broken-trident
Broken Trident

In relatively recent times, more individuals than one have expressed their consternation with the emblem of the broken trident in the national flag, and its representation in the recently revealed National Monument, claiming an association thereby with Satanism.

Given that there has been no general protest during the previous fifty years of its existence, and given that any depiction of Satan and therefore of whatever objects he may not may not carry is clearly a matter purely of artistic imagination and creative impression, this current outcry during the jubilee of our Independent status might be considered as premised exclusively on zealous excess and may perhaps be owed to the increased visibility of the national standard at this time.

As most of us have learnt, the broken trident signifies principally the delinking of Barbados from Great Britain, whose female personification was Britannia, which served as an emblem of British power. Some may recall the jingoistic boast at the height of Empire that “Britannia rules the waves…”. Britannia carries a three pronged fork or trident in most depictions; an implement that is also carried by Neptune, or his Greek counterpart, Poseidon.

The link of Barbados to the trident of Britannia has been emphasized time and again throughout our history, once finding pride of place on our colonial flag, on the colonial badge, on our coinage, and on our stamps. Any internet Google search for the images of “seal of the Colony of Barbados” will cogently reveal this association.

So far as the link to Satan is concerned, one historian’s answer to the question, “Why is the Devil often portrayed with a pitchfork?” on the website “Ask Historians” makes for intriguing reading.

According to the narrative, “most of the physical features of the modern image of the Devil developed through the mediaeval period as the Devil became more real to Christians as he began to stalk the earth in the minds of ecclesiastics”. He notes that “these physical features are not of Biblical representation”.

Since there was no text to provide guidance as to the appropriate representation, mediaevalists were constrained to revert to formalism– the way of interpreting literature or art that stresses the heavy or exclusive dominance of traditional standard images or motifs, perpetual coded formulas of representation and description. According to one mediaevalist, Norman Cantor, “the traditional standardized images and motifs are privileged and centered in this view of mediaeval visual and literary art while individual creativity and original discovery are marginalized or excluded altogether”.

He views this formalist approach as ideological –“ the great preponderance of images and motifs was inherited from Greco –Roman Classical art and literature or from the thought world of the Church Fathers…which in turn was a product of the interaction of Biblical ideas with the classical tradition”.

Given this thesis, it should be unsurprising that most depictions of Jesus and Mary are cast in their traditional purely Caucasian form and it might equally be considered prudent on the part of Islam to regard any man-made image or representation of the Prophet to be blasphemous.

Earliest 10th century representations of the Devil depict him with a three-pronged pitchfork, herding souls away from Jesus and steering them into Hell.

According to one historian, Jeffrey Burton Russell, the Devil’s “pitchfork” derives in part from the ancient trident, such as that carried by Poseidon that symbolizes threefold power over the Earth air and sea [Greek mythology], in part from symbols of death, and in part from the instruments used in hell for the torture of the damned [ Biblical ideas].

Conversely, the anonymous author of the piece queries “if the devil were to be made to appear in the real world, why should not that image appear in the real world?”.

His thesis is that the Romans had a two-pronged pitchfork for light work but. in Northern Europe , where the soil was heavier and more clayey, the three-pronged pitchfork was developed in the early middle ages.

He reasons that farming communities grew up around the mediaeval abbeys, thus suffusing the daily existence of their inhabitants, the monastics, with the sights, sounds and smells of the peasantry and rural life. Pitchforks would have been a frequent sight in these environs.

Given that the pitchfork of the Devil first appeared in the second half of the early Middle Ages in the minds of ecclesiastical writers and artists; the monks and bishops, he queries whether these creative would not have more likely drawn their inspiration from the peasantry whom they saw daily than from Greek and Roman images of a millennium before.

Indeed, he compares the use of the fork by the Devil to winnow or shepherd away the souls of the ungodly with a passage from the Gospel of Matthew that employs the identical imagery from the opposite perspective-

“His winnowing fork is in His hand to clear His threshing floor and to gather His wheat into the barn; but He will burn up the chaff with unquenchable fire.”

