Do you remember that the authorities promised to investigate the circumstances surrounding Akanni’s demotion before they meet with the NUPW to discuss the matter. Well I believe that the union is being played for a fool since I understand that Akanni’s replacement took up duties this morning – Caswell Franklyn, Barbados Underground

The revelation by trade unionist Caswell Franklyn (see above) that the position NUPW President Akanni McDowall was filled raises several concerns. Based on media reports and confirmed by NUPW representative Delcia Burke in a public forum this week, McDowall’s recent contract was terminated BEFORE 31 October 2016 the maturity date written in the contract.  McDowall from all reports was acting in the more senior role for many months.

The more troubling issue for BU is that it exposes Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo and by extension the government as strangers to the truth. Didn’t Byer -who has no standing in the matter by her admission- advise the public the matter is being investigated by the relevant government department?  AND a meeting will be held with McDowall to respond to his concern there was political interference behind the decision to appoint him to his substantive position?

Surely the barefaced dishonesty and incompetence being practice by this government must be addressed by civil society? What role does morality play in our society? How will the NUPW and its 10,000 membership react to the effrontery?

BU is certain McDowall’s ‘demotion’ was politically motivated.

Related Link: The Caswell Franklyn Column – Akanni McDowall Kicked to the Kerb

98 responses to “Akanni McDowall’s Removal Was Politically Motivated”

1. From news reports the NUPW will meet this evening to acquire the approval to move ahead with industrial action. Let us see if the union will support their own.

2. industrial action for the reinstatement of one man wuh loss muh belly may God help this great country

3. Does the union act on whether it is one man or the injustice meted out. What was the story with David Giles again?

4. Do you understand that facts and truth are the over arching principles to industrial action. This is not child”s play where one mans feelings is being hurt should purpose that the nation should suffer.
    The Union should be transparent with any or all facts in laying out an argument before the public for industrial action in the support of Akanni

5. Was Akanni’s contract ended before 31 October or not.

Did the CPO promise the NUPW and Akanni to convene a meeting or not.

What facts and truth what!

Stop the obfuscation.

6. The ONLY way to get through to a jackass is with a whip.
    Nothing else works – as we plainly see here with Dompey.

Same shiite with the DLP.
    The damn union should have gone on strike with the “age 60 forced retirement” shiite ..and set the Donkey Labour Party on the right path…. especially after they then brought that resolution to parliament to extend the guyanese DPP….

If the unions do not pull out the whip now …they may as well get harnesses themselves, and join the jackass brigade led by Froon.

@ Dompey
    What exactly did your wife say…?
    Was it …”bring your ass to bed?
    …or was it “turn off the damn computer and go to bed …you ass” …?

Since the fire you don’t seem to hear well… and Bushie suspects that, had your neighbour not intervened, you won’t be able to feel, taste,see or smell either…..

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn October 27, 2016 at 11:14 PM #
    “The cruel irony is that this Government is formed from a labour party. Democratic LABOUR Party – what a joke! “

It is duly noticed you are giving a free pass to those senior public servants (e.g. CPO) in this imbroglio of abject personnel management stupidity.

What has become of the rules and regulations which are supposed to protect civil servants from the whims and fancies of ‘powful-foolish’ ministers?

Where is the professionalism and its related demonstration of training and competence by these senior managers of the public service? Why are they ‘selling out’ themselves to politicians?

It seems as if the poor guy who decided to hunt with the hounds but still wants to run with the hares for his personal promotion and political ambition has been thrown to the political wolves.

He is nothing more than political cannon fodder and mere partisan political collateral damage which should send a strong message to those senior public sector workers promoted within the last 5 years way above their level of professional competence.

8. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Was Akanni not competent in his role… Why all the fanfare behind this particular post? Soon and very soon we will see the backs of every politician in the DLP.

Let’s not be distracted! Is the Governor General planning on printing more money to support what seems like an Olympics (50th independence) celebration. How much is Rihanna being paid for singing the Anthem? Why was a press conference called to tell the country Rihanna is coming in to perform for the ceremony when they are so many unanswered questions to date on this economy.

Do not be distracted people!

9. @ Retribution

Why the fan fare ? why Not? and why was the meeting for solidarity in the support of Akanni called off

10. The Derek Alleyne group which correctly brought a no-confidence motion against Mcdoweel have a duty to regroup and dump the clown and BLP stooge from leadership of NUPW. He’s setback the national economy by taking industrial action for customs and SSA over frivolities. Customs lost the economy tens of millions in revenues in permant go slow which continues today.

