Today’s Barbados Advocate editorial attacks the issue of the rights of the employee AND employer during a national shutdown – Barbados Underground
dem
The shutdown order issued by the DEM was ignored by several companies including Minister Denis Kellman at Moontown.

One of the more contentious issues raised during Wednesday’s national shutdown, owed mostly to the weather system traversing the region, was the legality of the actions of some employers who nevertheless decided to open their places of business and consequently to require the attendance at the workplace of employees. The procedures for business operation during a national shutdown are supposedly captured in the policy enunciated by the local Department of Emergency Management- but the circumstance of a national shutdown also raises a number of intriguing legal issues for employees that are not all answered by enacted legislation and that, as many of the rights and duties of the parties to the employment relationship, depend for their resolution on a combination of the provisions of the employment contract, of any applicable collective agreement and general principles of the common law.

Among the numerous questions that are likely to arise in such a scenario are whether an employee is entitled to leave from work to care for a young child who is at home because schools are closed; whether the employee is entitled to prioritize national service in assisting with emergency services over his or her employment duties; whether the employee is entitled to be paid wages even though he or she finds it impossible to attend work because of blocked roads or unavailable transportation or to work at all because the workplace is not in a fit state; and whether the employer is obligated to pay wages to its workers because there is no business owing to the effects of the weather conditions and the consequent national shutdown.

Leave entitlements will of course depend on the terms of the arrangements between the parties as to when and how and for what purposes such leave may be taken, whether expressed in the contract or incorporated therein by means of a provision in a collective agreement between the employer and the worker’s representative. It should be noted in this connection that the Employment Rights Act 2012 classifies as unfair the dismissal of an employee for the reason “that the employee was absent from work as a result of the performance of a “national duty”. According to section 30 (2)(d) of the Act, this includes “participation by the employee in a voluntary emergency management activity in certain stipulated circumstances.

The entitlement to wages is essentially premised on the readiness and willingness of the employee to work, so that once this condition is satisfied the employer cannot escape liability to pay wages merely on the basis that there is little business because of the shutdown, although there may be a sufficient justification for non-payment in the event that the workplace has been severely damaged by the natural disaster and is thus unfit for work or, strictly speaking, should the employee simply not attend at the workplace, although this may be a matter for further negotiation between the parties.

There is little doubt that the rights and obligations of employees and employers are impacted in times of natural disaster and, more so, when a national shutdown has been declared. Perhaps most desirable here would be a statute or a set of regulations that clearly sets out the rights of the respective parties in such a circumstance. In the absence of this however, resort must be had to traditional legal principles where there is any dispute.

97 responses to “National Shutdowns and Workplace Rights”

1. Denis Kellman

11 hrs ·

Moontown’s Hardware would like to thank all its critics who wanted services and could not get them, but were jealous because our Mall was opened to serve Lucy’s children and her friends. We were here for you during Tomas and you praised us, during the flooding in Holetown you were happy that we were opened. I am sorry that we sold nails etc for you. The next time if the staff are not there for you I hope I do not hear how I am rich now and do not like poor people. when you hear the experienced people say they went hungry because we let them down, do not blame me.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Volunteer time. Employees of private not-for-profit organizations are not volunteers if they perform the same services they are regularly employed to perform. They must be compensated for those services.”

“Employers should generally be cautious about having employees “volunteer” to assist the employer during an emergency, if those duties benefit the company and are duties regularly performed by employees.”

I have no clue where the fool employers in Barbados believe that employees “volunteering” during natural disasters is a good excuse to use to cover their lies of fircing employees out in dangerous storms or hurricanes…it’s not…it’s a sleazy excuse.

Having the employees make up time lost by incremental overtime spread over weeks after a disaster…makes better sense…PAID OVERTIME.

Employers in Barbados are too small time and sleazy…they are lucky they never had to deal with me…I would have them up before international world bodies in one.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What an ignorant, sleazy little man…and that is a minister in the government….they may as well let the ACs govern…what’s the difference.

4. @ David,

It is one thing for employees to go to work during a storm. What about the family members they leave at home?

I live in CANADA and I checked these web sites while listening to VOB929 and watching CBCTV 8.
    nhc.noaa.gov and wunderground.com/hurricane/

It was obvious that the storm (400 miles wide) would affect Barbados. The DEM and MET office provide guidance based on their tracking of the storm.

These so called “responsible” business owners could use the technology available in 2016 to fact check the DEM and MET office.

They could also staff their businesses with their own family and extended family.

5. Take care you are not describing yourself WW&C. Like AC, Kellman is bound to be right on occasion…
    Bushie suspects that those cowards who hid under their beds listening to the radio and TV stations just feel guilty …knowing that a few others were out and about getting on with business in the absence of any legal or other definitive binding requirements to do otherwise.