According to the thesis of the author, in the portrayal of good and evil “good” is mainly associated with the rich who are thought of as pure and the determiners of what is good and what is evil. The “bad” is associated with all those others who were not similarly blessed to have been born wealthy and thus have to work for a living. Their habits were also seen as bad. According to accepted dogma, the ultimate symbols of bad or evil were hell and the Devil. Hence, according to his argument, the pitchfork used by the poor peasants became associated with evil because of its association with what the good in society considered “bad”.

This attractive argument, in my view, serves to refute the affirmation that the trident on our flag is to be associated with Devil worship as some have posited. In any case, the broken trident should logically suggest that we have weaned ourselves away from what the unbroken object is assumed to signify, in this case, Evil.

It is with some hesitation that I make this last point however, since the broken trident in our flag is supposed to denote a political advance on our former status in those days when the entire trident was an integral part of our landmarks. And yet we have seen it fit to retain the epitome of Britannia in the personages of Her Majesty, her heirs and assigns as our Head of state in perpetuity. One may well ask, “Is the trident really broken?”

69 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Symbolism of the Broken Trident”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Those thieving animals would always want to blame Obama for doing the right thing, their ancestors were thieves, they are thieves, their descendants for generations to come will be thieves….the curse of thievery is deeply encoded in their DNA.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A personal thank you letter from the Sioux Indian Tribe to those worldwide who was strong enough to stand for something and stand with them.

“Yesterday we were notified that the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers will not grant the easement to cross Lake Oahe for the Dakota Access pipeline. Instead, they will prepare an Environmental Impact Statement regarding alternative routes for the pipeline. This action strongly vindicates what the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe has been saying all along – that we all have a responsibility to protect our waters for future generations.

This is an historic moment. For centuries, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and tribes across the country, have faced fundamental injustice at the hands of the federal government – which time and again took our lands and tried to destroy our way of life. Our Treaties and our human rights were ignored, our interests in protecting lands and waters were considered unimportant, and our voices were not heard.

It was this shared history that led Tribes to come together as never before to seek the protection of our waters against the threat of the Dakota Access pipeline. With peace and prayer, indigenous people from hundreds of Tribes said: our future is too important. We can no longer be ignored. The goal was to protect these sacred waters, and to do so in the name of our children.

And, with yesterday’s decision, it is clear that our voices have at long last been heard.

Yesterday’s decision demonstrates that, despite all the challenges that Tribes face and all of the terrible wrongs the federal government has committed in dealing with us over the years, justice for Indian people still remains possible. My thanks to the Obama Administration, and particularly to Assistant Secretary Darcy, for upholding the law and doing the right thing.

Yesterday’s decision belongs in large measure to the thousands of courageous people who put their lives on hold to stand with Standing Rock in support of a basic principle — that water is life. At Standing Rock, our youth played an important role in spreading our message and I am so proud of what they have been able to accomplish.

But Standing Rock could not have come this far alone. Hundreds of tribes came together in a display of tribal unity not seen in hundreds of years. And many thousands of indigenous people from around the world have prayed with us and made us stronger. I am grateful to each of you. And, as we turn a page with yesterday’s decision, I look forward to working with many of you as you return to your home communities to protect your lands and waters, and the sovereignty of your tribes.

My thanks to all of our allies, here and around the world, each of whom contributed to this effort. I want to give a special mention to the veterans who have come to Standing Rock in recent days. I am sure that the strength of your message in support of Standing Rock, and the rights of the Water Protectors, had a powerful impact as the Army made its decision. I appreciate all you have done.

While today is a great day, there is still much that needs to be done to protect Tribal rights and ensure justice for indigenous people everywhere. Using peace and prayer as our guideposts, and with the teachings of our elders and with inspiration from our youth, I believe there is much we can accomplish for the future.”

