oxfamThis report [attached] exposes the world’s worst corporate tax havens – extreme examples of a destructive race to the bottom on corporate tax which has seen governments across the globe slash corporate tax bills in an attempt to attract business. It calls on governments to work together to put a stop to this before it is too late – Oxfam Policy Paper

The report released by Oxfam -a large UK charity – ranks Barbados 13th out of 15 as the world’s worst corporate tax havens.  For what it is worth here is a link to the 46 page report. Is this the report Minster Donville Inniss issued an angry retort? Minister Innis please give us an update on the illegal importation by Bhana and company –Continental Foods and Bhana, the Chicken Wings and Expired Labels Affair.

90 responses to “Barbados Ranked as One of the Worst Tax Havens”

1. peterlawrencethompson December 15, 2016 at 5:20 PM #

“This isn’t the venue for a debate about accounting, but the fact that profits bear a similar relationship to capital gains that food bears to clothing size does not make you want to wear a T-bone steak or eat your blue jeans.”

@ PLT

I agree with you that, although capital gains may bear a similar relationship to profits,” in theory they cannot be considered as profit gained from business operations.

Capital gains are basically profit made from the sale of capital property (assets), (i.e. an investment [shares, stock] or real estate/property), less any legitimate expenses associated with its sale.

Kevin December 15, 2016 at 7:55 PM #

“Dont we all try to pay as little tax as possible on an individual level? I know, I sure try.”

@ Kevin

And this is why the government is owed over $700M in taxes, because we do not want to pay out fair share of taxes. Yet we want our children to travel free on Transport Board buses, enjoy free education and health care; and we complain bitterly if government is shoddy in providing these and other social services.

@ Bushie

I don’t care how much Trump is worth… each time he opens his mouth to say something or someone is “tremendous,” I hear a complete idiot.

Trump is the same man who manipulated the tax system to avoid paying taxes, which will now finance him, his wife and children in the White House and pay the secret service to protect him.

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson re “… I’m an admirer of the talents of real businessmen like Jobs, Gates or Walton, but Trump is just a scam artist.”

I am sure that you recognize that for the piped piper to be successful then there must have been ‘gullible children’ who embraced his music. Donald Trump is now the president of the world’s most powerful nation thus this narrative of his scam artistry is now as old as that ancient fairy tale because 60+ million people bought his tunes!

And not taking anything away from the great businessmen cited but the corporate world is a lovely scam.

The great Sam Walton built the truly awesome Walmart operations. Annual revenue regularly above $400B with profits also annually exceeding multi billions…for years now.

Yet, they have some long-term employees who receive such low wages that despite supposedly full-time work schedules they often have to seek assistance from gov’t programs to supplement their livelihood off the poverty line.

Yet, the company which brands itself as ‘Made in America’ imports and have mfg. ops. in China to the tune of $30+ billion per annum.

Life is a scam.

Folks like Trump play in very well. We can scorn him as much as we want but at day’s end he has shown himself to be a better player…dirty and scrappy surely, but he is now President-elect Trump.

How to make him crash and burn (as he surely will) without taking the world to war or the world economy to great upheaval is the challenge.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donald Trump is presiudent elect, the electors have not yet voted, Dec 19 is their vpte, at that time he may or may not become president, until then Obama is still president, there is a process and it can go sudeways or not, depending on the electors next week.

4. PLT
    is a total fraud. He uses $200 million as his starting amount. That is the entire estimated fair market value of the estate of Donald Trump’s father, before estate and inheritance taxes. The Donald only got a fraction of this money because he has several siblings. The exact amount of his inheritance is unknown. It was probably about $20 million.

Even if it was $40 million, you cannot assume he could have liquidated the entire inheritance and put all the cash into the stock market and reinvested all his dividends for 42 years without touching a cent?
    Why? Because he has to live his life. That means spending money. Paying ex-wives millions in alimony. Providing for each of his children. (The three children each have personal fortunes exceeding $100 million).

5. WWC

doesn’t understand the American political system. Even if the electors don’t choose Trump, the vote would go to the US House of Representatives, where the Republican majority would vote for Trump.

