Submitted by Heather Cole

Several months ago, I wrote an article entitled Independence: A Blessing or a Curse. The next week, it was my intent to write an article on how the banking sector fits into the equation. I also intended to put in an insert from my manuscript. Then I wanted to include Ann Riley-Fox’s story. However, I kept putting it off. The news I received yesterday was not good. Here is what I may have written months ago. Maybe now it is being written at an opportune time.

My earliest memory of a financial institution was not pretty. It was about the Civic Society in Bridgetown.

The Civic Society was located on the corner of the eastern end of Eastern end of Swan Street. There were few banks back then and many people including my mother saved some of their wages there. I do not know how much she was paid -it never entered my mind to ask but I believe that it was not much. However, she set aside a little each week to deposit at the Civic Society in Bridgetown. Maybe she was saving to buy a house for our education or just saving for a rainy day. I do not remember how old I was but one Saturday when she went to deposit some money the Civic Society was closed. There was no notice on the door to advise if the institution was closed or relocated. In dramatic fashion Civic Society just disappeared. It never reopened. Gone were her life savings –so too the life savings of many poor Barbadians. How much I do not know. I was too young to understand. I do not recall if she cried, if so not in my presence.

Thoughts of it now that I am grown would put me in despair if every cent I possessed disappeared into thin air. I do not remember if the newspaper carried a story about it. We never found out what happened to the money. It was just gone, probably into someone’s pockets. As far as I am aware no one was ever held accountable for what happen to that money. Maybe it was a secret someone took to their grave. After that, for the rest of her working life, my mother never trusted any financial institution and saved her money at home until she retired and her pension had to be deposited into a bank account.

It was not the last time Barbadians suffered losses through financial institutions. It has happened with banks and insurances companies and the results were always the same; the people are the ones who loose and are not protected to prevent future reoccurrences. The biggest of these to date has been the CLICO scandal.

It would be remiss of me not to look at the role played by the banking sector in a post-independence Barbados. With an excess of 15 billion in liquidity banks have very restrictive, deceptive and abusive lending practices or refuse to lend to black Barbadians. They have always portrayed a lack of corporate social responsibility to the poor. In our 50th year of independence it is a crying shame that there is no legislation to ensure that the banks meet the entire credit needs of the communities that they serve. There is no Equal Credit Opportunity Act. By now the banks should have been meeting the credit needs by providing services and consumer loans to low and moderate income areas. They willing open their hands to receive money so to add to their savings or reinvest but hardly lend to the poor black community. One reason why black entrepreneurs and business persons have not grown significantly is because of restrictive banking policies.

There is however another occurrence that the banking sector seems to have escaped unscathed with their reputation intact, people are ashamed to have themselves identified as victims. It is known as foreclosure or the banks taking up a person’s house. Whatever you may call it; we seem not to want to discuss it. Yet thousands of Barbadians have lost their homes due to the harsh economic environment that has caused them to lose their jobs.

Ann Riley-Fox, who was a successful black business woman in Barbados, yesterday she lost her fight with First Caribbean International Bank who unceremoniously evicted her from her property. A change in the business policies of the bank negatively affected her as a black business person. It was as though she was targeted and set up for failure. I said she lost her fight but what I really intend to say is that her fight must now become the fight of every Barbadian, those who have lost their homes, those who are losing their homes and those who do not know if and when they will lose their jobs which will jeopardize their mortgage. It is time to cast off our shame and rise up and fight back restrictive policies that for far too long have never been in our favour. Some may argue that we have credit unions but what good are credit unions that turn around and bank your saving with the banks that are against your growth, economic independence and advancement?

The very fact that black banks are growing now in the USA should be taken note of. We spend half off our lives working and saving our money at these commercial banks, then for 20 years or so pay them a mortgage. Then one day you lose your job and what happens the bank forgets the good times in a flash. It is time that Barbadians to pool their resources to form their own bank and withdraw their finances from the foreign commercial banks . It is my hope that the Fairness Committee will examine this and other initiatives.

96 responses to “Exposing Our Shame”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That was indeed predatory lending by the bakn to steal that woman’s properties, as long as the process was ongoing, she was the fly caught in the trap and I understand that is exactly how the banks in Barbados operate with black people and their properties and have for decades.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Had to do a little research but what the banksters in Barbados are practicing against the people is not banking, they are gangster banksters engaging in whole sale loan sharking, which should be a crime in Barbados….

