Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

In 2006 the then Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Mottley made the following statement while addressing the opening of a week long conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association’s Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic Region at Hilton Barbados.

POPULAR ELECTRONIC OUTLETS for citizens to air their views like call-in programmes and Internet blogs ought to have a “framework of accountability”…. “[Blogs] will marginalise our existence as parliaments and will cause disrespect, not just for the rule of law, but for the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe– Regulate call-in shows, says Mottley

At the time her comments were targeted (we suspect) mainly at the inactive Barbados Free Press blog. We admit the Barbados blogosphere has become more virulent(?) since Mottley’s remarks if we include all social media platforms. It is true many abuse social media, however -it has served to throw rocks at the establishment as a means to mobilize change by giving a voice to ordinary citizens.

It is important Mia Mottley -the prime minister in waiting- updates the nation on this matter. The rise of social media has served to empower ordinary people everywhere and we expect that Mia Mottley operating under her own steam has accepted social media for the value it adds to our democracy. Update us please.

See what just occurred in Tanzania!

tanzania-whistleblower-arrested

71 responses to “Does Mia Still Regard Call-in Programs and Blogs a Threat to Democracy?”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Well Well

Girl you hitting hard like a bat. I am glad to see that you recognise the fraud that is Mia Mottley. She is trying her utmost to come over as playing a moral and upfront role, but the reality is, she is a nasty piece of work. Notice that in all of her promises, all of her exposing, all her revelations, she has not once indicated in all of this that Barbados must address the issue of government accountability, transparency and anticorruption legislation with a purpose and a practical need to protect the public purse. She is exposing possible corruptions, but not speaking on the things that would prevent politicians from freely awarding contracts to friends for that all important few thousands draw back. That is why I have reconsidered casting my vote for the pretender. Now I do not know who the heck I will vote for when on one side there is that arrogant pompous prick and his bunch of renegade dufuses; and on the other, Mottley and her thirsty power hungry want money group, can’t wait to restore years of losts.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 19, 2016 at 1:49 PM
    “Artax how would you explain or defend such actions faced with the evidence presented”

Ac, “how would you explain or defend” the actions of your boss man to defend Greenverbs (faced with the forensic evidence) and to have the insulting temerity to call him an astute businessman and estimable gentleman worthy of being called his bosom pal, leper or no leper?

How do you explain the seeming lack of morality displayed by the inheritor of those stolen millions of CLICO dollars from policyholders who are suffering daily in penury even though forensic evidence confirms the stealing of their hard-earned savings and which were laundered via the D T law machine?

Death is not always the final solution to a national and shameful crime, you know!
    Now leave Mia and Maria alone and look into the mirror to remove your own party’s moral mote.

“Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye..”

3. Both parties have attacked call in programs. Politicians on both sides dislike blogs. As for good journalists -not possible when the papers only employ Bees and Dees- no room for independent thinkers.

4. In reference to Sealy ac answered the question on another blog
    Miller u are slowly becoming a composite of an ole political antagonist miserable as sh.it
    Why are u babbling and trying to shit the article composition to person times and events not mentioned
    You seem to be in hot pursuit to discredit the truthfulness of the article by use of a poisonous injector

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…there is not a whole lot left for Mia and her gang to steal, they would have to rely on those contracts-for-bribes that Fruendel and his Liars are trying really hard not to let go of, the electorate will have to rip their grip off the taxpayer’s contracts….by kicking their asses out of parliament.

Mia should realize that her relationship with Peter Harris will make her a never ending daily target of bloggers, for starters….so if she thinks it wiĺl be easy to mamaguy bajans in this decade..oh well….she sees how well that is working out for Fruendel & Co.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SS…whether Sealy’s father engineering firm was part of a scam to rob the taxpayers or not…, there was 2 million dollars available every year for the last 8 years and not one of the corrupt scumbags for ministers used the money to fix or replace the diffusers that would have prevented that shitty mess in Worthing…..

….. they found millions for Bizzy’s Ionics scam, millions for Maloney’s building scams, millions fir 4 season’s scam and whatever else they wasted taxpayer’s money on including a shitty celebration, but not a dime for sewage leakage. ..8 years, those animals neglected what is important, water and sewage and transportation….and.., and…everything.

