Overflowing and smelly skip located at Foul Bay a popular recreation spot. Image credit: Green Monkey
An overflowing and smelly skip located at Foul Bay in St. Philip, a popular recreation spot. Image credit: Green Monkey

Here is a photo of an overflowing and smelly garbage skip that greeted a member of the BU family in the parking lot on a recent visit to Foul Bay, one of a diminishing number of large, scenic, and so far relatively unspoiled (by development) beaches in the island. The smelly and overflowing skip was first spotted on Sunday afternoon (11/12/2016) and a check on Monday (12/12/2016) confirmed that it was still there -smelly as ever. Does someone need to emulate David Davis of Weekend Water Warriors fame and start the GCW (Garbage Collection Warriors)?

Of course there is a larger issue.

The controversial and ill conceived Cahill Energy project has slipped off the radar and the push by government to implement a waste to energy plan appears to have been deprioritized. All sensible Barbadians agree we have to address the management of garbage (waste) in a sustainable manner. The idea that on a 166 square mile island we can continue to create dumps (cells) is the lazy politician’s way of addressing the growing problem.  The BLP created Greenland landfill and the DLP’s Cahill Energy was stillborn thank God! Why this government would have made a decision to construct a gasification plant on the scale proposed is beyond imagination.

We have a waste management problem that we need to address as a country in a holistic way. Every day many of us observe children and adults indiscriminately dumping garbage all across Barbados WITHOUT fear. A view of the trenches as we walk along our streets reveal a dark side of Barbadians. Loose and bagged garbage tossed by the road-side, in canefields, on vacant lots and in other open spaces.  Then there is the worrying behaviour of our young people et al throwing garbage from moving vehicles. What does this bode as far as arresting the growing problem of litter?

We have to frontally tackle the problem of waste (garbage) in Barbados by adopting a strategic approach.

• What is the vision and policy for the next 20 years to implement a waste to energy management plan?
  • How will we educate our people to ensure the correct behaviour is exhibited at all times to align with the national plan?
  • How will we enforce existing laws against littering?
  • How will government efficiently execute the garbage collection task and how can private waste haulers be integrated into the plan?
  • What about the recyclers like B’s, SBRC and the crying need to level the playing field? We (taxpayers) pay SBRC to receive predefined garbage and the others?
  • etc

With the country smelling stink. Garbage piling high. Sewage leaking all over the place. We are none the wiser how the many problems associated with waste management will be alleviated in a time related plan. Minister Denis Lowe has adopted the style of his boss and speaks only on those rare occasions. This government is rapidly approach the end of a second term -can we say we have made progress as far as implementing a relevant waste management plan is concerned?

47 responses to “Garbage Everywhere!”

1. Littering and dumping are not synonyms.
    Seeing indiscriminate dumping everyday and not reporting it, is just as bad or even worse than seeing vote buying and selling, and not unpicking dem teets. Now since we nitpicking, full and overflowing. I think there is a difference but I could be wrong. BU family too touchous and easily offended. Beginning to sound like BFP family members, but that is just me. Carry on smartly.

Now a skip that is full for two days is par for the course when garbage collection is every three weeks in certain areas of the country. Imagine storing garbage for three weeks in your yard and then the truck comes when you are not at home. Tink um easy? It is now easier to pick a 3 Spot than it is to guess when the Garbage truck coming out. Tink I mekking sport? Utter rubbish!

Tell the higher-ups and better-offs to some misusing the people skips. How I know it is higher-ups and better-offs that dumping unwanted appliances in the people’s skip?
    Simple.
    1. Nuh poor man ain’t throwing away anything that he could get parts from.
    2. If he done tek off all he can, he not gine push it in nuh pan cart down nuh long road, when he cud put um longside de road til wahever time de bulk waste truck come round. Yuh caan do dem kinda tings in de more austentayshuss places. So gots tuh be de pretenshuss of de austentayshuss wid access to transpee.

If only beach waste and picnic trash was going into the skip, I doubt it would stink. Bury the dead animals nuh! Wunna doan want round wunna place stink but think nothing of creating one for other people.

Too many inconsiderate people, that is the problem.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91384/guests-bolt

The more lies Boyce, Sealy and Lowe tells, the more the tourists will disappear.

