Donald Trump declared the winner of the US presidential election by the Electoral College

We will contend that what is generally referred to as a progressive socio-economic-political flank, located primarily on the ‘left’ or the ‘left of centre’, but less so on the ‘right’ or ‘right of centre’, has been dead for 50 years. The media fiction, on the left, has been keeping a dead political current alive as master narrative to mek money and mislead publics.

This subject is important because if progressives in North America and Europe are as useless as the evidence demonstrates, there can be no global convergence to protect small island states, like Barbados, from the most rabid Alt-Right forces which are preparing to descend on us all.

The Alt-Rightists will soon be controlling the IMF, the World Bank, the machinery for war, among other power levers. A country like Barbados could expect to surrender any perceived advantage (soft power) accumulated over time. Begging these criminals will not help. It would be encouragement to the enemy.

We will indict these so-called progressives for the emergence of a Donald Trump. The re-emergence of far-right parties in Europe. And the hollowing-out of any gains ordinary people have made in the past. Surely, Trump must signal a new era.

We will cast these ‘progressives’ as a bunch of spineless sycophants who allowed, in the case of the USA, a succession of ignorant, backward, Republican minded idiots, to take power. And do so from minority positions.

Our point of departure could be 1968, you choose. Since then we’ve had Nixon, Carter, Ford, Reagan, Bush 1, Clinton, Bush 2, Obama and now Trump. So from the height to the nadir of ‘progressivism’, in this recent incarnation, we’ve had less real progressives elected to the highest office than during the period of the first half of the 20th century – FDR, Teddy Roosevelt, for example.

The American ‘progressive’ has acquiesced so much that it is no wonder the best policy to be contrived, recently, had to do with the institutionalization of an agenda against mother nature herself.

The mainly White, highly ‘educated’, progressives are all about form not function. They are cowards, lacking a scintilla of courage. All about an empty rhetoric, as a means to blur the lines between themselves and the Republicans. The progressive agenda has always been a White man’s trick.

The republicans or conservatives play no such games. They see politics as war by other means and are prepared to move heaven and earth to their will.

In the Obama presidency alone, the Republicans have given us government shutdowns; illegal wars; mass defunding of social programs, developed to help the poor; filibustered an Obama Supreme Court nominee for over 300 days; gerrymandered the country to make certain of perennial control of the House of Representatives and the Senate; consistently stole elections by the disenfranchisement of primarily Black and Latino voters.

Not even when confronted with irrefutable evidence progressives have no meaning responses. They possess the worst kind of cowardice.

In North Carolina, a Republican Pat McCrory, the incumbent, was ‘defeated’ by a Democrat, Roy Cooper, in the Governor’s race, 2016. But since November 8th and several recounts, McCrory has failed to concede despite a nearly unassailable 10,000 vote lead by Cooper.

What is more, the Republican State Legislature in NC, in anticipation of the defeat of the Republican Incumbent Governor, has acted to severely cut the constitutional powers of the incoming Governor. Powers the current Governor enjoyed.

In the UK. We are not convinced that the Labour Party of Jeremy Corbyn has laid out anything new. He too seems wedded to traditional progressive agendas. But the political environment has markedly changed and requires different responses from hollowed-out labour parties. Maybe the alt-Right of Farage and company will repeat, in the UK, the Trumpism progressives in the US have made flesh.

In Barbados, it may take a decade or more for us to see some official recognition of the death of progressive ‘ideals’ as historically constructed.

All this is happening and there is hardly a whimper from the supine progressives in the Democratic Party, in the USA, or even Barbados. Maybe they are used to being in a submissive position with the ruthless Republicans driving home an advantage no minority should have.

Moreover, the case of the defeat of Clinton is indeed emblematic of the perennial weakness of progressives. With over a billion dollars and an ability to raise much more; possessing a far superior case than Trump; currently having control of the Obama presidency; and with all of these advantages, the pooch-pickers called progressives could not defeat a demagogue, a narcissist, an apolitical madman like Donald Trump.

Progressives, in an age of Trump, cannot be expected to offer any determined, courageous, resistance to the Hitler of our times. Already, we are seeing that they intend to be as supportive of Trump as they were of Bush#2. Even if they had majorities on Capitol Hill, which they do not, they will be just as compliant.

