UWI,Cave HillAgainst the background of numerous political, economic, and social issues grabbing national headlines and our concerned attention, this past weekend was very heartening. As a proud graduate of the University of the West Indies (UWI), I became washed with positive emotion while taking in the two graduation ceremonies. The graduating students were splendidly dressed not only in terms of their apparel, but more poignantly they wore consummate smiles reflecting anticipation, happiness, satisfaction, elation, relief, and that wonderful joy of overcoming.

My sincerest congratulations to the graduating classes of 2016, and to the academic and administrative staff of the UWI for reminding all and sundry that we are collectively ‘a light rising from the west’. Worthy acknowledgement is also extended to the several sponsors of students, their projects, and the accompanying events inclusive of the graduation ceremony. Without their cooperative inputs, Saturday could possibly have been somewhat dulling. Fantastic presentation, job well done!

Arguably, the collection of one’s certificate will tend to remain with the individual for a lifetime. However, I am convinced that the most conscious and awe-inspiring moment at the graduation ceremony came when the Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, Sir George Alleyne, requested the graduates to turn to their loved ones – parents, guardians, spouses, and friends – and give them the biggest applause they have ever given to anyone. Profoundly remarkable!

It is precisely this grand act of appreciation for the loved ones and supporters, many themselves may not have graduated from university but were willing to sacrifice their time, financial and other resources, in order to make possible a positive difference in the lives of whom they supported did not go unnoticed. The mere exposure to higher education, inconsequential of class of degree, would bring a tremendous sense of achievement to the graduates.

The graduates will go back into their communities, the workplace (some for the first time), and the society with a ‘newness’ for which all advanced and developing countries strive. Their ‘enlightened’ impact will be very telling for generations to come. Indeed, the recognition of this synthesis presents quite an opportune time for us in the broader society to contemplate: “What kind of education do we need in Barbados and the Caribbean?” Attempting to respond to this simple question elicits very complex answers which fittingly encourage us to consider a different question: “What kind of society do we want?”

According to three academics, higher education exists “to create and disseminate knowledge, and to develop higher order cognitive and communicative skills in [mostly] young people, such as, the ability to think logically, the motivation to challenge the status quo, and the capacity to develop sophisticated values,” and more recently, as “a training ground for advanced vocational and professional skills”. Surely, these composite benchmarks are instrumental for building the type of society we imagine, and achieving the platitudes of investment contributions which are necessary for national development.

Furthermore, another group realising the challenges in the contemporary world assert the view that: “Today’s knowledge economy requires highly skilled personnel at all levels to deal with rapid technological changes,” in addition to meeting the “current societal needs.” In fact, Barbados and the Caribbean are grappling with issues as these relate to ensuring that higher education institutions are accessible and that wider sections of the population are exposed to programmes which are edifying for the individual and the society on a whole.

In Barbados, numerous arguments have been put to state officials by multiple stakeholders. For starters, there is now an urgent necessity to reconstruct curricula at all stages of the educational construct – inclusive of primary, secondary, and tertiary institutions. Key to this route of reform is the willingness and capabilities for attracting the best yet most cost-effective pedagogy, and the political will for implementation and assessment of policies “to ensure that all students,” by the end of their relevant classes of instruction, have attained the desired attributes and competencies for moving upward to the next level, or for entering the workplace with the enlightened capability to contribute meaningfully to national development.

A closer examination of the competencies required, reveal that subject specific and generic training and practical exposure are vital cogs for the fertilisation of attitudes and aptitudes in order to effectively build capacity in national development. As a developing society, Barbados’ labour force needs competences in a broad range of disciplines. The broad area of the natural sciences inclusive of the range of new technologies and strands of physics, chemistry, and engineering for example are particularly useful points of take-off.

Notwithstanding emphasis on the natural sciences, there is a real need for the social sciences, the arts and humanities, and importantly, the development of persons with the ability to cooperate across discipline boundaries by putting their choice discipline into a broader context. The reality is that knowledge, understanding, and the ability to act are crucial to the era that we live in.

