Submitted by Fatima Azziz
Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith (ag)

Linda and James PROSPER, of Diamond Valley, in the Parish of St Philip entered a dwelling I occupied in 2009, and removed tens of thousands of dollars’ worth of personal belongs and changed the lock on the entry door. I returned, entered and realized items missing. I changed their lock. We were all at THE RBPF – Holetown – being interviewed by Const. 1175 Jordan where Linda and James Prosper claimed Mr Gill of Smith & Smith Law Firm instructed them to enter throw out and re-possess the property while I was out of the country with my 14 year old child. Indeed no rent was paid while I was overseas. But also, NO COURT ORDER.

I advised that the items missing were not what any sane person would dump. Further these people do not know the terms on which I occupied the premises. Linda Prosper insisted they did not take the items, but dumped them, thus after much agitation 1175 Jordan said, “if anybody know they took the items they should return it.” He informed Linda and James Prosper that the instructions received from the Mr Gill of Smith & Smith was bad advice. I was asked to leave the room.

On returning the Prospers chimed that they would compensate for what they insisted were dumped. Why only those specific items were moved? Linda Prosper returned to the house subsequent asking for a Janitorial pail she left behind. I refused. They returned gain, in my absence, picked the sliding door lock, entered and took the pail and heavens know what more. More visits and complaints were made to the RBPF Holetown and HQ pressing for criminal charges. Stn. Sgt Alleyne, Scantlebury and Stn Sgt. Edwards on different occasions insisted that it is Landlord and Tenant and that the perpetrators have agreed to compensate therefore no need for criminal charges.

I went to Police Complaints and Inspector Lashley on more than one occasion instructed RBPF – Holetown to file charges and allow the Court and Lawyers to deal with it. To appease HQ a statement was taken from me by 1550 Rock after being taken to the RBPF station, Holetown by Sgt Harris (Parris/Morris). However no charges were filed. Holetown insists it is a Landlord/tenant. So I stand down and waited. Weeks pass and no receipts of items or compensation. I called again demanding the Police recover my property; among them ceramics, electronics, drawings and paintings belonging to an Estate, personal items my daughter’s childhood Portfolios and floor poofs (with all her DNA of puke, piss and poo). Stn Sgt Woodroff advises “nobody stole the paintings they moved them somewhere to protect them.

An Order to repossess was issued in October 2009 and there were no claims, by the Attorney, for outstanding rent. Months pass, numerous calls, Lawyers’ letters and Bailiff’s contacts and still no returns or compensation. So I resume the aggigation. Visited Holetown and there are no records of my Statement or that I visited the Division in April 2009. I Wrote the Commissioner of RBPF, on December 1, 2015, learned that since an agreement was in effect between Linda and James Prosper and the RBPF, they can resume the matter of criminal charges. Balls begin to roll. By December 15th Linda Prosper is contacted and presents a Statement that she did enter and change lock (on Attorney’s instructions) but did not take anything from the property. The matter was passed to another Superintendent who assigned their best Investigator to the case. His Report, (11 months to present the same facts that were in the station’s log and Sgt Edwards’s records (Diary)), engenders another face-to-face encounter with Linda and James Prospers and a third Officer of the RBPF. Linda and James insist that they did not take anything away; but dumped items, yet they claim I did not lose what I claimed. Perhaps she can list what she knows she took. I insist that the electronics and ceramics, my daughter’s childhood Portfolios (especially) could not have been removed only to be dumped over those items left behind in the dwelling. One hour into the fiasco and James Prosper then BLEATS: “I am going to admit it. I took the cordless phone and answering machine”. Asked to return them he claims he threw it away. OMG. He reported that they entered the dwelling twice. On the first occasion to change the lock and on the second occasion to clean and remove (dump) items. Two large black sacks (garbage bags) were found in the dwelling with a yellow pail.

The Assistant Deputy Superintendent (ag.) does nothing; says nothing. I am awed. Seven years, Lawyer’s letters, Bailiff warning and countless denials; not to mention our trauma, deprivation and discomfort and we get another promise to compensate. I waited for Linda Prosper to BRAY that she took the others including collected items, samples, swatches, drawings, kitchen utensils (secured in cupboards), and personal items etc. I ask and insisted on their return (preferably). WITHOUT REMORSE Linda Prosper launched into this tirade about rent owed and that Mr Gill told her to dump so she entered and dumped and all she dumped were decaying food and rotten/not good items. Yet she puts in a plea that she was recovering rent. This is after she duped the RBPF in 2009, that they would compensate in order to avoid charges, because (according to them) they did throw items out. Now in 2016, cornered and exposed, her claim is rent recovery. Ironically the items went to Diamond Valley, St Philip and not to the Owner, who lives in Washington DC. In fact Mr Gill is not aware that items were moved from the location to St Philip. In fact his instructions (according to Linda Prosper) were to dump. He did not ask her to recover rent or hold my property in care of or lieu of. All this and the Assistant Superintendent, still, does nothing. Either they don’t know the Law or they are impotent or prejudiced. Again I am asked to leave the room (as in 2009) and on my return (believe it or not) I am told by the Assistant Superintendent that Linda and James Prosper agree to compensate for the cordless and answering machine. After admitting to dumping several items (in 2009 and currently) and Stn Sgt Edwards’ records of their agreement to compensate as per preliminary list.

