Estwick_BWA
Minister of Water Resources David Estwick and the General manager of the BWA Dr. John Mwansa denied the initial report

It has been a few days Barbadians were alerted to the decision by the Barbados government about an arrangement with Amazone Resources to transport a maximum of 2 million litres of water to Barbados. It is an open secret the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) has been struggling to supply water to Barbadians living on the rock -especially in the Northern parishes with St. Joseph the hardest impacted.

The CEO Auke Piek of Amazone Resources was quoted in the media:

[he] would like to have the launch of the flexbag on November 21 or 22 and after that, it will be sent to Barbados with drinkable surface water from the rivers. The journey should take four to five days, using a tugboat to pull the floating flexbag/flextank … We will test, through our trial, how the water behaves during transportation.

It came as no surprise to the BU household to learn about yet another agreement consummated behind the backs of Barbadians in the dead of the night by this government. To make matters more interesting, several local news sources reported that the minister of water resources David Estwick and the general manager of the BWA Dr. John Mwansa denied the initial report.

However in light of subsequent reports from the BWA that confirmed an experimental shipment of water was approved by the BWA with the Suriname company Amazone Resources to test the feasibility of freighting water to Barbados under safe conditions in the event of a future need. The MOU with Amazone Resources did not include offloading the water in Barbados.

One wonders why the authorities in Barbados retreated to a defensive reaction when the news broke initially. Why didn’t the management make a quick decision to get ahead of the story if the agreement with Amazone was about contingency in the event the BWA is unable to supply potable water to Barbadians if drought conditions continue to adversely affect water generation. In fact the bigger concern is why did the management of water resources in Barbados not think it prudent to share the information with Barbadians when the MOU was signed off? Why the culture of governance by stealth.

Now that Barbadians have learned about the plan to barge water to Barbados, what is next? Who will tell us?

However, it was agreed that due to a lack of existing infrastructure in Barbados for the receipt of the water, storage and pumping and the need to establish the necessary water quality standards and importation control measures, the water in the barge would not be offloaded – Barbados Water Authority

Surely there is more information the BWA needs to share with the taxpayers of Barbados about the MOU between the BWA and Amazon.

The concern some have expressed is that Suriname has been tagged as a country where the risk of contracting Zika is very high. What screening infrastructure would Barbados have to implement to protect Barbadians from exposure to infectious diseases from Suriname and elsewhere if the decision to barge water to Barbados becomes a reality.

Relevant links:

The Barbadian public has a right to know what our government is doing from those who were elected to serve them. We have not forgotten this DLP government ran on a ticket of a transparency government not too long ago.

149 responses to “Importing Water from Suriname and the Right to Know”

1. to understand

2. @Alvin Cummins November 3, 2016 at 5:21 PM “Like the supporters of Donald Trump (Well Well among them:GP, Simon (Simple)”

I DO NOT support Donald Trump. I AM NOT an American. I have NEVER LIVED in America. I DO NOT WISH to live in America. I DO NOT have an American visa. I DO NOT wish to have an American visa.

I don’t care who the Americans vote for.

I have NEVER voted for a Conservative candidate. I will NEVER vote for a Conservative candidate.

Please DO NOT take my name in vain.

3. @Prodigal Son November 2, 2016 at 6:36 PM “was to be used as a back up just in case the millions of people that they are expecting at the end of the month actually arrive

So you are telling me that they were going to use water of uncertain provenence for millions of visitors.

What if something bad happened because of this water of uncertain provenence ?

Way to go tourist industry.