……. no wonder the foreign banks refuse to leave the island, the thieves found themselves in the land of milk and honey…… weak people, most unknowing about their basic human rights and are not equipped to fight back, dishonest lawyers,, weaker compromised leaders, a weak and a compromised judiciary, what more could those banksters hope and pray for…that’s a loan shark’s paradise.

The people on the island whose money cause these banks to be in existence can bring the banksters to their knees, now that it has all finally been exposed.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/20/duprey-leads-efforts-to-buy-back-cl-companies-from-tt-govt/

Speaking about scam artist and thieves and exposing shame.

4. @Hal Austin
    There are enormous opportunities for development in Guyana, if only they can rid themselves of the racist politics. Canada is a second rate country, which punches above its weight in the Caribbean
    +++++++++
    What a dogmatic statement from a supposed journalist. You don’t build up a country by tearing down another, Canada “punches above its weight” in the Caribbean because it established a Trading, Banking and cultural relationship with Caribbean countries many years ago. RBC has been in Barbados for 100 years and counting, Air Canada (formerly Trans Canada Airlines) has been flying an established route to Barbados for many years, Scotiabank expanded the area of consumer banking that helped many Bajans to own vehicles, travel, renovate their homes, educate their children and obtain mortgages, perhaps you don’t know how inaccessible money was to Bajans of a certain vintage.

Sometimes one should stop and think Before “popping’’ off with idiotic statements.

5. @ Sargeant who wrote “Sometimes one should stop and think before “popping’’ off with idiotic statements.”

Austin’s statements are NOT idiotic. They are trumpesque.

Glad to see you are standing on guard for our home and native’s land. lol

6. @Hal Austin November 21, 2016 at 3:53 AM “I know it is a Bajan habit to make fun of things they do not fully understand. Let us take Guyana: Guyana is bigger than England…more natural resources, including gold, bauxite, rice…”

But Hal you were not comparing Guyana with the U.K.

You were comparing Gyuana and Canada. Guyana does not compare with Canada.

Canada is hugely, imcomparably rich in natural resources when compared with almost any country in the world, including Guyana. Canada has water, land, fish, lumber, precious metals, a long history of stable government AND a highly educated population.

If you had said that Canada has a horrible climate I would agree with you 100%.

I love the Guyanese, the Jamaicans, the Canadians, and the British (don’t know any New Zealanders) but it is silly to compare Guyana an an economic power with Canada.

7. @Hal Austin November 21, 2016 at 4:05 AM “It is the Barbadian disease.”

A Simple Response: It is the nouveau riche disease.

Hal Austin November 21, 2016 at 4:05 AM “Many people think that if they come in to money…”

A Simple Response: Truth is the lady has been very hard working. In her early years starting when she was 17 she worked at two jobs, clerical work with Light and Power, and a night job as a singer (a very good singer too) so yes she worked hard at 2 jobs for many, many years. She worked hard for her money, she did not “come into it” When an opportunity arose she opened a store Moods and Options, selling cosmetics, hair products, pretty hats, bags and shoes to a mainly female clientele. The service at her shop was excellent and the products were of good quality. However once an economy begins to contract the first things people stop buying are items perceived as luxuries…and her store was seen as high end, nice, but expensive.

But she mortgaged her hard work…and the bank foreclosed on her lifetime of hard work.

She doesn’t deserve this stress in her old age…but life is a b!t<h.

8. Simple Simon November 21, 2016 at 3:37 AM “The contracting world…economy was entirely NOT Ms. Riley-Fox’ fault.”

In fact it was mainly the fault the fault of the banksters of Wall Street. Ms. Riley-Fox is unfortunately just collateral damage.

9. @BaJan boy November 21, 2016 at 7:18 AM “it goes on the market and remains locked down and deteriorates for the next five of six years unoccupied until they take the most suitable offer. When that happens she will probably be told she still owes them as they didn’t enough to clear the balance of the mortgage and then proceed to take legal action to recover the remainder.”

Then Ms. Riley-Fox should determine to juck First Caribbean International Bank. Now while she still has time and a lawyer working with her she should declare bankrupcy…then there is NOTHING left for the bank to go after.