Bizzy “give me” is sitting on his lazy ass collecting millions of taxpayer’s money each month for doing nothing about the aster problem Ionics, or the garbage problem SBRC, 2 other scams hr invented to rip off the treasury, aided by government ministers.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/13/mottley-i-told-you-so/

Fruendel and his Liars for ministers caused the sewage plants to collapse.

4. For years I have been recycling. My motto is what comes from the earth goes back to the earth. Yes, sometimes it takes more effort to recycle than it does to pitch it in the garbage, but it is ingrained in my psyche to save the planet. THIS NEEDS TO BE A SUBJECT IN SCHOOL. CHILDREN WILL TAKE IT HOME TO PARENTS AND INSIST THAT IT IS DONE. We are losing or I should say have lost, the good standing we once had in the minds of visitors to this island. I read more online complaints about unfriendliness, garbage, animal neglect etc. all of which I know to be true. WHEN A SCHOOL DOES NOT HAVE A GOOD HEAD OR A BUSINESS A GOOD LEADER WHAT HAPPENS….NEED I SAY MORE?

5. now it is the.. really foul bay

6. It is such a wonderful spot too.

7. The garbage issue is a deliberate attempt to justify waste to energy by 2018.
    Political script for waste to energy plant. ” DLP will commit country to project and proponents will get finders fees. BLP will say they have no choice but to continue project.”

I don`t think extremely large legal fees and million dollar finders fees could be the motivations of a few house slaves to endanger the country.

90% of the household waste can be sorted at source and collected by private waste haulers as its an exportable commodity which they can earn fx.

Many solutions will not be embraced because someone will be disadvantaged by low tech solutions.

Corruption in the form of Graft and Over Invoicing has robbed us thanks to the baby boomers. #ANewWay #ANewAgenda

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Political script for waste to energy plant. ” DLP will commit country to project and proponents will get finders fees. BLP will say they have no choice but to continue project.”

That’s exactly what the house slaves of parliament will do and keep themselves on the blogs to be exposed worldwide…their greed will rule and ruin them.

9. From all accounts this country is broke with NIS monies being spent only on essential to govt activities…….this precludes any work on our now very fragile infrastructure.

When the below hits tripadvisor it may be the straw that brakes the Camels back for this important tourist season……

GUESTS BOLT
    https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/photos/a.304733980988.153804.270969375988/10153886653565989/?type=3

10. Who is that person who drove all down to the beach and offloaded old stove and another old appliances into the skip, lol. I’m sure it was placed there for ‘general’ garbage. At least they aint put them at the side of the road. These skips needs to be removed more quickly when filled up with garbage. Anyways, a waste to energy plant will not be feasible here. We were doing very before with B’s and SBRC etc, with our recycling, and exporting materials for recycling. That’s the way to go. Then this government decided to introduce tipping fee, and that fell off. When I was in primary school there was a no-litter campaign. But even without the campaign, we all knew it wasnt the best thing to litter. Once it not at them, some people will litter indiscriminately. They say they giving the ‘cleaners’ something to do!

11. It seems such a simple solution to incent householders to sort at source, plastics, organic etc and give the contracts to private waste haulers to pickup. This would surely reduce waste to the landfills and fan the flame of growing a relevant culture.

12. David

Thats the point…..too simple…not enough studies to go around.

13. The garbage issue is a deliberate attempt to justify waste to energy by 2018.
    Political script for waste to energy plant.

Same ploy that was pulled to justify the desal plants and the suspects will get to build them

14. Hearty congratulations to David BU as his cherished wish for the destruction of the tourist trade nears reality. Not long ago Loveridge and miller, prodigal , artax, bush t and company the rock hard base of BU begged tourists to by pass Barbados and pick other resorts . Loveridge and miller , asked tourists to choose St. Lucia. A string of murders of tourists in St. Lucia happened around then including a double murder on a yacht. Carson Cadogan and ac lambasted the BU traitors but their words had no impact on the back stabbers.

The sewage controversy breathes new life into the BU campaign to sabotage tourism. The repulsive yardfowls are on a streak holding hands with the traditional media and the opposition . The Humpty dumpty tourist business is about to fall. Mia wont be able to put the pieces back together. She is fooling herself if she thinks so.

