Today’s Barbados Advocate Editorial addresses feedback from some Barbadians that they will not be participating in the 50th Independence celebrations – Barbados Underground

50One of the incidents of the democratic system of governance is that decisions touching on matters of state are rarely unanimous. So it is quite unsurprising that more than a few Barbadians, for various reasons, have publicly declared their intentions not to participate in the national celebrations planned for the fiftieth anniversary of our Independence that will be attained on November 30. To these naysayers or “rabat-joies” as the French would have it, we say that we respect your decision and concede that it is your democratic right not to participate. We shall treat you nevertheless as fellow citizens, but we implore that you do nothing to hinder the celebrations of those who find the attainment of this milestone to be just cause for celebration.

This sentiment is not new. In Shakespeare’s history, King Henry V, the king is faced with some of his men who are unwilling to fight at the Battle of Agincourt. The king does not have them shot as he might have done, but rather allows them to leave the scene. He suggests subtly however that these abstainers will be henceforth unable to experience the pride of victory felt by the participants in future-

Rather proclaim it, Westmoreland, through my host,

That he which hath no stomach to this fight,

Let him depart. His passport shall be made,

And crowns for convoy put into his purse.

We would not die in that man’s company

That fears his fellowship to die with us.

This day is called the feast of Crispian.

He that outlives this day and comes safe home,

Will stand o’ tiptoe when the day is named

And rouse him at the name of Crispian

Most of the reasons for abstention publicly aired so far appear to be founded in the current state of affairs in the country. Permit us too, dear reader, to express our disgruntlement at the fact that not every citizen enjoys a frequent supply of potable water or water for sanitation purposes in his or her home and we were as alarmed as others at the unhygienic state of the country a few weeks ago before officialdom made a concerted effort to remove the unsightly piles of garbage and other household waste.

We are of the view, nonetheless, that the celebration of a milestone is not conditional upon the achievement of utopia as many of us would have accepted in the celebration of our popular milestone personal anniversaries.

At the risk of being accused of taking in the washing of others for our subsistence, we are compelled to comment on a column in another section of the press that has been drawn to our attention. There, the writer, in sarcastic tones, asserts that she would “dance in the streets if there was a freeze on taxes, especially with annoying names…” We would too, (indeed who wouldn’t?), but here we are referring to a nation that has managed to provide taxpayer-funded education (to tertiary level and beyond) and public health services for most of the fifty years of its sovereignty and yet we quibble about the appropriateness of the names of these civic contributions.

The greatest bone of contention in the entire affair seems to be the cost of the celebration. Officially, it is reputed to be seven million dollars, a paltry sum for a celebration of this nature, which equates to a mere $28 or less per Barbadian citizen. Of course, the dissenters contest the veracity of this figure, but even a trifling gift of $100 (less than the entrance fee for some all-inclusive parties during Crop-Over), by each citizen to the nation that we are so proud at convenient times to call our own would raise the princely sum of $25 million…at least!

62 responses to “Cause for Celebration”

1. BUGGY,
    WHERE WERE YOU? WERE YOU AMONG THE BLP SUPPORTERS HIDING OUT IN THE WOODS, OR WERE YOU AMONG THE PLANTER CLASS, OR AMONG THOS WHO COULD NOT AFFORD TO GO TO AUSTRALIA OR NEW ZEALAND?
    FORTUNATELY WE NO LONGER HAVE TO DEPEND ON THE PLANTATION HOG HEADD. WE CAN AFFORD TO BUY OUR OWN WHOLE PIG; LIKE THE CAWMERE OLD BOYS WHO CAN ROAST A WHOLE PIG AT THEIR REUNIONS, OR GO IN THE SUPERMARKET AND BUY OUR OWN MAUBY. “FRIENDS OF ALL, SATELLITES OF NONE” AND IF NEED BE, INVITE THE PLANTATION OWNER TO VISIT OUR OWN HOUSE AND HAVE A DRINK, WHILE HE ADMIRES THE MERCEDES NEXT TO HIS WHEN HE DRIVES UP.
    THAT IS WHAT GOT YOU ALL UPSET. THERE IS NO MORE CAPTAIN RAISON. WE HAVE OUR OWN; BETTER AT MUSIC THAN CAPTAIN RAISON, AND HE DOES NOT HAVE TO COME FROM ENGLAND.

2. Listen UP BlP opposition and political operatives this govt going to have a gran ole Independence Party whether You All like it or Not so get over It .
    Who bad mouth any group organization or country that has been good to them for fifty years ? who does that ? come to think only bajans with short memories would behave with such ungrateful attitude ,
    Thank God i was privileged to have free education,,Thank God i was privileged to have free health care ,. . Thank God for all our leaders and those in society who keeps a torch of respect burning for this tiny island , Thank God or those who think it is not robbery to give back of themselves to this country . Thank God for those who keep the spirit of patriotism alive and well,

3. @ Jeff
    Boss, the way you have been dropping these scripture verses, Bushie fully expect to see one of your weekly columns in the form of a sermon just now….. You like you know MUCH more than you are letting on yuh… 🙂

Shiite man … you even seem to know what you are talking about ….perhaps you should consider bringing GP and Zoe in one of your classes…. for their elucidation.

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

No way, Bushie,,, Not me and that. You ever led a tutorial session with students who were incapable of accepting any view other than their own? They could not pay me enough!

5. Ha ha ha ha
    LOL @ Jeff

Pay Boss? … Wuh…Bushie was asking you for a ‘pro bono’ for the boys…
    With people like you, Barbados REALLY does have something to celebrate after 50 years.

Seriously though…
    We should not downplay the significance of a country being able to produce the number (admittedly small) of special high quality personalities that Barbados has been able to do….even among the waves of brass….

As you know, Bushie’s position on the whole purpose of life ….is that BBE has created a turbulent, stress-filled, cauldron called ‘Life on Earth’ precisely in order to identify and refine a rare and precious commodity called ‘RIGHTEOUS CHARACTER’.
    So in a world filled with evil, pain, suffering, sorrow and brass-bowlery, the emergence of even one ‘diamond’ from among the heat and pressure …is cause for great rejoicing in Heaven.

In a similar vein, the fact that persons like yourself, Caswell and Walter … along with a surprisingly large number of others – perhaps a dozen or so…(given the comparative infrequent distribution of persons of such ilk) for such a small jurisdiction SHOULD be cause for genuine celebration come November 30.

Unfortunately, we live in a world that does NOT value such diamonds…. So while we DO have gems of great value to celebrate, we scratch for brass bowlery and other albino-centric trinkets to worship….. even as these fade in worth before our very eyes…

6. That is an excellent picture by the artist of a cow with its ribs showing……a bit like the condition of Bim presently on its 50th.

7. I like that Honourable Blogmaster

“The (Not So) Fatted Calf – In Living Colour”

I could do a good poster with that but it is copyrighted and de ole amn does lef dem tings dem

8. @PUDRYR

Do you know if the Barbados Landship will be performing at the upcoming 50th?

https://www.facebook.com/sean.harry.18/posts/1152739831477076

9. David

What message is that above landship clip sending and do you agree with it?

It has appeared on fb and has upset Elombe greatly.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

I nevah seen a wangle low like that!!!! Understandably some will be upset

11. @David,

Is that Land Ship Dance Hall Fusion?