Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG

denis-loweApproximately two weeks ago, Minister of the Environment, Dr. Denis Lowe, solemnly assured the people of Barbados that the outrageous Sanitation Service Authority (SSA)  privatization arrangement by virtue of which the SSA was engaging eight private sector compactor trucks in the collection of garbage at an astronomical fee of $411 per hour was being SUSPENDED at the end of the week that commenced on Monday 31st October 2016 — that is, by Saturday 5th November 2016.

Well, it is my sad duty to inform the Barbadian people that as of today– Friday the 11th of November 2016– the said privatization arrangement is still very much in place, and the private trucks are still collecting garbage on behalf of the SSA and are still being paid at the outrageous rate of $411 per truck per hour !

And so once again Minister Denis Lowe has misinformed and misled the people of Barbados!!!

Indeed, Minister Lowe seems determined to proceed with this privatization arrangement in which private sector companies owned by the likes of Bizzy Williams and Anderson Cherry will be paid some $16,440 PER TRUCK  PER  WEEK and some $854,880 PER  TRUCK in the event that the arrangement is extended over the period of one year.

But what makes the arrangement even more ridiculous and scandalous is that the payment made to the private companies is based on the number of hours that they operate, and not on the amount of garbage that they collect! Thus if they operate their stipulated 40 hours per week and  collect only 10 tons of garbage ( while the government owned SSA trucks are collecting 25 tons each) they will still be paid their full $16 440 per truck!

In other words, it does not matter how much garbage they collect, they are still entitled to demand their $411 per hour or $16440 per week!

And there is really no way for the SSA to police these private vehicles as they go about their supposed duties. In other words, there is no accountability built into the contractual relationship !

This arrangement may be compared and likened to the arrangement that the said Dr Denis Lowe conferred upon Mr Bizzy Williams’ Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre (SBRC) for the processing of garbage. Under that contract the current Democratic Labour Party Administration committed Government (and by extension the taxpayers of Barbados ) to providing SBRC with a minimum of 36,00 tons of garbage to process every year, and to paying SBRC a minimum of $22.6Million per year over a twenty (20) year period WHETHER  OR  NOT  SBRC  IS  CALLED  UPON  TO   PERFORM   THE  SAID ANNUAL  36,000 TONS   OF   GARBAGE   PROCESSING  !!!

It is these types of outrageous governmental contracts that cumulatively are  sinking the Government and taxpayers of Barbados in debt.

In my capacity as a Citizen of Barbados I now hereby call upon the Media houses of Barbados to do their duty ; to carry out the necessary investigations at the SSA; and to report to the Barbadian people that Dr Lowe has misled them, and that the SSA’s privatization arrangement is still in place.

77 responses to “No Suspension of SSA PRIVATIZATION : Dr Denis Lowe Has MISLED the NATION”

1. Alvin Cummins November 12, 2016 at 10:28 AM #
    By the way Buggy:
    Isn’t that a nice building in the making
    ………………………………………………………………….
    A beautiful building indeed, which our great-great grandchildren will be paying for through their noses , coolieman stlye, to the great -great grandchildren of the Williamses, Maloneys and the Bjerkhams et al.
    Another 50 Years of INDENTURESHIP.

2. You are so right Colonel…………………..”Nothing in Barbados works properly. Then they will understand what we have to put up with, while paying tax upon tax for everything,and not receiving adequate services”……………………..

Let the people come home, they will certainly find out that the paradise that they are told about when the PM and his ministers visit their cities does not exist…….it is in tatters, the dream is gone.

Now the arrogant government will have to deal with their ignorance. The unions are now threatening action just when it really matters. They will then see how arrogant they are. There again the PM will come out as he is wont to do and say he has powers under the constitution.

Let the games begin………………but can someone tell me why Dennis Lowe is still a minister?

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/12/speed-up-reforms-imf-economist-warns/

This dude is of the opinion that the slow minde din parliament can do anything with speed…..lol

4. David

You’re the blogmaster and you’re therefore at liberty to remove whatsoever you see fit to remove, but my hope is that your action is seem as unilateral across the blog, for the fear of appearing partial to a specific group which adhere to a certain political persuasion.

5. In answer to your question ProdSon, maybe he is still a Minister in order to ensure that the sewage pollutes Graeme Hall to such an extent that the government has no other choice but to issue a change of use certificate allowing the non leper to go ahead and build the town houses on the lands thereabout.

6. Prodigal here is your answer ref..dennis lowe as being a minster

If the blp ministers was allowed to put barbados in an economic juggernaut for14years with out showing any remorse. Why then cannot Minister lowe be allowed to hold the reign as govt minister until the electorate say different. Just do yourself a favour and save yuh breathe cause aint a dam thing u can do to change the election result but continue to bray like the proverbial jack a ss .in other words STFU

7. What I find very interesting is that in green countries separation of garbage into their respective govt provided bins by householders is the norm……..why has this govt not made mention of it with the 20M just sourced from nameless……why not amalgamate all the govt vehicle maintenace departments and use that money for the bins and correct trucks?

8. @Vincent

No issue here, for a green economy to work all civil society actors must be in sync.

9. David November 12, 2016 at 3:36 PM #

So where is the hiccup?

