The BU household states for the record it supports the initiative by government to stoke our pride and industry by celebrating all that we have achieved since 1966. What we do NOT agree with is the government using the 50th Anniversary event as an opportunity to feather the popularity of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) with a general election looming large on the horizon.

It seems an exercise in tomfoolery that the government would engage in all year planning of the 50th Anniversary event and allow the grand finale to be ‘compromised’ by an escalation in the industrial climate in Barbados.

The incestuous relationship the government has with the NUPW (for sure) should be enough to make it aware that the climate is ‘hotting’ up. The government through the Prime Minister and the head of the Personnel Administration Department (PAD) will have to do a better job to convince BU and others that the Akanni McDowall matter does not have some politics in it. Not too long ago a DLP entrenched Derek Alleyne failed in a widely publicised motion to remove McDowall from the presidency of the NUPW.

The Barbados Workers Union (BWU) has entered the fray by issuing a 5 o’clock deadline to government to expire on the 19 November 2016. It claims the government through its agent the PAD has not responded to correspondence sent a month ago. Its General Secretary Toni Moore has threatened that the union is prepared to “bare its teeth” although it prefers a more conciliatory approach to resolving the grievances.

The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) and the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) have also taken an aggressive position as it relates to the government addressing the matter of compensation for marking School Based Assessment (SBA). The government should take careful note that the SBA grievance is more a concern for the BSTU. The BUT has also signalled that the docking of pay from teacher salaries for attending a meeting a few months ago and the threat to dock the pay of those who attended the meeting yesterday has been placed on the radar. The BUT leadership has determined that the government has resorted to tactics to intimidate labour.

Already there are confirmed reports about the painful process Barbadians returning home have been experiencing to clear Immigration and Customs at the airport. Those of us who have experienced the service delivered by the two departments BEFORE the go-slow know that it was already slow because of the manual inspection methods used by Customs. One can only imagine the agony being experienced by weary Barbadians (travellers) as they clear Immigration and Customs on a daily basis. Let us hope it will not dampen their enthusiasm especially when it comes to spending the US dollars.

Can you imagine we have the ridiculous situation where there is confusion about whether Akanni McDowall has the required qualification for an established post in the civil service?  Can you imagine a junior employee with the same qualification as McDowall was recruited to fill the post? Can you imagine McDowall’s contract was terminated 6 weeks before it expired? The NUPW argues YES and the head of PAD say NO. May the lord help this country.

To complicate the issue –add oil to the industrial waters, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has hinted in a statement last week his government may have to introduce legislation to prevent unions from holding the country to ransom. Should we assume from the Prime Minister’s position that the touted social partnership is failing?

The takeaway from this submission is for the government to note that the trade unions are collaborating. A word to the wise should be sufficient. As we write this blog the industrial climate at the airport has deteriorated with a breakdown in wages talks.

By the way, was that Caswell Franklyn of Unity Workers Union sitting next to Toni Moore from Barbados Workers Union the other day?

92 responses to “Trade Unions Baring Teeth on the Eve of 50th Independence Celebration”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Carrion birds are large, carnivorous, scavenger birds. Species include buzzards, rocs, condors, vultures, and swoops. They usually have featherless heads and broad, slow-flapping wingspans. Carrion birds are sometimes found lurking about the bones of dead beasts and ill-managed graveyards.Sep 29, 2016”

The definition Alvin…the photos can be Googled.

2. Interesting……all of a sudden the govt finds the diaspora of benefit,presumably for their money,definitely not for the ideas and business plans that were offered and ignored.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Thats how both government treat bajans living abroad, send ya remittances and barrels, come for a visit and bring money to spend….but we do not want your ideas and input, kee dem tuh yuhself, ya cahn change tings bout heah.

They are some backwsrd asholes.

4. This is the same diaspora, individuals from which , on returning home and therefore have no more remittances to contribute to the country are labeled “Returning Nationals’, with all the derogatory connotations attached to it.
    And how right you are, WW&C, people of all professions have been returning home to that “Cah ya Arse” treatment by Bajans. I’ve experienced it . Some individuals who still operate in a 1950 mode feel threatened by the modern technology, that these “returning nationals” especially for the UK bring with them. The ongoing problems at the Transport Board, SSA, Ambulance Service and recently the Ministry of Sports,among others could have been severely reduced if the advice of some of these returning Barbadians was solicited.