Ha Ha Ha!!

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad99999
    If you think that the Trumps paid estate and inheritance taxes you are more gullible than I thought. Donald took over the family business in 1974… his father did not die until 1999. I the intervening years Donald not only manipulated his siblings out of the vast majority of the estate, he undoubtedly structured it (or rather his accountants did) to evade inheritance and estate taxes.

7. PLT

Donald was one of five children. His father divided his money among all five children. The children of one of Donald’s brothers –the one who died — actually sued to increase their share of the family money.

Where is the evidence Donald stole any money from his brothers and sisters?

Why don’t you acknowledge that your fraudulent calculation does not allow for the lifetime of spending The Donald has enjoyed?

You are definitely not an accountant.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadster…that is where the 12th Amendment comes in, read my post again, I explicitly cited the 12th Amendment AND the House of Representatives, they go hand in hand, they get to choose the next president, should the kectiral college reject Trump….hopefully it’s not Pence ir Killary. ..and there is alwsys impeachment anytime during the next 4 years as Trump is a walking conflict of interest….an impeachment just waiting to happen..

In your haste to defend the swamp dweller Trump, you are missing the obvious, although I suspect someone told you, because you did not know about what I posted…ya took to long to answer.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As I posted yesterday Chadster..which you took too long to mention.

Well Well & Consequences December 15, 2016 at 8:05 AM #

http://ow.ly/oLup3079sBt

Alvin..stop spreading lies and misinformation, there is the Emolument Clause, the 12th Amendament and House of Representatives and impeachment to deal with Trump, your ugly soul will always cave in to wickedness against your own people.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Chad99999 December 16, 2016 at 11:25 AM
    “Even if the electors don’t choose Trump, the vote would go to the US House of Representatives, where the Republican majority would vote for Trump.”

You are right there my friend. Trump is the man, come hell or high water. It is written in the stars.

But Chaddie, you think the man has the guts to start a war, trade or otherwise, with the roaring dragon China or is he just a Trump by name and a trumpeter by action (blowing a lot of hot air)?

Now should there be a clash of the titans which war horse would you bet Barbados would be backing?

The one that is the current loan-shark to Bim or the big brother up North which is the home to many sons and daughters in the Diaspora?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump is just a crook trying to rip off the world, he has had his fill of ripping off Americans and this is his opportunity to spreak his con games, if he succeeds..

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/obama-action-respond-russian-hacks-article-1.2913026

12. @Miller
    Now should there be a clash of the titans which war horse would you bet Barbados would be backing
    ++++++++
    This reminds me the late Ronnie Hughes also taught history at my alma mater (not Combermere) and he used to reserve one period a week where we would have a wide raging discussion on Global events. During the height of Soviet/China hostilities which culminated in the Sino/Soviet war the question of China arose, the country was just starting to flex its muscles, it was testing nuclear weapons and had bloodied the Russian bear’s nose over territorial disputes.

Eventually Nixon went to China and the temperature subsided but Trump is starting to flirt with Taiwan and Beijing is highly displeased. Hughes opined that eventually the US and Russia would team up to go to war against China and given Trump’s bromance with Putin and China’s recent seizing of a US underwater drone one begins to wonder.

Should we practice “duck and cover”? Nah it won’t happen he tells himself wistfully……

13. “Trump is the same man who manipulated the tax system to avoid paying taxes, which will now finance him, his wife and children in the White House and pay the secret service to protect him”

Quite an idiot Bushie quite an idiot by the way if I were idiotic enough to avoid paying taxes Bushie I would the way my taxes are spent

14. I am totally stunned at some of this conversation, many times I have paid for accomodation out of barbados that I am pretty sure no tax was paid on.I pay taximen and z buses cash with no receipt or meter are all fares reported . Tradesmen and prostitutes alike will happily work for cash. Do all people in the service sector report all their tips. Go to a rent to income area in my home town and you will not be surprised to see beamers and lexus cars parked. So to complain about someone using the system to his advantage to get ahead seems funny when there are many people avoiding the system completey to get ahead. Our primeminister took a paper bag filled with cash as a member of parliament during the airbus scandal pretty funny The problem really isnt that trump used the rules to get ahead its he got too far ahead for some people. But I would rather the people scoffing at the rules be under better scrutiny.

