off the South Coast sewerage system that caused significant dislocation to that area and, it has been alleged by some, fecal matter to be seen in the streets.

Throughout this year too, there has been the niggling issue of economic stringency that has engendered increased taxation with the concomitant rise in the cost of living; the abysmal deterioration of our roads; and the seemingly perpetual downgrading of the nation’s creditworthiness by the international rating agencies.

Regionally, we observed the popular resistance to embracing the establishment of the Caribbean Court of Justice as the repository of final appellate jurisdiction both in Grenada –that made this clear in a referendum and in Antigua & Barbuda –where a similar initiative has been officially stalled. In Trinidad & Tobago and Jamaica, the incidence of homicide has grown exponentially and their nature even more gruesome with each report. Locally, while our murder rate does not approach those of these two jurisdictions and, indeed, some others, the incidence of unlicensed firearms remains a concern.

In Britain, its citizens chose, in a June referendum, to delink from the EU; a result that was as surprising as it was of uncertain consequence for us in these parts. The shocker, however, came in early November in the US where, contrary to all predictions, Mr. Donald Trump won the favour of the Electoral College to become the President-elect of that federation.

That Trump came to office on a manifesto of division, affirmations of ungentlemanly conduct towards certain groups, especially women; the worrying character of some of his recent Cabinet choices, and in light of credible reports from the national intelligence bodies that there was Russian interference in the election, his election appears a global nightmare.

We should note, however, that the year has not been horrible only. Barbados celebrated 50 years of sovereign statehood with a yearlong observance that culminated on November 30 with much pomp and circumstance. Nonetheless, this fleeting moment was never going to suffice to remove the universal pain of 2016.

Have a blessed and healthy 2017, dear reader.

68 responses to “2016: Annus Horribilis?”

1. Breaking News
    The GOB satisfied with the success of its life saving strategy through the use of strategically placed potholes announced two new initiatives.

The Minister of Transportation and works announced the creation of several “No Go Zones” throughout the island. In a press release the Minister stated “The primary cause of vehicular accidents is the movement of vehicles. These No GO Zones will bring all vehicles to a complete standstill, hence a reduction in accidents. We are also investigating having a mandatory minimum parking time of 12 hours in some areas of Bridgetown”.

Not to be outdone, BW announced identifying several desert regions within Barbados and stated “We will focus maximum resources in serving the non-desert areas and strive to keep the desert areas at their current size”. When told that a desert is defined by the amount of rainfall and not lack of water in pipes, the spokesman was quick to state “You, go and live in one of those areas for 5 days and come back and tell me about how much water you drank”

I have not seen any recent mention of our water woes. Conclusion: the problem is solved or the duration of the issue is longer than our attention span.

Seriously, at times it looks as if GOB ministers have a comedy script and are following it. Or perhaps they think the two classes are the ‘political class’ and the stupids.

2. More breaking news
    A BU blogger ”Artax” dropped his pseudonym and was promptly arrested for his incessant pummeling of ‘ac’. The arresting officer stated that “Given ac’s known limitations, Artax actions can only be described as willful abuse’.

It’s a beautiful day. Enjoy yourselves.

3. “A major FAILING of government under the BLP over the past thirteen years has been its RELUCTANCE to take the PEOPLE of Barbados into its CONFIDENCE and EXPLAIN to them what it HAS BEEN DOING on THEIR BEHALF. There has been an ABSENCE of INFORMATIVE Press Conferences and RELEASES which INFORM Barbados about GOVERNMENT ACTIVITIES and its DEALING. Parliamentary questions raised by the people’s representatives are ignored. REPORTS from the Auditor General are DISREGARDED.” [Page 47, DLP’s 2008 manifesto]

The first sentence could be rewritten, (CETERIS PARIBUS), as: “A major FAILING of government under the DLP over the past nine years….”

This inept DLP administration’s 2008 election campaign was based on providing good governance, transparency and accountability. After making grandeur promises of GOOD GOVERNANCE, how does this inept DLP administration respond?

1) Repealed the Public Accounts Committee [PAC] Act.

2) Ministers of government showing contempt for the PAC by hiding behind DLP stooge Hal Gollop, when they were asked to attend a Committee meeting to explain the results of an Auditor General’s special audit.