Accompanying these points of interaction and engagement are the shaping and manifestation of the appropriate attitudes within the framework of national society and international settings. The productive and competitive spaces that characterise today’s workplace, mean that increased levels of awareness and initiative are likely to increasingly feature with regards to hiring. Research has demonstrated that people consistently identify work in one of two ways – being primarily about personal fulfilment, and serving others or about status, advancement, and income.

Again, considering higher education in the context of what kind of society do we want in Barbados and in the Caribbean, it is useful to reflect upon an essay first published in 1929 by A.N. Whitehead who wrote:

“The university imparts information, but it imparts it imaginatively. … This atmosphere of excitement, arising from imaginative consideration, transforms knowledge. A fact is no longer a bare fact: it is invested with all its possibilities. It is no longer a burden on the memory: it is energising as the poet of our dreams, and as the architect of our purposes. Imagination is not to be divorced from the facts: it is a way of illuminating the facts. It works by eliciting the general principles which apply to the facts, as they exist, and then by an intellectual survey of alternative possibilities which are consistent with those principles. … The development of students’ intellectual and imaginative powers; their understanding and judgement; their problem-solving skills; their ability to communicate; their ability to see relationships within what they have learned and to perceive their field of study in a broader perspective. [It] must aim to stimulate an enquiring, analytical and creative approach, encouraging independent judgement and critical self-awareness.”

In conclusion, the call is for all Barbadian and Caribbean peoples to embrace the value and significance of allowing for as many individuals as possible to have access to higher level education. At 50 years, our work is clearly not done, and realistically, the country and region have both progressed in other stages of development which require belief and delivery in all of our instructional institutions.

In particular, although not a statement of exclusivity blocking out vocational, technical, and professional institutions of instruction, the urge is for us to celebrate the 2016 graduates of the UWI. Let us embrace the pedagogical work and research contributions being made by the UWI on all of its campuses. There is no doubt that the deep and phenomenal significance of higher education to the national and integrated development of the Caribbean region rest with the graduates being produced and their sometimes underestimated contributions to humanity.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer in Political Science at the UWI-Cave Hill Campus, a political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

130 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – What Kind of Society Do WE Want?”

1. David October 21, 2016 at 3:01 PM #

What is your view of Glyne Murray whipping up support for Sandra Husbands from behind the Mike today.
    ………………………………………………

Looks like OSA faction is alive and kicking.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman October 21, 2016 at 1:44 PM

We have noticed a marked silence on your part since that DLP Hydra of the Privatization beast raised one of its electorally ugly heads in the form of the start of the dismantling of the SSA and its eventual total outsourcing of its operational function.

What would soon be left of the SSA is the ‘limited’ oversight responsibility of solid and liquid waste management and policy review; functions which can easily be incorporated within the Ministry of Health with a dotted line functional relationship with the ministry responsible for water resources.

Walter, are you still looking to replace the dying Dr. Lowedown the high priest of kickbacks since his ministry of garbage would soon be on the chopping block?

Since agriculture is on its way out (King Sugar is dead and cow itch the new ruler) why not reform that ministry and call it the Ministry of Water Resources, Environment and Marijuana Cultivation?

Walter there goes your chance of becoming a supernumerary minister in an already obese cabinet still looking to feed like blow flies on the once fatted but now emaciated calf.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Walther the PPK

I did not expect to say this Walter.

It would appear that, as much as I am contra the Demonic Lying Party I going have to support your campaign.

Why is that?

De BLP runnîng Sandra Husbands!!

De Ole man can only say that “beyond the 9th ring of hades there is only one ring more and that is Sandra Husbands”

Whuloss PPK you is a smart fellow, doan Ming you running for de DLP, but if you seat is gainst Husbands as she ole man Henson would say, “da case closed”

And Walter no, contrary to what de Honourable Blogmaster is calling provoking you, de ole man grudgingly feels that you have something to give to the country, as long as you can country dem Sandiford-esque urges to put a knife in a fellows back. Lololol

Seriously though you are, with all your faults, 10 times better than the best candidate in the DLP which is not good since 10 times 0 = 0 (or is that infinity according to that accountant for the mafia) barring Ms Irene Sandiford Garner.

