BrexitAlicia Nicholls

In its judgement rendered this morning, the UK High Court has held that Parliament must vote before the UK can begin the process of leaving the European Union by giving notice pursuant to Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty.

In summary, the court did not accept the argument by the Government that its prerogative powers included the ability to make such a notification without parliamentary approval. The question of whether the Article 50 notification should be made, therefore, must be submitted to Parliament for a vote.

Read more of this post

122 responses to “Brexit Requires Parliamentary Approval, UK Court Rules”

1. Bush Tea November 5, 2016 at 4:06 PM #

I have never said anything about good or bad anything……..I simply state the facts.

I also agree with your analysis……we are not poles apart on this.

2. Economics is not a ‘science’ although the mathematicians who hijacked it will like to think so.
    Borrowing from the NIS is a public debt. NIS contributions are there principally to finance state pensions and the health services.

3. Chad999 is another “cut&paste” specialist! Clearly the arguments being advanced by him are void of any context–the Barbadian context to be exact. For example, raise what taxes and sell what assets to pay off domestic debt?

4. Bush Tea and Enuff

You are both a disgrace.

I simply pointed out that David was feeding you misleading information and overstating the debt problem in Barbados.

Stick to the facts, which are unassailable. The government does not need to be in the airport business or the seaport business. It does not even need to be in the airline business.

It is financially overextended and needs to do something. What do you suggest?

5. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Chad99999 @ 5:46 PM

The information which David gave with Tables were official statistics. They in themselves were not misleading. David ,using these statistics , came to a conclusion that the debt /GDP ratio was too high . That is his opinion. Opinion is neither right nor wrong. They are just that an opinion.
    Your opinion is that the ratio overstates the debt problem. Yet you state in your last sentence that the GOB is financially over extended. To remedy this financial overextendedness you recommend a fire sale of the airport ,the seaport and Barbados’ ‘shares in LIAT.
    I agree with your conclusion that there is no threat to the exchange rate if the GOB is meeting its payments when due on foreign debts. And GOB up to now is doing that.
    I agree with you that The USA,UK and other EU countries have had Debt / GDP ratios higher than Barbados and were not downgraded by these rating agencies.
    The CBB is a lender of last resort to the GOB and it has provided temporary loans to the tune of 114 million.. The balance sheet of the CBB is larger but balanced. I am not particularly fond of that approach of dealing with a recurrent deficit of GOB finances but it is temporary until the economy turns around.

6. Bernard

The statement from David that was misleading was the statement that Barbados is “the fourth most indebted country in the world.”

7. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Economics when approached scientifically attempts answer these questions:
    How does a country go about producing/acquiring the goods and services required by its citizens?
    How does it distribute or allocate these goods and services among its citizens?
    How is the production and distribution processes structured /organized?
    How can the size of the national income be increased?
    Like all sciences in order to keep account and compare states , we need to measure and to take into consideration changes and the rate of changes. So we need to use mathematics. But mathematics does not make it a science. Mathematics is its handmaiden a tool or better still a language. We need this to establish relationships between economic variables. Example what level of VAT do we need to close the financial gap between Expenditure and revenue?
    What level of road tax do we need to cover the cost of road repairs , traffic police and the licensing authority? You cannot do these things by guess nor ST.

8. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Chad 9999 at 7: 25 PM,
    Thanks for reminding me. He probably did not have a reliable source of information. If he had it I am sure he would not have tried to mislead BU bloggers. I am sure he would have seen developed countries with debt to GDP of 200% and higher. We are all entitled to make mistakes.

9. Here is what Roger Cave the Managing Director of the Fortress Fund was quoted in the Press this week. Give him a call Chad and Bernard to determine what yardstick he used. BU is happen to state that Barbados is heavily indebted and to borrow Dr. Mascoll’s words this affords little fiscal space to support development.

