economic-review-september-2016
Click image to read Central Bank Economic Review January to September 2016

71 responses to “Central Bank Economic Review January to September 2016”

1. millertheanunnaki October 27, 2016 at 5:01 PM #

I recall decades ago we imported sugar from Guatamala which on arrival was declared unfit for human consumption,so it was dumped at sea instead of sending it to one of our then factories to be re-processed…….the same may happen with this shipment as it does not make sense in any form or fashion.

2. @Vincent

What can we say. Maybe this is water we will sell to the cruise ships. What is sad here is the lack of disclosure by our government.

3. correction…..travel time is 4-5 days….

4. @Vincent Haynes October 27, 2016 at 4:39 PM #

The article in the T&T Newsday said the journey should take 4 to 5 days, so maybe you misunderstood or the VOB news room made a mistake (see excerpt below)

“We would like to have the launch of the flexbag on November 21 or 22 and after that, it will be sent to Barbados with (drinkable) surface water from the rivers. The journey should take four to five days, using a tugboat to pull the floating flexbag/flextank…We will test, through our trial, how does the water behave during transportation.”

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Its arriving on the big Independance 50 day? Sounds like an Independence Day joke.

6. It DLP prime minister Sandiford who imported sugar from Guatamala. It included. Lumps of rubbish – pure disrespect. Some of our leading rum distillers now import molasses from down the islands.
    We have no industrial strategy, no educational vision, no land use strategy, no housing plans, our nation is suffering from digital illiteracy, our school curriculum is out of date, the quality of politicians has not improved.
    This is Barbados in the early 21st century.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Lord, please help Barbados and its naïve people!

Earlier this year the importation of garbage was on the cards to meet the raw material requirements of the Cahill WTE plant.

Now there will be a monthly arrival of South American water (with cholera and all lying dormant).

Why not solve the water problem by exporting some of the thousands of unproductive Bajans? It has happened rather often in the past. When will there be another Panama Exodus?

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Duh bad but I cannot believe that the Ministry of Health and the BWA people and the Ministry of Agriculture are as hopeless as this water importation gambit seems to suggest.

It has to be that it is some kind of experiment between Suriname and Barbados with costs shared to determine the feasibility of using towed flexible containers to transport water by tugs from South America to Barbados in our future water scarce phase. And even if that were the case the lack of prior discussion with the people, though standard for Stuart’s minions. It is abysmal policy planning and execution.

Anyhow, duh only have duhself tuh blame for not having prior discussions and dialogue with the public on such a sensitive matter to those bajans who take pride in declaring that we have the best water in the world. This thing is so stupid that it has the potential, almost on its own, to be a major selling point for PUDRYR’s campaign of “not one effing seat fuh dem”.

9. The report is clear, this is an experimental arrangement. The MOA needs to spell his guts to the people by communicating the objective of the exercise.

Do NOT hold your breath!

10. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Just heard an explanation on CBC TV by Dr Atlee Brathwaite that is essentially the same as my guess.

11. Yes the Chmn gave an interesting explanation on CBC just now

…..purely an experiment should we need it in the future……(why with all these desal plants and an ocean around us)

……none will be used for human consumption only in agriculture……(bacteria entering the food chain and going into the aquifers spring to mind)

12. GP: You are definitely NUTS!!!
    David:
    What difference does it make if this show time solution cools the animosity. At least it can be used to replenish the aquifers and keep the fresh water level high enough that the salinity does not get to effect the ability to pump fresh water.

13. Why is it that every time the govt search and find a solution the blp noise makers are always the first to cry the sky is falling . For peat sake there are people in hurricane ravish countries like haiti only wishing that they can get a glass of water and all the active noise makers in barbados can do is stand bold face as modern day antagonist lighting political fires

14. @Alvin

We have millions of gallons of water running into the sea. Would it not make sense to trap some of that water and used our scarce forex to buy something else?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/27/dutch-water/

only after it has been exposed Estwick jumps out acting as though it’s not a done deal, but at first there was denial in the nationnews.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88520/imported-water

Kick them out of office, out of parliament and spare us their dumb yardfowls.

16. if barbados has to buy water it reminds me of the movie waterworld where cosner says ….your dying and you dont even know it..Who in there right mind would invest in a place if there is water problems the optics of this are bad

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88521/parris-assets-frozen

Parris himself should be frozen, right along with Alvin.

18. David October 28, 2016 at 1:14 AM #

I dont think Alvin understands the danger of unknown bacteria entering our food chain and aquifers……quick fixes are not always for the best.

19. The Trinidad economy is struggling. The longer the price of oil remains at 50.00 or below it will be hell!

The relationship between energy/oil prices and global economic health is explored by actuary Gail Tverberg at OurFiniteWorldDOTcom. The bad news is, low oil prices causes slowdowns in economies dependent on oil extraction and sales and difficulties for oil companies which
    leads to a slowdown in oil production, but when oil prices climb as consumption in the other economies picks up, the consequent rise in oil prices chokes off their economic growth again. This results in a cycle of recessions and recoveries where each subsequent recovery will be at a lower level than the one before.