15. @ charles skeete at 5:13AM
    Boss, it was Artax or one of those bright boys who made that intelligent statement …not stinking Bushie… 🙂

@ Lawson
    We do not expect you to grasp the nuance of Trump seeking to avoid making a contribution to the upkeep of the society that sustains him. It is the nature of albino-centric thinking that wunna must focus on “GET…GET…GET….”

Comparing Trump to a taxi driver or prostitute, however, is really carrying a joke a bit far…. although perhaps not in the case of the ho…..

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson..ya miss the whole point about the thief that is Trump..he refuses to pay anyone for anything and grabs at everything….remember. .”grab them by the pu**y”.

He believes himself entitled to everything for free, but everyone else must pay him, that’s how his lowlife father raised him after his father Trump’s grandfather was deported from Germany because he ran off to America at age 16, ran away from the war in Germany, when he got wealthy enough to return to Germany, playing slick, he was deported back to the US…Trump et al are people with mental disease handed down from generation to generation…

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Our primeminister took a paper bag filled with cash as a member of parliament during the airbus scandal pretty funny “.

http://ow.ly/80QL307dEpE

Lawson..please explain which “our” prime minister you mean and that it was not my boyfriend Justin, it was corrupt Mulroney, the one you voted for…just making it clear. .lol he should have gone to prison but did not…Harper is not clean either, bet you voted for him as well, other people took the fall for him and his lackey..

But you don’t like the clean and honest one ya got.

18. stay out of that water at worthing that brain eating amoeba wants a meal not a appetizer. Trump is the same as the rest of us just better at it . The difference between him and most people is like that poor woman on jeopardy this week . She passed away before her segment aired but I watched her even knowing that death was at the door she still wouldnt risk betting everything. like most people very conservative not willing to gamble. Trump and others bet it all …crush other peoples dreams and makes others come true but that is life in the private sector..you want to be safe get a govt job. I didnt compare taxi drivers to prostitutes but since you mention it they both make their money screwing tourists the only difference is one is better at dominos

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/YHeH307dF7y

And to make things even worse, Trump cannot spell for shit, totally spelling challenged, he knows what he wants to say but cannot spell it, properly pronounce it or put it in it’s correct context…very yuuge and bigly..lol

20. Well Well your lover prime minister has his moments. His foot is in his mouth so often

21. @ Lawson
    Trump is the same as the rest of us just better at it .
    Speak for yourself Boss…
    Not stinking Bushie…who pays his taxes, and who is honoured to contribute to good causes in society for the very selfish reason that he benefited from such contributions during his time.

22. A righteous Bushy now, I can imagine you going to church and telling the priest what a good boy you were for only having sex with protestant girls what…..give me a break..did you take every deduction you were entitled to or say no I cant take all the govt needs the money , did you always pay at the door at Harrys or get in free for being a regular. Since your in a good mood how about giving back by ponying up the money for that shit gate so the rest of us deplorable s can go swimming or grab a granny.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Lawson’s on a roll.

24. All yuh on here all day all night discussing a man who has done nothing for blacks and will do nothing for blacks. Waste of time. People getting tired of coming here and reading the same ole, same ole. Me uh got one little gift to go buy for the little girl down the street , even though I don’t believe nor celebrate, she is a nice French kid who I keep 5 evenings every month for her Dad. He is a paramedic and my French has really improved since September.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans….Donc soit apporter quelque chose de nouveau sur le blog ou arrêter de lire, le français est doux de parler.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/uk-arm-trade-exports-saudi-arabia-yemen-airstrikes-open-individual-export-licence-a7481136.html

This is why the UK can never be believed or trusted…forked tongued and two faced.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol, hahaha

“Three professors of psychiatry call for ‘neuropsychiatric evaluation’ of Trump out of fears he’s mentally ill

TOM BOGGIONI
    17 DEC 2016 AT 15:21 ET

In a letter addressed to President Barack Obama, three professors of psychiatry — including one from Harvard Medical School — expressed fears that President-elect Donald Trump’s exhibits signs he may not be mentally fit to assume the presidency.