7. Speaking of journalists,what is the opinion of BU on the counter by Albert Brandford on the advice proffered by Hal Gollop and his associates to the three blind mice,sorry the three ministers in defence of their refusal to attend the PAC pow wow.Thus far there have been 2 published opinions that disagree with the lawyers’ advice.

8. I asked the ACs to answer a simple question first posed by David BU, and the yard-fowls described it as a “mischievous political loaded question” and “one of deception and political ploy.”

As usual, your response is demonstrative of your ignorance. How could a question be deemed as “having no facts or evidence,” when by ASKING a question one is SEEKING “facts and evidence?”

However, it seems as though you are trying to convince BU that your attacks on Mottley are not “of deception and political ploy,” but you are being patriotic.

“How would you explain or defend such actions faced with the evidence presented” in a court of law that Michael Carrington willfully with-held his former client John Griffiths funds for two years, before being ordered by the court to reimburse the elderly man?

You are so predictable and hypocritical.

9. William Skinner
    I have expressed the opinion that this country small population size makes the fourth estate into a toothless tiger.One the one hand you have the politicians who like Barney Lynch get so swell headed that they think they can sue the media for a pound and a crown,only to be dispatched at the box.Then they are the farmundanis who threaten to withdraw advertising and sued a medium all the way to the CCJ for a classic song.Ronald Batchelor was kicked out of Barbados by EWB,the brilliant academic Ralphie was kicked out by JMGM as was the Guyanese Indian sycophant.Since those halcyon days we have not had removals from Bdos.Of the current crop I have no idea who is B and who is D but the Advocate seem to have a special admiration for the present party.I see a cross section of commentary in the online version of the Nation.The ease with which the internet has changed news gathering and dissemination should lessen the effect of the B and D syndrome.

10. @Gabriel

If the three ministers have nothing to hide there is no reason to dodge the PAC even if process supports that the Accounting Officer is to be called.

11. David
    I am reliably informed that the accounting officer, now retired,was called and gave evidence.If that is the case then I deduce that that officer’s submission necessitated some clarification at ministerial level.That makes sense to me,in which case the failure to appear tells me that these blowhards have taken fright because MAM is no rabbit in matters legal.The empty threats of Adriel and Lowe seem to be nothing but parliamentary hogwash by boys doing men’s work.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The futility of trying to shut down the Internet, as Trump was tryingnto do to his version of terrorist groups, but tgphen he wont be able to tweet crap…lol what he does not know and I am sure no one would waste their energy explaining to him, there are areas of the net that are literally untouchable, so those fly by night jackoffs in Barbados, in government and the private sector who think they stand a chance to keep information from the people to enrich themselves for another 50 years, can go scratch.

“Most Western countries, including the United States, regulate the Internet very loosely. There are few restrictions about what American citizens can do and say on the Internet. Child pornography is one example of forbidden Internet activity in the United States — Google is barred from linking to it, and websites cannot display images of it.

Why the United States can’t do it
    But a full-on “closing up” of the Internet “in certain areas” would be an impossible task. There are so many players with so much redundancy built into the system, that the Internet is not just something that can be turned off with a wave of a magic wand.

Virtually every part in the United States has multiple Internet service provider options.
    Comcast, (CMCSA) Time Warner Cable (TWC) and the other major broadband companies don’t overlap much. But Verizon (VZ, Tech30), AT&T (T, Tech30), Sprint (S) and T-Mobile (TMUS) all provide the same service to roughly the same areas. Satellite companies also provide Internet to most parts of the country.

Removing Internet service in certain areas of the U.S. would require those companies to turn off their cell towers and fiber networks, and to restrict satellite access to people living in those regions.

America can’t shut off the Internet overseas either
    Shutting down Internet service in foreign countries could be even more difficult.
    Despite a common belief to the contrary, the United States does not control the global Internet. Servers on foreign soil serve up the Web and other Internet services to people living abroad.
    So foreign Internet infrastructure would need to be disrupted or shut down to turn off service in certain areas — already a tricky task made even harder if the countries and companies controlling those servers and cell towers abroad don’t cooperate.