Progressives will be more interested in notions of working with the devil, Trump, than defending their constituencies which are largely anti-Trump. They are sell-outs. It is the progressives who have people of colour voting for agendas for which there is no benefit to the voter. And Black people make no demands of the system. Not even on matters of life and death, like police shootings.

Presently, progressives on popular media are still licking their wounds from the Clinton defeat. When all the sobbing and gnashing of teeth is over, aided by their media bosses, people like Rachel Maddow, Lawrence O’Donnell, Chris Matthews, Joy Reid, Anderson Cooper and others on MSNBC, as well as those on CNN, will be brought to heel. It will be unsurprising when the Trump administration demands more favourable coverage, like any dictator has, in return for access, pretenses will have to come to an end. Without access these media houses might as well play dead.

This is how the game is played by ‘progressive’ media bosses, on the left, who are only committed to money, in the final analysis. The same media bosses who gave Trump, in kind, the equivalent of 2.5 billion dollars in free advertising/coverage because ratings were high and the spectacle of the pre-election season meant more to their top and bottom lines, a measure of success! In sum Trump has been, and is more so now, a creature of mainstream media. And the progressives will never apologize for imposing him on us. Their attitude was that Clinton would win, regardless. Now, let them consign themselves to being the anachronistic dead-beats they have long been.

The peoples of the world were, long time ago, sold out by the progressive agenda. It was, of late, essentially a response to Communism and gave yeoman service to right-wing forces thus creating the illusion of political pluralism, mass mobilization around social needs. Now that the Right has discovered that they can create populism, of the Right as well as the left, those alt-Right forces will soon deem left-wing populism and progressives themselves totally unnecessary.

269 responses to “Mainstream Media and the End of ‘Progressives’”

1. @David yours@9.36am
    The reason that commentators don’t dwell on it exclusively is because it cannot be proven, while the negative stories from the Russians through Wikileaks (BTW yuh think the Repubs will drop any charges against Assange?) harmed Hillary whether they were the coup de grace will forever be in doubt.

Historians will surely have their take as time goes on but Hillary didn’t help herself as a candidate she lost States that Obama won and even now Obama still has a high popularity rating. Donald was able to exploit some of the negative stories to his benefit e.g. he is a creature of Wall Street and Big Banks but he was able to rail against Hillary and Goldman Sachs but as Pres Elect he named a Goldman Sachs Exec as Treasury Sec. and another as Chair of National Economic Council.

The bottom line is his core constituents believed in him and were more enthusiastic while hers were lukewarm at best and downright indifferent at worse so many didn’t even turn out to vote.

2. Trump is either a “loose cannon” or an “evil genius”.

America will be great again led by the most tremendous best ever most militaristic greatest president ever who will make the rest of the world leaders do his bidding.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump is taking the whole swamp into the whitehouse with him and therein lies the dangers to the people, each one of those swamp dwellers have personal agendas, but none of them are a quarter as intelligent as the leaders of the countries Trump now owes.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/KLwT307zmaS

Repercussions. .

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David December 30, 2016 at 9:36 AM …you are like the lawyer who asks questions and already know much of what will be said. LOLL

Can’t add much to Sargeant’s accurate assessment other then to add that Russians did not elect Trump. Americans listened to the threat analysis of the Russian involvement. They accepted Trump’s dismissals and elected him still.

Trump’s America like the Russian leaders dislike gays, free speech and freedom of association. His America embraces the white ethnocentric views of the Russians people.

So Putin is one of them….as far as Trump and surely his followers is concerned.

What more can the pundits do.

The best messed analysis on this came from Bolton today.

In one breath he said that Obama had “politicized” the intelligence data by making public statements during the presidential campaign and now after it.

YET…he amazingly also said: “We really need to get past the politics of this, because if even a piece of what is alleged about this Russian activity is true, it is utterly unacceptable. It is an attack on our constitutional system. It is not enough to say, and people should be very careful about this, to say, well, it didn’t actually have an impact on the election. You know, the fact that Russian efforts were incompetent or insufficient shouldn’t make us feel better”

I believe that explains the difficulty facing pundits. Absolutely serious do-do and countries have gone to war over less interference.