But maybe I am too Simple to understand.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Heather…. If you listened to the video and read some of the posted information, this water scam was conceptualized 6 years ago in Europe, by Europeans, it’s still in the planning stages, they may be only now producing the bags or a bag for the trial run to Barbados.

http://ow.ly/moB3305QiZL

The Russians are producers of the type of bags for exporting oil and water under icy and frozen conditions, exporting water through tropical conditions may require a different quality material, that is why I believe they have not even reached the testing stage yet.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Productions
    Field fuel depot
    Tanks for fuel
    Bag pipes
    Oil spill response
    Water tanks
    Complex fire
    Water-filled dam
    Pontoons
    Testing of lifting equipment
    Portable fuel tanks
    Portable jerry-can
    Яндекс.Метрика

Contacts
    Multi-line Phone – Fax:
    +7 (495) 783-01-67
    E-mail: info@rusinflex.com
    Address:
    Russian Federation,
    109316, Moscow, ul. Shosseinaya 110-v.
    SPC “Politechnika” LLC

Flexico © 2009 – 2016

For the jackasses in parliament who may want to make queries…ya need a translator though…lol.

6. @ Well Well & Consequences

There is a quotation from a Book of some great value to the Ole Man and it goeth like this

“Neither do men put new wine into old bottles: else the bottles break, and the wine runneth out, and the bottles perish: but they put new wine into new bottles, and both are preserved.”

The logic of your suggestion to secure the best containers is quite sound.

Equally so, like the Cahill Scam, if the process that is being touted as the salvation of our water shortage is flawed then we have a most serious problem.

By that i mean if de ole man brings contaminated water here from a river where the effluent is no different from “Jakarta, 17 April 2013 – Greenpeace International investigations have revealed the dumping of industrial wastewater containing a cocktail of toxic and hazardous chemicals, and caustic water, directly into the Citarum River, West Java. International fashion brands, including Gap, Banana Republic and Old Navy are linked to this pollution through their direct business relations with PT Gistex Group; the company behind the polluting facility….”

But then again de ole man could be wrong causing you dun know dat Assinine Cretin did once tell me dat de brain calcified.

But imagine washing your knives and forks for the morning’s breakfast in pellucid waters from some source, it matters not, and cutting into your daily egg and toast with a knife and fork immersed in the faeces of some natives 30 miles deeper in Surinamese jungles.

Hip Hip Hooray let us all drink to that (of course you do know that David Pitbull does not drink tap water and that his house, and that of several ministers, including certain BLP ministers, have water dispensers fitted with Evian Water???

7. Piece, boy I was getting scared becausing I dah thought someting dah happan tah yah when I dah see yah writtin like de Indiab with de two word dialect, but tank de Good God de old man is back.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….I would not believe any of this if I did not witness it happening myself, I thank the Divine daily that my life and that of my relatives are not in the hands of these retards.

9. @ Bushie

Talking about the devil, female rabbits and brassbowls.

Of course you’re right, in some ways not even you recognize.

It was Barrow and his lodge friends who gave us these demonic symbols when 70 or 80 world countries gaining ‘independence’ at that time generally choose colours/symbols more representative of Pachamama.

From the very beginning of colonialism Barbados was the world’s financial centre for the worst form of ‘demonism’ known to man.

Notwithstanding, we have to expand our vocabulary to include words such as ‘coah blind yuh’ to deal with modern day devils.

10. @ Pacha
    Of course you’re right, in some ways not even you recognise
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It may surprise you, the extent to which Bushie recognises the problem…..

11. @ Well Well & Consequences

I am a very simple man, said simplicity borders on stupid, one who is slothful of thought and dim of understanding in “these things high science”.

But here is what i do understand.

I understand that candidates, and they ALL ARE “candidates”, right before the general elections, visit homes and the voters to tell lies.

I also understand that for them to tell me a lie THEY HAVE TO VOCALLY TELL ME THAT LIE.

And When You Are At My House Telling Me A Lie. De Ole Man Want You To Understand That I Am Recording Your Lied Donkey FROM REAL CLOSE UP!!

Now that does not mean much to most people here in this closed up space that we call the Rum Shop. but what it does mean to the Social Media and FaceBook crowd is that you is a blasted liar and cant be trusted

I ent care bout what you promise Miss Headley down the road, I care only about your promises to me.

And, LIKE THE BREXIT FIASCO has shown, and the US Elections is showing, this social media phenomenon is enough to bury your behind when the next 5 years comes about.