5. if what many say is true about govt response to the diaspora the diaspora would not presently be falling all over themselves enduring long lines at the airport to be part of the barbados 50th celebration,
    Even Barbadains who are not returning are having special celebration events to honour their independence,
    Meanwhile many here speak in generalizations painting a wild picture on experience associated to themselves

6. Wunna only want we money.

“IF THE REMITTANCE figures are accurate, Bajans abroad have sent more than US$1 billion to relatives back home since the turn of 21st century, and the nation’s leader Freundel Stuart, wants that level of giving to continue.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75188/us-usd100m-diaspora#sthash.OzTQFKKK.dpuf

7. The reality is that fewer Bajans will return to Barbados to live.

It is better to to stay where we are and vacation in Barbados.

8. Bim is excellent for retirees.

Once they have the wherewithall to leave at anytime.

9. Commentator aka waiting Avatar
    Commentator aka waiting

The NUPW, BUT,BSTU are a caliphate of economic jihadists. The BWU to a lesser degree is parcel to the extremists sworn it seems to the destruction of the island’s economy. In the same way the Islamic terrorists take no prisoners in Aleppo and Mosul the mullah Mary Redman the worst of the lot allied to Shepherd and McDoweell don’t give a rat’s ass about locals, tourists , the diaspora, Prince Harry or any one else.

The facial features of the caliphate’s enforcers Roslyn Smith, Delcima Burke and Wayne Waldron drive fear into the hearts of children everywhere. Adults shake with uncertainty about their families, jobs, mortgages, indeed future as a blackmailed government is on the ropes to the extremists.

Popular opinion is against the economic terrorism of the NUPW, BUT, BSTU, BWU but that has little effect indeed any call for reason is met by the reply that the heat will be turned up. In collusion with their allies the permanently on go slow customs and the rude immigration officers they aim for the jugular of the economy the tourist industry.

The fact the diaspora is arriving in numbers for the 50th means zilch to the economic jihadists whose selfish gratification trumps all else . Prodigal Son a BU yardfowl said who gives a damn about the diaspora. The disloyal Prodigal echoed the sentiment of the caliphate . Government is between a rock and a hard place. Were their ears to the ground they know now is the right time for measures via parliament to curb the power of unions. The country will support them.

Stark choices face the nation – get the unions to the bargaining table or prepare for the economic terrorists masquerading as trade unions to destroy an economy generations of working class people built from blood, sweat and tears. When the going gets tough the tough get going.

10. Chuckle….Caliphate…..jihadist…..what language…….the govt seems to be a bit worried.

11. Including in the forex is the substantial dollar amount placed in govt savings bonds by the dispora
    The 7 million govt has spent for the celebration is money well spent money that would show an instant return on its investment than if sitting in the bank collecting pennies on the dollar
    As for the Unions they would go down in history books as aggressive architects whose efforts to besige and sabotage a country best interest was unleashed during its 50th celebration.

12. ac November 19, 2016 at 6:43 PM #
    There were long lines of Jews at Belsen and Sobibor tripping over each other on their way to the gas chambers.

13. Loitering,
    Wunna could blame de unions fuh wrecking de economy fuh how long wunna like, ienin dat wid wunna. Everybody and duh cousin know dat de unions din pun nuh go slow since 2008, um did wunna. In fact de said same unions dat wunna now cursing, was wunna bosom buddies when wunna did sending home all dem people.

Now look wuh gone and happen now, wunna hate dem guts. Well a pit cud only hold summuch shyte before um start to overflow. Samething wid sum people. Duh cud only tek summuch and no more.

One time um was de world economy dat used to get blame, then um was de opposition dat did discouraging investors wid de lotta doom and gloom talk, now um is de turn of de unions to be de scapegoats fuh de incompetencies, impotency and idiocy dat plauges dis (mis)administration.

I fuh one waiting good pon wunna.