This man is a war hawk so he equated it to Pearl Harbor. He said that even if ‘bombs and torpedoes had missed” that Japan would still be liable because it’s the ” the effort that they made”.

So he would smack Russia hard. Yet the man says Obama played politics for what he considers an act of war!

The nice word is ‘conundrum’. In simple speak this is ‘effed up’.

6. Theresa May criticized Kerry for his speech condemning Israel. I can see why Ms. May is viewed as a “lightweight” by the cognoscenti in British politics, she should have a large ‘L’ in front of her whenever she speaks on any topic.

Did she know that Britain voted for the Resolution while the US abstained? Did she know that Kerry has an obligation to explain to the US public why the US abstained? Her view is that the USA shouldn’t speak so harshly to Israel, if she feels that way why didn’t she order her delegate to veto against the Resolution?

When she phoned to congratulate Trump on winning the Election, Trump said if you come to the US give me a call. Even Trump extended an invitation to Farage instead of “if you are in the neighbourhood give me a call”

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/dec/29/theresa-may-john-kerry-comments-israel-palestine-un-resolution

7. “when Bush and Cheney were playing hopscotch with Bin Laden, because they knew why, he was surgically removed by Obama”

Yes for once he stood up like a man and made the call but the operation was on going long before Mr Obama became President. Do your research.

8. “Well Well & Consequences December 30, 2016 at 9:36 AM #

Charles…the game is now far different to any cold war, Trump needs to be handcuffed or if you and your family live in the US, you will no longer enjoy anymore freedom with Trump owing Putin, the middle east, and several other nations..,”

Absolute nonsense

“Be glad Obama handcuffed Trump, in the coming year, you will be grateful”

Tell that to the Syrian refugees against whom Mr Obama claimed the Syrian president was using chemical weapons and whose days were numbered if he broached the ‘red line’

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So says you Charles, but Russia has moved on and unlike you, is not living in the 60s anymore, their motives are quite different now, unfortunately it looks like it will take you a couple more years to recognize it and catch up.

Have you npticed that Putin is not doing a tit for tat, which would be SOP under the cold war, because he cannot afford to, Trump is his bitch and since Obama handcuffed him it threw their plans out the window so Putin now has to tread lightly and tip toe carefully around FBI and CIA…those agencies are not toothless tigers and Putin is well aware that Trump is the idiot now cussing those 2 deadly security agencies and not believing anything they say…lol….the motives here are much more complex than you think, this is no cold war.

Obama is no slouch, he is no bajan government minister, he knew he was being set up by the repugnant republicans re the Syrian chemical attacks, they wanted him to invade, he kicked the decision back to them and they refused to approve it, he made the right call, maybe you want to do some research into who is selling the chemical weapons to Syria…ya will not be shocked.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Yes for once he stood up like a man and made the call but the operation was on going long before Mr Obama became President.”

No, you do your research…Bin Laden had to be surgically removed because he was being used from Day 1, but the republicans did not want him dead, he was much more useful alive where they could blame him for everything they did and kept hunting him for years….and would have also been used against Obama by all his haters, remove the red herring and there was very little else to use and they had to move on.,, that was the only use for Bin Laden…, Charles ya really too gullible.

“Her view is that the USA shouldn’t speak so harshly to Israel, if she feels that way why didn’t she order her delegate to veto against the Resolution?”

They dont want the jews back in the UK for anything, May is just massaging the jews so they dont get any ideas to return, UK would sell or give Israel any amount of weapons to stay in the middle east.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/editorials/putin-trump-obama-russia-us-new-cold-war-two-diplomacy-editorial-a7502631.html

It’s very important you know how to read between the lines.

I posted before seeing this article.

12. “Charles ya really too gullible”

You sure me or you.

13. Well Well refresh my memory since you are up to date on your research. Who is the American President who told the Russian Prime Minister while clutching his hand that this is my last election and after this election I will have more flexibility to which the Russian Prime Minister replied ” I will transmit that information to Vladimir”

14. Well well who was the first president of the USA that spoke of weapons of mass destruction.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Charles…are you still buying into what US presidents say, they been lying to the people since George Washington..lol, that is being gullible, I judge them by what they do, all talk about WMD were outright lies to achieve a completely different agenda, as ya can see, it fell apart and the whole shit blew back in their faces, now there is a completely new agenda…blink and ya will miss it…lol.