“We are now the fourth highest most indebted country in the world behind Japan, Lebanon, and Greece,” he told a gathering of investors and other players in the island’s financial sector at Fortress’ annual forum at the Frank Collymore Hall last night.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/04/investors-uneasy-about-barbados-growing-debt/

10. @ chad99999 November 5, 2016 at 5:46 PM #
    Bush Tea and Enuff
    You are both a disgrace.
    Cuhdear Chad, you welcome to cuss Bushie…. but don’t lump ‘e wid Enuff PLEASE….

Cuss we apart nuh…!!!
    ..as in ‘Wunna are two disgraces…..’
    Enuff is a CSME disgrace..
    ..while Bushie is a BBE disgrace…. 🙂

11. Paris Climate Change Agreement Enters into Force: What next?

by caribbeantradelaw

Alicia Nicholls “Humanity will look back on November 4, 2016, as the day that countries of the world shut the door on inevitable climate disaster and set off with determination towards a sustainable future.” – Joint Statement by Patricia Espinosa, UNFCCC Executive Secretary and Salaheddine Mezouar, President of COP22 and Minister of Foreign Affairs and […]

Read more of this post

12. 2010 data debt as percent GDP

Japan. 225.9
    Lebabon. 139.0
    Greece. 130.2

Barbados. 111.6

But US news report states carribbean nations with high debt ratio are not among the world,s economic powerhouses and it is like comparing apples to oranges.
    Mr. Cave or whatever his economic background sourced data from a 2010 US news article
    Most notably the writer of the article from whence the data was sourced is not an accredited economist has a bachelors degree in English and a Masters degree in Global communication

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/bXsZ305TLVY

Compiled last year, published this year, don’t know if it has been updated yet.

The 20 most indebted countries.

14. India tells Theresa May to take more migrants and drop the UK’s ban on mangos too if she wants a trade deal

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3909184/India-tells-Theresa-migrants-drop-UK-s-ban-mangos-wants-trade-deal.html#ixzz4PFYnyafW
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    This is what she will face at the EU table as well…….migrants!!

15. Nigel Farage warns there could be RIOTS as he clashes with Brexit wrecker nemesis Gina Miller over her legal bid to block EU exit

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3910012/You-biggest-fan-Gina-Miller-clashes-Nigel-Farage-live-TV-Brexit-legal-challenge-Ukip-leader-warns-defying-people-trigger-RIOTS.html#ixzz4PFf8Phnh
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

16. We now those bloody English have a streak in them if we recall the poll tax demonstrations.

17. Farage is a loose cannon whose last shot was Brexit…….the majority of the voters have not agreed on Brexit,which is why I believe that the sensible thing to do is to call an election especially as Labour is still squabling with Watson backing May and Corbyn telling members to vote against it if May does not accede to his demands on it.

She will have to be carefull of her wording once she calls the election and not use the term Brexit but seek the ability to manouver the best way she sees fit……a tough one.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes November 6, 2016 at 2:00 PM
    “Farage is a loose cannon whose last shot was Brexit…”

Not only a loose cannon but also a big-time hypocrite. Is he still drawing his salary as a member of the EU Parliament? Cameron resigned as PM over Brexit. Why can’t he, Farage, stop the loitering in Brussels? Or is he just there for the beer, the cheaper ciggies and the perks?

Have you noticed how the same politicians that led the Brexit charge have now abandoned their disgruntled xenophobic sheep? Where are the once garrulous Boris and Gove?

19. millertheanunnaki November 6, 2016 at 2:26 PM #

Boris&Gove’s appointments were a master stroke by May but she must now gird her loins and go for the biggy her own mandate and this is the best time with labour in disarray,she must word her mandate in a manner to play to the small man and minorities,which is Corbyns platform.

Chuckle…..Farage says that he has a job under President Trump.

20. After these placeholders like Theresa May et al become tired of this ‘song and dance’, aimed to fool the people of legal intent, they will allow themselves to fail, just like PM Cameron did.

We remain perplexed as to how sensible people could entertain anything these idiots say.

‘The truth is not in the stars, it is within thee’, sic.

Theresa May is only a third rate politician excited with being a resident at number 10 Downing

If anybody this this woman married to capital will do anything to hurt the ‘community of interests’, we have a bridge to sell them – the Brooklyn Bridge.