Placing Mcdowell back in his substantive post was the right thing to do. Unions dont need to have adversarial relations with government. In difficult economic times unions owe it to their membership to reach areas of compromise with government so that all stakeholders work together and go forward. Mcdoweel and the slow drawl woman at BWU are bent on the collapse of the economy. When that happens the union membership will be jobless and the island a wasteland. What Akanni Mcdowell what!

11. In the 1960s and 70s under Harold Wilson and Jim Callaghan, the trade unions ruled the roost. But things have changed. The fastest growing trade unions are now white collar unions, or professional associations.
    Unions must change their agendas, cutting back on confrontation and calls for wage rises, and concentrate on things like training and pensions.
    Robots and computers are now taking over the most basic jobs in manufacturing. In Japan, they are even doing domestic chores.
    There was a time when the most common trade for West Indian men was as motor mechanics. Now the car is a moving computer: my car diagnostics tells me if I have a flt tyre, if the car needs servicing, when it needs screen washing liquid, etc.
    We need quality training for those young people not in education, as evidence shows if young people do not get training and education, on average they go through adult life in and out of jobs.
    If trade unionists want to be militant, then they must face the consequences. There are over 110000 workers or economically inactive adults in Barbados, and only 30000 are members of trade unions, most of whom are in the public sector.

12. Let the dems on BU gloat and condone this wicked government’s lying and deceit on what they did to Mr McDowell. If the leaders of the unions do not stand up to these bullies, they are not worth their salt and should shut up shop.

The unions can have the last laugh, screw them………shut down the airport and seaport just when it matters.

They think they are all powerful. ……I would show these morons the ball Nelson shot!

13. When people like Walter Maloney was President of the NUPW, the dems had no problem with mixing government and union but all of a sudden, it is a crime because Mr McDowell does not singvin the dlp choir.

What hypocrites!

14. Unions picking petty fights with govt is soooooo ridiculous it only shows the union as a bunch of irrelevant noise makers and are clueless in understanding the real issues that would impact their membership in the 21st century

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@The cunt that might be might AC

The union is irrelevant because it has compromised its position as a strong bargaining force with a weak and compromised objective. They have fallen for the Trojan’s gifts and have lost much respect as a result thereof. For the first time, I have to agree with you on something. The only reason why I place your cunt title in front your name is because you remain as deceitful and wicked to your string master’s cause, which still makes you a cunt.

16. @ Hal Austin

Your submission here is superlative..

“There was a time when the most common trade for West Indian men was as motor mechanics. Now the car is a moving computer….”

Absolutely superlative.

And therein come the “rub”

You think that this Moore girl and this Akanni McDowall and Derek Alleyne and all the rest of these doufuses have the “grey matter” required to “see” the shift?

Please!!!!

My man they are still sending out notices to their staff via archaic letters!!

You think that they understand that nuance of professional development and campaigning for training and job mobility and pertinent resources for the times?

They cannot see those things because they are Bajans my man, and dat is whu Frank Walcott dit 50 effing years ago and that is where we are locked, in time tunnel, 50 effing years ago.

Let the ole man give wunna an example of that 50 year “Time Tunnel Trap” that we proudly call Independence

“…..IN 15 YEARS, Orville Maynard has not had a power outage…”

What the ef does that mean to 90% of the readers here?

Not one badword, really badword.

You understand what that means?

You understand what that expertise means?

Let the ole man put that in context for wunna

“…We’ve been making solar hot water systems since 1974 and have developed several models, each designed to provide the longest life. The History of Solar Water Heating Industry in Barbados gives more details about our expertise. We command over 60% of the market in the Caribbean region. Internationally, Solar Dynamics and Barbados are recognized as leaders in the development and use of solar technology…”

James is STILL MAKING WATER HEATERS!!

42 years and still heating water yet here we have a nascent PVC expert whom the UWI Department of Science in conjunction with the Government of the People’s Republic of China should have engineered a PVC combination for Dr. James Husbands so that the “Orville Maynard” initiative would have propagated on “60% of the market” that James so proudly speaks of these 40 years hence.

That ladies and gents of the jury, that is what the Akanni Mcdowalls and the Ms. Morre and the Derek Alleyne mentalities CANNOT EVER ADDRESS.

That is what the FUMBLES CREW & THE BAND IN WAITING THE BLP TROIKA PRESENT

AN EFFIN “BRIDGE TOO FAR” a la Barbados

17. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right ,

James Husbands developed solar hot water systems and his company has been successful for him.

What has stopped other Bajans from developing Solar based businesses?

18. Now to the other issue of concern .NUPW has voted to shut down the country on behalf of Annakani because of a demotion on a position which he held which would have soon expired

19. Do you understand what fighting for a principle means?

Do you know of any reputable entity who in the most autocratic manner will ignore it’s contractual obligation?