One of my Questions that “any Candidate” going have to answer for my scvunt when dem come to my house is “what do they plan to do about the power of recall?”

If the BLP cant answer that question, or refuse to answer for my secret recorder, I going vote Walter Blackman PPK.

We need to be able to regain control of these po-lie-trick-ians whether we do so by the ballot box or by other means cuase appealing to their “morality” certainly is not working for us, is it?

So until we can get some men and women with morals and integrity who are prepared to put their country first then we may need to resort to coercion and other more complex tactics to get them effect their mandate to the people which in another country is called lobbying, what you think?

12. @ Pachamama

De ole man went to China to get this article just to ask you this question.

But first the information.

“The plumber at the centre of Hong Kong’s lead contamination scare has revealed that a hospital, more than 10 public housing estates and an unspecified number of private residential developments may be affected through their fresh water pipes.

An official investigation has yet to trace the source of contamination, but the Housing Department confirmed yesterday that the lead content was 50 per cent in samples taken from soldering materials in water pipes in Kowloon City’s Kai Ching Estate.”

Now, having said that and make the observation that this incident happened in Hong Kong, as BU’s resident Guillotine Advocate, my questions follows.

Knowing what the penalty will be for that Hong Kong plumber if it is found that he is responsible for the Lead Poisoning matter, de ole man was just wondering, if your Guillotine was in use, and this Surinamese water turn out to contaminate our waters and kill a few uh we in the process, who will be the first to be condemned to that Guillotine?

You plan to use the sharp blade or the dull blade? Whu after all dem already poisoning we slowly if the Canadian High Commission Parisien is speaking the truth, why you going pass dem out quick when you could let them suffer?

But seriously Pachamama you realise how deep this doo doo is that we the bajan people are in?

Dem ent got a clue about how to manage this country and mashing it up every day in whatever they do (or is that doo doo?) !!

13. The BWA could buy one of the bags and collect rain water from Holetown river before it goes into the sea.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…I think very well…lol, just make sure the batteries are charged and your digital devices are working well….those lying politicians can’t campaign without their voices…lol

15. There is always the possibility of importing water from Dominica.

Pretty sure it was an alternative at the time the “desal” plant was mooted back in the 1990’s.

http://dominicanewsonline.com/news/homepage/news/business/parbel-enterprises-explores-bulk-water-exporting/

If it is that we have to import water because our monkey politicians have no other better plan, then I would prefer it came from Dominica!!

I have spent time hiking in the mountains of Dominica and travelling the rivers in the interior of Guyana.

I even drank water from the creeks feeding the Potaro and Essequibo rivers … I have to admit though the water had a bad effect on my bowels …. weeks after I had returned to Barbados!!!

Dominica is wonderful.

The civil works I remember seeing in the Laudat area are quite spectacular and the water flowing in the channels is crystal clear.

It is also a lot closer.

The idea of storing run off from Barbados in the flexi tanks moored off shore is a good one.

The problem is that the run off only occurs a few days in a year and not during the dry season when it is really needed.

Maybe if the tanks were moored off the East Coast and the surface run off getting to the sea at Long Pond and Green Pond was stored there may be a more reliable supply.

Maybe tanks are not necessary as the ponds may work quite well.

A purification plant in the Long Pond/Green Pond area might not be a bad idea to augment the water supply.

There is a lovely pond at Greenland compliments of the $50 million the GOB blew digging a hole for garbage.

This area was at one time earmarked as a potential supply of water.

It makes sense to try and find a way to make use of the catchment area that is not used at present.

The unused area accounts for 1/7th of the island.

The great thing is the shape of the Scotland District, most of the water is focused on Long Pond and Green Pond.

16. How about this idea.

Use Long Pond and Green Pond as storage feeding a purification plant.

Forget the problems and expense of a tank moored off shore.

Augment the run off by shipments from Dominica or wherever from time to time.

The beauty of the Scotland District is that part of the catchment area is in the highest elevations of the island and will usually get rain which finds its way to the two ponds by surface run off.