Sincerely,
    Dave Archambault, II, Chairman
    Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

3. Pacha;
    At the time of Independence, (the Act gave us Independence) there was a National Competition; open to all persons, to design a National Flag, compose an anthem, design a Coat of ARMS, AND COMPOSE A NATIONAL PLEDGE. A COMMITTEE CHOSE THE ONES WE HAVE FROM THOUSANDS OF ENTRIES SUBMITTED FOR EACH OF THE ABOVE MENTIONED CATEGORIES. ONE OUR OLDEST STAMPS CARRIES AN image of “Britannia riding the waves, seated in a chariot and holding a Trident (unbroken) in one of her hands, and a shield (with the imprimatur of the British flag, in the other. of St in the other. This was the world we lived in before the Independence order of 1966. “The moving finger writes, and having writ moves on; nor all thy wit nor party can move it back to cancel half a line…”(The Rubaiyat of Omar Khyyam).

Well Well,
    In this contribution from you: The think you ; “This is an historic moment. For centuries, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and tribes across the country, have faced fundamental injustice at the hands of the federal government – which time and again took our lands and tried to destroy our way of life. Our Treaties and our human rights were ignored, our interests in protecting lands and waters were considered unimportant, and our voices were not heard.”

I stand in solidarity with the Sioux and those who fought this fight. For years I have been agonizing over the Genocide the white man has visited on the thousands of Indigenous peoples of the United States. I have felt deeply the wrongs perpetrated against them, and chronicled in such books as Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, and the Trail of Tears; which I have previously recommended to readers of BU. At last the world is taking notice of these wrongs. But the People of the United States have still ignored the rights of the Indians and the wrongs committed against them, nor have they apologized for these years of injustice. This year another Presidential election took place, and nowhere has there been mention of any role to be played by any Indian in the discussions of this election. Have you seen any Indian brought into any discussion of their future in the governance of the country forcibly taken from them, on any media forum? When will this be changed?
    Dompey: Add to your booklist, a copy of the Doctrine of Manifest Destiny.
    And people SHOULD indeed give “two flying kicks”, Symbols and symbolism are part of life and living, and should be part of daily living in n “Independent” country. Good, Bad, Or Indifferent, it is OURS, and must be respected; even if some mY NOT AGREE WITH IT.
    Jeff, pay no attention to Miller”the anananuki.” consider where he came from.

4. Alvin Cummings

Ageism gives you no right to presume to have some unknown historical process to tell us about.

You are in no such position. And even if you were we’ll reject you, and your compliant mentality.

Is this idea not possible?

Could it not be possible for there to be a competition, as cover, for people who are engaged in the world of ‘secrets’ to determine which national symbols we choose? Be not naive!

Do you not know that the British for hundreds of years used lodges as a central part of their intelligence networks that supported empire?

And if the recent histories show that the CIA, and not Errol Barrow nor anybody else, was the real force behind the preponderance of independence declarations, why is it not possible that those patsies, lodge men, could have created the nonsense of a set of competitions to impose their lodge symbologies?

Competitions what? Do you really think your lodge boys will leave something like this to chance? If so, then you have to answer why at least 2 of the 3 symbols were ‘designed’ or ‘written’ by lodge men?

You seem to be yourself a lodge man.

Stop interfering with us unless yuh want us to start telling yuh brassbowl lodge secrets right here on BU.

5. Pacha,
    Because in those days the conspiracy theories you concoct did not have bearing on the day to day lives of us poor people. We were too concerned with getting our daily bread, and seeking an education, than to be party to such machinations. In those days the “lodges” were not consumed with indoctrinating us, because they were not party to any Independence movements. They were too opposed to us becoming independent, so that they could maintain the control they already had. Contrary to your opinion, it is precisely because of my age that I can tell you about the history of the country. Not having lived it you have to be taught by people like me, because WE have lived it.I am not a lodge man; never was, never will be, but I am aware of the focus, function, and machinations of lodges and lodge persons. All the persons who fomented the American revolution, were Lodge men. Read their histories and biographies. Read up on the Illuminata, and understand the world and how it is manipulated. You do need to be taught.

6. ◄ Deuteronomy 7:26 ►
    “Neither shall you bring an abomination into your house, lest you be a cursed thing like it: but you shall utterly detest it, and you shall utterly abhor it; for it is a cursed thing.”