You state and I quote “As you are fully aware, two of my biggest detractors on this blog are Watchman and Pieceuhdecockyeahright. These two untrustworthy, unsavoury, and unprincipled characters have demonstrated, time after time, that they hate and love me with equal zeal and vigour. Given the chance, they would kill me and then spend the rest of their miserable lives crying and missing me….”

I was and still am of the opinion that you may be “augmenting” the AC consortium posts ergo those comments…

And no Walter, I would not “kill” you

I just want to see something good for my country of birth and am constantly hopeful that real men would arise to dispense with their duties for Nation as opposed to tekking $17,000 a month and den trying to teif millions more while raping all uh we.

You unfortunately have the same flaw of all small minded bajans.

I call it the mini bus conductor mentality where, as long as you have reason to question that PSV operator about your change, the automatically assume that you are accusing them them mudda, dem family of being teives and become your lifelong feuding nemesis.

As hard as it is I sometimes can say “forgive the small minded swine, they simply DO NOT KNOW ANY BETTER!!

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As long as you can control dem….not country dem…de iPad doing it ting

5. Black Wall Street was founded in 1908 in Tulsa,Oklahoma.600 businesses,21 churches,21 restaurants,30 grocery stores,2 cinemas,6 private planes,a hospital,a bank,post office,law offices,schools,libraries,and a bus system,all owned and managed by black Americans.The affluent,hardworking,successful community in Greenwood,Tulsa was destroyed by angry whites in 1921,out of a misguided notion that blacks must not be seen as successful in anything other than menial roles.The area was firebombed from the air and totally destroyed with a heavy murder toll of both blacks and whites.This is the type of development Barbados is crying out for.Its time blacks take full control of this country lock,stock and barrel.It has to happen

http://atlantablackstar.com/2014/12/02/6-interesting-things-you-didn't-know-about-black-wall-street/

6. @ Gabriel

And here i was with my ingrunt self believing that Black Economic Empowerment was the way to go and that there was nothing that had come before de ole man suggestions of a different type of war than the David Come Sing A Song repatriation chants

Whu de ole man did not even read bout Black Star Liner(s) nor nuffin so.

But I would ask you this Gabriel given that the ole man knoweth whom thou are.

Why do you think, like I do, that the economic struggle which the ole man was prosecuting vigourously here on another thread is doomed to fail?

Do you think that it has something to do with the innate dishonesty of our brethren of whom you number (the brethren part NOT THE DISHONESTY PART) to

(i) Take materials that are shared in the confidences of company “formation meetings” and share with parties that are not part of that meeting and refuse to return those documents for close to a year

(ii) Disseminate other materials which one is privy to as legal counsel to third parties while “blabbering” to other people to show that one is a thinker, mover and shaker

(iii) Pretend that, based on the “confidential nature of one’s trade” that what is discussed like the mantra of the forresters “what you see here, what you hear here, when you leave here, let it stay heres, is protected and is confidential.

(iv) Be genetically disposed to teif other people’s ideas because we are lacking of ideas of our own and are just short of being waste foops most because we are effing waste foops.

I would very much appreciate your personal take on this ethnic conundrum that inveigles us niggers and why we shall always be “hewers of wood and drawers of water”

Here is a Stoopid Poster that sought to encapsulate that dream of Black Economic Empowerment which as you have noted in this 1908 exercise, over 100 years ago, failed, as will all Black Lives Matter projects fail etc.

http://i.imgur.com/vHXuZtr.png

7. Piece
    Choose your partners carefully,start small,sign undated letters of resignation,watch expenses like a hawk,walk before you run,initially meet every week to review past week and the next week,month,year.Leave out any member of the Democratic Labour Party,they are too corrupt and want to get rich quick.Employee system of stock sharing etc

8. A caller on VOB Brasstacks has just stated that the entire educational system needs an overhaul without any disagreement from the moderator…….it would seem that the wider public are in sync with the BU rumshop crowd.

9. The Brasstacks moderator has indicated that follow up programmes addressing the education system here,which he agrees is in need of an overhaul,will be coming soon.