One wonders how many of the ‘bedroom bullies’ wanted the electric and water utility employees to shut shop and go home to their safe beds too… and the radio announcers… and the nurses and policemen and shelter wardens… or did they want their lights on ..just as other customers wanted to get some essentials on Saturday morning…

One tires of this shiite topic now …. it is SO obvious that the discussion only serves to highlight why Bizzy, Bynoe and Kellman (and Bushie) run profitable businesses, while WW&C and AC only talk shiite on blogs ..while scrounging off others… and why they are headed for even more downgrades…

6. Bushie you were probably running your “profitable business” from the comfort of your own secured and hurricane resistant home. lol

7. Pros and cons aside,my view is that there should be no law demanding any business to close.Penalties for failure to follow government directives would have such bite that folk would think thrice before making any bold decisions.There are more weighty matters which require the urgent attention of the AG but which we know will remain on the back burner until next election and the 40% vote with a vengeance to shake up this poor rakey lot.

8. In Times of Impending natural disasters call The Met Office
    http://www.bush tea.com

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…the Bushman…I bet you were in bed hugged up with ya laptop on BU giving the ACs old hell while Matthew was pissing outside ya locked windows.

My days are long passed to be chasing money, I let money chase me, I left that game long ago for the ultra greedy to get their stress, strokes and heart attacks….

The business people in the island have not yet learned that art…everytime they look at people, they see a potential dollar bill..slaves to paper they rarely enjoy….too miserable looking for the next bundle of paper.

Some I knew personally who did this for years are either sick, long gone, broke or just miserable….ah love my life.

10. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Is this a tempest in a teapot.

If the stores were opened and no one shopped, then no harm was done.

If the stores were opened and people shopped, then there was a need (by some).

To be a hero and a goat at the same time only shows the party divide.

At least we now have a chance to be on the same page for the next dire situation.

11. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Of course the workers should be allowed to stay home (if they wanted to).

12. Hants October 1, 2016 at 10:53 AM #

It is one thing for employees to go to work during a storm. What about the family members they leave at home
    ……………………………………………………………….
    Speaking from experience. You really think that many of the employers in Barbados care about their employees’ families?

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exactly Colonel…they dont.

The employers worship the almighty dollar…whst family members what.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/30/just-for-a-few-dollars-more/

14. If Barbadians are not heeding the directives issued by the authorities it creates an opportunity to be better with a Communications Plan. We need to stop the blame game and figure out how to improve decision making when in disaster mode. It is unfortunate Dale Marshall of the BLP and AG Brathwaite seem to be singing from different hymn sheets. All national discussions in Barbados deteriorate to polical claptrap.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/columns/editorial-trusting-experts

15. @ David,

The people who live in big wall house and drive audi,bmw and mercedes SUVs don’t need to follow directives.

A Cat 1 hurricane will only affect those who live in wood houses and drive corollas and micras.

16. I read Bizzy saying family owned businesses should be allowed to open and non family employees given the option to work.

Seriously!!!

The typical Bajan employee would go to work “cause de boss man an he family wukkin tru de storm so we shud be wukkin to”

Ingrained subservience.

17. Before we attempt toget the merchants to comply with a government directive ,lets practice on the following, to gain some experience in dealing with these hard nosed merchant class.
    Get ZR and Minibus operators to respect the law.
    Get bicyclists to respect the law.
    Get motorcyclists to respect the law.
    Get motorists to respect the law.
    Get the owners of AK47, Glocks and Collins to respect the law.
    Get the Marijauna farmers and distributors and their foot soldiers to respect the law.
    Get the crop thieves to respect the law.
    Get building contractors to respect the law.
    Get Government minister(s) to respect the law
    Get coconut and wayside vendors to respect the law.
    Get the Swan Street shop keepers to respect the law in relation to dumping their garbage on the street, hours before the passage of a storm.
    And the list goes on and on and on. We have failed miserably in getting people in this country, whether they live in a great house, mansion or timber shack to respect and comply with the laws of our land.
    Who are in charge ? We are practically on the brink of anarchy. We are hearing more from the law breakers ,than the lawmakers.

18. @ Colonel Buggy ,

point taken.

19. @ All

Well for all of you who are concerned about these issues of whether we should have closed places of employment because of a pending measly 40 mph storm or try to make a dollar in these hard economic times here is an item that will put all your minds at ease.

Remember that there is an edition soon to be published that is featuring every one of the 16 ministers and Senators to whom this almost 50 year old cuntry can attribute why we are where we are AFTER 8 YEARS OF FECUNDITY

Presenting for your ongoing pleasure The Minister of Wuk Ups who joins all the other ministers, fecundities and waste foops as they wuk up happily on our pooches without grease

Cum leh we wuk up and have a good time.

Next Wuk Up Day Independence Day and the 50th $7 Million Spree

http://imgur.com/a/zmmi6

20. WHAT IF ?
    What if Matthew had come a-visiting on Kadooment Day? We would have more than a few businesses ignoring the shutdown, and especially those ” poor little black people trying to mek a dollar.”

21. wtf is happening in Barbados?

“man is believed to have died from a single gunshot to the back of the head.”

22. @Hants

What do you mean, Barbados has the lowest murder rate per thousand compared to Jamaica, Trinidad, Bahamas and God knows the other countries.