Could this prohibition likely apply also to the ‘Trident’ broken or otherwise? After all, it is a Pagan symbol, which carries with it certain curses!

It is EITHER/OR, but most certainly NOT Both/And!

7. Do not stop Alvin. That is why they have to speak in plurality. Take their brains and put them inside the head of a rat, that rat would walk straight into the cat’s mouth!!!

8. So is the cross a pagan symbol which carried with it demonic forces now shrouded in spirutality and is a recogonizable and acceptable symbol in Christainity.

9. A very beneficial sign……

Neptune is the eighth furthest planet from the sun in our solar system, the fourth largest in diameter and the third most massive. The planet is named after the Roman God of the Sea, Neptune.

Neptune was discovered in 1848 and is considered a “new” planet by astrologers as obviously, prior to its discovery it was not used in astrological calculations. Therefore, opinion on how Neptune affects a chart may vary from one astrologer to the next and some do not take Neptune into account at all.

Neptune rules the imagination, dreams and visions and their expression through art, dance, music, poetry, etc. In a personal chart, Neptune can point to areas where a person may have problems seeing through illusion as well as where someone will find their best creative expression. Those who have a strong Neptune influence may have a spiritual calling or be drawn toward mysticism.

Neptune takes about 14 years to complete its journey through any one sign and is thus considered a “generational planet”, exerting its force on an entire generation. Since Neptune rules imagination and its expression, the fashionable movies, music, art, etc. of a generation can be influenced by what sign Neptune is in. Neptune also affects a generations idealist attitudes and points to areas where a generation will find dissatisfaction with the status quo.

Neptune – Witchipedia
    http://www.witchipedia.com/planet:neptune
    The online encyclopedia of Witchcraft, Paganism and the occult. Create account … The planet is named after the Roman God of the Sea, Neptune. Neptune was …

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 8, 2016 at 1:51 PM
    “So is the cross a pagan symbol which carried with it demonic forces now shrouded in spirutality and is a recogonizable and acceptable symbol in Christainity.”

Ac, that is the most intelligently profound comment you have ever made on BU. Keep it up and you might just shed your yard-fowl feathers and be ordained into the hallowed halls of the intelligentsia. Even Bush Tea would be the doorman to welcome your arrival.

But you beat me to it. I was responding to one of your “other kind” of posts, the regular diet of bland stupidity.

Poor Zoe and most likely Lemuel, his old choir boy, are so blindly ignorant about the history of Christianity that they fail to see that Jesus their dear friend and saviour was crucified on a symbol of paganism called the Tau.

Even his birth is a pagan festival when the Sun in all its majesty is born again in the eyes of Northern man.

Christianity is nothing more than paganism outfitted in new solar robes to recognize its dominant presence in the constellation of Pisces, the Age of the Fish so esoterically represented in Jesus being aptly referred to as the fisher of men and assertively depicted in the Pope’s mitre the very embodiment of St. Peter the Fisherman and Dagon the pagan fish-god Dagon of the Babylonians .

It’s a pity that fools like Zoe have been told (much against the wishes of the man who died on the Tau (Mother Earth) that “On this rock I shall build my Church”:

“He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am?
    And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.
    And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.
    And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.
    And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.
    Then charged he his disciples that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ.”

11. However Miller Zoe will respond by saying that the Cross was washed with the blood of the lamb by the blood of Jesus Christ and no longer has the plague of demoic forces and controlled over the lives of name . Jesus death and crucifixion on the cross was a symbolic form of restoration giving new life to man for redemption an authoritive control over any demonic forces

12. It’s a pity that fools like Zoe have been told (much against the wishes of the man who died on the Tau (Mother Earth) that “On this rock I shall build my Church”:

“He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am?
    And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.
    And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.
    And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.
    And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.
    Then charged he his disciples that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ.”

Miller- Chimp, If you could only know and understand, the above quoted verses from Matthew 16: 13-20, and the true ‘Spiritual’ significance of what transpired from that time and on-wards to this very day; BUT, Naki-Naki, you continue in your folly of foolishness, “…and their foolish hearts were DARKENED, Professing to be wise, they became FOOLS.” (Rom. 1: 21b, 22).