10. @Vincent

Oftentimes the BU family is ahead of the pack. Remember these guys though they do not admit it are always logged on.

11. re .it would seem that the wider public are in sync with the BU rumshop crowd.

ARE NOT THE BU RUM SHOP CROWD DERIVED FROM THE WIDER PUBLIC?
    IF YES WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?

12. Walter Blackman Avatar

David October 21, 2016 at 3:01 PM #
    “@Walter

Why are you allowing the guys to provoke you?”

I have observed that when BU is not educating, it seeks to entertain in various ways. We are West Indians, so by definition, we love to have fun at the expense of others and ourselves (if others are not available).

We bloggers love Barbados dearly and hold no malice towards each other. Yuh hear lie?

The guys did not provoke me. They simply disturbed me at the wrong time.

Imagine that I was seriously reflecting on how easily the media had reported that some “known” drug lords in Barbados have been recently gunned down by “hit men”. As I began to ask myself: “Known by whom? The police? The Coast Guard? BLP politicians (LOL)? Customs? Lawyers? Banks?”, I was rudely interrupted by a foolhardy blogger launching a scurrilous attack on my integrity on one hand, and peeping into the barrel of the PPK on the other.

With a mixture of annoyance and glee, and certainly not out of provocation, I pulled the “cocked” trigger of the well-oiled PPK.
    Blam!

Now that my trigger-happy days are behind me, in Bob Marley style, I can truthfully sing:
    ” I shot the Sheriff, and I also shot his deputy…”

13. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Glad to see ‘Walter Blackman is Back’ and with a sense of humor. Wondering if shooting the Sheriff and deputy is enough to discourage the posse.

14. Walter Blackman Avatar

“@Walter
    Give us an update on how the nomination exercise is going in your neck of the woods.”

The nomination process of the DLP is different from that of the BLP.
    Under the BLP, the “Branch election” decides, apparently with finality, who the candidate is going to be.
    Under the DLP, the candidate is ultimately chosen by the Executive Council.
    This easily explains why Verla DePeiza, for example, chosen by the Executive Council of the DLP, becamethe DLP candidate for Christ Church West in the 2013 general elections. She had received only about 5% of the votes cast at the “Branch election”, but that result was not the final determinant under DLP rules.

Hope this helps.

15. Walter Blackman Avatar

“@Walter
    What is your view of Glyne Murray whipping up support for Sandra Husbands from behind the Mike today”

“Not me and that Pele case, bozee.”
    No need to be prolix.

PS: Sandra Husbands won, much to the disappointment and irritation of “Piece”. Is there going to be, with Piece’s connivance and assistance, at least “one effing seat for the DLP”?
    She probably would have won anyway without the frenzied “whipping up of support” from behind the mic.

16. The kind of society we want has never been spelled out. There has never been a grand strategy, an over-arching vision of the society we had hoped for.
    When the Young Turks broke away from the BLP to form a new party, becoming government in 1961, it is difficult now to say how excited the entire nations was.
    The QEH has just been opened, the Deep Water Harbour had become operational, the Careenage was filled in and the lightermen who ferried sugar out to Carlisle Bay were either sacked or moved in to the Harbour, there were great promises of glass making from sand, bagasse was to be turned in to ‘board’, Texas Instruments and other came in to take advantage of our five-year tax free break, 15 shrimp trawlers operated out of the Careenage, the list goes on. We also got the myth of ‘free’ secondary education.
    By the second DLP government the fire had gone out of their belly. Barrow turned on radical young men and women in Barbados: sacking one person I know from the new QEH because of his politics; he harassed the Black Star bookshop, ran by the incredibly intelligent Leroy Harewood and members of the PPM party.
    It was the beginning of the cult of Dipper Barrow which is still going on today.

17. Walter Blackman Avatar

Anonymouse – The Gazer October 24, 2016 at 1:31 PM #
    “Glad to see ‘Walter Blackman is Back’ and with a sense of humor. Wondering if shooting the Sheriff and deputy is enough to discourage the posse.”