23. “Cuban President Raul Castro has travelled to the eastern city of Santiago to supervise preparations for the storm.”

An exerpt from a BU newsfeed.

24. “Bernard Codrington. September 30, 2016 at 9:09 PM #

@ Bush Tea

You have perfect 20/ 20 hind sight. If Matthew had developed into a Hurricane 1 status when it reached Barbados”

Unlike 1955 when we relied on iffing there should be no iffing in this day age when there is so much advanced related technology to influence information gathering. No disrespect to those who try their best under difficult circumstances to do their job but like Bushie I think we went too far overboard taking the weather data on which decisions were made into account.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87615/aone-sorry

When a man has commonsense and can admit he his prone to errors, he can be easily forgiven, cause you know it is highly unlikely he will repeat that error.

Big difference to arrogant, ignorant ministero0 of government Dennis Kellman.

26. […] Barbados Advocate editorial on Friday sought to treat some of the thornier employment relation issues that are likely to arise […]

27. In another section of the press mention was made that Carlton &A1, Lemon Grass and a popular fast food chain had opened during the shut down. I find it strange that only certain business were identified while others such as the Moon Town “Mall”were not ……

28. Enquiring minds want to know if Housing Minister Denis Kellman is a Minister of the Crown or a shopkeeper .The coverage gives the impression his time is taken up with running a shop rather than a minister’s portfolio. The question arises as to whether he can lawfully operate a variety store while he is a Minister of the Crown. Civil servants say General Orders prohibit them from operating businesses while in the employ of the government. What are the rules as they apply to ministers. Jeff Cumberbatch and Mia what about you Thorne and Speaker Carrington, anyone. Just asking.

29. What is there of any substance to do at Housing? The ministry has no money and is saddled with mainly remedial work that the admin/public servants are capable of executing.

30. @ Tudor

ammmmmmmm.

You does read de paper Tudor?

Which “popular fast food chain (that) had opened during the shut down” does got Full Page ads in de Nation every day???

You like you want Roy to loss he pick at Fontabelle and tek way de ole man chance uh getting Winston Jordon job when he retire!!!

Match and win dat 1000 dollar prize dat de ole man does run heah pun BU for 1,000 dollars in used plastic forks dat people only lick once when they buy their Wing Dings specials.

Ninjaman tell me de amount of times de forks get lick so you safe to leh de family and visitors use dem ovah without having any fears of sickness.

31. Astonishingly , even Mrs Ram did not see it profitable to call out her low paid staff and open up her stores last Wednesday.

32. Proof that Kellman is retarded…..Most sentences include..
    1….for the semple reason dat…….
    2….yuh muss onderstan de Opportunity Cost
    3….yuh see,yuh have to be very careful dat……

33. WHAT IS REALLY RETARDED BY THOSE SENTENCES?
    HOW DO YOU DEFINE RETARDED? WHAT PARAMETERS DO YOU USE? BU INDIXES?

34. Maybe just before he got that bullet to the back of the head he was sorry as ass that all of that sweet money was spent on high powered legal representation…and still a bullet to the back of the head. I wondered if at that time he thought that he would have been better off spending no money and instead had taken his 15 years in an American jail…because’ all like now he would be walking ’boutfree as a bird …instead of heading down to Westbury.

But when ya mek a deal wid de devil…

35. ” MIDWEEK NATION investigations have revealed that the pay of workers at Divi Southwinds BeachResort was dockedafter they did notreport for work last Wednesday, following a directive from the Department of Emergency Management (DEM) for businessesto remain closed andfor persons to stay indoors.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87706/wages-docked-shut#sthash.XY4Po1YU.dpuf

36. David

Could you print the link to Roy Morris’article in todays midweek nation…….it basically substantiates the point I was making earlier about the shutdown and commonsense.

37. EMPLOYMENT FRAUD, AND THE REDISTRIBUTION OF WEALTH FROM MEN TO WOMEN IN CANADA
    Every year, the Canadian tax code takes billions of dollars from men and gives it to women for their support and for so-called child care.

There are additional one-offs:

RCMP Commissioner Bob Paulson delivered an abject apology Thursday to hundreds of current and former female officers and employees who were subjected to alleged incidents of bullying, discrimination and harassment dating back 42 years.

Paulson made the apology as he announced the settlement of two class-action lawsuits stemming from the harassment allegations, some of which date back to September 1974. He said the federal government has earmarked $100 million for payouts

“To all the women, I stand humbly before you today and solemnly offer our sincere apology,” an emotional Paulson told a news conference in Ottawa.

‘We failed you. We hurt you’: Text of apology from RCMP commissioner Bob Paulson

RCMP to offer settlement to hundreds of female Mounties who alleged abuse

“You came to the RCMP wanting to personally contribute to your community and we failed you. We hurt you. For that, I am truly sorry.”

Paulson said the settlements would provide financial compensation for the women and pave the way to end potential class-action lawsuits brought forward by former RCMP members Janet Merlo and Linda Gillis Davidson. There is no cap on the potential cost of the payouts, he added.