Donald Trump warns illegal immigrants wont be tolerated in USA. The rich parasites Cow, Bizzy already begin the conversation of living in Argentina. What is the fate of of the black working class when the tourists stop coming? Where are the jobs to be found? Where will government revenues come from? The lord evils will multiply fast. The undermanned police will be out gunned . We are on the brink . Everyone must take a deep breath and think on these things.

15. Calling a Spade aka waiting aka commentator aka Fan and others

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes December 13, 2016 at 9:36 AM
    “From all accounts this country is broke with NIS monies being spent only on essential to govt activities…….this precludes any work on our now very fragile infrastructure.
    When the below hits tripadvisor it may be the straw that brakes the Camels back for this important tourist season……”

You refer to the situation as ‘the straw that can break the camel’s back’.

The miller has been referring to it as the discharge of the last chamber from the revolving game of Russian roulette this administration (like an ostrich with its head buried in the sand of cover-up) has been playing with public sanitation and by consequence the health of the people and their one-cylinder economic engine.

This totally inept administration seems to have the curse of Midas but instead of yellow gold every thing it touches turn to ‘blackened’ shit.

Despite all the numerous warnings about their refusal to deal with public sanitation and garbage collection issues it was just a matter of time before the real shit hit the proverbial fan. Now the entire place – both socially and economically- would soon be covered in pure shit.

What’s next on the cards made of toilet paper? An IMF programme with privatization of the GAIA a done deal?

But who would buy an airport where tourists are not using to visit a land of shit?

Even an ‘ unfairly-labeled’ atheist like the miller is praying to his God in the sky to relieve that once proud and well-managed country from its present burden by forcing the call of early elections to let the ordinary people decide their own fate.

Stay with the current totally incompetent shitty lot or go for the lesser of the two evils is the crappy dilemma facing them.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“What is the fate of of the black working class when the tourists stop coming? Where are the jobs to be found?”

Have you never heard of necessity being the mother of invention.

Have you ever read of the conditions your ancestors, the slaves, lived under…..and most survived the last 150 years…under the harshest conditions known to man, mentally and physically.

Do you want your future generations to continue to be dependent on tourism , a few halfassed, semi literate con artist minorities and corrupt government ministers only…for another 50 years.

This is the best thing that could have happened to open the eyes of black bajans for the last 500 years.

It’s obvious some are too dumb to see the opportunity opening up and presenting itself for black bajans to finally become craftsmen and women of their fate. ..instead of sitting on their asses bawling…woe is me the tourists gone…….be happy to finally be rid of the Bizzys and all the other minority parasites if they leave…make sure they cannot return to become parasites again…suck it up…move on.

Let the black creatives and inventors flourish.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Be glad the black ministers of government and all their fellow corrupt parasites and leaches on the taxpayers are being and will continue to be exposed indefinitely if they continue to decieve, lie and steal from their own people.

19. Well the PM did complain about too many people at the nipples making them very sore…..what better way to get rid of the nipple suckers than to kill the goose that lays the golden eggs albeit smaller in recent years……without the golden eggs the peeps have to get involved in some productive activity,some have already started by following our vincy bretheren,some may depart,some commit suicide but our PM would have been succesfull…….hmmmm……might even get re-elected.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Calling a spade December 13, 2016 at 11:03 AM
    “The sewage controversy breathes new life into the BU campaign to sabotage tourism. The repulsive yardfowls are on a streak holding hands with the traditional media and the opposition . The Humpty dumpty tourist business is about to fall. Mia wont be able to put the pieces back together. She is fooling herself if she thinks so.”

It’s rather a pity of a dastardly and cowardly act you have to resort to multiple monikers to call a spade a spade.

It is not your list of saboteurs- or more aptly, agents provocateur-which have undermined the economy of Bim but the sheer incompetence of a political administration formed from a dangerous lying party.

It was just a matter of time before you meet your shitty Waterloo.

It is not Hyatt or FourSeasons that will be saving your sorry ass but the prescient words from the ugly mouth of your own man in charge of the project aptly labeled: The Destruction of the Bajan Economy (by whatever shitty means required).

To paraphrase the silent giant of a sage from the East and soothsayer of sesquipedalian and redundant magniloquence:

Let them ‘March’ back to the cane ‘Fields’ but only this time to reap cow itch and catch monkeys for food.

Here you have it, a great revitalization of agriculture as promised with the construction of a US$ 270,000 multi-purpose sugar cane factory to grind wild river tamarind for the now emaciated calf to eat.