Anonymouse – The Gazer,
    When you share blows on BU, you don’t hang around and wait for a receipt. I am heading for the hills, pronto.
    Discourage which posse? At the head of that posse is a righteous, serious and determined man called BushTea who told Artaxerxes recently that, should I try anything untoward, he will “lick” my “Blackman ass.” Well, as a result of my actions, my “ass” is now grass.

I promise to give you a shout after the Sheriff and his deputy have been buried and the “heat” has cooled down. I can’t even afford a horse to make my quick escape, so all I can say for now is: “Giddyup, donkey, lets go”.

Hee Haw.

18. Mark Williams and David Ellis crossed swords on Brasstacks today.Mark felt patriotic for once and attacked Ellis for suggesting it was a mistake to place Independence Day,Barbados so close to Christmas festivities.I am in agreement with Ellis and have concluded that it was part of Barrow’s agenda to remove the influence of the Christian church and replace it with the influence of the DLP.It was folly to celebrate independence on Nov 30th without considering the effect of the decision on the season to be jolly.It is not too late to remove and revise the Nov 30th date but it will be cat piss and pepper if an attempt is made to do so.In any case Barbados’s future is within membership of the OECS.

19. @ Walter (note that I did not use the customary Walther)

I dont know if it is a feature about going way and ting but, of one thing that i am sure, people who have travelled are less thin skinned and each year away from this accursed rock hardens one’s epidermis and firms up the conjones. (dat be bajan Spanish for cojones heheheheheh)

Look, contrary to your version at the OK Coral, you and your Ranch Boys got shot up but the thing Walter is that if we were to meet tomorrow and you put out your hand to shake mine I would shake it cause at the end of the day you ent into this small island ting.

You did your stuff in the past but i am sure if you had to live this one over again you would do differently.

Maturity and experience and a wisdom to congeal them wisely and not be belligerent like your ingrunt DLP colleagues.

The lesson at the polls this time is going to teach them, at least they will learn what not one effing seat means.

Two short points before i leave you.

It is not a nice thing to speak about Donkey like that, how you plan to ride him to the hills and guffawing at his poor ingrunt sel like that. What Donkey ever do you?

At least he had the presence of mind when the gunshots started to run like france, as he did when they burnt down his barn.

That was a low blow about Sandra,

[[ my dearest Suzanne gave her a pass but she ent know Sandra nor Henson like de ole man so I really can only forgive her. I writing you i square brackets causing only me and you supposed to see this]]

Speaking bout “not speaking bout Pele cases” and ting.

You see dat pornographic picture of that man holding onto dem mammary glands and and …she reaching back and rubbing he Kojak head in such abandon?

Whu you tink bout dat?? you is a man who know bout these tings so i would appreciate your insights…

You know Walter when you are running for politics you have to be really careful what you say, and what you do cause the most innocent thing can and will come back to haunt you like that “grab the pokkerts? comment.

But you dun know how de ole man did say dat he mouf was gine do fuh he.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman October 24, 2016 at 1:47 PM
    “The nomination process of the DLP is different from that of the BLP.
    Under the BLP, the “Branch election” decides, apparently with finality, who the candidate is going to be.
    Under the DLP, the candidate is ultimately chosen by the Executive Council.
    This easily explains why Verla DePeiza, for example, chosen by the Executive Council of the DLP, became the DLP candidate for Christ Church West in the 2013 general elections. She had received only about 5% of the votes cast at the “Branch election”, but that result was not the final determinant under DLP rules.”

Could that same ‘power’ of the DLP Executive Council to run roughshod over the hopes and aspirations of the grass-root party faithful be the reason why you have been ‘silenced’ on all things appearing controversial to the ruling party?

Walter, do you think the DLP under Stuart has any moral or political justification for the privatization programme it has undertaken? Why not go back to the same people who were fooled in 2013 and seek a ‘genuine’ mandate before undertaking the privatization ‘through-the-backdoor’ programme?

How can you (based on your expressed philosophy on the CLICO affair and professional training) renege on your Fiduciary responsibilities to the Bajan people who financed in a massively large measure your education from primary to tertiary?