10. @Hants November 21, 2016 at 10:42 AM “Austin’s statements are NOT idiotic. They are trumpesque.”

So Hants, please explain for this simpleton the difference (if any) between idiotic and trumpesque.

Lol!!!

11. “The reality of the eviction belies the notion of “successful”, Banks ae not run on sentiment they exist as profit making entities that are answerable to Directors and ultimately shareholders.”

Required readin for those who out of sentiment call for the re-establishmen of an indigenous bank obviously financed by taxpayers money for privilege taxpayers to feast on.

12. Hal

Aren’t insurance companies in Bim covered by re-insurance.

13. In addition Canada has the highest rate of higher education in the world. 54% of the population aged between 25 and 64 has completed post-secondary education. For the U.S. the number is 44% for the U.K. 42% Barbados is not on that list, neither is Guyana. Sadly neither Guyana nor Barbados is likely to make that list in our lifetime. Sadly instead of expanding post-secondary education, including “universities as well as institutions that teach specific capacities of higher learning such as colleges, technical training institutes, community colleges, nursing schools, research laboratories, centers of excellence, and distance learning centers” we are contracting access to post-secondary education. We will live to suffer the consequences.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_tertiary_education_attainment

14. In Barbados we are still so poorly educated that people still don’t understand why they shouldn’t litter. We still have a long way to go. A long, long, way.

I hope that we are not moving backwards.

15. In addition the first rule of real estate is location, location, location. If you improve your house so that it is now valued at $1.7 million while the other houses at that location are valued at less than $500,000 then people with the money to buy a $1.7 million house are NOT going to buy a house in a neighbourhood with “poor ” people because the truth is people are class conscious, and Bajans (except me of course lol!!!) are likely more class conscious than most people.

So nobody is going to buy that house for $1.7 million even though Ms. Riley-Fox and her valuer, and the bank’s valuer think that it is worth that.

In real life market forces prevail.

The house is only worth what somebody is willing to pay for it.

16. I have acquaintances who have rental properties and they will say “my house is worth $X in rent per month.”

So after 6 months of advertising, still nobody is willing to offer $X per month and the property remains shut up for years, and years and years (and the Chief Town Planner is worried about the number of shut-up houses in Barbados while both the private sector and the government continue to build more) While the wanna be landlord earns $0 per month from the property. Sadly one of these acquaintances is a trained economist (master’s degree from the LSE) fortunately he did listen to me when I told him “you have to rent the house for what somebody is willing and able to pay for it, you want $2,000 per month, well $1,500 per month is $1,500 more than the zero per month you are currently getting. Look if you advertise for $X per month and you don’t have a tenant after 30 days you have to lower the rent, by $50 or $100 or whatever it takes to get somebody to say yes.

House rented.

Marriage saved too.

The Simple is also an informal marriage counselor. Lolll!!!

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The lady is maybe kinda slow and more than likely honest, they woulda gotten a Trump-like juck from me years ago, they all admire Trump for that and will laugh at anyone in this ladies position cause they got to dragg her through the mud….nice guys and victims always finish last.

18. A reasonable comment Simple Simon.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/jZxq306o1Vc

By the time Obama leaves office, Trump is likely to give Pence the presidency, let him be the one to drop dead from stress instead., what turmoil and chaos….lol

20. @Colonel

Layne is the correct name. But he was called Jonesy. I had two friends who worked there. he had one son by his marriage and AA is an outside son that he acknowledged. AA was the accountant and also a builder and race horse owner.

21. I sympathize with Ms. Riley, but rather than going to court and wasting money, she should have sold the house for whatever she could get before it came to eviction. Then she could have repaid the bank and hopefully have a few coppers left. She also could have looked at bridge financing while the house was listed and pay the bank off. The bank cannot sell the house for more than it is owed plus interest and other selling charges.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The banks have a scam where they already have people lined up to buy the properties, even while the matter is in court, there is no one supervising or monitoring anything in Barbados, it’s a free for all where laws, rules and regulations only apply to the poorest, the majority in the society.