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe December 9, 2016 at 10:52 AM
    “Unlike you Zoe, I know and understand through science- a branch of knowledge you despise with religious zealotry- that human beings share 98%, or thereabout, genetic congruence with chimps. If you want to be a god and award me the additional 2 %, so be it.”

Since you were the scribe present at the meeting taking copious notes of the discussions Jesus had with his disciples you then must be the one who went contrary to what Jesus instructed. That is, not to reveal to any man other than those initiated that he was the son of god and not of man and “that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ”.
    Were you the Judas that betrayed your Saviour by calling him Jesus the Christ right before the Sanhedrin?

Tell us Zoe, tell the BU spiritual idiots what Jesus really meant which he wanted kept as a spiritual secret hidden from the understanding of ‘other men’ (not women) and chimps?
    Maybe the keys he gave to Simon Peter are the same two keys that hierophant of the Christian religion carries as proof of his authority from Heaven and as of Jesus’s representative on Earth.

Now you have learnt a little something don’t let it go to your head and prove the old Bajan saying to be true: ‘A little learning can be a dangerous thing’.

14. Zoe

Wait a minute was this virgin birth story plagiarised or does it happen everso often?

Virgin Birth: It’s Pagan, Guys. Get Over It. – Richard Carrier
    1-dot
    Richard Carrier · Virgin Birth: It’s Pagan, Guys. Get Over It.

http://www.richardcarrier.info/archives/11161

15. @ Naki-Chimp,

#sciencefact: Humans share approximately 98% of their DNA with chimps, 70% with slugs, and 50% with bananas! http://bit.ly/qsWX8p

Naki-Chimp, I now know where your sliminess and slipperyness comes from! You are one slimy, slippery, Chimpanze!!

16. @Naki-Chimp-Miller,

Can you understand the following, or, is your Chimp-Brain too Slippery and Slimy to grasp and hold such truth concerning Jesus, the Christ, at that point in time?

Bengel’s Gnomen
    Matthew 16:20. Μηδενὶ, to no one) Jesus had not, even to His apostles, said that He was the Christ, but He left it that they might discover it themselves from the testimony of facts.

It was not suitable, therefore, that that should be openly told by the apostles to others before His resurrection, which was to corroborate the whole testimony to the fact of His being the Christ.[753]

For he who injudiciously propounds a mystery to those who do not comprehend it, injures both himself and others. Had they done so, those who believed in any way that Jesus was the Christ might have sought for an earthly kingdom with seditious uproar; whilst the rest, and by far the greater number, might have rejected such a Messiah at that time more vehemently, and have been guilty of greater sin in crucifying Him, so as to have had the door of repentance less open to them for the future.

Afterwards,[754] the apostles openly bore witness to this truth.—ὁ Χριστὸς, the Christ) Soon after the disciples had acknowledged and confessed that Jesus was the Christ, He exhibited to them His transfiguration (ch. Matthew 17:1-5), and openly spoke of Himself among them as the Christ; see Mark 9:41, and John 17:3.

17. I wonder if this is Zoes ministry??
    Of note that Barbadian churches to a large extent are part of this movement….nuff said

In the history of the church, there have always been fringe groups characterized by superstition, private revelations and an emphasis on experience, rather than on Scripture. These range from the Gnostics in biblical times, to the Quakers in the 1600s, and now in our day the Charismatic Movement. But what distinguishes the Charismatic Movement from those others in history, is that it has spread and now a large portion of the professing church identifies as such. This topic is so very important, particularly because Barbadian churches to a large extent are part of this movement.

Understandably this article maybe met with some apprehension. But we at Truth and Love implore our brothers and sisters to equip themselves with this knowledge. We hope that this would spark in you an even greater desire to know the history of Christ’s church, and gain better discernment of truth from error.

Truth and Love!
    https://truthloveministries.wordpress.com/2016/11/28/three-waves-of-the-charismatic-movement/