Of course, Walter, not a word of response will be coming from you on this one! That troika of an Executive Council has issued its edict of silence to you.

We have had our hands full of troubles from former ‘Blackmans’ behaving as mavericks. Please don’t let PKK be the third of the troubling three.

21. Miller
    I beg to second the motion.

22. miller please blow a fuse talking political sh..t , Was the SSA sold to a private company ?

23. ” WILD COOT: A cultural thing?”

“BARBADIANS HAD for many years a reputation for being conservative. For a long time they would not let the old flag fall. The Wild Coot left Barbados when he was 19 tender years, came back when he was 38, spent two years and left again for 26 years. He is therefore not qualified to pontificate on things Barbadian.
    Related articles

What he can report about is what has been told to him by an old lady of 96 years who has never left Barbados and who has kept her ears to the ground. She said that her mother taught her well – home-schooling was not illegal in those days. According to her, Barbados is divided into two societies (now it is three if we include Trinidadians).

There were the merchants who produced and invested locally and there were the workers who consumed and saved for a rainy day. Savings was a special necessity as workers saw it as a means of social enhancement. Barbados acquired a reputation for savings.

The Barbados Savings Bank was evidence of that reputation and later the Barbados National Bank. The merchants who were the investors in the island dominated the other side of social and economic activity. Barbados Shipping & Trading Co. Ltd. (BS&T) featured prominently in this group, but there were others, mainly owners of import businesses and sugar lands.

This division in the cultural and economic activities of the island was in one respect good, but in another respect not so good as it has now led to a dilemma. In came the Trinidadians with “their horde of plate and gold” to take over many of the businesses owned by the local merchants.

This meant that while the merchant class and the workers (savers) had been able to live ostensibly side by side and their ultimate goal was to further the interest of Barbados and Barbadians, the symbiosis was no longer present. Those who have taken over the interest of the Barbadian merchants are mainly Trinidadian and their profits do not necessarily make Barbados greater. As a matter of fact, a social and economic hiatus has ensued.

What has happened to the substantial wealth that should have enriched Barbados on the sale of BS&T and other Barbadian firms? There is no evidence that it was ploughed back into Barbados either by way of savings or investments. There is a huge suspicion that most of it was spirited abroad or never came to Barbados. If either of these two suspicions is correct, it could be the genesis of many of the ills today.

One sector has been accustomed to consumption and savings and has not changed its habit, while the other sector may have parked its wealth abroad. Wealth abroad does not help the country. The pernicious thing is that those who may be keeping their wealth abroad are living off the scraps left in the country.

The Wild Coot was amazed at the perspicacity of the old lady. Her analysis of the present social and economic situation would put esteemed economists to shame.

He remembered gently putting a question to a prime minister. “Why did you sell 49 per cent of the shares of the Barbados National Bank to the Trinidadians?” His answer was: “Bajans would not buy the shares and I wanted money to run the country.” I should have asked: “Did not the people who sold the businesses that prospered on the backs of the workers seek to invest in these shares and all like now obviate the need of the Central Bank to have to send US dollars to Trinidad for bank dividends, food supplies, insurance or for . . . ?”

Poetic justice seems to be taking over. Where to run? Whatever the situation now in Barbados, all classes are subject to debilitating conditions. The “poor” minister of finance does not seem to know which way to turn in the present morass.

How people spend their money is their business. But selling to the Trinidadians has now created a serious dependency on a country that once dismissed the rest of the Caribbean with the famous remark: “We are not an ATM.” Indeed, their present economic difficulties can be ominous for Barbados.

“But Wild Coot,” said the old lady, “we could have kept 51 per cent in the Barbados National Bank and still have a say in where the dividends go. You can’t put all the blame on the merchants.”

Then who else?

24. Who bought the SSA and when?

25. “Mapping Africa’s natural resources
    An overview of the continent’s main natural resources”

http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/interactive/2016/10/mapping-africa-natural-resources-161020075811145.html

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac October 24, 2016 at 6:40 PM
    “Who bought the SSA and when?”