23. @Heather

As correctly stated by a few there are some gaps in the Riley-Fox story. Someone should assist her to document in detail how she ended up with FCIB foreclosing. A check of the bank’s website raises the eyebrow as to list of properties by FCIB to auction.

https://www.cibcfcib.com/fcib/about-us/bank-sale-properties.html

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

“A check of the bank’s website raises the eyebrow as to list of properties by FCIB to auction”…..which eyebrow?
    a) the fact there is no auction per se, they all have asking prices
    b) there is no file for Barbados, even though the header reads “invites offers for the purchase of the properties below located in the Bahamas and Barbados.”
    c) that under Directors one Sir Alan Fields is listed as the Chairman of the BS&T, which ceased how many years ago?

Caribbean websites are not noted for being timely or complete.

25. Sargeant November 20, 2016 at 6:58 PM #

The reality of the eviction belies the notion of “successful”, ……………………….
    . …………………………………………………………..
    Mr Rollock of the Five and Ten Model Store was a successful business man.
    Mr James A Tudor was a successful business man.
    They both met their fates, similar to Mrs Riley-Fox.

In many cases the reality of success , for many black businessmen, leads to “eviction.” one way or the other.

26. Is it a Caribbean website or Canadian.

27. FCIB is a well known scam bank with (formal or informal) insider scams designed to separate gullible customers from their assets. It got worse after they acquired Barclays.
    Bushie knows this first hand…
    But Bushmen don’t mek dat kinda sport…. as they found out.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    Good question. It is registered differently from the Canadian sites, but as to where the content emanates from, I have no idea. I doubt they have a global clearing house…or maybe they do.

29. @David re you post. I will reach out to Ann.

@ Charles Skeete First Caribbean has sold 1.5 billion in real estate debt through out the Caribbean for 250 million to a Syrian family. This is not making something else not a profit.
    There is something fishy going on.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As I said…..it’s well known the banks on the island line up their personal buyers for auctions long before the mortgage defaults, this is just a scheme to steal property from unsuspecting clients as soon as there is an inevitable contraction in the economy.

31. It should be illegal for a repossessed property to be sold for less than the market rate, not for the outstanding sum owed.
    What we get in Barbados are these secret deals in which the banks – they are mainly banks – auction the property to their favourite partners for the outstanding sum – usually in cash.
    In the meantime they also claim on the mortgage indemnity guarantee cover, say for 75 per cent of the loan. So, it is very profitable for the banks (lenders) to repossess property.
    The equity that has built up in the property goes to the new buyer. The loser is the former owner.
    This is theft. In a culture dominated by lawyers why does this dishonesty continue?

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“This is theft. In a culture dominated by lawyers why does this dishonesty continue?”

It’s a culture dominated by thieving, dishonest lawyers, who work bpth sides against the middle and benefit financially firom all sides.

33. “The contracting world/Barbados economy was entirely NOT Ms. Riley-Fox’ fault, but the fact that she had a large new mortgage in a contracting economy left her with no wiggle room and the bank pounced (or waited patiently for 4 years)”

These words from the
    It is clear that Mrs Riley -Fox in her desires to satisfy her wants and not her needs allowed the trappings of Vanity to overrule her commonsense and has fallen into an abyss of her own making and now left to cry wolf wolf. There is no doubt that banking institutions are high profile predators and I have no wish to defend their vulturistic methods of operation which in this instance is all about collecting what is owed to them as agreed to in their favour. Mrs Riley-fox should be easily able to sell the house if as she says it has that much worth and pay off the bank and keep the remainder.

34. @Hal

Surprise you have given your ‘mouth’ such liberty and the full facts of the Riley-Fox matter is not known. In fact you commented above that you agreed there are gaps in the story.

35. All banks are generally vultures that prey on the vulnerable and weak – as is the wont of such birds.
    But FCIB is more than that. They are dangerous snakes – or at least they are infested with snakes, who SET OUT to entrap even those who, with guidance could succeed.

Bushie was personally disgusted with similar attempts which they made in a matter involving bush property, while assuming that the bushman could be located among the vulnerable….

LOL…Bushie walks softly, but carries a big-ass whacker….

Ff’ers !!!
    They are lucky that Bushie did not refer the matter to his step father yuh!!!

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Mrs Riley-fox should be easily able to sell the house if as she says it has that much worth and pay off the bank and keep the remainder.”

the KEY fact most are missing. The GAP is the difference between monies claimed to be owing and the market value. If there was any amount of equity, of course the owner would sell?

37. @NorthernObserver

Also if the bank has a lien on the property it is not Riley-Fox’s decision to sell.