Finally how does a government grow trust with a partner it is vested? The NUPW is the Union charged with representing public sector workers.

#grain

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t want it appear as though I am nitpicking but NUPW is not charge with representing public sector workers. There are several unions representing those workers with Unity Workers Union being the best by far even though not the biggest.

21. ammmmmmm Hants

De ole man was going to answer that but the Browser shut down unexpectedly.

Suffice it to say that “a man had three sons who were born 20 years apart, at the end of 42 years the first son had i camel, the second 5 and the third 10”

Of these sons which would you say was the most successful?

I only suggest this to you because of the many posters here, you tend to say that which you believe with sincerity of spirit and no animosity AND ONCE YOU ARE DISAVOWED OF AN IDEA ON LEARNING THE TRUTH can incorporate it into your vocabulary and move forward.

When time permits you to, count the camels and then tell me if you believe that this inversion speaks of soundness of strategy

22. @Caswell

The comment was made in the context of the NUPW required to make a stand onbehalf of Akanni. It appears the NUPW Managment has followed your lead.

23. As I understand it Mr McDowall was not demoted, he was acting up. He was returned to his substantive position. Whether that was for political reasons or not is another question it i certainly not demotion. Whatever the outcome of the confrontation, the union should meet any salary shortfall.

24. Enlighten me David as to how an issue of one persons demotion warrants the shutting down of a country.
    For indeed if he worked in the private sector and was demoted such actions would not have been thought of further less heard off
    The Unions action to rub against the national interest would at some time bite them in the a.sss

25. No where in develop countries does one hear of such petty issues ongoing between Unions and govt, Tatcher and Reagean both fired up the grill and put the Unions in their place and ever since then Govt and Unions have been able to live and abide under the umberla with one goal in mind of putting country interest first,

26. Strike on

By Sandy Deane on Nov 02, 2016 01:42 pm

dsc_7879The National Union of Public Workers will embark on industrial action tomorrow, but it remains mum on who will be involved, what form the action will take and how business at Government offices will be affected. Following more than two hours of talks with environmental health officers this morning at the NUPW’s Dalkeith headquarters, General […]

Read in browser »

27. waste of time and valuable membership resources money that could be better well spent when one takes into the many other internal problems being faced by the Union that needs resolution,
    Delcia Burke is rely making an ass of her self first of all bad timing at a time of the year which is seasonal and money is the top of the list for every household including membership would not be surprised if she receives luke warm support from her members

28. When the moron called Esther Byer lied about how Walter Maloney ended up on the severance board instead of Akanni, I knew that they had spite in their hearts, as we all know.

I think the dems have poked the lion………if I were the union, I would do small strikes since you dont want to meet with me and escalate the action in the week leading up to November 30th. Embarrass they tail!

29. Why don’t these idiots hold the meeting and deflate this situation? Will they wait until the NUPW and UNITY shutdown the airport?

#JAs

30. The report is that a meeting is scheduled for 11:30 with the PAD today. We must pray that good sense prevails.

31. At the End of the Day, the problem that this Union is facing is one that which is burdening the country Barbados.

It is singularly the “Most Incompetent Government that Barbados has had in 50 Years Since its Independence”

We have suffered and are going to suffer a little while longer

Let us however not take our Eyes off the Prize.

We have the “Tango in the Reticule, do not waiver”

https://youtu.be/pc3KTi7OyNs

32. McDowall, the official said, possesses a master’s degree in public health, but none of the stipulated requirements.

McDowall possesses a master’s degree in public health

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/04/not-qualified/

33. After such a damming revelation. Which ever action/s taken be that to reinstate or Unions action to strike. The perceptions of Akanni being wronged was remove replaced by facts which tells a story of Annaki holding a position which he was unqualified which now bodes well to ask who were the masters in his initial appointment for the the job

34. How can a person “act” 4 months in a a position for which he is not qualified?

Did he go to work everyday and pretend to be Denzel Washington?

Was Mcdowell’s performance evaluated by his bossto determine if he could continue in that job?

While we are at it let us find out how many DLP appointees to the civil service are qualified for the jobs they are in.

35. @Hants

Not sure if Caswell is able to shed some light, seems a reasonable question.

In today’s news we read of confusion between the Police Force, Police Service Commission and the ministry of Home Affairs. All to do with officers acting two ranks above they substantive positions.

36. As i stated early that Burke was behaving like a jac a.sss. after all it now seems as if she has opened a hornet nest fighting over a few days of a required demotion with a full fledge fight of turning the barbados economy upside down.

