The following comment was posted to the Trade Unions Baring Teeth on the Eve of 50th Independence Celebration blog in response to a newspaper article that appeared in the traditional media – Barbados Underground

Joyann Inniss claims that she and other members of the executive of NUPW were left out of meetings but did she say which meetings? I am aware that a meeting of the union’s National Council was summoned in response to Akanni’s reversion. It is my understanding that there was no quorum because Joyann and a number of other Dems stayed outside and the meeting was therefore abandoned.

The union summoned another meeting and she did not attend. At that meeting, the council passed a resolution giving the secretariat the right to institute industrial action. Maybe, Ms Inniss should attend the meetings if she wanted to know what was going on.

The meeting that she seems to be complaining about would have been a meeting of union leaders that was held at NUPW headquarters. It was not a meeting of the union’s executive or National Council where she would have a right to attend. I attended that meeting in my capacity as General Secretary of Unity Workers Union along with the heads of other unions. She is not the head of any union and was not invited. Roslyn Smith attended in her capacity as GS of NUPW. The Dems would not stop spreading misinformation.

34 responses to “Head of Unity Workers Union Caswell Franklyn Rejects Joy-ann Inniss Claim”

1. NUPW executive rubbishes charges

By Sandy Deane on Nov 27, 2016 05:21 pm

screenxshotx2016-06-20xatx8-13-57xpm-650x584Vice President of the National Union of Public Workers  (NUPW) Asokore Beckles is staying clear of recent allegations levelled by his colleague Joyann Inniss that some union officials were acting inappropriately on a number of issues Last Friday, Inniss, the NUPW’s first Vice President told Barbados TODAY that she and some senior officers had been […]

Read in browser »

2. Joyann inniss comments made reference to a meeting between BSTU the BWU the BUT and the NUPW to which she was not invited any thing else which Caswell has mentioned in the article dealing with Joyann not in attendance or uninvited is pure speculation on Caswell part
    The lady is dealing with protocol and Caswell has geared up and mounted his high horse to spew political pablum

3. Askore Beckles rubbish charges yet McDowell states that Joyann public statements will be taken tothe National Council for discussion

Caution..where there is smoke there is fire

4. @ AC

Read again the Barbados Today online article Askore Beckles said that he would not respond to Donville Inniss public comments and he would take those to the National Council for discussion.

However he responded to Johann Inniss’ comments.

5. Truth ..i read them but as i cautioned earlier the top brass would be spewing their version via media outlets to cover their a.sses .
    Now u have Caswell taking on the role of PR publicist /spokes person for NUPW giving a version only known to himself absent of relevant facts.. and askore beckles hidding behind selfserving terminolgy akin to nothingness

6. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Barbados first DBLP LAST. remove them all.

7. Joyann inniss comments made reference to a meeting between BSTU the BWU the BUT and the NUPW to which she was not invited any thing else which Caswell has mentioned in the article dealing with Joyann not in attendance or uninvited is pure speculation on Caswell part
    The lady is dealing with protocol and Caswell has geared up and mounted his high horse to spew political pablum”

“Fools rush in where angels fear to tread.” It would do you a world of good if you bear that in mind.

8. With all due respect to Comrade Franklyn:Can he honestly
    identify a period on the last 30 years when unions
    did not dance to the tune of their political masters
    In one form or another?
    What is currently happening is politics in and politics out
    out. This is true from both the union and the
    government. Both parties have political agendas.
    Comrade Franklyn is way too experienced not to
    know this. Quite frankly I think the entire country
    knows that both sides are playing “Gotcha”(got yuh)

9. Charles Skeete instead of rushing in to attack my comments why dont u like every one else who is rushing to be spokepersons for the NUPW give your version.My comments reference to what Joyann statementswhether u agree or not is entirely up to you.
    Nothing i wrote is speculation or based on my personal opinions
    Unfortunately when a group or organization acts out of pretenious motives sooner or later the sh.it would seep out and all hell would break out.
    The NUPW has made a decision to put the country intetest under tremendous strees resulting with cracks within their organization that would create an uncessary implosion

10. One important issue is why the government is trapped like a rabbit in oncoming headlights.

11. @ AC
    Charles said that ‘fools rush in where angels fear to tread…’
    What he may not know, is that wherever YOU rush in, a fool is automatically treading….

There therefore is some use for yard fowls ….since the politicians get to enjoy ‘treading’ wunna each and every day…

12. @ Hal Austin

This DLP government is trapped because leadership became vacant at the death of Thompson, this present unresponsive so call leader/PM don’t have the ability to engage far less recognize any trap ,

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

William Skinner November 28, 2016 at 9:07 AM #
    With all due respect to Comrade Franklyn:Can he honestly
    identify a period on the last 30 years when unions
    did not dance to the tune of their political masters
    In one form or another?

William

The simple answer is NO.

I joined NUPW in 1980 and throughout the period from then until the last election, the President was either a member or supporter of the DLP or someone who hated Tom Adams (Nigel). It would have remained so if Akanni did not have some falling-out with the DLP.