How blunt could these two be? I must be a Jackass.

Or the Superintendent thinks I have nothing to do but to leave America and return to Barbados for a phone and answering machine that were bought in America, and to pursue a matter for so long for so little. This prejudice is profound.

The RBPF is aiding and abetting these two thieves in their criminal activities. I insisted on criminal charges. I am, told “… to bring criminal charges NOW, will make the Police look……”. What the hell that has to do with me or Justice or recovering the assets of the Estate I was authorized to protect? If this is not sickening what is? The RBPF, Holetown is condoning these Bandits and manipulating the facts to fit a Landlord/Tenant issue in the face of all the discrepancies. The RBPF has different stairs of Crime and justice. The little black boys in Haynesville, Pondside, the Orleans, the Farm or the Pine or the Boggs do not get this kind/quality of facilitation or tolerance for breaches of the Law. This smacks of corruption and lawlessness to me.

This is setting a dangerous precedent that property Owners and Agents can lock people and their children out of dwellings and cart away anything behind the walls of a rental on the lame pretext (allegations) of recovering rent. I was told by another Officer, that it is only the government that benefits from Criminal Charges. So now the RBPF is trying to deny the Govt. much needed revenue. Chris Sinckler should be appeased by this.

Linda and James Prosper took the items to Diamond Valley, St Philip. They did not hand them over to the Owner or Mr Gill of Smith & Smith so they not only committed grand theft from me and my daughter and The Estate but committed breach of trust in the execution of their duty to repossess the Owner’s property. Aka Grand theft from the Owner.

36 responses to “What Is The Role Of The RBPF, If Not To Solve Crime And Bring Criminals To Justice?”

1. Barbados police are a bunch of uneducated criminals

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Expose them all, something is fundamentally wrong with a legal system that protects certain class of criminals and arrest others they deem nobodies, all on a tiny island.., while the corrupt DPP thinks he is fooling everyone by claiming not enough is being dine to arrest his criminal friends, but he is also not bringing charges against the useless police officers who refuse to do their jobs of bringing charges against their criminal friends.

A fine pit of vipers they all are…exposing them consistently is the only remedy.

3. Prolly a whitey heah Slavery prolly Ah lie?

4. Firstly, from what little I have read that is not a police matter but a matter for the housing court. If you’re out of the country and the landlord enter his property and removed your belongs when you did nothing to violate the terms of the rental agreement it is still not a police matter. It is a matter for small claims or the housing court!

5. A landlord can file motion to quite possession if the tenant violates any of the terms of the rental agreement, but a landlord cannot change the locks of his or her own rental property unless the housing court authorizes him or her to do so. And if the landlord files a motion to quit possession the tenant has the right in a timely manner to asker the motion to quit possession.The bottom-line is the case seems like a matter for the houseing court and it shouldn’t have iinvolved the police.

6. At this point the tenant only option were to recover his or her items through small claims court. So that is why is wasn’t a police matter because the tenant didn’t even knew his or her rights as a renter.

7. The police is top heavy. Why do we keep 46 gazetted officers (the ones in their khaki uniforms and canes) in police HQ alone? What do they do? Won’t it be best to make some redundant and hire more police constables? People want police walking the streets, not sitting behind desks.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…ya missed the part where the landlord broke into the apartment in the absence of the tenant and admittedly STOLE items…that is theft…a criminal matter. ..ya need to go back to law school or the police academy.

9. Well Well

It is an illegal eviction and not a criminal matter because remember the tenant went overseas and came back and founded her/his property missing and the locks changed. And who knows whether or not there was a clause in the tenant rental agreement to notify the landlord if he or she is going on vacation which the tenant violated?

I would agree that the landlord violated the tenant righis if he took it upon himself to evicted the tenant rather than going through the cour pocesst, in any instant, the tenant was ignorant of his or her rights because he or she should have taken the case to the housing court or small claims rather than the police.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya still missing the point…there was a theft of the tenant’s property.., it’s there in black and white..theft is still a criminal offense…admitted theft.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

….”and removed tens of thousands of dollars’ worth of personal belongs”

Just in case ya still can’t find it…small claims court and magistrates court is for 5,000 dollars or less….high court is much higher.