38. David,
    I pointed out that the facts as known were not clear. I don’t think they are levelling with us. I still believe that. I believe the woman should have sought professional advice – a financial adviser, a business consultant, or even lawyer to look at the agreement.

39. My other point was a general point about business practice in Barbados. I can give an example, but will resist it.

40. What we need to understand is if the bank extended a temporary overdraft or if the $300,000 was advanced on an adhoc basis. If it was adhoc to fund stock this is where Riley-Fox would have exercised poor judgement. IF is the overdraft was not casual then this opens another discussion. We need more information. Some of us who run businesses would then be in a better position to offer constructive comment.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    Why can’t the owner sell if there is a lien? The demands on the title just have to be satisfied in order of 1-2-3 etc. These “may” exceed the proceeds, just means the holder with the lowest priority gets less. The lien is just a claim against the title, which prevents the owner from selling without settling outstanding debts.
    If the claims against the property exceed the value, obviously those of lowest priority may not wish a sale, for they could end up with nothing. But the lien expires at sale, it does not transfer to the new owner, even if unsatisfied.

The thread author posted “sold 1.5 billion in real estate debt through out the Caribbean for 250 million”. One must understand DEBT means ALL monies owing, not the market value of the underlying asset. A $300,000 mortgage (loan) can quickly grow well beyond if payments cease. So the DEBT is growing much faster than the value of the underlying asset (the property). When the mortgage is in arrears, frequently so are the property taxes and utility bills. In many cases one finds several mortgages.

So 1.5 billion in DEBT, may only have underlying assets worth $400 million. And now the new debt owner has to collect or begin foreclosure. The DEBT itself is not title. It is a messy and expensive process.

As we have seen on this short thread, the lender gets the blame. One good reason to sell debt, even at a discount.

42. @NorthernObserver

If the mortgagee has first charge on the property how can the mortgagor act? Please be clear using explanations for dummies.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

If the mortgagee (lender) has first charge (first lien position, meaning they get paid before all other charges) on the property how can the mortgagor (borrower) act?

The borrower is the property owner. They can sell whenever they wish. At closing, the lawyers are required to settle all claims in a specific order, and after settlement, whatever funds remain, if any, belong to the property owner.

The matter gets more complicated where there are multiple claims (liens) against the property, and where the selling price will not cover these claims.

When I said messy, there is frequently a legal battle for position. Also cases where somebody appears and has a document where the owner borrowed money and ‘pledged the house; as security. But if this lender did not register their position legally, they are out of luck. Even if their loan was say prior to a second mortgage, if the second mortgagee did not know of this loan, how can the lender of the $100,000 now ‘jump ahead’.

Why the Land registration office of which Ms Beckles speaks so often, is so vital to any economy.

44. Thanks, that was clear.

45. It is so disappointing to see how the bank have treated my aunt and so many others. She have been a single mom for so many years and yet she found a way to start her own business. For quite a while, her business was successful and opened job opportunities for many in Barbados. However, when business sales slowed down at her Bridgetown location, instead of giving-up she attempted to open another store in Holetown. Thus, the bank blocked access to lending her funds that would have rescued her business, open more job opportunities, and repay the bank loans. Although things seemed hopeless for my aunty, she never gave up. Since then she has been battling her way back to where she could payoff her bank loans and rescue her home from their clutches. There is not a quitting bone in her. Since loosing her businesses in Bridgetown and in Holetown, she opened a restaurant and a resale shop with help from her friends and others who loved her. My aunt is not getting younger and although she worked so heard for so long, her ability to retire when she chooses to or when it chooses her, is questionable. Aunty Ann has been the backbone of everyone in our family. She is deeply loved by all of us. Yes some of us show love in strange ways but it we are no different from any other family. Aunty we love you and want the very best for you, as you want for us. Many of us would not be who we are; or, where we are if it wasn’t for you. We are continually praying for you. May God continue to bless you.

46. This behavior is not unique to Barbados or against women or Blacks. I reside in St. Kitts and the outdated civil laws see many persons loosing their homes or even thrown into jail because they cannot pay an outstanding debt and mind you, the debt still remains to be paid even after serving time incarcerated. It’s the laws that need to be repealed but I personally believe that the lawyers like it this way for them to make as much money as they can.