14. Raw Bake, Old Buggy,
    Old Buggy, your people made it impossible around the time of independence for any black person to get a job in anywhere other than the Civil
    Service; only white people worked in the Big Bank, or in the cane fields. The people who migrated to England or worked in the cane fields of Florida, or the fields of the “jolly Green Giant” were not, and could never have been lazy. Your people created Hitler. Belsen came about because Adolph preached the hymns, and The Donald was recently singing from the same hymnbook. We shall see how much of the congregation learn the verses.
    If the caps fit the unions let them wear them. Ronald Reagan had the right idea when the Air Traffic Controllers went on strike. He brought in legislation, fired ALL the controllers, disbanded the unions and prevented future Air Traffic Controllers from joining unions and striking. If the unions intend to bring down the government, then it might as well strike first.
    Hants,
    I have no problem with contributing my money to the people of my country. My navel string bury there. Why should I choose foreigners over them?

15. Alvin Cummins November 24, 2016 at 9:29 PM #
    Old Buggy, your people made it impossible around the time of independence for any black person to get a job in anywhere other than the Civil Service.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    My people around the time of independence happened to be the Democratic Labour Party.

16. “Hants November 19, 2016 at 7:18 PM #

The reality is that fewer Bajans will return to Barbados to live.

It is better to to stay where we are and vacation in Barbados.”

Bajans do indeed have a strange psyche- I often wonder how some person born bred weaned and raised in Barbados can live in those places especially when their standard of living is no better than at home. Most of the vanities there can now be found here in all forms as well but living there is no place for the elderly and is like a virtual prison. There is no place like home.

17. ” Ronald Reagan had the right idea when the Air Traffic Controllers went on strike. He brought in legislation, fired ALL the controllers, disbanded the unions and prevented future Air Traffic Controllers from joining unions and striking.”

Do people like you not understand that this forum should be used as a tool for education and not misinformation.? Except for the well known fact that President Reagan fired the striking air traffic controllers the rest is gibberish. The story as recorded goes like this.

In 1981, PATCO, the union of federal air traffic controllers went on strike, violating a federal law prohibiting government unions from striking. Declaring the situation an emergency as described in the 1947 Taft–Hartley Act, Reagan stated that if the air traffic controllers “do not report for work within 48 hours, they have forfeited their jobs and will be terminated.They did not return and on August 5, Reagan fired 11,345 striking air traffic controllers who had ignored his order, and used supervisors and military controllers to handle the nation’s commercial air traffic until new controllers could be hired and trained.

Are you proposing that when and if workers strike in Barbados, they should be fired and substitutes used to carry out their functions at the ports, airports, hospitals, polyclinics, schools, or in whatever form of employment they may be

18. There are a number of examples of the failure of trade unionism in Barbados: their obsession with pay rises, instead of any benefits to their members; their blind spot to the way businesses are run – just look at their silence in the Banks issue, Clico, Ju-C and the buying up of Barbados by the Trinis.
    Why are the unions not pressing for worker/directors on these boards,; why do they not forensically investigate the balance sheets of these companies? Why don’t they talk about the ratios of CEO remuneration and that of the ordinary office and shop worker (and senior union executive)?
    Why aren’t the unions calling for a review of the sale of the Mutual (it is not too late and vital lessons can be learnt)?
    Why are they not calling for an expansion in adult education and training? Heath care? Road safety? Insurance fraud? Bad behaviour by the banks? About the need for improvements in our secondary education system?
    There are too many questions about poor union leadership other than protecting a colleague’s ‘job’.

19. You have made a reasonable point. In the same way the unions have rallied behind the Akanni matter they need to do same when taking on ‘capital’. It is evident in the prevailing climate capital continues to intimidate labour.

20. The union leadership is just like the DLP.
    Brass bowls representing brass bowls.

It is unreasonable to expect them to pursue such goals as outlined by Hal @6.30AM.
    Can you imagine the meeting at Solidarity House when the union announce that they have negotiated that 40% of the Massy Board must be staff members?
    Shiite man, they members would probably fire the council immediately – led by some idiot chanting “we want money – we don’t want no board’
    …and in any case, who would they put on the Boards? …people like ‘Maloney?’
    What we need are quality people OF CHARACTER.
    Everything else will fall into place…

Without vision, the people will perish
    A union always gets the leadership (and vision) that it deserves
    No wonder we are perishing…