Maybe the same white or black shadows who bought the BTNCL but still holding on to the cheque.

What is there to be sold, anyway?
    Who in their right mind other than a certified member of the asinine consortium (ac) would buy old broken down equipment not even fit to use as landfill or (according to the other ass of a clown Alvin the idiot) as burning stock for the Cahill scam?

Remember that long raging debate you had 2 years ago about Privatization vs. Outsourcing? Let the SSA case study as it unfolds over the coming year be your first practical lesson.

27. Where are the imported compactors?

28. miller glad you answered the question as in i do not know and the truth being with such a high balance due nobody would want to buy the SSA which then voids and drowns out the noises being made by u and the blp tag alongers of Privatization of the SSA
    the fact being that you as a foot soldier would be and is dying to see the day come when all of Barbados is sold to the highest bidder
    This private sector partnership between the garbage haulers and govt has gotten the blp mavericks and storm troopers reeling with a higher than normal expectation that govt is doing some strange and darken deal but then this time of the year approaching hallowwen the ghost and goblins of the blp would be up to their dirty tricks throwing foul shit in every body face that would listen
    listen bro there is nothing here to study what you need to do is study how the blp going to get their in house clean before election bell rings
    at least that would keep you busy for a while ,good luck

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac October 24, 2016 at 9:40 PM
    “the fact being that you as a foot soldier would be and is dying to see the day come when all of Barbados is sold to the highest bidder..”

All along I was under the impression you saw me as a general or even a colonel like our own BU Buggy. How can one be a foot soldier and does not march in any army unless you are assigning membership in the Salvation Army?

What we would like to see is that cheque which was in the mail since August. Which “highest bidder” sent that cheque for the purchase of the BNTCL?

You, as a real carrier of gossip, must be cognizant of these things and must know that the selling out of Bim did not start under the OSA regime but clearly has its roots firmly implanted in the Sandiford regime when many things from telecommunications to flour mill were sold not to the highest bidders but for a fire sale song to those with foreign money.

30. @ The Sage Annunaki

Have you ever been poor?

Like, did you grow up in need of anything?

Shoes to wear when the old ones burst out? newspaper to fill in the shoes that your mum bought two sizes above cause she could not buy the “right” size this term cause she would not have the rest of the money later?

That is physical poverty Oh Sage!!

But let me define a different poverty that you might be less familiar with.

Have you ever been poor?

Without any hope of changing your circumstances? Condemned to a place of mind and spirit where your mother tells you, “you ent no good!, you gine be jes like you fadda!

A place where everyone in the village says “your fadda was a bulla and your mudda is a whore and you ent going be nuffing but a prisoner!”

Constantly, like the sun rising in the east, your teachers saying the same thing, or, even if they were silent, they favoured the curly hair Come-Sing A Song? or my man PLT, or the brown skin girl, or the dugula.

Do you comprehend men like DownLowe or Michael Lashes or Fumbles Stuart?

Do you understand the mindsets of the Mottleys, the David Simmonses, the COW Williamses?

There is a poverty of spirit that no amount of money can eradicate Oh Sage.

In Matthew 26 part of those Blessed Scribed Works says ” 11 For ye have the poor always with you;….” a fact that we, in 2016 see, even with all the wealth in the world. where some men could spend a million dollars a year for 100 years AND STILL NOT GO BROKE, there are people who are economically distraught euphemism for poor as badword.

But you know something Oh Sage?

TIme on this planet has taught me that whereas the financial poverty can be ameliorated the second type of poverty of the spirit CANNOT BE HEALED by ordinary means.

That needs spiritual intervention and there is nothing that you or I or “any man of woman born” can say or do to change that passage.

These politicians that we are saddled with are thusly impoverished Annunaki ergo that insatiable need to teif and rape and bribe and continuously request “where is my cut”

The thing is though, while you and I can see the physical poverty we lack the spirit of divination to see the other type

BUT then this is why de ole man does tar all of us with the same poverty brush called humanity and arrive at my equation dat we all spiritually poor and whichever politician we choose DEM GOING TRY TO EF US UP!!