Adriel Brathwaite, minister of Home Affairs

From early reports the bad weather that affected Barbados from about midday yesterday did not result in loss of life. We pray that Tropical Storm Matthew projected to intensify to a Category 1 hurricane will not cause too much damage/harm on its path across the island chain.

One of the talking points coming out of yesterday’s event was the reported opening of a few businesses although the country was under shutdown. The more prominent business names mentioned are Carlton and Emerald City supermarkets, outlets of Chefette restaurant and surprise surprise Moontown owned by Minister of Housing Denis Kellman.

Although Minister of Home Affairs Adriel Brathwaite who has responsibility for Department of Emergency Management (DEM) implored businesses to comply with shutdown orders from the DEM, he was weak as far as supporting the call with what the law states. Commonsense supports the view that businesses should align decisions with the DEM in the interest of public safety.   Barbados has a social partnership that is held up as a beacon of private public sector cooperation. Why on a 166 square mile island key players are unable to agree how to act in a national emergency?

Attorney-at-law Douglas Trotman posted the following to his Facebook page.

Douglas Trotman

14 hrs ·

For your information and guidance.

Essential Services in the Private Sector

Within the context of the private sector those companies/entities which provide essential emergency services to the general public in times of emergencies include:Utility companies, Supermarkets, mini-marts, shops, Pharmacies, General stores, including hardware stores and lumberyards Companies that provide public transportation Telecommunication providers

Private Sector Shutdown Procedures

On the issue of the National Shutdown Instruction, private sector entities/companies shall close their operation taking into account the following:(i) the provision of their disaster plans(ii) the security and operational procedures of the entity/company(iii) the welfare of the employees and the need for them to take their domestic precautions, especially those living in remote and flood prone areas, and(iv) the operators of public transportation will need to withdraw and secure their vehicles well before the impact. Consequently, staff not essential to the entity/company’s disaster plans should be released early, unless private arrangements can be made for transporting staff home safely.

The leadership of Barbados owes it to the citizens to clarify the matter, TODAY. During a national shutdown (national emergency) maintaining order and ensuring safety of citizens must be the priority.  What appears to be maverick decisions taken by a few business owners must be hastily explained to the pubic. There is a leadership role to be played by trade unions.

It seems we have entered a dark place in Barbados as far as leadership on the national stage is concerned.

Will the real leaders please put your hands up!

213 responses to “The Day After Bad Weather”

1. De Ole Man tired uh de lotta long effing talk

For de Disaster Emergency management peepe who getting paid to do alot uh scvunt every 26th of de efffing munt here is what a simple animation pertinent to 20 effing 16 should look like

Instead of paying wunna friends money to print all dem brochures and gettig kickbacks fuh wunna scvunt

http://imgur.com/a/cz6ji

2. Someone told me that the font on the other one is too small so

http://imgur.com/a/F6g9o

3. How come the Prime Ministers of Jamaica and Bahamas were both leading up front with information and plans/strategies for coping with Matthew and Barbados left it all to a newby DEM supervisor who dawdled and muttered some information which several entities proceeded to ignore including a retard known for ever including and repeating ad nauseam some cliches he learned in his correspondence course in bookkeeping…..for de semple reason dat…..yuh got to Noah de opporchoonuhtee coss…dah is why yuh peepull got to be careful dat dey doan…..the retard,the last repository of all knowledge..the clown of sen Lucy.
    Meanwhile both dumbboy and deputy dumbboy had not thought to engage the people at that senior level..

4. @ Gabriel,

Matthew did not affect Barbados.

Ask Bushie if yuh doan believe me.

5. @ Hants
    Matthew did not affect Barbados.
    Ask Bushie if yuh doan believe me.
    Not stinking Bushie Bosie…
    ’cause It DID!!!
    …cost us $21M in losses …by at least one estimate.

Bushie’s problem is that it was an ‘own-goal’.

6. Hants
    Bushie gave a proper response in his usual insightful style.What I am saying is that in disaster management when you mandate a shutdown of the country,it is not to be left to a supervisor,that is a call for the top brass of the cabinet or even the GG.I recall in 79 or 80 Rediffusion was repeating a hurricane threat and for an extended period of time,Rediffusion stopped broadcasting.Then we heard the voice of GG Deighton Ward and his last words were “May the Lord have mercy on your soul”….you mandating a shutdown of the country that should come from high up the totem pole.

7. @ Gabriel
    …and the Law FULLY allows and supports such a shutdown.
    It is called a national state of emergency.

The difference is that it is not done willy nilly by a bunch of second rate civil servants who are always happy to have an extra day or two off…and still get their pay..

When there is a serious threat to the country, OBVIOUSLY a shutdown is warranted. …but equally obvious is that it must be well thought out, properly supervised and policed, and there must be a LEGAL framework in place.

What if these DEM people ‘mandate’ that a fellow stays at home – and then the ‘hom’ happens to collapse and he is seriously injured – when he could have been ‘safely’ at work…?
    Who he going sue ….?
    …the DEM…?
    ….WW&C?
    …Simple Simon?

8. @ Gabriel,

I don’t like to get information from people who have to read what others had to tell them.

The Prime Minister probably doesn’t even know how to track a hurricane on the internet.

I stand corrected Bushie.

We know that you that I know that you know evating and I shudda wait fuh you to comment.

9. @Bush Tea October 5, 2016 at 9:28 PM o collapse and he is seriously injured – when he could have been ‘safely’ at work Who he going sue ….? …Simple Simon?”

Na pint suing me.

You know that I have no money.

10. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo.php?basin=atlc&fdays=2

A tropical wave is producing a large area of cloudiness and showers
    a few hundred miles east of the Windward Islands. Development of
    this system is not expected during the next few days while it moves
    westward at 15 mph, but some development could be possible when the
    wave reaches the southwestern Caribbean Sea early next week.
    Locally heavy rains and gusty winds are possible in the Windward and
    southern Leeward Islands during the next couple of days as the wave
    moves through the area.
    * Formation chance through 48 hours…low…near 0 percent
    * Formation chance through 5 days…low…20 percent
    Forecaster Blake