21. Even “Q” the only successful thing CBC has was held at the DLP headquarters yesterday!!!!!!

22. The Unions in barbados are pretentious rather pick on low hanging fruit in the disguise of masqueraders acting on behalf of its members is another reason why its membership does not trust them and quick to question their motives
    The Unions in barbados are poor excuses for good and absolute representation of unionism
    The fact that the Unions would not proceed to the highest order of absolute representation of its members by laying a claim to the pie of workers rights in the private sector is a true testimony of false motives and a disgrace

23. Soonet or later NUPW under its new President would implode ..
    like too many sharks tugging at the same piece of meat

24. As predicted the NUPW is on a trajectory to implode , Thanks Delcia Burke

25. NUPW is bursting at the seams with division in the ranks ..talk about courting danger was the inevitable as the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing. In the next five days the climax of the celebration would come to an end and the millions upon millions of people who entered this island through these ports of call and had to endured long lines would have witnessed first hand how a few miserable and unconscionable mugufees choose to close down the country in an effort to restore one man his job.

26. The truth is beginning to seep out concerning the NUPW and there despicable actions in trying to use one arm tactics to achieve a goal ..this time the NUPW might have bitten off more than they can chew as govt seems resolute to fight them in every way denying them that most sought out win of destroying the economic security of a country , The silence of govt and non actions have become a major stumbling block working against the NUPW best actions of destruction leaving the NUPW looking dumbfounded and confused and like animals eating their young

27. are-we-there-yet Avatar

The problem is that the Union’s Executive membership has continued to have skewed priorities since the Political Parties have selectively fed individual gluttony.

The priorities are: Political Party – First; Self – Second; Tried and Tested Union principles – Third. They should be the other way around.

The Unions are absolutely correct in the collective stance to stand up to the Government to support the President of the NUPW. No one in the NUPW should publicly question that stance without being summarily expelled. That someone in the NUPW could even think of muddying the waters with the stance expressed on last night’s TV news is not only alarming but spells the death knell of the Union.

We and the principles of Unionism just gon’ tru’ de Edders!

28. That some one /a some one who is a member of the executive council a some one who is summarily left out in the decision makings question the sinister motives of those leading the charge in the industrial actions

29. Winston Cox, one of the most distinguished our our former central bank governors, has advised the government against devaluation, on the grounds that the gains would be small.
    Given the current situation, small gains are better than nothing at all.
    Mr Cox recommends that the government should pursue other policies. There are two things wrong with this. First, he has not spelled out these preferred policies; and, in any case, the minister of finance has rejected all rational recommendations.
    Here is a simple one: government is spending Bds$240m to give the airport a facelift. It is a waste of money in the current circumstances. Broad Street, a rundown, urine smelling main thoroughfare, is more in need of a facelift.
    It has a department store that dominates it that, in my opinion, is dragging it further down. I often wonder at the return per sq metre in that awful store.
    More important, government could also have used that money to regenerate the City, tearing down some of the slums and re-placing it with modern, architecturally designed town houses, apartments, shops, offices, clubs, restaurants and recreational space.
    Such a development would have provided jobs for a range of people: carpenters, masons, plumbers, painters, decorators, surveyors, electricians, lawyers, realtors, shop keepers, security guards and every other person involved in regeneration.
    It would make the City once more the centre of the night economy, provide new homes for the rising middle class, and would be an investment across generations.
    For reasons best known to itself, the government has implicitly or explicitly rejected these proposals, preferring sticking plaster to cover gapeing wounds.
    If the money had to be spent at the airport, giving tourists a visual welcome, why not develop the surrounding area in to a Seawell new town, with good shops, restaurants, hotels and recreational accommodation replacing rum shops and fish cakes and car repairs.
    I have also long proposed a mono-rail line running east from the airport to Culpepper island in the first stage and reclaiming the land between the lighthouse and Culpepper island, using the reclaimed land to build a small Coney Island/Disney, putting it at the heart of Eastern Caribbean weekend recreation and entertainment and an additional venue for European tourists.
    Since Grantley Adams and the Deep Water Harbour, we have lost the nerve for big developments.
    This remains so since our economic and social historians are so poor that they do not fully recognise the incredible advance the Port made to our island economy – having been built on the eve of the container revolution. In terms of economic development, it leaves Barrow in its wake.
    Yet, for some reason, even the BLP fails to give Sir Grantley the recognition he deserves.