10. Prodigal Son November 12, 2016 at 1:04 PM #

Let the games begin………………but can someone tell me why Dennis Lowe is still a minister?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Dennis Lowe ,like any of the others, in the still David Thompson’s Cabinet would upset the apple cart if given the push, resulting in one big bruggadown.
    The Eager 11 must be kept sedated ,tolerated and compensated.

http://i.imgur.com/omIPHT2.jpg?1

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….this one is priceless, Colonel.

12. ac…………it is about time you begin to show some kind of class on this blog. Are you going to continue wallowing in the gutter all the days of your life?

Goodness me…………Christmas is soon here, a season of peace and love and joy, can you grow up?

13. Vincent Haynes November 12, 2016 at 3:33 PM #
    ……why not amalgamate all the govt vehicle maintenance departments and use that money for the bins and correct trucks
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Do we want to go back there , Vincent? Do you remember the impressive MTW workshop at the Pine ,which used to maintain and repair all government vehicles, except the garbage trucks. Since the decentralisation of government’s fleet repairs, that workshop has been struggling, with its drastically reduced work load, with a whole lot of relatively new equipment,parked outside, seemingly beyond local ,or should I say government repair, as they are quickly put back into service when sold by auction to people in the private sector.
    Centralising the maintenance and repairs, will create one big headache.
    The MTW workshop, like many of the other Government repair facilities are staffed by many, less than qualified and/or experienced individuals, who were sent there for a pick by politcians, and apparently not to do any real work.
    Until such a time that Barbados takes technical training seriously, and not just see it as an avenue for those “whose heads are hard,” or, are on their way to either Big or Small Dodds, we will always find ourselves in this rut.
    We have to start looking at training some our people to the stage of being Road Transport Engineers,and not just spanner operators.

14. Colonel Buggy

The BUGGADOWN can play out , all the Minister/MP carry guns , and from the looks and actions of them, if it not pass, it can happen.

15. Prodigal “class”is facing the truth. How about trying on some class to see if it fits your size

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/89055/valery-residents-feeling-pinch

This is the price the taxpayers always pay for dumb, corrupt ministers crooked dealings with the local minority crooks Bizzy, Maloney Bjerkham Harris, Parris et al, the taxpayers always lose.

The ministers refuse to leave out the corruption and the rigged contracts.

17. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

I watched an address by Chris Stinkliar in a DLP Meeting touting that the next election will be fought on the “moral heart” of this country…….well…he could has well be doing a stand up comedy routine…or on Saturday Night Live Bajan Style…because it was a joke to me, just that the”jokes” were empty,.What moral heart he taking ’bout!!?!?!?!!..you got a “speaker” dat cah way money from a crippled octogenarian !!!. a minister asking of an Opposition MP… in parliament… whether knew the real father of his children!!!!….another that draw he weapon in the “environs” of parliament…A prime minster that sent home 3000 people from the public service when 9 months prior he said he categorically WON’T!!!Chris Stinkliar and he lies, Ester Byer Foo-Foo and she half lies.. a King David that conspire to cah way $3.3m from a company that they had prior knowledge that was collapsing and now Denis “we at a new” LOWe….and his brazen face LIE.. My friends…we no longer have a relevant gov’t in this country…it addle….it is a gov’t in name only, a gov’t that i think has separated itself from the mass acting to serve its own interests
    When Mr Owen Arthur talked about the “wild boys” in the DLP i never took it to heart..i just dismissed it as “political talk”… i can see finally what he meant……

18. Today we read in the Sunday Sun that sewerage pump has been fixed. And in another section we are told that the pump has not been fixed. Sounds familiar ,as it related to our water predicament ?
    Remind me again who is the Minister whose portfolio the Sewerage System comes under.
    Raw sewerage leaking into the road, Remind me again,who is the Minister of the Environment.
    People’s health is being put at risk.Remind me again who is the Minister of Health.
    But as the PM , so down the nose pointed out, we should be thankful for out achievements.

19. You talked out both sides of your mouth Colonel You say those things which only resonates to your side of the political wheel to aggravate
    Hence your hypocritical tirade about public health concern and the sewage ,, However when govt initiates alternative methods to collect garbage which indeed could threaten public health and be of great concern you balked and criticize

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 13, 2016 at 5:34 PM

Aren’t you the pot who calls the kettle black? Who else speaks with a forked tongue of a serpentine yard-fowl more than you, ac?

One minute you are against Privatization next minute you are for, it depending on your master’s weathercock.

So ac, are you for or against the outsourcing of the functions of the SSA and the BWA’s shite collection and disposal?

21. Maybe my interpretation of Privatization is different from yours ,from my vantage point as far as i am aware the SSA has not been sold to bizzy or chery or whoever has been contracted by govt as a a viable source as the alternative to keep our streets clean

22. #ANewWay #ANewAgenda is coming

23. I wonder who are the secret financiers of this govt….20M SSA now 240M GAIA……we dont even know if it USD or BDD.

24. @ Alvin Cummins Peter Allard was never been interested in developing a water park in Barbados, in fact he was very much a part of the movement to stop the water park.

25. 16 days fuh wunna to clean up and decorate.

Looking forward to seeing videos and pictures of Barbados on November 30th.

26. Denis Lowe happens to be a very pathetic lire that has lost touch with the public and simply don’t know when to pull back from his unscrupulous lying utterances. He is of the opinion that he must win at any cost for the purposes of filling his coffers.