Having a president of NUPW that is not loyal to the DLP is unfamiliar territory for the Dems. This has given them reason to panic and that is why they have set out to destroy and Akanni. The DLP sponsored no-confidence motion against him failed mainly because the Opposition office worked the phones in order to mobilise their members to come out in support of Akanni.

When the DLP believed that Akanni was one of their supporters, there was no objection to him being placed in the acting position. Now that he has come out in support of the workers at Sanitation, in particular, they moved swiftly and illegally to remove him.

The next target will be Toni Moore since she has publicly declared that she is non aligned. Frank Walcott aligned BWU to the DLP out of hatred for Grantley Adams who refused to make Walcott a minister while serving as general secretary. That was the philosophical divide between BWU and BLP. After Walcott, the BWU remained faithful to the DLP with Leroy Trotman as General Secretary.

14. Lol Mia was a link in the human change .why am i laughing because she told the whole of barbados that she would not participate in the celebration.

15. @ Caswell

Point taken . However let us remember
    that Obrian Trotman was there while the
    BLP was in opposition and he became a minister after they won in 1976. Now
    as I recall the same political dancing was
    taking place in relation to the legislating
    of salaries by Barrow which the Leadership
    of the NUPW opposed.
    After winning the government Tom
    also legislated salaries!
    So pretending that political dancing by
    the unions is of recent vintage is one
    big joke.

16. Speaking of Nigel,I recall him saying…”de garbage must stink”,and threatened that householders will be required to open their garbage bags for inspection by the truckers.
    Well Tom dealt him one hammer of a blow…he said ‘ah Nigel,sit down there at that desk,and um ah,draft the new laws to regulate the gambling industry’.And lol and behold,nothing further was heard from and of Nigel……to this day.

17. @ Caldwell
    We must also look at the response of the broader
    membership to union representation. When the
    party they support is in opposition, they tend to
    be more responsive to union action. When their
    party is in government, they are less responsive.
    So we have real opportunism from all sections
    within the union.
    From my experience. the only trade union
    leader who never displayed such opportunistic
    tendencies, was Comrade John Cumberbatch
    who was head of the BUT.

18. My apologies I meant @Caswell.Thanks

19. @William

Not understanding you line of argument.

Are you saying that trade unions cannot be effective if aligned to a political party?

Was that John Cumberbatch who became an outcast and dropout?

20. @ David
    I am saying no such thing. I merely stated that
    they all do political dances.
    As for your comment about Comrade Cumberbatch.
    My pen is trained not to dignify such comments
    with a response.

21. @William

What informs the behaviour of political dancing?

Why would you not want to address the John Cumberbatch comment? We know he was a good BUT leader BUT some of us are curious what drove him to retreat to an extreme behaviour. Was there a relationship between his non align position? Why is it when we have to discuss the hard issues people like you with information retreat?

22. @ David
    Children live what they learn The current group of
    trade unionists are following the examples that
    went before them. That is where the dancing
    comes from.

23. The point you are trying to make remains an elusive one. Maybe others will understand.

24. We all know John Cumberbatch was a bright young man, Maybe the pressure of fighting the establishment drove him to drugs? We need a serious conversation about the strain is has on our leaders; the independent minded ones. Maybe you can toss in being a blogmaster of BU :-).

25. Is this the same Joy-Ann Inniss that part of the rift back in June regarding the no-confidence motion against Mr. McDowall? Mr. Skeete, what nonsense you coming up with talking about “protocol”. If it was a breach, it would have to be the said Ms. Inniss rushing to the press talking about any action regarding port and airport workers and talking about the Union should have dialogue first. Was she not privy to information regarding the outcome of the talks where both parties agree to the percentage of payment only to be informed that agreement should be on par with other civil servants?
    Isn’t she aware all the unions are taking a stand based on principle and not political postering that she have aligned herself to along with the exposed Mr. Skeete and not missing out the loyalist ac.
    BTW. Based on Caswell statement. Every Union leader openly aligned themselves with a political party but remain neutral whilst dealing with Union matters.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Tell me Why

You said,

“Based on Caswell statement. Every Union leader openly aligned themselves with a political party but remain neutral whilst dealing with Union matters”.

When did I make such a statement?

27. David:

John Cumberbatch tenure as a trade unionist was destined to fail. The powers that be invested Tom with the venom and he was followed by the rest of the dems: ronald jone, harry husbands, the wig woman, the one that ran against hammy la!!! His heart was in a good place.

28. Thanks Lemuel, a good man but like you said swimming alone against the current.

29. @ David
    Thanks Lemuel, a good man but like you said swimming alone against the current.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Put a “BBE whacker” in his hands and we would have seen a completely different story…
    If only we could get Pacha, Caswell, Walter and Jeff to understand this…. 🙂

30. Ok Caswell, don’t get uptight. You did mentioned the various leaders who had party affiliations. The part with being neutral was my observations where Walcott and Trotman actually marched against the status quo. My humblest apology.

31. joyann inniss advised against taking action for Mr. MCDONALD AND she was correct in her assessment of the situation