12. The reason I don’t trust this post is that the writer minimizes her responsibility for the triggering events: leaving the island and falling behind in her rent payments.

Imagine the problems this creates for a landlord!

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

More information is definitely needed but some landlords agree to suspend the rental agreement when the tenant is away, until the tenant returns and then change their minds, that is why it should be in writing…no tenant leaves tens pf thousands of dollars in belongings behind and dont plan to pay the rent when they know they can lose it, they make arrangements for storage.

The items should not have been stolen, however, it is clear they both admitted to theft, the police just did not do their jobs, it is clear even if rent was paid..the items would not be returned.

Besides..there was admittedly never a court order, lots of missing pieces to the story.

14. Well Well & Consequences December 8, 2016 at 6:34 AM #

….”and removed tens of thousands of dollars’ worth of personal belongs.” Just in case ya still can’t find it…small claims court and magistrates court is for 5,000 dollars or less….high court is much higher.”

@ Well Well

Since Barbados DOES NOT have a HOUSING or SMALL CLAIMS court, what other legal recourse can the tenant pursue?

However, in the absence of Linda and James Prosper’s version of the events which led to them consulting a lawyer, who subsequently instructed “them to enter throw out and re-possess the property,” as well as the results of the police investigation, in MY opinion, any comments on this issue, based on the tenant’s allegations, may be considered speculative.

In other words, although Ms. Fatima’s detailed description of the events is noteworthy, those of us commenting are doing so without all the facts.

15. Well Well
    And a landlord can put a clause in the rental agreement informing the tenant to give him notice if he or she is going on vacation. So yes there is obviously much more to the case than is being told.

In any event, it is not a criminal offense for a landlord to authorized his two employees to move the tenant’s property if she out of the country without her consent, but it does violate the tenant’s rights if the landlord take it upon himself to take such action without court intervention. However, the only recourse the tenant has is to bring a suit against the landlord for an illegal lock out and seizure of property to recover rent and the security deposit in housing court. Then the tenant can file a suit in small claims to recover her items taken by the landlord.

16. Well Well

It is not a police matter if the landlord authorized two persons working for him to seized the tenant’s property and changed the locks. What doesn’t favour the landlord is the fact that he took such actions without going through the legal process. And I quite sure the tenant violated some of the terms of the rental contract her overseas stay, and the law also requires that you pick up your belongs in a timely manner or else those belong becomes the landlord’s.

17. The role of our constabulary is simple, Social Control. When the small man seems to benefit it is because he or she is a member of one of our valued Lodges. Our constabulary is well seasoned in the Lodges.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey, how can you be pretty sure when you dont know the full story..illegal is illegal, the actions were illegal….full stop, there is no way around illegal as you are trying so hard to find…try not to hurt yaself.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@chad45 re”The reason I don’t trust this post is that the writer minimizes her responsibility for the triggering events: leaving the island and falling behind in her rent payments….Imagine the problems this creates for a landlord!”

Yes, there are always two-sides to any civil dispute but the crux of this story is the role of the RBPF not the underlying civil case.

Taken on the descriptions given the police folks were apparently quite lax. Whether they did so from some ‘malice’ or ‘friendship’ or simply because the affair does not warrant the time, expense, effort or indeed winnable case to proceed to criminal prosecution is debatable.

Tenant rights frankly almost always place landlords at a disadvantage when the tenant becomes delinquent as you have to expend additional funds to expel that tenant with no guarantee that you can recover same from safety deposits etc.

C’est la vie when you tread into those choppy but yet desirable waters.

20. That role could have been to prevent crime, as a strategic response.

Of course, that would’ve had to be a more socially balanced, organic, function

It’s amazing that even these forces of policing where only recently became known to mankind

As there are cultures, still, for which these kinds of formations remain unknown. There are no words to describe such.

Maybe if ours was a more just society the so-called criminal element could not exist.

21. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Not going to add much. You can stop reading now 🙂

U kno if they brek in de house to recuver a janitorial pail, they tek up anything that wuz small and of a greater value.

And if they brek in de house when dey want, u kno them ent fraid police action. Dey prolly had an armed police escort.