17. This is a way that Private Enterprise could become involved in augmenting the island’s water supply by first finding a way of utilizing the unused catchment area of the Scotland District and possibly importing water from overseas.

The Sand Pit will soon be exhausted and its owners will be looking for alternative economic activity.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The water from Dominica is not only cleaner, but they have been exporting water for years, they already have the technology to do so and they are much closer than Suriname….it should be an overnight run from Dominica to Barbados.

How the hell did those fools in parliament get caught up in a water scam from Suriname, with Swiss Germans…of all the demons on earth…steupps.

19. Water used to flush toilets can be minimally treated rain / river water.Therefore collecting run off water can be used for that purpose.

In a water scarce country it makes NO SENSE to flush drinking water down a toilet.

20. Look at Singapore and what they do with water

An island the same size more or less as Barbados

… and how they deal with garbage

21. While not an extensive search John I did do that search regarding Singapore to see what they did and was amazed to find that they also seem to have a problem with their waste.

The place that they recommended as the example to follow is South Korea.

Doing a teleconference convo now but will revert to that in a few

22. Singapore has more than 20 times the population living on it when compared with Barbados

23. We could also look at Bermuda. They collect water off their roofs.

24. There are over 200 work days in a year. What do the Ministers and their top civil servants do with all those days.

25. @ Hants

That Water on the Roof from rain water is repeating something that while it has been said nuff effing times seems to never be facilitated at any level in our society.

Look at our braniacs at Cave Hill, walking bout shaking dem heads sagely at one annuder but tell me Hants effing jes one uh dem buildings dat Sagicorp build got a self contained experiment that pilots that same concept?

I cud bet you my ole kangol hat dat not one ent got dat feature pun dem wid a series of tanks and sump pump and purifiers fuh de biology department chemistry department and physics department to effect respective experiments.

You know what Andrew Bynoe from A1 and Mr. Branker and all dese rich black fellers should do?

Put out a challenge dat dem going give a scholarship of $x to any student who do “y” and achieve dis specific project fuh he Supermarket.

So um woud wuk like dis.

A. Project Scope – Self Contained Rain Water Cistern He would give thenm his building plan and dem would design the most cost efficient system to serve his property needs.

And since Carlon pun a block excess water could be pumped to families next to his supermarket.

So (i) Collection (ii) Storage (iii)Treatment (iv) Transport (to the nearby properties (v) measurement and (vi) Replication

But I is a foolish ole man Hants dese tings is too high falluting fuh de ole man so I should keep me mouf shut.

Whu you tink??

26. @Hants November 4, 2016 at 10:23 AM “The BWA could buy one of the bags and collect rain water from Holetown river before it goes into the sea.”

Lolll!!! that would be to local Hants.

You know how we Bajans like things from over and away.

Evian for the big shots

And Suriname rivrt water for the rest of we.

27. I’ve drank water directly from a spring in Dominica, and from springs in Foster’s Funland, Barbados too, and as a child I regularly (as in most days of the week) drank water from a plantation watermill near our home.

Never had any problems.

however I am aware that medical professions advise that we should not drink untreated water.

So don’t take advice from a

Simple Simon

28. Estwick’s Water Plan “B”.
    http://i.imgur.com/7i0pd9l.jpg?1

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I can hazard a guess that those Swiss Germans at Amazone Resources tried to barge in on Dominica to harness their water supply, after all, their water is a hell of a lot cleaner and the island has 365 rivers, there is always and will always be water running off most of those mountains…

…….but Dominica has been exporting water from the days of Eugenia Charles and sure as hell would not allow Swiss Germans, some of the most despicably racist and nasty people on earth to enrich themselves controlling Dominica’s water supply…..so the Swiss Germans had no choice but to settle for Suriname’s river water.

Again.., Surinamese DO NOT use their OWN river water, none of it is safe, they can dig for fresh water at will, why use contaminated river water.