As OSA once opined: Barbados is a good country but saddled with a bad (shitty) government.

Errol Barrow’s legacy is now tainted with the current lot of dirty lying pretenders to his greatness.

21. Kevin two things…. the police should get the serial number and go down to courts or whoever and find out who owns it and pay for illigal dumping , and isnt there someone recycling metal on the island ??

22. The garbage and dumping situation is a function of the idiotic decision to impose ‘tipping fees’ on garbage haulers. Only a complete, unschooled, jackass can fail to see that PENALISING the proper disposal of garbage, while not having the wherewithal to enforce dumping regulations …would result in widespread and indiscriminate dumping.

Even a primary school child with some cognitive skills could see the value in FACILITATING the situation where proper procedures are followed by EVERYONE in garbage management.

Then we had small businessmen driving around the island HUNTING down scrap metal for recycling…. keeping the place clean.. and encouraging house holders to clean up the crap around their house…
    …again killed by bribe-driven arrangements with SBRC….

Only a satanic CURSE can adequately explain the idiocy of our current predicament.

23. @Bush Tea

We need to educate our people to stop the littering.

24. David

This is an incentive driven world and when a lack thereof is coupled with Bushie says nodumping regulations even a child would know the end result.

25. Only the 40 percenters can save Barbados.The Dems will back the Dems again and the Bees will back the Bees one more time.The 40 percenters can do Barbados a colossal national favour by coming out with blood in their eyes and ensure this mendacious lot led by Stuart is consigned to the rubbish heap,never more to rise.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David December 13, 2016 at 4:24 PM
    “We need to educate our people to stop the littering.”

No David, absolutely no!

Bajan people have been exposed to all kinds of warnings about the dangers of littering. From the time they are in kindergarten and primary school to the very anti-dumping signs dotted around the island and conveniently located at known dumping spots.

Would you expect from a grown man or woman who attended the UWI and earning a middle-class salary, living in the Heights or Terraces or even the Gardens and drives a SUV to illegally dispose of the excesses from a conspicuous consumption lifestyle on some abandoned or isolated lot?

Don’t you think such a deliberate act is due out of a lack of ‘education’ or is it more akin to ‘planned’ environmental terrorism?

People don’t pay taxes voluntarily so why should we expect them NOT to litter and illegally dump unless there are serious penalties involved (and rigorously enforced).

The same way marijuana users are fined heavily or even incarcerated why not such treatment for litterers and dumpers of human generated waste for despoiling the environment (Mother nature’s body) ?

27. Not a thing wrong wid Greenland.

28. Enuff

Dah train leff de station long time an um ain comin bak.

In this day and age,many alternatives exist of a viable nature.

29. If BS was not frustrated to its knees car tires would be used to make biofuel, tire crumb and the metal removed from tires and exported. However. some wicked person or persons preferred to frustrate BS Recycling. Recyclers in Barbados collect the following for free and it does not cost the government one red cent

1) Used Cooking Oil
    2) Paper/ Magazines
    3) Green Waste
    4) Glass
    5) Batteries
    5) Metals
    7) Plastic Containers

The following can be repurposed. and thus diverted from landfil

Construction Waste, Old Clothing, Old Shoes, Offal, Green Waste and food.

When will the SSA stop picking up lawn grass?

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/14/blacklisted/

Now Inniss knows how bajans feel when their own governments join with others to victimize them and they do not have the power to fight back until elections, suck it up Inniss and tell us about the inferior quality chicken imported from tgphe UK and the role you played in that affair, that is much more important than you whining about Oxfam, any blacklisting belongs to this government who do not do it’s job, so own it.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

We are still awsiting the outcome of the investigations into the Panama Papers in which Barbados also featured, maybe Oxfam knows something we dont.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Did this same government not complain just yesterday thst bajans…read corporate businesses…owes the government one billion dollars in taxes……

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/14/penalties-waived/

……..so how could Oxfam be lying, it’s the same thing they said.

Dumbville you cannot have both ways, no wonder there is no solution to ths garbage problem or anything else coming firth from these ministers, you are now calling on your fellow lazy incompetent government ministers to be hold accountable for.

If Lowe is sick, he is useless for a job thst requires good heslth and energy, get rid of him, or the electorate will have to get rid of all of you fir gross negligence and incompetence.