Whatever, Donald Trump wouldn’t want the Internet shut off anyway. Then he couldn’t tweet”

13. Propagandist - The Gazer Avatar
    Propagandist – The Gazer

@WW&C
    This is not my forte, but I think governments tampering with internet access has to be taken seriously in some places. Barbados may be one of those places.

With the few telephone companies and internet service providers (ISP) available in Barbados, the GOB is in a strong position to impose limitations on access to the internet,

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

We shall see…Propagandist.

“But a full-on “closing up” of the Internet “in certain areas” would be an impossible task. There are so many players with so much redundancy built into the system, that the Internet is not just something that can be turned off with a wave of a magic wand.”

From experience, there are areas in the internet where information is dissiminated that people do not know exists, ya can’t stop what you do not know exists.

I will certainly not be the one to share that info with any of the jackasses in parliament, because they are trying to kerp bajans backward and ignorant to continue selling them to a minority population….they deserve what they are getting, they deserve to not know.., same thing they practice kn their own people.

15. Does Mia still regard call-in programs and blogs a threat to democracy?

Yuh would thing that one of our shiite journalists would ask her directly if this is the case, …and if so, (or if not) why….

Even for a brass bowl bajan reporter this must be a no-brainer….
    Surely they watch ‘Hard Talk’…..

16. Which journalist on the local circuit has the balls to operate in Hard Talk mode? Will their media house give them the support? For example, can Stetson Babb ask FLOW/C&W hard questions?

17. @ David
    How hard can it be….? One does not have to be rude….
    We all know that Mia reads BU….. so here goes… perhaps she will even respond
    (knowing Mia 🙂 )

Hi Mia,
    Some time ago you expressed strong reservations about the role of social media, and in particular, its potential to be disruptive of national development. Of course you were looking then from the perspective of government and specifically as Deputy PM.

1 – After some years now of seeing the matter from the opposite perspective, do you still consider social media to be a ‘dangerous threat’ to society?

2 – Why?

3 – Would you agree with the growing thinking that in fact, social media provides a level of transparency that far exceeds anything that can be legislated …and should therefore be protected and encouraged by a ‘progressive’ government?

4 – What actions could then Bajans expect from a government under your leadership in respect of the protection of the rights of citizens who wish to exercise their rights to free speech using social media?

5 – Finally, is there any truth to the rumour that Carl Moore is slated to be your Minister with responsibility for social media and anti-pseudonym operations?

18. @Bushie
    I was nodding and approving until number 5.
    We Bajans have a way of making a very strong and persuasive argument, but a sweet punchline will seduce us and throw us off course.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman does not expect to be answered..lol

There is too much going on behind the scenes, they all gotta keep quiet for now.

20. LOL @ Gazer & WW
    Actually folks, it does not matter if Mia answers or not… or if we are ‘thrown off course by the punchline’. The sad REALITY is that the current situation in now well outside of the control of us human beings, and people like Froon, Mia, Trump and Putin are mere pawns in the big end-game.

Life on Earth always used to be an ongoing battle between two opposing, superhuman, spiritual forces, with man being the focus of battle operations. What has changed in very recent times is the unilateral withdrawal of one of the balancing sides of the warring forces.

BBE withdrew …out of respect for mankind’s almost unanimous choice of the albino-centric ways of the ‘other side’. In short, we have chosen sides, and BBE has decided to respect our choice.

Satan will now be free to do dixie…… the counter-balancing force having been withdrawn…
    ..starting with the big ugly monument on the Garrison…

The mind boggles at the prospects…. of the opening of the very gates of Hell.

21. @Bushie

Is there a right to free speech?

Even if there is, would not the libel/slander laws impose limits to protect MAM and co?

These laws only give two defenses. (1) the truthfulness of claims (2) reasonableness or fair comment.

We have no particular interests in coming into compliance. Thereby conceding strategic weapons to criminals, who deny the people other rights to recall etc.

And the Public Order Act is another which limits free speech!

Two examples.

The only thing that currently offers some protection is being out of the reach of law. In cyber space. That makes it impossible to cover people who may not be circumscribed by 166 miles squared.

For me and my household, nails will not cease being driven into their coffins.