But Barbados has a history and their politicians have track records of being the dumbest, weakest, black asses, especially when it comes to white racists manipulating them, so of course the ministers and politicians being the weakest link in the Caribbean, the island was chosen to drive and float that water scam from Suriname.

How many more times do the idiot ministers/politicians squatting in the people’s parliament in Barbados have to be exposed for being weak, useless to their people, bribetaking, unknowledgeable, secretive and despicably slave minded. …before they stop or have to be stopped.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Nice one Colonel..lol

The idiot Estwick can park the harnessed icebergs from Alaska right outside all the minister’s houses…lol

31. Piece,
    Waste Water at U.W.I (Cave hill) is already being recycled.The infrastructure has been in place, and in use, for years.
    Well Well, and Colonel Buggy,
    the idea of moving Icebergs to the Middle East has already been proposed years ago, some time in the 1970s, by a Saudi Arabian Prince.Check it out if you doubt me.
    Simon (Simple),and John,
    Bajans can do the obvious. Collect their own rain water for use around the house, utilizing the funding Government has offered, to purchase the tanks. But Bajans are too lazy and unmotivated, if someone does not do it for them. In addition; unlike the population of Singapore, they are indisciplined, and prefer to discard their waste, (even their urine) at the side of the road, rather than put it in the correct, or required container. Snow cone cups are dropped at the side of the garbage container rather than in the container. It is easier to throw a Cheffette container out through the minivan, or car, window, rather than keep it until you exit the vehicle and then place it IN a garbage bin.Look how many bags full of garbage are left by the side of the road rather than In the collection areas. Cajans to lazy and nasty.

32. I wonder what was put in place to collect water from the over 2 inches of rain island wide we had over the last 16 hours.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…I agree with most of what you said in this instance, but in the event of severe drought conditions, because neither government did their jobs 50 years ago and dammed the water that pours out of St. John and St.Joseph during the rainy period…they had 50 years…they should now consider importing drinking water from Dominica…the closest access point….. and use recycled water for other activities.., flushing toilets etc…until they dam that wasted water.

34. Pssssssssssstttttt. The St Joseph water situation is back to normal. i.e Many people woke up this morning to the now familiar tune of dry taps.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Obviously 16 hours of rain could have filled at least 4 reservoirs…it all washed into the sea instead.

36. In Germany, river water which feeds reservoirs and is subsequently treated before distribution, is still not good enough for the average German , they go a bit further in ensuring that the feeder streams are free of contaminants. On a hot dusty summers day in West Germany, my unit drove across Germany to a semi-deserted military training area in the south. After setting up camp in the forest, we made a dash for the nearby stream. The many cars which went by, stopped and the occupants stared disgustingly at the 50 or so, stark naked Brit Soldiers bathing off the muck and grime in the stream.
    The local police quickly turned up and , more or less, ordered us out of the stream, indicating that the stream fed into the local reservoir.

37. Vincent Haynes November 5, 2016 at 1:21 PM #
    I wonder what was put in place to collect water from the over 2 inches of rain island wide we had over the last 16 hours.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    A great big bloody dam called the Atlantic Ocean

38. 50 Years ago we had a system which trapped a large part of the run off water after a rain fall, and directed it to the aquifers . They were the low -tech island wide series of plantation suck wells. Half of which today have been filled in by developers to accommodate houses. The other half, not maintained for many ,many years, have been choked up to the top with debris and dirt.
    M-A-I-N-T-E-N-A-N-C-E , a Bajan 4-letter word.

39. Colonel Buggy November 5, 2016 at 2:03 PM #

They were the low -tech island wide series of plantation suck wells.
    ………………………………………………………………………
    About 20 years I knew of one chap being paid to clean some of the plantation wells as he was the only one with some special equipment attached to his tractor that used to clear the debris from them…..By virtue of his age I doubt very much if he is still active……I wonder if the BADMC or the Min of Ag. cleans their own?

Long pond would have been gushing today……..some reservoirs in the area close to the pond with a big bore pipe going to Castle Grant and discharging directly into the aquifer would be usefull.