37. “the man who has been in that position for the past three years”

Here again I have to ask. Has Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith performed well as the de facto Commissioner and if so he should be promoted to that position.

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88752/royal-rumble#sthash.rK5QoMsl.dpuf

38. @Hants

A careful read of the article reveals the reason Tyrone Griffith has fallen from grace. An officer not recommended by Griffith to act as head of the CID. Only in Barbados. When you start to meddle with the Police we know where that will lead. We have already seen what the meddling has done to the public service.

39. Put an idiot in charge of Heaven …..and soon you will have Hell.

40. There is merit in the argument by those who question the appointment of Guyson Mayers to head the PSC. He was junior as a policeman to many he has to rule over.

41. Maybe Akanni was returned to his junior position because he failed to get rid of chinks in the bus stand.

BTW, what was Maloney’s grade at the NHC and is it commensurate with his academic qualification.

42. The issue here surrounds Annakani demotion which by all accounts has turned into a swirled of controversy surrounding the who and what if he was qualified all because a bigmout delcia Burke pursuing a path of defense charging a wrong was done placing the issue on on a hot bed of political shenanigans
    I am hoping that the govt would stand firm and she be placed into a uncompromising positon and be blamed for placing the nation social and economic interest at high risk when she calls the strike
    She exemplifies a real case of monkey handling gun

43. The Union suffers from the same petty-mindedness as their political adversaries.
    This is NOT an issue about qualifications, process or any such shiite technicalities….

It is a SIMPLE matter of RESPECT.

If you allow the government to disrespect your PRESIDENT (even if that was Dompey) then you lose the credibility needed to defend all other members.
    How hard is that to grasp…?

The action planned for yesterday SHOULD HAVE BEEN ENFORCED until the status quo had been restored …. THEN talks could be held….

Small minds always get distracted with petty details….
    It is how brass bowls are manipulated.

44. Bush sh.it stop talking shit bout respect. Respect on what cause. Either he is qualified or not. Furthermore the govt gave him an overextension of his time permitted ..a private company would not have shown him that much leniency or respect by allowing him the luxury of working and being paid in a job for which he was not qualified.Respect my a.ss by the way he should be thanking govt and the taxpayers for their generosity in allowing him to recive an income for a job which he was not deserving or qualified

45. @ Bush Tea

I would really and seriously enter into a collaboration with you as it relates to (a) fielding a cadre of warriors for that 3rd party (b) establishing an economic powerbase for we niggers and (c) most anything that you would seek to pursue.

I know dat Donna going say dat de ole man bootlicking but You does doan deviate from nuffing dat you say and AND DE TING DAT I LIKE DE MOST BOUT YOU IS DAT you ent afraid to kill a feller.

Dat is a requirement of de ole man actually dere is one more.

Belief in GOD.

I find meself always agreeing wid you and I doan like dat,

Dat is an anomally.

I mean dere is certain tings dat we doan agree pun totally e.g. Come Sing a Song but you does say one ting everyday without any variance.

Bush Tea, dat is a hard ting to do, cause most times, to shoot straight from the hip you got to be self sufficient, cause i has encountered many an effer dat economic considerations does affect dem backbone and mek dem into hissing serpents when push come to shove.

Anyways, I serious though and do hope that before (a) this tile in my mosaic of life ends (b) de ole man emigrate or (c) de Troika get in power and i get exiled fuh me mout and talking bout Mugabe and Smiley Teets de ole man meet you and see who you is, fuh real.

Whuloss I getting like Carl Moore and Heather Cole now, wanting to know who you is and ting.

Anyways I gots to go back heah and do some more posters and ting.

46. Correct Bush Tea, they want to cut him off at the knees. Let the idiots turm him into a David Giles. When the BLP returns to office we flip the argument.

#aroundthemulberrybush

47. Cut off at what knees..a leg or two would have been better especially when as President of a Union he condemns those employers actions that precludes employees from getting fair treatment.Now in reality he gets to benefit from those same unsavoury actions which he decries

48. @ Piece
    Sorry to have missed your comment at November 4, 2016 at 1:01 PM

You flatter the bushman, but it all comes with the territory – of having been adopted …and handed a big-ass whacker….
    Bushie (and his alter ego) ain’t frighten for a boy,
    but if you were similarly adopted …and spoiled by BBE neither would YOU be….

…as a great King once said,

” I have been young, and now am old,
    yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
    or his children begging for bread.
    He is ever lending generously,
    and his children become a blessing.”

In fact, have a good, slow read of Psalms 37 …and you will get an EXCELLENT grasp of Bushie’s position…..
    Take special note of Verse 32 as it pertains to AC on this very blog…