“Oxfam argued that while collecting taxes was one of the key means by which governments were able to address poverty and inequality, big businesses were “dodging tax on an industrial scale”, depriving governments of the funds needed to address poverty and invest in health care, education and jobs.

It charged that the 15 countries named were “extreme examples of a destructive race to the bottom on corporate tax” which has seen governments across the globe slash corporate tax bills in an attempt to attract business.

“Corporate tax havens are causing the loss of huge amounts of valuable tax revenue and their use is becoming standard business practice for many companies,” it charged.

“When governments reduce the tax burden for large corporations, they tend towards two options: to cut back on the essential spending needed to reduce inequality and poverty; or to make up the shortfall by levying higher taxes, such as value-added tax (VAT) . . . which fall disproportionately on poor people,” it added.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So you see Dumbville, giving away 10, 15, 20, 40 years of concessions to Sandals and corporations off or onshore, puts pressure on the poor due to high prices and higher taxation, resulting in a broke country and a government unable to adequately fund garbage collection and disposal, transportation, roads, the sewage plants and all the other incompetencies now attached to this government.

So Oxfam is not wicked, they are not lying, it’s you lying to the people Dumbville and all of you must be held accountable, particularly for the concessions to these on and offshore businesses, distribution of contracts and taxpayer’s money from the treasury.

34. Black Bajans are the culprits who are doing the littering. They need a good kick up their arses whenever they are caught. BUT it seems that many of them just don’t care! They are a nasty bunch. Just take a look at the cemeteries around the island, look at the bush and junk around their homes, look at how government properties are left to rot. We have a society of NASTY people and NASTY LEADERS. This so called Christian society is filled with NASTY mudderfckers who don’t care about the filth that is piling up. Some of us try but we need more people showing that we care about this rock.

35. The tipping fee is also the cause of people dumping their large appliances. I usually have a skip around this time of year to clean up around the property BUT I am not doing it this year. I am waiting on the tipping fee to be removed. This Government are a bunch of the worst assholes ever to sit in Parliament.

36. tipping fee that just about sums up barbados. The only people not waiting for a tip are the go slow customs. How many winters will it take before the tourists get the idea that they are not wanted not worthy of a clean place to visit or swim.I have seen a big change in the last 35 years not all for the good, a change of leadership is needed

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson…you do understandmthat change is tantamount to flipping a coin, it will just be the other side of the same coin, given the track record of both governments, it could be more of the same….the definiting change for both governments is social media….all the wrong things they have done to the people and island are now getting exposed.

I saw my boyfriend Justin crying recently at the first anniversary of the Syrian refugees being allowed to enter Canada, such a sweet sensitive man, you know females just love sensitive men, right Lawson.

38. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

@WW&C
    We will soon have a nation of sensitive men, All will be crying. Take you pick.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol

40. Well Well sorry by change I meant white people in charge. The problem is black people have a hard time telling other black people to pick up that stuff or do this or that ..white people have never had that problem

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson..there is a new generation in Barbados that will not let a white person push them around, so it might not be as easy as you think, I saw one use a funny tone on a black woman years ago and the woman threatened to spit on her for disrespect, of course that woman was fresh outta NY but she did not know that..lol

Billie “the goat”Miller made that mistake as well and was soundly told off in public, it’s all in the attitudes and tones used, people should be treated as people, not as slaves or animals, do that and you get a different reaction.

42. David

We could do with some feed back on this…..

Barbados Today
    $1B more
    Government, which is already saddled with $6 billion in debt, today moved to Parliament to increase its borrowing capacity on the local market by $1 billion, with the Opposition accusing it of “financial recklessness”. Minister of Finance Chris…
    Barbados Today|By George Alleyne
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/14/1b-more/

43. What is there to understand Vincent?

44. exactley David if they aint borrowing how do you expect them to get paid

45. If the corporations owe a $billion in back taxes, why does the government not collect those with penalties (interest) instead of borrowing? Are they ball less wonders?

@Island Gal – good to see you back. I see your friend from Juma’s is now in jail. I went there to eat this year but was not impressed by the menu or the prices.

46. Just as an FYI, the overladen garbage skip at Foul Bay pictured at the top of this page is still there as of Friday Dec 16 at 5pm, 5 days later.