40. For the past few weeks rainfall this side has been as follows:

9/11/2016 0.91
    9/18/2016 1.51
    9/25/2016 3.19
    10/2/2016 0.33
    10/9/2016 0.84
    10/16/2016 0.86
    10/23/2016 0.5
    10/30/2016 0.21
    11/5/2016 4.35

Today there has been 4 inches and 14 parts ….. ponds all over the place!!

41. The suck wells were never intended to get the water to the aquifers.

My bet is they were dug years (centuries?) before the geology of the island was understood.

They existed most likely to prevent water standing and destroying the cane crop in fields.

A desirable consequence is that the water goes to the aquifer.

They were dug to the “crack” …. until they reached a fissure in the coral which would direct the water away.

Some of the suck wells had a “French Drain” dug in the field which was packed with rocks to prevent the wells silting up.

I am hearing some rather disturbing news about the water well at Groves which sounds a bit far fetched!!

I am hearing the depth of the water well that had existed for however long was increased to see if more water could be found.

Unfortunately, they hit the “crack” and the body of the underground water in the St. John Valley disappeared.

Does anyone know if this is true?

… could also explain why the well at Sweet Vale went dry!!

According to Senn in 1946 the well was 216 feet deep with 4-10 feet of water at the bottom.

It is at 743 feet above sea level.

The Geological Map of Barbados puts the basal contour at 160 metres above sea level, about 525 feet.

743 less 216 is 527 feet so the well is almost the oceanics.

If the story is true it would have to be the most unlucky thing to have happened to the diggers.

I’ll do some asking and find out if this is true or just a story.

42. If that story is true John, the officer and supervisor of the person tasked with that activity should be tried for some charge, i do not know what is legally possible, but treid, summarily found guilty and tried for Treason (a la Verla Depeiza recommendation)

Seriously

You mean that every singly one of these DLP vandagers do not know how to add, subtract nor where to put a decimal point???

43. Flooding
    1-dot
    Scenes from Marley Vale, St Philip and Bush Hall, St Michael as heavy showers drenched the island.

https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/videos/10153787636320989/
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

If only we were able to harvest this water.

When will areas be prepared for these occurences,though once in a blue moon as the saying goes…….we should always be prepared.

44. Walter Blackman Avatar

John November 5, 2016 at 5:09 PM #
    “I am hearing some rather disturbing news about the water well at Groves which sounds a bit far fetched!!

I am hearing the depth of the water well that had existed for however long was increased to see if more water could be found.

Unfortunately, they hit the “crack” and the body of the underground water in the St. John Valley disappeared.

Does anyone know if this is true?

… ..If the story is true it would have to be the most unlucky thing to have happened to the diggers.

I’ll do some asking and find out if this is true or just a story.”

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI November 5, 2016 at 5:28 PM #
    “Seriously
    You mean that every singly one of these DLP vandagers do not know how to add, subtract nor where to put a decimal point???”

John,
    From the above, you will see how sickeningly easy a discussion on national issues can be bushwacked, hijacked and downgraded by political yardfowls crowing loudly for some scratch grain.
    If you discover that the story is indeed true, I order you not to seek to find out if the digger was a member of the BLP or DLP. That’s irrelevant.

Thanks for the useful scientific information you continue to provide in your submissions.

45. There is also the possibility that the recent earth tremors,we have experienced could have open cracks under our underground ponds, as I believe had happened in Dominica some years ago.
    @John .A few weeks ago . “White Boy” Nichools of Mount Wilton (not the plantation) was featured in a story in the Nation. In it he claimed that periodically , the wells which he used for irrigation become choke up with “river rocks”which he has to go down and clear. It would be interesting to learn where these rocks originate from.

46. RESIDENTS OF INCH MARLOW Christ Church are bitterly upset over an underground pipe which has been leaking for more than three months.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88876/water-wasting-inch-marlow#sthash.ZlmcnRxl.dpuf

47. This region, with a few traditional living communities, is an area of natural beauty. Earning on sustainable water extraction which can also be used for nature, is a win-win situation.