Yall need to get out of the 50s and 60s…it’s the 21st century, there is a new game in town with newer and more deceitful players, ya cant keep up unless ya get updated.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://madamenoire.com/745029/obamas-monkeys-racism/?ref=yfp

A wonderful article, well worth the read.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol, lol hahaha, lol

TIMOTHY A. CLARY/GETTY
    NOT NORMAL
    A-List’s Trump Snub Hits Him Where It Hurts
    JOY-ANN REID
    01.01.17 1:01 AM ET

Trump, who has spent a lifetime cultivating celebrity status — and not cultivating traditionalists; far from it, in fact — owes his election in large part to the sense of familiarity that being a reality TV star afforded him. That status allowed many of his voters to put aside his misogyny and vulgarity, and to ignore information about his business failings, chicanery and Putinism, because they think that having watched him on “The Apprentice” and at his rallies, they know who he really is.
    Now, a man who clearly craves the adulation of the famous; the Queens rich kid who desperately desired the respect of the Manhattan and Palm Beach elite, is being denied it, publicly and in humiliating fashion. The mad scramble by his team to secure famous players for his inaugural festivities coupled with his ad-hoc photo ops with a fading Jim Brown, a bizarre, unmedicated Kanye West and huckster-cum-murderer Don King makes Trump’s existential yearning clear. He can try to deflect with pathetic tweets about really wanting to be surrounded by “the people” on his big day, but the truth is transparent: the germaphobic pouter who lives in an all-gold penthouse built from cheap materials by undocumented Polish migrants wouldn’t wipe his nose on his core supporters. Just look at his billionaire cabinet for a clue.

And yet his vicious campaign, which opened with racism and closed with a bizarre anti-Semitic screed, and which dined out on vows to discriminate against Mexicans and Muslims while unleashing a resurgence of racist hate groups and just plain haters is reaping the cultural opprobrium it sowed. And it’s making The Donald miserable.

Even the proto-Nazis unleashed by Trump’s campaign, some of whom are organizing an inaugural event pitifully dubbed the “Deploraball,” seem to crave pop culture normalization, based on their apparent desire to have Kanye as a special guest performer. One wonders how awkward it would be for the rapper to be on stage when the “Sieg Heiling” begins.

So far, the reaction of the creative community, from Broadway to Los Angeles and from hip-hop to Radio City Music Hall, has been to say a resounding “no” to Trump. It’s not a dismissal born purely of partisanship, but rather a rejection of the entire underlying ethos of his divisive, revanchist campaign. Maintaining a unified front against authoritarianism, xenophobia, Islamophobia and misogyny is no laughing matter, no matter how much Trump’s apologists try to snide it off on cable TV.

Ultimately, denying Trump and Trumpism the cultural cosign they crave is an important statement. It does what so far, the collective media have been unable or unwilling to do: rejecting the normalization of the utterly abnormal. It tells not just the country, but the world, that Trumpism may have a hold on our politics, but it doesn’t have a hold on us. America’s ascendant majority will not so easily slink off into that good night, and will not quietly ingest what Trump has foisted on the electorate.

He and his bilious, Russophile Twitter and comment-section trolls, his apologist surrogates and his zombified, partisan enablers on Capitol Hill will have to do their dirty work — including the horrors of disappointment and lost healthcare and social safety net programs soon to be visited on Trump’s own working class supporters — without the shield of popular cultural will.”

18. Pat Condell, and you. Interesting. You both must view American Progressives like you do your conservative party. When those from the United Kingdom talk about Progressives over here, they keep missing the mark and speaking as if they are right-wing or something thereof. Progressives here, thus far, do not do most of what was written; if any of it at all. Watch The Young Turks, Secular Talk, Tom Hartmann, and even me on YouTube. We won’t agree on everything another Progressive has to say, however, we all are for, forward thinking. Progressives didn’t help Trump, or anything. A few at best, voted for him and yet, it was because they had little known choice. Stick with the U.K. for now. Watch Progressive channels in the USA for a few months and THEN construct a post so you don’t unwittingly lie so much. That, is constructive criticism. I hope you take it.