30. AC;

Perhaps there was a good reason for leaving that someone out of the planning discussions.

31. Are we there yet

So since u put your two cents worth can you tell the “why”

32. So since u put your two cents worth can you tell the “why”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …because she is obviously a disloyal, two-faced, back-biting, yard fowl who is only there as somebody’s mouth piece….

Wait …. this sounds like another AC yuh….

33. Bush shit what is obvious that u are very good at spouting dog sh.it.
    The lady made a clear and concise case against some of Union top brass so far which has not been refuted by those mentioned and the question is “Why”
    Therfore it stands to reason that those to whom she referred cannot refute or deny with justification what inniss has laid claim in her comments
    However as the old addage goes it is easy to hid and buy land but hard as hell to hid or sell it
    The NUPW is not heading for implosion and the rope which the NUPW belived it handed govt to hang itself might be the very rope which would be used to hang the NUPW as public sentiment and division rises to the top becoming a catalyst and a foundation for the NUPW self destruction

34. correction

not ……NUPW is now

35. LOL @ AC
    …so you did not want the answer to ‘why she was left out’ after all…?

Wuh…
    If your ‘scratch grain suppliers’ inserted you on to a National Committee to investigate corruption in Barbados, do you think that a sensible committee would allow you to be privy to their plans for catching the crooks (your scratch grain sources)?

Seriously now AC….!! 🙂

36. But seriously if what you have theorized happen to be true then it gives more credibility to what Inniss has said by those in the top bracket beliving that she was a spy and that it would be better not to include her
    Which then asked the question if what the NUPW was doing was above ground and free of unethical practices why would the top brass have closed meetings and not invlude her.
    On the face of all of what is revealed are inniss claims that she as vice president was not privy to decision making but Bush shit what you might not have realised in your last comment but have alluded was a respect for a shady enviroment at meetings within the vocal top brass of the NUPW only meant to include a select few .Sad

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Joyann Inniss claims that she and other members of the executive of NUPW were left out of meetings but did she say which meetings? I am aware that a meeting of the union’s National Council was summoned in response to Akanni’s reversion. It is my understanding that there was no quorum because Joyann and a number of other Dems stayed outside and the meeting was therefore abandoned.

The union summoned another meeting and she did not attend. At that meeting, the council passed a resolution giving the secretariat the right to institute industrial action. Maybe, Ms Inniss should attend the meetings if she wanted to know what was going on.

The meeting that she seems to be complaining about would have been a meeting of union leaders that was held at NUPW headquarters. It was not a meeting of the union’s executive or National Council where she would have a right to attend. I attended that meeting in my capacity as General Secretary of Unity Workers Union along with the heads of other unions. She is not the head of any union and was not invited. Roslyn Smith attended in her capacity as GS of NUPW. The Dems would not stop spreading misinformation.

38. Our trade unions have been infected with a partisan political virus,

39. Well i expect to hear more versions of the Innis story as everyone in the NUPW tries to cover their asses and place blame
    Truth unlike milk does not sour

40. […] following comment was posted to the Trade Unions Baring Teeth on the Eve of 50th Independence Celebration blog in response to a newspaper article that appeared in the traditional media – Barbados […]

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac;

I had no knowledge of the why. I only have a little bit of commonsense and the ability to put two and two together. So, if the Unions in Barbados are at last standing up to fight a problem of undeniably basic importance to unionism against a clueless Government, there must be a good reason why an executive member of a union would publicly go against the Union stance. That person MUST be at fault.

I noticed that Caswell gave the reason above. Thanks Caswell, I suspected it was something like that.

ac, Yuh gine tie yuhself in knots one uh dese days defending yuh undefensible Government. Yuh!

42. Are we there yet

yuh have no knoweldge of the “why” but quick able and ready to accept one mans version of the issue Wuh does that say about you and yuh so called commonsense
    Yuh know what it tell me yuh are just another typical yardbird

Btw dont worry about me and tied knots i have worn plenty laced shoes and know how well to deal with knots