These actions are consistent with the statement on page 47 of their 2008 manifesto re: “REPORTS from the Auditor General (CONTINUE to be) DISREGARDED.”

3) “There has been an ABSENCE of INFORMATIVE Press Conferences and RELEASES which INFORM Barbados about GOVERNMENT ACTIVITIES and its DEALING.” CAHILL, GROTTO, new BWA Headquarters, matters relating to managing the economy and HYATT immediately comes to mind.

4. Artax.
    Did the BlP fufilled all its promises to the people in their fouteen year reign
    Reply Artax. No
    ………………

AC. Reply …

I rest my case

5. @ ac

When you are dealing with issues such as the LIALPA post, you generally make some sensible comments. However, politics is not your forte, because you present some real shiite arguments.

How on one hand you could state that “What is a fact and not absent of logic drawn upon circumstances that affect economies is that not all promises made by govts are accomplished or materalise within a specific time frame.” “Within a specific time frame” is relative and, depending on the circumstances, could be interpreted as 14 years or 9 nine years.

Then, on the other hand, you wrote a “contradictory” statement re: “He should also be reminded of any past govt that has held reigns of office in Barbados where several promises were NOT fulfilled.”

AC, as Bushie correctly mentioned in one of his contributions, you and Denis Kellman are of the household. Reminds me of Kellman’s post which seemed to be suggesting low cost housing is defined by the financial status of the occupant.

The “fact and not absent of logic drawn upon circumstances that affect economies is that not all promises made by govts are accomplished or materalise within a specific time frame,” WOULD OBVIOUSLY BE THE REASONS WHY “any past govt that has held reigns of office in Barbados where several promises were not fulfilled.”

Remember……..“The game of gottcha can be very tricky especially when the side one represent slip is showing.” And those in the BU forum know your DLP slip is ALWAYS showing.

6. Chuckle…….are these people for real…..one wrong justifies another wrong…….Bim yuh in fuh a rough ride.

7. Speaking of Hyatt.I was so incensed to see an article in yesterday’s Sun on that man Maloney,I withdrew the offending page and threw it out.When are our newspaper editors going to realize the people to big up are your own.Let the likes of Maloney buy space for bigging up his albino self and let it be said….’paid advertisement’.Grotto,hard rock,Villages all contaminated.

8. @ ac

Don’t rest your case as yet.

I also stated “This fact in addition to their arrogance was the reasons for them being REJECTED by the electorate in 2008………. 8 years, 11 months ago.”

However, the DLP has been unable to fulfill their promises and have exhibited a high level of arrogance as well.

As a result, the DEMS will also SUFFER a SIMILAR FATE of being REJECTED by the electorate in 2018.

9. Maloney will always get support because he does what it takes to demand command support -he throws money around.

10. Who is the Bitch Bastard Son of a Gun marking down everyone -1

11. SOLAR….SOLAR….SOLAR

“Now, her monthly energy bill is about to drop by more than a quarter. She’s getting solar panels installed on her bungalow, for free, under a state-funded program paid for by California’s cap-and-trade revenues.”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/solar-panels-low-income-california-1.3917318

12. nuh lotta long talk.

Barbadians need to demand that government make all Solar equipment DUTY FREE.

13. @Hants

We have been discussing hedging on another blog, another way to hedge is to pursue a diversification strategy and this is what the government is trying to do with its alternative energy plan. Although commendable we have seen too many delays with such an important program.

14. Here is one island that has gone fully solar and which can teach us a thing or two.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/nov/28/south-pacific-island-ditches-fossil-fuels-to-run-entirely-on-solar-power

15. Artax

Oh well .we shall see what the electorate says

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

DenisKellman’s Brain ‏@kellmansbrain 54m54 minutes ago
    If the PM attempts to ban me from social media I will make sure my last post will be about his middle name.

DenisKellman’s Brain ‏@kellmansbrain 1h1 hour ago
    Richard Sealy only went in that shite water to get votes. I’m proud of him. Because it is we the politicians that go through shite for u

17. A BARRIER across the road at Heron Bay in Porters, St James, has evoked the ire of some visitors who claim it is denying them access to the beach.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92078/roadblock-heron-bay#sthash.EohT1EZj.dpuf