In the letter, which can be found at The Huffington Post, Judith Herman, M.D. a professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School — along with two professors who taught at the University of California, San Francisco — made the appeal to Obama based upon their “grave concern” after watching Trump’s antics.

“We are writing to express our grave concern regarding the mental stability of our President-Elect,” the letter reads. “Professional standards do not permit us to venture a diagnosis for a public figure whom we have not evaluated personally.”

“His widely reported symptoms of mental instability — including grandiosity, impulsivity, hypersensitivity to slights or criticism, and an apparent inability to distinguish between fantasy and reality — lead us to question his fitness for the immense responsibilities of the office,” it continues. “We strongly recommend that, in preparation for assuming these responsibilities, he receive a full medical and neuropsychiatric evaluation by an impartial team of investigators.”

This is not the first time questions have arisen over Trump’s mental stability as a world leader — or the stability of his followers.

Prior to the election, the American Psychiatric Association made a plea to members to not associate Trump with mental illness at a distance, with APA President Maria A. Oquendo. writing, “This year, the election seems like anything but a normal contest, that has at times devolved into outright vitriol. The unique atmosphere of this year’s election cycle may lead some to want to psychoanalyze the candidates, but to do so would not only be unethical, it would be irresponsible.”

28. Is it worth it what these dictator do -overweight and bags under his eyes indeed.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/MLCT307eoPF

Another prime example of when their own words return to bite a tweeting politician..lol, haha.

30. Well Well Trump dillusional? you just had a president for the last 8 years that thought he is a white man the chameleon effect as it were, he did nothing for race relations polarized the US screwed up the middle east etc etc .and when it is all over and done years from now he will be remembered as the second trivial thumb twaddler after millard fillmore for his not wanting to offend anyone Just like they say you can get a grand jury to indict a ham sandwich you can get harvard profs to claim that sandwich had a poor childhood

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson..ya better be thanking Obama right about now, because of the dangerous state George Bush the dummy and Dick Cheney the thief left the white house 8 years ago, had it not been for Obama cooling tensions worldwide from the hatred they built up, ya would be back in Europe running from the middle east crazies they activated in an attempt to steal oil, so ya better be very thankful.

Thing is, ya still not out of the woods, when Trump is done with yall, anything north of the border would be sold to the middle east or China, whoever can pay Trump the most or allow him to do business in their country replete with corruption…

…..you know first hand how much land Canada possesses, north of the border and upstate, ya better be thankful Justin is making friends, that might be the only thing to save yall from Trump, ..that is no joke, watch out for mala suerte.

32. We have been getting the benefits of living next to a powerhouse for a long time, trump will ask for a better deal and will get it whatever form that takes to show he is accomplishing what he said he would do. . But as justin says when the chips are down and the world around you is out of control and you feel everything is at its bleakest…..take a selfie

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Remember…it was not Justin brokered that deal, it was Harper did it 5 years ago, so if it goes sideways, dont blame my boyfriend, he just arrived. Obviously the brits dont like the deal..lol

Anyway, glad to see you have faith in Trump who changes his mind every minute, if Europe does not work out for you, after you run from Canada thanks to Drumpf….there is always Barbados….south coast. Ya can come visit me in Switzerland. .lol

34. South coast, I better start a round of doxycycline, Your boyfriend is a putz as well as the rest of his crew. Hopefully only four years of this govt.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/KL3Z307hWd3

The press still on them like white on rice for the next 4 years.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/barack-obama-offshore-drilling-permanent-ban-arctic-atlantic-donald-trump-climate-change-a7487886.html

That’s my boys, just stuck a big spoke in Trump’s wheel, that will be the shits to undo…lol

Lawson…see why Justin is my dude, he knows how to play the game.

http://ow.ly/oly6307kO3I

Time for these idiots to die off, this one is getting senile.