The good news is… well unfortunatelly there is no good news. From Tverberg’s analysis the increasing costs of extracting harder to get at oil (as the cheap, easy to extract oil is used up) means there is no chance of landing on an economic sweet spot which will keep economies and oil companies both happy and contented, at least not in the long term. she also analyzes the prospective costs vs benefits of renewable energy and explains why switching to more renewable energy sources won’t resolve the overall problem.

Tverberg’s most recent post is: How Researchers Could Miss the Real Energy Story.

I have been telling a fairly different energy story from most energy researchers. How could I possibly be correct? What have other researchers been missing

The “standard” approach is to start from the amount of resources that we have of a particular type, for example, oil in the ground, and see how far these resources will go. Growing development of technology seems to allow increasing amounts of these resources to be extracted. Thus, limits seem to be farther and farther in the distance, especially if a person starts out with an optimistic bias. It is easy to get this optimistic bias, with all research funds going in the direction of, “What can we do to solve our energy problems?”

Approaches for forecasting future supply problems that start from the amount of resources in the ground suffer from the problem that it is hard to draw a sharp line regarding when we will run into difficulties. It is clear that at some point, there will be a problem–EROEI (Energy Return on Energy Investment) will be too low–but exactly when is hard to pinpoint. If a person starts from an optimistic viewpoint, it is easy to assume that as long as Energy Output is greater than Energy Input for a given process, that process must be helpful for solving our energy problem.

In fact, in my opinion, the story is very different. The very thing that should be saving us–technology–has side effects that bring the whole system down.

https://ourfiniteworld.com/2016/10/27/how-researchers-could-miss-the-real-energy-story/

20. David

You may consider starting a separate blog for this one.

Suriname Major infectious diseases

Factbook > Countries > Suriname > Demographics
    ShareThis

Major infectious diseases: degree of risk: very high
    food or waterborne diseases: bacterial and protozoal diarrhea, hepatitis A, and typhoid fever
    vectorborne disease: dengue fever and malaria
    note: active local transmission of Zika virus by Aedes species mosquitoes has been identified in this country (as of August 2016); it poses an important risk (a large number of cases possible) among US citizens if bitten by an infective mosquito; other less common ways to get Zika are through sex, via blood transfusion, or during pregnancy, in which the pregnant woman passes Zika virus to her fetus (2016)

Definition: This entry lists major infectious diseases likely to be encountered in countries where the risk of such diseases is assessed to be very high as compared to the United States. These infectious diseases represent risks to US government personnel traveling to the specified country for a period of less than three years. The degree of risk is assessed by considering the foreign nature of these infectious diseases, their severity, and the probability of being affected by the diseases present. The diseases listed do not necessarily represent the total disease burden experienced by the local population.
    The risk to an individual traveler varies considerably by the specific location, visit duration, type of activities, type of accommodations, time of year, and other factors. Consultation with a travel medicine physician is needed to evaluate individual risk and recommend appropriate preventive measures such as vaccines.
    Diseases are organized into the following six exposure categories shown in italics and listed in typical descending order of risk. Note: The sequence of exposure categories listed in individual country entries may vary according to local conditions.
    food or waterborne diseases acquired through eating or drinking on the local economy:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiFieuih4DQAhUGxCYKHavYA9IQFgg5MAU&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.indexmundi.com%2Fsuriname%2Fmajor_infectious_diseases.html&usg=AFQjCNGDEEoeWOHV5MpUuGKnP2WpM1g0iA&sig2=FgObYqZKYxE2cLpTqGV1ww

21. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Gabriel October 26, 2016 at 3:45 PM #

William Skinner’s buddy has spoken once more.I don’t listen to his crap.As far as I am concerned between this idyut Worrall and Dtuart along with Sinckler are cumulatively the cause of Barbados’s current demise and until the citizen speaks and takes back the country from these 3 incompetents,no serious investor will look at Barbados with any confidence.Lies,lies and more damn lies.Plenty if,ands,buts,howevers,we believe,should haves…all crap!@@

we love this short post so we re-post it, Just to let you know , the BLP can not fix this,Under Owen and AG MIA it got going with the help of Sir Cheltenham and Sir Cow , Only truth can fix what is wrong, And we have the given the the police in 2009,
    We can see the rest of the world have ears and eyes open for their PONZI laundering games, China is at their door IMF new head, Only Clear title deeds can get things going and we can clear them all,, Trust that we await for the Public to wake up , and Vote them all out , The CUP can fix ,ask out side questions and see what others know but will not post , Start with Skinner him self we got him,