Next time she visit the police stations they gun stell she”2009? Dat is old technology. Dem things don’t work no mo, move on. Well de paintings is annuder story. You doing well widdout de painting. Move on”

Wuhloss, the plot thickens

22. The Prospers are wrong.The law comes down in favour if the tenant.Assuming the contract of rental permits the landlord to enter the premises with or without notice(seems the tenant was off island and without a contact),the Prospers should have exercised caution by having a an officer of the court present.There is no independent bailiff or police officer to bear witness to the events.The tenant should file a reasonable claim for loss of property and personal injury with costs.

23. Well Well

It is readily apparent that you really do not understand landlord and tenant housing contractual agreements.

The circumstance surrounding the case does not warrent police intervenation and if we believe what the person stated is true then we can all agree that the landlord violated the terms of the housing agreement by failing to file a notice to quit possession. So what if the landlord couldn’t get in contact with the tenant and there was an emergency in the tenant dwelling? Too many unanswered questions here!

24. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Dompey
    Leh me mek it simple for ya.
    The story has three players not two (1=Landlord, 2=tenant, 3=thieves)
    Suppose the tenant had a Porsche in the garage, you telling me they could tek that also and it would be incorrect to go to the police to recover it?
    If the answer is no, then they should have not stolen smaller stuff.

Btw: If you have a porsche, I have a place to rent to you.

25. Anonymous
    Let me say this: lf the landlord has reasonable cause to believe that a tenant has abandoned the property he can enter the tenant dwelling, and in this case, it was stated that the tenant went on vacation overseas .Now, it does seem though that you haven’t the sightest clue as to what constitutes housing law. The landlord has the right to hire who he wishes to help him move the tenants belongings from his property. However the landlord responsibilities also includes notifying his tenants prior to moving any of their belongings from his property, then store all items that belong to the tenant, and last but not least, file for an itemized list of any damages of the property including storage fee of the tenants property. (These funds are all deducted from the Security Deposit) Therefore the court allows the landlord the right to take out a lien on a tenant property if there is an outstanding bill and who knows if one such lien was taken out in this case because all of the facts aren’t clear.

26. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Dompey
    Last attempt. You getting it, but not there yet.

Tenant’s property not stored. Stolen.

Put aside your US model…

27. @ Dompey

Are you a kunt?

Seems like you need to keep off the people Facking blog.

28. Truth

You ain’t say aa ting but running yah sinking mout? Man you is aa bare Johnie… do you know anything at tall bout housing law and have you ever been before a judge in housing fah you tah come hare open yah cesspool mout?

29. Truth

Man get out out here brother man because you need tah get off de people blog because you haven’t contributed aa ting on housing law than tah open yah cesspool mout and stink up de blog.

30. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

You all are learning , keep watching and posting, Not so Royal,

31. The bottom-line is if the landlord has clear evidence that the tenant has abandoned his property ( and there is a clear indication that this has happened from the tenant’s statement that she and her son wents overseas) he has all right under housing law to remove such property but under an order from a judge. But the more important question we ought to ask ourselves is this: did the tenant violated any of the terms of the housing agreement while she was overseas on vacation? And were there a clause in the rental agreement instructing the tenant to give notice either written or verbal if she intended to go on vacation overseas? We already established the fact that the landlord was wrong for moving the tenant’s belongs without a court order, but the tenant is also at fault as well, but she fails to tell us in what way.

32. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Abandon is not the same thing as a vacation.
    Taking you vacation overseas does not mean you abandon your property.
    No agreement would tell a client he/she cannot take a vacation.
    How do you know she did not tell the landlord she was going overseas?
    “Tenant is also at fault, but fails to tell us in what way”. How do you know? Do you have another source of information?
    Your bottom line is …wrong.

33. The language. If people had to identify themselves they would be more temperate in their language. Because they are anonymous, they let rip. Sekf discipline and common politeness are called for.

34. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Ha…. I seem to recall a few bloggers saying that Bajans from a certain area use a lot of foul language. It may be the standard way of communicating.

35. Police want to stop responding to the thousands of fender benders they are called to each year.

The plea was made by public relations officer, Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss, during a National Consultation on Traffic Management held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre yesterday evening.
    He said responding to these minor accidents was putting too much strain on the Royal Barbados Police Force’s resources.
    “We investigate almost 8 000 accidents annually and out of that number, 74 per cent are fender benders. We spend a lot of our time and resources investigating fender benders and we are suggesting that that service be removed. We want the public to understand that the police should not be involved in fender benders,” he said in his contribution from the audience. (Quote)

The answer is simple. Police are only called out for insurance purposes. The way to stop this is by the police invoicing the offender’s insurance company for their services.
    The QEH should also do the same. Once this is done, the insurance companies will either stop insisting on police reports, which they often go on to ignore, or increase charges for motor insurance. If they do the latter, drivers will settle matters among themselves.